(2013/05) May 2013

Chiro
Yes it is amazing. A human being inside us. It's a blessing, yet it can also be a pain haha... just be grateful I guess.

tsm
sometimes there's excess padding in the hospital room. I would just use those first in case of staining.

anyone having morning sickness again? mine came back.. and it's so xin ku to puke with a big tummy.. feel like crying. =(

Xuan - yeah my first baby also. So many things to learn hor. Luckily this forum got many experienced mummies to share useful information. ^.^

Maternity pads: What's the difference btw maternity pads and the sanitary pads huh? Can buy those night use extra long ones?

vicvic - *patpat* Is it cos of heartburn or indigestion? Try sucking a sweet. Take small meals. Maybe eating fruits will help?

chiro.. don't think it's heartburn or indigestion... just can't take any food or water.. once something enter my mouth, i start feeling nausea and wanna puke. the nightmare of 1st trimester came back to haunt me. T.T

Xuan, not sure about hougang/kovan area for PD. But for my #1 baby jab i go to clinic and let GP do it. Only spcial case where i need PD's help then i go find PD. So I also don't go to Mount A to find the PD very often. My bb gender should be girl. Dr Poon say he can see something that looks like three lines at the private part, indicate a girl. So i ask him, "Means 100% girl?" He say, "75% only" -.-" hahaha so ya, 75% girl haha. I'm also pushing forward my appointment to tomorrow due to some lump in pelvic area. Won't be able to see you on the 16th le!

Mummies, i have this lump above my right groin area that's not painful but sometimes ache a bit when i sit in a weird position. It's like a lump in the right pelvic area. Anyone have that too? Decided to push forward my appointment to tomorrow to get gynae to check.

vicvic, i had morning sickness in third trimester for my #1. Poor thing.. Take small meals k?

Xuan - you transferred $ to the seller liaos? haha yup, i figured out your name in FB.
I think I will either self collect at Bt Panjang on wkends (depending on the time) or request for reg. mail or courier..

Maternity pads
- also interested to know whats the diff b/w maternity pads and sanitary pads. Can we just buy the maternity pads at places like Watsons? For my usual periods, I am already using the v.long pads (35cm, 41cm)..not sure abt the flow after delivery. if more then I must be extra careful and change the pads more often liaos...

debbie, ya.. sigh. now trying to take a lil biscuits once in a while. is that lump big? maybe because too heaty or something? drink more water and hurry get it checked. take care too.

*a rose for every mummy here..* @-',-- haaaha.

tsm, jill
No, I didn't mean pads. I meant, the small rectangular padding that can be used to line the bed to prevent staining. Sometimes there are some excess just thrown around loosely in the hospital cabinet beside your bed. I left them behind for #1, but took them back for #2. I thought they came in useful.

Btw, I went to the Taka Baby Fair today & Bought an AMEDA Breastpump. Hooray! hehee.

I saw a quinny zapp 2011 bundled with maxi cosi cabriofix for $599. Quite worth it hor.

Chiro: ya!! Lucky our May forum mommies all PRO-breastfeeding and encouraging!! Feel pretty blessed and lucky!! HAHA! so excited + scare of the labor process =D

Vicvic: I also have feeling of vomiting at times. try taking some sweet?

Debbie: aww =( lump?? is it like hard hard and your tummy out of shape at times??Mmm. oh so for jab u just go normal GP??

pinktulip: Kiddy palace got sell. I bought one pack that day. 5pcs. Bought it just in case hospital one not enough. and gonna put one before EDD. in case, while sleeping water bag broke then won't stain the bed so much...

tsm: yup the hospital uses those disposable blue mattress protecter and usually they will put a few in the cabinet beside our bed and we can bring those excess ones back home for our own use.

sleepyskies: i find that maternity pad are usually softer and slightly longer than the usually overnight sanitary pad. you can buy at the common places that you buy sanitary pads like super market, watson etc. but you can also use those overnight sanitary pads. usually the first 1-2 weeks after birth the flow will be very heavy.

sleepyskies: not yet. wahahaha! she got reply u? I went to taka baby fair during lunch time just now. so forgotten about the transfer =P My ibanking sot so cannot use =( lazy go get new token also. WAHAHHAHA! will do do in awhile. gonna grab something to drink. My baby keep poke n poke me. Ask me go buy something for him to drink. HAHAHAH!

Any feedback about Taka baby fair? Thinking of going tml. So far have been buying here and there but like never finished buying like that! Tired Liao...

Plus hubby no follow so have been lugging heavy bags while on train

Upset he is not very proactive in preparing the home for baby
Sorry to rant... Think last nite woke up too many times frustrated already

wai wai: I went to taka baby fair just now during lunch. Not much actually. They have huggies, pigeon, stroller (a lot of brands to choose if you haven't get yours), some clothing, baby seat, baby cot, Medela...and some here and there de things for baby. Actually I feel that nothing much eh. not crowded also. I still think the previous baby fair was quite beneficial. The Aden swaddle from baby fair was $27.95 after 50% discount. Taka baby fair selling at $39.

Pinktulip/Irene: Ic Ic, dunno whether parkway east hosp wil provide or not? think jz buy a pack wil do jz in case need to use.

Wai Wai: keke my hubby oso not so proactive in preparing baby's items, but I am okay with it as long as he pay money to buy those things. Anyway, he will help when I ask.

irene: the disposable blue mattress protector is those that feels like paper tissue? V thin and has 2 layer - one white one blue? I'm trying to find them but can't find any. Rmb the last time my aunt use it when my cousin was a baby, they sell in a big pack and is really cheap.

vicvic: I bought mine at kiddy palace. u can try. inside 5pcs. less than $10. I think $6+ or $8+.

wai wai and tsm: my hubby also. If I need help he will try to go with me. but everything I preparing. Since it's our #1 he said he don't know what to prepare also. so just leave it to me. But also good la, he tag alone later he keep ask...what is this? why need buy this? this for what? this need meh? shop liao also sian. hahaha. everything also ask why why why...

vicvic: yup one blue layer that is like plastic which is waterproof. and the other layer is white, material like cotton.

Xuan: haha at least yr hubby will ask, my hubby dun ask why. everytime we go out buy baby things, i choose i take then he help to carry and pay. but sometimes he wil give opinion which one better and for those need more "technical knowledge" such as buy stroller he will 研究 and share with me. so i like go shopping him.

Irene - thanks! I think I will get the normal pads (the longest type) and maternity pads coz usually my period quite heavy de..

Xuan - hahah, she just said she's waiting for you to transfer then can order liaos. no hurry! haha, your bb is thirsty lahs! Did you get anything from the taka baby fair? Am going down after work...intending to get diapers, bedding sets (if cheap) and maybe more swaddles.

wai wai - i think the paternal instincts for men havent set in yet so they dont really feel the need to prepare like we do. just dont over strain yourself ok? if the bags are heavy, just ask your hb to come pick you up or take a cab home! dont squeeze mrt liaos...so far, i only encountered 2 kind souls who offered their seats to me on trains. the rest of the time, kena ignored. this is already considering i v.rarely take trains..haha.

Re: Swaddles
I missed out the deal on the Aden + Anais swaddles at the expo baby fair...but I already have a set of 3 swaddles at home. Is it enough? Thinking if its necessary to buy more anot since only swaddling the baby during the 1st month or so?

Pee pads... actuallyif u all dont mind. Daiso sell those pee padsfor dog. Its the same one. Get the big pc one. Think inside 4 pc or something. Only $2

Jc: I tell u what u should buy to for confinement ok.
1. Dangshen 2nd grade one 500g to 1kg (depends on how much u drink and how cl prepare. Half kg is a ok amount)
2. Long gans (black type) 1 box
3. Hei zao (blackdates) 300g
4. Bei qi tong cao (up to u)
5. Red dates (I usually mix seed and seedless)
6. U can get packets herbs from fuhua or eys. Buy around 10 packs. Not enough then buy again
7. Dom 2bottles (some prefer brandy)
8. Shen hua tang 2 pkts

This is what I prepared for my sis. If u want can get some pao sheng ginseng

$300 for above is enough.

Sleepyskies: oh isit!? I just transfer her and send her email liao. think she can order already =) weee! so excited!! :p lol! ya. I went during lunch just now. Aden swaddle at $39. Never buy much eh. ntg much there.diapers got huggies only if I'm not wrong.

vicvic: welcome! ^^ sure have. you go to the section that sells maternity pads, cotton panties and those baby section. I got mine at compass point kiddy palace.

2Ks: ideal ah!! Never thought of that! hahaha

I went taka bb fair earliee. Not crowded. But as usual those few stalls lor. This year no medela 1 to 1 exchange. Bought some stuff I miss out like cotton wool, anti slip bath tub mat, milk bottles thats all.

Today also ordered my cupboard and bought new beds for my boys.
Very broke already la.. just hope to settle everything during my HL period.

My gynae gave me a safe date. He said any signs of labour before 25 apr ask me straight go kkh.otherwise after 25 apr can call him anytime.

sleepyskies - i think 3 swaddles is enough le. Mothercare fair i think they got swaddles at 50% off if you need more. But not the 4-pack ones.

tsm - The first thing that my hubby wanted to window-shop on baby stuff is strollers! Guys are just crazy about wheels lol. But yea they are usually more technically savvy. ;) You decided on which stroller yet?

Xuan - sounds like this taka fair not very attractive. I thought can happily loot like at expo fair! haha.

Haha... michelle. I used my dog pee pad la... works the same.
Anyway I put my wings pad double layer overlap one... so far ok

Tsm: that is the basic amount u should prepare. I dont suggest u to stock more cos hv to c your cl method and way. Too little can always buy but dont stock too much cos wait wasted. We usually wont want to drink after confinement la.

2ks, did you buy a big cupboard or small one? I need a narrow cupboard but only can find in ikea.
I think you don't walk too much and strain yourself leh. Take things easy and rest. Dun carry heavy stuffs yourself also.

2Ks
Weiiii you on HL, bedrest, still can go Taka?! Walk at snail pace ok.

chiro, sleepyskies
I'm a swaddles junkie too, especially pretty ones! For me I swaddle until at least 3-4 months. I like to have at least 6-7 on standby coz I will change swaddle cloths twice a day, after their shower. Sometimes pple visit, carry baby and all, I don't like the idea of using the same one again for the day. Or sometimes I use it to wipe milk on baby etc, so I prefer a fresh swaddle cloth after I shower/bath baby in the evenings.

TAKA Fair
Yes, it's $39 at Taka today.

I'm SOOO tempted to get the quinny zapp bundle.
Maybe I get in end Mar since the fair is till 7 Apr.

For Huggies, I think for $120 spending, you get some crawling ball and blocks. Spend more than that, u get some medela bottles. Didn't quite take note. But for the Taka fair, spend $600, you'll get some kind of a Little Tikes Pirate ship. Was that the one they offered for spending $150 at the baby fair?

Actually I feel quite fed up leh. Things are so cheap now. A maxi cosi priori (for toddlers, 9 mths above) only about $300. I bought it for $600+ 5 years ago!

2ks: ya i oso wanna buy anti slip bath tub mat! how much is it?
Yup, will buy some herbs 1st coz my CL oso said dun buy and wait her buy.

Chiro:we bought the combi stroller during the expo baby fair and has been delivered to our hse last Sat. then my hubby spent a lot of time to check the condition of everything even a small spare part....

Xuan - hehehe I am v.excited too! hope the carriers come soon!

Chiro - thanks! I am lazy to go harbour front for the Mothercare fair lehs...v.far away. thinking if I shld get just 1 more pack of swaddles (maybe 2/3pcs) at taka. haha.

2Ks - thanks for sharing the list of herbs to get for confinement!
I will note down first then ask CL if she needs anything extra.

For the disposable blue mattress protector you can try to get it at those pharmacy located at hospital.. I got mine from mount elizabeth guardian pharmacy the last time. Hope this info helps

Went to taka fair too well there is this joie car seat for newborn to 4 yrs selling at $199 plus free toy.. Worth to get as all along the promo price is $209.

2Ks: wow!! you better don walk too much already lah! REST at home !!! Ask you ah lao do it for u eh.

Chiro: that's why! sian 1/2 went I go there. haha. Expo baby fair I happy ah. loot n grab only. hahaha! :p

pinktulip - hehe, I see the Aden + Anais swaddles v.pretty and soft so tempted to get a few more to standby coz I really have no idea how often to change/wash the swaddle. Ppl tell me babies are generally v.clean...only milk stains, abit of sweat, saliva thats abt it. But I think I may be abit 'niao' if ppl carry baby in the swaddle...I will feel inclined to change the cloth, like u! Nw I already v.particular about such stuff liaos, I cannot imagine if its my baby! haahaha

tsm - LOL, your hb v.funny lehs! Like examining a new car?!

Chiro: I bought a full height cabinet. Initially I wanted to get drawers type. But its hard to take clothes and sure not enough to store. So one shot buy then can store towels bedsheets everything in.

Pink tulip: u should buy now leh if u want then can redeem tge free gift. Its usually while stock last de. Then u can sell the free gift mah can get some money back.

My hub with me today thats y I try to settle everything.
Taka fair every year the same la. Just need to get some stuff that I missed out lor.
And I took ventolin ma so can control the pain abit... lol

2KS
But I think they'll change the free gift one lah. See how lah. I want to wait for my PB in end March. Looking at my performance, I'll be lucky if they even give me 1 month lol. I'm just a worker bee.

I also need to buy cabinet. But I'm going to spend $1k doing up my bathroom & sink so I think I better not be too ambitious in my spending.

Xuan
The Expo fair was more for lower-priced essentials I think, that's why we just happy2 grab. The Taka fair to me is more for big ticket items. That's why we are more cautious. Can't just chuck in a stroller into a shopping basket right. Hehe.

Sanitary pad : I didn't get maternity pad . Instead I get the longer night pad prob cotton material .

Anti slip mat: I paid 9.90 for it

2ks; thks for sharing the herbs list !

Xuan: think I will still have to buy the Aden's swaddle cos I din manage to get at EXPO the previous round. He likes to ask questions too and also has no idea which brand is good. So I get pek chek cos wanna quick quick buy n go

Tsm: my hubby works long hours even on weekends. And he hates to drive to town due to car park fees so to avoid quarrels I will take train on my own to buy stuff n lug back lor. Just lug back pigeon baby wipes too cos John little got discount. Super heavy.

Sleepy skies: so far I quite lucky cos my belly super huge. Most of the time people give up seats. Except yesterday an auntie who sat beside me chided me for playing games instead of reading book or listening to music on trains. Out of courtesy, I kept quiet n smile. Play candy crash cannot meh :p

2Ks: don't play play... Be careful n try to lie down more... Be safe lah... For BB sake

Anyone has good suggestion on mattress for bb cot? Do many different terms and all so ex. And those protective cushion ard bed set can cost abt 70 to 100 bucks...wohooo I never know bb cot set can be this ex.

i m a big fan of aden and aden swaddles. other than swaddling baby, i used it as a blanket for my toddler as well! I have seen people using it as a bedsheet! hahah super worth it!

Morning... Yesterday whole day shopping until middle of night cramp and bb kicking all the way non stop, I was thinking is it contraction.

Darche07, u search small small world in fb then the admin will add u in. Pls provide ur nick in smh so that they know who u are.

Xuan, oh no stock for my design.. Ok nvm thanks for asking.

Yesterday at taka fair, medela Pisa was selling $699. The promoter was saying only sg carry metro bag and going to discontinue already. Once everything sold out means no more.
Only US still carry Pisa.