(2013/11) November 2013

wah seh! so many posts!

when's a good time to buy a cane? my son is 27 months and we discipline him by smacking with our hands on his butt or arm or thigh. I find using a cane quite scary but my sister has told me that we should have a separate discipline instrument i.e. a cane and that we should not use our hands to beat cos the hands is for caring. I don't believe in the angmo method of time-out, I think sparing the rod spoils the child since that's what the Bible says. Just wondering if the hand can substitute the rod. haha.

Kayliz, what a coincidence! my good friend just delivered via c-section and her in laws have been in her hospital room all day for the past two days, from morning till night! she has no chance to nap! worst of all, when she bf the baby, the in-laws will just stay around her bed and comment! the grandmil even said her nipple is too short. omg! my friend is too nice. if it's me, i would have told them off.

wat? I thought kayliz's one was bad.. SN your friend's encounter is even worse! the in -laws does it include ony the females or the FIL also???

even when my friend gave birth when I was there n she's pumping I did ask to leave her area n sit outside and chat with her..but she say she's ok so I was sitting in. even then I feel damn awkward la..

kayliz, mil staring at you bf is freaky!! when mil first knew abt my pregnancy, she stood and stared at me too. i was like... "uh, ya??"
so scary. hope she doesn't do the same when i bf next time...

haha, no lar, the FIL and bil not included. but i still find that the females should also leave the room lar. even if you are curious and want to watch, you shouldn't comment on people's nipple shape or size! seriously, i hear already very pissed leh! and it's ridiculous for them to stay at the hospital room the whole day! shouldn't they let the mommy rest and take a nap in the afternoon. wah lao.

Oh dear!!! Super paiseh to let somebody watching me moo-ing... this is so personal lo.

I wonder kayliz n SN fren how to tahan such mil. I probably flare up esp hearing such nasty comments!

I tink handling kids is really v tough. I saw kids like kept crying at toy dept wanting a toy badly then parents scolding. Tt time I brought my 3 yr old nephew out n when we passby Toysorus, he ran in immediately! ! Grab a bus n taxi toys n refused to put down! End up I bot him a bus toy den we can leave e place.

Teaching a kid is not easy.. alot to learn..Do u all believe in Canning? Some parents dont beat/cane e kids. I can forsee myself as e devil carrying a cane.... haha

Kayliz, ur MIL has such scary social boundaries! SN, your friend's in laws too!

Manawab, if u don't want company while bf-ing, just tell everyone that bb feeds better without distraction. This is a fact. Just mummy and bb in a room will do.

Pinky, I caned my gal before. Worked for a while until she started using the cane on me, so i stopped. Had to think of other ways to discipline. If u can, start all the disciplining ASAP. As mentioned in the thread before, it's really like training dogs (sorry kids!!).

As for toy dept stores, I stopped going near them for a few years. No point wasting money. Only when she was 4.5 yrs old did we allow my gal to go back to the toy stores. She understood if she wanted any toy, she jolly well use her own money from her coin box. And since she always forgets to bring her money out, she'll just look at the toys and check out the prices haha! Oh yeah, all the grandparents have been advised not to buy toys at her request too.

Anhk- I worried im e devil lo.. my hubby loves kids.. I see him playing w kids like him himself is a kid. Really need to talk to hubby when kid grows.

Ur gal v guai.. so young aldy noe how to cal money. Will b a good accountant in e future! Keke.. Oh, she get pocket money from u?

Ya I tink is good if grandparents can b our allies. U noe my nephew, e 1st grand child, whenever he come, my mummy sure shower him w toys every time. So now he come he will ask ah ma to buy toy for him. Dunno good or bad. ..

ankh, noted on privacy for bf

I hv a dog. Hopefully can discipline my child properly nex time.

I've 5 packs of Huggies NB 24pcs to let go at $5 each as my boy had outgrown to small size now, am willing to let go at cheaper amount if mummy buying 5 packs at one go. Interested mummies can contact me via 98191546.

I have a brand new Red Original Baby Bjorn Carrier to let go.

Retail price at kiddy Palace: $175.
Letting go at only $120.

If interested, please contact me via 9107 5422.

8481789.jpg
8481790.jpg

Pinky, if my gal so kuai, wouldn't have resorted to cane leh. Yeah, we started giving a 50ct coin daily to my gal last year. She knows two 50cts = $1 = one Malay cake. If a toy is $12.90, that's at least 12 Malay cakes. So her money sense is based on Malay cakes. Hm, maybe she can be accountant of co. selling $1 Malay cakes in future?

Febie, thanks for the amazon tip!

RE: bf
OMG.. that sounds so scary... I hope my mil wun be like that man... If its the LC I m still fine,, but if its someone familiar other Dan hubby.. I will feel so out of place man.. If first few times mil just want to check if the feeding is correct Dan still okay.. But if just to stay there and see.. Aiyo....

Silver: I finally did my hair today.. Haha she still remember you and she keep saying you as my friend and keep me your hair length and wat color and stuff... When I explain I just get to know you thru forum.. Hahhaa think she didn't get what I mean or she forget after I tell her a few times and I gave up.. My hair is in single color now.. But so not used to it, cos I usually will have a tint of red in my hair dye.. Hahaha need some time to adjust.. But the dye really no smell.. Thanks for the recommendation!

Ankh- actually I oso wan to teach my kid to save den can buy e things u wan. I tink u did a good job. At least ur gal noe she can't pester u to buy toys n wont throw tantrums in e toys dept. Malay cakes? Ha.. so cute. . Next time when she grows, maybe will use Mcdonalds? Hee..

Still having cough n lotsa of plegem! Tink it will last for another week to recover on it own. My hubby jolly well went jb w his frens today! And "deposit" me to my mum place before he goes off. How nice. =.=

morning mummies, just got back from gynae. im expecting a boy but my Oscar result is terrible as expect, risk ratio is at 1:10 so scheduled for amino 20june. i kind of expected to get bad result but hub isn't, i didnt tell him abt the high NT measurement, was hoping that my blood test will be ok. but end up with high hcg, low papp-a. he's quite upset now.

was asking my gynae to perform the amino on a earlier date but he refused. im on 16wks tmr but he wanted to for another 1.5wks. amino result will take another 2-3wks to complete. by then i will be ard 20wks. haiz...

no much choice unless i will to find another gynae who will perform amino now.

Sorry to hear that Mummychua. Do u want to do a detailed scan before doing amnio? Can do it with Prof Anandan at Camden. At least it is not invasive. He is very well known for doing such scans. If he says better to do an amnio then u can go ahead.

Why didn't ur gynae call u when he knows u had such bad results?! Aiyoh. He could have called u and u could have chose to do other forms of tests. Amnio usually done around 17-18 wks right?

Morning, sistas.
Hugz, mummychua.
Like fuzzybear suggested, maybe call try Prof Anandan scan in camden.
Updates for myself, seen Prof yest.
Placenta still same low position, but had decided to go back to work today. But will work slow & more desk bound. Prof agreed.
95% is princess.
Have to confirm in my detailed scan in 18weeks, which will be 21/6

Bluenosebear,I guess ur bleed is due to low placenta.Sigh both of us having low placenta and I feel cramp and tightness sometimes.Im ok to csec but I hope bb can endure till full term.
Mummychua,I went to Camden for 2nd opinion too.His scan is more detail than my FA.

Mummychua - jia you k!! Hugs hugs! I read e forum tt ppl oso hav poor result for oscar but ended up everything was fine! Dun worry k...

But ur gyne v weird. Normally oscar result will b out 2-3 days time. Ur gyne drag so long till ur next appt den inform u? Issit tt consider late aldy?

U faster go book for ur 2nd opinion k....

Bluenosebear- ur detailed scan scheduled at 18 weeks? So early? Mine was scheduled at 21 weeks. Dunno is TMC too many patients n tt y giv me such a later date.

snakebb-what was the reason for U to seek 2nd opinion in Camden? FA mean the detailed scan?
Pinky-my detailed scan at 18 weeks was due to NT thickness, so my dr want to make sure everything is ok, thus bring forward the detailed scan

With such a high risk, I'm quite sure I will do a amino. From what i read from net, amino could be done on 16wks. Accordingly to my gynae, my placenta is in good position for amino so I actually don't feel like waiting for another 2wks for the test. Plus another 2wks for the result to be back. I think that it's too long.

I'm actually quite disappointed that he only told me abt the result now. I could have opt for cvs instead. But he say that he don't want me to be worry abt it so wait till my 16wks appt.

With me going for amino, does it make sense to go for another scan at camdan?

Huggies mummychua. Discuss with your hb and see if you would want a 2nd opinion.

Sometimes a 2nd opinion can help you make a better decision.

hugs, mummychua (mush)...

re. breast pump...
#1, i solely rely on my avent manual pump...
tried avent single eletric, but it failed me badly...
#2, i got myself ARDO Calypso-To-Go Breast Pump (i took the single + the upgrade kit...)
the warranty is 2 yrs or up to 400 hrs of use...
suction was good...
http://babymeadows.com.sg/brands/ardo/ardo-calypso-the-gentle-breastpump.html
although medela was the highly raved one, i didnt want to risk getting an overseas set, and have problems with it...
(but i m having second thoughts on whether i want to invest on a medela set anot...)

mummychua: hugz maybe in this case you should get a 2nd opinion first? talk to your hubby and both of you must agree with it..
dun worry.. i believe bb will know your love and feeling to last till full term..

Mummychua, I don't see any harm doing a detailed scan with Dr Anandan at Camden first. His speciality is ultrasounds to determine for congenital problem. Plus his machines are different from those at gynaes, may be even better than those doing our detailed scans. If he scans u and determine that ur risk isn't so high then u might not need to do the amnio.

However if u are sure that u wanna do the amnio no matter what, then skip this scan. Do bear in mind that the amnio is not 100% accurate too.

Xiaober, for normal preg detailed scan is btw 20-23 wks as stated by SN. Nothing wrong with TMC. However for pregnancies with potential problems, docs prefer to do it at certain stages to determine growth and measurements of certain organ/ tissue.

Thanks mummies, will be calling gynae on Monday to insist for a amino immediately. Otherwise I will just go to another who will do it at 16wks. Anyone to recommend?

Checked with a friend who too did a amino. According to her we can opt for a express test which result will be out in 2days. But my gynae did not offer me this choice.

With a risk of 1:10 with gynae is like very relax. Or am I too kanchong?

Hi mummychua, i did an amnio for my #1. There is an option for express results within 2-3 working days but the most accurate detailed result is in 2 weeks. However, the express result is v accurate already n unlikely to defer from the detailed result. I think u should get amnio done soon as i understand the anxiety with the period of waiting. Dunno y ur gynae want to wait another 2 weeks.

Mummychua, is normal to feel anxious cos is our precious little bb. I will b as kan chiong as u given im in ur situation. Maybe ur gyne has seen many of such cases n things work out fine? N so he seems relax? Nonetheless ur gyne shld actually inform u earlier n lay out all r solutions for u. Checked w ur gyne again on e express option n see wat he/she say.

Better go call n book ur amnio asap ya n keep us updated.

Jiayou mummy!!

Mummychua>> Dun worry too much! Everything will turn out to be fine... you r not a 1st time mummy right?

As for why he rather do it on the 20 weeks, I check on internet.. I think the risk is higher if done amino at a earlier weeks. I checked due to my oscar test was much worse than yours and was thinking of waiting to do amino or directly to do cvs but decided to do cvs instead of waiting another month to do the amino.

And most importantly, check that your doctor has the experience to perform the amino, it will lower the miscarriage risk much more...

mummychua: i feel upset for u that our gynae did not inform u immediately of the oscar results. they said no calls= good news but being so high risk i dun think that is consider good news rite? in fact i feel he shld arrange to see u once the reports were received to let u know ur options n his advise, so that u have more time to decide wat u want to do next.

anw regardless, the impt thing here now is ur bb. i hope ur bb is in the 9/10 group n is healthy. do keep us posted on the outcome k? will be praying for u! *hugs*

Kt, this is my 2nd kid. I didn't do Oscar during my #1 since I was relatively young. So am I as blur as any 1st time mummy when it comes to this.

Of course the chance of miscarriage will by lower as I progress but with the odds at 10% ds vs 1% miscarriage risk I will certainly take the 1% chance. I believe that's why u chosen to go for cvs rather than wait for 16wk amino.

Xuan, so disappointed with Dr phua. Rmb I did call a couple of times after Oscar for the result. Expressed my concern abt my nt measurement and the weird call from Tmc abt my diabetic status.

I hope bb will be in the 90% camp.

Mummies who had done amino, can recommend ur gynae?

Mummychua, was it u or another mommy who said that the NT measurement was high but after that it became normal and hence decided not to do amnio since will keep baby regardless? Cant rem.

I did my amnio at wk20 cos only discovered the kidney size disparity at detailed scan. Not sure if like one mommy said that maybe gynaes prefer to do amnio later than wk16 to lower risk. Anyway, my gynae is at gleneagles medical centre level 3, dr chan K.H. His risk of doing amnio is known to be much lower.

Hi mummychua, since u have decided on amnio than follow through...for prof ananda early genetic scan, it is done before 15weeks which was why i saw him right after my poor oscar results at 14weeks..my combined risk was reduced from 1:157to 1:500+ after consulting him. His scan is a level 3 or 4 as compared to level 2 fa scan so he can detect congentital defects in normal pregnancies as well.

As SN mentioned, going to a doc who specialises in amnio does help to reduce the risk of the procedure...

SN>it was me who had high NT at 2.6-3, and decided not to do anything, didn't do Oscar, didn't want to Omnio, at 16 weeks scan, the NT level is normal 3.8, when anything below 5 is normal, so gynae said looks normal now. We didn't want to spend the $1200 to do the omnio, and we have decided to keep the baby in any case, so decided not to do any test.

hugs mummychua..i knew u were anxious previously.. ur gynae should really kept you informed earlier since the following options are time critical..i am sharing ur disappointment on how this is managed by ur gynae..
keep us informed your next step forward..glad that there are mummies here having the same experience..keep your spirits up, we will be here for u.

Mummychua,I seek 2nd opinion as my Risk for DS is moderated.Hubby feels tat we shld seek 2nd opinion.My #1 2yrs ago was 1:2000+.#2 is 1:600+.Gynae feels tat the dif is huge and I'm only 33.my gynae moved forward my detailed scan on wk18 to decide if amino test is required.Reason my risk DS is moderate due to my blood test result.

Morning mommies!

Mummychua, u might not be able to find any gynae to do the amnio for u. some gynaes only perform it on their patients and not walk-in. nonetheless u can always try. CVS has a higher miscarriage risk than amnio.

Hope ur gynae is able to do it soon. if wait till 20 wks, u might as well just go for detailed scan.

Millie, the scans Dr Anandan does can be done anytime right? not just at 14 wks. my gynae specifically told me i can do it at 14, 16 and 18 wks to scan for different things if i want.

Snake_bb, why are u up so late? insomnia?

Back to work today.. hope i don't start to bleed tonight.

Monday blues.... but looking forward to next mon cos it's my appt to see baby again! hehe..

mummychua: i see that most high risk mummies have their detailed scan brought forward to 18wks. can request urs to be done earlier also?

SN: I nv buy cane. My #1 is turning 3 next month. The reason is my hubby is sometimes very rash, even when he smack my gal with his hands, he does not know how to control the force and the whole area of her thigh would be really red and slightly swollen. I'm afraid with cane, it would be worse. Anyway I told my hubby to leave the disciplining to me. If i need to, i use the clothes hanger but i smack loudly on the bed or some object near her and that is enough to scare her, coz my gal very timid. Haha.

Your friend's in laws really can be friends with my MIL. Can stay in hospital whole day too... keep telling me to sleep, she will handle the baby. But how to sleep when i know there is someone who keeps holding my child?
This time round, i told my hubby, can he ask them not to visit me when i am in hospital? Wait till i return home la. Hospital is meant for me to rest and not to entertain guests anyway (if my own friends of coz i dont mind though). He said i'm being ridiculous. Lol.

Throughout my preg, my MIL always said my tummy very small. But on the day after i delivered, she told me "wah, your tummy still very big leh! Still look like 5 mths pregnant." I simply ignored her. Crazy, she think the tummy immediately deflate after birth ah?

Mawanab: ya lar. But i already made myself clear last time. I hope next time she will automatic abit. When it is time to excuse herself, she will!

Ankh/Pinky: disciplining kids not easy. My girl has a bad temper (easily show emo face and refuse to talk) when she dont get what she wants but she is generally well-behaved and i thank god for that. She can sit still in public transport or even when we gotta wait 2 hrs in a clinic. If there is no intention to buy her toys, i will avoid going near a toy shop. But if i buy her toys, i will tell her it is because she has been a good girl and she deserves it. Then she will be extremely proud of herself and maintain good behaviour for the next few days. Hahaha!

Mummychua: stay strong. Hope everything will go well for u and bb.

Fuzzy bear, I have to up every night to wee. After that i will sit on the bed awhile b4 continue my part 2. while sitting up, i realise i hvnt uodated the forum for 2 days.hahaha...
Then same time google how should my sleeping posture be cos of my low placenta.

@linxiaober
ya she abit auntie auntie one sometimes I talk I think she also don't understand loh..
so far you like the outcome?

@mummychua
sorry to hear about the test results but I've heard about dr. ananda too and many similar cases where they went to him for 2nd opinion the ratio actually dropped and dr. ananda advised against doing amino.

Re detailed scan:
i'm having my detailed scan at novena medical ctr..didn't know they do detail scan as well since they are relatively new, anyone done theirs there before? not sure how good are they in detailed scan but I was told that the waiting time is definitely much shorter than Thomson medical.

Silver: ya I quite like it..
thanks for the recommendation! Me n my hubby just not used to seeing me in whole black hair.. Hahah that's like erm.. Lost of no years ago my hair is whole black.. Hahha

Brazilian wax
Mummies is it painful to do it? I saw some mummies asking in fb and interested to know..

mummychua, will pray that everything will be fine for you and baby. take care.

snake_bb, wouldn't your sleep be much interrupted if you don't go back to continue after wee? i have been waking up at least 3 times each night to wee too... it's so distruptive. sometimes, even close eyes to wee... hahaa... too sleepy.

linxiaober: to be honest, yes brazilians are painful, but bearable for me. if u haven't done brazilian for a long time n needs alot of tidying then more painful. when i did it on a regular basis it was ok,, i could still text on my phone n din flinched. haha..

Xuan: I never do before. But was discussing with my hubby.. He say even if I dun do.. If I choose natural they will do it to ensure smooth delivery.. For that I dunno how true.. So thinking if should go for the waxing anot...

silver, i am oso having my detailed scan one month later at Novena Medical centre. If u got appt, tink dun need to wait long on weekdays unless u go on sat morning to queue...

Thanks for the advice on pedicure
Went for it yesterday and it was so shiok.. haha.. I let the manicurist know i preggy so she was gentle with the massage..

Would like to check.. Anybody heard about bean sprout husks pillows and what are the benefits? I saw someone selling cute personalised ones and interested to get when the time comes but hubby was asking me if the husks would rot inside the pillows and if there'll be weavels like those inside rice..

linxiaober: during delivery, they only anyhow shave but just lower part of the privates.. but i only did latest at 35 weeks coz i scared will cause contraction.

Hello mummies, finally managed to contact my gynae. I managed to push the amino to this Thursday and will be doing the fish test too. So I should know the result before the end of the wk. This is the best I could do for my bb now. Thanks all for the support. I will be strong.