I went poly on the 8 Oct 09 get referral, poly booked on 12 Oct for appt but hubby no time so shifted to 16 Oct.

Claire is correct, it will be a panel of dr whom u will consult with (guy & gers) for those subsisded tests. But even with specalist the test are performed by other dr's then the results given to the specalist dr (rite ?)

Price is 1/2, literally i.e $60, pay $30. Even when i went to KKH 24hr clinic also be subsidised

blood test should be out within 3days, HSG test is out by 1 week, sperm test should be 3days/ 1 week ... but for me, I did all the nec test & will meet doc 24 Nov 09 for results of the test...

So start from my AF (01 Nov 09) till result day (24 Nov 09) within 1mth u would know the results liao ...

jus now KKH call me saying that my male hormones were high and requested me to do another test called Prolactin. What is that for? So sad, now my probs are all coming out

hi all, wow tihs thread is moving at lightning speed!

Gillian, ED can be def caused by stress. Whenever hubby is on mission, his brother will fail him. Whenever he is sick or stressed, he also cant perform.

I am still waiting for his SA results.
I'm having mild cramps in lower abdomen. Since doc said i am not ovulating, then what is this?
Plus I am spotting (very faintly) today.
Gosh, whats happening to me?
In so much fear now.....

hi JJ,
erm... the panel onli works technically for inpatient
for outpatient are doctors (not yet consultant or senior consultant)
they will advice u based on their knowledge, they will not show the specialist unless they got qns to ask then they will call them in front of u le...
for normal or other check ups ok la
but if u successfully conceive and u ask them a qn they unsure of the answer, wont u feel insecure...
very impt to find a gynae whom u can totally place ur trust in de... dats y so many gals paying private rates at good clinics lorz...

but the senior consultant will oversee everything la, but even case study they will pick de
they will not go through case by case de...

hi tricia,
i also happened to have cramps during ovulation period with egg white mucus, but all my opk came back negative
today day 16 liao...
u take it as ovulation spotting... dun read too much into it cos the doctor also wont noe in details wat is going on inside de
the onli way is to open up and take a look, and its not neccessary or possible ma
so take it as ovulation lor... results can be deceiving de...

crown,
What is Prolactin?
Prolactin is a chemical that is secreted by your pituitary gland. This is the pea-sized gland found in the middle of your brain, which is responsible for triggering many of your body's processes. Prolactin is found in both men and women and is released at various times throughout the day and night. Prolactin is generally released in order to stimulate milk production in pregnant women. It also enlarges a woman's mammary glands in order to allow her to prepare for breastfeeding.

Prolactin and Infertility
Prolactin doesn't just cause your body to increase milk production - it also affects your ovulation and menstrual cycles. This is why it is nearly impossible to become pregnant when you are breastfeeding. (In fact, prolactin is 90% effective against pregnancy in the first months after birth).

Prolactin inhibits two hormones necessary to your ovulation: follicle stimulating hormone (FSH) and gonadotropin releasing hormone (GnRH). Both of these hormones are responsible for helping your eggs to develop and mature in the ovaries, so that they can be released during ovulation. When you have excess prolactin in your bloodstream, ovulation is not triggered, and you will be unable to become pregnant. Prolactin may also affect your menstrual cycle and the regularity of your periods.

Prolactin is usually measured when checking for pituitary tumors and the cause of:

* Breast milk production that is not related to childbirth (galactorrhea)
* Impotence
* Infertility
* Irregular menstrual periods

The following can temporarily increase prolactin levels:

* Recent breast exam
* Recent exercise
* Stress

crown, no need to wory..many yrs ago..my proclatin also high..they gave me bromocroptine(nt too sure if is correct spelling) i think barely 2 mths i am back to normal..tat is no big problem..so no worries...just need to take medicaiton for awhile

really all the prob flowing out. I neglect my body in the past.

this sat, my hubby's cousin is getting married. All the San Gu Liu Po will be there. Dont feel like going but i dun have any excuse.... Really sian, dont feel like going. They see me put on so much weight, definitely assume i am pregnant and will come and ask me that question...

Hi crown, just curious, what test did you do that KKH say your male hormones is high? They never ask me to do such test b4.

Claire: Wow, thanks for the detailed info on prolactin. Hmm, exercise will temparily increase prolactin? I still exercise though TTC. Cos trying to eat so much vitamins (& sometimes "bu") tend to make one get fat esp w/o exercise.

oh dear crown, can find excuse not to go? why not say unwell that day then get someone to help u give the angbao to them?

plush, i think D2 will be better.. when i first did my fertility check at tmc, all tests start from D2, same as SGH. D2-D4 is fine, but D5 will be late for an ultrascan and Blood test for FSH etc.

haha, claire, thanks. nxt visit my hubby will have to go with me, cos he need to do a detail sa check and bt too.

oh ceraine, probably that's why lucrine is used for your endo

Hi ceraine, I was also given lucrin injection for my endo. 1 jab per month for 2 mths.

Crown, will your hubby be able to help you "fend" off the relatives? They are relatives of his right? Easier for him than for you to face them. My hubby and I also agreed that we will reply our own relatives respectively so we won't feel so awkward. I think it helps, at least for us. Else, just tell them you both are comfortable with the present situation, or that you both haven't had enough world tour yet!

Thanks Gillian, i'll see whether gynae is avail for my D2 date then.

Crown: I totally understand your position. Come up with some excuse not to go bah. It may not turn out bad, but we just want to play safe. I hate it when pple ask "aiyoh.. what happen to you?" shucks.

Hey crown, for me if I dun feel like going, then I won't make myself feel bad and miserable, so you may choose not to go, just have your husband say you are down with flu and fever. Now the spread of H1N1, your relatives will be happy to know you stay at home.

Exercise will temparily increase prolactin? I exercised regularly before before my pregnancy. You know exercise is good for your physical and mental health, but did you know that moderate exercise might help you conceive? Because about 30% of estrogen comes from fat cells, too much fat – or too little – can alter hormonal balance, lowering your odds of conceiving. A body fat level just 10-15% above or below normal can contribute to infertility. So moderate, regular exercise can burn excess fat, boosting fertility, heart health and energy levels.

bb, i took Free T4/TSH and FSH, LH, PROL profile on the 2nd day of menses.

The prob is it's very hard for me to find excuse. My in laws will ask this and that. Then my MIL always wan face, we must wear very presentable, not to throw her face. All my dresses in the wardrobe i cant wear liao due to i put on 10kg weight.

The last wedding dinner, she bring me to buy a dress cos she find my dress not presentable enough. Although she never say that but bringing me to buy another one already indicating that. I feel very pressurise attending their relative's wedding dinner. They have tons of sisters and brothers. Their families very big. Going there is like being a museum exhibits, everyone will come and admire and comment

Morning Ladies ...
So hard trying to abstain from BD ...

Asked my hubby abt preseed ... he say don't buy he wont use one .... cos its an ego thing ... he say if use his 'bro' will not cooperate ...

We also haven't informed both side parents that we seeking medical opinion on this ...

Then everytime tell us to give birth eariler .. better .. (ah-dur... like i don't know)

But my husband's side have enough kids for me to blend in with them so that the adults don't come n hound me...

think any form of exercise should be fine as long as the heart pumps harder...

I went cycling last sun ... wah .. really old liao .. can feel the strain ...

Now trying to use uRobic weekday then weekend will go swimming / jogging...

Anyone tried kite flying ?? don't see it like simple simple .. will sweat one ah ... when u trying to run around to get the kite up in the sky...

yes crown, brisk walk is actually very good. I sometimes hear my colleagues saying "wow I also got exercise, I went shopping whole day and I sweat" er this kind not counted lohz >D

Yeah can understand, in fact most elderly usually are 爱面子 one.

hey crown.. i got high prolactin 1 yr ago too.. then i was so sad after hearing doctor telling me that i might not be ovulating... which i would nvr tot of tat since i have very regular menses!!! thereafter, i was on medication for abt a mth.. 1 small pill cost me $20.. luckily only take half a pill alternate days.. when i have BT after tat, my prolactin level drop to 0.. way too low.. but gynae nvr say anything.. probably cos of me just finished the medication.. hopefully now im ok.. will wait and see what Dr Foong say when i visit him next week...

i understand how u feel... if u dont feel like gg to the dinner, just heck.. me too.. i avoid all the baby shower in past 2 yrs (unless for my close fren).. and once i dont go to my cousin in law's bb shower.. my FIL was not happy with it.. saying why relative have big event celebration, we also dont wanna attend.. i just heck.. he really dont understand how i feel.. cos this cousin in law got married 9 mths after us.. they are lucky enuff strike a honeymoon baby... have their baby shower even before their anniversary.. and when we went hospital to visit them.. all the uncles aunties cousins keep asking when is our turn.. WTF... and the cousin who asked me, he not even married yet even he is elder than us.... after tat, i just dont feel like attending their baby shower.. this yr.. when we go to their gal's 1 yr bday party.. same question posted to us again.. "when is your turn?".. sian.. so dont make urself feeling worst.. just act u are sick.. and dont go to any of these meaningless gathering..

Calculate yr BMI - http://www.babycenter.com.sg/tools/bmi/

I'm in the ideal range - though the ideal range is quite wide .. now actively watching my diet to reduce weight in the health way.

I'm glad that i maintain at 63kg .... haha .. morning when lighter is 62 kg ... (bluff myself i did at least lose 1kg)

Crown, I think all of us the same, i also try avoid bb shower unless really close friends. Jus last min tell them u nt feeling well n tell ur hubby to go will do, at least got 1 representive mah.

I also realise not only we hv to maintain a healthy diet, exercise also impt, hence i try to go for jog once a wk. Walking does perspire much for me. I feel a lot 'healthier' aft i started my jogging routine, feel so light aft a jog. Hee...

Ya ! Lets live a healthier life !! Not only for the sake of increase ferility but also to maintain general health !!

Must learn to love one's self cos need to have a healthy body for future bb!!

hi crown,
me too le
i obese ma, so i get those qns and looks alot...
have u talked to ur hubby regarding to go or not?

hi JJ,
but preseed is gal use de ma...
usually guys talk abt dun wan this dun wan that hor is becos they a little ignorant...
if u wan u can quietly use in the toilet 15 mins before bd
dun think ur hubby will noe...
wat is more impt in protecting the sperm now...

there was once, i was in bed watching tv with my DH
then i use preseed, he hor... jus beside me and he dun even noe i was applying it...
aiyo...

as long as it doesnt affect ego in a guy is ok
somemore, preseed is a substitute of our mucus ma...nothing to do with the guy's ego...

Hmmm ... how much is preseed huh ??

Well he prides himself in getting me all worked-up (i.e. get wet -_-) hence if i use .. will deflate his man pride !!

He very MCP one la ... always think he no prob, he like greek god full of vitality ! sperm waiting to burst out !!

Have to feed him the megamen vit pills like baby like that ... actually i don't need bb also have one grown up one to take care of liao (ie. hubby)

Hi JJ... i bought preseed last weekend at Watson's for $31++ or $32++.. cant remember...

my hubby also just started eating megamen for two days and he said he felt very thirsty after that but urine is not yellowish.

Hi, ladies..
m new to tis thread, silently reading & nodding my head in agreement though.. :)
been TTC for 1 yr liao.. tried OPK, alternate days during O period.. stil nothg..
been thru the times which u gals hv mentioned -everyone ard u is getting pregnant, bb shower, qns fr relatives etc..
gg for 1st doc visit next week @ KKH, which hppns to b my D21.. wat can we expect on our 1st visit?

I just went Watsons n bought the Clearblue OPK pack, the 7 sticks one at $58.50 (ususl is $71.50), they having discount for that, must go grab one

How to use preseed huh? I think I wan try that this cycle. Lately I having some viginal infection, maybe it killed the sperms hor, so i will want try the pressed this cycle.

Hi Queenie, I don't think that's much the doc will do during ur first visit, moreover is 21st liao. U should hv O alr by then, unless ur ovluation is late. The doc will most prob ask u do some blood test to check ur hormones level, n that will be ur 2nd day of ur cycle.

i just bought but haven used it cos i am still waiting for my O period... my AF is late as usual but i can feel it coming cos my stomach has been bloated and also been having cramps these 2 days.
I read the instructon manual and they say to use it 1/2 or 1hr before bd leh...

I bought liao $35.90 at NTUC Unity, clocked in links point somemore ...

Think i will apply it myself see if hubby notice or not .. cos its suppose to simulate CM ... haha maybe he won't even notice the difference ...

Cos i read the leaflet, its common to experience dryness esp when BD frequently...

And i myself experience before the frustration when its dry n BD can't continue.

the instruction stated

that if yr V too dry to apply while lying down on bed IMMEDIATELY b4 BD.

if too much moisture to apply eariler b4 BD (ie 1hr b4) & to expel excess in toilet & wipe the external V area of moisture

hmm.. if too much will be quite slippery le.. as complained by my hubby.. he said no feeling after i put the preseed.. #$%^*(().. haha..

Red BB: no feeling?? really ~~!@#@#@#!!

Claire: hopefully.... i never even use tampon before leh... but for the sake of bb... ok, i shall try!!

the tube to insert is very thin and narrow de
jus realx, if it helps lie down on the bed...
jus do it slowly

hi queenie,
kkh first appt nothing much de
they query ur menstrual cycle and history
then prob they send u to a gynae or specialist
if u r with a gynae
u can demand test like protestrone test to see if u ovulate since u at day 21 liao...
also maybe jus maybe they do a pap smear scan for u...

Reb BB, ur hubby so funny. Maybe for ur case u dun put too much. Must trial n error.

I will also try and let's c if it works for us