(2013/05) May 2013

Morning ladies! My nausea seems to be getting lesser. Used to puke 10times a day but yesterday, i only puked in the morning. Lunch ok, dinner ok.

Really cross fingers cos really wana bb to get some nutrients. My babies always so small cos i dont think they have much to eat while inside cos i puke for 9 months typically. Hopefully this one is a big fat baby, not like skinny gor gor n small size jie jie.

Good morning ladies!

Bbk, congrats on the good measurements during your Oscar scan!

mami, good for you that your nausea is lesser! I'm at week 12, but my MS still there and seems to be even worse
Always pukey before sleep and sometimes really will puke in the evenings and night. during #1, no MS at all..

fabbie, the turnip can eat but the prawn sauce for rojak not very good. Really toxic. So i guess in moderation is ok bah. I know it's really nice to eat haha i also like! But if my family order rojak, i eat a bit then stop le. My mum say don't eat so much.

Can i ask, can preggy women go for dental checks? like the normal yearly check-up for cleaning etc?

Esther: really ah? But the rojak sauce is no nuts wor. Sighs ok then I better cut downs thanks for the info. ^^

Jc; I'm going to wedding on 13th and 18 nov and 31st dec. 2 of the days are my cousin but I didn't say or ask I'm pregnant can go anot. Cus we are cousins? Only my Frd one I got told him I'm pregnant n told him ok anot for me to go if not I don't go. Just scare his in law or parents unhappy nia. Cus older generation is more pantang than us hehe

Re: rojak
I'm a rojak fan too.. but my mum reminded me that prawn sauce no good.. in moderation will be ok..

Wow!! Congrats to all the mummies with good Oscar results.. Mine will be next Tue.. I wonder y a short scan with a few extra measurements need to cost so much..

Rojak:
Fabbie ya I'm told not to take too even during non preg period. Preg le once I mention rojak Hb say nooooo

Oscar:
Iko: how much urs.Now I still don't know how much leh. They nvr tell me date nor cost only say will do it when I'm 12wks+. And usually mine done at Gynae clinic leh even the last round when I did blood test they go invite the nurse over to the clinic for me wo. But I see a nos of u done at hospital very weird

Fabbie:
I think cousin u also better ask coz I'm not gog for my cousin's next may. And during mind those preggy nvr turn up too

Debbie:
I think can u call in n ask. Mine is crowning n also can't coz the dentist need inject anestistic

MamiB:
R u small size mummy in the 1st Plc or ur previous 2 Gynae said u din eat enough? Mine when I ask Gynae if need supplement as I can't eat much n keep vomitting she said font need now only start in 2nd trim

Durian:
Fabbie Shirley lets go eat in 2nd trim together haha. I do deprived now coz my family don't eat n I usually eat 2-3 seeds then full le so buy 1 durian always wasted

Jc/ bbkk:
I so envy . Looking forward to see bb waving to me next sat n Oscar 3 wks later , waited till my neck super long also le

debbie..i think u have to let the dentist know. if normal cleansing shd be okie. They will know what medicine can use and what cannot.

Nlimm : my doc told me the test is around $200. Scan + blood test right...i already did a blood test at the gynae previously (test for thryoid, HIV, rubela, etc etc) so she tell me @ the hospital, remind the nurse only take blood for the oscar test. No need for additional test

Esther: yeah! Lets count down together!
can't wait for the next scan! What time is your scan? Mine is in the morning.. Going to take mc cos Gt long holiday.. Hee..

Mami: you will get better as the pregnancy progress.. Try to take some isotonic drink if you're vomitting too much.. It replenish the loss ion in your body..
its saFe to drink isotonic drink.. No worries.

Nlimm: yeah!!! Great idea!!! Lets organise outing when most of the mummies are in their second tri.. We can gather outing like eating durians, shopping, chilling etc etc.. Our babies can be playmates..

Hi Debbie , I read from books that it is ok to do dental treatment . I may be going to one next month when I am in fourth month . But I still check with the dental nurse before going .

Shirley/ all:
ya!! But guessed I be the last few to hit 2nd trim hehe. Next feb onwards I be jobless can jio those sahm wkday hitea too!! Hehe

Jc:
For this preggy I yet to do blood test, it's the past preggy all I did the nurse come over to the clinic I think each $100+ need go check receipts haha

Nlimm: I'm doing my scans in hk.. Oscar costs ard sgd 500-600 for me..
medical expenses r really high here.. that's y it's a no no to deliver here..

After talking so much abt rojak makes me crave for it.. I wanna eat curry puff too!! Dun think I can find Any decent ones here.. bleah ~~~

Hi Debbie, dental visits are fine for cleaning etc..just tell the dentist u r pregnant and they will exercise caution on medicines etc.

Finally at 13 weeks plus ....ms seems to ease. My appetite is always better during lunch time. I love durians too...but heard we must not eat too much cos heaty and high in sugar

My tummy is showing...my colleagues were all asking how come i put on weight and backside got bigger ...urgh hopefully my weight gain this pregnancy will not be over the hills!

Hi Debbie & CS, thanks for sharing.

Lemon & plum doesn't really work for me as I had gastric pain before pregnant.
And in fact, this is my 2nd baby but the symptoms are quire different this time. Last pregnancy, I had a lot of fruits to relieve my morning sickness. However, it doesn't work this time.

Haiz...really xin ku...

Hi MTBs,

Just wondering how you cope with fatigue during your first trimester? I'm already nearing 13 weeks but it seems like i am getting more tired than usual. I can sleep up to 12 hours and still feeling extremely tired.

Also, my reaction and memory seems to be getting worst. Coping with the tons of workload becomes really stressful; it was already very stressful before my pregnancy (was clocking in around 12-15 hours daily before)....now it's worst.

Hi JC,

I just did my OSCAR Scan yesterday @ NUH. Paid around $200 plus which consists of the scan and blood test. Now waiting for the results...anxious and worried at the same time. Praying hard everything will be fine.

I'm not working yet feeling v tired too.. keep getting headache.. n it aches from my head to neck to shoulders.. terrible! Tried to refrain from taking panadol but I cannot tahan.. cuz ache until cannot sleep..

Hi Iko,

I'm starting to get aches around the shoulders and back too...wonder if it will continue to get worst.

Can't imagine how i am going to survive work with a boss who is not understanding and tolerating.

Ikuko..are u delivering at NUH ? Everything will be fine

Have to relax more at work...work can never finish..

Ikuko: I felt less tired than before . Sometimes the tiredness still exist and ms too . Do u have to work long hours? I didn't have to work ot now and my boss reschedule the work for me to other colleagues .

Re: dental checkups
Thanks mummies! Noted! Will let dentist know about pregnancy when I go for the visit

Ikuko, don't worry so much! Everything will be fine!

Iko, Peggy women tend to have headaches due to our hormonal change. I also have occasionally.

JC: nope, i just went there for OSCAR and the detailed scan. For delivery, i'm still contemplating between mt. A and TMC but apparently, there's quite a number of gd reviews on mt. A.

Hi Debbie,
Thanks. I will try to not stress myself too much. Maybe i'm too gan chiong.

Hi Dian Tang,
Gd that u have an understanding boss which helps u to redistribute ur work. I'm still working a min. of 10 -11 hours. Have tried to cut down but my work also starts piling up.

Vi, my boss is a single, unmarried 40ish woman.

Hi Dian Tang,

She's already aware of me being preggie cos i have to inform her prior due to a company event which requires us to run and jump.

Think was kinda disappointed that other than a fake 'congratulations', she didn't even bother to ask whether i am able to cope with the workload.

An example, we have an event on last Thursday which requires us to arrive at 7am. The event ended at 3pm and she still expects us to return to office. It was only when other colleagues who were not from our team helped to speak out that she allowed us to have early release.

Sorry for ranting so much here.....

Let's not talk about these 'negative' stuff.

I went for my OSCAR scan the day before and thought i saw a little 'stick' sticking out. Wonder if it is a boy. Could it be possible to know the gender at this stage - Week 13?

My HB also thought he saw the stick and we were really excited.

P.S: Anywhere to get nice maternity clothings? Most i saw in Spring and EGG are kinda lao tu.

Ikuko: if ur gynae delivers at mt a u shd go for it! I heard of many gd reviews too.. I've bad experience at tmc..

Oh sianz.. I feel that unmarried woman boss r not as understanding.. cuz I alwiz imagine them as v ambitious type with grouchy temper..

Re: headache
It's really bad.. I already had like 4 times in the last 2 mths n I took panadol if not no energy to entertain my ger..

I also read mt a is better than TMC...at least the traffic n parkin is much better.

If single or no kids, i think work can come frst. But once pregnant, all these not impt le. Last time i also feel bad when i have to take mc or leave because ppl have to cover my work..
But my hubby give strong warning that if i dont take care of myself also must take care of the small one. Company will not close down because of me alone

How to shoo away bad thoughts? The more ppl know of my pregnancy the more i feel stress..what happen if something no good happen and etc. my hubby like super excited to let the whole world know

Iko: Yup, and i thought all along female boss should be more understanding than male bosses as they should understand the pain we are going through as women. But sadly, it seems that my ex male bosses tend to be more understanding. Now, i feel she starts showing me bad attitude after knowing i am preggie.

Dunno if i am being over sensitive or what. She will comment things like 'such simple things, i don't understand why you can't understand.'

JC: think i kinda set on Mt. A after looking through the reviews. And it should be slightly cheaper than TMC, plus the room looks cosy and new compared to TMC.

Like you, i am very piang when it comes to work last time but i realised alot of time, all these efforts will be written off after you are suffering from health issues and therefore, cannot keep up with performance. Bosses tend to expect more and more when you can do what they expect you to deliver. I'm getting tired and got scoldings from HB for being overworked and unhappy. So now i decided that my family will come first. I think we just have to be more 'thick-skinned' when it comes to MC and stuff, our health and bb is more important. Now i don't care, company won't collapse overnight because we are not there right.

Don't be stress and stay upbeat. I heard it's important cos bb will be affected by our mood.

I went for 2 cleaning during my first preggy... Is ok, juz tell them u r preggy..

I also feel bad that my col has to cover my work when m nt ard bt no choice, ve to put family n Bb first... Nobody is indispensable in the office. I dun ve female bosses before bt so far, my male bosses r all super understanding n nice...

I was the first to get preggy in my company during my first Preggy n my big boss juz told mi to come anytime in the morning to work...

Ikuko, ur hub is right. U can start again after birth, but this is ur own flesh n blood. U shld take care of ur self.
I also feel bad that my coll has to help...we are like 2 women team, exc the TL.....useless TL
Hahaha....
My partner is same age as me, n is a mother. So she understand
I haf already given up hope of getting promoted this round, and the next two rounds....coz I know they will use my preg as a tool against me. Once I kan Kai, I learn to let go, n not like the work affect my bb....my bb is the most impt now...

VI: Glad you have a understanding team mate. I guess i will fail my KPI this year too as there is no way i can fulfill the index. haha, but nevermind lah, i am not aiming for a pass too.

Ikuko..which gynae are u seeing?

Sometimes when we become too reliable at work, bosses will take advantage. During the recent appraisal my boss tell me i am hardworking..she need ppl like me for the team to work. But when i ask her abt the promo, she tell me i have one 2yrs ago...usually must wait 3-4 yrs one. ..than tell me might ask someone to supervise me coz of org change. Basically human also her ghost also her.

JC, I'm seeing Dr. Geraldine Tan. You? I also kinda agree with you on the 'more work less pay' mindset of bosses. My boss promoted me last year and kinda passed on alot more work. More like becoming her deputy so she can go for more holidays.

VI: Nvm about our work now. Being a mother is the best career ever.

Mine is frm NUh...i havent really confirm my gyane yet. This gynae is okie but i find it abit weird to deliver at nuh,..i heard that those practice doc will be ard to see one.

Since most of the gynae package start 18-20 weeks , i think i will go for the oscar test , get the result than finalise everything.

NUH too? I only heard that it happens in KK whereby all the apprentice docs will crowd around. Yup, take ur time to select ur gynae. For me, i'll just confirm Dr. Tan as i find her quite patient n caring and both my niece n nephew were delievered by her.

Anyone like me cant zz since 2+am?

Ikuko:
I totally understand how u feel as I went thru tt during my #1 preggy with a single 49 yo female boss . Wanted to quit then coz keep breaking down coz of her mean treatment but my HR asked me to endured thru n do bare minimal even if wan to resign get the 4 mths ml 1st haha.& yes I quit after my ml coz she dumped me double to triple of the normal wkload once I return.

Work:
Ya this can always come later. $ is forever not enough to alot of ppls inclusive myself. Fr fulltime to Parttime , my pay dropped by 70% but my fulfillment of seeing my son's progress is definitely worthwhile.

NUH:
Alot apprentice docs fr nus medical sch. Ever since my deceased uncle case at A&E that ' partially' caused his death( not sure if his family win the lawsuit), though Nuh is nearest to my Plc but it's banned in our family. U will nvr know what type of doc u get there unless u go for specialist.

For babies with complications, did u know that the best pediatrics clinic is actually in NUH and then KK?
My second child was born with a misplaced thyroid gland (settled under her tongue instead of in the throat like everyone else). Gleneagles didnt have the type of scanning machine so my two day old and I had to ambulance to Mt E to scan her. Then after the scan, we were referred to NUH. Only then we realised that alot of the complication cases in babies n children are handled in NUH by their specialists. So that really changed my opinion of what NUH is.

Good thing in Sg we have comprehensive newborn screening which detected the thyroid problem. So on day three, my daughter receives the medication which she needs. It would have been a disaster if she wasnt administered the medication asap as her body wasnt producing enough hormones which is crucial for brain development. So now , tho on long term meds and three monthly visits to NUH for bloodtests to check if the amt meds is sufficient, she is clearly growing up as a perfectly normal lil gal ! ;)

As for work, i was still working when i had no 1. It was very tough as i felt sleepy throughout the day. Vomiting nonstop and without much warning. No mood at all to do my sales.

A year after no1 is out, I switched from my banking career to real estate which is more flexible so i can watch my no 1 grow up. Then i got preg with no2. This time i "took" 9 months off.
Stayed home the whole time. Boring but stressfree n comfy to be at home. MS 9 months so my best fren was my toilet bowl and i realy didnt wana go out.

After no2, i continued my real estate work and then i just found out two months ago i was preg with no 3 ;) so now i m slowing down my work again. Hopefully i clear or pass on everythjng on my plate soon. So i can totally rest again. This pregnancy is also tough. Sleepy all the time. I eat lots but puke lots as well.

Now saddled with a flu and persistent cough. Cant sleep well at night like now. Throat also pain. Sucking strepsils n drinkjng sips of water. Miserable but i have no other stress unlike when i has no 1.

So i really salute those of u who are trying to cope well at work, dealing with bosses who dont understand, dealing with KPIs and targets, and stress from team mates. Also those who have to squeeze the mrt n bus to get to work on time daily. Really respect u ladies. Cos i know in my current state i would not be able to so it so well like u all. Jia you!!

May seems so far away for me u know... I wish i can fast forward the process. Really envy those who have a huge tummmy and delivering next month. Like my sil. Super envy. I wish i were in her shoes.

My-Angel-Is-Back,

How long do you wait after returning from ML before quitting? I am contemplating to do that after my ML, but not sure if it is very bad if i quit after a month from return.

Mami B,

I guess alot of time we have no choice cos we dont want to give up the four months maternity leave. Afterall, thats what we deserve after serving the company for years. But i just dont understand why some bosses can be so mean n discredit us the min we break the news. Kinda envy you that u have the freedom to choose when to work hard n when to stop.

U jia you too. Try to eat little meals to minimise ur puking.
r

Hey gals,

Just a random question : do u find commuting tiring during your first trimester as no one will give up their seats for you cos ur tummy not showing yet.

good morning mummies!

ikuko: some female bosses are not understanding at all, esp those like mine- married and no kids. I can feel some resentment although my female boss did congratulate me at first. I keep telling myself my health and bb more impt. heck her. :p

Went to gynae on Sat, gynae explained to me my OSCAR test is normal, and good news, no more sugar in my urine! So, I will continue to drink more water and watch my sugar intake. Next appt will be on 1 Dec. Now in 2nd tri, think the appt is once every 4 weeks type.

Yes, my sil also stay on for the four mths maternity leave. Its a lot of money. I can only claim two months from
MCYS based on previous yr trade income.

This morning i am hving nausea again and havent figured out what to eat. Feelin weak n drowsy n tired. Lying on sofa on my left, then right. No position is comfy. Sigh. Maybe i shld try to puke it out.

Good morning ladies!

I'm feeling more alive this week! I'm at 13+ weeks and I read I'm in my last week of the first trimester. I think I'm finally bidding goodbye to morning sickness. Hehe

How the weekend go for everyone? Mom cooked mee siam Saturday and I basically spent the day vegetating and eating. Hahaha

Morning ladies!!!

fabbie: the rojak is due the the prawn paste that is toixic.

shirley: mine is gynae check up at TMC. Will only go down at ard 1pm. Hopefully doc can let me know the OSCAR date. ;)

Ange: congrat, I help u to bid goodbye to ur MS. Haha. It's really suffering. I'm halfway thru.

Meet-up: yeah can do meet up but I gotta bring my boy along hor. :D

Need ideas on lunch, dunno wat to eat but feel hungry.

Ange: congrats!! I am feeling much better too, except for the usual tiredness

Rojak: I avoid eating this, cos there is peanut in it too.

esther: I have no special cravings, but I prefer to eat hot soupy stuff, cos partly my office is v cold....

a lot of people sick in the office. Can keep hearing people sneezing and coughing..so mummies please keep warm.

i still have left over heat pack which i bring to office to use. Super useful.

Mami B, ya, 4 months is alot of money. I keep telling myself to hangon regardless as my house is coming too.

Just got my OSCAR scan results, it is indeed a relief to all is well.
hope it will.continue to stay this way throughout.

Ange, good to know that u r getting more alive. For me, i still feel tired easily. Hope by end of 13 weeks, my energy level will regain. Looking at it, our edd shld be pretty close.

esther: I totally feel you as I felt it's sheer suffering too. Hahaha Hang in there!

charliebrown: It's great issnt it... bye bye nausea. Try to get earlier night's rest.

ikuko: My EDD is 12th May. I'm going back to Pilates today. So really hope that keeps my energy levels up. I was working out twice a week when preggers with #1 and hope to do the same for #2.

Ikuko, congrats in getting good result for ur Oscar.

I am in my 12weeks, still vomit last night. I hope it can over soon.
I hungry also cannot, ea already also cannot... Sian

Has anyone know can we eat soya bean Tao hua.. I have been craving in my dreams. But I google this morning saying if expecting boy better dun eat, it will affect boy fertility problem. But some says good for bb skin.

Good morning Mummies

Kudos to mummies who have to cheong at work and at the same time bear with non-understanding bosses despite all the discomforts you are facing...

Cheer up, things will be better soon, and yes family and health come first, so do take care yea.

ange: it's great that no more sickness now isn't it? =D I hope i can be like you soon

ikuko: glad that your oscar results is good! Yea commuting is more tiring... i used to walk to MRT but now i take a bus (just one bus stop away) to the station.