Went for scan yesterday. Gd news and bad news.
Gd: My follicles grew super fast after only 4 jabs such that i have 4 follicles at 18mm and 2 other at 15mm. And yesterday was only at CD7! Gynae was concerned a high possibility of multiple births. If proceed iui, it wd be on Sat.

Bad: Hubby away on biz trip fr today till Sun. So we cd not do iui. Not possible to freeze spermies coz not tested for such.

LC was surprised at the rate the follicles have grown and normally 2 pens (probably 10 jabs) are needed b4 iui. I only took 4 jabs out of one pen. In a way, i've reacted too strongly such that the follicles were ready too soon. How god played on me!

As i din wan to abandon the cycle, LC gave me the Hcg shot to fasten the process and told me to BD this morning..hopefully the spermies can stay for 3 days to meet the egg. See...ren shuan bu ru tian suan!!! *sigh*!!!

Gals, after hcg shot, follicles will release eggs within how long?? meaning, if tis cycle fail, i AF will report real soon?? Had i been able to do iui on Sat, i actually dun need the hcg rite?

M i now officially in 2ww???

catmon,
good to heard that no1 is growing well. ;)

Alien,
happy belated birthday! how ur MS?

Lucky clover,
ya. 2ww seem to pass very slow for me these few days as my AF due this weekends. relax.. keep urself busy and the days will jus zoom pass.

crafty,
wow! ur body react super strong with the jab lei.. hope ur hubby sperm can strong strong stay for 2days. relax. don't think too much. at least this cycle is short for u. good luck.

p.s.if u not sure u in 2ww, take bbt and u will knw le.

Redtea
ya man! something unexpected. Not confident if spermies are tat strong to last tho....Had they been strong, i wd have succeeded ages ago! Now can only wait lor!

btw, i clarified with gynae that both the puregon pen and gonaIF pen serve the same purpose. The gonaIF pen is the 1st version and puregon has to pay license to gonaIF.

lucky, so heng!! U on leave today, me next mon, lets enjoy long weekend :p

redtea, 2ww will pass by very soon de... try not to tink abt it

wow crafty, your body react so good ah? today u and hubby should both be on leave and just bd whole day :p prob bd tonight and also tmr also to catch the eggy

Liz, *hugs hugs* Dun give up k? You have been a very brave lady and been continuing despite all these obstacles....dun give up, sayang sayang

crafty.. just read he's on biz trip from today... hope his soldiers will stay strong.. like that hor, most likely gal leh ^^

Hi Crafty,

whats your dosage? your ovary really react well, congrats! when you took your HCG? My gynae told me that HCG will need to mature the egg and will they will be released between 24-48 hours..usually most of the websites will say 36hrs..what time is your HCG shot? Hope they will stay longer in your fallopian tube while waiting the your eggs to pop.. By the way, did you test opk b4 you took your HCG ? usually if tested +ve, you will ovulate quite soon and do not need the shot becos they should be more or less matured and ready to pop.

Roxy
tat's Y i was feeling great yet moody after the visit. the fact tat i reacted well, means my factory no prob. Moody coz it's not well-timed as my hubby away! HB saying that it's fate, if you have it, you'll hv it.....of course, it's easy for him to say so lah....since intervention is taken, i want results and not something happening, but i couldn't do anything! so bek chek! as long as strike, gal/boy oso nrv mind lah...

Justnew
my dosage at 75. Hcg given ard 5.30pm yesterday. So fr tat time till i BD, it's only abt 12hrs...spermies are waiting now. No opk test prior shot since i din know the the follicles are tat ready.

Hi crafty,

oic.. i tot your gynae will ask u to test..
but its ok, all the best to you. can i ask wats ur FSH ?

justnew
i tink he din expect such "gd" results on my first visit after jab. Nothing much i can really do now, but only leave to fate lor! Wat's FSH?

Redtea
hahaa..i was like u long time ago...but nrv got near to use it..

Follicle-stimulating hormone stimulates the growth of immature Ovarian follicles in the ovary. If the FSH level is high, this may be a sign of premature Ovarian Reserve/Failure. So less eggs and less good quality eggs are produced. So the GonalF or Puregon dosage depends on the FSH level for IVF. However, for iui, to prevent multiples, usually the dosage will be 50-75iu. You will know your FSH during your Day2 or 3 blood test.

justnew
dun know leh. i din take any blood test or anything prior to jabbing GonaIF. Gynae just prescribed dosage at 75iu coz he said to start low since i've conceived naturally last time. Or maybe last time blood test results were taken and hormone levels were acceptable, so gynae din do further tests anymore tis time round.

hello,

crafty,
wow, your iui like very short. hope the commandos crawl slowly for the rest of 3 days....in a way, prob u can get a girl leh... or if multiples, wow, that'd be worth the money. best of luck!!!!

Hi crafty,
May i know how many injection u took for this cycle? Got take any clomid? I ever try iui with half clomid for day 2-day6.. Then inject 75iu on day 6, day8 and day 10.. Then only got 2 follicles.. Had actually bfp but mc after wk 6.. Sadz.. Now plan to do soiui again as i cant ovaluate well.. Hope u can share with me ur detail dosage.. Thank u..

Crafty,

hows ur hb sperm count and quality? Think u have high chance cos u have many eggs..
i've also just started my 2ww, we can update each other on our progress.

Hui
actually i din make it for the full iui procedure leh. so far only completed the jabbing part. I cannot make it to the insemination part, but rather got to do it naturally. Now, i dun know wat to expect liao as this cycle will definitely be shorten. Yah, if one stone gets a few BBs, it's a gd move lah. Bt gynae oso worried that i get as many as 6 bbs if we really proceed with insemination. Hopefully, i'm like ur case lor...spermies can stay for a couple of days.

Joanne
sorry to hear abt ur mc. I was told to jab for 5 days with the GonaIF pen, starting from CD2. Dosage oso at 75iu. But on the 5th day, i did not manage to do it coz i could not pull out the injection button. I'm not sure if it means the solution in the pen are all used up. No clomid, or any other medication taken. Only jab so far. my gynae has given me duphaston to strengthen the womb later fr CD12 onwards.

Justnew
I forgot the figures. But overall, sperm count was way above average. kruger's classification only 1. when i was seeing TCM, the physician say quality not ideal and my hb was advised to take medication. but he not inclined. However, my gynae has no concern over the results and he said they are gd enough.

Ya, i've no egg issue. But the prob now is whether the spermies can meet them and fertilised. The chances now are so much lower since i did not do the insemination.

Sure! keep posting ur updates.

Hi Joanne,

i think it depends on individual how you response to the medication. Different pple has different hormones levels, so react differently. My gynae also told me, if you were given the same dosage for the next cycle, doesnt mean the outcome will be the same. You could get more follicles or even lesser than what u get in the previous cycle. For ovulation induction, lesser dosage is given in compare to ivf to prevent mulitples.

Crafty,

thats true, timing is very impt for fertilisation. But its ok, becos u are doing it naturally, there is quite a distance for the sperms to swim upwards before they can meet the eggs in compared to iui..so dont be demoralised, maybe your girls are taking their own sweet time to swim up.. then the timing would be just nice.

hi crafty,
Thks.. U mean u only need to jab yrself 5 times only?? Or is it bec ur folicle is big so no need jab liao.. Initally wht is ur gynea plan? Mine only jab 3 times and got 2 follicles.. Wish u the best if luck that u can strike.. When ur hb is back.. Do bd again.. ;)

Hi sunflower
Thks for ur advise.. I do understand this pt as i had jab myself for 2 cycle, 1st time is 2 fr rite ovary.. 2nd time is 2 again but fr left ovary.. So my gynea say rite ovary is on holiday..;)
Oso i dun think doc will allow me to jab so many times since there is a risk of multiple.. I got to follow his instruction.. I no say one.. Am jus curious how come i oso jab 75iu and crafy can hv so many eggs.. So the difference is she jab 5 times while i only jab 3times..;)

crafty,
me went watson jus now to look at the hpt. but din buy.. think can save $ la.. cos i can knw if i'm preggy anot by the bbt and missimg AF lor. cross finger x

Hi Joanne,

not really leh..i guess for her, her ovaries responded very well. there are some ivf girls, having the same dosage , but their egg quantity also a big gap..
for me, i jab 9 times leh.. although with 50 iu.. if like that compare, my total dosage is more than crafty leh..hehehe, but i only have 1 follicle.

Justnew
hahaaa...i really hope your theory applies to me!

Joanne
strictly speaking, i only jab 4 times. My gynae's intention is to jab fr CD2-CD10 maybe, depending scan results. But since my follicles ready after 4 jabs, i dun tink he will give more to me. If so, my other smaller follicles at 9mm, 7mm etc will continue to grow and i will end up have more than 10 matured follicles! tat's discouraged unless i opt for ivf.

if i remember correctly, the no. of eggs in our bodies are inborn. So it's not becoz of the jab that they multiply. Maybe u can sound your gynae out if u can jab more times, but skip clomid?

crafty yard,
didnt follow thru all the threads but i have this question in mind.
i was told by gynae, follicle side reaches > 18m, coupled with +ve opk result, to be considerd ideal for iui.

if follicle >18, but -ve opk, no good
similarly, if +ve, yet follicle <18mm,not ideal too.

not sure how true.

all the best wor, give us good news k.

btw, girls, some update of my first jab toady, by myself!! fumbled with the alcohol swap, and think i poke too in le, felt pain despite numbing with ice.
so far so good lah, still manageable. not as bad as what i tink ".)

had a shock as i thot i forgot return the medication to fridge, and rushed home afternoon to reconfirm. Heng!!! nicely chilling in fridge, else i would hav to collect fresh medication and it cost me $200.

really sotong!!!

k, long weekend..enjoy girls

liz,
dont be sad k. next cycle, probably consider IUI?

Ceraine
ur tots/theory sounds logical. I suppose with the hcg shot, definitely +tve opk following the next 24-36hrs (as justnew informed).

hahaa...i oso fumbled on my 1st shot. U will be confident for the next few shots. u using puregon?

Hi Liz
*hugz *hugz....
A new cycle is also a new hope ... jia you ! jia you !

Hi Roxy...
Me took leave today ..went shopping with friends..kekeke
You enjoy your long weekend

Hi Redtea
the 2WW is worse then the 1 week jabs..
Will try to keep myself busy and take my mind off the iui

Good luck to you yah...4 more days to go...jia you!

Hi Craftyard
Thats good news for you...
jia you

Hi Crafty and Ceraine,

Yes, with HCG, it will mature the eggs and will they will be released between 24-48 hours..its the same for ivf, usually will need to inject HCG to prepare for egg retrieval. Some eggs will grow till 18mm and release, some will grow up till 25mm..depends on individual. For some cases, when reach till 18mm, the doctor will just inject HCG and wait for it to ovulate. For some case, pple are willing to wait till bigger than 20mm..

ceraine, crafty
nay.. won't try iui.. think it doesn't work for me.... will see what the doc say... will prob take a break... and go for a holiday...

good luck to you gals!

craftyyard,
yah, on 3 days puregon, cd7-9.
tmr is final day of jab and going for scan.
since yesterday,cd7, having slight on off ovulation cramp and twitching pain.
i experience twitching pain every cycle. this cycle abit too early.

liz,
shiok wor, where are u planning this round??

sunflower, the last cycle, my follicle last measure at 15+mm, next day hcg jab. doubt it has matured to 18mm and probably y failed??

Hi liz,

wow, nice! enjoy~!

Hi ceraine,

i think failure to preg depends on various reasons..and not easy to identify.. after hcg jab, i takes 24-48 hrs to mature and ovulate.. by that time, ur egg should have grown at least 17mm..for some cases i read from internet, 16mm is already possible to be pregnant..furthermore, the quality of the egg is more important than the size of the egg..

crafty yard,
got yah, no idea, sat measure 15+mm, sunday nite hcg trigger.

hope this cycle better. went for scan today, follicle maturing fast, probably like ure case as i was on puregon too
rhs measure at 16mm(cd9), but one follcle only.
Lhs 13mm, one also. was told on clomid, usually 1 follicle.
but wall lining slightly thin at 5+mm, hence given wall thickening pills. (proxynova)

will be going for hcg jab tmr night and iui on tuesdays.
glad i requested for purgeon jabs, though side effect of headache, nauseous and giddiness quite discouraging

really thanks that scanning was today rather than monday, else would have missed the O.

btw, u enquired about eggwhite right.
informed bynurse the eggwhite (raw or half boil) is to curb bloatedness

Sunflower,
gynae say last mth, iui was not smoothly carried out as having some difficulty inserting the catherter, or probably no fertilization, or failed implantation.
this round,have to drink lots water thse few days to hydrate myself such that i could produce sufficient urine within 2hrs after sperm collection and prior iui.

liz,
3rd holiday!! shiok!!
envious ....have a make in australia bb...ganbata!!!

lucky clover,
which dpo are u now?
when testing??

sigh~ me no hope le.. my bbt drop tdy. now waiting for AF to report. so sian. i ask DH, if we shld take multi-vit, he replied "u buy lor." faint*

Ceraine...
Thats very fast...next tues do IUI.. Good Luck

As for me, today should be DPO 9 (12th apr) if IUI day is DPO 1 .
But have to wait another 8 more days and if AF don't report, then go back kkh do HCG blood test.

RedTea
Don't give up yet..as long AF still haven't report...still got hope..
jia you !

craftyard,
did u tested +ve opk prior to iui?

strange, sat i got a double line, but not those double dark which shows O. so sun, today, should O and test +ve.

but, was shocked le, got a -ve this morning.
it means i could have already O??that is bad, coz if O friday/thurs, my follicle size yet mature.

gynae doubted i've O.to continue with procedure as advised - today hcg trigger to release egg and tues iui.

how fate plays a fool on us. i was so happy with the follicle maturing state, as well got faithfulli bd last few days, should hv good coverage.
y now to have a -ve??

ceraine,

dont think so much about the size of the egg..some pple can O at the size of 16mm..just bd today and tues iui.. thats wat my gynae told me too, he said just bd alt days in case the egg ovulate before hcg.

sunflower, can bd today mah?
yesdae wanated to bd, but hubby afraid quantity insufficient.
+ we were told to abstain from saturday onwards

Ceraine,

hmm, if thats the case, then u have to wait till iui on tues..my gynae told me to bd alt days up till hcg shot ...

sunflower,
yah,better seek gynae advice.oso scared if bd today, end up tues sa result not ideal.

went for my hcg jab today, kaus, the doctor cannot make it!!!
hope today is my fist and last, with him

sorry, sunfolower, didnt really follow the forum. what stage are u at now?

Redtea,
u bought ure multi-vitamins?
else can get from gynae.

i took gnc,a bottle for prenatal and another of DHA.
there is a 3 in 1 consisting of Calcium and EPA. But do check with ure gynae if your condition suits EPA.
EPa will thin blood, fyi.

Ceraine
i've not tested opk at all. My scan results came very unexpected, so din test for anything. I find it strange...How can u have O when follicle size immatured prior to your hcg shot?? Since u have the hcg shot today, tat means O will be after that mah. I tink sometimes, we test too much till we are confused. Listen to your gynae and follow his advice. Actually, prior to iui, i dun intend to bd. i just want to make sure i'm at the optimal condition during iui.

gd luck on Tues!

morning ladies,
so sian, AF reported on time. haiz..

Ceraine,
actually taking multi-vit is more for DH, cos his soldier last time b4 having my DS is NO good. i taking with him to oso remind him to eat. maybe going to pharmacy to get later.

having my annual pap smear test nxt mth. hope my AF don't report b4 the date. else hav to postpone appt le.

crafty, ceraine, justnew and lucky clover,
all the best to u gals. BFP BFP!

ceraine,

im in 2ww

why the doctor cant make it? you with which gynae??

ya, guess for your situation, listen to your gynae advice.

Can I just check if the ladies here considering IVF/IUI have TTC for how long and was unsuccesful?

I am almost 6 months into TTC. But no news. Was also thinking of it. But not sure IUI or IVF more suitable.

Hi Hope,

most pple already ttc for years before they sought for IUI/IVf.
you should probably go look for 1 gynae and start doing some tests to check if both of you are ok.
for example, nowadays alot hubbies have poor sperm count and quality. that is very common now.
Or perhaps some womens have poor hormones which lead to diminishing eggs quantity and quality. Or some have blocked tubes. And there are usually more other complications for womens.

Sorry if im scaring you, but tests are neccessary if you think you have tried hard enough for 6mths but still no news.

I have checked and seen gyne and got a block tube..and huby seeing tcm for his unhealhty sperm.

So i was wondering should I continue to wait and try...or just go ahead and do iui/ivf without wasting more time.