(2013/01) Jan 2013

Re: rice wine
For mummies who got it from supermarket, can let me know which brand to buy? hehhheehehe

@ snowger, shice and tres... thanks mummies for sharing.. clueless abt it thou i not a first time mummy

Snowger,
I also drink dang dui brew with those sliced Ginseng with black chicken.

Bliss,
I so looking forward to D day.... Everything I submitted in since June, she has been sitting on it now then rush me to amend this and that. Worse, she has yet to make any arrangement for my coverarge and some of my colleagues rae already grumbling and this do make me feel guilty that I'm going away in a few months time.

Canopyhaze,
I expereincing Braton Hip very frequent. Some time it is so bad that I can't even eat. Just came back from gynae yesterday, bb wights 1.1kg at 28 weeks and head down. Gynae said BH is due to bb shifting lower down. My flu & cough also never really stop.

Bliss,
I dun take DOM and in fact just gave away 4 bottles. My father made those red rice wine for my previous 2 confinments and will do the same for this. To what I know red rice wine cost abt $15 per bottle (market rate) and like what shice and snowger said, a good confinment is as good as re-setting th whole system.

shice, thanks for the info. my rice wine/酒酿 is made by my mil, I didn't know it's sold here also. My mil is Taiwanese and taking 酒酿 during confinement in Taiwan is common practice. She made it for me for my #1 confinement so this time round I will be taking again.

Cordyceps: one chinese doc told me to stop in last trimester but looking at other mummies' comments, i think i will take all the way.

Formula milk,
Will not ask for it from hospital. I know some confinment lady will get hubby to buy and feed once bb cry or at nighht but if not FM to standby, they have to encourage mum to breastfeed. I'm lucky that my gynae and the nurses in Mt A are very pro when it comes to breastfeeding. My gynae and PD says jaundice has nothing to do with mother consuming ginger or papaya.

Jaundice is common in asia babaies and esp if a newborn's blood group is different of that from mummy, jaundice of bb will tend to be higher. It will reach it peak at day 7 from birth and so long mummy feed and latch as frequent and in demand, let bb poop and urine will lower the level of bilirubin.
Some jaundice is due to breastfeeding but my gynae will always encourage to feed more often.

@ bblove, oh gosh.. can understand how u feel ... Abt cough and flu, I had it for 2 months til gynae said no choice I will have to take antibiotiics which is safe for bb and me..works like a miracle.. hehehhee

Re: rice wine
Just checking if anyone is making excess of rice wine, I would like to tag along too... hehehee.. "blush" .. me thick skin!!!! whahahahaha

bliss, my mil is in taiwan now and she will only start making the rice wine when she comes back. I will let you know if she's making excess

Belle2006,
I'm not sure if rice wine is the same as 酒酿. My dad call it 红沼酒 or 'ang jiu'。It is actually made of Glutinous rice and wine biscuit (get from medical hall.)and leave it to fermentation for about 40 days and it will be red rice wine. For me, I dun really like it cos it is very sweet as he get them to cook it without adding water.

Bliss,
Haiz... my boss can call me at 8.30am and instruct me to prepare the docs by 12pm when she already knew the dateline 3 weeks ago. No choice cos she is trying hard to impress her boss so put me on the chopping board.
My gynae says take vit c, dun want to give me antibiotics.

JTS

Lucky Baby Warehouse Sales Special:

Sassy Product
Warehouse Sales Special: 20% off all Sassy Products

Date: 26th to 28th October (Friday to Sunday)
Time: 10am to 7pm
Address: 514 Chai Chee Lane, #06-06
Bedok Industrial Estate Spore 469209

They hv in house brand wet wipes too. 3 pkt of 120 pcs at $6.50 after discount. worth buying!
Have pram, cot, changing station, toys, car seats, NUK milk bottles, diaper bags,etc

<font color="119911">Will the 红沼酒 have any expiration date?
I have 2 bottles left from my previous confinement, about 2 years ago. Still can consume?

Anyone attending Mrs Wong's class this evening?</font>

Finally finished washing most of the bb clothes except for the last batch. Prepared a dozen of napkin, a dozen of hanky, a dozen of home clothes, a dozen of mitten n booties and a dozen of socks. All bedding, mosquito netting also washed. Left with 20 pcs of rompers to wash. Also stocked up a dozen of pigeon bb wipes, a pack of newborn Mamypoko diaper and 3 packs of s sizes diaper. Also got my Avent's spare part from Philip.

Next week onward, plan to start spring cleaning and wash all my curtains and floor. By mid Dec, go shopping for my gals new years clothes and get their pressie (They have already shortlisted their present they want from bb) but i will still get each an extra surprise gift. If everything goes as plan, it will be Chinese New Year once bb reaches full month then I wun have to rush with all these cleaning.

The only thing left undone or plan is to choose a name for baby. In fact got to think of 1 boy and 1 ger name.

bliss_ling, I keep forgetting to check the name of the rice wine at NTUC!
but if you wan can ask shice la. She found a market that sells the rice wine... ;p

Tres, cooking the rice wine will evaporate some to most of the alcohol (depends on how long the item is being cooked). For safety reasons, I will usually drink it 1-2hrs before BF-ing or after BF-ing. The reason being, the body takes about 1 hr to clear the alcohol from the blood.

That time my CL told me she steamed brandy with chicken drumstick and she steam very long liao. After I drank the first few spoons, my ears light up like Roldoph's nose lor... So red and hot! Obviously the soup still got a lot of alcohol. Lucky I already pumped out the BM liao. Else gotta waste!

bbjoy, wah you are so "prepared". My hubby was asking me to buy extra pair of chopsticks and bowl for CNY (the usual tradition). I was like why? cos he thinks I no time to shop for CNY. True also hor? Jia lat. Sounds like got a LONG LIST of things to do... *HAIZ*

Why must think of 1 boy and 1 ger name leh? Cos u didn't find out the gender? I still vote for Quintus (boy name)! LOL!

Jarol, your 红沼酒 is from where one? If it's self bottled, gotta be very careful. I only know usually hard liquor (like cognac, brandy) got no expiry one. Hard liquor are those defined as wine with at least 30% alcohol content.

snowger

still hot after steam so long? Wah.... how come, I tot after steaming, all alcohol should be gone? :p

NTUC rice wine is those transparent one , heard nt suitable for confinement, maybe the content is not as pu?

hmm.... rice wine is how many alcohol content? consider hard liquor?

bblove,

wah!! u r done with all the washing... I still hv some more to go. washing towels, blanket and watever left in the last box.

Hv to take out the nursing pillow &amp; playpen to clean.....

Oh!! Need to buy latex mattress for playpen.... as I hv cot size one, nt suitable.

Eh... need to wash carrier? or just wipe with vinegar will do?

nw then I rem something.. hv to dismantle my day bed!! Let's see the relax person will rem or nt, if nt, good to use as nap time bed again. :p
How come u need 1 boy &amp; 1 ger's name?
in case got mistake?

I think there's such thing as nipple confusion.. my boy had that when he was 4mths old and that was when i went back to work and most if the time he was bottlefed.. he totally rejected me *sobs*
and he was using NUK silicone teats! suspected maybe flow too slow, but think not the case as he refused to latch me not to even mention he din get to suck yet! haiz!!

i oso heard cannot eat dang gui during preggy wor! cos i think "bu xue" or something.

so much posts these few days.. haha.. but i m out for course, hard time catching up. lol!

bliss, it's compulsory for at least one parent to attend the PEC.

Friends, it's $15 per bottle too. The lao ban niang said need 2-3 months to make the rice wine. I wanted to come back and buy in Dec but she say may not have stock. Dunno if she's bluffing me anot, but I just buy 2 bottles first.

Wow.. Onli 1 day no log in soooo many msg. Bblove, so fast u washed all the clothes? I was still think wait till end nov than start.. Haha!! U need 1boy 1ger name? U having twins??!!! Wow!!!!

Shice, mine also need about 4-6 weeks to make.

BBlove, u just motivated me... I haven't even dig out the clothes to sort according to sizes. So far only washed my PJs for hospital stay...

I need another cupboard for #2..planning to buy one first and take out all the clothes and sort.. must wash by batches.. thinking of that wanna faint liao...

i cannot walk properly.. my leg need to open so wide..

Snowger/Sylvia,
No choice. I hate last minute thingy. I plan to have my c-sect either last week of Dec or 1 week of Jan so after confinment ends. It will be CNY and I'm dead sure that after confinment lady left, I'm stuck with 3 rascals + a c-sect wound so confirm no spring cleaning.

We have already planned that the job of CL is to cook for me, my family and take care of bb (unless bfing she will bring bb to me). I will concentrate on #1 and hubby wilL concentrate on #2 + daily mopping. The last thing we want to stress the CL will be on all those cleaning part and hubby on things to get for CNY. We already confirm no bb shower for #3 except to get some cakes for office colleagues and praying ceremony for bb's ful month. So things are more or less settled

Need 1 boy &amp; 1 ger's name cos I din ask for gender of my bb. Though most of my colleagues and managers guess that it is a ger by looking at my tummy shape. #3's name will also start with Q so headache on selecting a boy &amp; ger name starting with Q.

Friends, ard there. Let me know if u wan me to help u get.

Baby clothes
I just went to toyogo warehouse last weekend to buy the drawers for clothes. But haven get to pack and dig out old ones to wash. Already can't manage mine and #1 laundry le, still have to try to squeeze in #2 laundry. terrible! haha..

ops.. as ever, i am sooooo slow.. yet to go dig for bb's clothes, yet to arrange for storage space for #2. Only gotten 2 sets of short sleeved PJs for #2 and #1's CNY clothings..

Yet to make sleeping arrangements nor discuss on arrangements on caring of #2..

Bblove > envy u! can tahan so long regarding bb's gender..

I have emptied my no 1 chest of drawers, moved to another room for bb... Washed all bb clothes , folded n put them in ziplog bag... Prepared all the sterilizer, milk bottles .. Just need to wash them when need to use. I'm only left with preparing hospital bag, buying standby milk powder and diapers.

Thanks Belle, it will be good if I can tag along..Will pay for my share = )
I shall be proactive and goin to ask ard who making rice wine cos one of my collegues said she knows someone who does it.. lol...

@ bblove, wow win liao lor ur boss... I hate this kind of boss..

Wow wow... u are fast... hhehehe.. I yet even take it out to sort which one can keep for bb.. My mum said she will help me do it so i just need to choose and "shake" legs.

Hhhumm.. actually no such thing at looking tummy to determine gender cos some of the teachers in my sch asked what is bb gender... Guess what, cos there is no change in my face and i look the same even when I had my girl, they all said it a "Girl" plus my tummy round round de.. ehhehe.. So not true la and do keep us in loop when ur bb is born ya..

Health is more impt than the desired gender.

@ snowger, I goin to keep a note of the things u and other mummies mentioned abt the things we talk abt(like drink rice wine etc better 1-2 hrs prior to bfeeding etc) cos I afraid that i forget and ask u all again.. very pai seh to have such short term memory..

Nipple confusion
For me, i know it my short nipple which my gal rejected.. Hardly can suck ..so I latch only 3 times... in the end, cup feeds for 1 week then pumped bm out to feed..

@ shice, is it worth it to go? First lesson, my gal was ok, 2nd lesson she not interested, wanting to go out of the class, made noise but 3rd lesson she is a good girl who sits there and went ahead with instruction most of the times.

After class, she came out and told me that she is a good girl in class. lol.. think she has her dad genes, self praise on own...whahahahaha

We shall try for a term first cos thru observation from hub, her learning style is not thru flash cards..

Now her class is at TYP on every sat. Time:11.45am - 1pm.

bb clothes for goin back hm
Do we need to get a new set to welcome bb back home? Buy NB or 3-6 months old? Buy the ribbon or bottom type?? Oh mine, see I just delivered 2 yrs plus back and i totally forget cos most of the clothes were bought by my mum.. She excited cos mine is a girl.. She loves my girl even til now. Will tear if anything happen to my girl.. Like I remind her yst of what happened when my girl was born, mil said no need to celebration full month, guess what my mum eyes red and i can see the tears howering ard her eyes lor.. aiyo..i know I itchy bum to disturb my mum... My emotional mummy so here I am her emotional daughter.. whahahahaha..

Bliss

For bb clothes for goin back hm
I heard must be brand new same as full month. I bought 3-6 mths coz dunno bb big size or nt.

Y ur mil said no need to celebrate? coz it's a girl?
eeeeee...

I still using the baby detergent leh. coz adult detergent got chemical smell which is bad for their lung development.

&amp; I think baby detergent better as their clothes get dirty easily.

OH!! anyone know how to prevent yellow milk stains on bb clothes? I took out #1 and found alot of yellow stains though we wash by hand. since at home, so continue wearing but wanna reduce it orelse by #3/4, i think white become yellow!! LOL!!

@ sylvia,

yes.. cos it a girl... eeejjezzzzzzzzz..... hated it..

baby detergent is good but my mum said nw big liao no need.. bbbbooooobboooo

For yellow stain, eerrrmmmm my mum use bleach..thou not good but she will use bleach then wash it with clothes detergent again...

So I'm not alone for not getting anything ready for my no 2... Whew!!! I very lazy nowadays... Thinking of the work already headache .... :p

Bliss, I'm still using washing powder for baby clothes for my boy....

Shice, same loh... Can't even manage existing load of clothes... Don't say newborn lah.... All still in bags, storeroom and boxes....

Hubby wanted to assemble the cot, I asked him to do so only upon delivery :p Don't want any knocking here and there... Anyway I have playpen so can 'dong' a while... My toyogo boxes and cabinet still packed in transparent plastic sheet... I seem to have 101 things not done yet...

bliss > Re bb clothes for goin back hm, elders told me to let bb wear hand-me-down in hope that bb will be easier to take care of..

If you are getting new clothes, best to get front button opening types. Easier to dress and undress bb.

During my prenatal class, I was told by nurses that we can just use normal detergent for bb. use bb detergent if there is history of skin problems in family.

bblove : wow you're indeed very prepared! I super paiseh, didn't do anything yet, have yet to buy a playpen, all #1 clothes are packed in the boxes, hospital bag not packed etc, all these will be done by my huuby &amp; helper.

Bliss : nice name! I am still using the pigeon laundry liquid and softener for my #1 who is coming to 3yrs old!

Bliss

oh.... I buy button or tie type for newborn.

I go try the bleach n see how. Tks!

Xinyue
the hand me down as I know is for daily use, but doing back home is brand new as it is a new start for bb, just like full month.

But maybe different families hv diff practice and beliefs too.

Normal detergent has very strong perfume smell which nt recommend just like they dun encourage mums to wear perfume n make up with smell when bb is v young or breastfeeding.

my 27months old am stil using bb washing powder and softener.

My white clothes surprisingly many are still in good quality! only few with stains... mei mei got many handsdown clothes from khor khor and i also dig out those mothercare ( I bought girl ones) for my boy to wear, got pinky and cute cartoon! haha... silly me.. wanted a girl dearly for #1 that time..

Now he is out, boy is also sweet at times! very sai nai and he's gentle! loll

Xinyue,
Kekez. So long bb is healthy, we are happy. Boy or girl still got to give birth and raise them.

Aspialle,
At least I know I'm not the only Kiasu one.
For I'm a FTWM and need to cook dinner for kids after work and handle them thus I'm only left with Sunday for all these washing &amp; buying. Time is tight for me.

Bliss,
Yup, I'm hate last min too and have been telling my colleagues at this rate, I will give birth soon in office.
I also dun know how to see tummy shape plus symptoms all same as my #1. Maybe becos out of my 10 other colleagues who are preggy, Only 2 had boys, the rest all had girl so they guess mine too!

Re: Clothes for gg home.
I've also heard of getting hand-me-down clothes so that bb will be easier to take care. But for my #1 by then, I dun have any so got a set of new clothes for her. This #3, will go home in jiejie old clothes. Already pack a yellow receiving blanket, white ribbon shirt n short, yellow mitten n botties in zip lock bag.

Bliss,
I'm also not having any baby shower for #3, Will just prepare some things and bring bb back to MIL's hse and pray to ancestor. Hubby also need to go temple to pray.

Canopyhaze,
Get your helper to help you with all the sorting and washing.
Din have any bb shower for #1 &amp; #2 so dun plan to have any for #3 in case ppl say we bias.

BBlove : Hubby has been keeping most of #1 clothes in boxes and given away a few boxes to his brother's son. I thought it might be too early to wash the clothes, will ask my helper to do so in early Dec. Hubby says he will pack the hospital in end Nov.

wah.. suddenly so many posts. :)

re: wine for confinement
errrh.. i tink last time my CL asked hb to buy 'yellow wine'..oso frm glut rice de.. is it the same as 'red wine'? we used to get frm some chinese medical hall in jurong west..but i duno whr, cos not i but de. haha. i tink i took abt 11 or 13 bottles of the 'yellow wine' for my confinement dat time. n u girls reminded that i shld prolly be abit KS to pre-order or something since this yr is a 'busy year'.. thanks. :)

re: baby clothes
we hv not done anything at all to prep for bb.. as like.. not taken the old clothes out n wash. bought some, but yeah, not washed yet too. cot oso not prepared yet! n im gg for c-sec on 8th jan. oops!

<font color="119911">My 红沼酒 is my friend ordered de...
Think is home-made...
Should still be ok to consume la hor?</font>

Re : Rice wine
I remembered my CL actually got a few bottles from her hometown during my 1st pregnancy. I didn't really like it and eventually gave them away. Don't think i will buy any for my #2.

Baby going home clothes:
Yes I also bought clothes for bb to wear when we are coming home after discharge.
In fact kiasu mummy already bought clothes of different sizes from NB,0-3mths,3-6 mths till 6-9mths! Goodness I see cute baby clothes I just can't stop myself. But I just bought a few of every size in case bb outgrow very fast.
Haven start to wash though, decide to do it somewhere Dec closer to EDD. Tonight new maid coming, will train her do housework to prepare the house 1st for this 2 months followed by the BB stuff in Dec. Fingers-crossed and hope this maid is ok.

Glucose Test:
Just took the glucose test for GD yesterday at TMC, gynae clinic called and said my results are ok. Thank goodness! Now I can continue to eat what I like at ease. Hubby n mum warned me to drink less bubble tea though, which is my fav!

Bliss_ling:
Ur mil same as mine!
When I just got preg, not knowing gender I was commenting that BB's full month will likely coincide with CNY just nice have party invite relatives to our place. Then mil commented that only if it's a BOY. Girl cannot have full month celebration! I was so upset that bb already got stereotyped at such early stage that I kept complaining to my hubby that whole night, lucky after that hubby spoke to his mum and also his dad so mil changed her words and told me, "up to u lah, if girl u want celebrate also can"... Anyway end up I will be having a boy so she got no complaints n very happy.

@ friends, do u wash your boy one with adult clothes?

@ xinyue, I've also heard of getting hand-me-down clothes so that bb will be easier to take care .. will get the button one but should i get what size har? 3-6 months ok?

@ canopy, thanks gal..
Btw, same question as i pop it to friends, do u wash your boy one with adult clothes?

@ sylvia, my mum using it So far my gal is ok with it... maybe it will be good to check with other mummies here to see whether is it wise to do so... cos am afraid it might be too harsh for nb if it is not been washed throughly...

@ bblove, sian hor last min .. like giving us heart attack and blood pressure lor..

@ Serene, me too.. i bought some which is for 12-18 months.... whahahhaaha...

We should shake hands...true enough bb is subject to been stereotyped at such early stage. haizz...

bliss_ling/Friends, I still wash my gal's clothes (in washing machine) but using baby detergent (Kodomo) &amp; comforter (Kodomo). For some reason I find that washing her clothes using baby detergent gives off that baby smell... HAHA! I don't wash my gal's clothes with mine or hubby's. Hubby's clothes is especially OILY and dirty (not that there is dirt), but I rather wash the kiddo clothes separately. May mix when she is in higher primary or secondary sch...

bbjj80, tsk tsk ur MIL really uh. My MIL is quiet this round but I can sense she is less enthu abt my this 2nd one especially since the bb got no kuku-jiao. But I think she got warned by my hb to not be so obvious, so when I go over to her place, she will still ask me how I am and how is the baby... *Oh well...*

Baby Full Month/1 Year Celebration:
Was telling hubby that I don't want to do at home... Cos at home very messy. His relatives is really a lot (I don't mind la) BUT my house space limited so very packed and the noise level is like *WOAH!*. Then land up I got no time to catch up with my friends and colleagues whom I invite lor. So I told him most likely for 1 year celebration, I will confirm gurantee book a chalet at Aloha Loyang. Then if he wants there are 3 spare rooms that his relatives can stay in... lol!

bliss : i wash my #1 clothes separately; we don't wash everyday, but will wash alternatively day and dry them using dryer immediately. My helper will iron his clothes thereafter.