(2013/11) November 2013

rocker, my #1 sits in the traditional rocker for less than 4mth then she outgrown it. i dont mind paying for it if it can really last till 4yr old as stated. just that will kids really sit on it for so long?

the rocker selling from Qoo10 is also from China so i suppose no different buying from taobao instead. but for taobao, how do we choose who do we buy from? there's alot of seller selling the same time. selling price can go from rmb350 to rmb150. i even saw one selling the same thing at rmb50. all claim to be the original product.

littleprince, i didnt get bumbo seat for #1 too. i think bumbo not very impt. more of a good to have item. rocker is a must have item for me.

fuzzybear, my #1 flip out of her cot before. that happened even when dropside up, so i didnt realised that dropside is dangerous.

3xmum, I saw BP selling the pink 9oz classic bottles at $54.90 for pack of 3! Think you got a really good deal from drugstore. The ones I saw from amazon are shipped by amazon, so wondering if they qualify for free shipping to Singapore? Anyone knows how to see which items qualify?

I had a rocker as a gift from someone for #1 and she hated it. Think it made her back very hot and she always made a lot of noise when we put her on it. Shw preferred to lie on the playmat lol... When she was steady enough, I put her in the exersaucer and she enjoyed that more.

I didn't get the bumbo seat, but I tried #1 on it at my friend's place and her legs got stuck haha...

Val, what carseat did u use? I am using Britax now.. headache now cos i dunno if i shd upgrade my #2 to those booster with backing and let my #3 sit in the Britax or to buy a bucket car seat for #3 and let my #2 remain in the Britax.. zzzzzzz any advice? did u upgrade ur car to seat 3 kids?

Mummychua, my dropside was up too! all the way up but my #1 was stand on his bumper and leaning out of the cot. the dropside sagged abt 1 inch.. and coupled with the fact that he was standing on the bumper, he fell out of it!

Yes my 2 boys are still sitting on the rocker.. like sit there and enjoy the sun in the balcony. hehe..

Re: Bumbo
i use it on my sons when they reach abt 12 wks old.. the prob with Bumbo is u shdn't place it on elevated areas but babies like to see what we are doing, esp during dinner time. For me the Bumbo trains their back and neck muscles but they outgrew within 6 mths. also when they struggle in the Bumbo, they can topple and crack their skull. has happened before.

sei>if not wrong, usually the free shipping meant for US address, which was why drugstore.com also free shipping, sent to vpost US address, but I still need to pay for shipping charges from vpost USA to Singapore.

You can always try to add some items to the cart, and try to check out and see if any shipping charges applied, but make sure you don't enter your credit card information

5 years ago, I also got a pre-loved bumbo seat which is in very good condition, at $25 if not wrong, without the tray, I used it for my #2, then it was passed to my sis for her #1, now her #2 is using it, then it will be pass back to me for my girl, remember not to exposed to sunlight, if not, colour will fade. But babies who have fat thigh cannot fit into the bumbo seat, so maybe don't need to buy now. A cheaper version of rocker maybe the netted type, more cooling also.

sigh.. feeling very sian. was given short notice that i need to do a presentation on the coming monday. wants me to think of some activities/ games as well to make the session more interesting. but i super not creative in thinking of games 1.. plus no mood to act rara n conduct the games. HAIZ!

Xuan,
the old Pigeon food warmer is good if your baby's schedule is predictable. i.e. you know she will wake up in 30mins time to feed, then you can slowly warm up the milk and keep it at the ideal temp for her.

RL,
thanks for the cot's pic

Fuzzybear,
I think u shared a bouncer promo from the isetan fair a few days ago that I thought was really good. I was thinking of going to get that this weekend. Now a little undecided between rocker and bouncer... any advice?

Febie,
can get the same rocker here for cheaper: http://singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/7760928.html?1374723422

Re: milk bottles
I see some mummies sharing on fb that they bought 12 or 15 bottles... a bit overkill leh. Sekali your baby don't like that brand then you gotto change everything. I remember I bought Avent bottles for my #1 but he didn't like it cause the teats are a bit hard. So I had to change to Pigeon. Luckily Avent bottles can fit pigeon teats then. Just sharing my experience...

ya Winnie, i am not intending to stock up on the milk bottles yet cos my friend shared her experience tt her daughter was also picky with bottles n teats. i plan to perhaps buy 1 of a brand 1st to let baby try. if she's ok with it then stock up.

avent bottles can fit pigeon teats. wat abt teats of other brands like medela, mr. brown, tommee tippee?

mummies, so what is a good price per piece for diapers huh? my colleague says 30 cents per piece is considered quite cheap enough?

pigeon bottles, you all are talking abt the new type, wide mouth kind, not the old typical size mouth kind right?

actually, i was thinking the bumbo is easily portable to bring out. but downside is fatty thighs get stuck lor.

Welcome on the pictures!

Thanks mummies for the feedbacks on the wet wipes too.. I have yet to buy any from the Taka fair.. Probably will do some grabbing soon?? Stock up abit before bb arrives..

I have a bumbo chair too. I think it's quite useless. My son's thighs got stuck in there too and i think he sat in there less than 10 times. haha. but he was very amused the first time he sat inside and was giggling, we managed to record it on video. hehe.

afternoon mummies..

went to the fair during lunch time.. the crowd seems to be lesser compared to yesterday.. but this morning i saw some MTB early walking towards taka.. should be going for some shopping i believe..

val: ya maybe because i also want to keep the $$ for the bb instead of myself.. so when hub say cannot, i just follow.. haha but i will walk past everyday to look at it.. lol!

8636226.jpg

littleprince: here you go! I was aiming at the one below (black color), then i saw the top one the next day.. And then my hub say no.. hahaha so the picture is for memory...

mummychua, fuzzybear, i just bought the fisher rocker from the fair just now. bought that because its versatile and can last long way for even young toddlers by converting into a chair..

i just spent 450 bucks at the fair.. zzz pocket burn hole..

Hi Val,

which car seat are u using? I saw quite a number of car seat at the fair yesterday, but they all look quite ugly to me. I wanna buy one for my #1 to use, will pass the one she's using to my newborn. It's britax brand, from Robinsons. I think can use from newborn to quite old. Is it cheaper to buy a car seat that newborn can use for a year, or one that a toddler can use from certin weight onwards?

Plush,

my problem is similar to yours. The asos clothes I got is too big for me. I usually wear L or XL (12/14) before pregnancy. So I ordered size 14 for myself. But it's way too big. Even a size 12 is too big for me (only ordered a pc of size 12). Was wondering if you wanna take over? It's sitting in my house and I also dunno what to do with it. Here is the link http://singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/8625563.html?1374492275

Winnie,

i think the 12 milk bottles that mummies are talking about on FB are not for feeding babies. It's storage bottles for breastmilk. So dun need to worry that babies won't like e teats. If really buy 12-14 bottles for feeding fr Pigeon, Avent etc, its gonna cost a bomb. I exchanged 4 old pigeon bottles to new ones at the fair yesterday. Each one is $11.90 as advertised.

Bless, what a waste..thanks for considering anw.

lxb, wah, return postage so ex aredi.. ridiculous to send back.

I have 6 pretty dresses now but cant wear.

bunny_mummy, nice dresses. all in black? hehe. where can I collect if am keen?

Plush,

yes, all black. nice hor? So sad can't wear. Think I wanna order again in size 12. The prices inclusive of normal postage. Otherwise can self collect fr Hougang or Sembawang. Where do u stay?

re: breast pumps
saw from the promo it's medela swing maxi..anyone got any feedback on this? this is cheaper than freestyle right?
thinking shld get this one or free style...freestyle is about $100 more ex?

plush: ya.. i quite sad that i am now stuck with this dress.. nothing i can do with it.. haha duno if keep for #2 by then still can wear anot.. and that will be like a long wait.....

Sy>Citibank have promotion when I paid for my shipping charges last week, they will cover the insurance, so I do not need to pay extra for it, check out with Citibank, the promo is on or not, sometimes by the time your shipping payment advice comes, the promo code might be all taken up!Hope it helps

Hi Mummies, Do you all know what is the different between the different model of Fisher Price rockers. I'm quite confuse here.

Today a friend of my lunch Kaki join us for lunch and he drove us to some "Wolu" Mac hoping to get the Minion... but we were too late. Even the Minion from the display was being taken so we end up eating in the food court. We were talking happily and gossip abt my boss and previous supervisor and my opinion of their way of doing things. He knows my boss and sup as he was in my company before I joined. All these are purely personal views and chit chatting.. out of sudden he claim that he already know me and start criticizing me saying that I like to argue and my boss will not like me to behave like this... First of all, I never reject his view from start.. I'm just telling him more for him to understand the situation better..I start to ponder... He says if I continue to work like this I cannot survive in my company... Wao I think he is too much as who is he to judge me over what I said over 1 hour of lunch time...He says by listening to what I said, he is able to know my character and way of doing thing. I'm just being open to talk about my view end up kenan this crab...Worse when he keep claiming that he is saying this for my own good. I went out lunch with him a few times and he is the 1 that always has opinion in everything and I usually just laugh it out. My lunch Kaki (know him for many years) says he is bad mood because he could not get the Minions eventho he did not show it out. Y? m I a sandbag? Maybe I am that Y always kenan bully like this kind of crab. Feeling very hurt with all the words he had said to me

Hi all, I'm new here.

EDD: 04 Nov 2013
Hospital: Mt Alvernia
Dr Kenneth Edward Lee
First time Mum

Can someone bring me to FB?

Just to share Amazon is having free shipping to Singapore for order USD125. Being a first time mum, too much stuff to buy. I have confirmed a total of 4 shipments from Amazon for free shipping and the merchandise are abt 50% cheaper than local retail price.

sei, in Amazon page, there is left panel where u can filter base on category, price, etc. there is one "international shipping" AmazonGlobal Eligible.

Serach the item u want and then click on the AmazonGlobal Eligible button, if the item remain, meaning it is eligible for free international shipping if your order is up to USD125.

FYI, pink 9ox classic bottle is eligible for free international shipping.

http://www.amazon.com/Philips-Classic-Polypropylene-Bottles-3-Pack/dp/B00494DNZC/ref=sr_1_11?ie=UTF8&qid=1374769146&sr=8-11&keywords=avent

Hubby is going to USA next month, I want him to bring me the limited edition blue monkey natural bottle from Toy R us USA, they look sooo cute!!

http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=21198776

good morning, mummies! TGIF! i am looking forward to shopping tonight!

milk, i finished my Anmum and decided to open the Similac milk powder (FOC from SBI application) for mummies to try today. it tasted so yucky leh, think i am going to dump it and buy my Anmum instead.

Hello mummies!! I'm back~~ haha...
Became silent reader for past weeks cos too busy at work.

Yes! I went down taka fair yst night after work. Not crowded! Finally got my Malacren Techno XT Stroller 2011 at $399. No price diff compare to outside but got free organizer to put bb stuff at e back of e stroller. Not v useful either. haha.. If u all getting e older version model in 2009, they got free Malacren bb carrier. V good deal. Is also $399. But we dun like e color, is only grey n black so we took 2011 model.

And also, e pigeon steralizer bundle was a good catch as well! yea! Got e big items left breast pump... Btw, i bot this month motherhood mag, it said tt Robinson, kiddy palace oso selling Medela FS at $699. I didnt get it at Taka cos was thinkin to get it at Robinson since got rebate thru credit card. U all consider abt it.

Silver, like fuzzybear said, dun get Swing!! Jus get FS is much more better.

Re: Car seat
I was browsing the Britax brand car seat at Taka fair. Sad to say there issnt much variety le. Not v nice. Is that so? As in Britax dun hab much variety to chose? e price i saw there was $499. Quite ex.. Car seat cannot be more ex than my stroller right. haha..

re:Diapers
I oso bot Huggies diapers (2 pack for NB & 2 pack for small) jus for the sake of free gift which is 2 medela bottles. haha... hope i didnt overbuy e diapers

Xuan, ya i was tinkin the same abt e milk bottles. Now i got medela & pigeon bottles w teats, my fren givin me brand new tommee tippee bottles oso. So i jus stay w this 3 brand to test n try before investing more. Else, waste of money!

Xiaober, e bag is nice!! Go get it!! A reward for urself!! hehe..

re: prenatal class conducted by Mt A
Any recommended trainer we shld go for e class? I tinkin to save cost, jus go for Mt A since i more or less decided to deliver at Mt A.

Pinky: i'm also thinking if shld buy the huggies diapers for the sake of the 2 medela bottles. haha.. wat's the total cost of 2 pack NB and 2 pack small size? i was asking hub n he said too early to buy diapers now. but i think i'm more gian of the free bottles cos if wait until baby born then random buy won't have such practical freebies le, considering tt i will be buying medela pumps.

Pigeon steriliser bundle is a good deal. but i dun like tt their warmer needs 15-20 mins to warm up milk. by tt time my baby will be screaming like dunno wat liao. lol.. so i think i may get the avent steriliser only. then avent warmer get at a later time or see if anybody selling preloved avent warmer. but at the same time, dunno if i shld just buy both the avent steriliser n warmer. shld i still wait for better future promos tt will give more freebies? *indecisive*

Morning..

Ya was wondering where u were Pinky.. Ankh seems to be missing too.. Kitkat, Winkle and Manawab like have all disappeared!

Silver, for $100 more just get the FS. Swing Max is a newer, improve model of Swing which was a horrible horrible model to use!

Pinky, Britax isn't a fanciful brand like Maxi Cosi because they just have one type of car seat design. if u want ur car seat to be pretty, buy Maxi Cosi. they have very nice prints.

Re: milk bottles
eh i have 8 bottles in the fridge when i start mooing.. this excludes my 12 Medela bottles which i use to store.. so yes, it is very possible to buy many many bottles.

Like i already said, if u intend to bottle feed, just stick to 1 type of bottle! dun have to buy many to try. if u are going to latch, u don't have to buy any bottles yet.

dada>welcome aboard!we are due on the same date, I am 3rd time mum, and having a girl

on amazon.com> so you mean amazon will ship directly to your home address, without having to go through vpost or comgateway etc?

TGIF... Finally my work week is coming to an end... looking forward for afternoon naps during wkend. my back is breaking.

bunnymummy, pinky, i agree britax carseat is not very pretty and they are expensive. im looking for other brands, hopefully cost less than $300.

xuan, im planning to get 4pks of huggies for a 2 medela bottles too. haha... if you going to express during work, you probably need 4-6 storage bottles. but for feeding bottle, latch bb will have preference so better not buy too much.

silver, just 100 diff between the 2 pump. i will get the freestyle instead of the new swing. freestyle is smaller, got rechargeable batt and timer to tell u how long u pumped. $100 is very little compare to the amt you will to spend on formula.

hey Fuzzybear, i m here! Was veri veri busy at work past two weeks. den spent 6 hours shopping at taka bb fair ytd.. keke

1) i bought the pigeon bb wipes. 1 box for my fren, 1 box for myself. i send the box of wipes to my fren via free delivery from taka.

2) bought 3 boxes of pigeon disposal wipes at $13.90 each.

3) bought misc pigeon stuff, split receipts, cos spend above $80 & above $250 got diff gifts from pigeon.

4) spend above $50 at bb fair got one free goodie bag, spend above $30 at bb fair got free mustela travel pack (redeem at level 4). I got 3x of each free gift. haha.

5) i bought an ameda breastpump cos got cooler bag, cooling elements, breastmilk bags at $420. was tinking of Medela Swing maxi, but does not come with cooler bag. but can buy cheaper cooler bag from pigeon. The difference between FS & Swing maxi is tat FS got LCD screen for u to see the suction level, etc. but FS comes with cooler bag at taka bb fair.

6) bought a bonbebe pram at $299 cos hubby likes heavy and sturdy pram with huge wheels!

7) forgot to split the receipts for breastpump and pram if not can get two diff gifts from taka. Spend above $350, get a xylophone, spend above $600, get a giraffe for bb to sit & walk on (suitable for 12m onwards)

8) if u all got CIMB visa infinte card, pls park at Marriott hotel and walk over to taka. With this card, u can redeem a complimentary parking ticket from Marriott. but, first 20 cardmembers per day.

mummychua, i have a preloved britax car seat, so dun need to buy. but just got to buy a baby support to put on the car seat which i will b ordering from amazon.

Amazon sends directly to your home. no third parties.

ya mummychua, i thot since got medela storage bottles as freebie, can grab. cos most of the time the freebies are some toys rite? not as practical. haha.. but men dun see it that way 1.. hub just think i being gan cheong n kiasu. lol..

nope i'm not buying any feeding bottles 1st. i plan to use the free avent bottles tt will come with my steriliser to test on baby 1st when i want to bottle feed. if she doesnt take avent bottles n teats well, then maybe i buy medela teats to try with the storage bottles. hopefully my baby not the picky kind.. so waste money if need to buy so many brands just to find 1 tt they can accept leh.

Pinky - Lets try this again see if you can add me into FB by searching [email protected]?

The loot I bought yesterday-:
1. Medela nipple cream
2. 2 Pigeon bottles and bottle head.
3. 1 set of pacifier
3. 1 box of swaddle - 4 in 1 box.
4. 2 boxes of diaper cloth - i am also going to use it as a multi-purpose cloth (swaddle, blanket, putting on chairs etc).
5. Fisher price rocker - there is only one model at the fare for this brand.
6. cot side storage hanger
7. 2 blankets.
8. 2 boxes of breast pad - i got the rewashable/reusable one
9. 1 box of Avent BM storage cups - 180ml one

I think that's all for now. I have already settle stroller, car seat, cot, diapers, pigeon sterilizer and medela breastpump previously...so the rest e.g. shampoo, detergent, physiogel, wardrobe and sofa bed will settle them next month.

*BROKE*

arissa, same here. i m broke too! going to buy tollyjoy sterilizer cos i got preloved bottle warmer. just tested using to heat up a bottle of chicken essence. hehehe. those sterilizers at fairs come with bottle warmer, bottles and other things which i dun need.

xuan, dun hav tollyjoy, i planning to go BHG to see. if got sale should be below $70.

One good thing bout medela BP is that warranty starts from the day u submit your bb's birth cert to them. just keep the receipt for verification. so u can buy early and dun worry bout warranty.

kitkat, my hubby also likes the bonbebe pram at $299. he is considering it. but it is 10kg. not sure if it is ok for us to handle ourselves.

then hubby also saw the joie carseat which can seat newborn till 7 yrs old. priced at $299. he thot is value for money.

nidellia, my hubby likes the pram cos of its styling and sturdyness and the price. he was practicing to close and open it ytd. the pram is actually veri nice out of all the prams we saw.

for the carseat, we neva go see. but if can seat till 7 years old, meaning can it convert to booster seat after tat?