Any Vegetarian Mom here?

oh, i think the plant based milk is not specifically for preg one.. but i tot since i dont drink the anmum i drink this one lor.

hi mummies, JTS:

Toys"R"Us is holding a WAREHOUSE SALE starting this Friday, up to 60% off, only 4 days from September 28 - October 1, 2007

Toys"R"Us
Warehouse Sale @ SAFRA Toa Payoh

Date: September 28 - October 1

Time: September 28 (11am - 8pm; for Star Card, SAFRA & UOB Card members)

September 29 - 30 (11 am - 8 pm; Open to public)

October 1 (11 am - 5 pm; Open to public)

Priority Sale Day for Star Card, SAFRA & UOB Card Members: September 28 (11 am - 8 pm)

can you share which childcare centre did you send your kids to? does the centre provide vegetarian food?

I'm due in May 2008. Been on vegetarian diet since young. I'm wondering if anyone of you had confinement ladies when you gave birth. I read in the forum and it seems like most confinement ladies only cook non-vege dishes.

I'm looking for a good confinement lady who can cook vege meals for me since I do not take meat. Please recommend if anyone of you had confinement lady who can cook vege meals. Thank you...

kelcqi
i am due in end feb 08.
my confinement lady also doesn't cook vege meals. but she learnt from my mil in my last confinement and she helped my mil to prepare all the ingredients and not doing any cooking. this time round, i engaged her as she's confident in doing the cooking. I plan that during the confinement period, my mil will come to my place on/off to supervise her on the cooking.

kelcqi
oh ya, if you need the contact, please pm me.
in my opinion, she is good in taking care of bb, pro bf and efficient.

tongtong
pm you liao.
And, one thing to take note, if your friend decides to let her do the confinement for her, she would need her 100% trust. She's a chin chye lady. But, she would rather not accept the booking if she feels that the mummy has doubt 'cos she thinks that, no point to do confinement if the mummy doesn't have confident in her.

Hi Sunny,

You mean the lady will not accept people asking her alot of questions? Actually not say doubt her, but first time. Surely alot of things to enquire before engaging her rite?

kelcqi
she's ok to take any questions. what i meant was if she felt that you don't have confident in her preparing veg food, she might not be willing to take the booking 'cos she worried that there might be unhappiness during the confinement period if the mummy doesn't have confident loh. But if you insist to book her, she will still take lah.

ya, same as tongtong, i take eggs.

Hi Sunny,

Hmm, I might prolly book her for the mth of June. Cos baby due 31st May, so by the time come back from hospital is June already rite?

Can I have her contacts? But I dunno where I'll be staying yet, still looking for flat. Issit ok to update her the address when the date gets nearer?

tongtong
ya, already book her liao.

she's indonesian chinese. but she stayed with her daughter in s'pore.

kelcqi
i replied your email liao.

you not in s'pore?
what i did was, i will tell her my EDD. then, from there, she would know when to block her own calendar and whether she could take your booking.
ya, can let her know the exact address when date gets nearer.

Hi Sunny, Thanks for the contact, I go check my email later. Let u know if I get it.

Me in Singapore ah. How come u ask me that? Anyway I replied to one of the threads u posted on childcare centres on Kinderland-CCK one. I dunno about the one at Suntec, so my comments only on Cherie Hearts and Kinderland.

Hi Sunny, Thanks for the contact, I go check my email later. Let u know if I get it.

Me in Singapore ah. How come u ask me that? Anyway I replied to one of the threads u posted on childcare centres on Kinderland-CCK one. I dunno about the one at Suntec, so my comments only on Cherie Hearts and Kinderland.

sunny, my friend would like to check with you personally first, issit convenient to give her your contact? If you are ok, pls pm me and i will send your contact to her. SHe is from fotang also.

kelcqi
no problem. thanks for replying me leh. i thought no one replied, so didn't go and check that thread. hehe...
'cos you said you don't know where you will be staying at mah. so, i thought you are not staying in s'pore currently.
oh ya, loh soh a bit. for this confinement, i will ask hb and mil to buy those mock stuff 'cos they know where to buy cheap one. then for vege, the confinement auntie will go market to buy loh. But we will remind her what kind of vege not suitable for confinement 'cos it's liang. 'cos you know lah, non-vege confinement food mostly meat, seldom got vege....

tongtong
can, no problem. but might not be able to help your friend much. 'cos this will be the 1st time this auntie cooks full vege confinement food for me. last pregnancy, my mil did all the cooking and auntie will help to prepare ingredient. She only cooked breakfast for me that time which is mee suah soup. and it's already very yummy. hehe....

Sunny, I replied to the thread liao. Hehe...

Oh no, I dunno what veges are "liang" leh. Mostly likely I'll be alone with the confinement lady. No mummy or MIL to help me.

She got prepare black vinegar thingy for u? I love the black vinegar confinement food. My mum ever cook that dish before. Yummy!

kelcqi
ya, some veges are 'liang' one. if you are engaging her, she should know by then what kind of vege is safe to take loh. 'cos go thru one round in taking care of me liao. hehe....

yap yap, she will prepare black vinegar dish. but, if you want her to add some mock stuff, you need to tell her what you wanna add loh. 'cos she might not know what mock stuff to supplement the meat. actually the confinement auntie likes the black vinegar stuff, too. haha... i remember that time, my mil prepared for me, she also took and commented that if add the eggs, it will be more delicious. haha...

btw, do you take egg and milk?

Hi Sunny,

Yah, I am taking eggs and milk also. You are pregnant now rite? Are you taking milk for calcium also?

I think I'll ask her to add egg for the black vinegar dish. since it should be nice. I also dunno what mock stuff to add in leh. Jia Liat, u know hor, all these while I never cook at home one. Vegetarian food always eat outside. At home at most cook mee suah with egg and the vege oyster sauce, then throw in some veges only...

kelcqi
ya, due in end feb.
i only take fresh milk leh. didn't take those formula milk which is meant for preggie. 'cos don't like the taste. haha...

i think the mock stuff is more to add the flavour into your dishes. you can actually just buy those you normally eat outside, then, ask the confinement lady to add some loh.

during the confinement period, the most important ingredients i find were ginger, sesame oil, black vinegar and red dates tea.

i am praying that ntuc got offer for sesame oil and black vinegar soon. haha.... then i can start stocking up.

oppss.. use the wrong word in my last last posting... not supplement.. should be substitute. hehe.... pardon my bad english.

kelcqi, i'm taking plant based milk and soymilk, and calcium tablet from gynae.

i think for mock stuff, normally is the mockmutton? can add monkey head mushroom too i think

Sunny, thanks for the info. I'll ask my mum to help me buy and stock up when my due date is near.

I called the confinement lady already. Her daughter picked up. She said 7th May got one confinement. Sigh, dunno I should wait for her to finish, ask my mum to help to cook during one wk but hubby will stay home. Then ask her come and do the rest of the period. Or dunno any other confinement lady available that can help me??

Btw, does she allow you to bath?

Tongtong, I seldom drink milk leh, I only drink soybean drink. Sigh, dun really like milk. And calcium tablet gives me constipation.

kelcqi
when's your EDD?
regarding bath... she didn't tell me when i can bath lah. 'cos i listen to my mil to only bath after 12 days loh. then bath once every week thereafter.
i think she is ok to prepare those herbal water for you to bath. 'cos during the confinement, she did ask me quite often if i need her to boil the herbal water to bath. hehe....
the things that she always nagged at me are
1) must always lie down to rest
2) don't use computer so much
3) let her feed EBM during night time, so i can have rest.

ya, if you take calcium tablet, need to drink more water, too.

Hi Sunny,

My EDD on 31st May, So hopefully the woman before me give birth earlier and my baby also guai guai stay inside. Sigh...

I dun think I can last 12 days without bathing leh. So hot and bleeding. I hope she boils e water for me every 2-3 days. Hehe

Tongtong, I took alot le, i had one cup of prune juice every morning, afternoon had papaya. Sometimes I also drink fruit juice. Like still stuck leh.

erm.. constipation very common for preggie woman like us! i had experience hard tools too till i got piles. luckily now subside liao cuz i applied aloe gel, which is very good. did you drink enuff water? must drink a lot hor.

Tongtong, I drink alot of water cause I get thristy easily. Even at nite i need to wake up and drink abit cos if not throat very dry and sore.

I now add yakult to my everyday diet and stopped on my iron n calcium pills. They seem to worsen it. I told hubby I think I might take milk to subsitute the nutrients.

Bad news Sunny, Mdm Zhang said she cannot take my confinement cos she had one n april n one in july, if take mine 3 togther, will be very tiring. Sigh. Me now so worried, dunno where to find confinement lady.

kelcqi, is the mdm hang called zhang zhuying? cuz i got this cl contact from a vegetarian too. not sure whether is the same person.

kelcqi
you can try kiwi. quite effective.

oh dear.... sorry to hear that auntie can't take your booking. how about booking thru the agent?

Hi Sunny.

Keke... Me so dumb. LOL

Kiwi will help constipation ah? I go try...

U know of any Agent who can help?

kelcqi
ya, kiwi will help, at least for my case lah. hehe.... can try to eat in the morning before breakfast.
i heard that TMC got provide such agent service.
i saw from another thread that a mummy is sharing that she got a contact of a veg CL? have you got the contact from her already?

hi enne!!!

Hihi Enne...

Hi Sunny, mind sharing with me which is the other thread you are talking about?

I called a few CL and they don't wanna do for me. Some taken and rejected me say it's vegetarian very hard for them, even I offered to pass them recipes of vegetarian dishes. But those who complained it's hard, I'll also not trust them. Never work start complaining first. Don't know why some ppl's attitude like that one.

I haven go down to TMC yet. Intending to give birth there but never go down for hospital tours etc.

Hi Sunny,

Thanks for the link. I almost forgot I posted there for help also. So many things to worry about now and realized that I'm getting more and more forgetful these days. No house, not ready for baby coming...

Tongtong, the lady is a malaysian?