A fresh thread looking for JURONG mummys...

Hi Springles53,
Wow you went to focus family.... how u like the place... i think the pple there all pretty friendly.... and though they are christian organisation, they don really talk too much on it...... i normally will be there on tues and fri, my boy attending lesson there.... the playtime need to wait.....

Hi Butterwaffles,
yup it is still tiring of taking care of pple... but the trip is also tiring... but surprising i felt much better... at least for awhile.... i can sleep nicely..... and not need to listern to my kids "noisy" once awhile is nice....

hi Daphne,
Welcome to the thread...

Kids gathering... it can be organise... provide all the timing is good... but i'm afraid my boy super active....

hi butterwaffles,
my mother bot my boy to 900++ neighbourhood for haircut... hhaa....

i don think we have a facebook group.... u know how to start 1???

Hi Poshies,
had wanted to go to the motherhood fair @ expo this coming Sat... to buy a suction bowl for my BB. The supplier told him they will be there.
But after I battled thru the Expo last weekend... I surrendered liao.. too crowded. So I bought the Munchies suction bowl instead @ Isetan (with the vouchers! Haha.. kill 2 birds with one stone)
We tested with empty bowl last night. My BB couldnt pick it up!! Gg to try the bowl today with food. So hopefully can solve the problem of him always turning his bowl upside down.

I had an enjoyable but hectic weekend.

Fri : Expo - Toy Convention / Food Expo / JL Sales - super crowded. The car queue to enter expo was so long. After 15 mins queuing, we give up and parked near East Pt shopping mall and took MRT instead.

Sat : Studio Photoshoot for BB + us - brought my BB and parents and MIL. Photos turning out nice... but not as fantastic as I hoped for.
I am thinking for another Outdoor shoot... but it being so close to current.. my HB says I waste money. But what I really wanted was to have clear , sharp and nice photo of my BB now in his most natural states and capture him learning to walk... Maybe I should just invest in a good camera instead.

Sun : Baby Gym + Isetan Trip - Didnt go to Gym... coz left the house late... Only went to Isetan... My BB loved the toys dept! He basically "ran" around the whole place and grab everything he can reach and toss it on the floor. I was so busy picking up after him. My normally "Guai" BB was such at terror in the toy section. Think I shdnt bring him there so often. I can't imagine when he could walk on his own... think he will tear the place now.

Mon : Zoo! Will be BB first trip to the zoo.
- Great weather ytd. Cloudy in early part of day and rained in late afternn... But didnt drown our mood as we have visited most animals and BB already sleeping. But think he is still too young to appreciate the animals. He was more interested in the other kids there, the zoo map and the sign displays and pictures then the real animals.

Hi Butterwaffles,
I bring my BB to a neighbourhood shop @ Clementi central for Haircut.. Coz I have been going there for abt 10 years. They charged $4 for baby hair cut. My stylist is nice, friendly and patient and gentle.

I also ask the Hair Saloon beside Pioneer MRT - they charge $5 or 6, u can try loh.. but I find the ppl look very young / "Lian" / "Beng" not sure if they are patient enough. But my MIL goes there for haircut and colouring. She thinks is ok.

Do not use TaiMaoBi. Their service is lousy.

<font face="segoe ui"> Poshies, I didnt bring my gal for jab, haaa....cos it will cause her to fever de...haaa...guess i will be more careful over there, praying hard and im bringing all the cleaning equipment there to sterilise her...wahaaa</font>

Hi Cutiebb99,
you are going to sterlise your BB? Hahaha.
U can bring along a bottle of hand sanitizer and wet wipe (recommend Pigeon hand and mouth wipes) so that u can clean the items she may contact and better to bring your own utensils for her.
BTW, how u going to settle her food? HK food generally quite oily and salty.

Hi Ashwen,
Wow u have a fruitfully weekend.... haha.. .i know expo is crowd on weekend... that y planning to go on thus since i'm on leave... any SAHM... if plan to go on thus do let me know hor..

hi cutiebb,
had ur bb start on solid if not do remain to bring a small sterilise for the bottles hor.... , bring some baby food... and also i was told with young bb u can bring water to the plane, if not pre-arrange with the airline... do remain,.... to feed the baby during take off and landing... it will help the ear part of it...

Hi Poshies,
ya lor.. long weekend mah.. 4 days leh.. it is like having 2 weekends back to back... but tiring... and today very sad to leave house for work. My BB was giving me the "Where is Mummy going" Look...

afternoon all!!
thanks for welcoming me to JE

butterwaffles
leapfrog products quite extensive, can go and explore. i got the DVDs through sprees long time ago and now only bring out and show my boy. so right now i sing the song, my boy will know the phonics of a certain alphabet. he learns ABCs from there too...
but he goes to growing up gifted (to end soon liao), they teach zoophonics, he can also recognise the alphabets. so i now blend both types of learning into 1. but but but most experts will tell you that it is best to stick to 1 kind of phonics learning.
zoophonics stimulates your child's eyes, ears, mouth and body so it all depends on what you believe in...

poohmummy
i got the leapfrog dvds from spree. i think bp also got sell.
www.leapfrog.com

butterwaffles
btw, JE 5rm very expensive, imho. we wanted a 4room, but really NO units nearer to the mrt station, all very far away like teban or toh guan or pandan, or st 3x kind. so in the end, settle for 5rm unit coz got lots of supply but just very ex - 520-580 in JE, teban or pandan can get for 490 etc
so we saw a blk 11x, 5rm, and its less than 500, so we grabbed. point block somemore. and its 6blks away from my mil place!!
as for my sk unit, not sold yet *sad*
who keen to buy my sk unit? heehee move in condition ah

<font face="segoe ui"> ashwen, yes...gg to sterlise her on/off at HK...wahaaa....i all along have hand sanitizer and wet wipe using here, so will bring them all along and plus SURECLEAN pdts...wahaaa....

Poshies &amp; eeeleen, my gal already 18mths, so will not be bringing slow cooker with me, will let her eat the food there, most likely will call for porridge for her, maybe plain and see what food can she take together with the porridge

Also, can eat breads there, my gal favourite food, and Im also bringing cereal and milk powder...will not sterlise the bottle, just use hot water to rinse will do, im bringing my own kettle pot there...haaa....those hotel kind...hee</font>

<font face="segoe ui"> Dear All, I have created a Group in FB call Jurong Mummies, but i dun have you all contacts inside...wonder if you all can search for the group?</font>

Hi pixiepixel,
hw old did u start yr boy w d leapfrog DVD? Coz most leapfrog prdts is normally cater for age 2 &amp; abv.

I have a qns,my boy is nw 6mths old n he's been drinking NAN 1 HA fm n I'm tinting to change his fm to maybe similac or Enfac A+. May I Noe which fm do u feed yr bb n do u have any advices on these 2 brands?

Hi Ashwen, may I Noe which photo studio did u engage? Hw r their service n rates?tinting to bring my boy for a family photostudio coz we always use timer function of d cam to take all our pic n we have to take a few times for a gd one.keke Yes, I tint u shld invest on a DSRL,d pics r much nicer.

My hubby n I r planning to bring my boy for a short n near overseas holiday to either cruise or genting. As my boy is only 6mths,n I worried abt d long road journery up d highlands n he can't njoy much of d activities since he's still small. Or shld I wait until he's older?

Hi CutiesBB,
Which hotel are u stayng at?
HK tap water cannot drink wor. Must buy water from 7-11. Get the 5-litre type.

I join the Facebook group liao!

Hi Mummypooh,
I engaged Dream Garden. You can find the posting in the Business Section. The "studio" is @ the photographer's house @ Hougang. I took the June Promotion. Photographer is a lady (mother of a 1 yr plus) she is ok lor, quite nice and patient. I think she missed a few good shots of BB playing and laughing. But I guessed that coz it was not what she was "looking" for or BB wasnt looking at her direction... but overall for a family photo, I think still ok.

I also thinking of DSRL, but heavy and bulky leh.. I used Canon Ixus 100 now.

Actually, 6 mth old cannot enjoy travelling. Need to sleep a lot.. and still doesnt know what is gg on. Better to wait till older, maybe 2 year old, when he can appreciate.

At first, I also very keen to take BB for holiday. But I realised I will be 'torturing' him and myself more than enjoying the trip.
Suggest you can try chalet or Sentosa resorts first.

smile, actually i'm not an expert on the types of childcare we have here but i've been reading alot at this kiasuparents forum. Basically, a montessori setting allows the children to learn at their own pace and they believe in learn-thru-play. Groups are smaller as well so the children gets more individual attention from the teachers and the teachers will be able to track the progress of each child better. They don't really make the kids do homework. It seems that kids who graduate from montessori centres are more confident and outspoken. For mainstream centres, its like the primary school system. Spellings, worksheets all have. Classes are larger as well. But now, more and more mainstream centres are including certain montessori teaching methods. It's all about what you feel is better for your child. Some parents send their kids to montessori centres when they turn 18 months but when it's time for N1, they transfer their kids to a mainstream centre as kids are expected to be able to read and write in complete sentences before they enter Pri 1. Do read up more at the kiasuparents forum, i find the website very information for a blur sotong like me!

poshies, agree with you ah...sometimes when i leave my son at my MIL's, when i go home, feel very empty. But when it's time for me to sleep, i really concuss ah. Can really sleep much better without the kids around, hehe...900++ is where ah? There are many salons in jurong but don't know where is suitable for 4-month-old babies lor...

ashwen, thanks for the info! TaiMaoBi is where??? I've never heard of this place before. I've asked the salon next to the Pioneer mrt before, for rebonding heh. I've visited them once before, for an urgent hair straightening ah and the young chap did it for me. He is not bad...Ya, they are quite beng/lian hor? All malaysians if i'm not wrong...

pixiepixel, that's really expensive! But i have to say jurong east is considered very convenient and flats' prices all always rising so got to pay more. So when do you plan to move to your new flat? Still got to reno right? I still get cold feet whenever i think of starting my HDB loan all over again...

cutiebb99, wow, thanks for starting the FB group! I'll search for it and join this weekend. Don't have my laptop with me these few days as my husband took it and forgot to bring home from his office @##@$@$@. But how are we going to identify who is who?? Hahaha!

mummypooh, my son used to be on NAN Pro 1. Now he is on Friso Comfort but that's because he used to suffer from acid reflux. Now much better already and i plan to change his FM when he turns 6 months
Enfalac is very popular with my colleagues...Quite a few give their kids Enfalac Enfapro. Now NTUC selling for $34.45 instead of the usual $38+ i think...

<font face="segoe ui"> ashwen, HK tap water cannot drink arh? then I gonna buy mineral water and boil lor if thats the case. Im staying at Stanford Hotel Mongkok, which is very near to all night markets...

I remember someone mention can bring water to airplane? is it possible?

butterwaffles, i think for me easy for u all to recognise cos im the creator...as for the rest...heee....i think must announce here bah...anyway i realise must add you all as friends too, if not cant see each other profile de....</font>

Hi Butterwaffles,
TaiMaoBi is the shop making Chinese Brushes from Baby Hair (opp TMC, they use Zoe Tay for advertisement) They have hair cut service. Come to your house to cut BB hair.
They charge $20 for hair cut and $20 for transport. We had a $20 voucher given by TMC. When we called to make appt, the lady said can use the voucher, just pay transport only, no need to make brush. But the guy who came to cut hair, says voucher can use only if we make brush. Somemore he was rude and insensitive. He came in, saw the BB crying but still started immediately! Never wait for us to be ready - I was in kitchen making milk. My hubby in toilet. Only my MIL holding BB. My BB cried all the way but he bo chap...I told him BB was going to drink milk, but he still didnt stop. Then he try to Hard-sell for us to make brushes. When we insist dun wan, his face changed, started to pack his bag loudly and even said if "next time u regret, don come and find me" type of speech, then picks up his bag and left! yucks. What a bad experience.
I am still angry with him still this day.

mummypooh
i started my boy on leapfrod dvds when he was around 1.5yo. i got him the baby leapad, which he started to play around with when he was 6mths old...ok lah kiasu me

abt fm, my boy used to drink enfa, but now he dun take fm (or fresh milk too) liao

<font face="segoe ui"> ashwen, I think i bring a empty water bottle and get water from the air stewardness better, then go there and buy mineral water...but we can bring water and put in our luggage to check in right?</font>

I thought they cut BB hair all the time. Shld be very professional. But I was wrong. They only interested to make money.

Hi Ashwen,
I'm also using a DSRL, Canon 550. Its quite light . Actually I'm still trying to figure out hw to take nice pics, for a start I'm taking my boy's personal protrait pic,quite nice though.bt there's much more functions for me to explore.hehe

im worried abt his bottles sterilisation if we r overseas,btw how old did u stop sterilising d bottles? Ya Loh,we too cant wait for bring my boy overseas as a new family.keke.if i bring him when hes 1yrs old, will it be much better for us n him to njoy coz i dun tint i can wait 2yrs. :p We have also bk a downtown east chalet on a wkday for him,tint d main highlight Of d activities is to stick in d pool.keke.

Hi pixiepixel,

Leapfrog baby?is it d one w d caterpillar toy? Tint im also a kiasu parent,aldy tinting hw to Teach my boy phonics after i Saw d amount Of homework my niece has to do in Pri 1 only.i was so shock, N d qns r not that simple n straightforward esp maths. some qns i even have to tint twice b4 answering.v tricky.

<font face="segoe ui"> mummypooh, we also using DSRL camera, Sony...hee...

in fact my gal now 18mths, im still sterlising the bottles but not so in details le...haa</font>

ashwen, that's terrible!!! I'll be really angry my boy already crying and the hairdresser bochap! I ended up going to Compass Point, this $10 okinawa place or something as my parents live at Sengkang. So thought of just cutting his hair there then go back my parents' place to bathe. End up quite okie, the lady was very nice and patient. I've uploaded pics of my boy having his haircut on FB! I've requested to join the Jurong Mummies group but now, i'm not sure if i'm accepted liao *blur*

smile, hope you found the website useful
I've just emailed Kinderland @SP, hoping to get more info. This centre would be ok for me too as it's directly at Dover, i won't have to worry about rainy days...Still waiting for news on the PCF openhouse ah...

mummypooh, you are not the only one...when i realised the primary 1 standard now is so high, i get quite worried for my boy, don't know by his time he can make it or not, lol. On the other hand, i don't wish to stress him, would prefer it if he can remember his childhood as fun &amp; carefree, not filled with enrichment classes and assignment books! It's tough to find a balance...

Hi Butterwaffles
aiyo.. u make him start to worry abt finding childcare and enrichment class etc.
till now i still quite relax abt it...
maybe I shd also start to find one...

Hi mummies, i've just received an email, for those who are interested in PCF Sparkletots Nanyang, there will be an openhouse this month end. Here are the details:

PCF Sparkletots Nanyang
Blk 922 Jurong West Street 92
#01-39
Date of openhouse: 26 June (Sat)
Time: 9am - 12.30pm

Details on fees (excluding subsidies):

For Singaporeans/PR only.

Infantcare:
Fullday - $1177.00
Halfday - $706.20

Toddler:
Fullday - $642.00
Halfday - $385.20

N1 to K2:
Fullday - $588.50
Halfday - $353.10

ashwen, don't get stressed by me! Haha...i'm the kind who starts to plan very early, it's just me. I take very long to make important decisions so i have to start looking for my boy's childcare early. I've started my search in late April actually, till now i've not yet decided. I think i've visited like, 7 childcare centres already and YET i still cannot decide. Very cham...

Hi Butterwaffles,
thanks for the info. Did u visit DayStar @ 653C Jw st 61? Any comments?
Anyway.. what shd I be looking out for when looking for CC or enrichment class? I am very clueless ones..

anyway I saw a banner outside Frontier CC for Full day Kindergarden when passing by in vehicles last week. You can check it out when u have time.

ashwen, i didn't shortlist DayStar wor...i shortlist based on the routes from my place first, hahaha! Must have a direct route because i'll be doing all the fetchings. By the way, saw that the current license duration for this Daystar is 24 months. One more indication that this place should be quite alrite

Actually, i don't really know what we should exactly look out for. When i visited the centres,i usually get to speak to the principals. Difficult to get to speak to the teachers. When the principals show me around, i observe how the teachers interact with the children, see if the children are happy &amp; learning stuff. As i walk around the place, i will touch the furniture, make sure there is no dust. The place should have no food smell, heh. I don't mind air conditioned places as our weather is too hot thou i know some parents prefer non-air conditioned areas. I try to find out if they offer stuff like phonics &amp; hanyu pinyin. I ask questions right from the toddler class to K2 because the last thing i want, is to change centre halfway. Facilities to me is secondary, abit old is ok with me because i feel teachers are the most important. I usually ask for examples of the activities, how the curriculum is planned and how do they prepare our kids for primary 1. If they offer phonics, what kind? If they have outdoor activities, what kind? Once i manage to shortlist the centres, i will visit them again. Because i want to take a look at the works of their K1 and K2 children...I think that should be quite a good indication of whether they do enough to prepare our children for primary school. I don't expect miracles or perfection but i must be able to see their effort. Different centres are strong in different areas as well so i also have to decide what i can live with, what i cannot accept...

Outside Frontier CC? I have to say actually Jurong has plenty of kindergartens and childcare centres. But how to find a suitable one? Really very headache wor.

poshies, good morning
I'm tired too ah...fell asleep in the train, only woke up to find that i'm at Kallang already *slap head* Had to take another train back to Cityhall, arrgh! Ya, i'm in facebook heh. Cutiebb created the group, do join also hor.

I can't remember which mummy here asked about Ichiban Montessori at Yunnan. My hb asked me to go take a look since it's soo near to our place and not very expensive. I've made an appointment to view their place next Monday morning. Will feedback when i'm done