(2013/11) November 2013

I think my son is alright now, except for the red dots, he also never complain itchy anymore, and he requested to eat the zinger rice from kfc earlier on, if he can swallow rice, think he's ok.

Maybe you can boil barley water for him to drink, or chrysanthemum , usually drinking plenty of water will help get rid of the virus, nothing much Doctor can prescribe as well, only calamine lotion to cool the affected areas, and nothing else.

I think you cannot really force a kid to eat, think if they are hungry, they will ask for food. Maybe your son is not well now, so no appetite at all.

Recently my son told him he doesn't want to go to the childcare because the food is not nice, and there is fish which he doesn't like, so I said just tell the teachers you can't eat so much, he said sometimes he vomited and teacher still forced him to eat. So I told him to ask his teacher if there's any food which the teacher don't like, and if anyone force her to eat. I already highlighted to the principal about this.

Sometimes he doesn't take breakfast & lunch and we don't force him to eat.

Doctor also told me not to share food with my son, and use separate utensils.
good to know he is alright now... yeah we shouldn't force him, but seriously i was damn worried as he didn't take milk or food.. you try highlight to teacher also not to force...

fuzzybear, okok. maybe i shall wait just till end of this week and see how else i ctc yr agent instead. haiya, today i am very sick of biscuits already. eh, your health comes first la. already gone through 2 difficult trimesters so if you need to take leave, you must do it lor. don't risk yourself or baby's health for work. the company won't collapse without you.

thirdtimemum, oh dear poor boy! but you are right that need to be careful coz HFMD can spread to adults and somemore you are pregnant. hope hb can manage him more so that it won't be a difficult time for you. do take care and take care of personal hygiene if you need to handle your boy.

momnov, do take care of yourself too! think weather is not too good, many kids are not feeling well. my boy was having a slight flu over the weekend but saw he was much better this morning, must increase vit c dosage!
thanks little prince...hmm, weather is not good... just hope he can start feeling better n eating...

er momnov, you locked your son in his room to cry? poor boy. he was already sick, of course he has no appetite. You wouldn't want him to be sick and hungry and sad all at the same time. Even adults don't feel like eating when we are sick. as long as he drinks some milk, or even eat some biscuits, ice cream, it's good enough already. you can feed him more when he recovers fully.

SN, yes... i was furious... he was finding so many tactics not to eat... normally when is healthy also its same problem to feed him.. switch on TV... keep on telling him if u dont eat we will go out... i dunno how to change this habit.. since birth he doesn't like to eat or drink... so most of the time we dreamfeed milk... n divert his mind to feed food...

that day since morning he didn't eat, no milk or food... we were waiting for him to feel better from fever.. night he was ok... even if he had taken few spoons also i would have been happy... whenever we say him to eat he find excuses to drink water or change tv program or to something...

i know i was very rude, i shouldn't have done that... feeling guilty now too.. i am not sure how to make him eat.. he is impatience and stubborn when is hungry and keep crying but doesn't understand he is hungry n he wants to eat...

same here, thirdtimemum. My son sometimes doesnt take breakfast or lunch or dinner and we don't force him to eat too. Our tactic is to eat first and usually when he sees that what we are eating is interesting and yummy, he will auto request to eat it too. If we force him to eat, he will think that eating is a chore.

he never ask any food to eat... he doesn't know he is hungry n he wants to eat... i always thought when he grow up he will understand so we most of the time dream fed the milk n feed food diverting his mind... i guess that was big mistake i did... am an inexperienced mummy.

Oohh the dreaded HFMD..hope n pray it goes away soon.Thanks for the warm welcome to this thread..me n hubby are really excited since it is our first child plus we have been trying for 6yrs+..and this surprise baby is really a nice surprise..btw, anyone here gave birth at Raffles Hosp or intend to??

SN, yes... i was furious... he was finding so many tactics not to eat... normally when is healthy also its same problem to feed him.. switch on TV... keep on telling him if u dont eat we will go out... i dunno how to change this habit.. since birth he doesn't like to eat or drink... so most of the time we dreamfeed milk... n divert his mind to feed food...

that day since morning he didn't eat, no milk or food... we were waiting for him to feel better from fever.. night he was ok... even if he had taken few spoons also i would have been happy... whenever we say him to eat he find excuses to drink water or change tv program or to something...

i know i was very rude, i shouldn't have done that... feeling guilty now too.. i am not sure how to make him eat.. he is impatience and stubborn when is hungry and keep crying but doesn't understand he is hungry n he wants to eat...

How's ur kid's diet like? as in what is his meal times, what he eats etc? I find it doesn't help when u have to bribe them to eat. eating should be a self preservation way of life.

I don't give snacks if i realised my son can't complete his meals. at most a cup of milk in btw meals. if he requests for more, i usually tell him to show me that he can finish his dinner and if he does i will give him more next day onwards.

I am strict at meal times. no tv at all. don't finish, i throw.. i dun really care if my kids go hungry for a night because it teaches them the value of hunger. people might think i m cruel but i feel that we cannot always be moddly coddly.. they gotta learn that there are consequences for choosing a certain course of action. the younger they learn the lesson, the easier for them to adapt it to their daily lives.

So for me, no tv, no snacks, no leaving the table until he finishes his food. when my son was 2-3 yrs old we had a some crying bouts when he refused to eat. we just remove him from the table and throw his meals away. before he turned 3, these incidents were far and few in btw cos he knows he is in the wrong. however, when he is sick, these rules do not apply at all. I will feed him whatever he can stomach.. ice-cream, barley, ribena (he doesn't get to eat these when he is well) just to get some calories and fluids in.

i remembered there was a discussion on catered confinement food.. cant seems to find back that page.. can anyone advise what was the final conclusion of which is the best caterer? :)

he never ask any food to eat... he doesn't know he is hungry n he wants to eat... i always thought when he grow up he will understand so we most of the time dream fed the milk n feed food diverting his mind... i guess that was big mistake i did... am an inexperienced mummy.

momnov, why not buy him an ice-cream today? :) I'm sure he will be delighted.

1 of my potential temp candidate fly me aeroplane. SIGH! i guess better to fly me aeroplane now better than when i'm on ML lah.

djbaby: there was no conclusion to which is the best confinement caterer i think, depends on individual preference. maybe u can order trial meals before deciding? or just order trial meal from the 1 that u think looks best to u, if taste ok then just book. haha...

How's ur kid's diet like? as in what is his meal times, what he eats etc? I find it doesn't help when u have to bribe them to eat. eating should be a self preservation way of life.

I don't give snacks if i realised my son can't complete his meals. at most a cup of milk in btw meals. if he requests for more, i usually tell him to show me that he can finish his dinner and if he does i will give him more next day onwards.

I am strict at meal times. no tv at all. don't finish, i throw.. i dun really care if my kids go hungry for a night because it teaches them the value of hunger. people might think i m cruel but i feel that we cannot always be moddly coddly.. they gotta learn that there are consequences for choosing a certain course of action. the younger they learn the lesson, the easier for them to adapt it to their daily lives.

So for me, no tv, no snacks, no leaving the table until he finishes his food. when my son was 2-3 yrs old we had a some crying bouts when he refused to eat. we just remove him from the table and throw his meals away. before he turned 3, these incidents were far and few in btw cos he knows he is in the wrong. however, when he is sick, these rules do not apply at all. I will feed him whatever he can stomach.. ice-cream, barley, ribena (he doesn't get to eat these when he is well) just to get some calories and fluids in.

he literally doesn't like to eat anything... he is 2.5 yrs old, just swallow wat we put on his mouth... problem is he will not open his mouth to feed...

his food is mashed food, rice with veggies or soup kinda of... he can't take little spice also... i can say he still on baby food... we give him 1 or 2 times mashed fruit or fruit juices... if we offer him biscuit he will play n throw it... he doesn't know to chew or eat... never asked himself he wants to eat something till now...

any inputs how to make him practice chew or encourage him to eat? great upset on him n myself failing him to teach proper way..

1 of my potential temp candidate fly me aeroplane. SIGH! i guess better to fly me aeroplane now better than when i'm on ML lah.

djbaby: there was no conclusion to which is the best confinement caterer i think, depends on individual preference. maybe u can order trial meals before deciding? or just order trial meal from the 1 that u think looks best to u, if taste ok then just book. haha...

oh! wat do you mean by fly me aeroplane? i wish you best luck to find replacement soon... try posting in forums, fbs, job sites...

faisue16: Welcome to this thread! Wow, can't imagine ur shock & happiness when the gynae tell u that u r preg! Classic "I didn't know I was pregnant"!!

Pinky: I think it was Kayliz who wanted to buy bottles & pump parts from US and asking if anyone interested in sharing.. Didnt see her ard recently, maybe u wan to pm her. I make my first purchase on drugstore recently.. I used my cc to purchase, the billing address, i just put the "US address" given by Comgateway as I'm shipping via them to SG. Hope this helps. My purchase now on its way to Comgateway.. If u want, i can update u again once i rec'd my stuff successfully.

Went to gynae last Fri, and i was shocked to put on 3.5kg in 3 weeks... So depressing! But my gynae was ok with it and say it's ok to gain weight. My lil one was weighing 1.3kg at 28 weeks and i was thinking is on the big side but Gynae still say it's a gd weight. Think i need to cut back on my tea break intake for the time being and monitor again coz my target in overall weight gain is dun exceed 12kg in total!

fuzzybear, okok. maybe i shall wait just till end of this week and see how else i ctc yr agent instead. haiya, today i am very sick of biscuits already. eh, your health comes first la. already gone through 2 difficult trimesters so if you need to take leave, you must do it lor. don't risk yourself or baby's health for work. the company won't collapse without you.

thirdtimemum, oh dear poor boy! but you are right that need to be careful coz HFMD can spread to adults and somemore you are pregnant. hope hb can manage him more so that it won't be a difficult time for you. do take care and take care of personal hygiene if you need to handle your boy.

momnov, do take care of yourself too! think weather is not too good, many kids are not feeling well. my boy was having a slight flu over the weekend but saw he was much better this morning, must increase vit c dosage!

any recommendation on vit c for toddlers?

faisue16: Welcome to this thread! Wow, can't imagine ur shock & happiness when the gynae tell u that u r preg! Classic "I didn't know I was pregnant"!!

Pinky: I think it was Kayliz who wanted to buy bottles & pump parts from US and asking if anyone interested in sharing.. Didnt see her ard recently, maybe u wan to pm her. I make my first purchase on drugstore recently.. I used my cc to purchase, the billing address, i just put the "US address" given by Comgateway as I'm shipping via them to SG. Hope this helps. My purchase now on its way to Comgateway.. If u want, i can update u again once i rec'd my stuff successfully.

Went to gynae last Fri, and i was shocked to put on 3.5kg in 3 weeks... So depressing! But my gynae was ok with it and say it's ok to gain weight. My lil one was weighing 1.3kg at 28 weeks and i was thinking is on the big side but Gynae still say it's a gd weight. Think i need to cut back on my tea break intake for the time being and monitor again coz my target in overall weight gain is dun exceed 12kg in total!

my lil one also weighs around 1.3 at 28 weeks n i gained 3.5kg in 4 weeks... my gynae didn't say anything...

oh! wat do you mean by fly me aeroplane? i wish you best luck to find replacement soon... try posting in forums, fbs, job sites...

momnov: the candidate just didn't show up, called her also never pick up her phone. after a few calls then she replied my email saying that she's not keen. -.-

he literally doesn't like to eat anything... he is 2.5 yrs old, just swallow wat we put on his mouth... problem is he will not open his mouth to feed...

his food is mashed food, rice with veggies or soup kinda of... he can't take little spice also... i can say he still on baby food... we give him 1 or 2 times mashed fruit or fruit juices... if we offer him biscuit he will play n throw it... he doesn't know to chew or eat... never asked himself he wants to eat something till now...

any inputs how to make him practice chew or encourage him to eat? great upset on him n myself failing him to teach proper way..

We asked our PD before, how to encourage my son to eat. Our PD said, give him french fries and nuggets, i.e. food that kids will definitely like. We were shocked that our PD was so "modern", as we always had the impression that such food is bad for kids. But our PD is right, it is better for them to eat (even unhealthy food) than don't eat at all. So, we let him try everything that we eat (except spicy food). He started to love eating and recently, his cc even said that he is eating alot more in school. which is a breakthrough because cc food can be boring and bland. The fact that he is willing to eat cc food proves that it doesnt mean giving them unhealthy food to eat (french fries) will "spoil market". You need to first of all make your son realise that eating is a joyful experience.

3xmum, guess we are facing the same scenario abt not eating in school.
My boy has this habit to force himself to vomit when he's full or dun like the food.
I have been facing this issue for a mth. the problem is with leafy veg.
I have to ensure him by telling his teacher that he shall only have half a bowl of rice with as little veg as possible....
He has got to the extend of crying and whining every evening... now it's chanting before bed and after he wakes up in the morning...

Those having HFMD, guess it's heaty too... my friend taught me to boil barley and green bean together but green bean muz still be round and not cracks open... just drink the water.

Hi mummies, how is a bh contraction suppose to feel like? Bb hav been moving non stop for today. And I seems to be getting the tightening feeling every now and then but I'm not sure if it's Bb stretching really hard or I'm contracting. plus I'm having backache. Although backache is nothing new but with the combination of the tight tummy, I'm a little concern.

3xmum, guess we are facing the same scenario abt not eating in school.
My boy has this habit to force himself to vomit when he's full or dun like the food.
I have been facing this issue for a mth. the problem is with leafy veg.
I have to ensure him by telling his teacher that he shall only have half a bowl of rice with as little veg as possible....
He has got to the extend of crying and whining every evening... now it's chanting before bed and after he wakes up in the morning...

Those having HFMD, guess it's heaty too... my friend taught me to boil barley and green bean together but green bean muz still be round and not cracks open... just drink the water.
My son tells me he don't want to go to his childcare anymore, and change to another one, then he told me because the food is not nice! He has no problem with vegetables, only if the greens is bitter, he will reject, other than that, whatever we gives, he will eat them. I explained that the food is for young children, therefore it taste bland as compared to what he eats elsewhere. So I told him, if he doesn't feel like eating, then tell the teachers, but he said the teachers will still forced him to eat, and have to finish. When I went to school to fetch him, teachers will start telling me, you need to monitor him, don't know why he vomit once he sees the food in front of him, blah blah blah.

Vegetables I think have to encourage, my elder son don't eat vegetables n fruits since 7 years old , he's 13 now, he will vomit everything, if his dad forced him to eat some greens. My parent took care of him until he goes to P1, and then helper took over, my parents blamed the helper, but I think my parents also partly the reason, as their 1st n only grandchild then, they gave in to him, let him eat whatever he wants.

My #2 was taken care by myself with the help of helpers since he was born, and I started eating healthier these days, so he will try almost everything I eat, and have not much of a problem with food, except recently I am not sure why the smell of certain kind of food at the foodcourt makes him want to vomit, was at Ion Opera and we went in and came out, because he doesn't want to eat there, but he is ok with the Marina Square's foodcourt, weird.

Hi mummies, how is a bh contraction suppose to feel like? Bb hav been moving non stop for today. And I seems to be getting the tightening feeling every now and then but I'm not sure if it's Bb stretching really hard or I'm contracting. plus I'm having backache. Although backache is nothing new but with the combination of the tight tummy, I'm a little concern.
My baby is moving non stop everyday!I don't think she sleeps at all. And I felt tightening of the tummy quite often too, I asked gynae, he says tightening is contractions, and its normal.

feeding - mummies, i think we just have to try a variety of food and keep trying (alternate mths) as they may reject at first and try again later. usually, will need to be creative (like if yr kid refuse veg, then minced veg and add or mix into porridge etc). for kids who can't chew well, they will have to start from some food and slowly let them try "harder" texture food? i wouldn't think introducing fast food is a good idea unless your child is really really not eating anything at all? maybe also give a try at those cook books for kids where they have creative ways of mixing nutritious ingredients together to make into meals? my boy will not offer to eat any veg on his own or complain he doesn't eat veg if other kids next to him are not eating too (he even told SC he is allergic to veg :mad: but at home or outside, he eats the veg i place on his plate without complaining).

monnov - my boy took this when he was younger (at 4YO) - http://www.iherb.com/Source-Naturals-Vitamin-C-8-oz-226-8-g/966. now that he is alot older and its easier to give gummies, i give this - http://www.iherb.com/Hero-Nutrition...ural-Fruit-Flavors-Colors-90-Gummy-Bears/5810. at times, i also give the Scotts Vitamin C gummies to my boy. he loves it.

Xuan: I didn't receive leh.. Is there some other inbox that I need to find?

Today weather is so good that I keep snoozing in n out... Had a bad dream last night.. Dreamt that I was bleeding.. Haiz.. Didnt sleep well plus baby kicking at night.. Can't sleep left right.. Only on back Dan still okay... But wake up in the morning my back ache.. -.-""

Later going out with hub n his buddy for their drinking session.. Next time bb pop not much chance le.. Must treasure now more..

BH is the hardening of ur tummy.. to test it out, poke ur tummy when u feel ok even when bb is moving.. it shd be soft.. when u have BH it is really hard like a ball. very easy to tell.. even my hb can feel the diff. time ur contractions and make sure u don't get more the 4x an hr. i m actually having one now.. hahaha

Re: toddler food
I agree making the mealtimes fun is impt. having tasty food is impt too. my mom cooks very well so when my #1 went over to her care, he put on 4kg in 10 mths. he eats everything my mom cooks cos she makes an effort to make it tasty, chooses the freshest ingredients and the best quality to cook. she tries new recipes that my son will always request for new stuff to try. if it was my MIL she won't use ikan bilis or dried scallops for her soups. just water lor. very tasteless and she boils it until the ingredients are cooked unlike my mom who boils it for 3 hrs minimum. u can try different recipes to make things interesting.. my mom uses honey and thick black soya sauce to bake salmon and it turned out very well too..

As for veg, i find chopping dark green veggies into small manageable pieces helps a lot. also try a wide variety of vegs too.. :)

My baby is moving non stop everyday!I don't think she sleeps at all. And I felt tightening of the tummy quite often too, I asked gynae, he says tightening is contractions, and its normal.

my baby moves non stop too. haha. quite irritating esp when trying to concentrate at work . LOL

3xmum, mum cant take leafy veg yet... he find it hard to chew and swallow... thus at home we give stems etc he ate them.
Mine still insist to go to the same sch although he rather it's a sat or sun so that I can stay home with him...

hahaa... okok.. will go and see which one looks more appetizing.. thanks!

Xuan: I didn't receive leh.. Is there some other inbox that I need to find?

Today weather is so good that I keep snoozing in n out... Had a bad dream last night.. Dreamt that I was bleeding.. Haiz.. Didnt sleep well plus baby kicking at night.. Can't sleep left right.. Only on back Dan still okay... But wake up in the morning my back ache.. -.-""

Later going out with hub n his buddy for their drinking session.. Next time bb pop not much chance le.. Must treasure now more..

xiaober: there's a "other" mailbox which can only be viewed on computer, can't see thru fb on hp 1..

Hey momnov,

My girl of 21mths also not eating well lately and I am literally pulling my hair over it! She has been keeping the food in her mouth and not swallowing... :(

I read from some websites that we can try to not feed milk and be patient and keep trying but.. Seriously... How to be patient with it, I really can't stand it! But she loves to eat yoghurt, so sometimes I will resort to feeding her yoghurt just to make her swallow what's in her mouth. Otherwise she can keep the food till the cows go home and the mouth starts to stink! Also, u have no way to brush her teeth with a mouth full of food. Sobs... These little monsters can really us up the wall!

Dunno is the CL will be patient enou to help feed my girl if I need help..:/

Momnov, ur son poor thing. Sounds so much like stomach flu symptom. Another 'food' to try is rice water. Old wives tale but surprisingly there is proven basis for it in terms of hydrating and getting some nutrients into the body. Perhaps whatever liquids you get him to take, add glucolin/honey since he likes sweet things.
About vit c, just remember not more than 300mg per day else toddlers will have diarrhea.
For your boy's food, any taste he likes in particular besides sweet stuff? Slowly increasing the solidness of his food may help. Can also praise him like mad when he actively feeds himself. If not started, can get some training chopsticks as a form of new toy and encourage him to use it. Dont worry, at 2.5 yrs he certainly has the motor skills required to self feed, just messily hehe.

Haha, my gal also doesn't take green leafy veg. She much prefers peas, corn and beans as veg source. She's actually having pancakes for dinner today; pancakes are where I hide small pieces of green leafy veg, and pretty much anything else I think she's lacking in. I find myself hiding a lot of healthy foods in other foods.

. You need to first of all make your son realise that eating is a joyful experience.
Sometimes eating becomes a competition. My gal's friend can tell me she finished all her veg, and my gal feels the pressure to do the same. Or my gal can come tell me she finished all her broccoli whereas her friend didn't. And they're all 5 already. Kids!

Febie, my mum and mil told me green beans must boil till they open (开花). My mum even encourages us to the cooked green beans too for better cooling effect.

3xmum, glad to know your son's hfmd is mild. Do take care of yourself now!

Xuan, at least u can still get some form of reply from your 'aeroplane' candidate. Quite good already!

Momnov, ur son poor thing. Sounds so much like stomach flu symptom. Another 'food' to try is rice water. Old wives tale but surprisingly there is proven basis for it in terms of hydrating and getting some nutrients into the body. Perhaps whatever liquids you get him to take, add glucolin/honey since he likes sweet things.
About vit c, just remember not more than 300mg per day else toddlers will have diarrhea.
For your boy's food, any taste he likes in particular besides sweet stuff? Slowly increasing the solidness of his food may help. Can also praise him like mad when he actively feeds himself. If not started, can get some training chopsticks as a form of new toy and encourage him to use it. Dont worry, at 2.5 yrs he certainly has the motor skills required to self feed, just messily hehe.

Haha, my gal also doesn't take green leafy veg. She much prefers peas, corn and beans as veg source. She's actually having pancakes for dinner today; pancakes are where I hide small pieces of green leafy veg, and pretty much anything else I think she's lacking in. I find myself hiding a lot of healthy foods in other foods.

Sometimes eating becomes a competition. My gal's friend can tell me she finished all her veg, and my gal feels the pressure to do the same. Or my gal can come tell me she finished all her broccoli whereas her friend didn't. And they're all 5 already. Kids!

Febie, my mum and mil told me green beans must boil till they open (开花). My mum even encourages us to the cooked green beans too for better cooling effect.

3xmum, glad to know your son's hfmd is mild. Do take care of yourself now!

Xuan, at least u can still get some form of reply from your 'aeroplane' candidate. Quite good already!
Thank you ankh!

Hi, I have a group of confinement nannies from Malaysia looking for work in Singapore. Each have at least 6 to 8yrs of doing confinement (avg 10 assignments a year). They are professionally trained, qualified and certified nannies, have attended annual check up and have Hep A and B vaccinations done. **I have Cantonese, Teochew, Hokkien, Malay, Chinese, English speaking aunties. If you have any preference just let me know.** Satisfaction guaranteed!! 2 Free Replacement available.

• A confinement nanny will help out for 28 days since the first day you are discharged
  • She will prepare confinement meals (3 meals a day) to ensure Mums get the nutrients they need for speedy recovery
  • She will prepare Red Dates Longan Tea everyday as it is one of the essential items during your confinement period
  • Doing all the laundry stuff
  • Feeding baby (For mummies who choose to breastfeed, you can get some tips from confinement nannies)
  • Showering and taking care of the baby
  • Babies will be sleeping with nannies so as to allow Mums to have enough rest at night.
  • Handling of household chores (on request)
  • Helping out on laundry works for other family members (on request)
  • Cooking for the whole family (on request)
  • A confinement nanny will help out for 28 days since the first day you are discharged
  • She will prepare confinement meals (3 meals a day) to ensure Mums get the nutrients they need for speedy recovery
  • She will prepare Red Dates Longan Tea everyday as it is one of the essential items during your confinement period
  • Doing all the laundry stuff
  • Feeding baby (For mummies who choose to breastfeed, you can get some tips from confinement nannies)
  • Showering and taking care of the baby
  • Babies will be sleeping with nannies so as to allow Mums to have enough rest at night.
  • Handling of household chores (on request)
  • Helping out on laundry works for other family members (on request)
  • Cooking for the whole family (on request)

Feel free to call me for any discussion

looks like most of us have problems with feeding our toddlers. Mine's eating, he's just a picky eater. Haiz this is retribution man, because I was and still am a picky eater myself since young -.-. Even as an adult I still hate my greens haha, but for the sake of setting a good example for him, I force myself to eat veges too.

As some of the mummies suggest one of the ways is to keep on experimenting with your child on different foods - some of those that worked for me:

- yogurt (I buy the yoplait one, he loves it)
- fruits (apples I will cut into small sizes for him and put in a small plastic cup with plastic fork). banana is another easy to eat fruit. You can explore with grapes, papaya, orange and if you dare, durian too.
- prata (he don't like with curry though) but he can finish whole prata by himself
- hashbrowns (esp those from mc donalds)
- nuggets (needs no encouragement, he will steal from the plate himself)
- cookies
- there is this very nice sunshine buns thats bitesize which I myself also liked. I usually use this as a bribe
- Multivits (which I told him is sweet). Usually "sweet" is also a bribe. I also bought those multivit gummies from Hero brand
- milo
- ikan bilis powder with porridge / pork floss with porridge (this is usually a good starter for kids weaning from soft food)

Most junk foods like chocolate, ice cream, potato chips he also needs no encouragement. He loves kaya and nutella on his bread. He hates eggs and fish, a continuing headache for me to find ways to make him eat. Sometimes when left with no choice we will let him watch youtube videos just to finish that last mouthful of food he refuses to eat.

I cook his dinner almost everyday because I believed in the importance of homecooked food, and for veges, I agree with fuzzybear - cutting them into small pieces is important. It is also important not to overcook them else they lose their nutrients. I usually cook the green leafy ones with soup as the last ingredients to add - no more then 5 minutes because veggies cooked very fast and if you cook them for too long, the bitter taste comes out and will affect the taste of the soup. Once they turn slightly darker then their original color means they are cooked.

Hi mommies who r familiar with buying from Amazon, I have been trying to do some purchase from Amazon but the end amt is always much higher than the actual value despite me choosing all products that r Amazon Global Eligible and sold by Amazon.
It seems like there are some shipping fees charged or...?

Any advice please?

Also, I m keen to buy some spare parts from medela if any mummy is thinking of doing it. My freestyle charger is spoilt...:(

Hey momnov,

My girl of 21mths also not eating well lately and I am literally pulling my hair over it! She has been keeping the food in her mouth and not swallowing... :(

I read from some websites that we can try to not feed milk and be patient and keep trying but.. Seriously... How to be patient with it, I really can't stand it! But she loves to eat yoghurt, so sometimes I will resort to feeding her yoghurt just to make her swallow what's in her mouth. Otherwise she can keep the food till the cows go home and the mouth starts to stink! Also, u have no way to brush her teeth with a mouth full of food. Sobs... These little monsters can really us up the wall!

Dunno is the CL will be patient enou to help feed my girl if I need help..:/

I call this the squirrel syndome - because I was guilty of it as a kid and so were my nephews. I hope my son don't pick up this bad habit from me. So far he hasn't and maybe it has to do with the fact I'm not a patient feeder - when he is chewing my next spoonful already waiting.

To overcome his pickiness and prevent squirrel habit sometimes I will cook his favorite food (nugget / hashbrown) and I told him he can only have it when he finishes everything on his plate - and I'm very stingy with the portions of his favorite food too as I don't want him to get heaty.

Hi mommies who r familiar with buying from Amazon, I have been trying to do some purchase from Amazon but the end amt is always much higher than the actual value despite me choosing all products that r Amazon Global Eligible and sold by Amazon.
It seems like there are some shipping fees charged or...?

Any advice please?

Also, I m keen to buy some spare parts from medela if any mummy is thinking of doing it. My freestyle charger is spoilt...:(

I just advice mush today to check out the medela service centre. It may not always be cheaper to buy online, retail or from amazon. The freestyle tubing costs 30+ everywhere else but cost me $29 at the service centre today. You can give them a call to check their prices - 6562 6298

Morning all!

Thanks Attigal, I was just wondering if medela US will be cheaper.. All along I tot it was the pump that was loose but apparently it's the charger that is spoilt n it costs $69.90 here.

My girl used to eat well but cos of the terrible MS during this preg, I can't stand the smell of food, ESP fish, thus tasked my sis's helper to help feed her. Initially she rejected the helper so we resorted to letting her watch Barney while eting. The helper is patient but very slow. Now this habit developed.... Now every meal is a drag, ESP when we eat out... Argh....!!!

morning! yet another wet day!

Re: fussy toddlers
I have come across toddlers fussier than urs so take heart, ur kids are really not the worst.. i was telling SN yesterday that my fren's kiddo only ate home cooked porridge and pasta from 1-5/6 yrs old. same food every single day. when i went out with them for meals, u can see the gal gagging on every bite and crying silently to herself when she had to eat something else other than these 2 foods. mind u she was already 5 when that happened. when they go on holidays, she only eats french fries and Nestle Prune cereal (the one for bb). but by and by she outgrew it. now she is eating almost normally but of cos still choose her food. her mom got hell from her inlaws cos they feel that it was her fault her daughter turned out that way. everyday when they went to the inlaws' place for dinner, my fren has to pre-cook the porridge to bring over even though the gal was already 5-6 yrs old. my fren nv gave up introducing new food.. everytime they go out for meals she will make her choose something from the menu. Praising her helped a lot cos when i did, she stopped crying and tried not to gag to show me she could finish her food.

Re: Medela spare parts
i bought from some blogshop here before and i distinctive rem that a pair of tubings was abt $25. did the price increase so much?

Fleefly, i recommend u take control back from ur gal. no tv during meals! i find that very annoying to have ppl distracted from the food that others had painstakingly prepared. ur gal might protest for a few days but it is better to nip the habit in the butt sooner than later.

agree that home cooked food is the best, but really no time to cook dinner after coming back from work. Very thankful that my son's cc provides dinner when I know most other cc only provides lunch. Hence, at least my son's dinner on weekdays are settled in cc already and whatever he "pinches" from our plates is just supper for him. For weekends, we usually eat at parents or in-laws place and just eat out on one of the days. so not so bad after all. French fries and nuggets can be home cooked too, don't have to be fast food.

finally bought some vacuum bags from mummycents. going to start packing the wardrobe to make way for meimei's clothes. Yesterday, we set up the playpen already and placed it in the studyroom. was wondering whether to put in master room or study room and figured that study room is better since less disturbance in terms of walking in and out of master-room, using the master room toilet etc. But after putting in the playpen, the study room really looked so cramp and untidy. sigh.

I have fixed my C-sect date already...16 Oct. I will be 37 weeks 5 days then. I actually wanted it to be earlier cos i don't want to go into an emergency csect situation as my son was delivered at 38 weeks exactly. But the earlier dates are weekends and public holiday and my gynae charge more for these days. Any other dates and it will be before 37 weeks which is not ideal. Hence, will pray that she will remain inside until 16 Oct.

totorodino. wow 16 oct is not far from now! about 1 month plus. u must be excited. for my #2, i also had her csection at 37 weeks 5 days. she was a breech baby. i hope i can try for vbac, but chances are quite low. so if csection, i will have #3 on 13 nov. about 38 weeks.

medela spare parts. i bought from robinson sales. they were having a private sale on sat. but they dont sell tubings. so tubings i will buy from megababystore or lil thinkies.

fuzzybear,

It may sound like an excuse but the sight of my girl's porridge makes me nauseous leh... That's y I both pian but have to outsource this task. My sense of smell is sharp like anything during preg. I oso feel very sad and sian that my girl has become a super die hard fan of barney such that the first thing she exclaimed when stepping out of the berm is Barney! Faint!
Sigh, I see my friend's nephew, abt 19 mths, he eats celery, green, red n yellow pepper like they r the best tasting food on earth, really envious..

Is your #2 co sleeping with u? My girl is and I am wondering what to do with her during my confinement cos like u, I m most likely gg to have c section again.

Totorodino,

My girl was out at 38 weeks exact with a broken water bag while she was breeched, it was an emergency c section. U decided on c section cos of placental position?
Mid oct sounds so soon,hope u have all the baby stuff washed, it's been lotsa rain lately!

All c sect mums,

Do u develop an keloid on your previous c section wound?

Wrt to medela spare parts,

I think freestyle specific spare parts are generally more than other models.. :(

For mummies who bought the freestyle set recently, are the the breast shield soft or hard type? Thks

fleefly, i have no keloids. my wound is v beautifully sewn. haha. just look like a little crease from wearing too tight clothes.
my gynae is well known for his stitching and he himself v proud of it. haha.

but i was prescribed a silicone gel tape to use after delivery. used it for 1 month. gynae says its to prevent keloids

so sleepy on this rainy day...

ankh: i think cos i keep calling the candidate so she got frustrated n send me email to stop me from calling. lol.. =P

fleefly, i have no keloids. my wound is v beautifully sewn. haha. just look like a little crease from wearing too tight clothes.
my gynae is well known for his stitching and he himself v proud of it. haha.

but i was prescribed a silicone gel tape to use after delivery. used it for 1 month. gynae says its to prevent keloids

I used it too but still get keloid...:(
Doc says can cut away during the coming c section, I wonder how leh...

good morning mummies...

Attigal, like you I was saying that was my retribution cos I'm a fussy eater myself...
my boy enjoys having his meals at home, thus we tried to cook most of the time...
whenever we dine out we will also suggest stuff he likes and let him choose his own food...

ankh, ya usually will boil till 开花but when cook with barley, my friend advise not too else over cooling for the kids.

wow SN, 16 Oct is like a month away. hope baby girl be good and stays in until 16 Oct. :)