(2013/11) November 2013

hello everyone

i was from the dec baby thread but because i've opted for c-section, my baby will be born in end nov instead.

anyone have any recommendations for nice places to rent for full month party? like which country club or community club or ?
any recommended places to obtain nice party balloons and deco?

thanks in advance

Any mummies experiencing pain or slight twitch down below when ur bb kicks or have movement? These few days I feel that n it's especially so when I walk I will feel it.. Is it normal?

I think you will feel some pain when you poo if you have piles? and you should be able to tell where the bleeding is coming from when you wipe yourself with toilet paper?

really?! SGD50 is very little leh. so if there are two of us in the car, means we can spend SGD100? aiyoh. didnt know that.

at my last visit, 31 weeks 6 days, my baby was at 1.7kg, she's around 1 week behind schedule. I went to check my #1's scan and he was also around 1 week behind schedule. At week 38 when i delivered him, he was 2.865kg. My gynae said the baby follows my small built i.e. small babies for small mommies! haha. I'm 33 weeks today and have gained around 8kg from pre-preg weight but about 800g since last week. I havent really eaten alot this week, so really don't understand how i could gain 800g in a week.......

I read that at this stage , our amnio fluid is at it's ppeak (the fullest) and on top of that our little one is plumping up he/her fats. maybe that could be the reason y we're gainning ...

I've also gained a total 9kg so far but I couldn't be happier bcoz my #1 I broke record gained a whopping 20kg and my #2 a 12kg.... This one should be just neat :D

LXB, I think that's normal so long the pain go away. I even experience electric shock kind of sensation down under. To me, as long as the pain subside and it's not very frequent, that should be ok...

morning! TGIF plus Friday 13th...

my feet is awfully swollen now so bad that i cant even see my ankle. kana 2 bad cramps in the middle of the nite. i was there ouch ouch ouch asking my hub to help but he slept thru without bothering. :( haiz... cant wait for the 3rd trimester to end.

just went thru the baby checklist posted on the secret fb page. realised that i still have alot of things un-bought un-prepared. time for me to chiong bb fair, im too relax liao...

cord blood banking, who's doing it? what is the cost huh? i didnt do it for my #1. since we done amino for this boy, maybe we should just do cord blood banking for him too.

where's the secret fb page that you're referring to? can share?

by the way since we're so close to our D-Day now, i'm thinking it would be good if we could form a bfg support group for us to go thru' the tough period together. or is there any group has been formed? mind to share?

fuzzybear, if taking the maid i chose 2 mths back then yes, my agent said she will still be paying her own loan coz that was the agreement before the loan regulation was enforced. i went to interview a transfer maid at my agent's office yesterday and she appears to be quite ok, will call my agent later to verify some details and may go ahead to confirm her.

mush, i haven't think yet what to wear leh. got to start thinking soon coz i am like running out of clothes again.

already, welcome! there was some earlier discussion about full month celebrations, but its quite costly if holding at clubs like SAFRA, NSRCC etc. depends on your budget too. i will likely hold mine at my SIL's condo function room instead as it will be very near to X'mas.

lxb, i think you feel twitches below coz baby is already in head down position? I started feeling the same around the time that gynae confirmed baby is in head down position too. the discomfort usually goes off after a while.

mumagain, its not a secret fb page la, all Nov mums can join. :D i think some of the mummies here can add if you can give your email address, i don't know how to add you in though. no bfg support group for now but i think we can just support each other in this thread or FB since most of us intend to bf anyway?

Morning Mummies!
It's a brand new week again! We are a week nearing to 'graduation'! :)

Been having breathelessness every night while on bed... And I have difficutly sleeping through the night.. wakes up at almost every 1-2 hours..

Any mummies facing the same as me?? Anyway to help in better breathing? Apart from sleeping in a sitting position?

morning mummies! JTS: i went to Mount A's hosp tour over the weekend and was given this booklet of vouchers. the vouchers have quite alot of maternity and newborn photoshoot packages promo, looks quite attractive tho i din really research on the market rate. there is also this full mth package gift set for our guests that i think looks pretty good. can take into consideration also: babyinlove.com.sg

on a sidenote: i'm feeling so so sleepy today although my whole wkend was mostly eating n slping only. guess the lethargic signs of 3rd tri is back already.

already: like wat littleprince replied, there were some recommendations on safra, nsrcc, aloha chalets, or condo function rooms. but may cost quite abit as end of the year is peak period with sch hols n xmas etc...

mumsagain: u can provide ur email then i add u in for the admin to approve for the fb secret page. =)

happietomato: my gynae taught me to slp on a higher pillow. it works for me so far.

happietomato, i wake very often at night too, either to pee or change sleeping position, and it doesn't help that hb is staying up late to watch soccer every night. :confused:

just spoke to my agent and confirmed the transfer maid, cross fingers that everything turns out well with this maid! she has worked for an employer here for 12 years before to take care of 2 kids in a terrace house and employer don't need a maid anymore so her contract ended. then she went home and returned a month later to work for 2nd employer to take care of an elderly. but the elderly didn't like her so she was returned to agent after a month. hopefully can fetch her home this Fri! :)

btw, mummies who have hired CL or are going to hire CL this round, are you following the practice to give an ang pow when CL comes and before she leaves? any idea what is the mkt rate to give the ang pow?

good morning mummies...

littleprince, sure ok with the new helper... dun worry...

I just confirmed mine on sat too... chose one from Indonesia with my cousin's help.

Littleprince, sounds like your transfer maid is not bad since she managed to stay 12 years with first employer. How much do you have to pay for a transfer maid? No need those upfront payments on loan etc right?

mumagain, we have better weight control with each pregnancy. haha. Previously i gained 14kg. With just 4 weeks to go, it's unlikely that i will reach the same weight as during #1's time.

Littleprince, I think it's like a must to give the angbao when the CL arrives. Standard is $28 I heard. That was what I gave previously. Then on her last day, my CL gave my girl an angbao. I also gave her one cos I was very happy w her. I rem my hubby told me to give $168. But I was very grateful to her and gave $268 out of my own packet.

morning mummies, how's everyone wkend. I spent my sleeping, hub complaining that i spend too much time dating with 'zhou gong' :p

went for my 30th week gynae visit. bb gain 0.5kg within 3wks and i gain almost 2kg. total weight gain 7kg, yikes, another 10wks to go. looks like im going pass the 10kg weight gain. with all the weight gain, im running out of clothes to wear, esp bottom. should i still be buying?

maid, was discussing with hub if we should employ one for his mother as she will be watching 2 kid. worry that she wont be able to cope. how much it is to get one now?

thks, mummies!

febie, then when can your helper come? time is a bit tight now since we left abt 2 mths left to EDD.

SN, i also feel she shld be ok coz in terms of elderly, sometimes they just don't like hvg a maid ard so may not be her fault tt the old lady didn't want her. if she can work 12 years for 1st employer and some more bigger house, i think she should be ok lor. i already paid agency fee 2 mths back for a new maid then, so no need to pay anything extra now except this transfer maid has a bit of loan left to clear (she cleared a month on her own when she was with her 2nd employer), she will clear from part of her salary over the next few months as she also need to send money home for her mum who is not well. i will need to pay her balance loan upfront and she clear from her salary lor. but i will see how, if she is good then maybe i will help her clear a bit so that she can send more money home to her mum. hopefully she appreciates this gesture and continue to be good.

bunnymummy, the CL i am hiring used to help my SIL for her 2 kids. My SIL gave a big ang pow at end of confinement instead. But i am thinking to give her a small ang pow (yi si yi si) and give her a bigger one depending on her performance during my CL lor. thks, i probably give $28 at first then. yar, i know they will also give our baby ang pow for good luck during her full mth.

mush, i find it very uncomfortable to wear pants so i am wearing dresses mostly now. still have an ASOS package on the way and after this, i think i won't buy anymore. :D 10kg weight gain is not a lot la ... will your MIL like to have a maid around? some old people cannot stand maids around lor, so maybe better to get her opinion before deciding. maid's salary ranges between $450 to $550 or more now depending on experience and nationality and off days.

littleprince mine within 2 mths... I need to complete the online assessment first.
likely tmr or day after then I can find time to do the assessment. my due date ard 25 nov so still enough time for me...
shall guide her along during my maternity leave which is better than she come before bah...

Mummychua, I got a helper because somedays I will be handling baby and my boy alone, plus my mum is almost 60 and have difficulties with her legs so better have one to stand by esp on days when I cant make it to fetch #1, at least helper at hm can look after #2 while she helps me to fetch #1.

btw, mummies who have hired CL or are going to hire CL this round, are you following the practice to give an ang pow when CL comes and before she leaves? any idea what is the mkt rate to give the ang pow?

hi little prince, i hired a cl in 2012, i gave her $28 when come. when leaving i gave her $168 cos i was pleased with her work done

hello everyone

i was from the dec baby thread but because i've opted for c-section, my baby will be born in end nov instead.

anyone have any recommendations for nice places to rent for full month party? like which country club or community club or ?
any recommended places to obtain nice party balloons and deco?

thanks in advance

hello already. i am same like u. with edd on 1 dec. but most likely will opt for csec in mid nov. unless gynae allows me to vbac. even vbac i guess will be mid-end nov too. cos both my kids arrived in 37 weeks or so.

i m contemplating to hold full month at marriott. i see they having some promos. will hold it slightly grander. cos thinking of combining with elder son 5th yr old

Thanks mummies.. Ya the pain does go off n come back once in a while. I guess the pain is worth it to know that at least bb is moving down..

Feeling very low these few days.. Duno if its the weather or homo changes.. Feel like a big fat pig having problem walking around n feel so tired easily.. Most of my clothes can't fit.. Looking at friends planning holiday m yet I can't even predict when my next holiday is coming.. Go out on streets see people wear pretty clothes, I can't.. Want to make myself go parks n walk but i cant wake up early enough in the morning to do so.. Really sad.. Dan now have to control weight to prevent bb oversize.. Sigh.. Trying to make myself feel better but it's getting difficult.. :(

Hello! Busy the whole morning lecturing teachers.. only free to come in now.. how was ur wkend? I see a lot of ppl catching up on slp! me on the other hand didn't sleep enough. finally put my 2 boys in the same room and we are all having adjustment issues. #2 will wake up abt 3-4am and crawl to snuggle next to his kor kor.. who will then wake up.. the first night we put them together, my#2 kept wanting to play with my #1! Plus every movement they make will wake me so i m really quite exhausted. Lastly i sent my maid to her new employer on Sat so have been maidless for a few days.. so far so gd.. we kinda enjoy just bonding with the boys.

Little Prince, all the best to ur selection. hope this maid clicks with u.. if she can tahan 12 yrs with her first employer means she is a pretty decent worker. i do agree that old folks can be really fussy abt their caregiver. :) is this an Indo or Fil maid?

Happi Tomato, waking up in the middle of the night is very common and normal.. it is to prep u for the impending arrival of ur bb! i haven't really had a gd night's slp since the arrival of #1 5 yrs ago. the earliest u get to have ur beauty slp back is abt 18-24 mths if your baby is trained to slp through the night at a young age. as for feeling breathless, try slping on ur sides or propped up.

Mummychua, best is if u ask ur MIL if she needs help. u need to paint her all possible scenarios, like what will happen if #2 is napping and she needs to pick #1 up. see what she says.. also tell her that time is needed to get a maid so if need one you shd get one soon so that she can be trained during ur confinement.

Xiaober, here u go again.. cheer up.. u need to tell urself all these changes u are experiencing worth it. why do u want to compare to those without kids/ not pregnant/ have grown up kids? there are things u have that others won't have, like experiencing the feeling of bb kicking in u. as for ur baby weight, if ur doc says need to control then u control. i nv see a mom proactively trying to control weight of bb on her own. for me i rather a bigger baby than a small one cos tiny babies are really hard to handle!

xiaober: i think it's ur hormones affecting u again.. i'm also thinking when i can start travelling again but dun dare to make any far plans cos depends on how stable baby is also. doesnt help that my emails always have those airline promos tempting me. i dun even bother to look at them now, just delete. haha.. as for clothes hor.. every wkend i wear the same 2 tshirts/ shorts. lol.. limited preggy casual wear. we're reaching our finishing line soon.. try to do things that will make urself happier, eat good food, happy food, instead of thinking abt things that will make u feel jealous or envy... =)

Anyone know anything/something about cordlife? I heard we have to decide if we want to keep our baby cordstem or donate before we deliver? True?

Linxiaober: I bought as picture in link below from kiddy palace, cost about $100 -$130. However, I do not find it useful/helpful as in supporting the back. Its useful when u want to sleep side ways; need something in between your legs for comfort & support tummy or raise your leg for blood flow.
Think there are a few more different shapes in other shops. A lot places sell, online, spring maternity , mothercare & etc.
When I have backache, I will take a warm shower, then raise my leg for about 15 to 30 mins and after tat I sleep on my sides like a cocoon; two legs almost 90 degree. http://list.qoo10.sg/item/THERALINE-MATERNITY-AND-NURSING/405693820

Manawab: Take care!

Cheers21: Welcome!

Have a good long long weekend everyone!
Hi 2013san, Cordlife would be at upcoming baby event you you wanna find out more about cord blood banking: https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?...a.105566409480905.5123.105518849485661&type=1

you have to decide if you wish to bank your baby's cord blood before the delivery because the cord blood is collected at the time of delivery, else the cord and placenta would be discarded. i have banked my baby girl's cord blood with Cordlife after comparing the differences with StemCord and they are better in many ways. like littleprince mentioned, do check up with them the event or call their hotline to find out more.

fuzzybear, littleprince, actually i doubt my mil will like to have a maid ard. she very kiasi, she will be very worry that the maid will rob her. haha... just that she's not very young so 2 kids can be quite taxing for her to look after. the only good thing is my #1 is attending 3hr kindy and she's quite low maintenance. but there's always a chance that her behaviour will change when didi is born. i just hope that this bb will be a easy one to handle.

lxb, its the hormones! i do feel down from time to time too. esp when we get heavier. im quite depress abt my size and im very bothered that i walk a little like penguin now. cheer up!!!

Hello! Busy the whole morning lecturing teachers.. only free to come in now.. how was ur wkend? I see a lot of ppl catching up on slp! me on the other hand didn't sleep enough. finally put my 2 boys in the same room and we are all having adjustment issues. #2 will wake up abt 3-4am and crawl to snuggle next to his kor kor.. who will then wake up.. the first night we put them together, my#2 kept wanting to play with my #1! Plus every movement they make will wake me so i m really quite exhausted. Lastly i sent my maid to her new employer on Sat so have been maidless for a few days.. so far so gd.. we kinda enjoy just bonding with the boys.

Little Prince, all the best to ur selection. hope this maid clicks with u.. if she can tahan 12 yrs with her first employer means she is a pretty decent worker. i do agree that old folks can be really fussy abt their caregiver. :) is this an Indo or Fil maid?

Happi Tomato, waking up in the middle of the night is very common and normal.. it is to prep u for the impending arrival of ur bb! i haven't really had a gd night's slp since the arrival of #1 5 yrs ago. the earliest u get to have ur beauty slp back is abt 18-24 mths if your baby is trained to slp through the night at a young age. as for feeling breathless, try slping on ur sides or propped up.

Mummychua, best is if u ask ur MIL if she needs help. u need to paint her all possible scenarios, like what will happen if #2 is napping and she needs to pick #1 up. see what she says.. also tell her that time is needed to get a maid so if need one you shd get one soon so that she can be trained during ur confinement.

Xiaober, here u go again.. cheer up.. u need to tell urself all these changes u are experiencing worth it. why do u want to compare to those without kids/ not pregnant/ have grown up kids? there are things u have that others won't have, like experiencing the feeling of bb kicking in u. as for ur baby weight, if ur doc says need to control then u control. i nv see a mom proactively trying to control weight of bb on her own. for me i rather a bigger baby than a small one cos tiny babies are really hard to handle!

fuzzybear: ya i know.. i trying to keep myself happy by giving myself small motivation when i can achieve small things like can walk abit more or do abit more.. actually my gynae didnt really control me on my weight.. is my hub that wants me to control cos he scare i will have a hard time delivering a big size baby.. so i also try to minimize my intake.. just some precaution steps..

xiaober: i think it's ur hormones affecting u again.. i'm also thinking when i can start travelling again but dun dare to make any far plans cos depends on how stable baby is also. doesnt help that my emails always have those airline promos tempting me. i dun even bother to look at them now, just delete. haha.. as for clothes hor.. every wkend i wear the same 2 tshirts/ shorts. lol.. limited preggy casual wear. we're reaching our finishing line soon.. try to do things that will make urself happier, eat good food, happy food, instead of thinking abt things that will make u feel jealous or envy... =)

xu4n: i think so too.. lucky that at least it only happens once in a while.. guess recently i have too many friends telling me that they are going holiday.. and mostly all go to taiwan my fave country! now even JB also cant go cos in laws say alot of robberies not safe dun let us go.. if not at least still can have those feel of passport chop feel.. hahaha trying to persuade hubby to go.. same as you i also not much clothes already... everyday wearing the same clothes.. pj also cant wear.. no big size tops from hub that i can wear cos he is skinner dan me!! :s

mush: ya thanks! maybe because now baby is gaining all the fats now, so our weight gain is increasing very fast.. but i also feel like a buffalo.. but given that now is wk 34.. i am really counting down! think we should all start counting down too!

Hi everyone.. so busy at work recently so didnt log in.

My new helper came within 2 weeks after i confirmed. I wanted her to come in Oct but the agent at Indo can't wait to send her off coz once confirmed they want her to go to avoid additional costs. Even my agent also shocked that everything was done so soon.

It's her 2nd week and so far so good. My house is totally spick and span, can't even find a single random thing lying around. All packed and organized by her. We do have a bit of language barrier as she speaks little english but i bought her an indo-english dictionary which she studies at night during her free time to translate my schedule into her own language. I also did my part to ask my friend to help translate for her better understanding. There are certain things i only need her to do once or twice a week, so she will draw up her own time-table and plan the dates she will get them done. Considering this is my 1st time getting a maid, I'm really happy so far. She can also cook, and learns pretty fast after watching my mum for a few times and manage to whip up some dishes which suits our taste. I hope this can last...

My total weight gain is now 9kg. For the past 1 month i put on 2kg, 1kg goes to baby! But according to my gynae everything is well and he says me and baby are growing at a healthy rate. So I still eat whatever i crave lor.

LittlePrince: My SIL told me she gave 2 ang baos to her CL. On her first day, she gave $60 & on her last day, she gave $120. I guess you can go along this line?

Xuan / Fuzzybear / Littleprince: I used to be able to sleep through the whole night, except whereby on some days, I occasionally wakes up to pee… These past few nights was slightly worse-off.. I cant breathe normally… Tried propping up my pillow and have bolsters both on my sides… Didn’t have a good sleep at all.. Hopefully this ‘breatheless’ goes off soon!

Xiaober: Don’t worry about the weight gain.. We can all lose them after delivery! My weight gain to-date is around 14-15kg and I know it’s a lot on me too! BB was only 1.422kg at week 29.. I will be going for my gynae’s visit this Friday.. Hopefully, BB is still of a healthy weight range. For now, spend more time on yourself as when BB arrives, we will have lesser time for ourselves.. And also, go for dinners and movies with hubby before we all ‘graduate’.. Cheer up! :D

yes LXB, guess it's the hormones... I can always complain to my mum and sis... only they care... My hubby on the other hand still think that I'm not preggy etc...
still have to pack rice etc for him, tasked by him to attend to #1 despite #1 calling for him... really feel like picking up a fight with him sometimes but i'm just too tired and sian...
Dun worry about holiday... after baby arrived etc, time passes fast and before you knew it you will be planning a holiday. :)

Fuzzybear, I agreed on the slp part. I haven have a good slp for 4 yrs... hahahaa... Despite badly lack of quality sleep, I muz say motherhood is amazing...
you will be wondering where your super power energy came from sometimes... :)

Kayliz, good start to a good maid... hope everything is good thru out and no headache. :)

dun worry abt the weight gain...
the placenta and water bag etc plus water retention could be more than you imagine...
plus if breastfeeding consistently, you will lose all the weight gain... :)
cheer up everyone... think abt having a smiley baby when you delivered...
You dun wan someone grumpy staring at you right? ;)

fuzzybear, yr maid got a new employer already? how did your kids react to her leaving? eh, you lectured your kids' teachers ah? the transfer maid i am getting is a Fil helper, i hope too tt everything will work out fine.

lxb, cheer up! i also get the blues when hb was working throughout every wkday and wkend for the last mth and i need to handle all the housework on my own. you can reinstate that kind of life after baby is born but your friends won't be able to experience what you are experiencing now/ahead till they have a kid. should be looking forward to counting down!

mush, if your MIL don't need a helper yet then maybe don't get one for now. having a helper brings along issues and extra responsibilities too, if really need to have one then get one lor else bring unnecessary issues to yourself.

kayliz, good to know your new helper is good! i heard there is an app in smartphones for translating indonesian malay to English too, maybe you can try?

helpers - kayliz and fuzzybear or other mummies, your helper sleeps alone in a room or share room with your kids? do you allow your maid to close her door at night when sleeping?

thks, ninilicious and happietomato for sharing the ang pow rates for CL!

littleprince, I'm intending to let helper sleep with #2. prefer not to close door as if I need to latch #2, can just walk in and and carry bb out, dun wan to disturb her slp too... but if weather too hot etc, will let her on air-condition to slp lor since slp with #2 gotta be fair...

fuzzybear, if taking the maid i chose 2 mths back then yes, my agent said she will still be paying her own loan coz that was the agreement before the loan regulation was enforced. i went to interview a transfer maid at my agent's office yesterday and she appears to be quite ok, will call my agent later to verify some details and may go ahead to confirm her.

mush, i haven't think yet what to wear leh. got to start thinking soon coz i am like running out of clothes again.

already, welcome! there was some earlier discussion about full month celebrations, but its quite costly if holding at clubs like SAFRA, NSRCC etc. depends on your budget too. i will likely hold mine at my SIL's condo function room instead as it will be very near to X'mas.

lxb, i think you feel twitches below coz baby is already in head down position? I started feeling the same around the time that gynae confirmed baby is in head down position too. the discomfort usually goes off after a while.

mumagain, its not a secret fb page la, all Nov mums can join. :D i think some of the mummies here can add if you can give your email address, i don't know how to add you in though. no bfg support group for now but i think we can just support each other in this thread or FB since most of us intend to bf anyway?

Thanks littleprince. The full month party will also be very near christmas..but i'm looking forward to it because finally I CAN FEAST!!!! :)

kayliz, it's really nice to hear all these positive stories about maids. Cos we have heard too many negative ones already. Must be really nice to come home to a clean house! And so much nicer when the maid can cook nice dishes too! Do indonesians typically cook better than filipinos?

lxb, agree with everyone else. It's actually still very manageable with just 1 kid. You can still go on holidays and go out for nice dinners.

Morning Mummies!
It's a brand new week again! We are a week nearing to 'graduation'! :)

Been having breathelessness every night while on bed... And I have difficutly sleeping through the night.. wakes up at almost every 1-2 hours..

Any mummies facing the same as me?? Anyway to help in better breathing? Apart from sleeping in a sitting position?

Maybe not eating too full will help with the breathlessness?

morning mummies! JTS: i went to Mount A's hosp tour over the weekend and was given this booklet of vouchers. the vouchers have quite alot of maternity and newborn photoshoot packages promo, looks quite attractive tho i din really research on the market rate. there is also this full mth package gift set for our guests that i think looks pretty good. can take into consideration also: babyinlove.com.sg

on a sidenote: i'm feeling so so sleepy today although my whole wkend was mostly eating n slping only. guess the lethargic signs of 3rd tri is back already.

already: like wat littleprince replied, there were some recommendations on safra, nsrcc, aloha chalets, or condo function rooms. but may cost quite abit as end of the year is peak period with sch hols n xmas etc...

mumsagain: u can provide ur email then i add u in for the admin to approve for the fb secret page. =)

happietomato: my gynae taught me to slp on a higher pillow. it works for me so far.

ya i totally forgot about it being more expensive or booked cos it's near christmas till i saw all your replies here. :/

Xiaober, u know having a bb with low birth weight isn't gd either. i just read a mom that delivered her bb at 37-38 wks but bb only 1.7kg. there are certain risks associated with lower birth weight. my suggestion is to eat healthily and in moderation. why is ur hb worried abt u gaining weight? delivering a baby is just one tiny part of parenthood. and he isn't the one doing the hard work!

Hapi Tomato, as u go bigger it will only get worse.. if u haven't had pelvic pain, well, lucky u.. ur pubic bone will separate so that bb will engage downwards. that is more uncomfortable than being breathless. cos it is sheer agony trying to turn in bed! getting out of bed also pain man. Anyway all these will come to an end when u pop and by then u will wish that bb is still inside u cos the other set of probs is more long term!

Little Prince, ya my maid found herself an employment agency that deals with expats mainly. her new employer is an Aussie family with 2 kids. my kids are ok so far. i thought my#2 will miss her more (#1 already went through one maid change) but strangely no.. they are all happy. Hahah no i wasn't lecturing my kids' teachers. i was lecturing NIE teachers-to-be this morning.

Kayliz, sounds like u got urself a gd maid. congrats!

Febie, why don't u let ur #1 slp with ur maid? at least anything happens at night, ur #1 can articulate. ya sometimes i look back to think i used to slp like 12hrs straight, now i can survive with 5hrs of broken slp a day!

hello already. i am same like u. with edd on 1 dec. but most likely will opt for csec in mid nov. unless gynae allows me to vbac. even vbac i guess will be mid-end nov too. cos both my kids arrived in 37 weeks or so.

i m contemplating to hold full month at marriott. i see they having some promos. will hold it slightly grander. cos thinking of combining with elder son 5th yr old

ic, mine was supposed to be 4 dec edd, we are not very far apart :)

i was looking at jumbo seafood restaurant at nsrcc, they have this catering thing and depending on the number of pax, you can hold in the boardroom (extra $120) or restaurant..ive tried their dim sum before and it was surprisingly good. I intend to have it on weekend like sat or sun but the dim sum buffet menu is not available on weekends :( so the cheapest will be $22/pax with min of 30 pax.. http://www.jumboseafood.com.sg/Catering_Menu.pdf look at the menu! im hungry liaoz.

fuzzybear, yr maid got a new employer already? how did your kids react to her leaving? eh, you lectured your kids' teachers ah? the transfer maid i am getting is a Fil helper, i hope too tt everything will work out fine.

kayliz, good to know your new helper is good! i heard there is an app in smartphones for translating indonesian malay to English too, maybe you can try?

helpers - kayliz and fuzzybear or other mummies, your helper sleeps alone in a room or share room with your kids? do you allow your maid to close her door at night when sleeping?

little prince, i downloaded the app but sometimes it isn't really accurate. For simple short phrases i use the app. So i got my malay speaking friends to help me translate as i have a short list of house rules & schedule.. including what detergent to use and what color cloth for which purpose.

my helper sleeps in a room by herself, but my gal's toys and clothes are all there. she doesn't close the room door no matter what and she changes her clothes only in the bathroom. she needs to do her prayers and sometimes i accidentally enter the room in the middle of her prayers, so i told her to close the door if she is praying but she says no need. i wont let her sleep with my kids, except during confinement when the CL is around. (But dont think my #1 is willing to sleep with her too.) her actual job scope is still to do housework and i handle my kid on my own. my gal is ok to play with her but when we are outside, she refused to have any contact with my helper. Haha.

kayliz, it's really nice to hear all these positive stories about maids. Cos we have heard too many negative ones already. Must be really nice to come home to a clean house! And so much nicer when the maid can cook nice dishes too! Do indonesians typically cook better than filipinos?

SN, yes! i really appreciate everything, although my mum ask me not to be so contented so soon as she might just be trying to give a good first impression. =.= but i dont want to think so much la. wait until the time she chut pattern then say lor.

I dunno coz i nv have any Filippino maid before, but my maid used to work in Arab, she cooks for the whole family with 7 kids. I suppose it is due to her experience of cooking, she is able to learn from my mum easily.

fuzzybear, I can't let #1 sleep with the helper else he will have lots of hatred for his didi...
He has been co-sleeping with me and chased his dad to the mattress. so if I were to put him with the new helper, I guess that will destroy the trust
we build especially during this period... can feel his strong jealousy now. I tot of having #2 to sleep in the same room as us but worry that with the 3 hours interval of feeding and changing might wake up #1 and hubby. Hubby's job requires more rest.

Yes I wonder how we can survive with that few hours of broken sleep and still being able to smile and work... hahaha...

Kayliz, so #1 stay home with your helper now? with your mum coming over daily?

already, you can check with qianxi... my friend always held bb's full mth and 1st birthday party there.
She will go to the one at Katong... Not sure where's your location.

mummies, do you think your moods will affect your baby?
got a new boss recently and he is driving me crazy! got so upset with him last week that i broke down. felt so guilty towards my baby after that...

febie, my mum comes over daily, they will have lunch etc then if my mum is cooking dinner, she will bring #1 and my maid to her place (coz my mum cooks for whole family) to help out and learn to cook.
then they will bring the food for me and my hubby in the evening. if not, my mum will bring #1 to her place. maid will be alone at home. but we make sure she has food to cook her own meals. but after baby is out, then most prob all will stay at my house...

Febie, if u start training ur #1 to slp in his own room now, he might not associate it with bb's arrival. to entice ur son, u might need to invest in a cool bedroom set etc. and u might have to take turns slping with him. the earlier u start, the better for u. don't say anything abt him disliking his didi.. in fact praise him for stroking ur tummy etc.. :) huh, ur hb's job requires more rest? and u dun need? i feel like parenthood is 50-50 share.. u have to juggle ur job and ur son too right? can't be u handling both boys and ur job when ur #2 comes!

I am actually nodding off to slp.. so tired... thank goodness i m on leave 3 days this week to help my dad with the childcare. my boys will prob bully him like mad.

Manawab, u poor thing.. haven't seen u much lately.. what's up with ur new boss? a**hole? hang in there. i believe your beliefs will shape how u react to ur bb.. if ur bb is grouchy, and u think its cos u are had a bad preg, then u will attribute to it.. so i try not to think abt anything and just enjoy my bb the way he/she is born.. come talk to us..

fuzzybear, i've been busy trying to manage my boss! aiyo.. come in w/n a week and he wants to change the way we do things. dismisses all the work that we've done previously, and want us to do things his way. sighs... felt so inadequate and incompetent. hubby and mum told me not to get so worked up cos it'll affect baby. so just wondering if what they said is valid..

I've been following the thread. just didn't respond. all the maid talk is v informative! took half-day leave tomorrow to try to settle that...

Fuzzybear, every household has it problem.... my hubby has never look after my #1 despite #1 is in his 43mths...
To him the responsibility is to keep the hse clean for both of us...
but seriously, not exactly that clean either but trying not to pick a fight unnecessary.

When he did not spent enough time with #1 and #1 refused to greet him etc, he will attack both of us without thinking it's his problem...

anyway he doesn't send my boy to sch and do not know what I have been thru for the past 2 months. He always assume life is a bed of roses for me when
I refused to say much etc.... been too independent I guess... I went for the maid selection since he refused to do anything... once he heard we confirmed the maid etc, he just show us his black face as usual.

I bought a bed for #1 and he chose it but he refused to move and slp on his own. Got him everything he wanted but he still refused to move..
So I tell myself that I shall not force him.... Enjoy this moment with him until he feels that he's ready to sleep on his own or with his bro.

mawanab, bear with it... just curse and swear to make yourself better...

wah febie sounds like u're a very good tempered person. if i'm in ur shoes, i will sure blow up n insist to "talk it out" with my hub. i guess that's due to my personality also lah..

i'm not an experienced mum, but i think ur #1 just needs time to get used to slp on his own in his new bed. need to start him on the new habit, maybe encourage/ praise/ reward him. cos if u wait for him to be ready, the chance is he will nv ever be ready.. i've seen how my friends try to change their kids' bed or get them to slp alone in their room, takes quite some time, but eventually they succeed. =)

febie, i don't need to curse and swear la... just talking abt it makes me feel better liao! heh... tks girls!

tks third3timemum for the useful list!!