A fresh new thread to locate SAHM of yr2006?

cheri

recently my bro oso caught hfmd..my pd advise to wait at least 1 weeks after he recover fully b4 i can go back to the house coz kids contract it v easily...

FYI....JG forum has a chinese books fair....saw some levelled chinese books for our tots. 10 pax $39.50.

book fair ends this friday, 23rd Jan.

thinking of buying the levelled chinese books but will make a trip to bras basah tomm in case i can get it cheap...:eek:P

Cat,
went to few English book stores in forum...WOW so expensive. The munching crunching caterpillar is $30 for a pop out book.....mine with DVD is only $7.

We will be bring C for her first trip to Genting and KL, with my pils too
We wrestled with thoughts for some time and finally decided to take a flight to KL to cut down traveling time in coach. I booked online 2 nights @ Resort hotel and going to book Berjaya Time Square Hotel for a brooklyn suite with 2 bedrooms @ a good deal ( compared to SG lah) per night and best of all, it has a mini theme park in it

http://www.fnetravel.com/english/kualalumpurhotels/berjaya-times-square.html
Kinda regretted booking the air tickets for 3 days, should have extended 1-2 more days to enjoy KL.

Cheri

When my mum called me the next day after C's celebration that my nephew caught hfmd, hb came home immediately to sanitise, hoping that C would not catch the virus but it was too late or maybe the cleaning was not thorough enough. My mum could also have caught the virus with no symptoms and passed to C cos she carried her lots tat day.
I have this natural home cleanser good for sanitising @ home so hb used it to clean. Yah, very very shiong for hours cos so many toys and books around.

People who are infected with HFMD are most contagious during the first week of the illness and the virus can remain in the their bodies for weeks even if their symptoms gradually diminish. So they are still capable to pass to others at this point. We adults sometimes may have no symptoms even if catch it, but may pass to others. How scary ya?

Cheri
Did you DIY your genting trip tat time? Me always diy cos prefer to plan my own itinery. Which room did you choose for Resort last time? I thought of styaing at first world world club but thought rooms are newer in resort hotel so hope to book super deluxe @ resort hotel. But cannot book it online at genting website so i am trying my luck @ another website.

Haven't seen N for some time but think she should be slimmer after the hfmd's episodes ya? But N is just nice ley, not too thin or plump.

LOL, the staff are funny to call you haha! I will definitely respond, " Excuse me ( clearly), I am that child's mummy!" How did they respond when you told them?

CY
Ya, zy is skinnier than C hoh. My mil is the type who feeds and feeds so all her 3 children not the slim types haha.

Cheri
What a shocking news! It happened to fast. You were just telling me that she was active and playing on last Sunday. N will recover very soon and her body immune system will be even better! Poor you, must have sleepless nights. Do take care.
Aiyoh...so funny! Is the music school right? Must knock their head!

Cutie
What kind of levelled chinese books? Do you remember any of the titles?

Pebbles, Cheri
Yes, a mummy fren of mine caught it too when the daughter had hfmd. So, Cheri, you must take care too!
It's been ages since I last visited Genting. Think the last time was when me and hb were still on courtship! It's very easy to just take a bus to Genting from KL. You can easily do it at Puduraya bus station. Pils? You're not well?? Which airline are you taking? Wow, this Berjaya Time Square hotel certainly looks good! I like the location, so near Bukit Bintang! Happy shopping!

yfuang,
from pan asia publishlings. i checked with popular but they dun carry this brand.

for the levelled chinese books( age 0 to 4), some of the titles are as follows, pls translate into chinese:

1) front and back
2) know, dun know
3) who is slow
4) who is tall
5) more, less
6)good, very good
7) where are you
8)who is the fastest
9) colour
10) forgot the title

i was at the second bookstore with cheri and saw other titles( for age 5) under the same publisher. i got it for only 50cents(before less 30%) per book.

so this time, i want to check out the second book store again before i decide to buy brand new ones.

the last day of the book fair is this fri but i am only gg forum today and tomm so need to make a special trip to bras basah fast...hee hee.

now i am into buying 2 types of books. one is for zy to learn to read herself and other is for me to read to her.....

hfmd
think the hfmd is back?coz i know quite a few adults this time getting it.think better be careful...

eczema
think it is confirmed cy will have eczema oredi. the malcca hotel we stayed in was quite dusty, cy came back with running nose (his rhinitis) and worse rashes all over. i was woried if it is hfmd, until reassured by hb that it's 'simple case of eczema'. his skin is all blotchy now, like my hb's
pathces on the underside ofarms etc....sick sick sick...

cy
yah tats y jus now i so hesitant to bring them to the pd cos cay likes to play w the toys there n i scared he'll catch the hfmd... but bo bian gotta go

u n hb both hv eczema? i hv it since young so wont be surprised if both kiddos oso hv it

Lin
o dear...poor cay poor kate...what happ?flu?

yes both of us have eczema and rhinitis and i was asthmatic when young...lethal combi

CY, CG
sigh the virus jus kept getting passed round and round... think kate prolly caught it fr cay... but then kate was the one w running nose first and passed it to cay...
anyway ytd news reported flu cases up by 40% right!
but my worst fear is still hfmd!

CY
aiyo... poor cy... eczema can itch until quite xinku...

angeline
1 week cannot go to ur bro's house after he recovers? so cannot meet him oso during that period? now we're hesitant abt cny visitations esp to my great grandma's place where there r many young babies & tots of N's age...we will probably bring her to the doc on this sat to confirm that she's clear.

lin
is it a prevalent hfmd outbreak now or it's just isolated cases? hope kate & cay recovers fast! is it his first attack of hives? due to wat?

cy & lin
i rem pebs mentioned b4 that her fren/sis' child's eczema improved immensely after using the rainbow cleaner. maybe u can check that out if u hv not.

cutie
heheeh ur 2 types of books kinda covers all books leh...happy shopping!

wat brand is that levelled reader u got from the 2nd hand book store? u got other chinese books that day besides liang2? wat series is that?

yf
Thank God N's much better today but her ulcers still hurt. She ate one big bowl of porridge & half a cup of jelly for lunch today. Was joking wif my hb that we've been feeding her regularly wif all kinds of stuff that i think now, she's eating a lot considering she has hfmd. Maybe other kids lose wt, she'll put on leh...each day now she still drinks abt 400+ ml of fresh milk.

I try to wash my hands regularly but i think it's quite easy for the main caregiver to get hfmd cos we spend so much time looking after them. Esp since N drools cos she can't close her mouth at times (painful) & i help her to wipe her drool. So been trying to sleep more myself when she's sleeping so that hopefully, wif better immunity, i wun catch it.

pebbles
diy genting? no, we took the luxury coach bus from 5 stars travels. Quite hassle free actually cos once u r in Genting, it's f&e anyway. Honestly taking plane to KL comes to abt the same amt of travelling time when u add up the time to arrive earlier at airport & from KL airport to genting/kl city etc. Hb did a calculation b4. Driving is good provided u wanna explore other places like kl etc besides genting.

must get the family pass to both the indoor & outdoor playgrounds in Genting...N had so much fun then! She actually told me after we got back that she preferred Genting to Disneyland America hahhaah

how did the staff respond? she told me that the recept who picked up my call in the morning din quite get the full message, that i hung up b4 she could ask me further details. But i distinctly rem i hung up only after i gave her N's name, date, time & type of class, teacher's name. She even told me that she will inform the teacher asap. Even thanked me for informing them. Iya, but i dun see point in arguing further wif her, i'm more concerned abt my child getting well now honestly, hv done my part in informing the sch. According to my pd, they only need to note down the sch they regularly attend eg. cc...when i asked them if they want the enrichment sch, they said not necessary. So enrichment centres r definitely a loophole in the system considering so many kids attend enrichment prog now.

Cheri
Me used to be a regular in Genting and KL hehehe. We used to drive up there but with pils around, no space in the car. Yes, the travelling time is almost the same, but I want to cut down travelling time in coach
Hb is planning for disney land to US when she is about 5-6 years old. Hmm, yes, must go check out amusement park there to see if it is better than disney for the tots.

Lin/CY
My sis and hb are also those very skeptical type when it comes to throwing big bucks to machines like Rainbow. My sis even said she would just see the demo at her house and not invest! Who knows she was bought over immediately after the demo. My nephew's eczema was very bad for some time and my mum had to wash with his legs with herbs cos those medicine the doc gave did not help much. Suspected it could be due to the bed and sofa in their house and they are fabrics type. Now, I am glad his condition is almost zilch!

I think the machine is excellent cos it saves lotsa my time to clean the house. The dust on furniture is picked up swiftly, instead of using cloth and water all the time.

I am not selling rainbow hoh.

YF
My mil has always wanted to go Genting cos she has never been there before. With them around to take of C is quite a pleasing idea too hiak hiak. They are very nice folks who help me take care of C twice weekly so that i can have time myself to shop or etc. We are taking airasia since it is just a 45 min flight. Then I book for a private skyvan from LCCT at RM350 to ferry us up the hill. Wanted to go HK's disney actually but I want to go casino keke. Me like to play big small and roulette there, for fun only, not compulsive gambler
The last few trips I went few years ago, won few thousands RM. Hb does not like to gamble so he would park himself at a cafe and read his books

pebbles
we hope to go Florida Disneyland when she's much older. Heard that's the best! But the thought of the long plane journey makes me sian half hhaha

so nice to hv ur mil jaga C. Too bad my ger too sticky to us so even though my parents came along, we had lil lone time still. hb & i do not go casinos so genting is pretty boring for us actually. shopping is not cheap there so not an attraction oso. But seeing how N enjoys Genting so much & it being near to SG, we might visit more frequently heheh

my helper oso used to dust wif wet & dry cloth but now uses the rainbow. honestly, we hv not seen big diff but our only hope is that it helps N's bleeding to b less frequent & not as serious each time it happens. Just rec'd the dvd from them on the set of pots actually...hb's watching it as he will need to explain to my helper how to use & wat to cook etc. Kitchen's not my domain hahaha

Lin
Hives? Does Cay scratch a lot?

CY
You can get the jin ying hua herns from medical hall to wash the eczema area or body and quite effective.

Cutie
It is really a joy to have a collection of books. I like the smell of new books. C is always scared others will take her books away. Everytime I take out some items, she will say, " Are you going to sell them away to auntie again?" ( cos she witnessed poeple come to my place to buy some stuff many times.)

Cheri
Yes, hb was working in the states last time and said florida is a nice place with universal studios, disneylands, etc. Ya, the long haul is scary so we better to go when she is older so that we can spend longer period there.

In fact C hangs around well with fil and mil so I can peacefully have my own time.

Cheri, Pebbles
yah the itch was quite bad... esp his scalp! pd said the hives cld be due to many factors... allergic reaction to certain food, dust, his viral fever... and said tat cos i myself had it a few times so my kids will oso be prone to it cos it runs in the family... like eczema... aiyo all the bad stuff fr me... hb problem free... except for the fact tat he's short lah

rainbow... hmm sounds gd ya... but hb is those super duper skeptical kind... to him all these stuff like special vacuum cleaner, slimming belts, magnetic bracelets all r bullshit to him lor

Cheri
really envy N's gd appetite even when she's unwell.. at least u hv one less thing to worry abt

wah ur set of pots still comes w dvd ah?? hehe im jus like u... kitchen is hb's tian xia... i only step into it to get food!

Pebbles
wow few thousands RM v gd leh!! i've nvr been to a casino... pathetic hor... will definitely go visit one the next time i go genting!

Lin
My hb is also those very super duper skeptical kind but since it helps him to cut down on housework ( no maid mah), clean mattresses, etc, why not ya. Oh C has mild eczema too and nowadays she stops scratching tat much liao. Oh dear, seems like skin problems are pretty common liao. Me always gamble big amt..keke...sometimes happy happy just put rm 500 each time. Oh I hate jackpots, think it is a waste of time for myself.

abc/yf,
didn't get any chinese books at the second hand bookstore...only 3 ridby books. went to popular and got more storybooks and tang poems CD with book.

pebbles,
hee hee now i am really into books esp chinese ones since it's very expensive ( $4plus compared to only $2plus in SG). the first few trips to popular were exciting cos so many new things. the WOW feeling is diminishing cos today is my 4th trip within 2 weeks.

hopefully, there are new books after CNY.

Hahaha C really said that...hee hee me also one of the auntie that buy books from her mummy.

lin,
wat is hives?

hope your sick tots get well SOON!

cheri/pebbles/CG/lin/abc
like CDs with storytelling? i have got 5 nice ones.......can "share" in our next indoor playdate.

1) The very lazy ladybird
2) Quiet
3) The very noisy night
4) Fidgety fish
5) The Crunching Munching caterpillar

i love the " The very lazy ladybird" best...really nice!

i bought $35 for 5 storybooks with CDs. been playing them while travelling in the car. it gives me some time off during car drive.With the storytelling CDs, she sits there nicely to listen to stories.

Pebbles
wow u're really big player ya

Cutie
hives is wat they call 'feng1 mo4' in chinese... a kind of rash
ooh tats really nice... wld love tat at the next playdate

hvnt tried these cds w cay yet... played the nursery rhymes cd when he was younger but he din seem v interested cos only talk no catchy music but now hes older hope he'll appreciate it more

lin
lol at ur hb's bad genes = height department. the things we talk abt our hbs in this forum hahahah

cutie
i had one song cum story cd from cat long ago...N din quite like the stories then as they were quite long...now u remind me, will go & look for it again to see if she likes it better now.

there's actually a chinese bookstore called maha yuyi at bras basah, 3rd level...lots of choices but books r not that cheap though.

lin/cheri,
me only started storybook CD with zy not long ago, about 1-2mth back only. now she is more expressive, she likes it better. can let your tots listen to see if they like...

cheri,
thanks, will check out the books...

Cutie
I saved all the audio stories into my SD card and let C listen @ home on the CD player so that I dun have to keep changing cd. Lazy mummy here. Mostly fairytales. Have not read the very lazy ladybird but the title of the story sounds fasinating!

Last year I bought the whole set of fairytales audio/vcd/books ( Eng/Mandarin/Cantonese) from ST edu. VCD so-so only but cannot hiam too much. Around $300 or less for 24 stories.

Popular's range for chinese books are usually about the same. Not many series for levelled reading. Think Pelangi series are more appealing to a boring person like me so i bought about 100 titles. What chinese books did you get?

Something which made me laugh

i was sitting down on the floor when C came to me, looking intently at one of my eyebrows. then she used her finger to touch, saying,

"Oh dear! What's happening? It's orange!!! You are a tiGGGGGGGer!!!!"

It took me a while to understand what she was trying to say. Then I got what she meant. My eyebrown embriodery is fading and it looks orange. And some tigers have stripes and they are orange-colored.

HEr newest hero, Obama. She used to talk about Selemat, saying that Selemat is naughty or when she sees trees / forest, she will say Selamat is inside.
http://s482.photobucket.com/albums/rr182/chanzboo/?action=view&current=obamavsselamat.flv

C's singing Little Teapot

http://s482.photobucket.com/albums/rr182/chanzboo/?action=view&current=SingingLittleteapot01.flv

i think arielene is more visual person. She prefer books to CDs... bought some CDs cum storybook stuff for her (in both chinese n eng) but she only wan us to read the books...

Date: 23 jan 09 (fri)
time: 1030am
Venue: fidget @ turf city

Interested
1. Cutie n kj n zy
2. Abcdisney n ABCs
3. CG n Sha (might bring a friend to join us)
4. lilboymum n CY n CH
5. Angelin n G n C

Pebbles
Remember to bring C to Cosmo's World Indoor Theme Park at Berjaya Times Square to have some fun too! Btw, it opens at 12pm, you may want to go early to grab the tickets (can be quite long q) For eyebrown embriodery, you can go to the one located at Bishan, very good feedback.

YY
The maid's work permit just approved this morning. Later the maid agency will bring her to my place. Praying she would be a good one.

Cutie
So far, she only enjoys listening to my pastor's CD sermons haha!

Pebbles
The videos are sosososos CUTE! Unfortuntately each time when I want to record her cute actions, then she immediately stops, hence cannot create any video clip at all to show her papa

ABC
I'm interested to work from home. Information searching is what I'm looking for. No traveling. No meeting. Your mum has lobang on that?? At which library she's working?
Can't join you in Fidget. Need to pick FX up fr school by 12.30pm. Have fun!

Cutie
You're referring to this chinese storybook series?
http://www.shop.panasiabooks.com/index.php?cPath=5&osCsid=8ccf1c0772c72c23e9f8041f37683f68

Pebbles
Aiyah...PIL stands for Parents-in-law ah! I thot pills...how silly...
I always have no luck with those gambling machines, so hardly play. Enjoy seeing ppl playing though

Sounds good to rent a van from LCCT huh? So convenient. Never knew abt this service. That shows how long I've never been to KL!
Hey, I always download popular songs for myself, but never thot of doing it for the children! Thanks for the idea!

re Disneyland
Hb and I were just talking abt bringing the kids to Shanghai Disneyland. But we can only do it in 2012

CY, Lin
Oh dear...eczema...hives...think I shouldn't complain so much abt FM's pimples on his face. Hope they will recover in time for CNY.

Pebbles
I always enjoy seeing the videos of our kids!
C's trying so hard to stuff the wallet into the little bag, while still being able to converse with you!
Why is it that the teapot pours over the little trolley?? Hahaha...

Pebbles
keke C is so funny leh
aiyo so young alr know whos obama and selemat ah!!

CG, Pebbles
the one at Bishan must book way in advance one right? btw any feedback on creative eyebrow technique?? there was a review on it in 8days and fr the pic i tot the eyebrows look really natural... but damange is ard $800-$1200

yfuang
u tried applying abit of ur bm on the pimples? tat time kate face oso pimply so pd gave zaricort cream and result was quite immediate

cheri

ya..thats what the pd says..my bro so big liao adult still can catch it.he say it should be when he went swimming then he gena..coz adult still can 'stand' the virus but bb will catch it easily..so i didnt go back for 1 week to visit my mum..now hes fine liao..tink u better check with pd n c wat he says..

pebbles

C s big liao..haha..her singing v cute..how come she know obama?been watching obama news on tv?keke..

pebbles
C very cute and clever!

HFMD
yes adult can get it too...

Cheri
Hope N is much better now.

yf
the website is SGP website? then it is selling cheaper than JG right? Can jus order from them?

Lin
I did mine at Bishan.
5 of my girlfriends also went to the same therapist.
Yes, have to make at least 2mths in advance. 1st time is $150 with one time free touch up, then every 6mths - 1yr touch up is $30.
For upper eyeliner is $120 with one time free touch up.

What time would you be leaving? Would you be having lunch there as well?
Btw, REMEMBER TO BRING ADULTS AND CHILDREN' SOCKS ALONG
Date: 23 jan 09 (fri)
time: 1030am
Venue: fidget @ turf city

Interested
1. Cutie n kj n zy
2. Abcdisney n ABCs
3. CG n Sha (might bring a friend to join us)
4. lilboymum n CY n CH
5. Angelin n G n C

MUmmies,
hope to see some of ya clips in actions too hehe. I like to watch them too. C is always singing at home, even for daily things, so very easy for me to catch her with cam.

Selamat pics are everywhere, so last time i pointed to her that he has escaped. When I saw police hunting near trees, i told her they are hunting for him so she always says he is hiding inside the forest.

Obama? I pointed the pics n on tv when i read papers or news at times. So she knows he is the 44th president in US.

At her stage, my friends were commenting she talks like 4 years old now. We talk everyday and she speaks in long sentences, and usually grammatically correct. I am also surprised that when she do her reading, she will stress the last letter sounds, not all tods do that seriously
. Like caT, doG, biG, birD, etc. she will correct us, "not big bird, it's biG birD."

Nowadays it is not easy to answer her daunting questions. She will ask tough questions like,
What is inside my stomach?
What is inside my teeth?
What is downstairs? (when she is sitting on the floor)
Guess some mummies have been hearing such questions ya haha.

Lin,, cheri, cg
i am on the way to bishan to do my creative eyebrown now! took me about 6 mths to get appointment! My sis did hers last time, not bad. But the one who created embroidery is stationed at the spa i always go at Comfort Space( formerlly Andana) @ Paragon and it costs at least 800! Both masters there taught many beauticians in SG. They are better but rather ex. I dii my embroidery a decade ago at JY and it was a horrible experience!!!!!!! Pain, very very very pain, imagine using a sharp needle to poke non-stop for one hour! That time the advertisement for JY stated painless, craps. My threeshold for pain is high.

But technique is more advanced now, they use strokes to look like fine strands of hair.

Pebbles
lucky C! credit must go to u for her proper speech

cay v jiatlat cos mommy always use singlish... i mean i do try to speak to him in proper english but sometimes tend to forget

Pebbles, CG
oh u gg to the same one mentioned by CG?? how much r they charging for creative eyebrow?? i oso wan to do cos i did mine like almost a decade ago... now fade until almost no more. yes i prefer those tat resemble fine strands of hair. hehe possible to post pic of ur eyebrows for me to see?? or email me oso can

lin
I oso speak singlish ley, singaporean ma. 150 only. Cheap right? I paid 400 a decade ago. I realised ya eyebrown colour oso like mine now, a bit orange red ya? the bishan one is very popular, u should book asap cos waiting time is a few mths.

Pebbles
ooh ya 150 for creative is cheap!
hehe yah lor... mine oso red now... kena teased by hb everytime!
can gimme the contact?? thanks

pebs. lin
eh, cy very bad in pronunciation. haha. and his tenses?past tense means every sentence add 'already'. "zhiyu eat already", "zhiyu drinking now, zhiyu bathe already"

i realise cy seems to be rather visual/spatial guy.i bought the mighty minds tangram for him. eh, tried the first few exercises with him and he refuse to use the template at all. i told him give mummy a diamond with these triangles, and he will just piece a diamond without using the template. waste my money

but he is not linguistic at all
...most likely take after daddy

pebbles

u have taught C well..for me,celest go childcare n when she came back will be bz settling them for dnr,wash up ,etc...usually only have time to read 1 or 2 books with her only..haiz..feel guilty everytime...

salon 1

anybody go there for facial? i sometime go there for facial..last time b4 they renovate n do big,used to be amy who do for me..now its her sis joanne..