(2013/07) July 2013

Ling: pump in style advance is the one with the black bag.

Ordolla: June there's motherhood fair. But not sure if it's confirmed.

hi ordolla,
there should be another one too ~ taka baby fair.
usually people w get one before birth, so that can start pumping aft delivery. But some mums will find certain pumps work better for them, so it all depends on own personal choices.

yes, for breast pump, pump in style is better, but bulkier. freestyle is more convenient for outdoors, but again depends on personal preferences.

i went to the fair, in the end.. lol..after hearing from friends whats worth getting.. got muslin swaddles at 50% and mustela cream and other stuff, hehe

I prob get e pump nearer to delivery date. Anyone signs up for antenatal classes? These classes only conducted in shopping mall? I wonder if they have class in neighbourhood shopping mall such as AMK hub etc

I agree that PISA is better comparing in terms of suction to Freestyle but it is too heavy to lug to work so I actually opt for Freestyle cause its lighter and is a dual pump
Served me good for the 1+ yrs that I have breastfed my #1. Supply was not bad, averagely 1L at least to max of 2L/day.

Ling,
Mrs Wong BB's class is conducted in AMK Hub.
You can call TMC to enquire and register

anewmummy... same as you, im getting double stroller cos my #1 only 1 yr old. hehe.. im buying kinderwagon. lightest type of double stroller, about the same size as single stroller. easy for me to go shopping the whole day and squeeze into mrt.

Huggies was a disappointment. the little tikes toy are old stock which i already had 6 months ago. was expecting some new toy.

http://www.miniwalker.com.sg

I am also interested in a tandem stroller that can squeeze into mrt, in case I go out by myself with #1& #2 with lots of things.

My sis bought 2nd hand Phil & Ted tandem stroller.

Catherine: kinderwagon really is the lightest on the market?

Didn't go to Babycare festival. Bought 2 pkt S size diapers of Mamy Poko 72pcs from Ntuc for $20.90 each.

Actually i quite like phil & ted tandem stroller. saw quite a few pple using it but v expensive.. and it looks extremely comfortable for the baby. was wondering is it easy to fold and keep?

The delivery guy supposed to deliver my kinderwagon double stroller tonite.i try liao let you all know good or not. I took up their cny promo package. The double stroller (comes with accessories like cup holder/ rain cover etc) + (2 stroller pad worth $40) + (diaper bag worth at least $50) = $388. so if you less of the pad and bags, the stroller is around $300. seems reasonable to me lah...

based on the weight, it seems to be the lightest double stroller in market. only around 8 kg and it fold exactly like umbrella stroller.

i was just surfing surfing then chance upon a forum (can't remember which one sorry), where a mommy2b said she saw the dates on mother & baby magazine.
taka website did not show the dates though.

I just went for my checkup today. It's a boy! My husband is over the moon, and my in-laws are secretly pleased although they say that gender doesn't matter. Haha!

Could someone please add me to the FB group?
My email address is [email protected]

I've booked my malaysian confinement lady at 2.3k. Does any mummies' CL also help to buy confinement tonic like bird nest from Malaysia? Mine charges $400 for all the herbal 'bu' stuff. Wonder if its worth the money. Mummies who have hired CL before, could u advise on how much u've spend on a month's worth of 'bu' items?

Xo

My cl charge me $2500 but did not offer to buy tonics. Sometimes it's "safer" to buy expensive tonics ourselves from reputable shops so that you get quality product... Jus my personal opinions...
you might need rice wine too...

Though it's my 2nd kid, but I can't tell you how much I spent on tonics cos its usually my mum buying them. The cl once she arrived will tell you what tonic is needed and you can get someone to buy.... Else you can buy earlier based on her advice...

Congrats cool bean and nonscon, Im also expecting a boy boy

Xo: my CL is charging me 2.3k, but havent checked with her if she helps to buy confinement stuff.

Anyone has been added to FB recently? I have changed settings but yet to receive any invites. my email is [email protected]

congrats mummies.

me also a boy boy and everyone is over the moon cos i both mil and my own side all gals.

my CL is my bil godma friend, so charging us at friend price. we will buy the herbs first then upon her arrival, buy what she request.

my first CL also we buy the herbs then upon her arrival, then we buy what she request.

I asked to join Facebook but so fat no reply...

My last CL I bought tonics from eu ren san upon her arrival.

This pregnancy I am thinking not to hire confinement lady. Has bad experience before. But then I need hb/mil support... You know eu ren san got confinement package. You can get full set and they have schedule to tell you what to eat when... About 2xx dollars. I am thinking get postnatal confinement tingkat plus eu ren san package....

Anyone wants to keep in touch in whatsapp or Facebook please pm me.

Congrats for those who know bb gender. I'm expecting a boy too. I'll have 3 monkeys at home. Can't imagine the war zone I'm gonna have.. Hahaha!

congra cottagefry, so many boys here? me also having a boy. luckily my second is a girl, she is gentle unlike no 1 boy so active..

catherine
how was the double stroller? any picture?

Anewmummy: yesterday night fixed the double stroller already..looks quite nice. After folding, it looks small, can fit into taxi easily.

i posted the pic in SMH FB page leh...u saw?

Sorry to intrude...

I have 4 USS tickets for sale which are expiring on 02Mar13 (this sat).
Letting go at SGD65 per tkt (SGD240 if u take all 4 tkts).
Pls PM me if u're keen, thks!!

Anyone getting maid and leave them 1 to 1 at home with baby? Or with elderly at home?

I am thinking if i should get a maid or infant care.. but infant care around my area is superb full and waiting list in Q 20 babies ahead of me. ;(

hi caryl,
initially i have the same thinking as you, get a maid or infant care.

we actually ask my mil if she is able to come everyday to my house just to help me to jaga the maid. cos dun feel good leaving my infant with a maid alone.
mil is ok, so we gg with getting a helper.

Caryl, which area are u living at? Most ifc have wait-list, u should register 1st and then call them frequently while you are on mat leave to chk. Else, look for nanny? Mine is placed at ifc since 4 months, must be prepared that need see doc frequently (esp betw 6 to 10 months), may not be due to fever but small but irritating aliments like runny nose, cough etc. But it would also be dependent on each baby's immune system.

With a maid, better to have someone to watch over or install a CCTV. Lucky if u managed to find a good maid else rather be safe than sorry.

Linda, how abt putting maid at mil's place during day time to look after baby in case ur mil is not comfy coming over ur place?

For my #1, i placed her in ifc since 4 months. My mil and mum are eager to take care, but we feel that they are old and may not be able to handle the stress of handling a baby and we are not really into the idea of getting a maid. Plus we do not fancy the idea of having her at home and most probaby watching tv most of the time, and we prefer to have our parents as "back-up" plans. Althou need to see doc once every 2-3 weeks during the 6 to 10 months period and sent to KKH A&E twice due to croup, i've no regrets. My girl is now 14 months and she enjoys interacting w the other kids in ifc and will be gg to cc soon in may. That would be another phase.

Catherine, saw ur double stroller on FB - looks cute, and i esp like its bright color. I would love to buy it if not for the fact that i already bought a 2nd hand P&T stroller... hmm.. I feel the P&T is quite bulky, even when folded. Yes, its sturdy but take up space leh... dunno will even get to use it ... haha

felixp,

putting maid and bb at mil house is not possible. cos i have no tpt in the morning. hb leave for work ard 6.30am and i have to fetch my no 1 to ccc.
mil is ok with coming to our house everyday. we feel that she will be tired too. but she keep insisting that only one bus jorney, from her house downstair to my house downstair.

also all of us, mil inclusive dun like the idea of having the maid at her house, cos i have a PRC sil that dun bother abt her no 1 who is 18 mths old and expecting no 2 due in may.
now mil is helping to take care while she work part time and back home at 2pm. but she dun take over taking care of her gal. she simply go str to her room and sleep or do her things leaving the child to my poor mil who need to not only take care of the child, do housework, cook and do marketing. she dun even have time to rest.
if we put maid at mil house, bil will not share the maid cost cos both bil and prc sil is so stingy to the 1 cents kind of person.
imgaine mil take care of the child 24/7, 7 days a week and they only give her $100.

if by this next mth, mil decided not to help us, we will register to the ifc downstair.
my no 1 goes ccc at the age of 20 mths.
during the first 6 mths of her life in ccc, every 3 weeks to 1mth i take leave cos she constantly fall sick and my medical bill coup up to abt 4k within 4 mths. see pd, gp, specialist, even tmc. but no regards, as her immunity is better as she grows and she learn more and more independent.

My goodness, Linda, i feel very heartpain for your mum.

Me too, kept taking leave within the 1st one year, due to #1 falling sick, and at times, stretching one week or more. I will normally attend to her for the first 2-3 days then bring over to my mum's side at CCK (I stay at woodlands). I can understand ur hardship. Only FTWM like us who put babies at ifc can understand fully the difficulties of being a FTWM and that pro-family support from supervisor/ company is very impt, and watever $$ incentives the govt dishes out is not helping at all.

Eventhou i lived and worked in woodlands, and the ifc is also in woodlands, it's still a few blocks away from my block and i hate it whatever its raining heavily, esp these few days... and the rushing to-and-fro, all on foot (simply cant get cab when its raining at all). I hope and pray everything will be okay with the 2nd one next time, since i will need to lug the both of them to/fro ifc/cc together ... cant imagine the rainy season and settling both of them at home in the evening alone... :p

felixp,
its my mil.
my mum pass away 20 years back.

my gal lst childcare was 2 bus stop from my house. i can understand how you feel when it rain.
switch her to MFS just at my house downstairs last year. super convenient and better learning environment.
my hb sometimes need to work 24 hours. therefore quite tiring and rushing for me.
i cook and do housework everyday some more.
with this preg, hb is more auto helping with the housework.
that's y if no 2 comes along and no help i think i rush like mad.
no 1 is gg P1 next year and no 2 if in ifc, i will rush like a mad woman if hb is on shift.

I personally dun feel comfortable having a stranger in my house, so maid is definitely a no no.

Felixp: You bought P & T double stroller.. it's a v nice stroller. After folded, can put in car boot easily? how much you bought as 2nd hand?

Linda, ops, sorry abt ur mom.

U are lucky to have MFS at ur block. There is none at my void deck or nearby, and the nearest is a few blocks which is abt 10 mins walk with no sheltered walkway and too short a distance for a bus ride. Am seriously considering writting to my MP to install a covered walkway between the blocks...

My hb is supposed to be on 9-5 job but is always OT-ing and working over the weekends on projects. So I am the only one to bring and fetch baby to/from ifc. In the mornings, i will cook and put in thermal pot or use timer to cook porrige, walk baby to ifc then come home to change and walk to workplace again. In the evenings, i be walking direct from workplace to ifc to fetch baby and walk back home, feed baby and putting her to zz by 8pm. Will tidy house once a week or when free on weekend and wash clothes 2x a week, when baby is zzz.

With #2 coming along, i am really not sure how the routine will turn out in the evening but we are really not keen w a maid, cos that would mean i be depositing the 2 kiddos at my MIL's place and i just dun like the idea of them being at home and probably watching tv most of the time.

There is a 3rd option, though which I am still considering. There is a ifc/cc at my current workplace (with long waiting list as well). If offered vacancies, i can consider putting both there; price is really cheap, $600 in total after subsidies for both kiddos, but there lies the same problem of transport esp on rainy days. But this would be dependent on if i am offered both a place in ifc and cc ...

catherine/felixp,

initially, we dun feel comfy with maid stay in too.. but we kindy dun much choice.
its either ifc for no 2 and ccc for no 1 for this year. or ifc/ccc for no 2 then have to find another student care for my no 1.
if hb working swift, there is no way i can meet the time to fetch both of them in time.
cos by the time i reached my house to fetch my no 1 now is already 6.20pm.
next year, my gal is gg to P1 which is abt 20 to 30 mins thro and fro from my house depending on the speed.
that's the main reason also y, until now after my no 1 is 6 yo then we have a no 2.
no one to take care.

Catherine, i bought my P&T for $250 cos its used for 5 years, looked abit washed out but still sturdy. It can be put in the car boot after folded but it super bulky cos of its large wheels. The frame is also much bigger than the maclaren I am having right now. My #1 (abt 10kg) looks super tiny sitting on it. Haha

Linda, understand your difficulties. Even if u wanna put in student care, may not be near ur place and depend on availabilities too. I hope u will get a good maid to take good care of your babies and good thing ur MIL dun mind coming over daily. With my #2, i be putting both in the same ctr all the way till K2. Even at this stage, I am also getting worried abt what would happen when #1 reaches p1, shall I stop work, put in student care (what if cant find one?), with mum/ mil or get a maid...

felixp,
thanks. i hope to get a good helper too.
i hope by the time your no gg P1, your house void desk or nearby with shelter can have ccc.

good luck to all of us.

$250 is quite a good buy. The original price was more than $1k, i think.

My son will be in childcare for 1 yr before i put him in PAP kindergarden.

Sorry to disturb.
I would like to recommend my CL aunty yen ying , she is a very friendly , clean ,patient n helpful lady, she can cook n she love baby. Interested can SMS me Vic 93368616. I'm helping her to post because she is my best CL .Cheers

hi morning mummies ...

a silent reader here ...

posting on behalf of a friend

"Avent Duo electric pump for sale @ $350. Purchased on 12 July 2012 and only used for a month. Receipt is available. Warranty till 12 July 2014. All standard parts included. Interested please contact Stella at 97388724. Thanks!"

Gd morning!! today is Mothercare baby fair @ harbourfront (For members).. 1-10 March will be opened to public.. Anyone marching down later?

I'm a mom from the June 2013 thread and thinking of organising a group buy for Studioplay(previously SeanLau) package. I have organised one for my 1st child together with >30 mums before. If you are interested, please pm me or email me at [email protected]. Minimum no. for this groupbuy to go ahead is 10 mums. All interested mums will be notified by email once this groupbuy is confirmed. Please introduce your friends to this so that we can enjoy more benefits. If we hit 30 mums, more discounts can be expected. Thank you.

I'm only doing groupbuy for their Wall Art B package(original price: $280).

Please take a look at their works @ www.studioplay.com.sg and see if you like their style.

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">Studioplay.com Groupbuy promotion</font></font>

WALL ART B (Original price: $280)

- TWO PAX

- THREE IMAGES

- ONE 8" x 10" PICTURE WITH FRAMING

- TWO 5" x 7" PICTURES

- SIX 4" x 6" REPRINT PICTURES

- PERSONALISED DVD OF SELECTED THREE PICTURES

- TWO HOURS STUDIO SESSION

<font size="+1">For 10 mums</font>
<font color="ff0000">The groupbuy price is $250. Discount of $30 </font>

<font size="+1">For 20 mums</font>
<font color="ff0000">The groupbuy price is $230. Discount of $50 </font>

Other details:

- WEEKEND SESSIONS ARE AVAILABLE AT $35 ADDITIONAL

- ADDITIONAL PAX WITH INDIVIDUAL SHOTS CAN BE INCLUDED AT $50/PAX

Cath... its a good buy no doubt but now not sure if will really use haha... Btw, tot ur boi is a girl lol.... then my girl looks like boi... kekes.

posting on behalf of my #1 May 2011 grp

letting go preloved philips avent breast pump twin electronic $250, comes w bag and 2 bottles. If keen, can WA 9653 0121 - Jacqueline

tks

Felixp: my boy looks like a gal? hahaha... maybe old wives tale is true. My #2 is a 80% gal. seems your girl look like boy, is your #2 a boy? heard alot of pple say if your child looks like a gal, then #2 is gal. if look like boy, then #2 is boy. haha...