(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

Hihi MofMM, yepz din use car seat (dun copy me, bad example!) as we just found out that the car seat is suitable for 9 mths n above! Hahahaaaa..... We both beri sotong hor.....Was a gift so we din check lah..... Ya, carried bb from ward to car. Din use wheelchair.
Ya, my eyes nearly popped out when I saw the prices! I re-looked n re-looked to confirm if my eyes r playing tricks hahahaaaa..... Perhaps the quality is really good to justify the price lah.

Good that u r almost ready! Time to wind down n relax n wait for babies arrival!

Znatasha, congratz n welcome to mamahood! I did ask the nurses abt the meds n they claimed its safe for breast feeding so I just continued to express. Perhaps u might wan to check wif ur pd or gynae for more assurance?

Hi Chevy, thanks for responding!
I was wondering how to get the 2 babies from the ward to the car and how to buckle them in the car seat and all. I even spent a morning stressing over what they should wear home so that the car seat buckles don't bite into their skin :D Glad to have you to get advice from.

Today, I just washed their going-home outfits (onesies, and a pair of pants each so the seat belt won't touch their skin, hats, mittens and gloves) as well as a packet of A&A swaddles to tuck around them. The swaddles really dry so quickly! Good stuff!

When did you start opening and washing (preparing) the milk bottles, breast pump, sterilizers for use before your baby come home?

Hi sade and chevy, yap I asked my doctor and the nursery nurse and they said the medicine are ok. I tried latching today but nothing came out so BB still on fm.

Hi znastasha, first few days it's like. Think my
Colostrum kicks in only day 3? But continue to latch bb to stimulate. I pump to stimulate too after latching bb.

sorry to ask a silly question. Can i know the diapers for New Born baby is from new born to how many months? How much does the baby need a day?

Mofmm, i swaddled my baby and place in carseat w/o buckling him cos my mum sat beside him to keep an eye. Will someone be sitting behind w the babies? Perhaps between the carseat. I dun feel safe to leave baby alone behind without anyone attending esp when they are newborn...

As for bottles, i sterlised them when im hm cos need to supplement w fm. Doesnt take long to sterlise. But you can get your hubby to sterlise in morning before picking u up. Just lleave it in the steriliser after sterilising.

Alison, newborn is usuali for baby till abt 4-5kg but i tink oso depend on size on bb. My bb using nb for 1st week. Now wearing S. On average my baby uses 4-5 pcs in the 1st week. Esp when on bm, baby poos more as compared to on fm.

Reikibaby, so have you bring your bb to oily clinic check for jaundice? Can share with me the cost?

Ladies, for 1 month is there another Hep B jab? I'm abit lost to when to have what jabs. Though of going to polyclinuc for jabs and also own PD for review instead of going back to TMC.

Chevy- in just got 1 today. Was wondering if it means I can just baby wear a normal romper wo long pants at night.....
easier to change diaper at night.

MofMM, hahahaaaa dun stress lah..... I'm sure which outfit u chose, they will look good
Wash them batch by batch, perhaps starting wif the daily wear n necessities. Yes, the swaddle n cloth diapers do dry very fast isn't it!

I'm sure u can request for the nurses' help during your discharge to help place babies in car. Oh do have ur dh bring back gifts or items not using back home first so that u have lesser to carry when going back.

I had to sterilised n use milk bottles after my discharge as I need to pump n send milk to her. Maybe u wld wan to wash n sterilise them first. Take the chance to familiarise urself wif the equipment. Thereafter keep them in ziplock so that u can just rinse n sterilise again when u need to use them officially.

Whiteclover, yes I believe so. Perhaps just a top wld be much easy to change?
Where did u get urs? Is it big? How long do u thk they can fit until?

Hope & rekibaby: u just decide where u want to bring your baby for the jabs. Then follow their schedule. Polyclinic wise I will advise to book appt from 6wks onward for Hep 2nd dose n rotavirus(optional). So that can be taken at the same day.

Ladies who express bm, do you still let bb latch on? My nipples have recovered I think but I don't dare to let him latch fearing he will bite and chew on my nipples!

Babysmurf, thanks for the tips!

Koirc, my bb is on alternate FM and BM. So I will latch once in the morn and once at night. Afternoon I take nap and CL will feed EBM. Do you have CL? Hmm, she helps hen I latch to find the correct position for my left side coz left is always problematic. Maybe you try again? If bb bites then just express out? After all, it's still BM mah.

Koirc: if baby bite/ chew when latching, put ur last finger to stop him. Then he will know chew = no bm. After afew time he will only suck when u latch.

Hi Ladies, wanna check with you all, anyone went for accupuncture or see tcm for back aches during pregnancy? I'm having backaches and unable to sleep well. Currently at week 20. I thought maybe accupuncture can help to ease the pain so wanna.check anyone did it before? thanks.

Adeline, I didn't do acupuncture but did prenatal yoga instead. Personally, all that gentle stretching helped for me and I don't have any aches at all. I'm now in Week 29. Maybe worth a try?

chevy - i got the A&A one yesterday. will be trying out later.

anyone using Nuk teats? can feedback? my baby has used medela calma, pigeon and both she has now refused to use.

Luv, Sade, I remembered that u mentioned ur babies r regurgitating after feeds. Recently, my girl too. I have been burping her n putting her up for at least 15mins after feeds. Still no effect. Her feeding is ok. I do find that she has wind in tummy and resorted to using ruyi you last nite. Am monitoring now for improvement.
Can share ur experience?

Dian tang, I rem u said abt buying 0-3months carter from gmarket. The size is v small, my girl is wearing 6-9months bought from qoo10. N wearing 3 months carter bought from USA. N she's now abt 2 months old. So I think u better buy bigger size to stand by.

Chevy, maybe u should try feeding her in smaller amt n more frequently. Hope this helps.

Adeline, do prenatal yoga as its can help with our body ache.

Koirc, maybe u should try to latch on again. If bb chew or suckle for comfort, normally I would say no to her and she's seem to understand it. Haha. But u have to make sure that the latch is correct or else will feel nipple pain again.

Hope, charges for singhealth jaundice test @ $6.40 & consultation @ $5.80. Bb jaundice did go dwn. Next week review again. Cos bb under 1mth so all test and chk n payment express queue. Hahha

Diantang if u hve big bb then u can consider 6 mths carters rompers. Slightly longer but my boy can still wear the 6mths romper i got frm carters. Just looser at diaper area.

Sade, in fact we r supposed to increase her feed every few days but until now, we dare not. Hope she will feel beta after using the oil else really need to look at the amt of milk.

U mean the carter sizes from qoo10 and US is different ah?

Chevy: depend where the seller from Qoo10 get their stock from. Direct US website usually bigger. Their size also no so constant depend on where is the clothes made in.

Chevy, i apply ruyi oil on baby tum after every bath. It helps him to fart i guess....cos my baby keeps farting. I dun pour direct on bb. I will pour n rub on my hand till warm then warm his tum...
For milk increase, i normally start increasing 5-10ml each time. If he calls for milk earlier than his usual interval for consecutive 2 feeds, i will try increase the amt... cos this means milk supply not enuf not feed demand so he gets hungry earlier.

Reikibaby, today after bath is the second time I applied the oil on ah b. Not sure if it does helps her to fart more but it seems she din regurgitate her earlier 2 feeds. Hopefully it stays this way
Oh I do rub the remnant on her soles too. Thot I watched it on tv hahahaaaa.....

We cldn't quite catch her feeding schedule cos she is always irregular. At times earlier, at times late. Hiaz..... Need to play by ear and judge ourselves.

Hi Chevy, thanks for the advice and tips! Time to stock up on ziplock bags this weekend...

Hi Reikibaby, hmmm, having 2 car seats at the back is going to pose a problem when it comes to someone keeping an eye on the baby. Think have to figure out something but thanks for your help! By the way I went to the Baby Fair today at expo - it was a waste of time. Very small scale (about 1/3 to 1/2 the front of hall). Don't sell the AA swaddles, and definitely nothing like the baby fair in Feb where there was a Huggies big booth (this one is a miserable booth with not much business) and breast pumps and Combi. Even Taka fair is better. This one sells lots of cheapy baby clothes and there are so many Prudential agents around.

I went to Robinsons fair next door. They sell the AA SwaddlePlus for S$39. I think if spend $80 at the fair, can get $10 off and Robinsons card holder have further 5% rebate based on on card so slightly more worth to buy there. Nothing much to buy for baby at Robinsons fair either - no Fisher Price or Lamaze toys at all.

Chevy, yah i recalled rubbing on toes. But cant recalled whats the reason.... hee...hope your bb drinks more n grow up fast fast

Mofmm, wah u shopping queen but too bad nuttin to get. Just hope another big scale coming up. $39 swaddles seems a good deal...better than nutting. Will chk w dh see he willing go help me get anot. Hahaha.

Hi Reikibaby, hehe, quite true but I think one sister here mention that Taka also selling at S$39 for the swaddles. Only difference is that if you spend $80 at Robinsons can get $10 off if I am not wrong (not sure must be cardholder). U can tempt your DH by telling him there is an electronics fair going on at Expo too - super duper crowded that fair! Not like the baby fair which was a great disappointment. Read from another thread another big scale one coming up end May. Not sure of the accuracy of that but at least you will be out of confinement period and can go enjoy!

Wah, can't believe time passes so fast. Last time met you, you were pregnant, now your baby boy wearing S size liao!

Hi Babysmurf, don't forget tomorrow 11am at KKH Macs? I will hold the Swaddleplus in my hand hehe so easy to identify me.

Chevy give smaller amt but increase the frequency. for e.g. 10 times per day instead of 9 times. for ruyi oil is more for wind.
Ya different sizes. v funny hor. direct from USA site is bigger than qoo10.

Reiki, thanks for the information! Good that your bb jaundice has gone down! How are you coping? You started bathing bb already? 2 more weeks to end of confinement Hee!

Hope, you mean if i started bathing baby myself? Nope cos cant touch water. So now either my mum or dh will bathe baby. Actuali was helpless with baby janudice level. Then got laoshi to do healing for baby and quite glad it did drop to below 10... Realli a relieved.....

Babysmurf, laoshi ever told me that bb will somehw be connected easily to healing if we been doing healing when preggy. For baby clothes...i buy till 9 mths. 6 mths clothings i have abt 5sets. Then 9mths one i have 3sets. These are gaigai clothes. As for home daily wear clothes... those i buy frm waterloo st...i got those xl size..not nb ones...so long sleeve, short sleeve, long pants n shorts....each half a dozen.
You baby also quite heavy now right? So u can actuali skip nb and those 0-3mths. Or just get a few pieces cos may not be able to last long...

Rekibaby: do ur baby fix into NB clothes for the 1st wk or u started with 3-6 mths one.

Mofmm: see u later at Kkh Mac

Babysmurf, gg home clothes i got him a set of nb clothes which fit him nicely..mlike tailored made.haha. then when at home just wear those i got frm waterloo st. Cos i got xl size so slightly bigger but still can wear... haha at least can wear for sometime... then went for pd review a week later...he can wear the 6mth romper. But i tink those 0-3mth romper will fit nicley cos the 6mth slight longer..