A fresh new thread to locate SAHM of yr2006?

Day/Date: MON 17 December
Time: 3pm
Venue: Qun Zhong @ Neil Rd near Maxwell
Agenda: Makan xiao long bao, la mien, jiao zi...
1) Angi & Seth
2) Pebbles
5)
6)
7)
8)

Day/Date: TUE 18 December
Time: 4pm
Venue: Taka
Agenda: Shopping
1) Angi & Seth
5)
6)
7)
8)

Day/Date: WED 19 December
Venue: Delta cum dinner at Ikea
Agenda:
1) abcdisney n abc
2) cutiemax n zy
5)
6)
7)
8)

Day/Date: THU 20 December [PH]
Time:
Venue:
Agenda:
1)
5)
6)
7)
8)

Day/Date: FRI 21 December
Time:
Venue:
Agenda:
1)
5)
6)
7)
8)

Please provide me with your hb's name for gift exchange:)

Day/Date: MON 31 December <>CONFIRMED<>
Time: 4pm onwards
Venue: Elmo's, 14 Countryside Walk
Agenda: NY2008 countdown party & pot-luck dinner.
Gift-Exchange: for kids, mummies & daddies (draw lots)
1) Elmo & Summer & Daniel & family
2) Angi & Seth [cake & disposables stuff]
3) abcdisney n abc (agar agar)
4) cheri, Johnny, N & helper (chicken curry & french loaf)
5) Cg, hb n Sha (G on half day, so confirmed joining us too)
6) Pebbles n C n hb (tbc)
7) Lovethat & hubby & rugrat (tbc)
8) Esther , hubby, randal & helper
9)
10)
11)
12)

Esther...
if like CY, he is a right hander, then you should train his right brain (coz left hand to right brain and right hand to left brain)...if you wan left brain training, it includes puzzles, counting, sorting and sequencing toys...

Think left-right brain trainings pretty much up to individual parent to improvise. coz diff bbs like diff activites...

for CY hor, flash cards ah...look left look right, look at fingers (!!! like telling me 'mummy, i'd rather watch my nails grow!") everywhere except cards!!!

YY, wow e brainy thingy damn chim le...
guess i'll let nature groom him for now la...
let him play educational sort shapes n toys, he no patience lor juz bang e toys all over e place...

YB, me too still headache if should juz drop him off to childcare pondering worried racking head....

mummys bz xmas week ahead?

abc,
Is the back support from Osim similar to the dale binder used after C section? U seen the product ? if it's the same,i may consider...thanks for the offer.

For tomm delta gym, can i confirm tomm before 12pm. still have slight diarrhoea this morning.

Cutie
Hope you get well soon.

YB
Separation anxiety is very common.
No worries. Main thing is to find out your main objective of sending her to PG/CC.
My objective is to let her be independent at a younger age and to socialise with other tots to have fun
in music, language and arts and Practical life (MANNERS).

My initial concern was same as yours. "Stop working for so long, then not able to keep touch with the society or unemployable?"
In the end I found out the answer: "If we work, most of the times we are complaining about bosses, colleagues, work... and etc... and with the advanced technology, there are many ways for us to find out the changes in the society".
For my workhalic character, if I were to go back to work, I don't think I would have extra time to accompany Sha.
In the end, would I be happier because I bring more $ hm or problems from work? The answer is negative.

Day/Date: MON 17 December
Time: 3pm
Venue: Qun Zhong @ Neil Rd near Maxwell
Agenda: Makan xiao long bao, la mien, jiao zi...
1) Angi & Seth
2) Pebbles
5)
6)
7)
8)

Day/Date: TUE 18 December
Venue: Taka
Agenda: Shopping
1) Angi & Seth
5)
6)
7)
8)

Agenda:
1) abcdisney n abc
2) cutiemax n zy
3) CG & Sha
5)
6)
7)
8)

Day/Date: THU 20 December [PH]
Time:
Venue:
Agenda:
1)
5)
6)
7)
8)

Day/Date: FRI 21 December
Time:
Venue:
Agenda:
1)
5)
6)
7)
8)

Please provide me with your hb's name for gift exchange:)

Day/Date: MON 31 December <>CONFIRMED<>
Time: 4pm onwards
Venue: Elmo's, 14 Countryside Walk
Agenda: NY2008 countdown party & pot-luck dinner.
Gift-Exchange: for kids, mummies & daddies (draw lots)
1) Elmo & Summer & Daniel & family
2) Angi & Seth [cake & disposables stuff]
3) abcdisney n abc (agar agar)
4) cheri, Johnny, N & helper (chicken curry & french loaf)
5) Cg, hb n Sha
6) Pebbles n C n hb (tbc)
7) Lovethat & hubby & rugrat (tbc)
8) Esther , hubby, randal & helper
9)
10)
11)
12)

Cutie
It is similiar. I shld be getting the sample from the OSIM supllier hopefully on Fri. I can show u after i gotten it. She will be leaving it with me till jan...

C has a strong pref using her left hand.. so she might be left handed? What are the right brain activities to stimulate her?? haha so far only flash cards to her and surprisingly she does pay attention to it. Prob cus she attends bjg.

Agenda:
1) abcdisney n abc
2) cutiemax n zy
3) CG & Sha
5)
6)
7)
8)

abc,

YB,
I thought of this qn. I beleive we will still be employable in SG market. However, we may not be able to go back to our core industry due to lack of touch. Jobs that are available will be further from our dream career, with lower pay cheq and position.

End of the day, there is trade off in watever actions we do. We lose some, we gain some. The almost perfect examples we heard from papers/Tv programmes are only 1 side of the story. People tend to present the best on screen. We may never know the exact family vs career relationship. Life is a long journey for one to truly know if it is meaningful and worthwhile. Some may have a headstart but it doesn't guarantee happiness nor smooth career in the end of the road.

hmm...seem to talk too much. just how i feel.....

Dream career... seems impossible for me.
My ambition was to be a lawyer. But my father kept discouraging me, negative comments about being a lawyer
"Lawyers in SG not making much money..... "

Life is a long journey. Do enjoy today as much as you could, as tomorrow will have its problems too.

Below are some items for your info (if cannot post let me knw which u r interested i reserve for u)

Below are the items:
1. California baby bubble bath, fragrance free super sensitive 13 oz - US$10.19
a)

2. Burt's bees baby bee, pint-sized buttermilk bath soak, 9 oz - US$15.99
a)

3. California Baby swimmer's defense Shampoo bodywash, 8.5 oz - US$9.99
a)
b)

4. Oral B Stages Baby tooth and Gum cleaner, 2.2 US$3.49 oz
a)
b)
c)
d)
e)

5. Johnson's Softwash Melt Awat stress 24 hour Moisturising, 20.3 oz - US$5.99
a)

6. MAM Pacifer Keeper
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=85291&catid=48847
US$4.79
a)

7. MAM Crystal Orthodontic Pacififer, 2 pcs per pack (for 6 mth onwards)- US$5.99
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=85292&catid=48847
a)

8. Playtex OrthoPro Silicone Older Baby Pacifer 2 pcs per pack (3 mth onwards)- US$3.59
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=165501&catid=48847
a)

9. Gerber Orthodontic Pacififers, Fashion Colours, Size 3, 18 mth and older - 2 pcs per pack - US$3.82
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=54961&catid=48847
a)

10. Gerber NUK Orthodontic Silicone Pacififers, Fashion Colour - 6 - 18 mth (2 pcs per pack) - US$4.82
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=55091&catid=96599
a)

11. Avent Silicone Pacifer, 3-6 mth 2 pcs per pack - US$4.99
a)

12. Avent Silicone Pacifer, 6- 18 mth, 2 pcs per pack - US$4.99
a)

13. Desitin Diaper Rash Ointment (purple) 4 oz - US$4.69
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=10751&catid=26911
a)
b)
c)

14. Preparation H Hemoreehoidal Cream, Maximum Strength Pain, 0.9 oz - US$6.49
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=95090&catid=102
a)

15. Cetaphil Daily Facial Cleanser, Normal to Oily Skin , 8 oz - US$6.99
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=67655&catid=21222
a)

16. Hyland's Homeopathic Bug Bite Ointment, 0.26 oz - US$6.99
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=87869&catid=10539
a)

17. Desitin Diaper Rash Ointment, Creamy, Fresh Scent (Blue), 4 oz - US$4.69
a)
b)
c)
d)
e)
f)

18. Canus Li'l Goat's Milk 40% Zinc Oxide Ointment, 10 oz - US$6.19
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=94725&catid=26911
a)

19. Mustela Stelatopia, Non- rinsing water, fragrance-free 13.5 oz - US$16.99
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=170555&catid=27029
a)

Pls cut and paste the whole order list so as to keep the thread neat and tidy.

abc
can reserve one tube desitin fresh scent for me? together with everything else.
sorry couldnt meet you today coz went to zoo early this morning w CY

1. California baby bubble bath, fragrance free super sensitive 13 oz - US$10.19
a)

2. Burt's bees baby bee, pint-sized buttermilk bath soak, 9 oz - US$15.99
a)

3. California Baby swimmer's defense Shampoo bodywash, 8.5 oz - US$9.99
a)
b)

4. Oral B Stages Baby tooth and Gum cleaner, 2.2 US$3.49 oz
a)
b)
c)
d)
e)

5. Johnson's Softwash Melt Awat stress 24 hour Moisturising, 20.3 oz - US$5.99
a)

6. MAM Pacifer Keeper
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=85291&catid=48847
US$4.79
a)

7. MAM Crystal Orthodontic Pacififer, 2 pcs per pack (for 6 mth onwards)- US$5.99
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=85292&catid=48847
a)

8. Playtex OrthoPro Silicone Older Baby Pacifer 2 pcs per pack (3 mth onwards)- US$3.59
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=165501&catid=48847
a)

9. Gerber Orthodontic Pacififers, Fashion Colours, Size 3, 18 mth and older - 2 pcs per pack - US$3.82
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=54961&catid=48847
a)

10. Gerber NUK Orthodontic Silicone Pacififers, Fashion Colour - 6 - 18 mth (2 pcs per pack) - US$4.82
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=55091&catid=96599
a)

11. Avent Silicone Pacifer, 3-6 mth 2 pcs per pack - US$4.99
a)

12. Avent Silicone Pacifer, 6- 18 mth, 2 pcs per pack - US$4.99
a)

13. Desitin Diaper Rash Ointment (purple) 4 oz - US$4.69
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=10751&catid=26911
a)
b)
c)

14. Preparation H Hemoreehoidal Cream, Maximum Strength Pain, 0.9 oz - US$6.49
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=95090&catid=102
a)

15. Cetaphil Daily Facial Cleanser, Normal to Oily Skin , 8 oz - US$6.99
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=67655&catid=21222
a)

16. Hyland's Homeopathic Bug Bite Ointment, 0.26 oz - US$6.99
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=87869&catid=10539
a)

17. Desitin Diaper Rash Ointment, Creamy, Fresh Scent (Blue), 4 oz - US$4.69
a) lilboymum
b)
c)
d)
e)
f)

18. Canus Li'l Goat's Milk 40% Zinc Oxide Ointment, 10 oz - US$6.19
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=94725&catid=26911
a)

19. Mustela Stelatopia, Non- rinsing water, fragrance-free 13.5 oz - US$16.99
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=170555&catid=27029
a)
regarding zoo...
they are constructing a new children play ground cum water play area cum theme whatever...in the children'z zoo leh...so exciting!!!

CY loves lions...kept doing the lion roar...

CG,
The thing is I'm still unclear abt wat I REALLY want lor. I'm CRAVING for personal &amp; financial freedom but at the same time, I hate the fact that I'm leaving my gal to others.

Although I also like Kay to be more independent &amp; learn to socialise more, but I'm thinking mayb there're other ways than sending to CC?

Financial-wise, I hope to bring $$ home so dun have to think twice abt spending &amp; at the same plan for Kay's future.

So do u intend to go back to work in future when Sha is bigger? Like mayb when she's 2-3yrs old?

Cutie,
I'm also thinking if I can go back to the same line after being SAHM for so long...eversince I was preggie. If I find a job in a diff line wif a lower pay, then it doesn't really justify the time &amp; sacrifices I have to spend away from my Kay lor. Sigh..

YB, i second u but not like i earn alot but i pref e spending power &amp; freedom! hahahha....

i'll wanna drop him off 2 ccc but not sure if he'll cope or rather if e teachers can cope! hahaha...

YB,

In years to come, I would go back to workforce. Though with lower pay and diff job, I would still go back. But the focus is no longer on career prospect, rather a job that allows me to get back to work society. Only with lower pay, I could expect less job commitments and shorter working hours. This way, I can hope to guide and be with my children when they need me.

As our children get older, they would need less of us and more of their friends and the new world. To me, I guess children as they grow up, they like the presence of their parents but enjoy going out with their freinds more.

YB,
I believe there are other ways of learning independent and improve their social skills. However, the effectiveness would very much depend on the committment of the caregiver.

What CC does is no secrets. It just provide opportunities for our children to mingle, learn abit of artwork, listen to stories and with lots of toys to play. Such environment can be replicated in any informal playgroup. Or paying a fee to a centre providing such service. Whether it is JG, GUG , Gymboree, My Gym or whatever, they provide similar services like CC but is carried out in different manner.

i can understand the dilemma you all face...i think many mums go through that...i feel that i am lucky in that i usually get to work from home and can spend most of my time with my girl but now that she turns 2, i actually start to put her in half day child care, not bcos i don't have the time to take care of her but now that she is older, she can benefit so much more from the interaction with other kids and teacher in school. i agree with Cutie that eventually our kids will need us in a different way and will want to spend more time doing their own thing and spend time with their own friends....for us mummies too, we will want to move on to a different phase of our lives
so cherish whatever time you have now and it's never too late to rejoin the workforce! one can always develop other skills and i can say that compared to my 20s (i'm in my early 30s), I'm so much better at dealing with certain situations! So i don't think mummies rejoining workforce will definitely get lower pay if we can contribute more in other areas.

hi elmo
welcome back, had fun there? Bought any things from HK? Got go buy their seafood ? they are good for that. slightly cheaper n good quality

YB
In years to come, I would go back to workforce too. Maybe when till no. 2 is around 3-4yrs old.
Planning to have no.2 mid of next yr.
Are you planning for no.2 soon?
One of my gf just quit her job. She cannot concentrate in her work especially if her son was sick, and had been busy at work,
by the time she arrived home, spent less than 1 hr, then her son's bedtime.

I suppose lower pay means less committment, if not how to leave office by 6pm with tons of work to do/follow-up? Hee hee!

Elmo
Welcome back!
How was S? Easy to manage her in HK?

esther
Thanks! Gotttttt buy stuff...hee :p! As for seafood, we only took on the last day as didn't want to risk the holiday for that. Ate alot of their famous goose though. We only went to The Peak to take super duper nice seafood platter the last day...very fresh...and of course super duper pricing also! We bought alot of dried oysters, mushrooms, cookies...

Garfield
Thanks gal! So now you are free from school? Can meet us more often liao?

CG
Thank you! S was suprisingly easy on the trip. She slept alot dued to cool weather. Also no problem with taking plane n food...thank goodness
She enjoyed Disneyland

CG
Ya was pretty surprised that she was so easy to handle...was kind of worry before the trip. Am leaving for msia again 2nd Jan next yr...without hb...so not yet "made in..." hahhah!

elmo..
hihi...welcome back...

Hope CY will be easy to handle when i go taiwan. he's getting quite a handful these few days when im out with him

abc ah...
you still online or not? can you sms me your number? i have two abc in my mobile,
...sorry...

CY
I think kids easily adapt to the new environment?! One thing I've learnt is not to be too particular then everything will be going ur way. I was pretty easy on S's food &amp; naps...then it went just fine. The more we try to control the more you will be disappointed.

welcome back elmo!!! we missed u!!!
scarly ur #2 made in HKG? hahhahaa...
it was a silent week here... all bz w/xmas?
am so looking fwd 2e party next week!

chin chye n summer would be kuai kuai hehehe...

yoyoyo angi
thanks *muacks!...erm, quite unlikely to have #2 made in Hkg..kekeke...cos both of us spent all of our energy on shopping n walking n eating...hahahah! Yupe, got to be chin chai then she guai guai...if too particular or pay too much attention to her then she got very dramatic :p

Yes I am so looking forward to the party too....more ppl more ppl leh!!!!!!!!! So it's on for gift exchange (1) bbs/tots (2) mummies (3) daddies. Will let you knw once the bb's gift buying list is ready(which bb u r going to buy the gift for).
As for mummies n daddies will be free n easy on buying pressy but again limit to $10? If any of u got suggestion or disagreement pls do let me knw otherwise I will go ahead.

CG,
Nope. I wanna stop at #1. Cos already feel so drained with #1.

Elmo,
Welcome back! I also just came back from Genting &amp; Kay also slept alot due to the cold weather. Avg temp there was abt 16degree.

abc
hw r u doing?

Year end party
Allow me to draw lot for all of the 8 bbs/tods? (will write names on paper n draw accordingly)then I will let you all knw individually to preserve a little surprise?

elmo
No problem... Me very tiring... doing packing for my #2.

CG
ask u har for yr Graco EDT for infant u think still nd head support? Cos liek maclaren infant with head support is steadier.. what abt yr graco?

abc
Hope you rest more!
Personally I don't really like Maclaren as it's really heavy. Went holiday with my hb's gd friend n they travel with one. They were struggling with their Maclaren Quest n swearing to buy another brand that is lighter n more friendly one when got back to Sin. Also it's not much cushioning &amp; no front bar which I think it's good to have one. Just my 2cents worth

C, hb and I were down with stomach flu for few days and it was torturing to take care of a sick child when both of us were so sick. Brought her to my mil's place for her to take care for a day, but my mil oso kenna the deadly virus. But glad that c has managed to shed off some fats....keke. It happened on Sunday night that she moved from her bed to ours and planted a big big bomb (watery poo) on our bed at 1am. Her whole face was covered with the poos and it was real messy. We were in the living room at that time. Hb had to go to the convenience store to get Fabreeze after cleaning up but to no avail. NExt day, he told me, now it is a good chance for us to grab that rainbow vacuum cleaner. He was bought over by the demo of the vacuum cleaner on Tues and bought it right away. Pretty good to invest in it. House is definately squeakly clean and it is so versatile to use on many areas. I hate to clean furniture with cloth and water( even using those 3m cloth), probably lack of skill or whatever. But the machine makes it effortless, without having to move my lazy bones to change water, etc.

Today we has just started on dinner tingkat from this caterer and it sucks. No green/orange veggies but hard melons....hiaz...will probably try out kim's cuisine....any good recommendation for tingkat? We only need 2-3 times a week and some caterers are flexible with unlimited cancellation.

Hi elmo
Glad that the trip went well.
My hb will not be joining the gathering....year end now so he has to fight till the end....keke.

pebbles
oh dear, I'm so sorry to hear about stomach flu on all 3 of u!!! How come she got watery poo out of the sudden? Poor C, hope she is fine now. It must be a nightmare that few days!!! Hope everything is over!
Ok then, I will list out ur hb.
Yes thanks the trip went really well n now me n my hb so gian to go for trips again...

Elmo
I had bought small Xmas presents for all bbs. Hee hee!
True, during my 3D2N stay at Changi Village, Sha behaved so well. I was not so particular about what she eats.
Most of the time, she just had rice w vege/tofu, bought from outside. Or had breakfast/dinner buffet with us.

Abcdisney
My Graco included head support too. Depending if you want to use.