BEDOK mommies club

Hi Lee tai,
sorry, i forgot to reply you! Yes i latch my girl during weekday nights and weekends. My milk is getting lesser and lesser.. HOw you maintain your milk supply? Any food/recipes to increase it?
I store my ebm in avent containers, took up alot of space in my freezer. Now i have ordered blue eggs storage milkbags, so can save space and store more ebm. Do you drink cold drinks? if i store ebm in milkbags, i still gonna push the air out?

hi lee tai
yeah i went for the Parents teacher conference jus now at around 1pm... saw shirley ther
u went for the PTC jus now at wat time? yah... my gal's teacher is Mrs long n wu lao shi.... spoke to them jus now... luckily my gal not much complaints... jus sometimes too talkative n playful! ur gal's teacher is also the same? but ur gal in K1 yah?

shirley
u haf any suggestion wher to go? but i onli free on monday...i thinking of gg to the zoo wif my cousins n gal... u interested ? hee...

Hi Xueyi

I do try to avoid cold drinks ... unless occassionally I am very thirsty then I will drink.

You heard before Green Papaya Soup? I heard it can increase supply. Personally I didn't drink before as my supply was sufficient from the beginning. I will try to take in more fish and vegetables during BF i.e. to eat healthy and avoid those fried food.

But after returning to work and because of stress, I can see that my supply were decreasing. I finally called it a day when the amount I produced dropped to around 200ml per day, by then my son was already 11 months old. My highest record of EBM was about 1500ml in day
. When my son turned 8 month old, I have to introduce formula to supplement the EBM

Hi carrie

I was there at 8am and thereafter I rushed to work.

The teachers taught her in nursery and she was lucky to meet them again in K1. The other K1 class is not teach by Mrs Long and Wu Lao Shi.

Probably there is not enough teachers and there are more students recently, that's why they have to teach K1 too.

As usual, my girl is quiet in class but I told the teachers she is completely a different girl at home.

For the english worksheets, Mrs Long has started to ask the child to write their own names and the day of the week. And she said they will have spelling from Term 3 onwards. Probably 3 words per week. Her recognition of the words are strong and can read well.

For her chinese, Wu Lao Shi said has improved compared to last year. Last year she seems confused when the teacher taught her. But this year she is able to understand. I bring up that I worry she don't like chinese as she seldom speak Mandarin and thought of sending her for tution. Teacher said at her standard she is doing fine and her words recognition is about 80%. She asked me not to stress her and let her grow up in an enjoyable environment :p

My girl is currently not attending any enrichment class at all.

Sign her up for one phonics but is put on queue for her age group. Probably the chances will be slim since the students will mostly attend up to K2.

Do you all think I should just take the teachers' advice and let her learn at her own pace? That's what one of my bosses said previously. Why give them so much stress? He said his children never attended any classes. Except for his son which he requested for english tuiton at sec 3. Both did well for O and A levels. One just start working after uni and the other will be going uni after NS.

My son have been coughing on and off since CNY, now to make things worse, he kana eye infection from childcare, so now he's suffering from very bad cough, flu and eyes full of pus(fever just subsided). He got alot of phelgm, my hubby advised me to stop giving him formula for the time being, give him ebm. So i thaw my ebm for him just now, then he said "bu hao he" and rejected it. Oh my, it's 300ml of ebm leh, all is liquid gold to me.. No choice loh, pour them down the sink, sayang..

lee tai

wow.. u were ther so earli... poor thing, still got to rush to work after tat...frm wat the teachers comments... are pretty good ah... recognition of words n can read well... thats 2 very important skills in language yah... ? sometimes to think back.. we ourselves also din attend any enrichment classes whn we were their age yah? why wana give them so much stress hor> but thn... parents nowadays are more kiasu mah... so if dun let our kids attend... still scared they might learn not enuff things.. n lost out to their frends of the same age... quite contridicting lah i find...
i realised teachers or principal at BLC dun wan us parents to give the kids too much stress loh, cos mrs gay ever mention if wana let them let extra things outside, mayb can consider more relax or non-academic ones like dancing, drawing or music loh.. good also lah... ur gal attendin any of these? so our gals are under the same teachers...

ur gal attendin the computer class? u find it helpful in her learning?

xueyi
my gal also has been coughin for a week plus... lots of phlegm also... saw doc, finished medicine, still coughin loh. i guess its the funny weather nowadays which let ppl get sick easily loh....
guess got to let ur son drink lots of plain water loh... for the eye infection... is it better liao? i believe u brought him to see doc liao? usuali hes on formula for long liao.. EBM definately will taste funny to him bah...hope he get well soon

P1 preparation

My observation these 10 weeks since starting P1. Maybe no need to be so stressed over P1 preparation.

Teachers do teach in class. My girl brings home tonnes of worksheets she did in class. They do learn something when they attend P1. I didn't prepare her for those weekly class tests. Just treat as a revision of what's being taught in class. So it's not necessary to do too much advance teaching to prepare for P1. As long they know sufficient Maths fundamentals & can read well (English using stellar) surely can cope

Yawn Yawn, I am thinking to let my elder gal to attend P1 preparation class in this Jun .Since u mention it, I have to think again. Anway your gal is from which Primary School?

Thanks carrie, i hope he'll get well soon too. Brought him to doc this morning, doc suspected it's either lung infection or asthma, advised us to bring him for x-ray. He've seen 3 doctors, and have 4 cycles of antibodies liao, cough still don't subside. He cough even worse when he cries, sleep at night or drink chilled drink/fruit/milk.. Today i drank papaya fish soup, eat lots of fish, take fenugreek and eat lots of oats, is it too much for my body? haha, my milk is getting lesser, i tried too hard to increase milk supply..

Nemo

Still must prepare of course. But no need to over-prepare like teach one whole year syllabus in advance
become too boring for the child if teachers also covering the exact same syllabus again

been so busy lately.. meetings after meeting, appointments after appointments... Thousand apologies to the 3 mummies that i was supposed to have a "date" with at ikea...

School holidays, i also have not planned anything for the kids. #2 and #3 are in CC so they will still have lessons. #1 is having school holiday, so i guess he will be at home alone with the maid loh, unless i can take a couple of half days here and there...

Xueyi, prolong cough is not good for the kids. better bring that the kid for an x-ray at KKH bah.. TCM recommends lukewarm fresh milk instead of FM cos FM will have phlegm. cut on chilled drinks and fruits for now. Chicken and fish also dont take..

it's been a long time since I log in to this thread. Looks like there are a few mummies with P1 kids in RSS this year. My girl is in P1 at RSS too. She's taking ballet as her CCA. Would like her to take guzheng or chinese dance as she's already having ballet lessons outside but she just refused!

Which class are your kids in? Mine is in P1/9.
I hope to know more of you mummies cos am sure I will need lots of help cos my girl is blur like sotong. Asked her anything, either she said not sure or don't know! Pek chek!

<table border=1><tr><td>Mommy</TD><TD>Child 1</TD><TD>Year</TD><TD>Child 2</TD><TD>Year</TD><TD>Child 3</TD><TD>Year </TD></TR><TR><TD>shirley</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>1998</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>2001</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2005 </TD></TR><TR><TD>hammy</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>1999</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2002</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2008 </TD></TR><TR><TD>cdajun</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>1999</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>2001</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2005 </TD></TR><TR><TD>nicky05</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>2000</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>2005</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2007 </TD></TR><TR><TD>lwg26</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2002</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>2003</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>2009 </TD></TR><TR><TD>sleepy</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2002</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2004</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nemo10</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2003</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>wendypooh</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2004</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2006</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>winniebear</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2004</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>2007</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>wishes</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2005</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>jayce</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>2005</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Daphne</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2004</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>carrie</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2005</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>ringo</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>2007</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jess</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>kelcqi</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD> </td></tr></table>

leetai/Nemo,
Re: Preparation for P1
I agree with yawnyawn we should not over-prepared the kids for P1 like making them do P2/P3 work. But I feel still must do some preparation not totally go in blur like sotong. As in, (1) the child can read and write simple sentence (2) can do simple additions/subtraction (3) has some $$ concept cos they need to buy food from canteen.

Even though the teachers teach in class, they assume all the children can read and understand basic instructions on the worksheet. Our time and now are quite different. I was flipping the English exam papers for pri school. At P1, there was questions set on idioms. So reading is important to set the foundation. During parent teacher meeting, the English teacher said final year exam will include short composition. Chinese compo will be in P2.

Jesling,
Is your gal's Eng teacher Mdm Ho? My dd is not from that class but she's the English teacher.

Lee Tai,will register her to red swastika school.

Anxylyn- Now I train my gal to pay money whenever i need to buy something. But she always just give the money ,take the things she bought and forget about the change.

where am i again? haa haaa

xueyi,
yr colleague's abuse her language leh. take it easy...

i had lots of EBM and my dd dont really like them too. in the end i use them to wash my ds leg! haaa haa. DS skin v sensetive so it helps to stop his itch.

shirley,
ya loh, been raining. was thinking of going east coast yesterday but kept raining. even my ds comment that it has been raining on sunday for the past 2 weeks!
perhaps kids xplorer at pasir ris is a good place got shelter and no hot sun!

lwg,
i pack the stuffs liao. can sms me cos my hp retired and i didnt managed to save yr hp no. the other time. : )

Hi iwg26, my girl's eng teacher is Mdm Mazreeta.
Chinese is Miss Lim. She's also the teacher in charge of the ballet class. Which class is your gal in?

where can i find basic arts &amp; craft lessons for my gal in Bedok?

My gal drawing skills not good so hopefully can enrol her in some classes to pick up basic skill.

I didn't do any PV and is within 1km from Red Swastika and Yu Neng, so I will be under Phrase 2C. Which school do you think my gal has higher chance in getting in?

Jesling,
Mdm M is one of my dd's teacher too (but not Eng). Did you gal join any CCA? Dd recently started Chinese dance.

leetai,
If my memory didn't fail, RSS is more popular than Yu Neng for P1 registration. Yu Neng quite likely no need to ballot or if not, high chance of getting in if within 1km. But RSS confirmed must ballot. I heard lately RSS only take in about 30 PV so if want to volunteer, must register early.

Brought my kids to the zoo today. Aiyo, raining the entire time we were there. Took the tram, loop one round &amp; hang around the souvenir shop. Decided to give up &amp; went home. Raining season very hard to plan anything

jesling

where is your girl taking ballet?
thinking of sending my younger girl for ballet class
What other enrichments is she taking?

winniebear

community clubs mainly drawing classes, I think not much of art &amp; craft. Look out for holiday classes, sometimes have art &amp; craft. Was browsing PA website, this coming Friday Fengshan CC conducting glass/mug painting classes.

Hi nicky05,
doc advised me to bring my son for x-ray, but my colleague and sis-in-law said x-ray not good for kids, especially my son only 3 yrs old. My father-in-law suggested we bring him to another doc, my husband suggested we bring him see chinese physician. Chinese physician often are expensive..

Nemo10,
I'm not sure how long i wanna breastfeed my girl leh.. Milk supply keep decreasing. Previously took fenugreek, and my milk supply increased quite alot. Now i'm on fenugreek again, but not much effect on me liao. what about you? Gonna bf past 1 yr old?

Hi yawn,

my gal is taking ballet class at Kembagan cc since she was 3 yrs old. She's going for her pre-pri exam 2mr. Once she pass that, then can proceed to grade 1. She's also taking swimming lesson. Gog for Nassa bronze test by this June.
She loves drawing too and I had put her on the waiting list cos the classes are full. This is a teacher who teach from home. She's at Bedok South.
Recommended to me by another mum. She's on the waiting for 1/2 yrs liao.

jesling

wow, your girl can swim so well !

I feel that swimming is an essential life skill. My elder girl has water probia. She has been taking lessons on &amp; off for 2+ years. Recently managed to swim one width....still long way to go before she's ready to take bronze test.

I told her just need to reach bronze, good to set a target for her lor, but no need to go for silver or gold, otherwise she will surely freak out

Xueyi, don't know leh. Think to bf as long as I can. However bf with latch on, I feel that the baby seem to be very stick to me. No freedom at all. I think my supply consider low, cause sometime when I pump in the morning, the max will be 180-240ml. Anyway how much milk u give to your gal per feed? I gave my gal about 120ml per feed maybe can only last for 2hrs.

yawn,

my ds is much better than my girl but can't compare lah cos boy somehow tends to be stronger. My boy obtained his bronze cert when he was 6 yrs old. He's gog for his silver cert sometimes this yr. I hope he can go for Gold and that's it. By the time he so call finish his swimming, then it's time for my no. 3 and 4 to go for lesson. This will be gd for me cos to pay swimming lesson for 4 kids at a time is no joke. Every 4 lessons costs $70 as they are on individual lesson. I din 1 2 put them in group when they 1st started cos both were only 3 plus at that time, so I 1 100% supervision. To me, swimming is a survival skill that my kids have to know, so that is the 1st official enrichment they go to when they were at 3plus.

hi yawn yawn

i m looking more for drawing classes where she can learn basic drawing skills

hi Jes

I didn't know have to queue up for drawing classes as well, you finding any alternative?

Xueyi,
my 2 younger kids are seeing this GP a block away from my place. He's usually very ex, but so far, his med works fine for them. You can try seeing him.. Very senior man liao..
What i see is, if the cough has been dragging for a long time, i rather they go for x-ray and check if they having pneumonia. It's better to get it cured early then to wait until it becomes very serious. USually i still believe in western medicine to cure the sickness liao, then TCM to "pu"..

Hi lee tai,

not easy to find an alternative. I prefer home based art class than the CC. I ever sent my ds to sch holiday art class, ended up the teacher drew more than he drew. haha....

lee tai, u mean combination as in both western and TCM at the same time? Or western then TCM? i dont think can combine western with tcm at the same time leh..

Jesling,
Where did your kids learn swimming? $70 for personal lesson is qt reasonable. Is the instructor good? My dd passed her bronze 1 1/2 years ago. Now I want to let my ds learn swimming cos next yr when he's in P1, he'll be busier. Hope he can pass his bronze this year. Dd's previous instructor is v fierce and strict so I'm hesitating whether should let him learn from the same person. Many kids cried when they learn under him. But 1 thing I like is he's v effective cos my dd passed bronze within 8 months from learning. But my dd has super thick skin - never cry even when get scolded.

I know the ballet teacher at Kembangan. Many of my neighbors kids learn under her. Heard that she jus gave birth. My dd used to learn from her for a year but gave up cos I've no time to fetch her. Now switch her to chinese dance instead.

Hi LAdies,

Xueyi,
Hmm, I got another method to increase SS. Take Papaya milk. I didn't know of this until tt time I was sick and supply drop and my hubby bot me papaya milk and it went up. U may wanna give it a try.

Anxylyn,
Oh, I missed the gathering already. Nvm. Can I join the next round?

Re TCM, I heard from a TCM sensei and he said tt after taking chinese medication, 6 hrs later can take normal western med already. Else, an alternative method my mum learnt from TCM sensei is after we recover from illness and taking the western med, the next 1 wk, u can cook red dates, dang sheng, bei qi and wolfberries to "bu" the health back cos they said western med very "shan" and thats why if we are always taking western med, we tend to look very pale.

Hi iwg26,

my kids are taking swimming lesson at Bedok Swimming pool. We have been with him for 4 yrs. I think it's gd to have a strict teacher. Y not take back the previous teacher that your dd had b4? Somehow I find it's better since you already know him. Wow, your girl is very gd leh, 8 mths and already got bronze cert. My girl is taking her bronze in Jun this yr. haha... my gal is opposite of your gal. Mine scold little bit will cry very loud. haha....

Yes, Miss Blue just gave birth on 1Mar. I really have to say that she's a VERY committed teacher. 2 weeks after delivery (last sat), she came back to give the children refresher course cos this week is exam week. My gal took her pre-primary exam today and guess what? She came back again and b4 each group go in for their exam, she actually practise some greeting and steps with them. Which slot did your dd go to previously? Mine is on Sat 945am. Actually come to think of it, many mums here may somehow know each other online but since we din meet b4, we actually din know we know each other. It will be great to organise an outing so that all mums get to know each other.

Hi Nemo10, wow you can pump so much! i can only pump about 80-120ml per pumping session, so pathetic. My girl drank about 80-100ml per feed, usually last about 2-3hours. What pump are you using? Double electric pump? i'm using medela swing pump. thought of getting pump in style but too ex.

Hi Tinklebelle,
what is the recipe for papaya milk? you mean those fruit stall outside selling full cream papaya milk? I've been drinking papaya soya milk, is it effective too?

<table border=1><tr><td>Mommy</TD><TD> Child 1</TD><TD> Year</TD><TD> Child 2</TD><TD> Year</TD><TD> Child 3</TD><TD> Year </TD></TR><TR><TD>shirley</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>1998</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>2001</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2005 </TD></TR><TR><TD>cdajun</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>1999</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>2001</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2005 </TD></TR><TR><TD>hammy</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>1999</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2002</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2008 </TD></TR><TR><TD>nicky05</TD><TD> boy</TD><TD>2000</TD><TD> boy</TD><TD> 2005</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2007 </TD></TR><TR><TD>lwg26</TD><TD> girl</TD><TD> 2002</TD><TD> boy</TD><TD> 2003</TD><TD> boy</TD><TD> 2009 </TD></TR><TR><TD>sleepy</TD><TD> girl</TD><TD> 2002</TD><TD> girl</TD><TD> 2004</TD><TD> - </TD><TD> - </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nemo10</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2003</TD><TD> girl</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>wendypooh</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2004</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2006</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>winniebear</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2004</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>2007</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>wishes</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2005</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>jayce</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>2005</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Daphne</TD><TD> Boy</TD><TD> 2004 </TD><TD> - </TD><TD> - </TD><TD> - </TD><TD> - </TD></TR><TR><TD>carrie</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2005</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>ringo</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>2007</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jess</TD><TD> boy</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>kelcqi</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</td></tr></table>

winniebear
Yes, tried a number of drawing teachers in CCs including holiday programmes. But we discontinued all CC drawing classes already because of timing. Longest is with Mr Teh. He teaches at many CCs &amp; even PAP enrichments in Bedok area.

jesling
you have how many kids? I update your profile for you

Your kids learning swimming from Mr Lee?

Iwg26
your girl can swim so well too!
sigh....my kids like me lah, need to stay on dry land type. I can't swim at all. Only soak water

By the way, your girl going for graded piano exam? My neighbour said if graded exam can count as 1 CCA. Her child in Yu Neng &amp; the school allows that