A fresh thread looking for JURONG mummys...

HI Smile,

Avacado is one of the first fruit introduced to me boy, hes ok abt it...@ least he didnt shut his tiny mouth on me.keeke But duno if he stil like it now.keke

FOr watermelon w many seeds, hw do i go abt prepare d puree? need to steam it n strain all d seeds? When choosing fruits like honeydew, must i avoid those v sweet ones to prevent my boy from having a sweet tooth?

I did saw yoplait yogurt in d supermarket, is their vanilla favour equivalent to plain yogurt? Does it taste v sweet or sour?

lastly, im now giving my boy 2 meals,either oatmeal, brown rice or Barley cereal from Healthy Times. May i noe hw to add variety to it? Can i add pumpkin into it? I tint one day my boy will be sick of plain cereal.keke

Hi Mummypooh

Yes, i don't see why not adding pumpkin into the cereal. In fact, i would like to share this receipe http://www.dumex.com.sg/feeding_and_nutrition/complementary_feeding/homemade_recipes/Soups/article/Baby_Pumpkin_Soup i have not tried it but thought is yummy hahaha am going to try and see how my boy like it. If you are worry about the cream then perhaps u might want to do without it.

yoplait baby yogurt - remember to get the yoplait baby yogurt as it is more suitable for younger baby like 6 months to a year (is closer to breast milk) while as the petite miam is more for baby 1 year plus. yes yes the vanilla flavour is more like plain yogurt. It's not sweet, a little sour. When your boy can start chewing, you can also add banana to it or use yogurt as a dip for biscuit or even spread on bread
ummm my boy can finish 1 by himself, each baby is different, don't worry if he or she can't finish, the mummy eat lor, mummy needs the calcium too hahahaha

watermelon - choose those without seeds. Watermelon will be more suitable for baby 8 months onwards. It's more for the juice, pureed it will turn into watermelon juice lor hahaha. so for me i will just use a fork to mashed it that's when he is a little bigger boy, so u might want to hold on to watermelon for a while since he is only 6 month now unless u want to give him the juice which is also ok but don't give too much thou cos milk is still the main source for fluid

Hi Smile,

thz for d website,there's so many yummy recipes bt I duno which 1 is suitable for my 6mth old boy.keke

if I wana to introduce tofu, must I cook it b4 I add to d brown rice cereal? And which type of tofu;i.e silken tofu for cooking soup?

ya, when our child can't finish or dun wana,we parents have to finish it. Keke.whatever they eat, we also eat.;p

mummypooh,

yes a lot of yummy recipes which i want to try too haha. yes give those silken tofu for cooking soup de for a start. NTUC also sell organic one not expensive (purple color packaging if am not wrong) u have to mashed it. Actually mashed tofu with some pureed fruit over it is also nice. Can be as a meal, that's what i saw from my firstfood recipes book. The book used mango, but me scared mango too 'heaty' for him thou. So it's up to u how u want to mix it.

Ahhh....so much useful information & opinions here, heng i found this thread

Just returned from my boy's vaccination, he screamed so loud this time because had to kenna 2 injections & 1 oral at one go...heartpain. Sometimes i wished our kids do not have to go through so many injections. But don't give, i worry also. My boy is now 7.4kg and 67cm long...only gained 1 kg in 6 weeks. But the PD didn't say anything so i assumed his weight is fine :p Now pray hard he doesn't kenna fever...

smile, don't know what happened, since Monday, my boy has been pooing everyday. Looks like his poo-ing patterns really not stable yet, still got to wait and see...Wah, envy leh, your boy water parade? Hahahahah! Well, you have a point about the instilling good habits in them from the start. I'm just not sure if my MIL can perserve. Till now, my boy is 18 weeks old already, can sleep through the night with one feed only, she is still asking for yaolan. I say no. And she will go on and on about how others use yaolan and they are fine etc. I just tell her i prefer my boy to sleep on a firm mattress. I don't understand what is her problem. My mum said alot of babies sleep alot longer in yaolan so maybe that's why my MIL wants my boy to sleep in yaolan, so that she can do her own things also. If like that i also not happy already because even before i delivered, i already said very clearly that i have my preferences hence if she cannot accept or follow, then dont't quit and be hero. At first, everything ok ok ok. Now? Complain complain complain. So same thing with the walker also, she went on and on about it. Keep telling myself to stay calm. Explain also no use as she belongs to the selective hearing category. Looks like mummies here are ok with the stationary 'walker' aka jumperoo...It's really expensive. Looks like i should start scouting around for a 2nd hand one, heh. Btw, you mentioned that milk is the main source of fluid. A polyclinic doctor told me the same thing before. But for children, when do they stop taking in milk as their main meal?

pixiepixel, where did you buy the highchairs from? Am considering to get it 2nd hand as well because no point buying new ones...cos evthing, i need 2 sets ah.

cutiebb, if im not wrong, actually 2 weeks also not long enough to gauge whether a child is adapting...a few months would be more appropriate but which cc will allow that right, heh. Don't worry, i'm sure your gal is a brave girl, she will do her mummy proud
Who knows, she might surprise you...

Saw this website...http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com where they encourage home made cereals and have loads of recipes as well. They also recommend avocado, keke.

Glad i found this thread... im staying at jurong west blk 652... any mummies stay there too?

Now looking for cc for my no1 who is 2yrs 2 mths, call nearly all the childcare centre around my area and all full n waiting list is so so long... faint...

tinking of putting him at qdees yunnan does anyone have any feedback abt that place?

Btw, when does pcf start registration for 2008 babies.. i been calling pcf blk 662 whole morning.. nobody pick up my call grrr

sorry forgot to intro myself, i have a 2 yr 2old DS and a 7mths DD... so tiring to look after them !! hahaha

Hi Smile,

do I need to steam d silken tofu b4 giving yr child n which fruit do u mix w d tofu? Coz I tint my boy is "Heaty" as me.keke. Another thing,can I also add fruits to cereal?is it a funny combination?Keke

Mummies,may I Noe when u bring yr child out hw do u feed yr child w cereal, puree or some snacks as a meal?Esp if need to spend the whole day outside? Hw to ensure d fd will nt turn bad?

butterwaffles - good to hear that he is pooing everyday now, that's a good sign. Yes their pattern keep changing. It's good that your boy can sleep through the night with just one feed. Yaolan is no no, once he sleep in it VERY difficult to kick it off. It's not true that a lot of baby sleep longer in yaolan, my friend's baby doesn't then when she change to matteress, sleep thru the night and she swear no more yao lan for her 2nd baby and it was not easy for her to kick off the yaolan to matteress. One more thing, baby sleeping pattern will change as they grow older, they will sleep less in the day, more active time. Like my boy used to take 2 naps (morning and afternoon) now reduce to only 1 nap in the afternoon and i limit him to 2 hrs max cos otherwise he will eyes big big at night. He used to sleep thru the night but now wakes up often at night cos of teething. So when times come, am sure ur mum will bring up the yaolan thingy so just talk to her, let her know it's just a passing phase. Most imptly, different baby is different, some teething with fever some don't, so far my boy teething doesn't have fever (touch woods). Some teething still sleep thru, so don't worry too much, just enjoy their growing process
Our little angel grow sooo fast.

Milk intake - hahah apparently we are recommended to take milk in our whole life. well if you say as main meal, will really depend on ur baby and u but there is a requirement of how much milk a baby must take a day.

The Health Promotion Board recommends milk as part of a healthy and well-balanced diet. In the recent publication titled "Birth to Eighteen Years – Dietary Tips For Your Child's Well-Being", the Board recommends that children consume the following quantity of milk each day.

Table 6: Recommended servings of milk
Age No. of servings per day
0-6 months Breastmilk
7-12 months Breastmilk or 750ml infant formula
1-2 years 3 glasses (750ml)
3-6 years 2 glasses (500ml)
7-12 years 1-2 glasses (250ml-500ml)
13-18 years 1-2 glasses (250ml-500ml)

http://www.hpb.gov.sg/edumaterials/default.aspx?relatedhealthtopic=Food+for+Health

For my boy, he took porridge when he was abt 7 or 8 months (can't really remember) then morning i give him cereal then lunch and dinner porridge. as for milk will be 1st wake, then afternoon, then before sleep and at night ard 12 mightnight he will ask for last feed. The pattern will change as he grow.

mummypooh - yes u have to steam the toufu before giving it to your baby. I can't recall i mix any fruit to the toufu hahah even if i did, it's not mango cos my boy also heaty type. I just give him toufu as i hope he start off with blend food hahahahah. It's not funny combibation to add fruits to cereal but it's more of what kind of fruits u add in. I've added banana to the cereal but not too much ya. I would think pureed pear or apple should be fine too. u can try and see if your boy likes it. On yes remember one thing very impt don't give orange as it will create plegm, that's what i was being warn. No orange until after 1yrs old.

feeding outside - as ur baby is just 6 months ya so can't really take biscuit as he just started soild so mainly cereal. What i did was to put the few spoons of cereal (for 1 meal) in a container like this one (the feeding dish (03314) comes with the spoon http://www.pigeonbaby.info/index.php?page=shop.product_details&flypage=flypage.tpl&product_id=115&category_id=28&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=52 so when i need to feed my boy, i prepare the cereal by adding warm water or milk to it and can feed him as a meal. I don't add any puree to it. oh yeah, there are some puree in the bottle type that sell in supermarket whcih some mummies also used them as a meal. i normally puree fresh fruits and veg at home as am a SAHM so i don't buy those for my boy

http://www.healthytimes.sg/babyjar.php

Hi butterwaffles,

my boy is also a "victim" Of yaolan which introduce By my Mil,hiaz.i tint olden parents,nw grandparents raised their children in yaolan.i still remember my grandma rocking my nephew to sleep w d yaolan attached on d ceiling.until nw he can only sleep n even drink his milk in yaolan except when
hes reali tired then he will doze off on bed. However once hes
asleep,i will transfer to his bed. Does mummies noe hw to kick off d Addict for yaolan?

Hi Smile,
thats a great tip,i must quickly get d container w d lid.keke. In fact, nowadays i always bring biscuit for my boy. He loves biscuit v much compared to his cereal, and he tends to bite a huge piece.sometimes i v scared he will be choke eating Tat,so im d one end up holding d biscuit for him in case he swallow d big piece n choke.

Im also a SAHM, may i noe hw do u keep yr boy occupied while u prepare his fd?coz my boy super active,like to crawl n turn here n there n when i leave him alone w his toys he will cry for me. Hence,i have to chk on him every nw n then so i can onli do my stuff fast fast.

Mummypooh,

exersaucer / jumperoo / bumboo are very helpful. What i do was, i put him in the bumboo and place him right outside the door which he can see me (doesn't encourage children rooming around in kitchen as it's danger zone for them, to avoid accident to happen). So i will prepare the food, talk to him at the same time, what mummy is doing, mummy is preparing foor for him. My boy love to see me walk around doing chores, he is the supervisor at home hee hee.

Hi smile,
bumboo seat is suitable for bb until wat age?i tot its for bb to learn hw to sit properly?keke. I wonder if my boy can sit still for some time,keke.hw do u make yr boy sit still when u cook?

roxy, you at 652? Meaning right next to the pioneer mrt station? Sorry, not very familiar with jurong thou i stay here! Haha! I stay near the sports stadium
I've visited Yunnan Q-dees and personally, not very comfortable with the way they teach but the place is pretty alright. Clean and quite spacious. Here's a link for you, hope you will find it useful...http://www.pcf.org.sg/ViewSubArticle.aspx?wfc=REGISTERINFO&id=195

smile, mummypooh, thanks so much for sharing first hand info on yaolan. I've been feeling quite apprehensive about my decision to stick to mattress but my parents have been encouraging me to use yaolan and coupled with my MIL's grumbles, they make me feel as if i'm purposely torturing my son by not allowing him to sleep longer ie. sleep in yaolan. My boy is teething now and he is soo cranky. Every night, he will sure wail until at least 10pm plus. I'm still trying ways and means to make him feel better and hope this stage will pass soon. Quite exhausted sometimes but i refused to let him stay overnight at my MIL's and inhale all the 2nd-hand smoke...

re: exersaucer / jumperoo / bumboo
Looks like the above are really quite useful based on the mummies' feedback here. Makes me feel itchy to get them ah...I think i will get a jumperoo and a bumboo seat when my son is able to sit on his own. For now, he is still swaying here and there whenever i put in the carseat. Even when i add on the infant car seat neck support, he cannot stay still, will keep leaning forward then cry cry cry...zzzz....

phewww, forum seems to have some problem these few days.

mummypooh - my boy is now 15 mth and he is still sitting in the bumboo. It all depends on the child's build also. My boy is on the lean side and best still he can go into his bumboo now on his own. It's his VIP seats haha. Yeah the bumboo help my boy learn how to sit up. I got that for him when he was 4 mth (when neck is able to support). Very useful also when we have to go out for picnic, can put him in it. However, i would encourage to use under adult supervision and not to be used on any elevated surface like put on the bed or sofa etc.

I'm lucky enough to have a maid to assist me with the cook, she does most of the cook. However, at times when i need to cook then i will place my boy at the entrance of the kitchen in his bumboo. he is a little supervisor, just love to see mummy busy with chores so i have not much issue with him.

butterwaffles, teething is a tough period for them as well as us. Try putting the teether (those with the water) in the fridge, there after give it to ur boy, it will really sooth the pain and he will love it hahah just like ice-cream. You can also try the teething gel which u can buy from the phermacy, it's very useful also.

long time nvr come in here.. funny that i don received any email auto updated for this thread.. usually have one...dun noe what happened...

wow notice all the posts now all very long leh.. I must take time to read.

Anyway some update from me...
My Boy started walking liao .. @ 13 mths 1 week old.. so far has been walking for abt 3 weeks... he is very happy and is "everywhere". All the previously 'out-of-bound' places now all he ventures.. even the kitchen which last time I managed to convince him cannot enter by himself now he also goes in... I suspect is my MIL who lets him in... but I have no evidence..

think i need to get a safety gate for kitchen soon.

BB is still under-size ... but nowadays (after he started walking) he like more hungry and willing to eat during mealtime.. though he still diff to feed and makes lotsa mess...

I went to visit Little Neuro Tree, after comparing with Baby Jumper Gym. Think LNT more interesting... will likely to sign him up for lesson this coming term.

long time nvr come in here.. funny that i don received any email auto updated for this thread.. usually have one...dun noe what happened...

wow notice all the posts now all very long leh.. I must take time to read.

Anyway some update from me...
My Boy started walking liao .. @ 13 mths 1 week old.. so far has been walking for abt 3 weeks... he is very happy and is "everywhere". All the previously 'out-of-bound' places now all he ventures.. even the kitchen which last time I managed to convince him cannot enter by himself now he also goes in... I suspect is my MIL who lets him in... but I have no evidence..

think i need to get a safety gate for kitchen soon.

BB is still under-size ... but nowadays (after he started walking) he like more hungry and willing to eat during mealtime.. though he still diff to feed and makes lotsa mess...

I went to visit Little Neuro Tree, after comparing with Baby Jumper Gym. Think LNT more interesting... will likely to sign him up for lesson this coming term.

HI Smile,

Yeah...i too have prob logging in to the forum...

My boy juz reached 7mth, duno isit too "old" for him to sit on d bumboo.keke though he's also a small build baby. Wow...Yr maid can cook...tint nwadays hard to find a maid who can cook well.

Juz nw during lunch time, i mixed puree pear w HT oatmeal, and after a few spoonful, my boy puke his milk tat he drnk a moment ago... like a merlion.. guess he dun like pear? or is it allergy to it? Once i fed him w pear also, but he didn puke onli rejected to eat after a few bite. hiaz...maybe wrong combination.keke

butterwaffles,
u can try Dentinox teething gel from any pharmacy, quite effective for my boy. Juz need to apply a small amt on d affect area, it works instantly.keke.

im aldy a member of the Jurong mummies,but i realised i do not who is who..from our nicks in d forum & our name in fb...can we try to link our fb name w our nick in d forum. & i guess it will be interesting to list yr name, yr child's name & age. I will start the ball roling... *)

Daphne Lim aka Mummypooh
1) 7 mth old baby son; Kadence Ow Jin Kai.

Hi CutieBB,
how was the trip? Any fab buys?
how your kid take the trip and can handle the flight and all? Any tips to share?

Hi Butterwaffles,
My son also hates to lie down.. from 2.5-3 mths if he lies down will cry.. he like to sit and sleep in his rocker chair.

Don give him too much water before he starts solid. I read before that BB before 6 mths shd not drink too much water .. so don "water parade" him now.

For Weaning,
I started him @ 5mth + with Nestle Cerelac coz gift hamper from friend for bb shower!! My friend so KS.. so I just give him lor..
Started with Plain one, then brown rice, then Fruit (he dun like), then Friso Rice based
then Cerelac Vege one at abt 7-8 mth
(his fav. still eats this now ), then abt 8-9 mth Cerelac Honey and wheat and Friso Wheat base cereal.. his appetite not good..so medical hall ppl recommended Brown Rice Cereal with "Si Sen" at abt 11-12 mth. Tried 1 bottle.. but cant really tell the effect.

For Puree items,
I have tried banana, cooked sweet pototoes, pumpkin , carrots, avocado, apple,
using mini elect food processor.. but he not very keen .. then I realised he prefer to "bite" it himself.

For Supplements, my BB was breastfed (got my antibodies) +Enfaclac till 8 mth, then I switched him to Friso 2 then now Gain IQ at 12 mths. So Gain IQ already have Immunify content.
I also mix a milk powder call Totalac (Colostrum Milk powder) with the FM for night and morning feeds. This totalac was intro by my colleagues who niece used to fall sick very easily , always in and out hospital type. Then after taking it, become very healthy and gain weight.

I want my BB to gain weight so I give him this as well.

My BB doesnt like porridge initially will give the Want to puke face. .. so i tried all sorts of other food. I found he likes kuay teow, noodle, ABC pasta, macoroni.. tofu and Dao Huay (must drain syrup), bread (fav.food) and cheese, Carrot stripes. We always says he eats like "ang mo"
He likes to grab the spoon and food from us to self feed.
So I sort of tried the baby led weaning method.

http://www.babycenter.com.sg/baby/startingsolids/babyledweaning

But starting abt 3 weeks ago, he started to eat porridge. So happy. Now we add Cod Fish, Carrots, Brocolli, Soya Bean, Ikan Bilis, Mince Pork, even Frog (Tian Ji) to his porridge.

But once he is full..he will play with the food.
Side effect for BLW.

Hi Smile,
When you said your boy " can't digest the protein, his hair and hands and body stink like a fish manzz.. " you are say if BB can't digest protein, will cause fishy smell?

Daphne Lim aka Mummypooh

Ashleigh aka Ashwen
1) 14 mth old son; Ethan How

Btw, how come I clicked the Grp in facebook cannot see who else is in it?

Hi babes, just came back from my son's PD, he was sneezing and coughing, had runny nose. PD said he got the flu from me *oops* because he didn't develop sore throat. His coughing is because of the mucus, it ran back down his throat because he cannot clear it out from his nose. Ahhh....later post more again, need to attend to my son now.

Daphne Lim aka Mummypooh

Ashleigh aka Ashwen
2) 14 mth old son; Ethan How

Neo Wenzhu aka Butterwaffles
3) 19 weeks old son; Jude Ang Yuzheng

Yeah .. I have auto update from this thread again.

Hi Butterwaffles,
you take care.
Which PD you bring your son to?

I bring mine to Kidslink @ Jurong East if BB is sick. - Med is quite effective.

For Jabs to GP @ My Family Clinic @ Pioneer.

Yeah .. I have auto update from this thread again.

Hi Butterwaffles,
you take care.
Which PD you bring your son to?

I bring mine to Kidslink @ Jurong East if BB is sick. - Med is quite effective.

For Jabs to GP @ My Family Clinic @ Pioneer.

Hi Ashwen,

i also bring my boy to My family clinic for jabs too,which doc did yr boy See?does yr boy develop fever after his jab?

May i noe for normal illness, hw cme u didnt bring him to My family Clinic?their med nt effective?

Hello mummies....finally can come online, at my parents' place now, keke.

My PD updated me today when we saw her for my son's flu and cough. She attended this seminar/talk thingy for pediatricians a few weeks ago and was educated on this new standard for weaning babies and food allergies. She explained that for quite sometime, PDs advise parents to only start solids for their babies when they turn 6 months and slightly later if the parents have a history of food/skin allergy problems. The new standard now is as below, hope will be useful to all mummies here:

Foods which are least likely to cause food allergies (to be introduced after the 4th month):

Rice, carrot, apple, pear, prune

Foods which are usually well tolerated but occasionally cayse allergic reactions (to be introduced after the 6th month):

Barley, oat, wheat, beef, lamb, chicken, broccoli, cabbage, potato, spinach, corn (and corn oil), apricot, banana, cherry, peach, plum, turnip

Foods which are most likely to cause allergic reactions (to be introduced from the 9th month):

Egg yolk (must be fully cooked), legumes (soyabeans, beans), berries (strawberry and raspberry), fish

Foods which are highly allergic (to be introduced from the 12th month):

Seafood (prawns, crabs, dried & fresh scallops), peanuts, egg white, orange, kiwifruit, mango, pineapple, grapes, watermelon, big banana, durian, birds' nest.

However, the list given by my PD did not mention anything about avocado or pumpkin. I'm surprised to see that banana falls under the 6th month list. She gave me this list when i asked if i can start my son on fruits and veg instead of cereal and she said absolutely. My ever helpful colleague had already recommended me a few links showing the more popular organic cereals mummies buy. But after comparing, i realised that Healthy Times cereal, thou no sugar, have a pretty high level of sodium compared to Earth's Best, HiPP and Rafferty's Garden. I'm still wondering if i should start my son on organic fruits & veg. My husband feels there is no need to....hmmm.

ashwen, saw you on FB heh. For vaccinations, i bring my son to Private Children's Clinic @KKH. I was from the Private Suite so my son automatically goes to PCC. Their vaccinations are much cheaper compared to my son's regular PD so i go there...the PD he sees is Dr Dorothy Ong at Bukit Timah Plaza.

mummypooh, when my son had his first dose of 6-in-1, he was fine. But this time, he took the first dose of oral rotavirus, first dose of pneumoccocal and 5-in-1, he came down with a fever of 38.77. He recovered after 2 days.

Hi Mummypooh,

I see Dr Hau @ My Family Clinic.
He is nice and quite good with kids. My BB likes him. His first 6-in-1 jab by Dr Hau. BB didnt cry at all.

But when he had flu and cough at about 7-8 mth we saw Dr Hau 2 times still no effect. He told us the med must give 2 times daily for 2 wks. But already 3 wks cough like worsen.. got phlem somemore.
Plus BB hates the taste of the med from there. Every med feed is battle and BB cry so badly.
Makes me so sad..

So I decided to bring him to a PD. Kidslink is nearest PD from our house so just go there. The med is quite effective. 4 days the cough cleared. "Better tasting" to my BB.

My BB sometimes have fever after jab.. sometimes not at all. But I usually give 1 dose of fever med immediately after reaching home. To sooth the pain from jab. And 1 more before sleeping
After his 2nd Prevenar Jab...he had fever 1 day then stopped. Lesser than 1 week later another fever, followed by rash. PD diagnosed it as False Measles, but he says it is not caused by Jab..

Hi Butterwaffles,
ya saw u on FB too. Your BB is cute, eyes very big.
I have an excel list for month by month guide to food to intro (compile from Babycenter Guide and Health Board Sg.) If u wan I can send to u. Maybe you can add your list to it as well. I think Smiles & CutieBB can also add to the list.
I wonder how to post to share this list to everyone, so we can all update it.

Regarding the Bumboo seat - I let my son sit in it @ abt 5-6 mths. He sits in it for 2 day only. coz he sees us walking ard, he cannot take it. He prefers to join us to see what we are doing. He will try to get out of the seat. So we stop putting him in it.

Regarding the baby walker.
He also doesnt use the walker, coz my house many glass display shelves.. very dangerous with walker. I also read that BB who use walkers actually tends to tip toe and also hinders his development.
http://www.babycenter.com.sg/baby/safety/babywalkerexpert/
I have a friend who puts his son in Jumperoo..it is safer as baby is not mobile. And his son can exercise his leg muscles. His son starts walking at 9 mth!!

My Baby loves to walk. Since abt 4 mths my MIL already started to hold his hand and encourage him to walk. At first I think she very rough and baby so fragile cannot take it.. but he seems to enjoy it a lot.

My sis also subscribe to Glenn Doman's method.
http://www.gdbaby.com.sg/products.aspx
http://www.iahp.org/How-To-Teach-Your-Baby-To-Be-Phy.229.0.html

Hi Ashwen,

usually my boy see Dr Gwee, bt my boy will always develop fever after his jabs.bt d lastest Prevenar by Dr Hau,suprisely Tat he does nt have any fever nor rashes.so Im wondering isit due to d doc technique of injection?

do u Noe where can I find yoplait baby yogurt?coz i went Ntuc n Giant,n i can only find yoplait Miam which is for 1yr old.btw can i feed Tat to my 7mth old boy?

How many months old does u stop sterlising milk bottles?n do u also sterilise their feeding utensils?

Mummies, i have a few questions to ask about starting babies on solids.

1) For FTWMs, how do you teach the main caregiver to feed your baby solids? Do you prepare the pureed stuff beforehand?

2) Can i choose to start my son on a new pureed food at night? Must i really give in the morning or afternoon?

3) If i must let him try in the morning or afternoon, should i be letting him try the same food twice a day for 3 days or once a day for 3 days before i move on to a different food? Or am i supposed to give him Food A on Mon, then Tues & Wed rest, then Food B on Thurs? I saw this link and am confused about the frequency...
"Introduce new foods, one food at a time and at a space of 4 days apart. For example, introduce baby to avocado on Monday and then wait until Thursday to introduce another food.
http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/4daywaitrule.htm

I really hope to be the one who will be starting my son on solids and monitoring him in case of any food allergies but i do not have so many days of leave on hand to stay home and feed him solids. I think i might have no choice but to instruct my MIL on how to do it but i'm very worried and do not trust her at all. Which is why i'm wondering if i can let my son try solids at nights instead thou mornings/afternoons are recommended. Hope mummies here can advise?

<font face="segoe ui"> hello mummies...im selling my baby cot away...its brand new, my ger doesnt like to sleep on that, so it has been lying there for 19mths...haa...anyone noes of whoever wants to buy, pls let me noe...thanks in advance...it comes with mattress plus 2 sets of mattress cover sheet,etc</font>

Hi Butterwaffles,
1) Ideally, It is better if your caregiver can prepare the pureed fresh. But since the caregiver is your MIL. Mayb a bit diff lah. She might have her own idea of wat to feed , etc. So must 1st try to get your hubby to agree and side with you first.

2) You can give the new food in the evening, so that you can monitor yourself if BB like or dislike the food.

3) You can give the same item 3 days in a roll.

4) But remember that all family members and caregiver (esp your hubby) must know that you are introducing new food and cannot "anyhow" sneak item to baby to 'taste a bit'. Else how to monitor right?

5) This is from my experience. My HB and MIL like to give BB "adult" food. My HB think taste a bit nvr mind lah.. he wants wat..
My MIL says like that then BB wont be picky on food.
Wrong - not my BB prefers food with strong taste. He started on hawker food very early. Coz when I am not ard. They will sneak some noodle, cracker, carrot cake, etc to him.
Now he dun like homecooked food and wants to eat our food.

need advise on how to keeo BB toys and stuff ard the house "clean" for him
What cleaning agent you used and how often do you clean them?
Now that "everything" is within his reach as he started walking and climbing! Everything he can grab and put in his mouth.

I used to put all his toys in a big tub and put warm water and the bottle cleanning liquid and to wash and air dry. But not everything can wash leh..

ashwen, same here. Because my MIL always cook using alot of sugar/salt/soya sauce, my husband and all my BILs only eat heavily flavoured foods. Their tongues all spoilt already. Plus they all smoke, so it's worse. Last time my MIL kept boasting to me, say when she used to be a baby-sitter, the kids will only eat what she cooks. Now i know why, because she uses alot of soya sauce etc.

PD actually recommends us to try giving him solids in the morning or afternoon, so that in case of any allergy reactions, there is enough time to reach her or other PDs, else if anything happens at night *touchwood*, where to get PDs. By the time i bring him home every night, it's already 9pm. He's already sleepy and cranky already...haiz. Don't know how. I already told my MIL long ago that i will only start my son on solids when he turns 6.5months because that's what the PD advised initially. Now that PD say he can start now, i don't want to let my MIL know in case she feeds his rubbish. I can't be only letting my son try solids on weekends right? Haiz....

Hi Butterwaffles,
same same!! My MIL is Hakka. She likes to eat salty and fatty food and leftovers.

Seems all MIL cannot follow instructions and likes to feed baby "rubbish"
haiz..
My friend's MIL feed baby Liver porridge @ 5 mths!! She almost fainted when she knows. Nut MIL insisted it is rich is iron and very nutrious.. wat do we "new" Mothers know...

Oh ya.. at first I tot bring my MIL together to see Doc will help by hearing from Doc directly abt weaning. But too bad Dr Hau also 'fat fat' one... my MIL says the doc also 'fat fat' one.. how can he give tips on corect eating habit!! Alamak.. I fainted too.

hahaha ashwen, yes Dr Hau is fat but he is a good dr. I've seen him myself and i've brought my boy to Dr Gwee but sad to say the medicine was good for me and recover fast but not for my boy. Just like the mummies here, he took very long to recover.

Cleaning of toys - i clean his toys everyday with Pigeon Liquid Clenser http://www.pigeon.com.sg/index.php?page=shop.product_details&amp;flypage=flypage.tpl&amp;product_id=156&amp;category_id=38&amp;option=com_virtuemart&amp;Itemid=62 . At times i also use Dettol, pour the dettol in the water and clean the toys. If those toys can't wash then just use wip but when using dettol make sure that u go thru them with clear water again.

butterwaffles - yes, i pureed the food and keep it in the freezer. Introducing new food in the day is mainly because of allergy and having problem to get a dr at night. Plus, normally a child will be more happy and receptive especially with enough sleep over the night. Try not to introduce new food to your child if he is cranky as it may turn him off and result may not be good. Eating should be a happy and enjoyable occassion
Give the same food 3 days in a roll to taste on allergy. If you notice any rashes, stop immediately.

ashwen, my MIL is hokkien. My colleagues tell me maybe because she is old already, tastebuds not as sensitive anymore. But all along, my husband and my BILs eat very heavily flavoured foods. So don't think it's due to age. She can agree to follow my instructions but who knows what she will feed my son behind my back....

smile, if i can only introduce my boy new foods during the day, then how? Meaning i can't be around to introduce new foods to my boy? Then how do FTWMs start their babies on solids, especially if the main caregiver is not a reliable one? *headache*

Hi Smile,
Ya. I also use the Pigeon Liquid Cleaner but not everyday.. coz working.

Hi Butterwaffles,
Then maybe you can introduce the food on weekends.
At least you can monitor for 2 days.

<font face="segoe ui"> butterwaffles...need your help...can you give me the list of CC you have enquiry so far and you find they are acceptable? im helping a friend to ask, shes looking for one now and everywhere is full. thanks!!!

you can send me email at [email protected]eh arh...</font>

Morning....

long long time din come in..... luckily u all very active it is nice...

oh dear... i'm the one with older kids... my boy already 5 and my gal 2...

do u haf any cheap, gd and reliable part time maid to recommend? im staying at jurong west..

Samantha

Hi hippopolai - WELCOME!!

butterwaffles - introducing new food in the day is just to pay safe
otherwise agree with ashwen that you can try over the weekend at least you have 2 days to monitor.

ashwen - yeah, not necessary to be everyday if you are busy, alternate days are also fine. To me is that too clean for them is also not very good hahah..like us mah "dirty eat, dirty big" stronger immunity hohohohoho oopss

Hi butterwaffles,

Can u also send me d list of CC in Jurong ?it's time for me to do some research for my boy liao.duno i can bear to put him in CC when he turns 18mths. Sob sob. my email add is [email protected]. Thank u so much. :p

oh ya jurong mummies - just to share my experience, i know of this beautician at Pioneer (Jurong West) in fact she is still my beautician now and i have been with her for abt 5 years already. She is not pushy for package and she is the boss herself. That's what i like about her not pushy and of cause on her skill too.

Price is very reasonable starting from $58 onwards - basic facial include 1 ampil + mask + eyebrow trimming + shoulder massage.

PM me if you are interested ya

Hi Hippopolai &amp; Samantha,
welcome to this thread!

regarding maid,
I had previously enquired for a lady who charges $12 for weekend min 4 hours. But didnt use her as my hubby says no need to get maid - he will do.. (haha - was a gd joke)

Hi Butterwaffles,
Can I get the list of CC as well?

My BB just caught a flu ytd. cough badly last night.. we didnt sleep much ... now zzz
no wonder past 2 days he so cranky...

where do u normally cut yr hair ? any recommendation?been to some of d salons in Jp, but felt Tat the haircut nt v nice.

Hi Smile,
the beautician has a shop or isit at her hse?

hi mummypooh,

the beautician has her own shop or should i say, she combin in a salon
A shop that do hair and face but the hair is another boss. Hahaha just nice u ask about hair, umm i have not cut in that salon not sure nice thou. I normally go straight in for facial heehee

morning....

hi smile,
the beautican will not ask u to sign any package anot????i afraid... but wait till i finish my currently one 1st...