(2013/12) December 2013

My girl was good at latching too but my milk supply wasn't as much I think and I was really very depressed and stress.
I cried when I first decide to stop bf but after I see my girl growing up so healthily I know that it doesn't really matter.

So mommies I would advise to take it easy and take it as it goes. I have friends who bf for few days only then go for fm and their kids are healthy and intelligent.

For my 2nd I will try also. But if really not much milk supply again I would not force myself.
Most importantly , enjoy motherhood!!!

Iamnewmummy, haha I seriously dunnos is it bb recognises our voice or its juz a coincidence.. but I tot I felt movements again juz nw when hubby reading bedtime story!
Im going for my detailed scan tmr, its to chk for any deformities in the heart, brain etc..

Winny, agree with u on your bf vs fm view

Thanks to all mummies for your breastfeeding advise. I think I will try my best but don't pressurise myself too much...

BTW, is the nipple cream for dry nipples? My nipple seem to be a bit dry now, I can see some skin peeling off...

Has anyone thought of their birth plan? I have a friend who tried natural delivery and ceasaren and she said natural is still better. Any opinion on this?

Iamnewmummy, yup the ingredients in nipple creams r basically oil based moisturisers. I apply my anti stretch mark cream on my boobs too, n sometimes kena my nipples too, so far I alwaz find my nipples like abit oily leh.
Erm, I've alwaz tot I wan a natural delivery without doubt, unless circumstances dun allow for it. My mum n bestie's mum have also told me long ago that natural is better, cos recovery time is much shorter n less painful.

Natural birth is definitely better as the wound is external but of course if circumstances do not allow c-sec is an option too.
However do note that for c-sect, u need to be clean which mean u can opt to wax before u deliver or Gynae will shave you.

I only use nipple cream when I was bf and I like MEDELA brand over AVENT as i find the 2nd too watery.
You could also apply your BM over ur nipples after bf.

Winny, u mean apply breastmilk over the nipples? Ohhh, didnt know we cn do that.. sounds gd

Btw does anyone know y we cant drink plain water during confinement? My gd fren told me only cn drink red date longan tea, milo n stuff, but nt plain water.. im a big water barrel n everyday I drink abt 2L of water.. cant imagine I've to live without it for the whole mth -_-lll

Hi mummy ting,
I learnt that from my first pregnancy. But then I still think nipple cream works better as it's thicker.
Another tip is: stick on breast pads in your bra to reduce friction coz when we bf, nipples more or less gets sore. This really helps me.

For plain water during confinement, I have no idea too.
I just follow what the CL says.

Mummyting - drinking plain water during confinement will cause water retention . I think oso associate with the womb will hv difficulties to shrink back to normal size or makes the process slower. (If im not wrong)
For my number 1 I drink red dates longan tea almost 2L or more daily ... bf will b v thirsty! N warm Liquid intake will aid in bf so why not drink tt instead water. ..

morning all!

our bm are good for everything! sore, dry, jus use our bm to apply.. lol.... i even use to wash face...

yeap.. plain water do cause water retention but then... its ok to drink once in a while la... red dates drink quite heaty.....

wow. was reading through the BF tips and it's really helpful! i didnt know there's so much other things to look out for when deciding to bf - it really helps me to be mentally prepared.

as for lactation consultant, most hospitals will have right? they will guide us while we are still at the hospital after giving birth?

dollsy, yeap! all hospital shld have... must make use of them before you discharge.... they can teach u how to feed and ur posture....

breast pad is to prevent milk from leaking onto ur bra.. breast shield is a part for ur breast pump...

Thanks Winny, Adamummy n Cljl for answering my water drinking qn. But then juz wondering, as long as u drink any liquid the body will have the tendency to retain it ma cos your kidneys cant diff between the diff liquids, as long as its H2O then it cn retain liao.. haha paiseh I think im thinking too much n too scientifically? :p

Cljl, wa your supply so gd until u used bm to wash face?? So cool!

Dollsy, im nt sure if all hosp have lactation consultant, but so far I know tmc n mt A have. My sil told me tmc has v strong lactation consultant team n they r v gd at teaching u the rite techniques..