Hi EC

Wish you lotsa baby luck!
I am considering IUI as well but not very sure what is the process like. Can share with me your experience and what is the price like?

Chole,
For mine, they did a blood test & took HSG (xray) and take SA from my HB. so guess this are the basic checks. N also did a ultra scan to check on the womb.
I cannot remember wat else I did... hahaha..

Stoney: I think I had abit much caffeine this cycle, so resulted bad boob tenderness... they swell so much that my upper back hurts... but bo bian lei, the crave for coke is so strong!! Other than that I'm pretty still the same I guess...

Well, I guess whichever gynae my family doc suggest I'll heed his advice ba....

Keira,
keke... got like tat de ar. my lower back pain. sianz, dun knw y...seems like the metformin taste on my tongue. super sianz....

haha. mayb ur GP got recommended gynae. but if dun hv then u hv to find one urself....

Stoney: ya.. did abit of read up in Google.. caffeine gives bad pms symptoms of breasts tenderness... super sianzzz...

Will go see my family doc, he recommended my physiotherapist when I got whiplash injury that time... n he knew the professor in NUH who operated on my bro slip disc operation... I suppose he will know a couple of gynae ba... is hard to select a gynae based on referral n reviews lo... so many to choose!!!

Keira,
Oic.... dun sianz, i also sianz.

haha... true. too many gynae out there. so not easy to choose 1. if refer by ur family doc, shld b trustworthy. keke...

Strawberries, my gynae said do twice higher chance of success...

Pinjie, first, you will need to take clomid for 5 days starting from 2nd day of your menstrual cycle. Then your gynae will see u on day 12-14 (depending on length of your cycle; mine was day 14). He will measure your follicles. If size is around 18-20 mm, he will then ask u to go for the IUI. On day of IUI, hubby has to go to fertility clinic to extract his "little commandos" through masturbation. They are cleaned and the good ones are chosen. The process of cleaning takes about 2 hrs. You will then need to bring the "chosen ones" back to your gynae for him to insert directly into your uterus. The whole insertion takes just one minute and you need to lie there for another 15-20 mins and you can go home.

Thanks for the baby dust and luck... =)

patch3s
so which day of ur cycle u went bk for IUI?? not on the same day??

u same as me . took clomid for 5days fr CD2. then my gynae also check on me between CD12-14. haha.. tink is common period of time for checking.. but then i still trying naturally...

Hi Patch3s

Thanks for sharing! Is the process painful? My gynae mentioned that there will be a injection after menses or so before the IUI. The procedure will be done in the hospital.Cost is less than $1K. But he never mention how many inseminations.

When you said 2 insemination, do u mean our man will have to extract his commandos on 2 different days?

Is the process painful?

Stoney, i went to check on day 13 and went for IUI on day 16 day 14-15 were weekends...

Pinjie, for me no injection. Not painful but discomfort. Feels like when you do Pap smear, they insert a metal piece and then insert the catheter to inseminate. Mine was done in the gynae's clinic. He has a surgery room upstairs.

Patch3s,

Oic. seems like we are quite similar. haha... I also did scan on day 13. lol.. but i still trying natural. gynae ask us to try natural for next 3 cycles. but i hope will hit jackpot tis round. lol...

Stoney: jiayou!! Hope to tabao yr baby dusts soon!!! My upper back pain is really making me pissed off!!! It's been going on n off for a few days!! Argh!!!!

Keira,
how i wish. hahhaa. but now is the waiting game le lor. nothin much i can do...

wow. ur condition sounds serious. need to c doc or nt??

Pinjie, just saw your other question... Yes, two inseminations means hubby has to release his commandos two days in a row... =P

Stoney: I got track record of neck and shoulder pain during my work days, but nv back pain before... it's not sharp pain, it's like u exercise too much n then muscle ache? Something like that..I didn't exercise much or carried heavy stuff from last week... I just scared it's a relapse of my whiplash injury from an accident I met with almost half year ago.. sad...

Hi Patch3

I am one who is dread of Pap Smear. How long does the inseminating process takes?

After the process, when is the next time u going for scan to see result?

Pinjie, the process is as quick as Pap smear... 1 min or less...
After insemination, u can do a blood test after 10 days. My gynae asked me not to waste money. Just wait to see if your next period comes... That will take two to three weeks I think...

Patch3s,
i agree wif your gynae. no need waste $$. wait n c. anyway will be another 4-5days wait only. but will be torture waiting lor. like me in the waiting game. hahaha....

stoney, must try not to count down. Think of something to occupy ur mind... Otherwise, it's really a torture... Hope to hear good news from u!

patch3s, the process sounds managable for me now... Before talking to u, heard many different version of the IUI.... some said need to self injection every day, etc...

Stoney: me too in the waiting game! AF estimated arrival date is next Monday.. then following day I'll be flying off to Gold Coast.. yay!!

Pinjie,
abit difficult when the date is near. hahaha..

Keira,
^5.. mine ar. guess shld due somewhere ard this wk ba. but give myself til end tis mth. so far juz monitor my temp on wkdays. Juz hope temp dun drop. hahaha.....
Envy u. go Gold Coast. i wan to go holiday but only in end Oct then fly....

Stoney: good luck to u!!! I oredi give up on measuring my bbt month ago... cuz I always wake up on irregular timings n sometimes 1-2 hrs before taking temp time, I need to go pee.. then temp not accurate oredi lo. So damn fed up!

where r u heading in October? I love holidays!! Heehee...

Keira,
thanks. i only measure on wkdays. as tats the only days i wake up on same timing. hahaha... wkends i juz forgo as wake up late. but recently haven reach wake up time got urge to go toilet. so will try to wait til the time, haha.... only for wkdays.

me goin Taiwan wif family. lol... so basically looking forward n hope is preg then can go shopping spree. whahaha... oops. say out wat i planning to do there. hahaha...

I also luv holidays. but juz no $$ to go. hahaha...

how is everyone ? and any bb dust for me to collect ? just back from my trip, super tiring, and busy clearing my work

I saw some ppl posting abt CM.. cough syrup really helps in lots of CM hor.. i think i experience before..But is this "natural"? U mean as long as got CM.. then we can BD liao??? Cos i know CM can be caused by eatin too much "Liang" stuffs.

blurblur,
normally ppl say when fertile period CM is watery. so some ppl will used tat to determine their fertile period.
But as wat u mention, eating too much "Liang" stuff will cause CM, so actually it is not 100% accurate to judge the timing to BD based juz on CM.
Alot ladies here also take BBT to help to determine on fertile period.

been a slient reader all this while. I just want to check if the IUI can be done with my own gynae or I should increase my chances by going to a fertility specialist? Initally, we wanted to try by going on a holiday but I am aiming for a boy and I see that IUI could possibly help and was wondering if my investment returns could be better recouped doing IUI?
I have a 2.5 year old girl and I want a xiao ma ge...
Any proven fertility specialist clinic which you would recommend? Thanks a bunch!

Homgal, your gynae will refer you to a fertility clinic to process the sperm. You gynae is only in charge of inserting the sperm into your uterus. So technically speaking, you will need both.

Pinjie, I dun think I would be able to handle having to jab myself everyday too...

Stoney: another 1 week before my period is due... It's going to be a torturing week... Hahaha...

Patch3s,
Hahaha. It's like tat. I suspect mine due tis wk due to day13 scan is Gd. N nurse mentioned tis cycle is short Ard 26days So I basically ally in waiting mood. No mood to work. Hahaha...

Sigh... I have bronchitis for the past 4 days and can't take antibiotics... So I am taking a longer time to recover... Hope this bout of illness will not affect my chance... Or our efforts will be wasted...

Keira / Stoney,
Rooting for both of you !! jiayou and i am preparing carton to collect the bb dusts from both of u

Stoney,
it was quite a fun but tiring trip, eat, shop and shop non stop

Pooh,
Hahaha. go trip come bk Sure find it more tiring then work. Hahaha... Gd tat u enjoyed. Hahaha.
Thanks ar. Now all in 2ww. No way to jia you.

Patch3s,
Yeah!!. Waiting time Faster over....

Stoney : But hor... i get preggie for the first cycle for my #2 based on my CM. Haizz is realli so hard to get preggie, must do soo many things.. Mi is agar agar calculate my fertile period, jus BD alternate days if possible, If not every 3 days cos sperm can stay inside for ard 5days mah. Tis mth i no chance liao, cos like over the fertile period liao, my hub not in town last week. My "important period" shld be last week. But not to miss, i will "work hard" this week too.

blurblur,
my nurse told me sperms can stay inside for 72hrs not 5 days lor.
but if u have regular cycle. then it is easier to calculate ur fertile period.
for me is becoz due to irregular cycle n PCOS. so not easy to get preg.
dun worry, tis wk u can cont to try. u will never knw.

I'm expecting my AF to report on 20/7/13 but din report. Argh feel frustrated as not always punctual n cos of tat hard to plan n predict my fertile period, I still cannot detect my fertile period which is one of my headache too.

Am waiting for a new cycle. Can only start trying next mth due to work issue.

Haiz can someone give advice?

Stoney : ya webby always say is up to 5 days. Actuali i dont believe either cos by the 4-5 days think the sperm quality not so good liao lo lol..mi also irregular which makes mi difficult to know too. So i based on CM. Haizz.

Chole : im always like this almost every mth!!! Wanna af to fastwr come then can start new cycle mah, if drag us hor the "queue" gets longer lor. We got to wait longer lol. Dont be despaired. For us ladies with irregular cycle we jus have to trials & error..