Alot of Users posting their businesses in YOUR FORUM

agree with what seabreeze is saying on the exchange rate. remembered that the usual exchange rate for US was 1 = 1.75, but long after rates dropped to 1.65, some mummies are still using the old rate.

but how much can you earn from exchange rate... anyway, mummies can check the current exchange rate what... usually credit card company will charge 2-3 cents higher than the current rate...

unless the organiser did not state the exchange rate used lor...

dryperbaby ...

for every USD$100 of good purchased based on the $0.10 difference ... its SGD$10 that we are looking at

its not alot of money if you just look at it like this ... but if the person org a few spree in a span of a few months and each time the purchase is $400 (usually in order to avoid GST) ... it can easily come up to $100 within 2-3 spree

and many time mummies here are v nice ... they will just pay whatever the org say and not check on the vpost charges/exchange rate etc

so i think that CL must have some evidence before making such a statement

Ladies, at least i see the true colours of many liao. Indeed many are doing business. SIGH! I have already blacklist a few.

And yes for the sprees etc people are charging at a higher rate. Hard to tell who is real. Unless the organiser show the bill.

hi seabreeze,

for example, now the rate is $1.60, usually, credit card company will charge ard $1.63-$1.64, ard 3-4 cents higher seldom 10 cents (tt is where too much)...

well if $10 is really needed to start a spree... guess no choice lah... :p

dryperbaby ...

this is what i am trying to say ... some mummies are still charging $1.70 or $1.75 ... i do factor in that credit card chrages 3-4 cents higher

and not forgetting that they still get to earn points/dollars which they can use for their own purchase in the future - all thes = $$ too imagine how much points/$$ they have chalked up from organising spree

but there are still some mummies who are real fan of ON, Gap, Briks etc lar ... so to pay $10 is q 'sad' lor

There are sprees where the organizer will refund the difference if the exchange rate is lower. When I organize sprees, I will factor in the difference when I collect vpost shipping charges.

Perhaps we can enforce that all sprees must follow this rule, otherwise it will be removed by the moderators.

Frankly, I will not join any spree if $10 is charged. The base charge of vpost is only $9.99, and basically we are only sharing this with other mommies when we join sprees. I would rather order on my own.

tamarind ...

if all mummies are like you ... then the $10 rule wont be enforced liao

i personally feel that its a pity lor ... the $10 rule ... cos i like to shop here more then orchard heehee

quite true... i shop here more than orchard... hee hee...

ya lor now must pay $10... maybe noone will conduct sprees already...

Chin Leng, just a suggestion.

I am active in many other forums and they have certain rules which I feel are more reasonable and easier to manage for moderators.

ADVERTISERS/BUSINESSES:
Set up a special category for them. It can be called "Approved Advertisers".

In order to post under this category, users have to email you for permission and pay a fee. Upon approval and confirmation of fee paid, the user can then register a nick in which it reflects the company/business name. I'm not sure it is is possible in this forum but instead of "new member" the nick can be placed as "Approved Advertiser" so that everyone knows that the seller is an approved advertiser. With this, it will be easy for all users to spot unapproved advertisers selling in this category.

Suggested fee: S$30-50/month. Since they are businesses, they will most likely advertise quite regularly.

Suggestion information required from sellers:
Name in Full:
I/C number:
Home/Business Address:
Contact Number:
Email Address:
Nature of business:

BULK PURCHASE:
Set up another category for bulk purchases. Anyone who wants to organise a BP or spree has to get prior approval from moderators. Any spree/BP posted without approval will be removed.

In other forums, the organiser of the spree/BP emails the details to the moderator. The moderator starts the thread on behalf of the organiser.

In this category, it can be a 'locked category' in the sense that new threads can only be started by the moderator.

Again, the organiser must provide information as above mentioned for advertisers to the moderators.

As there are some concerns that certain spree/BP organisers are the suppliers themselves, all sprees/BP organisers must let the moderator know the source of the spree/BP.

So information needed from spree/BP organiser:
Name in Full:
I/C number:
Home/Business Address:
Contact Number:
Email Address:
Supplier details: Website/Company name, address, contact number

Of course these details are confidential and moderator will only release these information via requests from participants if the organiser disappears or does not deliver the products.

SECOND HAND ITEMS/NEW ITEMS TO SELL BY MUMMIES:
For this category, it is not fair for mummies to have to pay to sell their second hand wares, or new items which they no longer need.
As long as the items are not in large quantities (eg. more than 3 items of the same kind), I feel that mummies should be allowed to sell their stuff here.

With these categories, users of this forum can easily spot out anyone trying to promote their business or sell anything in the second hand category.

Example from other forums for BP/Sprees:
This spree has been brought to you by user Fiona. Click here for contact (A URL is inserted to link to the email address of the user).

1. This is a spree for : http//www.bb.com.au

2. The calculation method: AUD 1= 1x $1.2

3. The shipping will be advised at a later stage when we place the order and will be split accordingly. (according to weight as on the website.you can click on the item you want and proceed to exit to find out the weight of your item)

4. The spree will be limited to an order of not more than $500 AUD

5. Please make payments immedietely to DBS savings 033-4-030440. No payment, no order.

6. Cut off date: 15th april 2006 or $500 AUD whichever comes first.

the following is the format for the order

username:
item name:
quantity:
price:
weight:

item name:
quantity:
price:
weight:

total weight:

(calculation for weight can be done by adding your orders into the cart and proceed all the way to check out)

Collection area is at boon lay mrt and novena mrt. Other than that,items will be sent out by post.postage will be advised after the items arrived.

my take on the exchange rate issue - I think some mummies make it clear from the outset that they won't refund any excess. Guess then i would say "caveat emptor" or "buyers beware". If you go in with eyes open as to the terms, then cannot complain later lah. Afterall, there is effort involved in doing sprees and if this is treated as "service charge" for ensuring that the transaction goes thru (eg having to make overseas calls), then boh bian loh. But there are also mummies (like myself) who are prepared to make the refund so it does appear to be harsh to penalise everyone. guess with all internet trades, there is an element of trust. cannot expect everyone to show solid proof of what was charged lah. Just have to agar agar based on market rate to know if you have been ripped off. Also, can broadcast to the rest if you are being treated unfairly loh and hopefully the rest will "blacklist" that organiser next time.

Tuffy, in other forums, the organiser has to fax the CC bill and V post shipping bill to the moderators. The moderators will then post the actual CC exchange rate used by the CC company and the actual shipping costs incurred.

Other users can then see for themselves. Sometimes it is processing the refund that is tedious, not that pple dun wanna do it. Imagine if you need to refund S$0.10 or S$1 to everyone who ordered and there are 50 pple who ordered, won't it be messy?

When I organise spress in other forums, I usually require participants to pay only 70% of their orders first. Pay the rest (balance plus shipping) after the items have arrived and the CC exchange rates confirmed. This makes it easier as I do not need to process refunds, just need to calculate how much more they need to pay when they collect the items.

hi mrs wong,
if you are using vpost, chances are there is no refund cos any balance would be used to top up vpost charges. So it is just a matter of paper accounting, if you know what I mean.

As for faxing cc bills, hmm.. I think there is serious confidentiality issues here right? how many of us are prepared to reveal our credit card no. as well as unrelated expenditure to others (even the moderator). Also, I doubt it is the moderator's job to do this. Really, it is up to individual mummies to exercise caution and an eagle eye.

as for vpost bill, it comes by email anywhere and I think most pple do forward this to the rest.

Tuffy, what I did was to use black marker to blakc out all the sensitive information. I've been doing this at other forums and everyone is happy with the arrangement cos it ensures that the spree/BP is fair.

I know of some that use the value of the purchases to split the shipping costs. Which means if total they spent S$100 and the shipping cost is S$20, they pay the shipping costs according to the value of their purchase. Which means someone who buy S$20 worth of goods pays S$4 for shipping (just an example).

I am one person who buys 1 item from 1 spree. Honestly I find it rather expensive to pay part of the $10 imposed after June 30.

Hi Chin Leng,
I suspect this user 'Boo' has an online biz here. This person ever posted a thread for brand new tops for baby girl and boys. When I happened to ask for more info, he/she mentioned got various sizes available.

Janet,
The most irritating thing is this 'Boo' likes to flood the Market Place everywhere! Making the Market Place look so cluttered..

this is boo. i have 2 sizes only cos my sis bought it in a set of 3 at this shop but not allowed to choose design. so she has 2 sizes for 2 of the designs to let go. since she has just given birth to a baby boy, she has no use for the boy's tee. i would appreciate it if you guys would come clean and be frank with me. just pm and find out. what do you mean i'm flooding? i hardly post my thread now and there are others who do the same. this is just sooo terrible. even if i have a business..and that's my tee biz, i no longer post it up here as i have promised chin leng. i am even thinking of coming up with the $10 to post my items. sigh. some people....

and hi bliss,
great to meet you. amazing how you can call one irritating just by posting one's thread up.. what can one do when one has MANY items to let go..also doing it for my 3 other sis. sigh...
best wishes,
the irritating person whom u have never met.

boo
i empathise deeply with how you are feeling now. *tap-tap your shoulder*

may i suggest you try to put up your sales in yahoo auctions? there are many mommies who shop online at yahoo auctions nowadays especially shopping for cheap pre-owned clothings, preferably in almost brand new condition! i am one of them who sells and buys from yahoo auctions. you will be pleasantly surprised with the response.

well, its just my suggestion/recommendation. its still up to you to consider lah!

hi mrs shim,
i just don't understand these people. and i'm glad i met u cos you now know that i've got sooo many to sell off. And those people who came by my garage sale would also vouch for that. They'll see the same items on sale too and they are just BN but have been bought earlier but NOT used....sigh. Like what the saying goes...You can't please everyone and there's really no point trying so...
Thanks again.

hi boo,

My apologises if u felt offended.. I didnt mean to say u're an irritating person.. I said that i felt irritated cuz u've created too much threads (Not posts) in the Market Place.. I didnt say that u r having an online biz here as Im really lousy at spotting who is genuine seller or one thats out to make profits..

I know u r eager to clear ur stuff but just take a look at the amount of threads u have created & refreshed within 3 days (25 -27 June), not mentioning those earlier den that which still can be found in the market place.. Im not sure if u would have create more if the Market Place is still Open for new threads..
So if this isnt flooding, den I'll apologise for misusing the word...Maybe someone can come up with a better word..

INFANT and KIDS' Clothes ($5.50-$10)

TOYS for IMAGINARY PLAY

CHEAP 2nd hand Branded KIDS' CLOTHES

DIGITAL BABY BOOK

BABY Carrier cum ROCker ($20)

Brand new BOYS and GALS TEES (baby/toddlers)

BAJU KEBAYA/BAJU KURUNG for SALE

Wooden Letter HOLDER and Key hanger

THE NEW KID ON THE BLOCK CD Rom

LADIES JACKETS N TOPS

STROLLER / CAR SEAT TOY ($8)

MATCH N Spell School Blocks ($5)

BUMBLE BEE VCDs FOR SALE

SUPER SINGLE Bunker Bed for Sale

BABY BUS Infant Carrier ($30)

BENETTON DRESS (3-6mths)

BEAUTIFUL ANIMAL BOWLS ($10)

SESAME STREET NUMBERS Windows CDRom

BLUESKY FOOTSPA

MOTHERCARE Girl's TOP

NODDY CD Rom

WINNIE THE POOH long pants (7-8) and COTTONTALE dress

MEASURING SCALE with CONTAINER ($10)

CAR PURIFIER for sale ($10)

UNUSED KETTLE for SALE

BABY MILK BOTTLE STORAGE HOLDER

HUGE SALE..CHILDREN'S CLOTHES (Preloved)..MOSTLY GIRLS

IKEA Bubbles SHOWER CURTAIN

CLEARANCE..CHEAP but BEAUTIFUL NECKLACES, RINGS n BROOCHES

SPICE RACK anyone?

JANE AUSTEN Bounce Back After Baby WORKOUT VCD

PRETTY DRESSES

URGENT SALE - Pls Help Clear... Thanks

PHOTO FRAME n CUTE STUFFS

CUTE TEES for NEWBORNS and TODS

STYLISH JEANS for 2-yr-old GIRLS

No offence but dont you think this is abit too much of threads created by just one user? U could have categorized & compile everything into 2-3 threads..
I dont know how others felt, but im just stating what I feel..
I'll comment until here & put a full stop to it..Dont wish to create any hard feelings.. Thanks..

Hi Boo,

It would be good if you can reduce and consolidate all the threads into fewer threads. Thank you.

Chin Leng.

hi chin leng,
thank you so much for revising the new rules.
will certainly help you keep a lookout for offending threads.

guess the new rules mean that the online sprees for ON etc can still continue if they are organised by genuine users at no fee?

Hi Chin Leng,

Thanks for revising the rules again! But whats the difference between 'Secondhand Items' & 'Want to Sell' section? So what can be listed in the 'Want to sell' section?

i must admit that i'm eager to post my stuff but am honestly just trying to clear my kids' stuff. i'm truly sorry if i have offended anyone here but sometimes i just find it difficult to categorise certain stuff like the photo frames and pencil holder. also some mums have mailed me to come up with threads for the different items i have cos sometimes they are looking for only a particular kind and didn;t want to bother to look into links. And silly me..I did just that. Don't know whether kena sabo or what but I feel awful, really. Don't want to name names but that's what happened. So sorry to all that I have offended but will be great if you could come forth and ask me personally as to whether i'm actually doing any biz here co the matter can be easily cleared.

And CL,
was it supposed to be $10 per 7 days? Has it been changed to $20 now?

Hi Chin Leng,
I'm wondering if the '2ndhand items' section can be an individual site so that there won't be too much clutter. This way, it will be clear that what is sold in that section are obviously 2nd hand items. Also, threads like 'Stay at home mummies' can be put under a Community section ?
What do you think ?

Rgds, Janet

Hi Chin Leng,

It was a pleasant surprise when I log on today to see that there is revision of the new rules. This seems so much better and hopefully mummies will appreciate all the effort and not abuse the forum.

Must admit that this forum is really very addictive especially the marketplace cos as mummies, we often buy lots of stuff and realised that our kids outgrow them so soon and the things are just wasted. And we still can;t stop buying new things. (I haven;t sold anything cos I am such a hogger and I am sure a lot of mummies are like me) So marketplace gave a platform for the 'shopaholic' in us. I was a little disappointed with the initial rules cos I thought that means less people will be willing to do BP...(lovely memories of 'crocs BP, TEachersthemepark BP flooded my mind), now it's win-win. People with business need not be in guise and people who genuinely want to share good buys can do so without being penalised.

Three cheers! Thanks again for all the hard work.

Oh yes, maybe we should remind mummies to post in the right sections as far as possible cos I see all sorts of threads under the 'giveaway free' section.

CL,
i applaud your decision to allow BP/spree/BN/used items sale by mommies (without the $10 charge). it shows you really hear all our views....

just a note: The 2nd hand items/Want to sell categories should be combined to one category to avoid confusion.

keep up the good work!

Hi Chin Leng,
Would appreciate if you could clarify the following:
1) What's your definition of "businesses"? I know you have made some kind of definition for this before,could you just clarify again.

2) What about genuine members who have accumulated more that 100 postings so far, but are running some kind of businesses,such as selling children's clothing,babysitter/nanny/tutor/insurance agents,dealers of health products/household products etc.Such members could be doing it part-time or full-time.

Hi Chin Leng,

Thanks for revising the rule.

Not only the genuine members here benefited from this move, it helps to clear your name as well.As some members have started to label you as being "commercialise","trying to make $$$"......Sad that this come from the mouth(or hands,since she is typing it out)of someone you have helped.

I am assuming that Want To Sell Section is for any Brand New Items.So members who have received gifts that they want to get rid of,or things they bought but never used could all be posted here.

As for where to post the Want To Buy threads, since you don't have one section for that,I assume it would depend on whether the members WTB a new one or a 2nd hand one,then post it under the correct section accordingly. Correct me if I am wrong.

Like the thread highlighted above.Though posting everywhere to meet the 100 postings can be done, but I guess it's quite a tedious and time-consuming task to do,unless the person is all out to sabotage you.

It's more likely that businesses will start posting under every other topics with the new rule.

Hi Jessie,

1. As long as the intention is to make profit or reduce loss from a business (eg. clearing stocks), and the items were not initially bought for personal reasons, we would consider it as running a form of business. The business need not be officially registered with ACRA.

2. Regardless any member who have more than 100 messages, as long as it is a business, it would have to be posted in the "Business" section category of the marketplace. Even if the member has less than 100 messages, business owners can still apply to have the thread posted in the "Business" section.

Chin Leng.

Hi Van,

Initially, the secondhand items section was created as no fee was charged for the section. Now that new items (personal) also enjoy free listing, we've now combined secondhand items and want to sell section into just Want To Sell so there should be less confusion as suggestion by Suelee.

Chin Leng.

Chin Leng,

Perhaps to help new forumers in getting accustom to the rules of posting in various section in the forum, you might want to consider coming up with a set of guidelines and have it posted in each section and have the thread "flagged" such that it will always remain on top and nobody is allowed to post in the thread other than yourself to keep the thread clean.

Another suggestion is that once you have volunteered moderators, you can designate a few to each section of the marketplace. And anybody who wants to start a thread on spree or to sell something will need to get clearance from the designated moderator. This way you can ensure that the thread is started by a member (who has chalked up genuine posts of at least a 100 in other sections of this forum board). It may sound tedious but at least I think it will be easier than having to do constant random checks throughout the forum. Moreover I am fairly certain that if the moderator is someone who has been around in this board for a while... she can recognise who are the regular forumers. In addition, it will prevent multiple threads from being created by one person but instead consolidate many items into one thread.

Chin Leng,
I noticed that users with less than 100 posts can post in the WTS section, like the one that Jessie highlighted.

Isit a system problem?

Hi Jessie,

Yes, it is business. Thanks for the highlight. The threads have been removed.

Chin Leng.

Hi Boey,

It is not a system problem. The forum software does not have the feature to allow us restriction by number of messages. So we'll have to monitor it manually. The good thing is that the users who break the rules can now easily be noticed.

Chin Leng.

Oh wow! Can foresee still going to be a tough job just to eyeball the number of postings then!
kao_dizzy.gif

Does this mean as long as less than 100 postings, cannot post on the WTS, even if not biz thread? Phew! You're gonna get some flak that way, man!