BEDOK mommies club

Hi nicky05, what block are you staying? And what is the name of the gp's clinic? I brought my son to see doc at blk 123, bedok life clinic, like not very good leh, keep giving my son antibiotics. Then my father-in-law brought my son to bedok reservoir to see another doc, also give antibiotics, medicine finished liao, my son still coughing. Then i brought him to see a malay doc at blk 508/509(can't rem), doc gave him a stronger dose of antibiotics (again!). Still his cought got worse. I then complained to the malay doc, said how come my son's coughing got worse, then she suggested x-ray.

Today i brought my son to see a chinese physician at hougang(kovan). He suggested we use abit cooled boiled water to dissolve the milk powder first, then add all hot water to the required amount. Let it cool first then let my son drink. He said the method of half cooled boiled water and half hot water method, then shake it to dissolved the milk powder is not good, make kids gassy and got lots of phelgm. Don't know how true is this, but i decided to try his method. Hope my son will getting better..

Hi to all mummies,
The previous time i took fenugreek, my milk supply increased within 2-3 days, and my body smells of maple syrup. Now i've been taking fenugreek for 4 days, still can't feel the effect. Will fenugreek lose its effectiveness?

Hi yawn yawn,

I have 4 kids.

No. 1 (Javier - boy) - 2001
No. 2 (Jovin - girl) - 2002
No. 3 (Jobelle - girl) - 2006
No. 4 (Javen - boy) - 2008

Thanks for updating my profile.
Suggestion - maybe can add in 1 more column to indicate where we stay for ez reference?

xueyi, Lim Clinic & Surgery. his address Block 20 Chai Chee Road #01-418/420 Singapore 461020. I only see Dr Lim, so call before coming down as he is not on duty every day.

BTW, if just cough with phelgm, i give the dunno what san (i think is hou tsao san) chinese med. Works for my kids too..
actually there is a TCM near us which is very popular too.. It's just across the road from the Kembangan MRT station. call "yu guo" i think..

Hi Jes

you have the most kids in this club currently

Are you FTWM or SAHM?

Hi SNG

The TCM you mention do massage for kids is it?
If the same one, my colleagues' children like to go there for massage

I used to give my elder gal "八宝丹" when she was coughing, I think quite good.
Personally feel that taking western medicine always made the cough worsen especially in the night. Maybe the medicine is to make the plegm to come out instead of stopping the cough.

daphne
Oasis is very ex hor, i saw once abt $40 over lucky claim from company.

xueyi
i let my kids eat Bao yin dao from EYS abt $15 for 6 small tube, let let them eat for flu, cough.
Now my kids is seeing TCM at Singapore Post, stop them from western med

xueyi, sorry I don't know I gave her "ba bao dan" or "Bao yin dan", I think the same bah.
Anyway I found it quite good.

Wendy: the tube is it in a small yellow box?
I bought last time was $12.00 for 6, now I think the price increased liao. Long time never buy liao. My place quite difficult to find a "yao cai dian" leh.

nemo

yaya same one, increase so much!! regretted din stock up. i used to give ba bao sen but this one increase by abt $8 a pack!! so I switch. Like eating gold

wendypooh,
very expensive. if u go weeken more expensive provided u don need injection if nt bill can shot to $100. bt the medicine overall very effective + the doc is very patient.

Hi lee tai,

I'm a FTWM, staying at Bedok Reservoir View. Which part of Bedok Reservoir are you at? My maid is taking care of all my 4 kids. She has been with me for 4 yrs plus. So far so gd. On and off will siao2 a bit, so need to move her back to the rite track. Other than that, ok lah, I can tahan. haha....

And yes, Yu Guo does massage for kids. I brought my kids there too. Somehow it helps.

Jess and xueyi,
how coincidence that all our boys are of the same name.
For my no. 4, I actually wanted to name him Jaden but decided not to cos it's very commonly use these days. In the end, chosen Javen instead.

Hi Jes, my block is next to the Damai Sec Sch i.e. behind the waterfront waves condo that is coming up

Once the condo is up, I don't have the reservoir view anymore

i know yu yan sang got sell the "bao yin dan". The dosage is half to one tube per feeding right? But if it's effective, abit ex rather than keep seeing western doc, and save the consultation fees. The last doc my son seen, cost me $50! Children can drink adult chicken essence? Maybe can drink half?

Jesling,
Considering gog back to my dd's old instructor but he's so popular difficult to get slot. His group swim is about 6 pp which is a lot leh. I must make sure someone sits next to the pool to monitor my son, just in case. How many pp is your group swim lesson? My dd used to go to ballet at Siglap CC on friday night. In school, she chose Chinese dance instead of ballet cos she say the costumes are " more colorful and pretty". haha. Girls are girls.

Yawnyawn,
Dd's piano teacher maybe next year take grade 2 if she progress well. But I can see my gal is neither v talented nor v interested. It's me who wants her to have basic music background. Ds is more interested in piano. Now that I invested in a piano, must make sure it is fully utilised, otherwise my piano become white elephant.

I got the following from Doc to give away... PM me ps.

1. Gain IQ 3 for 1 yr onwards exp 3 Oct 2011
2. Pediasure Complete Complte Bal Nutrition For 1 to 10 Exp 12 06 09

Hi Xueyi,
I didn't use to wash face leh.... hee. I also cannot take the smell, though kept so much BM didnt give to my DDm but to my son to wash his foot.
U can try cook papaya w fish soup. Fry the fish w ginger to get rid of the fishy smell then cook w papaya. Add little salt to taste. This works for me!

Hi Jes,
WoW! u got 4 WOW! Can recommend yr swiming ins? My DS just only start at the big pool 2 yrs back, fell and broke his arm so stop him. Then me pregnant didnt manage to enrol him in anymore... Hope a private ins can quickly BEEF him up. Hopefully my DD too.

Yawn Yawn,
Do u know any manga drawing courses in our area?

Morning!!

Hammy, i've PM-ed you

Wendy, the Bao Yin Dao can let bb below 2yo eat? Er, 40 bucks i think is standard liao.. That Dr Lim ever charged me 179 for a consultation with medicine for my little girl. Lucky after that is 90+ for the rest of the consultation, otherwise i think my DH will say we go back to PD.

Re : Swimming
My eldest son have yet to learn how to swim. Anyone want to arrange for group swimming lessons with some instructors? Actually, i thought when they go into Primary schools, the school will have such classes, but doesnt seems the case leh..

hammy

At Tampines East CC by Mr Wee. My kids attended his holiday programme before. His regular lessons on Sat morning.
Bought one of his illustrated books, autographed by him

winniebear

No more compulsory swimming lessons in my girl's primary school either
I heard used to have but don't know why stop

<table border=1><tr><td>Mommy</TD><TD> Child 1</TD><TD> Year</TD><TD> Child 2</TD><TD> Year</TD><TD> Child 3</TD><TD> Year</TD><TD>Child 4</TD><TD> Year </TD></TR><TR><TD>jesling</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>2001</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2002</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2006</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>2008 </TD></TR><TR><TD>shirley</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>1998</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>2001</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2005</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>cdajun</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>1999</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>2001</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2005</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>hammy</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>1999</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2002</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>nicky05</TD><TD> boy</TD><TD>2000</TD><TD> boy</TD><TD> 2005</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2007</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>lwg26</TD><TD> girl</TD><TD> 2002</TD><TD> boy</TD><TD> 2003</TD><TD> boy</TD><TD> 2009</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>sleepy</TD><TD> girl</TD><TD> 2002</TD><TD> girl</TD><TD> 2004</TD><TD> - </TD><TD> - </TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nemo10</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2003</TD><TD> girl</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>wendypooh</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2004</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2006</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>winniebear</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2004</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>2007</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>wishes</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2005</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>jayce</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>2005</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Daphne</TD><TD> Boy</TD><TD> 2004 </TD><TD> - </TD><TD> - </TD><TD> - </TD><TD> - </TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>carrie</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2005</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>ringo</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>2007</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jess</TD><TD> boy</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>kelcqi</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</td></tr></table>

mommies

we are always chatting about kids. How about discussing some things about ourselves? I start first hor

1. enjoy line dance party
2. love online drama - just finished watching Taiwanese version of Hana Kimi. Wu Chun is incredibily handsome!!!
3. like watching movies especially blockbusters
4. like singing karoke although out of tune all the time

5. and my all time favourite - surf internet

By the way, anyone following Channel 8 drama on 9pm weekday night?

I nothing much same routie everyday.

1. Take care baby &amp; bring &amp; fetch elder to school.
2 Surf net, fb game.
3. used to watch HK &amp; KOREAN DRAMMA.
4. I didn't follow the ch 8 dramma but once a while will watch. I find it quite good read the story from "I" magazine.
Mine consider boring life. "sian"

Hi iwg26,

my kids are taking individual swimming lesson, that's why it's much more ex than group charges, $70 for 4 lessons.
I wanted my gal to take chinese dance in sch too but she refused. Din really 1 her to take ballet since she's learning that at Kembangan cc.

hi hammy,
haha.. a bit scare to hear some1 with 4 kids hor. I also am surprised that I actually went on to have 4 kids. haha... my boss is a bit scare that I may hv a no. 5 but no lah, no intention to have another 1 now, especially with the crisis now. Sure can recommend you my kids' instructor. We have been with him for the past 4 yrs plus. I will PM u his contact no.

hi lee tai,
my son's sch (junyuan Pri) does have compulsory swimming lessons for 1 term for p1 and P2 but I opted out as they are learning basics. At the same time, I dont fang xin, especially when water is concern. The teacher for sure can't take care of so many kids at a go and these children can be playful at times. Water cannot play play 1, so I rather be more careful.

hi yawn yawn,
after we have kids, somehow the topics we are on always revolve them, kind of can't avoid leh.
And yes, I do follow the Channel 8 drama too. TV is my only leisure now leh..... haha...

So envy mummies who can stay at home with kids..

(1) my son goes to childcare centre, my maid looks after my girl
(2) i pump while i'm at work, bf when i'm at home
(3) weekends/holidays: bf my girl
(4) enjoy reading i weekly magazine, watch desperate housewives
(5) enjoy eating =)

hi xueyi,

to be frank, I prefer to be a FTWM instead of a SAHM. I still need my freedom and sanity and being a 24 hrs caretaker to my kids is definitely out of the question for me. For me, I still maintain a gd relationship with my kids though I spent quite alot of time at work. My kids also tend to appreciate me more when I'm at hm, especially when I'm on leave. They will always tell me not to go work and stay at hm but when I think it back, I think it's just at that moment they prefer me to be a SAHM. If I do becum 1, I think they will hate me by then. haha....

hi jes
so wats the minimum age tat ur kid's swimming instructor is teachin? do u noe? n at wat age ur kids started learnin swimming huh? thinkin of lettin my gal learn swimming too.... n shes scared of water..so i guess private instructor is better lah hor? realli admire ur courage to haf 4 kids! one kid i alreadi headache loh...i also will prefer to b FTWM thn SAHM ... sometimes i stay at home n face my gal whole day.. i ll get mad v easily.. dun haf the patience wif her loh.. keke... but same thing my gal will prefer tat i dun work.. so i can bring her out often... haha

2sleepy
i like to KTV also.... i dun follow mediacorp drama due to my workin hours. but i do watch HK dramas.. nicer i find... off day will bring my gal out to shop shop, walk walk, sometimes see shows or theatre plays for kids n etc...
any mummies like to bring kids for theatre plays too?

hi jes
so wats the minimum age tat ur kid's swimming instructor is teachin? do u noe? n at wat age ur kids started learnin swimming huh? thinkin of lettin my gal learn swimming too.... n shes scared of water..so i guess private instructor is better lah hor? realli admire ur courage to haf 4 kids! one kid i alreadi headache loh...i also will prefer to b FTWM thn SAHM ... sometimes i stay at home n face my gal whole day.. i ll get mad v easily.. dun haf the patience wif her loh.. keke... but same thing my gal will prefer tat i dun work.. so i can bring her out often... haha

2sleepy
i like to KTV also.... i dun follow mediacorp drama due to my workin hours. but i do watch HK dramas.. nicer i find... off day will bring my gal out to shop shop, walk walk, sometimes see shows or theatre plays for kids n etc...
any mummies like to bring kids for theatre plays too?

I prefer SAHM than FTWM. anyway my hobbies is watching HK serial show, KTV and shopping.
weekend I will spent all time with my son.

Actually being a SAHM can be boring. All the time is revolved around the kids. Looks like most of the sahm have the same pass times such as watching tv, movies, shopping, surfing and ktv. maybe can go take some courses together? or go hair saloon, spa or facial?

My son nw having bad cough nw. The phelgm he spit out is blue green color. Can I give him bao yin dan?? beside yu ren sang where can I buy??

Daphne / sng's mum
ya very ex, that time my mum see first time $90 over sub seq abt $40 over nowaday even GP are charging high.
I see another doc at Bedok South Ave 3 my mouth there very cheap for kids normal flu and cough abt $18. Actually tat doc is very long alry i see him since I was young. But the doc med dosage very low therefore soemtime serious case one not very effective.

Sng mummy
yes i let my girls eat the powder since they are bb, rub on their gum for teething.
Wed just bot the 2 girls to see Dr tay for Pnemococcal Jab, both girls cost me $340 for less than 5min so heartpain but a need no choice. I din see him since last year incident but my GP give give such jab no choice.

Actaully I prefer FTWM, cos at least I have an hour of lunch break for me to go shopping.

What I do at home is what a maid will do haha.. clean, wash, cook, feed the kids etc.
after they sleep either watch tv or sleep .

Cough
all mummies pls be careful if kids cough, last week my colleague sis kids cc got a kid die of pneomium ( dun know the spelling)due to prolong coughing and accumalation of fluid in the lung.
I was very kiasi so bot my girls for jab on wed.

Hi carrie,
my kids started learning from this instructor when they were 3 yrs plus. For me, I quite kia si when come to water, so I rather pay a bit more to ensure they get 1 to 1 attention. My no.2 also got a bi of water phobia so she tends to take quite a while to learn to swim whereas my no 1 can swim after 2-3 mths. Quite individual for this kind of thing.

Ya i agree.. SAHM got no freedom, must work day and night. At least FTWM can shop and eat what they like during that one hour lunch break.. Somemore FTWM will pay more attention to their dressing and care more abt their diet..

I was a SAHM when i just gave birth to my son till he's 10 mths old, everyday eat and eat like nobody business =) But now i also plump, don't know whether it's bcoz i'm bfing or bcoz i'm tired(i tend to eat when i'm tired)..

Mummies who are still bfing,
what is your weight like now? I tot bfing can help to lose fats but it don't seem to be the truth.. My appetite is still very huge, still feel hungry every often. is this normal?

Yawn Yawn :Me too stay at home 6 years liao. My elder still ok but the baby, made me crazy.

Wendy: Me too also rub the power on my gals' gum.

Wendy, my kids had that pnemococcal jab liao, but my little girl still caught the pneumonia last dec and was hospitalized.. Seriously, at 1 stage, i thought i will never see daylight again cos she was really very very sick and was sent to the step down unit.. And it was only like 5th day after she fall sick. That's y to me, cough and fever, better no play play... i usually get them to the doc the if i hear the cough is very "hollow" or if they are wheezing although i have medication at home...

Daphne, green cough means heaty.. usually some 100plus can solve the problem too..
I read somewhere lemon can clear phlegm, but i dare not try.

Xueyi,
The recipe for Papaya milk is juz Papaya and milk loh. My hubby buy from outside if he tabaos for me. Otherwise, I make myself. All I do is 1/4 Papaya to 3/4 cup low fat milk(whichever milk u drink) and juz blend it wif ice. If u like it more sweet, use more papaya n less milk.
Enjoy!