A fresh thread looking for JURONG mummys...

hello mummies

butterwaffles
winner liao. i ever had the same experience too but no worries, all mummies are tired women :p
what is the name of the facebook group ah? lemme search n join

pixiepixel, i think the group is called Jurong Mummies, haha. Ya, really very tired leh. But i know i have a long way to go...i should be able to get used to this tiredness soon i hope. Thou very tired, i still feel very happy especially when i get to see my son's toothless grins early in the morning. Makes me feel not as tired!

pixiepixel, actually i didn't receive any notification about mine being accepted into the group already, only when cutiebb happened to be online, then we started chatting, then i knew im in the group already, haha...When will you be starting your renovation for your new place?

Hi butterwaffles,

Ai ya, 26th June Iam not in Singapore .. can't go and view the centre le...Do post out your comment after visited them..k ?

morning to all mummies
long time never log in.
my co block facebook access... cnnt log in during working hrs. sob sob~. i will go back n search for it.

my gal have attended 2 weeks cc and sick for 2 times. like 1 week once. faint!!!
now still abit of coughing and running nose. but i still let her attend cc.

morning mummies

butterwaffles
ah really ah? then i not very good with FB even though i surf it often leh haha

my reno...should be starting in mid October...still long way off

BBC, same here! My co blocks out practically all the popular websites. But lucky this motherhood forum can surf, hehe.

Dear mummies, have promised to provide feedback on Ichiban Montessori @ Yunnan Crescent. I like the principle, the environment and the fact that they introduce phonics from toddlers' class onwards, not from N1 only. For now, the centre is full. Waiting list is full also. She had requested me to call back next month as she is taking over the unit next door but the extra space are for those on waiting list. She has fishes and parrots at the backyard. The younger classes are, interestingly, stationed on the 2nd level instead of ground level. But there are railings along the stairways, so can train toddlers to climb up and down the stairs too. Basically, i like the place and the feel
I passed by Ichiban Kindergarten also. It's actually much nearer if you walk from Pioneer mrt station, it's right at the hugh NanYang high gate. Didn't occur to me to visit the place but anyone who interested in kindergarten but not full day kind, can take a look...

pixiepixel, so how, any potential takers for your Sengkang flat? Really happy for you, that you can move to Jurong! I know the feeling, when you can bring ur child back more often liao
Nowadays, i bring my son home every night. At most let him stay over at my MIL's one night per week. It's really so tiring but i really miss him alot when he is not at home with me...so i rather be damn tired than to be at home alone ah.

morning.. mummies...

butterwaffles, me too still can surf motherhood. if not will be too boring at work... haha ;D

may i know how much is the sch fee for ichiban? just curious. u may wan to go Q-dees and take a look. is near to ichiban as well.

BBC, morning!
Ya, luckily can surf abit during office hours, else work work work, damn sian...Actually, i went to Qdees before. But somehow, the place doesn't feel right enough...and not very keen on the way they teach, more like drilling into your head that kind. But this method may work, depending on the learning style of the child
For this year, its $380 excluding gst after the $300 government subsidy for Ichiban...much cheaper than Qdees i believe...

hi butterwaffles,

ichiban fee is so reasonable. too bad my hubby dun like that area as he think will be troublesome for my MIL to pick her up if we need to do ot. n he also feel she is too young to take sch bus. -_-!!

Ahhh..kenna food poisoning and having abit of fever. Now at home resting. Thinking of bringing my son back earlier today from my MIL's. Had a total of 12 hours of sleep last night but feel really guilty about it as well. Any mummies like me? Sigh~

BBC, i have to say unless you live around the area, it is not very convenient. Ichiban is very near to the Caltex station. Where does your MIL live at? Personally, i also think pre-school children are too young to take school buses. I will get worried but i think the important factor is whether the school bus service includes an assistant in the bus at all times. Ichiban provides transport but at what cost i'm not sure. Didn't ask as i don't require transport. To be frank, i most likely will have problem reaching Ichiban by 7pm after work as i off work at 6pm. But i'm already planning to work fewer hours when my boy turns 18 months, so that i can spend more time with him. For now, it is difficult as my MIL is the main caregiver. Starting my plan now would be like 'fighting' with her over my son. I'm still considering between Ichiban and the PCF. I'm attracted to the PCF at Blk 553 because they offer the Ridby Literature programme. The principal is experienced and confident. For Ichiban, i like how the principal and teachers discipline the kids, the various montessori 'equipment' i see and how outspoken the kids are & how they are exposed to phonics right from toddlers' class. But i know no matter which centre i choose, it is up to my son. If he ends up not being able to adjust or halfway through i realised it is not suitable, i might still have to switch centre. I think falling sick is very common especially during the early days. Every childcare i go to, they all tell me the same thing. That most kids will fall sick during the first few months. Even bronchitis...so i need to accumulate some leave for that man.

pixiepixel, wow that's great! Quite fast huh? Looks like Sengkang is still pretty hot. Were you able to sell it at a reasonably good price? I'm very keen to sell my Jurong unit and move to Sengkang/Punggol. After much calculations, i think we might not be able to finish serving the 2nd HDB loan before we turn 55. For now, we are able to complete the loan before we turn 50 which i'm more comfortable with. I think this is my 职业病 as i used to work in CPF. There are also renovation & furnishing cost to consider. Headache~ Talking about the leapfrog dvds, do you do anything else with your boy? I've been reading up and realised children aged 0-3 absorb stuff very fast thou without understanding and i'm thinking of starting a simple at-home routine/programme for my boy. How do you start introducing new stuff to your boy? My boy is starting to show extreme interest in tv & toys. I really hate it when my MIL/husband just puts him on their laps and face the tv.

mummypooh, i remember you mentioned something about considering to teach your boy phonics? I'm considering that too...my purpose is not to drill phonics into him but more to assist him remember/understand new words better when he starts school. When i was in school, i learn via memorising & nothing else! Since phonics help them to pronounce new words on their own, i think this is very useful. But how can we teach them phonics when we don't know how to...

butterwaffles
ok your post has 2 items:-

house
yes i managed to sell off at a "ok-ok" price only. idiots at my block cluster were desperately selling only at 40k cov etc when they can sold them at 50k cov. like very scared cannot dispose off flats like that, hence my cov amt i got was lesser than anticipated.
but still, i got more cov from the sale of SK than the buying of JE (if you get what i mean)
im dumping in 50% of cash proceeds to the new unit. and this JE flat costs 100k more than my SK unit. dun say JE no market, very west part, alot of foreign workers, old estate blah blah. actually prices are higher wor!!

our boys
apart from the leapfrog dvd (i am now alternating between the 1st 3 stages of the dvd set - 1. phonics, then 2. blending words, then 3. consonants, silent vowels), i also chant the zoophonics to him. he takes in both nicely and now he dont pronounce letters.
for eg, when he sees "a" he will say "ah", which means he says the phonics of "a" than pronouncing "a"....jialatzzzz

i really havent been doing much (got more jan08 mummies doing much more but most prob they are SAHMs), but during weekends i do the below
-reading time
-leapfrog time
-creative play (role play etc)
-involved in housework - mop, laundry, sorting recycled rubbish (& sometimes cooking)

other than that, i let him slack wor. usually just lots of free play at home or outside

actually you can do a lot with your boy, your DS still young, can teach him
-sign language
-"my baby can read" dvds
-wooden puzzles
-songs
-reading
-water play

the list is never ending

try to get this book "the power of play" by david elkind. (http://search.barnesandnoble.com/Power-of-Play/David-Elkind/e/9780738211107/). play comes naturally in children and they learn many many things from play. if you are not the "emphasis on academic" sort then this book is for you

<font face="segoe ui"> morning mummies...im back from my HK trip...

Butterwaffles, the ichiban is not referring to the sports stadium one right?</font>

Morning..

butterwaffles,

my MIL doesnt live near to caltex so fetching is a problem if i will put my gal in cc at yun nan area. so that place is out.
although her current cc is near to yun nan but my BIL will help to fetch my gal when she pick her gal up.

u mentioned u may want to move to SK. if you find a cc now in jurong, also no point right. u will have to look again after u shift.

regarding phonics, i only introduce when she abt 18 months. before that i focus more on her motor skill. i think motor skill is more impt in the early stage. just my 2 cents thought

Pixiepixel,
you done alot to your son. i seldom read to my gal. she cnt concentrate when i read to her. everytime, i try to read, she will snatch the book from me and flip around. now when she took the story book, she just fliped to the last page n say "the end"... faint ^_^!!!

my gal has alot of barney time. she love barney and love singing/huming along with the songs. i find it catchy also... haha.. we will sing n dance along... i play Phonics vcd to her once in a while and do zoophonics with her when we r in the car.

i find it hard to stick to a schedule on wat to do. i am too lazy to follow... haha...

cutiebb99,
how is ur HK trip? i wanna plan to go for a trip together with my gal somewhere in NOV. maybe will start from genting. heee... i think she will start to enjoy the rides in the park.. ^_^

<font face="segoe ui"> BBC, my ger same as urs, every time wants to read to her, she will snatch the book...so i dun want to spoil the book, i keep the books till she is older then take out...at the moment, i let her watch barney, mickey mouse clubhouse and brainy baby..and she learn alot from all this VCD/DVD...she can sing ABC, but not clear, count 1-10...</font>

poshies, good morning to you also...

cutiebb, the Ichiban i'm referring to is behind Caltex station. The one at the sports stadium is MMI...

pixiepixel, i think flats nowadays cost alot more, no matter the location. So i'm very hesitant. But i'm still very hopeful. Am hoping that next year, i can get to meet a good agent. I'm thinking of handling the resale paperwork and procedures myself but i wonder if i'm up to it. Wow, you've done alot with your boy! Thanks for your ideas, very very useful...I doubt i can do so much...for now, my son can only stay awake around 1 hour plus after his milk feed. After 1 hour or so, he will be damn cranky, want to sleep already. For now, he is trying to grab stuff. He still can't so he gets damn angry, aiyoh...I'm trying not to expose him to too much tv. Hoping to delay all tv, vcds, dvds, computer as long as possible but introduce books instead. Very scared he will become like my husband, tv addict.

BBC, i might shift to Sengkang but it's not a definite. It will depend on the market and whether i can sell my jurong unit for a good enough price. If the financial burden ends up heavier, i might not shift...whether i shift or not, i will still send my boy to cc because my MIL is not a very responsible caregiver. Or maybe, i expect too much. If i shift, that'll be end 2012 earliest. Actually, what is motor skills? *blur* Your gal so cute, i think mayb she is the impatient sort ;p I suspect when she is older, she will still want to read books but she might be the type who can't wait, will flip to the last page to check out the ending. When i was younger, i was like that also, can't wait to read the ending first, haha!

<font face="segoe ui"> BBC, good good...its a good trip, my ger enjoy herself very much at disneyland, thou she wun remb anything, but she is so excited seeing all the disney characters there...haaa....and we let her eat porridge, bread and cakes...no pblm at all...heee....

butterwaffles, so that ichiban is opening house this weekend, its at those semi-detached house one right? sorry, i didnt read properly from previous thread...?</font>

cutiebbpp,

ya. my gal learn alot from VCD/DVD. i am trying to explain the value that the VCD/DVD are trying to say. find it hard for her now. but i am repreating like a robort so to hope that I can drill the gd values into her head. but till now no success... haha...

butterwaffles, motor skills are coordination on the fingers. your son is now learning to hold or take things. this is motor skills. when he is older, you can teach him how to stack blocks, or play sorter.

butterwaffles
paiseh, your DS is how many mths old liao ah?

i used to lie my boy down onto a mattress (he was around 4-6mths old), and i will hold up a book to him (facing his face). the response i got from him was:
-vigorous kicking of legs and arms
-smiling
-rapid eye movement

when i hold off the book, he will be having less kicking of legs and waving of arms

when i hold the book on again, his kicking will start.

he respond very well to bright colourful books

then when he was after 6mths old and can lie 45deg in a baby cot/chair, i just play the "your baby can read" dvd for him. i played for 3-4mths straight daily

btw, motor skills means how the way your boy walks, jump, hop, picks up/grab stuff...all the agility "motor" movements

actually bbc, ctuiebb, i am opp frm you. i would like my son touch and flip, dun care spoilt or not. maybe now seems like he is more keen to touch the book than to read but they are still quite reliant on the "touch" function to explore the world. so i let him do so...
then suddenly one day, your child may surprise you with a sudden point to a picture and say out the word. dun think they never absorb, they sure do and its very fast, so all your efforts are not in vain
bring out the books!

talking about absorbing
dunno my boy learn from where but if he playing with something and a part drops down, he will say "shit". at first i thought what he was saying, coz he says "heet" and slowly i realised he was saying "shit" - like how we adults exclaim when he dropped a bun onto the floor or spill something...

sob sob...now i tell him say "oh no" or "uh oh" he oso bochup me liao
what i can only do now is if i exclaim, i will be doing a very exaggerated "oh no" so that he will mimic me, instead of saying shit

cutiebb, the openhouse i was referring to is PCF Sparkletots, at Blk 922 on 26 June (Sat)
Yes, Ichiban Montessori is at the semi-detached housing, same as Qdees and Ichiban Kindergarten...

pixiepixel, my son now is 4 months old. But my son is abit weird...he HATES lying down. Everytime i change diaper or need to put him down to make milk, he sure wail until very kor lian and tears will stream down his face. Ever since he was 2.5 months old, I have to let him 'sit up' already else he will be damn angry! Wow! Looks like i must be careful with what i say. My husband still say bloody hell in front of him lor. I always scold my husband but he always say now our son only know what is milk!

butterwaffles
aiyah your boy still young, all the phonics thingy or DVD thingy can wait at 1 yr old then start...
now is a VERY good time to let your son grab and explore things so have ready lots of feely-feely toys. your DS will develop his own mindset and motorskills by touching different materials..

got some books is all the different touch kind. got fur, sandpaper, wavy paper, suede etc...get more of these hardboard books and your son will love it in time to come, good till 1yo, a good investment wor

show him the books sitting up lor

pixiepixel, hehe, i know i damn gancheong ah. I'm just worried because i see my son staring so hard at the tv now. Good idea...let him have a feel of different textures. He likes playing in the water. Not sure if it's appropriate to blow bubbles at him now ah, heh.

Hope experienced mummies here can advise on some matters...I know when babies are 6 month old, can slowly introduce cereal and pureed food to them.
1) How do i know if my son is ready for porridge?
2) What kind of cereal is recommended? Don't wish to feed him stuff that is too sweet.
3) I also plan to change his formula milk when he is 6 month old. Now he is on Friso Comfort and he is doing fine. Should i continue to give him Friso Comfort until he turns 1?
4) What sort of stuff/equipment should i prepare/buy to make it easier to prepare his cereal and pureed food?
5) If he starts taking in cereal and pureed food, then he should not be taking porridge right?
6) When he starts porridge, can i don't give any meat at all but only vegetables?
7) Do you mummies give your kids supplements? I'm hoping to strengthen him up abit to prepare him for childcare.
8) When he starts taking cereal with milk, how many times of milk and how many times of cereal with milk should he be taking per day? Is pureed fruits considered a meal?
Sorry for asking so many questions, am trying to get prepared as my MIL is too eager to start my son on cereal now but my PD has warned us not to until my son turns 6 months. But i worry what she will do behind my back. Am hoping to know more so i can lay some ground rules for her first...

pixiepixel,

i did not keep away the storybooks i brought for her. I put at a level where she can take the book herself which i find it gd. she will go to the shelve n take the books there n start pointing to the picture and saying things i do not undertsand. but when i wanna tell a story to, her , she will start to snatch. haiz...

butterwaffles,
there are alot of books around. I brought colourful cloth books with music for my gal. she love it. u can buy bubble book for your son if u wanna let him see something during bathing.
U can put rubber duck into his bath tub n let him play. usually i dun let my gal bath long, as i scare they cath a cold.

i introduce friso cream and organic cereal to my gal when she turn 6-7 months. i let her learn to swallow the cereal. so milk still her main input.
i let my gal drink friso comfort until 9months den switch friso 2. the intake of the milk will have to depend on ur son appetite .

i did not prepare pureed food for my gal as she dun like. i make apple n sweet potato pureen for her once. but she only eat 1 mouth n refuse to eat anymore. haiz...

i put in fish n brocoli/tomato/pumkin into the porridge. i think she start porridge when she turn 7-8 months when she can swollow better.

supplement i didnt give her everyday. I give her fruits twice per day. but still keep falling sick... maybe shld try supplement...
haiz...

butterwaffles,

I started my boy with healthy time organic brown rice cereal when he was about 6 month. Before that he was on total breastfeed and i don't usually pump out so i add water to the cereal. If you pump out your milk, you can add in the breastmilk instead of water or otherwise formula.

My understanding is that Friso Cream may be a bit sweet, that's why i've chosen the organic cereal. Start off with cereal first then porridge around 8 months (hahah can't remember already) all depend on your baby. If he keep waking up at night, it could be cue for you to have more solid in the day.

Porridge - i used brown rice. I blend the brown rice first then cook in the slow cooker otherwise brown rice might be too hard for the bb to swollow. As i am a stay at home mum, i pureed the veg like brocoli, spinach, pumkin, jap sweet potato etc. As for fish, i've read that baby will not be able to digest the protein well untill abt 9months. So i only introduce fish when he was close to 9 month and in small quantity and NOT everyday. I've tried with my boy like 2 days or 3 days in a role (KS mum u see DHA mah) in the end true enough he can't digest the protein, his hair and hands and body stink like a fish manzz..

As for fruits, i pureed them fresh otherwise it will turn yellow like eg: apple. On top of that apple need to be steam before u pureed so that it's soft enough for him to eat. I also tried pear, papaya and water melon. Give them variety, it's good for them. Therefore, i don't give my boy any supplement also, he is strong seldom sick and if he sick also recover fast. Oh yes 1 more thing, i breastfed him till he was 1 year old
perhaps that help with the immunity too.

I intro formula partially when he was 9 mth as his intake increase and i can't meet his demand hee hee. My boy taking in Similac and now Gain IQ.

so sorry for my long massage. Hope above help.

<font face="segoe ui"> Butterwaffles, mine is as below

1) How do i know if my son is ready for porridge?

ME: I think very hard to know wht babies are ready or not for porridge.

2) What kind of cereal is recommended? Don't wish to feed him stuff that is too sweet.

ME: I give my ger organic cereal call Happybellies, which only sell in VItakids Store or online spree, you can try Healthy Times Organic cereal too, that one can find from NTUC.

you can use warm water, FM or pureed add to the cereal and feed...beginning you mite want to just try with water or milk cos initially he duno hw to swallow de, will make a mess de, so more watery cereal for him in the beginning.

3) I also plan to change his formula milk when he is 6 month old. Now he is on Friso Comfort and he is doing fine. Should i continue to give him Friso Comfort until he turns 1?

ME: If he is fine with the friso brand, then dun nid to change bah...

4) What sort of stuff/equipment should i prepare/buy to make it easier to prepare his cereal and pureed food?

ME: I only buy bowls and small spoons...haaa...and a grinder to make puree

5) If he starts taking in cereal and pureed food, then he should not be taking porridge right?

ME: i still continue with cereal even my ger now is gg 19mths...i give her as breakfast occassionally...porridge is for lunch and dinner

6) When he starts porridge, can i don't give any meat at all but only vegetables?

ME: can can...at a start, you can just give vege like pumpkin, butternutsquash, carrot, spinach...then u can add in fish and meat too...but meat is just to let him hv a bit of taste and not eating it.

7) Do you mummies give your kids supplements?

ME: I only started supplements abt 15mths...also to strengthen my ger body to prepare her for CC.

8) When he starts taking cereal with milk, how many times of milk and how many times of cereal with milk should he be taking per day? Is pureed fruits considered a meal?

ME: If lets say now he is drinking 7 times of milk per day, u minus off 2 times cereal, so he will be drinking abt 4-5times of milk, if he is base on 3hrs feeding, i dun think u have any pblm scheduling it, for eg

6am - milk
9am - cereal
12nn - milk
3pm - cereal
6pm - milk
9pm - milk
12mn - milk

it depends what time u want him to have his meal, you can adjust here and there, hope you understand...hee...if not can just ask me again</font>

Mummies, thanks so much for your replies!

BBC, i'm not sure if i should spend the $ on those cloth books i see ah. Everytime i go window shopping and see stuff for kids, whether its books or fisher price toys, i need to fight off the temptation to buy. Because i will only have one child, it's quite wasteful to buy everything new right...Is organic cereal really much better? My mum told me i was sick quite frequently also when i was very young but they realised it's because they gave me honey before i turned one, so my dad say lucky i nv mati halfway ah, heh. Do you give cod liver oil? One childcare centre i've visited, gave all the kids cod liver oil every morning. Seems like most mummies will add broccoli to porridge. How do you cook the porridge? If i wish to prepare home made porridge every evening, should i buy a slow cooker and let it cook from morning or buy a pressure cooker?

smile, you've provided very useful information on the fish part! First time i hear that kids under 9 months may not be able to digest fish protein very well. My MIL wants to add codfish to porridge and feed my son when he turns 6 months. I must remember to double check with my PD and remind my MIL. Brown rice sounds good. Can i know why you choose brown rice instead of normal white rice? Other than the fibre which i know that actually, amount of fibre from brown rice is not that great a difference compared to white rice. I never breastfeed my boy at all, only give EBM for the first month, then its FM all the way. So far, he is okay but it's too early to tell *touchwood* He'll be going for the 2nd round of vaccination next week and my MIL bought paosheng, say it's good for him, let him drink the night before he kenna injections. When you pureed the fruits, what exactly do you do? Steam, then scoop out the flesh ah? Then mix with water or wat? *blur* Will babies lao sai if add milk to fruits? My son only poo once every 2 days, haiz. Now he is taking Friso Comfort which is also meant for constipated babies but i see no improvement leh. He poos whenver he feels like it.

cutiebb, i thought of changing FM for him because i heard that Similac is better. But also got people say Similac is the sweetest among all FM. So don't know leh...but Friso is cheaper ah. Hmmm, you also give organic cereal. Organic really much better? Thanks for the example on the milk &amp; cereal feeds timings, heh. I thought cereal must be given at specific time, didn't know actually i can adjust ah. Because if possible, i would prefer cereal time to be afternoon and evening.

Any mummies here give fruit puree before giving cereal? Would it be too much ah? Because i've heard it's better to have fruits before meals? Heh. Thought would be good to cultivate the habit of having fruits before meals.

<font face="segoe ui"> Butterwaffles, ya my ger now is on Gain IQ, try Nan and Enfa, follow by similac and she kind of like it, so stick it till now, Gain IQ...i also heard its the sweetness among the rest of the FM, haaa...so usually i will dilute the FM...haaa....

I give my ger eat all organic food till she is 1 yr old...even pumpkin, spinach, apple, etc...all organic...now switching to non-organic cos wana her to get use to our adult food...heee....

you can give fruit puree before cereal, then u gv lesser cereal amount...heee...anyway u can gv puree when he is older, when he is use to cereal and noe how to swallow...somemore you cant intro puree and cereal at the same time de, too much for the baby...one thing at one time...

its oki to give cereal as lunch and dinner, no pblm...its up to you. =)</font>

butterwaffles,i've included some links which i thought might be useful and handy for you. It answers the question of why brown rice over white rice (basically it's because of the nutrients not just about the fibre). It also come with some recipes which u might refer to as example. Answer the question of when ur baby is ready for solid etc..

By the way, the brown rice from healthy times / happybellies / that we give our baby when 6 month are in flakes so easy to desolve in warm water / milk.

Fish - ya check with your PD, that's my experience with my boy. Different baby is different but basic rule is always give everything in moderate. I have also know of some mum who gives her baby fish when 6 month and also ok so it's really up to u and most imptly see what PD got to say
Mine really can't, he stink like rubbish bin hahaha i almost puke when i breastfeed him with the smell from his hair and body hahaha. You might want to check this out on fish http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/introducingfishtobaby.htm

As for the EBM, it's still consider breastfeeding, even for that 1 month is good job
. Don't worry your boy should be fine. Some say 'xiao pin she fu' once a blue moon fall sick (minor one lah) is also a form of building up the immunity)

FM - hahah have not heard of similac sweetest among all, maybe i should also start dilucting it. My boy has been on similac and Gain IQ all the way seems ok. I'm a mum not into too sweet and salt thing for my boy hee hee. Oh 1 thing about Similac which i heard most often is that constipation but with the new version now heard this problem has been improved. So far my boy poo EVRYDAY and twice a day at times. Again every baby is different.

poo poo - take more fruits and intro a little water (not too much ya as milk is still the main intake)

Pureed fruit - example red apple / pear:

1) wash, then core the apples. Cut the apples into quarters, then steam for 15-20 mins, or until cooked through and tender.

2) Drain and allow the apples to cool. Scoop out the apple flesh from the skin. Discard the skin.

3) Use a hand-held blender (munchkin have such blender) or food processor to make a smooth puree. Serve immediately.

Tipe * Select sweet red apples to make baby's first foods. Tart fruit may make baby reject apples.
* Steam the apples with the skin on, then scrap off the flesh to maximise nutrient retention.

Hope above help. I extract this from a book "First Foods" whcih i bought from times. amazon also has it. http://www.amazon.com/First-Foods-Parents-Healthy-Recipes/dp/981261334X/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&amp;s=books&amp;qid=1276838727&amp;sr=1-2

http://www.homemade-baby-food-recipes.com/brown-rice-baby-food.html

http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/index.htm

http://www.healthytimes.sg/index.php

<font face="segoe ui"> SMile...thanks....yup will be getting that from supermarket, easier for me...haa...

well, share a good news with everyone...my ger finally got a place in CC....kind of excited and worry...</font>

cutiebb, wow you give organic stuff to you girl for a year?? I'm not sure if i can afford all organic stuff...If i give organic stuff, i will have to stock up at 3 places, my place, my parents' and my MIL's *faint* Thanks for the reminder, forgot that should let bb try one new thing at a time...Congrats! You let your gal go to the Little Skoolhouse at Jurong Safra is it? U plan to bring her back earlier for the first few days first? Do share with us how your gal cope ah...Am quite worried when it's my son's turn, he will create havoc.

smile, thank you for all the useful links! I know actually, alot of info can be extracted online but internet information, i don't know which can be trusted ah. The hand-held blender you mentioned, can it be used for vegetables &amp; meat as well? Heh. Not sure if it's more practical to get a hand-held one or a food processor. By the way, you breastfeed your boy so long, so i think that's why he can poo so often. Last night my boy poo-ed and i'm so happy. I'm constantly waiting for him to do big business.

Wana ask the opinion of mummies here. I actually don't wish to let my boy use walker but my mum said if i don't, my MIL will have alot of problems caring for him. My mum said it will be easier to keep an eye on my boy and at the same time, my MIL can do her own stuff like cooking and cleaning also. But i'm very reluctant to let my boy use walker. I didn't grow up on walkers and i don't see the need to. Any views mummies?

butterwaffles
i put my son into the basket...what you call that? the one that tilts 45 deg one...so that my mil can do her hsework...i do that at my own place too. so didnt use walker...and if my boy wants to walk i put him in the playpen

btw, butterwaffles, about when your child is ready for semi solid....when your bb looks at what you eat with the hungry eyes, and makes the mouth opening/closing action, or grabbing your spoon....it means your child is ready liao
you can try 1 time, make small portion and feed. if your bb not keen, try next week lah

Halo mummies;

My 6th mth boy has already started on solids, but i realised he dun reali like fruits like banana, pear,prune...but he does eat papaya.. May i noe hw shld i make him like to eat fruits? Wat other fruits are suitable for his age?

Have u introduce yogurt to yr child? May i noe which brand did u buy? Understand that its better to start w those plain yogurt first?

Many Thanks *)

morning...

regarding to walker... both my kids don used walker... but i have an excasurer (dunno the spelling) at home... those similar tp walker but it is station type... meaning the baby can turn 360 degree but it is station at 1 place so it is more safe... my boy din really used it by my gal used for long... now my mother in law sometime still put her inside to feed her food... haha.. there are toy on it... so they will not feel boring.... plus... it is much safer... at it is stationary... u don need to worry where is your child...

my gal only start yogurt at the age of 2....

<font face="segoe ui"> butterwaffles...yes, i put her in little skool house...now is waiting for the customer officer to call back and see when can start school...me will be with her for the lst 3 days...hopefully she can be there without we around, cos my ger very timid de, must have us around then she feel safe to play with others...which im rather worried now lor...duno how shes gg to cope there lor...sure start crying on the 4th day onwards when we are not ard, so i need to prepare myself to be there for a week...chiamz lor...sending to CC also headache....sigh...</font>

pixiepixel, really no idea what basket, tilt 45 degree you are referring to, hahahaha! I will prefer not to use walkers. My own place is not big. Thou my MIL's place is quite big, it's very messy with alot of stuff so i doubt there is space for walkers as well. Actually, my son is already staring at us when we eat. Sometimes his mouth will move. He won't attempt to grab thou, only toys that we put in front of his face. I think he is teething already...he became really cranky a few days back. When he turned 14 weeks, i thought finally can have abit of peace when his colic settles and now at 18 weeks, teething. Cry and cry nonstop, then keep rubbing his gums with his fists. Gave him cold teething rings and he will suck and chew on them furiously. Haiz....

mummypooh, nowadays babies get quite selective about what they eat huh? Mine hates plain water. Give him abit more and he will make the vomit sound. I try to feed him more water throughout the day, rather than give him one shot. So early can give yoghurt already ah?? But i do hear some mummies giving plain yoghurt because of the calcim and good bacteria...

poshies, hey the stationary 'walker' you are talking about, i know what you mean. I've seen those at kiddy palace before. My colleague mentioned that to me when i told her i don't feel like letting my boy use walkers
Meaning your kids don't use high chairs during feeding time? Now that you say your MIL sometimes let your gal sit in it during feeding, am thinking maybe that can also be another alternative as i think my son might not be able to stay still in a high chair ah. You are right, if it's stationary, i feel safer...but i also want my boy to able to roam around freely. Do you buy those 'gates' meant for keeping your kids out from the kitchen etc? My MIL's place is not child friendly and not clean, so i think might have to resort to this stationary 'walker'...

cutiebb, so you taking leave? Most childcare centres allow parents to loiter around for the first few days. But after that cannot already, else will affect the kid, later harder for the kid to overcome separation anxiety. But you can bring her back earlier for the first few days right? Like instead of 7pm, can bring her back after her nap like 3pm plus? I can understand ah, cos i worry for my son also, thou its still early haha...I think once they go cc, we need to save our leaves, cos alot of last minute problems may crop up right. Once she is able to make some friends there, i'm sure she will be okay. I still remember when i went K2 (skipped K1 heh), i was so scared, keep pulling my mum's arms, refused to let go. The PAP teacher damn fierce, just yank me away from my mum and i was so angry i bit her. Then she put me in the naughty corner and at the time, i really hated her. But after 2 days, don't know why, ok liao. End up become her 'pet' ah, always run out to the playground to buy 'ding ding tang' for her! Children are very adaptable, we must believe that they can do it...heh.

butterwaffles, yeah totally agree with u that there are so much information online and not sure which can be trusted. So just take it as a guide but at the end of the day u decide and take your baby as a cue, your baby will know best when he is ready and of cos always check with PD also if you are not very sure with certain food or allergy. Remember to follow the "3 days rule", 1 type of new food at a time to check for allergy. Look out for rashes etc.

Food processor - for me i didn't get the hand-held one, i used the blender (Philips) which my hubby exchange with Shell petrol points hahahah. http://www.myshell.com.sg/escape/sg-en/nonmember/reward/step1-outlet.asp?code=83012897&amp;fulfill=F1&amp;point=1,700%20Points&amp;c1=C465 I used the small one (the one beside it) to pureed the fruits and vegetable. If you already have a similar one also can used then don't have to buy.

Ya my boy breastfed so can poo but then again he is now on formula and still poo everyday cause he drinks a lot of water. Understand that your boy doesn't really like water now, it's common as he is still young also. My boy started off drinking very little water also, now he is like water parade hee hee. Give your boy some time but don't give up, little by little is fine. Don't forget fruits and veg ya when he started solid ;) the jap sweet potato is good for poo poo.

walker - my boy doesn't use walker as well, as it's not good for the baby development. I used the fisher price jumperoo, for him to develop his leg muscles. It's just like the exersaucer, it comes with toys to keep them entertain and he can also "walk" round and round. The only different is jumperoo allows the baby to jump which i personally like it as to give him more opportunity to develop his muscles for his later development like walking.

Feeding time - i do not feed him in the jumperoo as i believe in having good habit from start plus don't think he will eat also jumping up and down hahaha. His meal is always on highchair or otherwise bumboo which i've got for him to learn sitting. I started with bumboo when he was 4 mth (when neck is able to support) then i move on to highchair. Meal on highchair is also good when u bring him out next time, easy for you to feed him for any outing. My boy is also those who can't sit still type but at least the minimum is food at the high chair. Who knows u will be surprise your boy can sit thru the meal and even sit there waiting for u to finish your food
I always envy my friend, the baby gal can sit in the highchair thruout while my boy after his food want daddy to bring him around and me finish my food haizz.. well, bottom line is i don't have to run round the coffee shop to feed him with him sitting in the highchair hahaha.

mummypooh, some baby is quite picky with food but don't worry it's just a passing phase. He may not like banana or pear now but try another time say few weeks later, u will be surprise he likes that fruits and don't be surprise like those he likes turn out he hated most hahaha that's what happened to my boy. Other fruits that u may want to consider is avocado which is one of the best fruits with all the nutrients. I actually use avocado as his first food apart frm cereal and he love it superduper BUT after a few months as he grow older he hated it the most hahah. You can try, see if your boy likes it. Fruits like honeydew, rock melons, watermelon, apricot and papaya are nice too. Papaya do not give too much as it contains high beta-carotene which will turn your baby "yellow" if taken too much, so moderate will be good. It contains high vitamin c. It's just like carrot, pumpkin, sweet potato.

yoghurt - I gave my boy Yoplait Baby which can be found in NTUC or Cold Storage. It comes in many flavours like banana, vanilla, peach, pear.

http://www.yoplait.com.au/multipacks.aspx?b=1048&amp;id=2469

http://www.yoplait.com.au/baby/

so sorry another lonnnggg one ;p

mummypooh
i gave my boy yoplait too when he was less than a yr old...like smile said, there's yoplait baby and petite miam...both my boy is ok with it

butterwaffles
i am a believer of high chairs. once my boy can start to sit up on his own liao, his meals are all in high chairs. i cannot stand myself or my mil running around chasing him to feed him spoonfuls of meals. its just not right.
i think my boy sitting on high chair since 6mths old even till now.
about the 45deg tilt basket...errr i oso dunno the name but most likely ppl call it moses basket. some of these the handle you can swivel around and it becomes the stand for the basket (i/o the handle). then you can put the bb there while you do housework

<font face="segoe ui"> butterwaffles...im really worry lor....they ask me to start either 1st or 5th July, cos got 1 kid starting at 12 Jul and 1 more at 19 Jul, but now think back, I feel its kind of rush for me and early of the month is closing for me, i need to do some payment, etc, so im thinking if I can go on 26 jul instead, one more month...but i know they will charge me by per day instead of per month...so tonight will discuss with my hb...

can follow for the lst 3 days, lst day can go home after half day, and the next 2 days will be full day for the kid to adapt...it will be a 2 weeks trial to see the kid developement</font>