Advice on MMI Childcare Ctr

bichon

Hi, we are scouting for a childcare ctr for our 4yr old son in Sengkang and are seeking advice if anyone has comments on MMI services in any branch in Spore or the one at Sengkang.

Thanks very much!!!

Hi Jolene
I enrolled my son in Kinderland (Kovan)when he is 18mth, i found the staff and teachers there are very helpful and caring.My son enjoyed very much especially rhymes for the past 1 yrs and he learnt a lots things in the childcare like manners....

Thanks Elmo

Can I know where exactly is this Kinderland?
HOw much are the fees, and what are the curriculum?

MTIA

Hi mommies, I'm also looking for one in Seng Kang area too !! I saw young parents advertising "Shekinah Montessori" in Seng Kang East way. Any mommies have enrolled your child in there ? What're the hours, charges, programme and curriculum like ?

Hi poopoo,
I used to work in Shekinah Montessori..All I can say is Singapore there are no 100% montessori schools.

Montessori actually cultivate your child to be more independent but if they are the only child, I wont recommend you to send them to a Montessori school cos they got to do all activities themselves.No way to learn to be sociable.

I think it depends on which Montessori School you sent your child to.To some extent, even in the same school, the teachers also make a difference.

I agree that in Singapore that is no 100% Montessori school.But this is more because the school has made some adjusments to suit our local education system.So that the child has no problem coping when they attend primary schools.

My girl has been going through Montessori education since 18months old. She attended her playgroup and workgroup in two different schools before her current one,which she has been there since Nursery.

She is my only child, and yet I don't see that she has problem with learning to be sociable. Her current class size is about 28,lots of chance for her to interact and socialise.

Other then mat work, they also have time to work and play together as a group daily.

In a way, I prefer this non-100% montessori method.

i also intending to put my only 18 mth child in MMI in the Old HDB centre in BM next yr. actually i wanted to put in the one at kovan centre but apparently the charges is higher compared to the one in HDB. why is it that there's no socialising between the children? i tot they would have chances to play together? do u mean the teachers don't allow the children to play together?
anyone been to the Learning Vision?

Guess you all have mistaken what I meant..
I mean Montessori have more individual activities compared to normal schools. Of cos they will also have group activities like water play, eating and circle time too.

Like wat Van_G says,the montessori programs in Singapore are more cater to local context therefore they included much more group activities.

In a real Montessori context, there are more independency and freedom of choice.

Ann,
Montessori program are good but I think it's good that children are there for half a day the most.Learning vision have a very clear curriculum outline but the charges are rather high.

Hi Elmo, any idea how much Kinderland charges for 19month old?

Also do you have the contact, address and name of person in charge?
Thinking of transferring my gal over

MTIA

Any comments on MMI West Coast? This is 5 mins from my place, not sure whether I should scout for a centre located further away (considering time and energy costs).

I got to know of a school in singapore that train Montessori teacher the trainer isz actually an ANG MO. I think he is quite good as one of my friend sent her daughter to his preschool which is truelly a montessori way of teaching. 100% Montessori as he is an ANG MO, he follows their way of teaching.

My friend invited me to go along with her for a private priew next sat, a montessori way of teaching for infant. The first in Singapore. Seats ARE LIMITED, she told me that you need to rsvp beforehand.

Any mummies out there interested to come along? its free, i will check out with my friend if she can register for us.

Just enrolled both of my girls today at the MMI opposite Thomson Plaza. My 1st girl is now at MMI Bukit Panjang. It all really depend on whether parents are comfortable with Montessori approach. I personally like the approach and it also suits my girl. My girl is very sociable and think she lacks self discipline when comes to doing task therefore i placed her in MMI which cultivate and motivate the child to learn on her own. I noticed my girl concentration span has increased and she is more willing to learn. If you are keen, can try out their trial period and see it and believe yourself. No harm giving it a try.

hi i just saw this post, personally i dont like that place, did a trail (sengkang MMI) with my son. but dont like it as quite "cold attitude " of the teachers there. its better to give the trial a go and see if you like it , cheers

hi micsarah,

I'm thinking of sending my girl to MMI brighthill as well

which grp are your daughters in?

Hi p_p02,

Sorry now then reply as just saw ur post.

My 2 girls will be joining MMI brighthill on Dec 07. One will be N2 and the only PG. Currently the N2 girl at MMI Bukit Pnajang.

U went to visit MMI Brighthill? I signed up dring the promotional period. After subsidy paid ard $689 per child plus enrichment classes.

no prob...

yup visited few weeks back. quite nice and clean place. prob putting my girl there from jul. she'll be in PG (half day prog)

think promotional period ends 30jun? so you sign 1st then send later? can?

what enrichment classes? the swimming/yoga kind?

micsarah,
U mentioned yr 1st gal now at MMI Bt Panjang, r u referring to the branch at 10miles junction? What is the min. age to enrol? Frankly, i don't intend to leave my son there whole day, just thought of sending him to a 2 hr enrichment course....but he's only 1 yr old now...too young huh? but heard that registration always got to be very early! always a long waitlist?

Hi Serene,

Yup my 1st gal is in MMI 10mile junction. Maybe abit early for 1 year old. My 2nd gal 26 mths but only sending her year end. Think the 1 at ten mile junction quite good and always waiting list. The teachers and staff there are good and my gal did learnt alot annd benefitted from the montessori approach.

How about character montessori in punngol road? Anyone send you kids there? Is there really a difference between normal childcare and MMI?

Thumbs up for Katong MMI's enrichment class on sat. The mother and child class is fun. I went for the trial and find tat the teacher is good, energetic and friendly

any comments about MMI at Claymore or MMI at the old HDB building in Bukit Merah?

Appreciate any feedback/comments.

hi, any feedback to MMI at jurong west extension? The one at jurong west sport complex. Thanks Thanks

hi jumbo,
remember me? Gerald is at Jurong West Ext aka Jurong West Sport complex MMI.... so far so good... though it is ex... but not choice, as i'm staying an new housing estate where all the childcare around is all fully book... but i think MMI jUrong west playgroup is also pretty fully book already lah...... u post me in MSN i talk to u

hi, any feedback on MMI jurong west extension?
my son will be in N2 and my ger in PG next yr.
wat is the teacher-student ratio acually?

thks thks,
wendy

Hi Parents,

Just want to share with any parent who is considering to enroll their child into MMI Sengkang and hope that it serves as a useful reference when making their decision. It should also be to those parents who is wondering whether is it cost effective to send your child into MMI Sengkang.

Background: My child enrolled into their class for 1 year and since there are quite a few ups and downs during the stay there.

Positive Feedback
1) Condusive learning facilities with a large compound with multiple classrooms
2) Free swimming classes (although not every week due to weather and HFMD outbreaks)
3) English speaking environment with well mannered teachers and kids
4) Structured Programme (every school has that but how much its executed? we don't know.)

Negative Feedback
1) Ever changing teachers (most popular feedback) - This is the most serious issue among all the complaints. My child has to constantly adapt to new teachers and their style. The routines are broken and she has to re-learnt. My child's good habbits are not reinforce, bad habbits are not monitored. Learning hampered as there is a lack of continuity. Good teachers keep leaving, bad teachers keep staying or coming. In one year, she has around 5-7 teachers, i lost count.
2) Frequent HFMD outbreaks - Maybe because there are more students in the school as compare to a childcare center. Lucky my child did not contract it. There is one particular day when my child is the only student in the class. My child missed the HFMD, but frequently contract stomach flu. I know its usual for a child to contract this social disease but to contract it once every 2 weeks is in my opinion too frequent. Maybe my child is weak.
3) Montessori lessons not strongly emphasize. 1 to 2 hours a day but after trying to manage the students there is very little time left to demonstrate a Montessori activity to the child. Most of the time they just play with the materials after a quick demonstration. That's what my child says.
4) Apart from the expensive fees, everything is chargeable and at a rate I consider very high. I just spent more around $100 to pay for the costume which cannot be reuse, for the tickets and for the recorded video. They do not allow parents to bring video recorder into the concert. Where is the prudency? I really do not wish my child to grow up spending money on stuff that she does not need or for one time usage.
When the school brings them for an excursion, it will cost more than $10 each when there isn't any entrance fee required. They say its for lunch, but isn't that included in the fees? The school bus is $80/month when my child stays around 300m away.
4) Did not enforce good eating habits. My child is picky but I feel that the teachers should continue to encourage the child and not just give up on them. Another example of the consequences of the frequent change of teachers. Also, the birthday parties are so regular such that my child is frequently snacking and giving up her staple meals. Nowadays I really hate children birthday parties. I think as a parent with child in a childcare center, we should be more sensitive in distributing snacks and goodies bag when celebrating their child birthdays. I know that we want them to enjoy themselves with a party but I always believe that without the cakes, sweets and snacks, there can still be a party. Its because we make birthday cakes a norm that the child has an expectation of it.

I sincerely hope that this really will be an useful information for you and your child when selecting a childcare center which is so important to the child progress.

hi plsrelax,

guess you just needed to vent...
well, i found out that pre-sch teachers in particular are very lowly paid. some of them don't even bring hme 1k, after CPF...perhaps that's why the high turn over...

i believe wherever your child goes, part of the education of eating habits and manners comes from the home. no offence meant but with a class of say 12-15 children, one really can't expect that teachers can always give the 100% attention that we would like for our children...it's like in sch...when incidents happen, parents turn against the sch and lodge a complaint but the thing is, whose responsibility is it to teach a child? just the sch? just the parents? or both?

i like to think it's both parties working hand in hand...

MMI is a brand name and by placing one's child there, one should expect the high fees involved. i learnt that most of the fees go toward the rental of the place...sad huh?

everywhere sch bus is expensive. rising petrol costs, need of having another adult in the back of the sch bus to look after the children during the ride...sadly everything involves $$...

sorry if you feel i'm attacking your negative feedback but i do think that though we are upset abt things that happen, sometimes we just need another perspective...

i sent my daughter to MMI ten mile junction for 1 yr and just to share my experience:

1) main reason i sent my daughter there was to learn english. my daughter was looked after by my mandarin/dialect speacking parents. the teachers was so impatient, after 2 wks trial they constently complained to me that my daughter can't speak english. and said that she has to start speaking english!! how can she start to speak english when she don't know how to?!

2) the school lost 3 sets of her school uniform, 1 bedsheet & 2 blanket in 1 yr. the teacher did not inform of the lost also.

3) i told the teacher to help encourage my picky daughter to eat more. my daughter feedback to me saying when she said don't like to eat and the teacher just ignore her and walk away!

4) there was few occasion when my daugther hurt herself but no feedback from the teacher at all. they could have just wrote in their communication book to let us know.

5) when i cook food for my daughter to bring to school for celebration, she said that she did not get the eat the food that i cook. it was given to other class!

6) i also spent nearly $100 like plsrelax for yr end concert including costume, ticket & video.

I am utterly dissappointed by this BRANDED SCHOOL. I have since transfer my daughter to a normal childcare and she is always happy not like previously in MMI. I spoke to a few mummies and they had lots of complaints about the school too, but did not want to go through the hazzle of changing school for their child.

I hope these is helpful information to mummies who planning to send their child there

hi jusamummy

i intend to send my boy for their phonics class, 1 hr thingy but after reading your post, i am abit worried.

I'm also having 2nd thots about sending my child there after reading jusamummy's post. What about Montessori @ Graceland, which is nearby at Phoenix Walk. It is also part of the MMI group right? anybody got experience to share?

i called up their headquarters and told them about my comments/what happened during my son stay on 1/2/08. spoke to a lady and she told me will get her in-charge to call me. after waiting for 1 wk nobody called me. so i sent email to them, no reply. i sent another email again after waiting another wk still nobody reply to my email!!

guess they are not interested to know the feedback of the parents at all! so this is the scenario: if u face problem with your child in school, u cant bring it up. if u think otherwise, dont send them there. because u will get the attitude face from the principal there who will tell u: if u not satisfied, can withdraw them. oh btw, withdrawal period is 2 mth notice...

maybe they are good when they just started yrs ago cos they want to built up reputation. but now... too many people have mindset that they are reputable, teacher good, programme good etc. but that is not true.

I had transferred my girl out from MMI Thomson bcos too far from home.

Now i heard the MMI Ten mile quite bad as my friend cmplained about one of the teachers. Wondering y these school charges so much yet their service standard really going down.

my son 6 years old started at MMI kovan this year. so far, i am quite happy with the school as he has learned a lot academically as compared to the church kindergarten that we used to send him. only negative part is he picked up a lot of funny behaviours e.g. throwing tantrums and tempers (something which i would expect from the terror 2 and 3 stages).

centre is very clean - no HFMD cases reported. my son enjoys going to school and the teachers are very attentive.

Have a feedback about MMI Ten Mile and Graceland. The staff are not very friendly, and they never call back when they said they would. Plus the waiting list is very long, and when I call to ask, they aren't very friendly about it. So I'm not so inclined to send my children there anymore. I want a place that is cosy and friendly.

I am very upset pissed off!!!!My 2 girls go to MMI thomson and when I went to pick them on Tuesday the playgroup classroom was like a war zone...kids crying running about screaming abslute total mayhem!!!!!My 2 yr old had a very wet diaper and crying coz she was hungry!!!!!I then saw the "cook"and she was left to tend the kids.There were at least 18 kids and this poor lady does not even speak a word of english.She told me the teacher's are having meeting and the kids had not had their snacks.Both of my older girls favourite teacher has left and our most popular genuinely wonderful pg taecher is leaving at the end of the month.She was absent on that day.I was so appalled!!!Absolutely furious!I e mailed to MMI HQ and they said they will investigate!my girls haven't been in school since.Cannot leave them!The school is sooooooo irresponsible!!!!I

Frankly, I find it rather unthinkable that a childcare centre will leave at least 18 *hungry* toddlers under the care of a "cook" who has had no experience with handling toddlers, let alone speak English, and proceed to have a meeting.