Any Vegetarian Mom here?

kelcqi
no problem. how come no house? who do you stay with now?
after you got the contact can share with me? then i can share with my other veg friends. hopefully that CL is available to take your booking.

Hi Sunny,

Ok, once I can confirm any Vege CL, I'll let u know.

Or you'll prefer me to share it with you after my experiences with her?

Me staying with my in laws. Sigh, I don't wanna talk about it. Alot of unhappiness here. Me can't wait to have our own place and move out.

Imagine your own bed being dirtied by someone else? Would you be furious? Yet have to "REN" cos you don't wanna create conflicts and make everyone unhappy. I only vent my frustrations to hubby. He poor thing. Have to absorb my complaints.

kelcqi
ya, i think after your confinement is over, then you share with us bah.

hmmm... there's always conflict here and there when we stay with people that we are not familiar with. just need some time to adjust bah. i am quite lucky 'cos i don't need to stay with in-laws though they are quite nice person lah. just wanna avoid any possible conflicts loh.
don't get too mad at them, no good for baby.
you can vent your frustration here, too.
you found a house to move already?

Hi vege mummies.

I am considering becoming one myself, but not quite sure how to go about doing it. So hoping to get some advice from here!

What motivated you mummies to become a vege? For me, it is basically health reasons, and also religion.

Do you eat only 'pure' vege stuffs like fruits and vegetables? Do you also take processed bean products, like those sold at vege stalls in the markets?

How do you cook your veges? I use a lot of meat stock, so am clueless how to go about doing it without the meat inside.

How do you make porridge or noodles that is purely vege? What noodles do you use, and where can I get them? The instant noodles here, they're meat based, right?

Do you take eggs? Some people tell me vege can take eggs, but some say cannot, so I very confused. Can you take cakes then?

For those living in non-vege homes, how do you cope? I would basically be the one on vege diet. I eat at my MIL, but they're not vege. How should I refuse their food without seeming rude?

Sorry for the lengthy post with so many questions. I am really keen to change my diet, and hope to get some advice from the experts!

kelcqi, yea the lady is a malaysian. i dont have any other details on her though, so you got to call and check.

cowardchick, wow lots of qns! i will try to answer those i know, hehe

i became a vegetarian just becuase of one switch of mind after i read an article saying that one's stomach shouldnt be the grave for animals.. that's when i started to swtich to veg.

i eat fruits, veg, organic stuff, and also processed bean products(cuz they are more flavoured haha). gbut i will try to reduce the consumption, not eating a lot.. only eat maybe 2 veggie ball each meal , and maybe only twice per week.

i dont stir fry my veggies, usually blanch it in veggie stock or blanch it and put on the black bean organic sauce to substitute for the oyster sauce. cuz i think the veggie oyster sauce sold at retail markets are not healthy. so i rather get from organic stall, though more expensive but i think healthier since they are made from healthier sources.

porridge- you can just put any non meat item to cook in the porridge, and that's simple! noodles wise, you can get from any retail supermarket. i dont get instant noodles because they are not healthy(deep fried + msg), except koka i think, which is baked instant noodles. they got the vegetarian range.

yea i take eggs, might cut down or eliminate from my diet one day, who knows? hehe. but i guess when the time comes i will auto drop it in my dietary plan. since i still crave for breads and cakes, so i cant take eggs off my diet yet! hehe.

if you stay in non -veg home, you can start off with "rou bian cai" , meaning only take veg which is cooked with meat. it's ok, i belive in buddhism which teaches that we should give "convenience" to others and not to "create trouble" or giving inconvenience to others. buddhism is very flexible. we shouldnt be too strict sometimes and have to see the circumstances. so when there's no vegetarian choice, you can just pick the veg even if it's cooked with meat. slowly you will be able to swtich to total veg when the circumstances permit. i think whenever you refuse the food it will make them angry. have to give them time to accept that you are converting your diet.

glad that you are keen to become veg, and all the best! u can get many good advises from the vegetarian society of singapore - forum too.

Hi tongtong

Thanks for your reply and advice. Agree with you should not cause inconvenience to others because of my conversion to vegetarianism. Thanks for suggestion "rou bian cai". I think I can do that, esp in my MIL's house! This will reduce any potential friction.

I am using the mushroom 'oyster' sauce. Is that ok? haven't tried black bean sauce before, does it taste the same?

I think I should really have a real start. I am giving it half-hearted attempts which I think is neither here nor there. Thanks again for everything. I'll start tonite!

Bye bye meat, HELLO veggies!!!

Hi Cowandchick, cute nick u have. Hehe, welcome to the vege thread. Wish u enjoy this road to a cleaner health...

Sunny, u know why I'm unhappy? Cos my BIL used my bed for sexual activity. Then FIL thinks I'm creating trouble cause I shouldn't be angry even when they leave behind blood stains and pubic hair when we only changed e sheets and I cleaned e bed before I headed out... I think that behaviour is totally atrocious! I feel so small and disregarded in my hubby's family.

Think of it I feel like crying... How can they take sides so outwardly? Their sons have feelings, I also have mah. I'm also someone's daughter leh...

kelcqi
goodness.... i think if i were you, i would be very very unhappy, too. normally, if i have any unhappiness towards my in law side, i will tell my hb, and let him handle. i will just keep quiet when my hb talks to them loh. 'cos i know if i voice out, i either will sound very aggressive or start tearing. haha... weak me. and i am not sure what kind of tone they could accept. so, everything just leaves it to hb to handle.
*pat pat* hope that incident never happen to you again.

cowanchick
welcome to vegies family!
for me, i become a veg also because of health and religion reason, like you.

i took all kinds of veg stuff, including those mock stuff as long as there's no garlic/onion/animal contents inside. (be aware that some do have such things even they state 'vegetarian')

i usually will put mushroom 'oyster' sauce when i cook vege. sometime, just add salt or soya sauce. For porridge/noodles, i would add some mock stuff sometimes, or add tofu/vege (carrot, green leaf vege, tomato, etc etc) whatever veg/ingredients you like. after few times of cooking, you will get a feel of it. actually the ingredients to put is similar to how to cook meat dishes.... just that you don't put meat.

for instant noodles, i would buy either plain one i.e. koka or vegie flavour from myojo. actually, you can buy mee suah/beehoon/kuey tiao to cook, too.

i take eggs. it depends on individual loh. some don't take. but, there's not right or wrong answer. unless your religion doesn't allow egg. there are eggless cake selling in the shop, too. can't remember the name...

for a start, i took rou bian chai. then, gradually when my parents saw no hope in convincing me to convert back to meat eater, they would cook pure vegie dish for me. haha.. stubborn me.
else, if you don't mind, you can boil the veg/steam it then serve with some soya sauce. it's yummy and healthy, too.
and this shouldn't creat too much trouble for other family members.

jia you!

cowandchick, good luck and all the best ! there will be obstacles when you just started off but sooner or later u will be fine! dont hesitate to share with us if you encounter any probelms.

kelcqi- oh my goodness!! hwo could he do that? doesnt he have his own bed???!! your hubby din say anything about it? are you considering moving out and stay at your own house? For me, sure i go back to my mum's house liao... anyway i hope it doesnt happen to you again.

My hubby told my BIL to use my PILs room next time if he needs his rendevous with his gf. Because of that issue, we involved e police and IMH, hubby keeps thinking me having major depression. Later the doc said I'm suffering from transitional anxiety.

My PILs and hubby so scared I take e shortcut out so now they said ask my BIL used their room since he don't have his own room after we got married.

I think things will improve once we secure a place. I cried to hubby that I'm very stressed and pressurized by this pregnancy. Since pregnant like alot of bad things happening to me. We quarrelled more frequently and I always feel lousy...Kept wondering why I can't have a smooth and happy pregnancy like others? So I suggested an abortion. But if abort, my in laws and everyone sure thinks I'm a selfish mother. Hubby agreed but he felt uneasy about the idea.

So we went Guan Yin Temple yesterday and Hubby "qiu qian" to ask for advise. The lot came out telling us not to cut own flesh but be contented, and not to be decieved by others happiness. Got so "zhun" ah?

Now can only try to think positive so that baby will come out healthy. Meanwhile really hope God will grant us a flat reAlly soon...

Cowandchick, All the best in this journey. Oh, anyway as a word of suggestion from what I know of others who started out vegetarian halfway is giddiness. Try to supplement yourself for Iron or multi-vits if you find yourself more tired this period of time. It'll help you to feel better...

kelcqi, i hope you can get your own flat soon!
it's not easy to be pregnant and bb is a gift to us.. pls cherish and treasure and i'm sure your hubby will understand all your concern . BTW, i/m so puzzled that your PIL actually "allowed" your BIL to have his rendevou before marriage.. just wonder why they are so open minded ?!! i myself definitely cant accept this - me very conservative one lor!

Thanks again to everyone here for your advice. Kelcqi, thanks for informing me about the giddiness. What supplements would you recommend? Can you just buy any iron or multi-vits? How to check if they contain animal by-products?

Have been quite 'good' with my diet so far... hee hee. But sometimes quite hard to refuse dishes altog, especially vege cooked in meat. So, like tongtong advised, "rou bian chai" lor!

Yesterday my brother bought vegetarian food for all of us from Lingzhi, I had a feast! Yum, yum!

Kelcqi, do take good care of yourself, esp now with a bb. I hope all works out well for you soon.

Tongtong, My PIL know they can't do anything but to accept my BIL's behaviour loh. They even more scared of my hubby cos hubby is the one who supports the family. Thats why to some extend, hubby always gets his way in the house.

Cowandchick, I think iron pills and multi-vits, mostly can take but just read through the ingredients to play safe.

Lingzhi very nice rite? I love their tim sums!

I'll take care of myself. Just try and just try hard to stay positive so that I'll not fall into depression. Feel so weird cos I don't know why till now I can't seem to feel myself loving the baby...

kelcqi
take care of yourself. the pregnancy hormone will cause us moody at times, too. don't stress yourself too much.

Hi kelcqi,

It's normal not to feel anything towards ur bb now as this is ur 1st pregnancy. Ur bonding and likeness will start aft u deliver. I dun feel anything special for the 1st few days in the hospital but my love for my gal increases everyday when I'm back home.

It all depend whether u r a children lover anot. Try to stay positive and cheerful. How u feel during ur pregnancy got strong impact on ur bb.

kelcqi
i agree with what irene said. i spent 6 mths to convince myself that i am a mummy after i delivered. can you believe that? haha...

great news! novena square has lingzhi veg restaurnat! i have planned to go for the high tea on the first day of opening!! hhe.

yea actually this pregnancy of mine is unexpected.. and i dont feel the bonding yet when i just pregnant. but now ever since i started to feel bb's kick the bonding started to grow as well.. i just want my bb to be safe and healthy! and would try to eat good food for the sake of bb too ( which i din do before i was pregnant) hehe

Tongtong, when is the novena branch opening?

U all know something? I went KKH today referred by IMH cos of depression. The MO told my hubby to put a stop to my BIL's action cos I'm not someone who can accept ppl dirtying my own bed, whats more with blood stains and pubic hair after their intimacy. She said he may find it ok but I'm brought up in a different environment, cannot expect me to accept whatever it comes.

And also my PILs, she also told hubby they shouldn't always point fingers at me. Told my hubby don't let them interfere with our disputes anymore. I think she speaks my mind for me to my hubby. All these while no one seem to understand how I feel, always telling me I'm in the wrong even when it wasn't.

Just feel so tired coping with all these.

kelcqi
take good care of yourself.
glad that the doc understands your situation and speaks for you.
not sure if you believe in karma, if you do, just treat all these bad encounters as the things that you owed them in past life.
just move on and continue with your life. you have more to do after bb is born. don't let those people be the obstacles for you to move on to another stage of happy life.

sunny,

oh i not working at novena square but it's alright,cuz it's nearer than going far east or liat tower's one ma hehe.

kelcqi, the novena branch opens already!! just that their hi tea will start on 22nd dec. that day when i sent my mum off at novena square i saw this resutarnt! and quickly dabau dimsum from there. hehe. their take away dimsum starts in early morning lor!

kelcqi, pls take care! i think from the beginning your hubby's side were wrong..i will be in your situation too if i were u! i will sure screamed at hubby and i think i will run aawy from home and go back to KL! but of course i will sit down and talk to hubby, if he is so unreasonable and still side his family i think he is totally wrong. then i will decide what to do thereafter.

yea i agree with sunny about karma. i belive in karma and i think this was also an incident where i "repaid" them back. just hope you can find your own house soon and your in law side will change their attitude and show u at least some respect. take care!

Can you imagine if you come home and your BIL and his gf is inside your room, and you are not allowed to enter until awhile later? I came home to this situation this evening.

I believe in karma too, but isn't this too much for one to take?

I believed so. If not why not let me in? But hubby asked him and he said they only sat on the chair to talk? U believe his story?

I also dunno what to say when hubby told me that. Sigh. I try my best not to think so that I am happier. Sigh...

Ladies, check with you all, where you all brought your maternity clothes last time?

Tong tong, issit very ex to buy frm spring maternity? Sigh, Nowadays I feel so fat and ugly. All my clothes cannot wear, but thinking of buying maternity clothes like waste of money cos few months later throw one side liao...

kelcqi, yea spring maternity clothings are nice but more expensive. it will be good if you can wait till sales time.. but not sure when they having sales. think if you got dbs lady's card or dunno which card you are entitled to 10% discount ba.

it's good to buy bigger size which can last u longer during pregnancy. i buy lots of stretchy pants, those very cheap one.. and it last me thruout! so very worth it. i bot from normal retail store though. only bot very few items from maternity shops

Hihi mummies,

Happy New Year! Been so long since I came in.

I managed to borrow a few pieces of Maternity clothings from my friend who gave birth. Hehe...

I tried going to those retail store but the bust area all so tight. Very uncomfortable.

happy new year!!

Hi kelcqi,

hopefully u r feeling better now and taking better to ur current pregnancy. Stay positive and happy.

kelcqi
they don't have. but they have lots of baby dolls kind of tops which can be worn during pregnancy, too. :D

Hehe SUnny, I'll go and check out This fashion these few days.

Irene, thanks. Me having sleep disorder, so recently temper abit cranky. Trying to control... Haha...

Hi vegetarian mummies again!

Just wondering, do you have any nice vegetarian stalls or restaurants to recommend? Any near my place, Hougang/Kovan area would be great, but just anywhere in Singapore will do too.

I go to the stall at Serangoon Ave 1, opp. the multi-storey carpark that is behind the mosque. For a nicer ambience, I go to Greenland. Once in a long while, and on special occasions, I'll splurge and go Lingzhi!

Happy to report my vegetarian quest is going along quite fine. I can only do half-day vegetarian for the moment. I go to mil's for dinner, but I try to minimise meat. Trouble is she uses tons of garlic!

cowandchick, there are any nice stalls or restaurants leh.. u can try these floggers blog:
http://vegefoodhunt.blogspot.com/
http://www.ilovemyveg.blogspot.com/
http://veggiebun-loves-to-eat.blogspot.com/

yea, i'm waiting for my mum to come SG then me, hubby and mum will go high tea at lingzhi!! i think it's not expensive la, $15++ and can eat my favourite dimsum hehe.

yea half day veg is good enuff as a start!! dotn worry, being veg cannot be hurried one, 欲速则不达!
slowly but with determination ya!

tongtong
Thanks for the blogs. Wow, so many to choose from, I need not go hungry again!

Hope you have a wonderful time with your mum at Lingzhi. When is she coming? where from? (sorry ah, kay po a bit)

cowandchick, my mum is coming to SG this weekend! yea from KL lor hehe. i'm married to Singapore in fact keke

I am a vegetarian too and is going without egg. Very glab to see so many vege mums here. : ) There's actually alot of very nice vege stores around Kovan/Hougang area. One of it is "Tian Yun" Divine Vegetarian Restaurant at 501 Hougang Ave 8. They are selling la mian and lots of specialties.

Let me find more info and share with you all : )

Mummies, talking abt food. I realized alot of vegetarian stalls don't open at nite. I have problems with dinner esp when my mil seldom cook and when she cooks, it's meat all the way...