Advise on Baby & Maid Exps

how many of you are working mom? like have heavy biz trip and how many of the working mom are happy with their maids here?

the reason why i ask - i used to have heavy biz travels even when i was in another country but that time, i do not have a baby. i took a year rest for giving birth and also to be with baby. However, my work inevitably requires travel again. I want to know what you mommies do in order to check on your maids or assure that your house is still in 1 piece when you get back. My hubby is also working. I do not have relatives here since I am not from here.

appreciate any piece of advise you can give...

disney
i onli made 2 trips in this whole year.. what i did was to pack baby and maid to my parents' house. n hb will visit them after work.. spend time with baby until bb sleep.

patsy
i did not have time to return u an email. but i really appreciate ur translation for me. thanks for the reassurance.. but just gotta be careful of this clever maid lor.

eileen10/vone
MIL said it is better for the maid to use the phone at home than to allow her to wander around the estate to make phone calls. She could have yuck and yuck on the public phone or hung around with neighbours maids gossiping, since she always try to ask for excuses to go buy pads at the minimart. She said this ex-SIN maid is not an easy one to deal with. Anyway, I told MIL that she should restrict her phone calls, cannot suga suga make phone calls ma.

precious_one,

oic. wat ur mil says makes sense aso. bt 4 her 2 use d phone till tat kind of extend, i feel tt it's kinda of overboard. ur suggestion is good. i hope tat ur mil wld implement it.

Hi Amlamum,
Cancelling work permit and sending maid back is very simple. Just book the air ticket first with any airline, and then cancel her work permit online at MOM's website and its effective immediately - once you cancel they will have a "S" pass for you to print out and give to your maid. The "S" pass is valid till the day her flight leaves, so you can cancel her work permit today and have her leave on a flight tomorrow. She has to show the "S" pass at the airport with her passport in order to leave the country. And you have to keep her work permit and send it back to MOM.

Hi Liana,
Glad you had a good trip
Btw, thanks again for all yr advice that nite!! I felt so relieved after talking to you! It was really nice of you to stay up so late to chat with me and listen to my sorrows haha and even volunteering to help me 'escort' her onto the plane! Now that everything is over I can laugh about it...but those few nites were sleepless nites for me!

Hi Angel,
Don't mention it. You were definitely cool, calm and collected and handled the whole thing very logically. Glad she finally got on that plane!

Hee hee...hey, at least you are very experienced on how to send a maid back now!

See what I mean....once one has this kind of experience, one's views on maids being regular nice people keen on earning an honest living and caring for your family totally changes!!!

Hi Liana
Tks Liana. I'm on and off well ....there's some family issues that I have to sort it out, perhaps I'm at mid life crisis....I only wish that I have two mothers and two MILs....so at least I have an elder who's free for me.....kekeke, then I can go and satisfy my desire to work again.....been so bored being SAHM...going gila soon.

precious one

do take care...I know being a sahm for too long can really loose the sanity...am for one and like loosing goal in my life, except for watching my kids grow...

hi precious_one,
my myanmar maid of 1mth plus oso had a 'heart' problem some time back.. told us heart pain... whole day sit or lie on the floor doing nothing.. end up I call up the agent and ask the agent to ask her wats wrong with her.. she told the agent she ate too much.. too full.. cannot work.

Hi vone, Thanks for the website, I am in search of cheaper fare. I also don't know who should be paying for the airtkt, can advise? I will also speak to my maid about the airfare.

Hi disneytky, I have asked her to seriously consider before I book her the air tckt cos' she spend so much to get here then just finished the agency loan and will not have much $ to bring home. Meanwhile, I just check the price first. Thks, I found the cheapest for PH airline at S$190, not sure if there are hidden charges. You are right that near May 1 date seems more expensive then the other months. Thanks a lot for the information. The agency really charge so much for their service so I will try DIY.

Hi mummies, PH maids are quite good but I think they are quite emotional and get homesick. I thinking to try myamar maid cos I heard they are diligent and gentle to kids, Anyone has experience with them? are they good? Any agency to recomend?

Hi angel,

Thanks,u also just send your maid back home on the plane too without thru the agency? Did you plan the dates with her or give her just a day notice prior to departure? Any additional advise for me? My neighbour has asked me to check my maid's belonging cos' her maid with her 4 years 'pack' a lot her stuff to bring home when her contract ends and ended up police case.

I have just confirmed a Ph transfer maid and found out that she had to pay agent a placement fee of $450 to work for me. Is this a norm practice? Just curious.

Minnie,
Apparently when ever a maid asked to be transfer from one employer to another, the agent actually made them pay a certain sum of money... Its actually the loan monet u paid which u subsequently deduct from her salary. That's why maid agency encourage the maids to leave and change employers. These maids are their money tree. Every time the maid changes employer, the agency earns.

Amlamum

Did you check value air website?

Checking maid bag
I think its good to watch the maid pack and go off immediately. My last experience, was busy so watched her pack, after that, I was busy doing my own things, and realised there are some things in my house go missing, not expensive, but my favourite soft toys.....

Hi Amlamum,

I got my myanmar maid from United Channel at Katong Shopping Centre (specialise in myanmar maid). She is with me for 1.5 mths. She is well mannered & diligent. She is a Uni grad & is bilingual. She can handle my kids & my kids like her.

B2B2B4,

This maid has no more loan with the agency though. I checked with her current employer and she confirmed that the maid loan has been paid up too. Dats why I am wondering if its a norm for maid to pay agency a placement fee.

eve,
your maid is bilingual? Can speak chinese and english? Thats a rare find.
my maid is from JLK employment. Been with me for 1 mth, so far so good but i find her too slow for my liking...have to train her to buck up else very hard in long term.

Ivy,

She can speak mandarin & english. But she can't read & write chinese. Was quite lucky to chance upon one. So far no complains abt her working attitude.

Minnie
Maid will be so called penalised if they want to be transferred. The agency said it is to punish and deter them from asking for transfer always (pack of shits lar) but agent enjoy transferring maid out all the time cos this is easy money, if the maid is stupid, she might even kena 3 mths penalty, some 1 month to 3 months, the agent said is helping them find new employer fee. Get the picture....easy $$ for the agent and no responsibility.

Precious,

Oh, okie. I interviewed the maid and I quite like her. Found her pleasant and I spoke with her employer too. Now I suppose I can just pray and hope for the best.

eve,
can you share with me how come she know chinese? was she from a chinese family? or they learn the language? mine is learning from my mum but can get quite frustrating for my mum at times cos maid is not picking up fast.

Amlamum- one thing i find it weird, how can your maid's kid go to sch? it is school holiday now in philippines! From mid march til end of May! School starts early June so is she really telling the truth?
I saw 190sgd from zuji for PhilAirlines bec we are going for a trip this may thats why i advise you it is going to be expensive if you ask her to leave may1.
I am fil chinese so I understand fil but they still consider me as chinese heheh
anyway, as long as I can communicate in their language it's ok for me

Amlamum - check your maid's bags before she leaves!!! This is a common practice even in Manila, HK they do this. i notice some of my friends here do not check and finds out some of their "not expensive yet important" stuff are gone.

goodluck

Ivy,

She is not chinese. Her race is Kachin. Just that her neighbours are chinese. She pick up mandarin when she communicate with them. All her family members knows mandarin.

Emma,

Her salary is $320 without off day. She is from Shan state. Agency address as follows :

United Channel
865 Mountbatten Rd
Katong Shopping Centre
#02-77/89 S427844

Contact Person : Noor
6344 8807

Can check with you all - does your maid (Fil) sings aloud all the time?
My hubby and I are both very private and quiet in nature and we found it too intrusive. How to tell her nicely not to do it so loud?

lostinthots
I believe filos in general love singing and they have good voice. My 1st filo maid sing so loudly at home and in the car. Lucky her singing is not too bad but it is still irritating to our ears lar but we dare not say anything then. Then the longest serving maid will sing along with the radio but she's the one helping me with my girl then so I let her be as long as she's happy.

May be tell her her singing is good, but you prefer the house to be quiet, see if she can lower her volume, otherwise then ban singing at home.

mine too ... she sings to my boy ... quite worrying cos the nursery lyrics all wrong or pronounce wrongly .... hahahhaha

Hahha... my ex phil helper oso sings a lot. She buay paisey sing in the carpark, until my neighbour told me. Hoho...

I have a filppino maid 27yrs old, work with me for 10 months. I hire her to takce care of my baby gal importantly follow by doing chores when there's someone at home taking care of the baby. She got no experience at all in her country.Her chores is only so-so type, i don't mind as my top piority is my gal being well taken care of. She got no off day and get to nap in the afternnon. I will always bring her out whenever we go shopping or even short trip and at times i will buy things for her daughter in filippine or buy her a calling card.

My mum is a working person and will bring her out for breakfast when she's off and she sometimes will buy things for her family(what thing she buy she din inform me). One month ago she told her daughter birthday is coming and she wan to buy clothes for her so last week i bring her out to shopping to get her stuff.

This morning when i wake up, she told me to help her send the stuff back home( she have already seal everything tightly, that i dun know even what's inside). I agreed to send for her, bring it office unwrap it and check out the stuff she sending as im afraid she might steal thing from my home. A relieved for me that i found none but one thing caught my eyes is a small jewellery bag from Tiffany&co inside is a silver 2heart shape pendant necklace. I don't know is that a fake or geninue one. So i call up my sis to check if they have anything from Tiff anot, to my surprise my sis told me last night my maid also request her to send another parcel and sis dun have anything from Tiff, that's my relieved but my concern is why she need to get two person to send parcels for her? what's her motive? My maid is a very clever lady. I stop my sis from sending parcel for her and i wan to question her tonight but afraid she will be unhappy and feel anger that she mistreat my gal tml.

Can anyone give me advice or suggestion?

cincin
Just tell her that Singapore Post requests for a breakdown of what's in the box, cos certain items like jewellery must be declared a certain value in order to clear custom here and there. It so happened that your sis call you and asked if you have anything to send to the Singapore Post cos your maid c/o something for her to send but she will be busy this few days. So you're curious why she need your sis to send another parcel when you have asked her to send one. Since your sis is busy, you don't mind sending the other parcel but she must declare what's in the other box. If she said last time no need, then tell her after Mas Salamat escaped, everything has to be scanned....

cincin (correction to line 3 to 4)
Should read as
<font color="ff0000">So you're curious on why she need your sis to send another parcel when she had asked you to send one.</font>

precious_one,

Thanks for replying to me.

Actually i call up my sis to check with her, if the Tiff &amp; co is hers then she told that my maid also got her to send another parcel.

I feel something fishy as to why can't my maid get one person to send the parcels and why she need the parcel to be send by indivivual person?
She got something to hide from me? cos i think she's clever enuf to know that i will open her package to check.

need to tap on all your experience. I'm a first time employer of FDW and just selected a phil maid. The lady is 24YO now, work in UAE for 2 yrs before in 2003-5. She went back to Phil after that to get married and have a baby who is now 1.5 year old. Want to work in SIN now to earn money to buy house. She sounds keen and pleasant over the phone. Good english too.

Any mummies with experience with ex-UAE maid to share their experience? Anything I shd watch out?

Sigh, so it is just natural for them to sing. Sad that my maid's voice is not that great plus like san's maid, she sang all the wrong lyrics (nursery rhymes) and even add my bb's name in the song.
I really lost my privacy and peace in my own house, argh.....Last resort will follow Precious's advice....ban singing! But I think she will not understand and may even think that I am a weird ball.

lostinthots,
Tell your maid that your kid is waking up screaming the nursery rhymes and songs she has been singing while having nightmares so she will have to stop singing in the house but tell her she can hum quietly to herself as long as no one except her can hear it.

Need your advise on PHP maids as well... i am a first time employer and my maid has been with me for 9mths now. She is okie except that her cleaning is not thorough but i am alright with that. As the important thing is to look after my boy.

She does not have off days too, however recently, i realised that she has been more demanding. I gave her back her hp after her 6 mths probation. Although the agent advised me not to as maids with hp will make alot of calls and get distracted. However, i told her that she could only use it at nite after she has completed her work. So that is ok...

At 8 mths, she requested to go out with her cousin one sunday. I din know that she has a 'cousin' here. When i asked her where her cousin is working, she said she don't know. Since her contract stated that she agreed to no off days, i told her i will get agent to talk to her about this as her contract stated no off day. So agent talked to her and she no choice but to accept that.

Recently at home especially at night, she wears spaggetti strap shirt to sleep! I can't believe it when i saw her in a yellow low cut spagetti to sleep! It was so low that i could see her cleavage when she bend down to play with my boy! What should i do? tell her not to wear it? But she will say 'Ma, u wear spaggetti strip to sleep also?...' Then how??

Please advise me!

Haiz... is it true that when maids stay longer they get more daring?... i don't want to offend her or make her unhappy as she is taking care of my boy too...

Liana,

She is a stubborn woman! There was once I told her to keep quiet by "shh shh" coz bb sleeping. Then next thing she suddenly sang louder as if blowing her lungs out (as she walked away)! Really got attitude.
Whenever she sees my bb, she will come running and jumps and sings out loud in front of bb. So nowadays I will carry bb and walk away from her. Buay tahan! So she will retorts by saying bb is snobbish.(actually those word is meant for me, haha)

sometimes i wonder why there are abuse case like employer slapping the maid! Cos if my maid comes running, jumps &amp; sing aloud &amp; scare my bb ... i might lose control &amp; give her a tight slap at that moment!!!

lostinthots,
OMG...I think she is singing to piss you off....you gotta be strict and tell her it is not appropriate. Very nightmarish running and jumping and singing out loud in front of your baby.

My last maid used to sing that stupid Umbrella song to my then less than 1 yo baby but only when i wasn't around - until I caught her. She kept singing " eh, eh, eh, um-br-ella, ella, ella" until my girl was singing "eh, eh, eh"....forget that. I told her to stop and never sing it again. So moronic.

When I had 2 maids for a short time, I also dis-allowed them from speaking Tagalog during work hours especially in front of us (so rude).

honeyjul, best is to tell her not to wear the spag. My 1st maid wear spags too... At 1st I didnt say anything.. but later her dressing became more and more revealing.. and towards the end we all notice her behaviour is very 'yao' esp when HB is around.. she purposly speaks in those very 'cute' 'high pitch' tone. If she says you oso wear dan tell her this is your hse, your hb and son, so ofcos you can wear anything you like.

Liana
When I have two filo maids previously, I warn both of them that they are not to speak tagalog especially when I'm around cos it is rude. The 2nd filo said, aiyo, I come here 8 mths already and kind of forget how to speak tagalog??? Like real hor. Very soon both of them started yucking in their own language even when I'm around. Terribly rude right!