(2013/05) May 2013

tsm: i am not sure leh. but i know she only bring limited amount to sell at the class. and everybody is buying. so not likely u can buy like 10 sets lor.

2Ks, ic ic....
i will attend her first class tmr, will try to ask her if can order a certain amt from her, then will update u gals.

Tgif!!!! Went for my scan on mon and realise that mount a hospital charge has increase!! 1 bedder has increase from 2580 to almost 3k.. I thought wanna sign up for the alvernia ladies card for discount. Any idea how much is the discount or benefits for this card?? Any mummies has it??

thanks tsm
pls let me know

shirley
for 1 beddrr, u will get 100 off
i hag signed up for the card coz i m attending their parentcraft lessons
further discount

Vi: I thought of signing up for the card too. But what do you think of the parentcraft lesson? Is it really good? Do they have extra discount with alvernia ladies card?

Morning mommies!

Swaddle Cloth
I LIKE! Hehehe. I just love seeing babies all bundled up. For #1 I used normal white muslin cloth but that's so short. So for #2 I bought nicer ones - cotton though.

Now got so many nice ones in the market.

Like this :

Bubble wrap. But it's so expensive lah.

http://www.nichebabies.com/product.php?id_product=728

The Aden & Anais one looks nice too!

http://www.adenandanais.com/shop/swaddles.aspx

When my hb went to Melbourne last year I told him to get for me a couple of Muslin Swaddle cloths from K-mart/ Target. He bought SO MANY packs & said can give away to relatives/friends who are giving birth. Ya right lah. But he bought some flanelette ones. He thought Singapore got winter is it.

Tsm (tapiku)
I'm delivering at Parkway East too! But I've not booked my bedder leh. Which part of May is your baby due? I'm due end May but I think I'll pop by mid May...

Shirley Huang
Yes, TGIF!!!!!! We survived the week, hooray!

i m not sure
but coz my.mum n mil hrlping me with confinement, they told ud they dunno how to bath bb
so no choice, my hub has to do it
so we gg for tje lessons
starting next mth

the course is 182.97 after 10% discount n thr mt al ladies card is 68

vi: my pattern of bathing bb is 1st

i prepare the tub of water, put some bb bathing solution in.
then i will clean the hair and face and mouth 1st.
then take out clothes and wash the rest of the parts
quickly wrap bb.

some ppl take out everything but i think bb will scared of cold leh

vi: if yr mum/mil dont bath bb then u confinement month how?

1stly, u cannot stand/squat
2ndly, u cannot touch too much water

Pinktulip: yeah!! Cny just ard the corner..happy for the long weekends! I also haven book my bedder.. Usually by when we need to book? If I remember correctly,I think my nurse reminded me during my last visit to think of the bedder and let hee know soon..

Vi: I am still contemplating for the lesson.. Need to discuss with hubby again tonight. Thought wanna go for the hospital tour soon..

ya la...i dont understand why MT A ask ppl to book rooms.
when bb wanna come out its hard to predict one mah.

TMC dont ask ppl to book rooms

jill: So did your nurse ask you to book room?

2Ks: Totally agreed with you lor. Like pointless to ask us to book when they cannot guarantee we will get the same type of bed room when we pop what right? Like if we book, and we pop earlier then...?

Long time din come in… had been busy with work, sick daughter and my mum who is still hospitalised.
Will try to come in if I can. Thread very long liao. Cannot catch up , will just see from this page.
Bb kicks getting stronger, sometimes so hard that I can’t sleep!
Went for gynae check up yesterday, he finally measured bp for me! Then he say ok. Then did the scan, comment bb now abt 1 kg and head is down.

Hi beanie,
I intending to deliver at Mt A just like my previous delivery.

Swaddle,
I like those big big muslin cloth for swaddle, more uses other than just swaddling.

XuaN (mishieru), yes nurse from Clinic already booked for us... i jus received the a mail from Mount Al asking us to fill up admission form. That one fill up le, anytime can fax to them.

tsm
my gynae has his own private practice at kembangan plaza but he delivers babies in PEH & Raffles Hospital. I'm not taking Raffles lah. So expensive. A cousin in law told me it was $4k for a one-bedder. Faint.

Vi
Wah your hubby so brave, good! My hb won't dare to hold a newborn during a bath. Actually I also got phobia that baby will slip away from my hands.

I'm thinking of renovating my bathroom sink to make it really big so i don't have to buy a bathtub. My sink cabinet also quite rusty liao, so might as well renovate a little now.

griny
Hope your MIL & daughter are better now. Must be stressful on you.

jill: oh okay. your edd is early May right? okay. I will ask my clinic nurse next week. Haha. U taking single bedded too? =)

Griny: Take care!!

2ks
thanks for the guideline
i saw the video but hands on shld b different? hahaha

my hub will b bathing thr bb during my confinement. we asked mt al, n they say ee can haf hands on during my stay
so, intend to let my hub try it in the nursery rm under the nurse guidance

hi all, long time since I come in. Can I ask, what is the difference between Mt A single bedder vs single bedder delux and super delux ...? I was in a double bedder at Mt A back in 2009 hence am not familiar with the single bedders. Thanks in advance.

Re the question of confinement lady. Well, I didn't have a confinement lady for my #1. My mom came to cook and did some light chores that was all. Everything baby related was done by myself as I'm the very hands on type of mommy. I was also total BF-ing my baby which made it easier. Errr I'm also a very ang-mo pai mommy who doesn't believe in traditional confinement so I bathed, touched water, air con on, sleeveless clothings, no cover ups etc etc etc just like most new mommies do in other parts of the world. I have no health problems in the almost 4 years since delivering my girl through C-sec.

It really is up to individual belief. I feel that if you are comfortable with going the whole haul for confinement then by all means. If you don't buy into it, then don't. I know a couple rare ones who didn't, and like me we're all surviving pretty well. :p But of course, some will say that the effects will only come when we are old so ...

One of the good things about not having a CL, is that you cannot miss what you haven't experienced before. I know it sounds odd, but the fact is, that majority of my fellow 2009 mommies had panic attacks in the days leading up to the departure of their CLs, and quite a few really really struggled badly. I didn't have that challenge as the moment I left the hospital, I was in charged. It helped that my mom stayed with me in the first few days, more for moral support than anything. I was mobile, despite my C-sec wound, albeit very slowly. Most of the time I had my baby in the cot right next to my bed, or on my bed next to me so I could just roll over to breastfeed.

As for bathing. The trick is to put the tub right in the middle of the dining table or any other table top so you are in a standing position. You don't need much water in the tub and baby weighs almost next to nothing at this stage. It is very very manageable.

I also didn't attend any pre-birthing class whatsoever as alot of my friends who did said that quite frankly they don't rem squat by the time of their delivery. Besides, my hubby was unable to accompany me half the time back then. Plus, everything is so easily accessible via the internet these days. I researched a fair bit and saw several good youtube videos on how to bathe newborns. Youtube is really fantastic. And of course, having this forum was a wonderful wonderful help for me when I had my #1. :)

I also put my foot down and absolutely refused to take my MIL's red date tea/sesame drenched foods and the usual confinement food; she was completely oblivious to my doc's advice to abstain from such foods due to my constipation and bad gastric problem. I thanked her as much as I possibly could but no I would not eat them. eventually she got the message. I had the doc's advice on my side so that helped lots.

Looking back, I have no regrets not hiring a CL. This time round, I will likely have my mom stay with me for the whole one month as I would need her to help manage my 4yr old.

Since this is my #2, and having gone through the hassle of an exhausting first month party, I have also already told my hubby that I do not wish to host a first month party for my son. It is exhausting and tiring for both the mother and baby. My hubby agreed too. It really was done for the sake of his mom, and since this is now our #2 ... :p

we will instead have a cosy meal for our immediate family and will continue to abide by the tradition of gifting cake/eggs to colleagues/relatives etc.

The bottomline is, we just want to keep it a private, happy family affair while also allowing ourselves to maintain some sanity at the same time.

Just sharing

this is my #1 and i told my hubby no first month party also. Will just get vouchers and cakes for colleagues and relatives if both parents want.

I planning to have a dinner between both families.

Very troublesome leh...if i do at home, still must pack the house and etc. Than usually first month is done before the actual 1st month date right, i also haven't finish my confinement and i probably look like shit loh

Today is super busy.....got DND at night and can leave at 3pm. Boss give green light can leave at 2pm if we can finish. So i must chiong ah!!! can sleep a while before i go for the dinner.

JC, hahahah yes yes I remembered feeling much less than thrilled to see relatives and colleagues etc looking the way I did too. Not fun at all!

It took me one year to regain my pre-pregnancy weight, but that pregnancy pouch remained.

This time, at 24 weeks I have already gained an alarming 11.5kgs. *sob*

I guess it is because it is my #2 and a boy this time. when I went for my Fetal Anomoly scan the radiologist (?) told me that baby has long limbs. ha! no wonder the kicks are getting so intense

XuaN (mishieru)-- yeah i taking single bed too... afraid i will be nusisance to the other lady next to me. hahaha.. Yes EDD 13 May.

Oh yes I rem now.

for my #1, by the 2nd week I trained my hubby to bathe baby, a task he gladly took on. It was his way of bonding with the baby since he spent only that little bit of time with baby every day. He loved it too, once he got over the initial phobia of handling something soooo tiny. He has a peculiar way of holding our newborn. He held our baby the way a rugby player holds on to the ball i.e. bent arm at 90 deg angle against the side of his body. So baby's head was cradled in his palm and the body firmly resting on his arm against his body. damn funny.

I thought it was really heartwarming to watch. We mommies can bond with our babies esp when we breastfeed, but daddies can't. Bathing our newborn was his only way to connect.

try it! It is a beautiful sight to watch.

Jill: haha! yup. I'm also worried that my family members will be TOO LOUD. HAHAH! cos they talk pretty loudly!! and 1st grandchildren for my hubby's side.

Jc: Wow! so nice. can go back early. hahah

Tsm, pink tulip, you girls intending to deliver at parkway east? Is the place nice? I'm considering changing my choice from Mount A to Parkway east as my gynae delivers there too.

Debbie, actualy it is a small hosp, i choose it coz is quite near to my hse and oso my office, convenient to see gynae fr both place.

The hosp is udr renovation now but only involved partial area . from othr review, the car park i bit small and dining area is quite limited.

XuaN (mishieru): Thats right.. dont wanan disturb others too for me. HEhe

wanna ask if anyone experiencing dark pigmentation in underarms??? Like outta the blue darker?

RE: TMC swaddle cloth
i just called up parentcraft. they're selling at $13+ for 2pcs in a pack. no cheaper deal even if buy in bulk..

Jill, yea... my underarms are turning black. should be due to sweat and hormonal changes. happened to me during #1 pregnancy.. dont worry as it'll fade off after delivery but mine took v long.. i nv apply anything anything to it as our milk passage ways goes up to armpit area and i dont wish to disrupt it.

Jill : me! My nipples also..like super black..
Is it okie to use whitening deodarent?

Actually hoh anybody stop using perfume n deoderent once preggy? I got one colleague is like this coz she say will affect bb

I was like huh..spray on clothes shd he okie mah..and i scare i got weird smell..so i sure spray one

oh i'm so glad to hear that... cos this morning i had a big shock when i changing clothes facing the mirror.... Really shocked to see it turn darker! i thought i kenna some stain... ok noted reddish (reddish), i think i will avoid applying anything... previous i applied the nivea whitening when it was not so bad.. lol i stopped.

Jc, when I'm still working, I do spray perfume but on my clothing. But once my #1 is out, I seldom use perfume as the smell is too strong for their nose, and they're really too young to be exposed to these strong smell.

When I'm in my last trimester, I noticed that I had lumps on my underarms. Those were actually the milk that were being deposited there. My massage lady also told me that our milking passage ways comes all the way from our armpits and I do believe it and avoid applying anything as the substance would be absorbed up into our skin cells. It's best not to apply anything but if die die must apply, do it the minimum way.

Jc. yup!! my nipples also super dark and the area like of the nips like getting bigger =X

Jill: same!! I also applied nivea whitening once awhile! Like that I better stop!!

Nipples are meant to be black and HUGE!! It's to enable bb to better identify that, and partly due to hormonal changes.. Lol
I do cleanse my nipple once in a while now as I noticed that there's some dried up cells on it. I'll usually use my nails else my finger to gently 'scrab/rub off'. It'll comes out in a tiny rough cells ball.
During bf-ing, we must also cleanse our nipples regularly daily or twice daily to wash off the dried milk that has been stuck on nipples. If not properly cleansed off, it'll affect the milk holes as the dried milk will clog the opening of the milk holes. The more the holes, the better/faster the milk flow..

reddish: thanks for the info. I realise my left nips have whitish substance stuck there. and it's usually the left side. I will also usually use soap to rub off. weird, right side don have eh =( right side no milk!!?? LOL!