(2013/04) April 2013

ocean: my mummy friend told me those preggie milk powder will make us fat =( so she ask me to adjust the intake myself. I check the nutrient level, the folic acid alone is few times more than what we need a day if i follow their instruction to mix n drink 2cups a day. besides, dr already give me Folic acid pill. so i reduce the ratio when i drink, n make it more dilute. I still can gain the calcium, iron, DHA+ n other vitamins from it.

mine is one big can type. adjust the ratio so we wont gain too much weight =)

ocean: It's one big box in one big pack. A bit ley chey coz it's paper box. Still prefer tin type. I am drinking the chocolate flavour one which is not too bad. I think since ours is snake baby, maybe they like eggs? I also reject chicken now. For my No. 1, I was constantly craving for coleslaw and ice-cream!

<font color="119911">scar ectopic is KKH....as those scan was not done by gynae itaelf..may be they r not that pro...i also dunno..now my mind cant think and make decision properly...

If i do hace a choice, i do not wan to undergo surgery...if the laporascopic is sucessful then is fine, if not..will have to undergo laporatomy...that is equally like a ceasarian...

Doctor already say laporoscopic, but she got say if not siccessful then next procedure etc....now waiting to do my detail scan...</font>

angela, snake should like chicken too, can swallow whole chicken in =P i suspect mine a pig hidden inside a snake, cos i eat everything n alot. had lunch at 1pm, now looking for food.

kimmy: sorry to hear that. maybe have a good talk with ur hubby to make the final decision. dun put everything on urself. stay strong

Kimmy
The first scan is at kkh right? I think it's very weird. Do u see obvious diff in the position? How to diagnose wrongly ... U gt ask this doc?
Sorry I am kind of piss with kkh dr ...

Mocca Mama/Ocean/Angela: I remember my no 1 gynae, she advise us to drink at least 2 glass of milk per day, it is for calcium, iron and DHA+ purpose. Folic acid will be take now till week 12, a pill once a day.

angela, oh meji taste good!
hmm ok, maybe i try after i finish this. now starting very hardworking, drink 2cups a day. but i think slowly, i will slack off hahaa

i even ask my hub wana drink or not. since gt calcium, iron n vitamins. he say wait later grow breasts ....

Mocca: I also keep eating non-stop! I had nasi lemak and yami yoghurt for lunch, now hungry again! I think my hubby is going to faint at the amount I'm eating!

haha angela, can i ask are u the slim type now? My BMI is 17.5

my friend told me if we r the slim type, wont grow too fat after give birth. if before already chubby, then most like will grow more. i duno what the logic la.

i read up, the lower our BMI is, the more we need to gain.

Mocca, Angela, thanks for your reply. I also heard that drinking milk for expectant mothers will put on weight really fast. It's highly recommended for those who can't eat much.

Kimmy, I did my lap by Dr Bernard Chern of KKH. I went to him because he is 1 of the pioneers for key hole surgery and I find him good. He is also a OBGYN. But, that is the only thing I went to KKH for. OB issues I go to NUH. I thought there is an injection that can be given to make the sac grow smaller and eventually expel so that the fallopian tube won't burst.

Mocca and Angela, im envious of u 2!! i dont have appetite or craving for anything. But i still make it a point to have my 3 meals otherwise bb very poor thing.. =(

Mocca, yes, the lower the BMI the more u have to gain so as not to be anaemic too.

My mom gained a lot of weight aft she delivered 4 kids. She was 1.65m, weight 42kg. After all the deliveries, her final weight was 75kg lor. But now, she has slimmed down to 52kg. So, not true abt the slim type won't be too fat after birth. She said she took all the nutrients from us when she was expecting. haha. I was very small (slightly less than 5 pounds) when I was born but she put on 20kg for that pregnancy.

apple: Ya,gotta increase calcium intake now, but I try not to drink too much milk coz the last time, milk made me puke the most. So I'm taking things slowly for now. If by 2nd tri I'm still ok, I'll increase to 2 cups. =)

<font color="119911">this doctor scan also much clearer...i can see uterus clearly..kkh one see also dun underatand which part is which part...i told my gynae say kkh scan 2-3 times also cant see...she say they r lousy...she scancan see immediately...

I am very luan now..never expect so serious..hubby not with me now..bit i call him already...i dun wan to make wrong decision...worst thing is my boss is on biz trip and follow by holiday till next week wednesday...need to make sure team function well...

I have a big question on WHY KKH say they saw the sac at my scar.....aargghhh...babay swim from scar to fallopian...cannot be mar...cos fallopian is outside the womb..</font>

rach/ocean: wa dont envy us. me n angela is eating alot and we still drink milk. i think we will gain alot weight man!

rach: dun give up, just try eat whatever appetise u. maybe slowly, u will find food u like to eat le, then on u cannot stop liao

<font color="119911">yes..my case same as trinity...and she ops for injection...ya..i will ask for injection first...if this detail scan can see sac in fallopian..how come kkh detail scan see nothing...i am so confused and pissed now...

Who is right and who is wrong now...</font>

Rach: At this stage is normal, having MS won't have appetite to eat.

I just go puke some of the stuffs out including water. Hiaz..

Mocca: Unfortunately, I belong to the plump side. =( I put on 20kg for my No. 1, just lost all 20kg, and now going to put back. *wails*

ocean: I'm more like "greedy" lah. Just find that we should be eating all the nutritious stuff instead of junkie since the little one is absorbing a lot of nutrients from us.

Rach: If you can't eat, don't force yourself. I believe all gynaes will advise eating small meals in small quantities. Your appetite will improve in the coming weeks/months. =)

wa u must be very disciplined to shed that 20kg man!

i heard breastfeeding helps to lose weight. i only scare i dun haf enough milk, cos mine very small breast..

Mocca: Oh ya,breastfeeding helps too. I breastfed for about 14 months so probably that contributed to weight loss too.

I also don't have enough milk to fully breastfeed, but I just squeeze whatever I have. Lol! But really gotta persevere lor. Imagine pumping/latching 8 times a day, waking up at ungodly hours, it's really draining. But anybody can do it so long as you have the determination. =)

Moccaa: Small breast doesnt mean less milk, LOL. To have enough milk for breastfeeding, need have adeaquate rest and support. So this time round, i must hire confirement lady to help me. NO MORE MY MIL HELP!

rach, yup. She was under weight. Her waist was only 22cm. Now, nicer

apple: Ya, confinement lady is godsend! Sometimes I find that it's better to get an outsider to help than ask MIL or own mum for help.

ocean: Wah, you must have a really chic mummy!! =)

kimmy, did the doc say when to follow up w her? I guess now, don't think why KKH can't see that etc. It'll make u more frustrated and confused. As u said, the TMC doc's scan was so much clearer so I guess u shld believe what u see. Let what we suggested ask for jab first. Alternatively, go to A&amp;E at NUH and let them handle u from there. I feel safer with NUH lor. Any complications, still can talk to them to downgrade to subsidise rate. TMC is totally private.

Mocca, yah. Amt of milk is not determined by breasts size
It's determined by how often u let your baby latch on (even if u can only afford a small amt of milk for him/her). The more u latch, the more u will produce. Don't give in to all the stresses of what others say such as: baby will be starving! etc.

Angela, my mom looks young for her age. It helps that she works in a corporation so still looks modern. Ever since I was in my late teens, people always mistaken her as my eldest sister. lol! She will probably take leave to do confinement for me but won't quit her job. haha.

ocean: Your mum is so nice! My mum already asked me to book confinement lady and do 40 days confinement so that she can help me later. Wahahaha!

eh, latch on means sucking? if no milk, will bb still sucks? hmm so meaning, i just keep letting it latch try, till milk supply increase la.

wa your mama is one hot mama. waist 22, i can drool on that man hahaa

hi mummies, is a good weather for sleeping now but have to struggle to stay awake in office now

I watched the really yesterday. I think the possibility of higher 6 months maternity leave is slim as PM Lee said he felt that 4 months is sufficient. as for the paternity leave, i tink high chance will implement but dunno will it be transferred from our maternity leave?

Angela: Yes, i agree. I dun want my mum to stress over this confinement stuffs, but she will helping out. I regret last time i never hire confinement lady, which i have to take care my gal in the day time, not enough rest, night time also wake up take care.. end up, i have serious back pain without adeaquate rest. My mum say my immune system also very weak ever since i give birth, always sick.

During confinement period, my MIL dun even cook in the morning, go buy one packet bee hoon for my lunch. Morning milo and bread. Tonight cook, leftover, ask me eat tomorrow, when my mum know, so angry, say how can confinement eat cold food somemore leftover food in the fridge..

Mocca: Ya, just let the baby suck. It will stimulate milk production. Alternatively, latch the baby first. Then when baby is done, use your pump for about 5 - 10 mins to stimulate production.

Angela, expensive to get confinement lady. Hub and I staying with my family as we're waiting for our flat. So, space is a constraint for an outsider too.

Mocca, lol! Don't hit on my mom! haha.
If I'm not wrong, it means just let baby suckle even if s/he is not crying for milk. Right, all non-first time moms?

apple: Oh dear, how could your MIL be so lazy one? We need to eat good food during confinement leh! Leftover and cold food will cause a lot of wind in our tummy and make use sick! So this time you must bu back ok? Moreover this is our No. 2 so all the more we must take care and nurse our body back.

Kimmy
Actually my last miscarriage I was at dr when abt 5 wks, he can't see anything in uterus he already check my tubes and outside to rule out ectopic, even before my blood tests.
I just don't understand how can drs be so careless. Even if they are not gyn, wat if u follow kkh instructions that time!

Ocean u r first time right, yet very knowledgeable :p

Ocean, you hav one hot mama! and you'd probably take after her too!
Angela also, alot of determination..

I can barely concentrate at work nowadays..

and yes confinement lady must have!!!

HuiLeng, maternity leave confirm no 6 mths..will prob stay at 16 weeks. but if have to trf to paternity leave i don think i have enough!!!!

ocean: Save up on the money. It's definitely worth it if you get a good one. I also find that it's extremely expensive to pay $2k++ for 40 days confinement in 2010 (now worse, raise to $2.3k for 28 days liao), but if the confinement lady does a good job and ease you of all the stress, especially if you are a 1st time mother, then you should consider getting one.

At least for me, my mum totally didn't know what to do when I am back home from hospital (confinement lady was on the way into Singapore from Malaysia so nobody knows what to do). Baby was crying for milk and I had engorgement. Then she refuse to suck and I couldn't get my pump going (1st time using so a bit blur). Then hubby also dunno what to do. In the end I just cried coz I was totally lost. Thank god by evening time, my confinement lady reached and got everything in order in a short time.

Angela: Yes, i almost have depression on the confinement period, lucky my hb is very supportive during that period. I am so stress out over the breast milk supply last time, and my MIL keep say dun have mean dun have, force also no use. Ya, this time round, must bu back my body, that why going hiring confirement lady, and staying at my mum hse, not MIL hse.

But when I first bring my baby bk home after delivery, she keep sucking non stop and dun wan to sleep I latch for hrs till so tired. I think it's a change of environment .. Then I had to give up and give her formula.. How to solve this ar?

Thereafter the prob is she keep falling asleep when she latch I dun even know how much she drink or enuff not ... Then the CL ask me don't express at all cos bb not enuff to drink zzzzzzz I think my bb suck for comfort .. The milk always flow from her mouth
not aggressive drinker ... In the end milk lesser and lesser .... >___<

Kimmy: May be a good idea to get a 3rd opinion so that you can find a gynae who can give you the same opinion as either one. Please don't be stressed up, relax ok? Please think of your own health too.