A fresh new thread to locate SAHM of yr2006?

MTDT,
hehe thanks thanks and congrats to you too

Swimmy, Frederick & Inch by Inch by Mermaid Theatre of Nova Scotia, Canada really good??? hahaha dunno whether I will be up to it to bring her there! Better ask my hb first kekeke

Swim - Caitz dislike swimming or even venture further than 2 steps! I guess i better start bringing her to swim more often then she can overcome her fear of water! Sian to drive all the way to the club to swim... i'm feeling so lazy these few days!

Cheri and Cat.
very sweet of both of u. Yup, Claris has more or less recovered, just having some loose stools still because of the oral antibiotics that she took.

Cat,
you are so right about the infectious children ward. All the children I met at the play area were hospitalised because of stomach flu.

Wow...Cat, u are a great mummy. Such sumptuous and wholesome packed food.

My Crystal's session is 8.15 am. As the school is pretty far away, she only has time for her cup of milk and will settle her breakfast in school. The menu of the school is pretty pathetic. It is definitely a no-no for a growing kid. So far, I have been faithfully packing breakfast for her.

Any quick and easy yet delicious and wholesome recipe to share?

Btw...I am wondering if this is a norm:
1. Parents cannot enter school compound to pick up children. Must wait outside the gate.

2. No time-table been issued.

3. No handouts given to parents about the theme of the week/month.... Parents have no clue what is being covered in class.

loppily
my response to ur 3 qns

1) N's sch is like that too...it's actually good for the kids, i feel. Less cross transmission of germs etc. The only time parents get to go into sch r during special occasions like child's bd party, special functions which r held in the cc & parents r invited to watch/participate. Of course, during recce time & first few days of child's adaptation to sch oso can.

2 & 3. N's cc did give those to us at beginning of each year...simple scheme of work wif the theme for each mth, the books to be read, brief activities etc.

Loppily,

Ans 1.Kenise sch allow us to go in the sch and drop the kids.

Ans 2.What kinda timetable u meant?

Ans 3.Kenise school will every month give us a copy update paper(2-3 pages) of what their class did last month and what they gonna do this month and there about 3-4 pictures(those copy and paste to their update paper) of the particular class of what their doing and along together will handover their "homework" for the previous mth.

How do u keep their homeworks?I got tons of it as Kenise every mth will bring 2 stack of homework back and some artwork.

Garfield
Hahaha. I had the same question yday when another pile arrived at home. Thought of throwing away but decided I'll keep for a few years, till he's bit older for him to decide what he wants to keep/throw. Need to find a box to dump them in

Loppily

We are all great mummies in our own ways...
Like you can play the piano and engage the girls in music and movement plus lots of art stuff...
And you bake too right?
Some are very good with exposing the kids to sports, puzzles, etc...

I am not too fussy when it comes to Ning's diet... Lunch I will team fish for her mainly.
But I am more particular when it comes to Kai.
He has a smaller appetite so I have to make up for this lack of quantity with quality.
Yes, many of the kid pack corn flakes or a slice of cake.
A mummy asked why I packed his lunch box with cooked food instead of some dry stuff.
So i told her that instead of taking empty calories I would rather it's something wholesome, so that I can go easy when he doesnt want his lunch.
A bit KS, I know... :p

I like to steam his corn, baby corn, broccoli n carrot while i prepare his egg.
Since he doesnt like soft mashed up stuff, I fry his eggs with 2 sliced mushrooms and half a slice of cheese...

Sometimes I give him shell pasta.
Add some grated cheese on top. Plus sauteed mushrooms, steamed carrots, snow peas...

He also likes rice with seaweed n kelp. I will add egg and carrots.

Loppily
Glad to hear tat claris is recovering

1) cos cay's class is v small so usually they'll allow parents to go in to help the kiddos put their bags etc
2 & 3) yep they give at the beginning of each term

Garfield, Zoe
keke yah yah i oso jus received one big pile on mon..
cos busy w new pl so jus chuck it into a box for the time being

Garfield
btw wats the longest it took for singpost to deliver ur bp purchase huh?
think one of my parcels missing liao... more than a week le

Hey thanks so much for the response. Now, I am feeling abit vexed...wondering if I have made the right choice. For the past days, I asked the teachers and the admin lady about the time-table so that I know roughly what is being done everyday. 'Cos it just does not make sense to me to travel all the way there if my girl is not learning much. And apparently, nothing is being issued to parents with regards to the curriculum or activities being covered everyday. Everyday, I have to probe to know what she is doing in school. I cannot reinforce any learning at home. Guess, I have to talk to the principal tomorrow as I am the only parent here who is so clueless. Gosh! I hope I have not made a wrong decision as I have already registered for next year N2 and I may not have a vacancy in another school at this point of time. Haiz.........

Wow...Cat, your packed lunch sounds delicious. Very healthy. I like it. Hee hee

Which lunch box do you use to keep the food warm and nice?

Btw...I just dropped an email to the principal. Wish me luck. Really dread the idea of looking for another school.....the thought of it makes me sooooooo tired. Gosh.....so late....gotta go catch a wink...gotta wake up early to prepare foodie for Crystal.......

Cheri
Thanks for the invitation to 'kacau' your weekend stay again :p I will give it a miss as we got family plans

Loppily
Hope C is ok already!
My response to your questions:
1)Since the outbreak of H1N1, parents are told to drop off their kids right outside the office after the routine check. Then pick them up at the canteen after school. But we can still go in to their class if we want but have to do the temperature check.

2)Their timetable is pasted outside the classroom.

3)We receive theme/activity of what they are going to do/learn every semester. By the end of each semester, we will be invited for parent-teacher meeting n to discuss issues from their port-folio.

Loppily,
If u meant wat they learn in sch everyday seriously I have not much idea except that I know is 11.30 or 11.45 lunch follow by queue up shower than naptime and at 5.30pm onwards it tv time.Seriously I have not really been attentive of wat she learn but every mth she bring home those homework I will sort of test her memory so at least in that way I am assure that she did learn something.

But if I were to prompt the teacher what the daily activties so will also tell me what they did so I think it right if u were to ask the teacher and she can't ans u then tat really weird.

As for the food menu the school actually paste it on the notice board so parent don't need to ask at all.

Btw forgot to mention my gal is actually in a childcare.

Hereby spreading the news tat there will be a children carnival on the 3-4th oct at west coast park green lawn.

Check out link for more info.
http://www.ashmedia.com.sg/events/childrens-day-carnival-2009/

Btw K sch is offering to buy those coupon ticket for $9 but value is $12 worth.(It can be used only on fun rides and games stall)
Pls send me a msg if ur want to buy the coupon but pls note I got to submit the ticket form by 22/9/09.

Lin,
The longest I got my normal mail(those sgp to sgp mail) was think almost to 2 weeks cos the package was damage and send for repacking.

If to say vpost the longest wait was 2 weeks+ was due to they change their system and it totally crop up.

Btw wat I know current is vpost service is getting from bad to worst.

Who is going for Swimmy, Frederick & Inch by Inch on 13th November 2009 Friday? Caitz school is organizing an outing to watch that play on that day! hahaha I almost bought the tickets! but compared to the website their prices is still so much more ex. I hope we get a good seat for that pricing! $27 per person!

Garfield,
Yes Vpost is getting bad to worse! If my parcel doesn't arrive in 5 working days, I will give them a call or email them to check if they have left it behind or forgotten about it. Cus sometimes they do leave it behind thinking its unpaid. VpostJapan is terrible, without matching, they send the parcel back to Singapore and then the parcel goes missing and they say they will refund you the money but according to their exchange rate not the rate you pay. If their exchange rate is good then you gain but if it lesser than the rate you pay, then you lose money and they don't give a damn about it.

ylc,
Tat horrible anyway luckily there still other alternative if to ship from US but me too lasy to organize and rather join sprees now.

garfield,
Vpost is still one of the cheapest. Sigh... at least they bother to refund me the money at the end of the day.

ylc
Think CY, me, Angie going for 13th Nov 10 am. I paid 20 per pax, u prob paid higher cos need to factor into account transportation. But net net, 27 is still cheaper than my 20, considering parking, petrol, ERP etc.

Loppily

I think the sch is right not to let parents go into the sch premise.
1. the temp screening ensures no cross transmission. by allowing parents to go into the sch means
i) the sch needs to screen each and every parent as well
ii) the sch does not screen the parents and undo whatever measure they have put in place?

2. it gives the kids a good demarcation, esp for kindies which is only 3h so that they can go in and settle down quickly

3. the kids learn to be independent and put their bags into the cubby holes and take off/put on their shoes on their own

4. better control of the kids coming in and leaving the sch, greater accountability esp for kids who are on sch bus arrangement. The tr can have tighter control and info of no. of kids dropping off and boarding the bus

5. it 'protects' the kids fr being taken outta sch 'wrongly' and minimise scuffles with parents...

As for daily time table, I do not really bother too much cos I feel that learning social skills is more important. In fact, i told the trs for both my kids that i want the kids to be happy and to be able to get along with friends. The rest, it's ok.

I do not reinforce what the kids learn in sch.
Except that I will go through Ning's spelling words with her. Yes, even now that she is k2... I have not checked on her work...
I only teach her want i want her to learn... own goal... own target... own timing

Kai's sch gives monthly Calendar with a brief Scheme of Work...
At the end of the term, there is a report of what they have learnt...
I will look at the SOW and try to see if I can help out with that by packing books for the class.

Don't freak.
I am sure as a mother, you will be able to tell if Claris is happy from her facial expression.
Kai is always always grinning at me when I pick him fr sch!
He will tell me, I have FUN!
The next qn is, Did u finish ur food?

Recently, the boys in the class were playing some fighting games. When I asked Kai, he said, Don't tell you! and laugh...

Today, when I asked him what he was talking to his friend... He said I Dont Tell You, hehehe
Orh... So i told him it must be a huge secret but i am still happy to see that he has a friend to talk to in sch!

loppily
maybe cos C just started sch so u r a bit kancheong. Actually time-table doesn't tell much...it's basically just from what time to what time, they hv Eng, Ch, Montessori, outdoor play, lunch etc.

Initially, i oso thot it will be nice if i can reinforce the learning wif her esp since we r sahms. Reinforcement to me could be in terms of reading more books on the themes or talking abt the topic. But after a while, it just din matter anymore.

Sometimes, i'll ask N abt what she has learnt/done in sch but her responses really do not tell much. How do i know she's happy & doing well? From the lil stories she tells me abt playing wif the kids, helping to feed them, the songs she'll sing spontaneously from time to time, the lil paint marks left on her fingers on some days (i will ask her what she has been doing that day...u painted sthg red? what was that?) Though they gave the SOW of themes for the mth, i dun even refer to it now at all. Honestly, after she's back from sch & her nap, i dun wan to sit her down for any serious learning anymore at her age. Cos i can see she really enjoys playing wif her toys,going out. The teachers' comments abt N's progress during the parent-teacher's conference & lil chats when i pick her up after sch hv oso been v positive so far so i'm happy enough.

Does she hv any separation anxiety issues since she just started sch? maybe she wun show she's enjoying yet cos she still needs time to adapt.

elmo
no problem...enjoy ur long weekend too

ylc
ya, i think the sch is charging u guys for sch bus etc. we're going on sunday.

cheri

hahaha ya ya true... after sch... i feel like so poor thing to stress the kids further...
Ning gets to watch a bit of TV when i drop Kai off in the morning.
But i told her no Boomerang and 35.
When i get home, she will read to me or I read to her or she will do a bit of chinese writing. Then she will help me a bit in the kitchen.
Then it's lunch n go to sch.
Aft I pick Kai, will give him lunch, shower and let him play a bit. Then read to him and nap.
aft nap is playing/fighting/arguing with Ning, who wld hv just returned fr sch!
Then go to the park. Play. Play. Play.
Dinner. Shower. Read. Sleep.

Honestly, i was so super eager to send Ning to sch when she was abt 20mth.
She was alone at home with 2 maids and mil...
Too spoilt la.
Many asked why bother since my maid was very good at reading to her and singing and even showed her flash cards!! Picture cards... whatever u call those.
But i so wanted her to play with her peers.

Kai? Bo bian cos with 2 of them tog, too distracting...

Loppily
I think focused on the positives...
But both Ning and Kai had bad starts too la...
Ning was... I put her at a CC thinking it might be good for her since her cousin was there...
Ended up, I observed that the P wasn't caring at all...
Kai... alamak! The P was short tongued and was not too upfront with few issues... And they were short handed, plus the kids were not disciplined...

Now, I won't say the prog is fantastic... But I do love the fact that they have a lot of outdoor activities and the kids are quite disciplined.

Loppily, as a SAHM, your bond with your child is definitely very strong. And it's the very first time you are dropping your lil precious off. Surely you will feel jittery.
Did you like what you see when u went to visit the sch?
I brought Kai with me. When I asked him, he said he likes the sch.

Although it doesnt matter much, but having a time table is good for you, at least you have a rough idea of what Claris is doing in sch.
Hope the sch is able to give you that piece of info!

Garfield,
So good to know that the teachers are sharing with you what they did in class. I see the teachers everyday as I am there to fetch Crystal home but they are busy all the time. They are able to tell me so little...one activity like play dough....
I do not want to ask the teachers everyday too else they will find me a bother. I would prefer the school to issue time-table to me, scheme of work/curriculum/activities/handouts of songs/phrases and etc. At the moment, I dun even know when is there a parent/teacher conferencing and when will I get back their work. Basically, I am simply clueless about anything. I just know that every morning, they will gather at the hall for prayers and stuffs and then on Monday, they have gym and Friday, gotta wear PE t-shirts. That's about it.

Cat,
I like the report thingy in Kai's nursery. At least from there, you are able to know what he is learning in school. I guess because I am traveling really far to a so-called good nursery in my impression so I do not want to be short-changed.

Cos' if the curriculum and culture is not important to me, I would have settled Crystal in one of those near my place.

Crystal seems very happy everyday. She seems to love school alot. When I mention reinforce learning, I am not referring to just those serious stuffs. We sing alot at home in the past. That day, she was singing this' I love the lord' song which I had no clue how to join her in the singing. I wish parents are given the lyrics to sing together with the children at home. Today, I asked her to teach me how to sing that song and she said she has forgotten how to sing it already....

She has been doing lots of jumping and hopping at home. Placing books in rows and jump jump jump. I asked her whether she did lots of jumping and hopping in school, she said yes. So I am wondering how much of the time is spent on workouts and whether there is a holistic learning experience in the school. I asked, 'Did teacher read to you?' She said, 'No.'

Cat,
i am disappointed as I have not received any reply from the principal regarding this matter. Maybe they don't have a proper system so she does not know how to reply my email?

Loppily,
kenise sch didn't give me a tabletable but when prompt wat they did they do ans me though and to me seem like they already have a schedule.
My gal sch also do issue a communication booklet so if we urself dun have time to talk we still could write in the booklet and ask and just need to tell the teacher we wrote something on the booklet and they would reply us.

Maybe u can call the principal and ask about the system but do note some sch only return their homework like few mth once.
Btw how long have u enrol ur gal there?

Garfield,
My girl just started school last week. Last Monday was her first day of school. I too have a communication booklet. But I really wonder if the teachers have the time to reply. My girl made a card for her form teacher last week and slotted it into the booklet. But there was no reply whatsoever. When I saw the form teacher, she didn't say a thing either. I am soooooooo disappointed.

I emailed the principal and her reply was so lame, beating about the bush. Basically, I have to check with the form teacher next week and I think all I will get is some brief info verbally and no print-out on the info I need.

Loppily,
Do u think u r abit too anxious?Cos she only been a week in the sch.
Anyway as long as she didn't say she hate the sch I guess crystal is quite happy wif it and give the sch 1 mth time then see how it goes.

Loppy
My thoughts....

I'm not sure why the anxiety levels on the lack of a print out of the timetable and curriculum cos that's easy to churn and distribute but whether they adhere to it or deliver it effectively, optimally and to meet each parent's standards is another matter altogether and is something which is very difficult to measure?

I say what I do cos timetables state 0.5h math, 0.5h science, 0.5h english, 0.5h character development (whatever the heck that means).... Curriculum, this semester the theme is 'whatever'. 'Your child will be exposed to blah blah.....'

This means zilch to me. To teach math to a tot for eg, they could be in the garden, kitchen, classroom, playground, on the bus, doing a million possible different activities to achieve the same aim. Of which, perhaps half the class might not have understood the objective of the lesson but might have learnt something else in the process. But due to reinforcement over the next few days, most of the children do eventually achieve the objective... How are we to measure how much tots learn in 'school' or how 'good' is what they learn? To repeat the alphabet perfectly and master good handwriting are nation-accepted measurements but is this how we should measure how good a kindy is?

The nursery is a popular one you say, that's why you are making the long commute? It has to be famous for a reason, esp in a place like Spore where parents are so demanding.

I think give them time. C is happy, no issues so far....

At a higher level, in real school, if they're struggling with their grades, then I think perhaps to be upset with the school for not providing the parent with ways to support the child academically is justifiable. These are tots.

Fiction vs Non-fiction

My kids LOVE BOOKS!
Recently, Kai is also into LONGer stories.
Poor me.
Honestly, I enjoy reading to the kids. But there were days when we were just so tired and YET the kids will lug the books to my bed and asked to be read to...

At one point, I thought that all these stories... maybe I should take out some non-fiction books for the kids?
I mean... I felt bad... I was so indulging them cos I love books myself... BUT maybe I shld feed them non-fiction to make them clever? haha
Anyway, those remained as THOUGHTS...
The mind is willing but the flesh is weak... hahaha

Recently, Kai is into building things.
Railway track. Lego. Tangrams(he uses them to build into things). Wooden blocks.
One evening, he was building his Lego. It looked like a ship, with a man on it.

Mummy: What's that, Kai?(pointing at the Lego, in general)
Kai: Railings, otherwise people fall into the sea(pointing at Lego,specific)
M: Oh? Really?(ah... so it's really a ship!!!)
K: Yes, at the jetty.
M: Wo..
Ning: Jetty? What's a jetty?
M: It'...
K: The boat comes in. People fish. Many of them. Roller blade there. People jog there. Eat there... picnic there. So many people. Read a books there. The fishing rod, put a bait. Throw into the water. The railings there, otherwise people fall into the sea.

M: Wow! That's a clever answer, Kai!
N: Ya, mummy. Kai is so clever. Why he knows what is a jetty?
M: It's from his story book.

Well, he remembered the details of the reader that we read! The title? Holiday is Good.
It's about a family who went to the jetty and had a picnic there. The kids when to roller skate while daddy went fishing, with mummy help out, putting the bait on the line.
When I was reading to him, he wld point at the picture and asked many questions. Each time we read, he wld point at he railings and asked, What's that? Railing. Oh. Why must have railing? To stop people from falling into the sea. Oh. Waht's a bait? Fish food, so that the fish will bite and Daddy can catch the fish. Oh....

So, fictions or non-fictions???!!!

Well, it doesnt matter, seriously!

More on books...

We went on a short getaway...
Guess what?
The children, especially Ning, was excited when they knew there was a library at the place we put up!!!
They very very duly went to the library to borrow some books!!
Kids!!! Holidays ya????

Loppily

I hope C is happy in sch today!

Maybe you can share what were the good things you heard abt the sch that made you send C there?
Did you sit in on the 1st 3 days?
were you happy when you went to view the sch?

Kai's previous tr gave me her mobile no. and I was able to sms her.
The present tr doesnt give me her mobile no. but everyday when I pick him, she will hold his hand to the gate, ask for handshake or a hug. Chat with him a bit. Then engage me with a bit of conversation.
Cld be anything. Like-
T: Kai was telling me he wants to go on a PONY Hunt. Hahaha!
M: Pony Hunt? we were reading Bear Hunt on ur way to sch... But we read another book Sam Rides a Pony...
T: Hahaha, fusion? He combines the ideas!

I dont really ask what they learn. But these sort of short exchanges are very valuable to me. Cos I can gauge Kai's thot process in a way. like he took what he read to sch. Tried to share... in a humorous way. And his tr will also get to know what he does at home.

Some times when we talk abt things, the tr will say, Oh, no wonder he is doing that!!
Or I wld be thinking, Ahhh! That sounds so much like what he said few days back!!! So it's from the TEACHER!

Loppily,
Honestly to speak I had never ever ask the teacher what K learn at all.

Everytime when I pick her up my 1st question to the teacher was did she bite/beat any1.As that my worst fear and I would want to correct the bad habit asap.

Other than that it all secondary to me as my main priority is for her to be more social and learn to share stuffs.

Anyway normally when she does learn something new she would recite/perform to us and although her pronounication is not accurate and it wouldn't be full sentence but still at least I know she learning something and at the end of the mth the teacher would be giving us back homework and at times there those poem she recite.

Can u share which school is it?Maybe we might have frenz that kids in it and might be able to help.

Loppily
hope things r not as bad as u think. maybe jus give it abit more time?
actually i tot its a gd sign that Crystal loves her new sch and looks fwd to gg to sch everyday

Garfield
keke im jus like u leh... everytime (not often though cos usually granny will fetch) i see his teacher 1st few qn i wld ask r how was he at sch tdy? was he rough w his frens?

bug
sigh cay vomited twice jus now... 2nd time even thru the nose
hope he din catch the diarrhoea bug

Garfield
he's still v active so will jus monitor first
i think his cough induced the vomiting... jus hope its not the dreaded bug

Garfield and Zoe,
Actually, my verge of withdrawing Crystal from the nursery is really a built up of negative feelings about the ppl in the school...not plainly because I am not issued any time-table/curriculum and stuffs.

Actually, the main reason why I decided on this school despite the distance was because of the passion of the principal for children and education. Also, the warm homely feeling I got about the school visit. Unfortunately, couple of things happened last week and changed my positive impression of the school.

1. The rude, mean and unsympathetic admin lady. On day one, she did not allow me to see if my Crystal was coping well in class. (I checked their website some days back and the fact is I could actually sit in for the first two days).
She did not appear to know the school system yet boss ppl around as if she's the principal.

There seems to be communication break-down between the principal and this lady. I paid the term fee to this admin lady during the one week break and last week, the principal called up my hubby saying that we did not pay the term fees. After the misunderstanding was cleared, the admin lady did not even apologise. In fact, when I approached her about this, she told me, "Please do not talk to me about this. Go and talk to the principal."

I actually got special concession from the principal to enter the school compound as it is just too hot to wait outside the school gate for my poor Claris who travels with me all the way from Punggol to little India. Apparently, this admin lady is very unhappy about this arrangement and will show me her sickening attitude.

2. I am disappointed by the principal's reply to my email. An example of her lame excuses:
'As for song lyrics, children are taught many many songs during school and be very difficult for teachers to type them out as handouts.'
Is it really very difficult? Personally, I dun think so. Anyway, my impression of her has been greatly tarnished after the email as I feel she is not as passionate as I thought she was.

3. I heard that the teachers are very caring, loving and nurturing. But as I mentioned earlier, I am surprised and upset that her form teacher did not even bother to write a short note in the communication book about the card which Crystal made specially for her. If I were the teacher, I would be gladly surprised and touched. She did not talk to me about it either. She just played dumb about it. Sad....

4. I have no idea why the teacher keeps on making Crystal eat the school food even though I pack for her breakfast everyday. I actually wrote to the form teacher telling her that they do not need to prepare food for her as I will pack breakfast for her everyday, Well, she did not reply to me letter and she will tell Crystal to eat mummy's food at home. I am upset as honestly, their food is so lacking of nutrients as compared to the breakfast that I packed for Crystal.

By the way, the school is Foo Chow Methodist.

cat,
I was not even allowed to peep from outside. So sad right cos' it was my dear Crystal's first time in nursery.

Kai's teachers sound really nice. Can share with me which school is it?

Loppily
as crystal's mommy... im sure u know wats best for her

if u feel so negatively abt this sch.. then perhaps its better that u help crystal find another sch
for peace of mind.. even better if its near ur pl ;)

tat admin lady is really irritating. reminds me of the yaya attitude of this receptionist/admin staff at jg when i called to enquire donkey time ago

cay still v active.. jus tat his cough quite bad and abit feverish
really hope he'll be well enuff to go to sch tomr
cos his teacher sms me this morning saying they're hving hari raya party tomr
and she has prepared one malay baju kurung costume for cay

Hey,
I really feel like changing school for Crystal. Should I or should I not. It is too rash a decision? My hubby does not seem to be as affected as me.

Anyway, any school to recommend to me? Thanks in advance. I am staying at Punggol.

Lin,
Good to know that Cay is better now. Crystal is also down with flu. She is supposed to go to the zoo with the school on Friday. I hope she will recover by then.

Hey his teacher is so sweet....does she sms u often? It is so nice to know that teachers and parents are communicating like friends. Which school is Cay in?

Lin
Hope Cay is ok.

Loppy
If you have bad vibes, then definitely go with gut instinct. I can't stand irritating yaya staff either. Feel like punching them. I rather not have to see them either.

On another note, you do have to close one eye when it comes to these school things. Or it's very difficult to be 100% happy one. Can you imagine having to take care of so many kids? I always feel sorry for the teachers. Cleaning up after so many strangers' kids, so many bottoms. Everyday. If they were all her kids, it's still a torture. Imagine, not your kids. Passion or not, I'm sure it's still not easy. Haven't even added the stress they receive from parents.

D's teachers screw up sometimes but I'm fine with it cos I screw up too. At the end of the day, he's happy and likes them. I dunno what he does in school really. He brings home stacks of stuff he's done at the end of term, but dunno how much asistance he receives. I haven't even looked thru the previous term's stuff.

I wouldn't recommend you D's school cos it prob isn't spectacular. Haha. But he loves his teacher dearly. And I think she's fab. Very patient and not the fierce type. ;-)

Good luck with finding another school. St Anne's is supposed to be good, if the annual queues are anything to go by. Mebbe you'll get lucky on the waitlist?

Oh yes, RE food, I know some places don't allow home-brought food at all. And that's another area where one has to close one eye. D's school doesn't serve nutritious stuff either, (have seen several other places' menus, similar) but I don't think about it lah. Can't confine him to a bubble. Human bodies are a lot tougher than we think.