(2013/11) November 2013

fleefly, medela freestyle change their breastshield ald. if you want the old type soft one, cost so expensive now...

ninilicious, who is your gynae? I heard that keloids is dependent on individual's body healing process. But perhaps gynae's stitching skills also plays a part. haha.

febie, yah loh so fast. i think there will only be 2 more gynae visits and after that will be time to deliver.

ankh, yesterday i ate the duck noodles from that TPY central stall again and it's as yummy as ever. They even put lard inside (ok unhealthy i know!), so crispy and nice!

Litprince,
Next time just go pack ur own food if u are hungry. Else wait n wait in the end if got delayed u will be hungry n angry. Fill ur tummy first.

Fuzzybear,
Yes. Nwadays is usually david lim's team of coaches who do the teAching. They are pretty gd also. Can enquire and ask them.
Ya. If i am a dr, i wld also be caution.
See how ur hb and dad can help out as much as possible ba. Its nt going to be easy. If u really have to take leave then just take. Family first. Ur boss side just have to explain to ur big boss or whosoever if u kena lo.

Third3timemum,
Speedy recovery to ur boy. Try giving green bean soup. It helps to cool the body. I dread hfmd. N nw sch holidays i see a few of my friends' kids dwn with it and also chicken pox. I know of some ppl who still bring the kids out when having hfmd. V inconsiderate of these ppl. U take care too. Esp nw u preg, u may get infected also and may affects the baby.

Momnov,
Mayb dilute the milk for him. And gives him watever he wans. Most impt is fluid so he dun gets dehydrated.
Try to encourage him to eat by making the food as colorful and appetising as possible. Ask him wat he wld like and mayb get him to help u choose the ingredients.
Sorry, wat do u mean by he dun have taste buds? Ice cream is also sweet. if he likes sugar he wld also like ice cream? Do u expose him to diff type of food? Coz when u mention he just swallow his food it gives me the impression tat he only takes soft food tat doesnt require him to chew much tts why he is nt eating well. 2.5yrs old sld be able to chew well.
I used to give childlife's vit c. U can get it from gnc. Or u can order online.

Mush,
For bh, u feel ur tummy tightening to a hard ball for a while then relax and soften. If its tightening/sng feeling with backache cld be contraction. If baby stretching it sld be localized area and nt the whole tummy.

Febie,
U can cut the leafy veg into smaller pieces before feeding.

Sn,
Wah! Oct 16 is a mth away!! U prepared most of the stuffs already?

Fleefly, u are still nauseated at this stage of ur pregnancy? so poor thing u.. erm how abt having a fan blowing the smell away or sit upwind from the porridge.. if u can't feed her can u sit beside her to talk to her? how old is ur gal? is she able to self feed?

My #2 is slping with me now but he will be moving to slp with his kor kor by the end of this week. i only dismantled my #1 bed frame yesterday so that both boys will be slping on mattress on the floor when i get the other mattress at the end of the wk. when #3 comes she will slp with me in the cot in my room. hb will handle both the boys in their room.

I have keloid over half my c-sec scar which i think is not bad already considering my bad skin condition. hehe.. my doc gave me a gel like cream to apply on the scar to prevent keloid formation but i lazy to use.. very ex.. apparently one tiny tube is $30. it's similar to those used by burnt patients. yes during c-sec can remove keloid, doc just use his scalpel to cut away the fleshy part.

Val, yeah i m sure i can survive lah.. or die trying.. have to what right?

fleefly, i have no keloids. my wound is v beautifully sewn. haha. just look like a little crease from wearing too tight clothes.
my gynae is well known for his stitching and he himself v proud of it. haha.

but i was prescribed a silicone gel tape to use after delivery. used it for 1 month. gynae says its to prevent keloids

wah that's nice. can i ask who's your gynae?

xiaober: there's a "other" mailbox which can only be viewed on computer, can't see thru fb on hp 1..

Xu4n: i now using pc to find also cant find.. can tell me its at which corner? haha i seldom explore this interface.. normally just come in direct to the forum...

rainy day today.. mummies outside please be more careful ya..

Litprince,
Next time just go pack ur own food if u are hungry. Else wait n wait in the end if got delayed u will be hungry n angry. Fill ur tummy first.

Fuzzybear,
Yes. Nwadays is usually david lim's team of coaches who do the teAching. They are pretty gd also. Can enquire and ask them.
Ya. If i am a dr, i wld also be caution.
See how ur hb and dad can help out as much as possible ba. Its nt going to be easy. If u really have to take leave then just take. Family first. Ur boss side just have to explain to ur big boss or whosoever if u kena lo.

Third3timemum,
Speedy recovery to ur boy. Try giving green bean soup. It helps to cool the body. I dread hfmd. N nw sch holidays i see a few of my friends' kids dwn with it and also chicken pox. I know of some ppl who still bring the kids out when having hfmd. V inconsiderate of these ppl. U take care too. Esp nw u preg, u may get infected also and may affects the baby.

Momnov,
Mayb dilute the milk for him. And gives him watever he wans. Most impt is fluid so he dun gets dehydrated.
Try to encourage him to eat by making the food as colorful and appetising as possible. Ask him wat he wld like and mayb get him to help u choose the ingredients.
Sorry, wat do u mean by he dun have taste buds? Ice cream is also sweet. if he likes sugar he wld also like ice cream? Do u expose him to diff type of food? Coz when u mention he just swallow his food it gives me the impression tat he only takes soft food tat doesnt require him to chew much tts why he is nt eating well. 2.5yrs old sld be able to chew well.
I used to give childlife's vit c. U can get it from gnc. Or u can order online.

Mush,
For bh, u feel ur tummy tightening to a hard ball for a while then relax and soften. If its tightening/sng feeling with backache cld be contraction. If baby stretching it sld be localized area and nt the whole tummy.

Febie,
U can cut the leafy veg into smaller pieces before feeding.

Sn,
Wah! Oct 16 is a mth away!! U prepared most of the stuffs already?
Val,
Thank you. Last Sunday I stayed home with him, as there are a lot of children and few babies in church, so I thought it is not a good idea for him to go, seeing that he may be infected by HFMD. We are keeping him at home now, until Friday, end of MC from Doctor. Reminding him to drink plenty of water, and also barley water, he doesn't really like green bean soup. I try reminding myself to wash my hands after he touches me, he simply loves to be close to me, touch me, hug me, so its hard to stop him from doing now.

linxiaober - my friend sold her books to someone else already :( ..did u manage to get yours?
i have completed her first book.. its quite interesting, coz there's alot of pictures which helps to aid in understanding certain things that are being explained.

Third3timemum,
I nt saying u inconsiderate ah. Hehe. Coz my place here, there is an ah ma who always bring her grand daughter dwnstairs even when she has hfmd. Coz she says she is bored at hm. and i personally know of someone who brought the kids overseas when 1 of the children was dwn with hfmd. The other kid and herself subsequently caught the hfmd during the trip as well.
Besides washing ur hands, rem to change ur clothes frequently. Gd thing nw is baby hasnt arrived. Imagine with a nb and 1 kid dwn with hfmd, its really tough to handle.

Ya keloid is very individual.. Just like BCG.. Out of many who have the jab, some might develop keloids from BCG.. So it's probably not link to stitches cos my fren who recommended me my gynaecologist oso claimed that her stitches r gd.

Fuzzybear, my girl is 21+ mths now.. Since birth she has reflux and is a very lousy sleeper.. She will never sleep on the mattress on the floor. up to now she still wakes in the nite sometimes. when she started cruising, 8th-11th month, every nite she was up twice to practise and play! Thinking back I will still tremble on the tot of her sleeping patterns! She only manage to sleep better when she turned 15mths. And that was when I stopped bf and wanna start to feast but only to find out that I m preg again! Hope this boy will be a sleepyheads and sleeps everywhere he goes.

My girl can self feed only for a while. After which she gets distracted and wanna do everything except remained seated to eat.

Ya I still feel nauseous till now.. But compared to prev preg, it is already better cos that preg I vomited all the way till I delivered. And I have adverse reaction to epidural, after birth still vomit for another week... So fearsome of preg, after this I wanna shut factory down!

fleefly, medela freestyle change their breastshield ald. if you want the old type soft one, cost so expensive now...
Is the soft shield still for sale? Ya, I see that the new package comes with the hard ones right...? But the soft shields are really comfy thou the size is limited.

linxiaober - my friend sold her books to someone else already :( ..did u manage to get yours?
i have completed her first book.. its quite interesting, coz there's alot of pictures which helps to aid in understanding certain things that are being explained.

no problem.. thanks for helping! ya i am trying to contact some seller thru xuan.. hopefully can get.. :)

val, hmm only set up the playpen so far. havent washed her clothes. just bought some vacuum bags to pack the wardrobe. serviced my pump already. i think that's it. nothing much to prepare also. oh yah, must pack hospital bag liao!

fleefly, yea, some people develop scary keloids after BCG. really wonder what happened? is it because they went to scratch and burst it?

Haven been active in the forum lately due to the month end close.. Finally, my close is now 80% completed. :)

Went for my gynae checkup on my wk 29.. Baby girl is 1422g and my weight increase is around 13kg. Gynae didn’t comment much on my weight gain.. He says bb is doing well.

My next visit will be on wk 33, next Friday.. Cant wait for next week to come!

I have a question and am wondering if mummies can advise me? My boobs grew around 2 cup size bigger during my trimester 1 and 2 period.. However, I recently noticed that both my boobs actually shrink in size.. Is this normal? I thought that boobs will usually grow bigger nearing to delivery date? I have not purchase any nursing bras and was thinking probably I will go get a few on my last few weeks before delivery…

RL :) :) :)

ninilicious, who is your gynae? I heard that keloids is dependent on individual's body healing process. But perhaps gynae's stitching skills also plays a part. haha.

febie, yah loh so fast. i think there will only be 2 more gynae visits and after that will be time to deliver.

ankh, yesterday i ate the duck noodles from that TPY central stall again and it's as yummy as ever. They even put lard inside (ok unhealthy i know!), so crispy and nice!

totorodino, my gynae is dr ho hk at mount A. but yes i agree formation of keloid depends on individual body. just like stretchmarks. some pple apply alot oil and cream also kenna (which is me)

Hiya happietomato :) Wish I could answer your question, but think now I have net increase with my boobs ;p. Only a bit though, don't think mine ever went up by 2 cup sizes, max only one cup!

SN, yes please remember your hospital bag hahaha! Aiya, a bit of lard in your food ok la. I'm trying to console myself that I only ate the potatoey bits of two curry puffs just now, and part of the deep fried crust. Think my curry puffs just as sinful!

Xu4n, I like how you got your aeroplane candidate to reply!

Fleefly, pei fu you, second pregnancy still have to tahan so much. Alamak, after reading your post I also felt nauseous.

SN, 16 oct is next mth, so exciting for you!

Me on half day PM leave tdy, fetched #1 fm sc to have lunch and now eye check. Later go home gotta coach school work. :confused:

ankh: normally if candidates dun bother to show up i also dun bother to call them. but this time round i need to grab every potential candidate so have to keep calling her. =( just now i asked my boss if we have any back up plans in case i really cant find a temp. say for eg, get HQ to send a rep down to support or something? but my boss says no backup plans, must find someone no matter wat. super stress ah... i push the previous candidates that i proposed previously to her again, n she still refused. sigh. u very cute also leh.. u read fleefly's post also can feel nausea? lol...

Ankh: No wor… Guess my boobs are small to begin with.. Hence, 2 cup size bigger.. Now, it’s back to 1 cup size bigger.. I guess this should be oki? I intend to do breastfeeding and hopefully, there is ‘sufficient’ supply.. :)

Any suggestions on when will be a good time to get my nursing bras?

hi mummies! din log in for quite some time...

re: nursing bras, i bought 3 bravados le..they are comfy and can last till post-pregnancy..got them from allemoms coz there was a disc..

came across this article abt this gynae who had sex with a 14 yr old minor.. then there was this other article who had sex with a 14 yr old minor oso and transmitted STD to her...sicko max..

yep i m a fan of allemom too. delivery is prompt. i buy bravado from them too. get two pieces first, then can get them after u pop also, they deliver.

ninilicious> yes, delivery is super duper prompt man! i ordered the night before and the parcel came the next day..was quite surprised that i have a parcel coz i thought it will take a while..i intend to use the reward dollar to buy the belly bandit belly wrap since it's cheaper there too :)

Is the soft shield still for sale? Ya, I see that the new package comes with the hard ones right...? But the soft shields are really comfy thou the size is limited.

fleefly, medela no longer manufacturing. when I was at the service centre yesterday i ask abt the softshield and they say they were left with the last 2 and i quickly bought from them at $15 each. also ordered 2 sets of the hard ones from amazon together with other spare parts... regretted ordering from amazon though, may have save some $$ buying from the service centre instead -.-

Fuzzybear, I search the bulk purchase forum, agape babies, and other online sites but all selling tubing at $30+, excluding delivery. I'm buying the original one from medela not OEM one from another brand which is about $18 plus.

Hi mummies, super duper long never post. Have been busy and trying hard to read all the posts since forum revamped. My original nick is SY (cheerypie) ,forgot my password after the revamped thus now using another nick to login. As I seldom post previously, you all most probably cannot remember who am i as well hehe.

Anyway for an update, today I went for my 32 wks detailed scan. I am now 31wks 5days. Bb weighing 1.64kg. Just wondering if my bb weight is ok for my 31+wks now. I asked gynae and she said the weight is normal but I have seen you all the bb already 1.3 - 1.4kg at 28 wks.

Bb's head already turned down but gynae said she will turn here and there and the position will only fixed at around 36wks.

For those who are still constipated, you can try eating petai if you don't mind the smell. I love it alot and it helps in my constipation. It can clear my bowel movements for few days.

fleefly, medela no longer manufacturing. when I was at the service centre yesterday i ask abt the softshield and they say they were left with the last 2 and i quickly bought from them at $15 each. also ordered 2 sets of the hard ones from amazon together with other spare parts... regretted ordering from amazon though, may have save some $$ buying from the service centre instead -.-

Fuzzybear, I search the bulk purchase forum, agape babies, and other online sites but all selling tubing at $30+, excluding delivery. I'm buying the original one from medela not OEM one from another brand which is about $18 plus.

How about littletinkies? http://singaporemotherhood.com/foru...nt-medela-lansinoh-blue-egg-natures-way.6870/
seems that they are selling at $25 for PISA tubing...i didnt know freestyle and PISA use different tubing. cant rem how much the service centre was selling the tubing but they sell 1 pc instead of 1 pair.

Medela Freestyle Tubing $35.00
Medela PIS Advanced Tubing (2each/pk) - model before year 2006 $25.00
Medela PIS Advanced Tubing (2each/pk) - model after year 2006 $25.00
Medela Swing Tubing (1each/pk) $15.00

How about littletinkies? http://singaporemotherhood.com/foru...nt-medela-lansinoh-blue-egg-natures-way.6870/
seems that they are selling at $25 for PISA tubing...i didnt know freestyle and PISA use different tubing. cant rem how much the service centre was selling the tubing but they sell 1 pc instead of 1 pair.

Medela Freestyle Tubing $35.00
Medela PIS Advanced Tubing (2each/pk) - model before year 2006 $25.00
Medela PIS Advanced Tubing (2each/pk) - model after year 2006 $25.00
Medela Swing Tubing (1each/pk) $15.00

yeap its the Medela Freestyle Tubing I bought at $29 at the service centre. I tried looking online and the prices were more ex.

ninilicious> yes, delivery is super duper prompt man! i ordered the night before and the parcel came the next day..was quite surprised that i have a parcel coz i thought it will take a while..i intend to use the reward dollar to buy the belly bandit belly wrap since it's cheaper there too :)
Hi Ninilicious & gelobean,

May I know what size do u babes get? As in like in local bra size vs the bravado bra size? Just want a ref to see...

Freestyle tubing is more ex. In fact all freestyle spare parts r more ex leh... Attigal, $15 each for the soft shield is cheap leh! I rem online stores r selling pretty ex... Ok, maybe I Gould just go back to the Svc centre to get my power adaptor.

Totorodino,
I don't think those people scratch the BCG to get themselves keloid leh... It just happens lor... Quite sian hor... I rem many years back there was an article on ST wrt to BCG scarring people for life.. Cos of keloid lor...

Ankh, I really very fearful of preg.. Cos I get all the nonsense symptoms... And after my first preg, my carpal tunnel was so bad that I could not turn my palm at all! Hopefully it won't be that bad this time...

Was wondering if anyone have yeast infection during pregnancy?

Is hard to tell the difference between the pregnancy vaginal discharge & yeast infection discharge?

No pain during urination though. Just discharge & occasional discomfort at the vulva.

2013san, I had yeast infection during my #1's time, twice. It will be itchy and the discharge will be a darker colour, has a foul smell and will be more than normal.

morning!!

fleefly> i got size S..there is a video that teaches you how to measure in the bravado website..i tink it's better to follow coz it's actually quite accurate..hope it helps! :)

2013san> i contracted yeast infection once before i was preggie..the discharge will be whitish in color and u will feel a lot of itch in the vaginal area..perhaps u wanna visit ur gynae to confirm if it is yeast infection..they will probably insert something in to cleanse the bacterial infection..

morning mummies, took leave yesterday to accompany my #1 for holiday. bought her to watch a movie, do some baking, generally having a nice day with her, till i wonder if i should quit and be a stay at hm mummy. but that tok last till my hub got hm. the 1st sentence he say to me is 'the house is always in a mess when u are on leave' o_O:mad: i didnt do any cleaning but i didnt really mess things up as well. so better to continue to work otherwise he will expect clean house, homecooked meals everyday. haiz...

2013san, i get yeast infection all the time. discharge will be thicker and more than usual. just keep changing so surrounding area will not get affected. im going to just leave it till i get nearer to edd then get med from gynae to clear it so that bb wont kana from me.

Good morning mummies...

attigal, you got a good deal for the soft shields.
Amazon selling at US$86 per piece and those BPs are selling at SG$80 at least.

Thank you for all information.
Hmm.. Then maybe i see doc to confirm if yeast infection or not.i do not itch so much; just occasionally. However discharge is like cheese and not smelly so kind of confuse.

SN, ya it's ard 2 more visit for you only... Have a bit of fun within this period before birth of #2...

Val, we always cut but he still find it hard to chew... arrgh.... my mum said as long as he still intake veg we dun force it down the throat...
food is supposed to be enjoyable... which I agree too.... as long as they eat, we are happy... :)

Gd morning! Out of office for the next couple of days.

Attigal, ah u were referring FS's spare parts! I use PISA so the parts are much cheaper. Sorry for confusing u.

I received a pc of bad news this morning. A fren I made on this forum previously lost her bb at 25 wks when she went into premature labour last yr. she managed to get pregnant again with twins this time around. Yet she just texted me to tell me that she just lost both her twins again a 22.5 wks. Again she went into labour and was already 2cm dilated when she went to check with her gynae. She had a lot of discharge. Her gynae sent her straight to KK and they stitched up her cervix and put her on 3 anti contractions meds. But she still lost both her babies. So sad. Her doc says she might have incompetent cervix. Also she had some infection now that might have caused her to go into labour. I can't help but tear when she told me. I know I had a tough pregnancy and am constantly complaining. But what I'm gg through can never be compared to what she has gone through.

Can't seem to stop thinking abt that.

Re: discharge
In third trim usually ur discharge will increase. So long no itch or smell then it shd be fine. I have a lot of discharge but no itch or smell. Told my gynae and he said it is normal. If u are unsure pls see ur gynae. Infections can cause premature labour.

Morning, mummies.
Fuzzy-hugzz
So sad to hear abt yr friend.
Yesterday seen by Prof & had my OGTT result. My result showed gestational DM, normal should be 7.8, but my is 8.8.
Prof wants me to do 2 day sugar level by myself & see how form there.
He add on that controlling diet should help. He thinks that I should not need to take any med, if diet control helps.
I have to start poking myslef this Fri, abit depress about this.................................
My journey is not easy, but I will go thr all the way to see my bundle of joy

fuzzybear> oh man, ur friend must be feeling super low now...it's very depressing to give birth to 2 stillborn babies..furthermore, this is her 2nd pregnancy..will probably take a v long time to get past this hurdle..

Good morning mummies...

attigal, you got a good deal for the soft shields.
Amazon selling at US$86 per piece and those BPs are selling at SG$80 at least.

yeap! The moment I heard she still had those I just grab... coz medela is no longer producing.

sorry for MIA 4 song long. I went thru' very bad emotional stage for the past 2 weeks. Cant hold on but kept cryin :( :( .... Long story short, I got retrenched. That's not the root cause for my sorrow.It was the office head that made my life miserable for the past 2 weeks! A lady (mum) who doesn't put herself in my shoe to think but desparately to impress the top by getting rid of me!!! :( :( :( Anyway, I'd got it over my head right now thinkin I'm going to have a bundle of joy coming along. I got to be strong at this moment. I'm so fortunate to have my hb by myside who has been very supportive. He was telling me that it has comes a time when an idiot comes along the way & cross the path, like a black cat. Just have to treat her like a passerby. Cant let her affect my health & baby.

Ok! enough is enough! I'm back! Hope all of you have been great & baby is kicking!!!

Afternoon mummies! Duno why I wake up everyday at 10am even though I nap in the afternoon.. Seems like not enough sleep.. But middle of the night I will sure wake up for a while Dan go back sleep., -.-"" today weather is good! Finally some sunlight to chase the rain away.. My hub always say I very excited when I see sunny day cos I can wash alot of things.. Poor washing machine.. Tsk!

Fuzzybear: sad to hear this.. The last time I heard a traumatizing news was my ex colleague's wife was giving birth but I think bb couldn't come out smoothly.. Doc use vacuum.. N end up bb died after 16 hours.. When I saw the picture I was really in a shock.. So this time I dun want to use vacuum.. Maybe it's just a one time off but it really scare me enough.. Hope ur friend gets more support now to recover.. Not going to be a easy route but she must be strong to overcome..

Mumagain: oh no! But on what reason did they retrench you? You didn't do any major wrong I though company is not allowed to anyhow retrench staff? Damn such person.. She herself is a mum and yet she still do such things?!?! I believe with your capability you will be able to find a better job after giving birth.. Now just take it as a break to have more time for yourself n prepare for your baby also.. At least ur hub is supportive and that is good! Cheer up and things will be better!

Gd morning! Out of office for the next couple of days.

Attigal, ah u were referring FS's spare parts! I use PISA so the parts are much cheaper. Sorry for confusing u.

I received a pc of bad news this morning. A fren I made on this forum previously lost her bb at 25 wks when she went into premature labour last yr. she managed to get pregnant again with twins this time around. Yet she just texted me to tell me that she just lost both her twins again a 22.5 wks. Again she went into labour and was already 2cm dilated when she went to check with her gynae. She had a lot of discharge. Her gynae sent her straight to KK and they stitched up her cervix and put her on 3 anti contractions meds. But she still lost both her babies. So sad. Her doc says she might have incompetent cervix. Also she had some infection now that might have caused her to go into labour. I can't help but tear when she told me. I know I had a tough pregnancy and am constantly complaining. But what I'm gg through can never be compared to what she has gone through.

Can't seem to stop thinking abt that.

Re: discharge
In third trim usually ur discharge will increase. So long no itch or smell then it shd be fine. I have a lot of discharge but no itch or smell. Told my gynae and he said it is normal. If u are unsure pls see ur gynae. Infections can cause premature labour.

fuzzybear, yeap, I'm using freestyle, so the parts will be different and apparently more ex also. haiz.

Very sorry to hear about your friend's loss. And it is a real tragedy to have to go through it again. To have the stitch at 22.5 weeks is a bit late, most will put in at 17 weeks plus iirc.

During my first pregnancy, I actually went to read up all sorts of pregnancy loss stories.. I know its weird but I want to prepare myself for the worst that could happen, and what the different situations, whether they can be prevented.

One particular story was memorable as this very brave lady went through a lost at late 2nd trimester and went on to have miscarriage again. She was so determined to have a baby she take the initiative to eliminate all possible causes of miscarriage, including under going a surgery to remove a septum in her vagina, though it may or may not have cause her losses. I was very happy for her when I knew she finally managed to have a healthy baby boy (coincidentally, same year and just a month before my boy). I remember she also had a very supportive and experienced gynae at NUH, her name is Mary Rauf or something like that if I'm not wrong, who specializes in difficult pregnancy and pregnancy losses - I'm not sure if your friend would like to consider seeing her if she wants to try again.

all the best to your friend.

Fuzzybear, so sad to hear abt your friend's lost... feel so sad for her...
my friend's wife also experience the same thing... the last straw was she lost her twins and they decided enough is enough...

blessmum, sorry to hear you got retrenched too... your hubby is right. dun let her affect you.
welcoming your joy of bundle is more impt and most impt having your hubby support is very very impt....

Fuzzy-hugzz: so sorry and sad to hear about your friend. all the best to her. :(
Mumagain: the company don't deserve you. A better one will come knocking on your doors. I always believe that when one door shuts, the other one will open as things happen for a reason! Cheer up. :)

sorry for MIA 4 song long. I went thru' very bad emotional stage for the past 2 weeks. Cant hold on but kept cryin :( :( .... Long story short, I got retrenched. That's not the root cause for my sorrow.It was the office head that made my life miserable for the past 2 weeks! A lady (mum) who doesn't put herself in my shoe to think but desparately to impress the top by getting rid of me!!! :( :( :( Anyway, I'd got it over my head right now thinkin I'm going to have a bundle of joy coming along. I got to be strong at this moment. I'm so fortunate to have my hb by myside who has been very supportive. He was telling me that it has comes a time when an idiot comes along the way & cross the path, like a black cat. Just have to treat her like a passerby. Cant let her affect my health & baby.

Ok! enough is enough! I'm back! Hope all of you have been great & baby is kicking!!!

Hi mumagain,
but did they pay u 4 mths maternity for retrenching u?
i thought they cannot retrench preggie women unless they pay u 4 mths?

Thanks LXB for the word of comfort. No. I did nothing wrong. At first, they thought making me leave before my maternity started can save the coy 4 mths OPEX cost. So they decided to inform me of my last day. However, they got shock after I told them 16weeks maternity benefit is compulsory under MOM rules.... then they find ways to cut my retrenchment package to make up for their loss for this 16weeks maternity benefit payment!!! what the heck right? Hiaz....

mumagain, oh no..... I hope its not unfair dismissal. Just read your reply... you can bring this up to MOM to fight for your rights if you feel you are not getting the amount you deserve.

fuzzybear, your friend must be really devastated. sob sob. really dunno what to say.

mumagain, I don't think the company can retrench you while you are pregnant. I think for third time mums, the full 16 weeks is paid by the government. So if the company tries to reduce your retrenchment package by the amount of 16 weeks ML, you should bring this up to MOM. I think MOM has a hotline, you might want to just call them, no harm.

mumagain, you should seriously considering reporting them!
I found this article, take a look: http://www.mom.gov.sg/newsroom/Pages/PressRepliesDetail.aspx?listid=173
It is stated here 4. Employees who feel that they have been unfairly dismissed because of their pregnancy can approach the Ministry for advice and assistance. They are advised to file their case as early as possible, within 1 month of their dismissal – they need not wait till the birth of their child. They can email [email protected] or call the MOM hotline at 6438 5122, so that their case can be properly investigated.