(2013/01) Jan 2013

Just broke the news to my immediate boss. She just said congrats and take good care of yourself and exclaimed 'you will come back from your maternity leave, right? Won't resign hor?' Wheww.... The reaction is better than what I'm expecting. Kind of relief

piyoz, some of my frenz n colleagues guessed it and i didnt deny so i juz told them, "i didnt say ah, u guess it urself" hahaha

Canopyhaze.
Yup confirm Dr Paul tseng not under the scheme. I checked w tmc FBI counter the other time when I was there...
That y I'm oso undecided if I should get e card..

Re: bottled chicken essence
Juz double check w my friend, she say it contain steroid do not advise to consume too much. Just for sharing. :)

Jos, it will go off soon.. my start from week 6 with daily vomit and nausea, but since last week at week 11, i start feeling better, with once or twice vomit only.. jia you

Jos
I also feel giddy just now, took a 1/2 hour nap in office. Maybe u can try to close ur eyes & rest for 5-10 mins. Perhaps u will feel better.

<font color="0077aa">fullhouse</font>, nice that your kids are good travellers!
mine are ok just that drive me crazy with their bickering....haha....but i enjoyed the sights and the food... and disneyland of course haha i am still a big kid at heart.

<font color="ff6000">s_loh</font>, yah i know what u mean, sometimes i sneak sips from hubby's tea tarik at coffee shops heee. shiok! eh yah agree with shice, u very cute lah u, lazy to push? heeee.....

<font color="0000ff">celia</font>, oh dear, but lucky she didn't only find out correct gender at birth!

<font color="119911">shice</font>, welcome bek from hols. and yah lucky u got beta before u flew. may i ask, how many days mc did doc give u after ur amnio? wow 3 weeks wait for results can be so painful!

<font color="0077aa">canopyhaze</font>, your amnio express is extra $400 right?

<font color="0000ff">purple</font>, prenatal massage depends on the masseur. some says 3 mths some say 4 mths. some will depend if its ur first or 2nd, 3rd child. i started mine (its my 3rd child) when i am 12 weeks. but i didn't do any massage for my #1 and #2.

<font color="ff6000">piyoz</font>, i applied for FBI for first baby. cos that time got credit card promo and it was around $100 and i will get the $100 room rebate anyway. so figured worth it. so i geuss for u, check if ur gynae is on the list to have discounts (mine isn't), ur room choice etc..see if worth it bah...if u keen on the bag, ask to see the bag first see if u like it. i am sure there are other nice diaper bags on sale outside...

Jo : thanks for the info.

Daisy : i roughly remembered the express service costs a few hundred more. you will get the result within 3days.

Just had mee siam for lunch, feel like puking now, hopefully ms will go away soon, am 11wks+ now.

<font color="ff6000">canopy</font> thanks...

<font color="0000ff">wendy</font>...u saw ur gynae on your oscar blood test yet? hows the results?

Reply from TMC Re: FBI/SBI card

1) I saw a black and blue bag. Is this free for all applicants?
Yes, Its come free with the FBI/SBI applicants.

2) Any discounts to delivery/ maternity packages at TMC?
Yes, members will enjoy 5% savings on the doctor's* professional fees upon delivery (selected panel of doctors, kindly
refer to the attachment) as well as savings on your total hospital bill upon delivery, depending on the room type.
Specifically,
$100 savings on total hospital bill for one-bedded
$80 savings on total hospital bill for 2-bedded

3) Can you provide the list of PD offering discounts with the SBI card?
Refer to the attachment

4) Any other details will be appreciated.

Subsequent Born Incentive is valid for 2 years and a subscription fee is applicable:
at $128.00 nett: applicable to those who have previously delivered at TMC*
at $148.00 nett: applicable to those who have previously delivered at hospitals other than TMC*
at $188.00 nett (late subscription): applicable to those who are more than 28 weeks pregnant
Note:
- Applicants must be above 21 years old
- Application must also be carried out before admission into hospital for delivery

Some of the benefits and privileges of the programs are:
A) Hospital Services *
1) Savings on total hospital bill upon delivery:
$100 off total hospital bill for single-bedded rooms (including suites, deluxe and super deluxe rooms)
$80 off total hospital bill for 2-bedded rooms

2) 5% savings on Detailed Scans, Oscars, X-rays and Ultrasound scans conducted at Fetal Assessment Unit, Level 4 of Thomson Medical Centre.

3) 10% savings for father, mother and child at Thomson Medical Centre's 24-Hr Family Clinic

4) 10% savings at Thomson Medical Centre's Retail Pharmacy

5) 5% savings on Childbirth Education Class at Thomson ParentCraft Centre

6) 15% savings on Health Screening Packages for Parents and Grandparents at Thomson Lifestyle Centre.

B) Specialist Services *
1) Obstetrics and Gynaecology
Inpatient Services
5% off professional fees*
* Maximum of $100 per delivery/hospitalization stay

2) Paediatrics
Inpatient &amp; Outpatient Services
10% off* professional outpatient consultation fees
10% off* total inpatient fees
* Maximum of $100 per outpatient/hospitalization stay

C) $550 Savings with CordLife *

D) 6 months insurance coverage by AXA Life for newborns *
* Terms and Conditions

Panel of participating specialist

Ang Lawrence
Adrian Tan Chek Jin
Beh Suan Tiong
Caroline Khi
Chan Clifford
Chan Clifton
Chen Sze Hua
Cheng Jew Ping
Chris Chong
Christine Yap
Chua Siok Meng
Chua Yang
Geraldine Tan Pei Lin
Ho Kok Kee
Jen Shek Wei
Joycelyn Wong Sook Min
Kee Wei Heong
Koh Cheng Huat
Lee Wei Hong
Lee Yun Tshan Vincent
Lim Lean Soon
Loke Kah Leong
Low Brenda
Noel K Y Leong
Michele Lee Sook Ling
John Yam
Soong Yvonne
Sidek Saifuddin
Wendy Teo Shun Hui
Wong Mun Tat
Woo Bit Hwa
Woodworth Adrian
Loh Seong Feei
Marianne Sybille Hendricks

List of Paediatrics
Ang Ai Tin
Ang Poon Liat
Janice Wong Tzen Yuen
Anita Menon
Heng Siok Kheng
Adeline Wong Pik You
Ng Chi Fan
Ng Pau Ling Simon
Tan Angelin
Tan Kay Soon
Lilian Lim

haven't really calculated. But off hand $80 - $100 off hospital fees, $100 of doctor delivery fees, 5% off detailed scan.

To pay $128 seems to be able to earn back...

How much is detailed scan? Anyone knows?

<font color="119911">Thanks piyoz for the details!
I received the panel of participating specialist via post (hardcopy) when I signed up for SBI and Dr Paul Tsang name still inside.
Guess they din update the hardcopy... :s</font>

jarol, I think i posted previously. In order for you to enjoy 5% off Dr Tseng's delivery fee, have to sign up before 1 June 2012 (I actually signed up before then cos I wanted to get the disc). Dr Tseng has a notice in his clinic. I don't think they update the hardcopy so frequently.

<font color="0000ff">Greeting to all… been away for many days, dun think I coul ever catch up with the fast flowing posts. Been really sick the whole of last week, vomiting, fever,cough,blocked nose. Then again, I’m still stuck with all these now, except I feel more ‘alive’ to be able to finally come to work. Currently in my 10th week, I really hope the MS/ADS goes away real soon. I really missed eating all my fav food ‘properly’ without vomiting, miss eating happily. Eating has become such a chore and a miserable thing to do….. </font>

<font color="119911">snowhopes: I see, I see...
I din notice the notification when I'm at TLC cos my gyane is Dr Chua whom I know is definitely not in the panel...

jarol, I noticed it when I went to his clinic sometime June. It's pasted on the right pillar where you usually make payment/collect vitamins... :p

daisybuttons - ya i went down to see her last week and she ask me to do amnio as I am in the high risk group based on the combined result of NT scan and blood test. scheduled for amnio on 25 jul

Bliss ling
You asked about Dr AnnTan? She is very glam one, does aesthetic too if I'm not wrong;) she used to be the head of o&amp;g at sgh

Guess she's a doc who looks for perfection in everything she does, in beauty and in child :D . Different strokes for different folks. I was supposed to go under her coz just couldn't get through douglas ong. When I finally got thru, cancelled my appt with her. I chose my gynae based on one thing he mentioned "we love babies. We love life. Please do not ask me to perform an abortion."

So I guess your beliefs also must align to the beliefs of your gynae.

Wendy
All the best for your amnio!

In fact, all the best to all the mummies who are in this season of tests!

Dreams
Yesterday I dreamt that at week 13, the bb was only 8.7mm. Didnt grow at all! The doc was grim and everything was so bleak! Iyo I woke up and couldn't get to sleep after that. Then it occurred to me sigh who can tell where the 'safe' zone is. After week 13? After week 24? After birth? After 2 years? I can have the best Oscar results, best delivery, best postnatal care... Then maybe at 2 my child is diagnosed with ASD?

Argghh not trying to be bleak. But really our lives are not in our hands!

Josky: If bottled essence of chicken has hormones, then i better not drink so much le. How about buying chicken for tonic soup, better to get kampung chicken right? Dunno whether black chickens have growth hormones or not also?

Karen: hope u will recover soon. I agree, now I don't enjoy eating too, dread the nauseous feeling after eating. Miss eating heartily.

Fullhouse: There are always things to worry, we can only take one step at a time &amp; not think too much of the unknown.

Self boiled chicken essence:
http://neckredrecipes.blogspot.sg/2007/07/homemade-pure-essence-of-chicken.html?m=1

finally 'back' after a long day of seminar n meeting up w ex-colicks....

Hmm... Can't comment if buying real chicken will oso haf g rowth hormones injected but at least can b assured that lesser processing since no preservative used to enhance shelve life of the essence...
So far my mum use black chicken cos she say is better,more bu. But frm the link I posted above, seems lille Kampong chocken, organic chicken r oso recommended.

Oh does Dr Paul do water birth?
Read that water birth helps relief pain or something like better cos bb b out in water env or something along the line of gd reviews?
So how yet still not v common in sg right? I duno... Anyone haf more info to share on this?

Waterbirth
You have to engage a doula. The gynae will be at side to supervise. Tmc and nuh does it, but nuh has two huge jacuzzi tub for it. I've seen it, it's impressive. At tmc you have to rent the rubber tub from your doula to do it. Having doula and water birth is good but costs more, like 2-3k for doula service.

Paul tseng works with 4trimesters under gennie pang, think I got her name wrong. Google and email her to find out more

morning everyone! went for my gynae appointment yesterday and so happy to see the little one! we can identify shape of the head and hands and legs. dr also let us hear the strong heartbeat! seeing all these makes my ADS and vomiting all worth it
jia you everyone! can't wait to enter 2nd tri so i can really eat properly

My EDD shifted but earlier
is 20 jan instead. Better chance at finishing confinement before CNY... Ha ha.....

Saw gynae last evening, bleeding no more, but need to continue with medication. Dr Adrian put me straight for OScars in two weeks' time. Don't remember having to do this for #2. Maybe cos this time, I am 35? Anyway, it's part of the package of $550. No need to pay extra... Just go bah.....

This morning.... Surprise!!!!! My piles are back.... So now is bleeding from the back...... Sian..... Anyone knows if I can still take the piles medication? I just missed the chance of asking the gynae last night..... Errrkkkk

Hi Hi,

Glad to see this active thread. I'm expecting my #3. ^_^ Going for Oscar Test next week.
Hope everyone's MS will go away soon. Mine hits all time high during lunch &amp; dinner. Terrible terrible feeling.

EDD: 19 Jan
Gynae: Dr Paul Tseng
Hosp: TMC

Wow piyoz, your gynae's package is very good leh. Even includes OSCAR... So worth it! OSCAR alone already cost $350. No wonder your gynae so popular...

Friends: huh? Really? I saw on the receipt that the test is deducted off from the package discount leh. Then the slip of orange paper to TMC states bill to clinic.... So assume from it. Maybe I better call the clinic to check. If really need to pay $350, then I must apply SBI card before the test.

So expensive test!!! I didn't know!!!!!

<font color="aa00aa">waterbirth</font>
NUH, Alvernia and TMC does it. TMC also has a tub, but only in Delivery Room #6 (i hope i rem the number right). Its quite big too. I did enter it during labour with my #1, but didn't really like it. And yah Ginny Pang owns Four Trimesters, which advocates totally natural birth e.g. hypnobirthing and waterbirths. Usually moms with does natural labour either engages a doula or get the hubby to be the doula. but gynae has to be supportive. My hubby was my doula heeeee.

The $457.95 includes 20 weeks detailed scanning? I paid $480.45 on Monday and it includes Oscar and detailed scanning at 20 weeks.

doula / natural birth,
hmm... natural labour usually engage doula?? so wat is the role of the doula? izzit something like midwife?? paisei kinda blur n confussed abt this...

detailed scan (@ TMC),
any idea if the detailed scan are conducted by our gynae or by TMC lvl 4??
how abt cost of just the detailed scan??

thks in advance.

Jo, my detailed scan will be done at level 4 TMC by stenographer not by gynae. Mine is package and pricing as mentioned in my earlier post.

TMC FBI/SBI card :

Can I sign up when I'm there for my OSCAR and enjoy the discount immediately?

Water Birth :

My friend just gave birth at Mount Alvenia via water birth last Dec. Gynae is Paul Tseng. I was told that you cannot take any drugs or gas, so you have to bear with the pain while giving birth in the tub.

friends: Mine is Package P6 - OSCAR + FA scan @ 20 weeks. So yes, include 20 week scan.

Tigress: I just emailed them to ask. They said, yes, can activate card same day as scan. But need to apply card 30 min before appointment time. I just applied online. Cos the clinic assistant told me it's first come first serve at the TMC level 4. Good to go at 8am when it is not too crowded. Don't think the SBI is opened at 7.30am. So I just applied online.

DoReMi: There are a few options for the detailed scan. Depends on which package your gynae wants you to take.

Jo: Detailed scan done by the staff at TMC level 4. Think saw all ladies..... They will then provide report to gynae.

My very first gynae had his own sonographer. So the detailed scan was done at his clinic, first by the sonographer, then he comes over to review and comment on the scan.

Takes quite long. At least half an hour. Depending on the posture of your baby and whether baby decides to cooperate.

hi mummies, went for oscar yesterday.. result of the measurement is ideal.. ard 1.3mm.. now gotta wait and see if blood test is okay.. review this friday..

re: chicken essence
oh no.. been dependent on it for the last few weeks.. hope it doesn't do much damage to baby..

daisybuttons, was given 3 days MC plus a weekend to rest.. yup, the wait was painful.. but i'm glad this time the measurement is good.. last time, measured was 3+mm..

canopyhaze, no news from fabbie.. hope she's ok to join us back here..

piyoz, re: piles. i totally understand ur pain.. I had piles earlier and recovered.. but just gotten yeast infection and yesterday gotten my piles back..
so terrible to have both at the same time.. pain and itchy.. argh.. btw, dun take piles medication coz it may contain steriod. There's this cream which my gynae gave, just apply on the piles area.. maybe u can check with ur gynae or GP? but not as effective as those bullet steriods where u insert inside..

Karen, take care.. your health sounds quite bad.. try to take more fruit juice.. build up immune system..

re: oscar cost
not sure abt detailed scan, but the cost for oscar at 1st trim 12 wks(only oscar, no detailed scan) at TMC is $298, then discount of $29.80 for FBI/SBI card. I gotta this discount yesterday with my FBI (it's still valid from my #1 till Sep 12, which I can use for this test).