(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

pierced, I had to train my gal to sleep in her own bed (next to my bed in my room) first b4 moving her to her own room. Takes a lota persistence and consistency and tantrums over a few nights. Phew! She loves holding and caressing my arm when she goes to sleep so I had to offer her my arm while she slept in her bed and me in mine, hahah...

Moving her to her own room was also a battle. I chose the beginning of the year to train my gal to sleep in her own room. Bad choice of timing, since it was the beginning of the school year. Went to work panda eyed the first few days we tried, lol. Tho she sleeps in her own room at night now, she'll still love to sleep in our bed for afternoon naps at times now. *chuckle*

Now I'm wondering if I'll face any problems getting her to sleep in her own room again if I shift her bed into my room during my confinement so that the CL and baby can take her room. That's a headache I'll have to face!

Pierced, she keeps tossing n tossing n seems unable to sleep well. Now she is sound asleep lying on her tummy on my chest...!

Hazel, I foresee you'll have a hard time training Belle to sleep in her own bed in future. But then she's still young, so i guess she can co-sleep with you for a few more years still.

pierced, think teachers' kids usually wake up early cos the parents get up early for work. My gal usually wakes up at 7plus in the morning even on weekends, sometimes even earlier than me, hahah...

LuvNhope, soon she will wan to sleep on her own! She will eventually out grow that phase. Belle's Cott is in my room. She used to sleep in her Cot on wkends coz if she sleeps there, I need up keep waking up n is v tiring for me... Hm,,, dunno since when she stop sleeping in her cot on wk end alsp

Hazel, yeah!!! Initially I kept my gal in her own cot. But like u said, it's really tiring to get up and check on them in the cot at night. That's why I relented and let my gal co-sleep with me, and that was how it all started, lol.

Hi Babyjourney and Pierced, when I went for the hospital tour, the price for normal delivery plus epidural was 2.7k (per the price list) but when hubby did the admission registration, the price list states 'Mother's Package' for 2N being 2.1k for normal delivery and epidural. The price does not inc ward stay, charged separately. In my bill, I was charged 1N ward stay and 2k for normal delivery plus epi, so I assume even 1 night stay entitles patient to the 'Mother's Package' for 2N price. The price list will be provided upon admission.

Angel, I agree with your approach
If the older folks are insistent on a certain belief, gd idea to follow suit if it doesn't bring about much inconvenience.

Joanne, I believe you are already feeding bb fm right? cos 60ml is not sufficient. But you are still very busy and can only pump every 5hrs...do you direct bf very often? If so, your milk supply should increase (after unblocking the milk ducts) even though you don't pump often as you latch on often. Is my guess correct?

Do you have to be involved in cooking meals daily? I guess the maid can handle washing and cleaning, so if hv issues with cooking, how about cater for food for time being, perhaps can free up couple hours? Do you feel there are any other 'processes' you can further streamline?

I have a friend who got infections many times due to engorgement and finally gave up bf too. This is def and option and you don't have to feel bad about it. Most importantly, you have others to support you but for your babies, they have only you, so we gotta stay healthy and strong willed for their sake.

No doubt babies will sleep lesser and lesser as they grow, maybe you can try to find out ways to stimulate them so they get tired more easily and sleep faster/ longer.

I'm actually not that lucky like you think heh...I hv big problem
with latching on
Perhaps bottle feeding too much, so it's still a big struggle each time I try latching on, she doesn't like it. I guess I wouldn't too if I'm a baby, since bottle takes 2 mins, but suckling takes forever
I feel sad each time she rejects bf and cries like anything...

Thks so much for feedback, actually i feed fm at night.. My supply too limited so like hazel, i combine for each pump to one bottle n feed day time to one bb only.. ;(My fever goes to 40.9 n i hv eat total 8 panadols today..;( on knowing fr maya, i hv to start fr scatch, i think i shd giveup as each pump still so little, despite i sacrifice 30 mins of sleep every 3hrly to pump n only 20ml..;( oh no, had sign up the 10 times package, wonder can i change to 5 times though already paid? ;(

Is the maya u mentioned means same as this one? http://www.mayamummymassage.com/

Joanne : What's the price for her single session and 10 time packaged session?

I thought of trying her to clear my blocked ducts ( my lumps still around) no wonder my supply still the same until now... heard she is expensive?

Joanne, if you feel you can't continue with the sessions (although may see results along the way), I'm sure Maya will understand. Try to request if u can just pay for that 1 session only... Hang in there, and get that fever down else go see doc, consistently above 40 is not good de...

Hi Tanny, I think the website isn't hers, cos the rates look cheaper than hers. I'll pm you her hp.

btw do you have blocked ducts in the armpit areas? If so, it's due to bm backflow, can only be rid off if we sleep with our hands NOT above or placed on our heads. FYI.

Tromso, I applied avent magic cream in belle fr head to toe, including her face every shower/body wipe, it keeps rashes away n mosquitoes! Everyone commented that belle is v fair, so must take care. Hehe

tromso, thanks for the info on ward charges. will just see what they charge me later on too.

Joanne, oh my, fever till 40 consistently really is not good. if so, see a doc. Plus you really need to be well to look after your twins so at least switching totally to fm will be easier on you.

Hi tromso
I hv a great mum who come over daily to cook for us lunch n dinner while maid help out and she always asks me to go sleep n she will try take care my twins n my son hm work for me.. Luckily she is here last night to help take care my son so tt i can sleep thru the night.. Maya asks me dun pump n go sleep thru since she sees me real tired.. She comes down my place last night to gua sha and help me disperse the heat.. It has been donkey years tt i can sleep thru 7hr without wakeup.. Luckily fever drop to 38 but now goes up to 39 again so here i am at o&g kkh hoping to get some antibiotics as my breast pad got some green color milk n maya say i kenna matatis and need antibiotics to cure it if it dun recover itself today.. Later they squeeze my breast sure very painful de..;( though no pump for 9hrs plus, my left breast dun feel engorgement.. As yesterday maya just squeeze out milk without stimulate it anymore.. Actually my purpose to see her is for bf n if now me dun want start fr scratch anymore n just hv n just pump, really no point see her 10times ler.. Moreover she not cheap..
Very happy tt last night, my gal only wakeup once for night feeding.. But my boy still wakeup punctualy every 3 hr..

Thks for ur feedback, ya, think i abt to give up bf so tt i hv the energy to take care my twins.. I really cant fall sick.. But i told maya tt i just pump whatever hv n wun stop completely unless it stops themselves n i dun want over stimulate it anymore..;( for this bf, i hv fall sick 3 times in this 6 wks, really tired n not sure why bf is so miserable for me..;(

Hi Joanne, good to hear that you are getting treated for your infection. Don't worry about bf for now, do fm and rest plenty. I just finished my session with Maya, she also felt for you a lot, asking us forum folks to keep on assisting whenever we can. I'm glad you do keep us posted about your progress cos many of us are facing differently issues and we can support one another here.

You must brace yourself up, get well and feel better soon ok. Babies have gd days and bad days, don't let the bad days drag you down (I keep reminding myself this too), see, your girl is a champion, can sleep throughout!! I didn't know 1 mth plus can do that. I thot 3-4 hrly fm feed is norm for young babies, so maybe your boy is doing fine....

Joanne, Oh no, mastitis is bad, hope u get treated soon for it. If not treated early, can be very bad.
Anyway, don't feel bad about not bf anymore, just concentrate on getting well and looking forward to the better nights without pumping too.

Think prob maybe coz gal and boy have different intakes sometimes. My gal was easy too and didnt have to wake up much for night feeding. Maybe boys sometimes do need to drink more often.

Hazel thanks, ok I'll apply as deem fit. Bb's face has some redness, I think slight rashes.

btw, do we need to wipe bb's mouth area with bb wipes or water after bf?

Do we need to clean our nipples everytime before we bf? cos at tmc was told to clean 3 times a day only.

Tromso, magic cream will treat the rashes. U can see the effects after a few applications. I can keep applying on that spot a few times a day. :p. I clean belle's mouth n the surrounding (incl chin, n neck folds if need be) after feeding. If not will hv milk spots n redness later. I either use a cloth soaped in water or those wipes meant for bb's hands n mouth.

Joanne : Pls take care. Hope all goes well for u later. Cure the breasts problem first and concentrate on taking care of both babies.

My girl always wakes up 3 for feeds and sometimes dun wan to sleep after that. She has never sleep through the night and how can we train her? Maybe to feed FM?

She is just want to be cuddled to sleep after milk and cuddled by CL. Sigh. Sometimes she sleeps and if CL leaves the room she will know and wake up crying again.. Right now CL sleeps with bb in same room. I tried to apply White Noise method but no use on my baby. Sssh sounds not working too.

Tromso, i didnt clean with wet wipes after bf. I only used wet towel to clean bb mouth. I feel that wet wipes not very good to use often as it also contains some chemicals and bb is still small.
Also nipples, i normally wipe with a towel too before bf.

1 mth plus cant really sleep through out the night. Mine was wake up for 1 feed only. My gal can sleep thru after 2 mths. I was quite lucky. Depends on the bb I guess, as some perhaps need more milk to drink.

Thanks Hazel, I thought only fm will cause problem to skin not bm, hence hasn't been religiously wiping. Alright I'll start doing that plus the cream.

The warm n humid weather doesn't help, I can see some redness and bumps on her neck too, so feel like putting powder but I know we can't
Also has nappy rash, need to chg diapers more often cos she urinate a lot.

Tanny, my textbook answer: try to keep her busy during the day, so she'll feel tired and sleep more at night. I feel they are like active dogs, need to drain excess energy off each day, otherwise may get harder to wind down at night. Maybe show her pic cards? Read books to her? Show her
misical books, etc. I've done these for Heather and she seems to like it, will stare and observe. But she is oso becoming more restless throughout the day now...need to figure out...

Heather oso likes my mum wayyyyy better. Other day both my parents were out, I had to handle her alone for a while before hubby arrives. After bf, she continues to fidget and eh eh, we decided to feed her ebm (thought maybe not full fr my bf session cos sleepy head) but she wouldn't take it and fusses until my mum came home like 2 hrs later and fell asleep when mum carries her...sigh...bullies her parents. Hubby n I decided we need to carry her more so won't get attached to mum so much. btw who says can rest a lot during confinement period, untrue...!!

Tromso, it's like that at the beginning coz mum is the one that carries them more often? Even for Megan, she preferred my mum too rather than me, even though I latch her on from the beginning. Maybe coz we are not very good at carrying her yet, the position or etc, not so comfortable. and when at night sometimes when she fussed, only my mum could put her to sleep. until we joked that we have to wear my mum's clothes for the smell if we were alone with her.

But slowly it gets better as they will know who mummy is.

Tromso, yeah, better clean bb's mouth, including gums n tongue with a clean damp cloth. I found out my CL wasn't diligent enuf in doing that n my gal had white thrush on her lips n tongue just b4 her full month celeb! Was so upset! Luckily cleared in time with medication.

What brand of diaper rash cream do u use? I found Drapolene cheap n good. Apply a generous layer to prevent rashes n like u said, change diapers regularly. Sometimes cld also b allergic reaction to the brand of diaper. Gotta play detective n troubleshoot!

Tromso, some docs even say can let baby go bottomless to let rashes heal! If u dare, lol... Maybe a more moderate approach wld b to air dry her bottom for short periods instead.

Tromso, BM is worse than fm coztgw former is oily since it contains the food we eat. Next time u feel the bottle after a feed before washing u will be able to feel the difference. Belle nv have nappy rash other than the times she stayed in hospital. The nurse nv diligently apply nasty cream at every diaper change. I will nv skip that. For longer hrs of wearing diapers like in the night fr 8pm to 9am next morning, 13hrs no change diaper, I will use the extra strong purple destin cream tube. Ya, I dun change her diapers during the night do I use super high absorbent diaper for the night to prevent spills.

The inner mouth, gums n tongues I wash twice a day! On ya, when bb poo, after cleaning the butt n private butts with wet wipes, I will wash the butt n private parts by wetting the tissue paper a few times. For urine diaper change, I will wipe the butt n private parts with a wet wipe before putting on avent bottom balm n new diaper. Fr d1 she is home, I told the confinement lady to do that n till now I still do it, incl my mum who takes care of belle during the day.

Thanks Luv and Hazel. WBB says no need to wash mouth and tongue, sigh... Ok I shall do that.

What can we use to wash the mouth and gums and tongue?

We do clean her butt and private areas with wet wipes, then dry with tissue, then Desitin (before that was using Avant bottom balm). I'm using the milder blue Desitin, was hoping to reserve the stronger purple for more serious condition but the butt is still red and tiny bumps after few days of applying. Have changed fr Nepia to Pampers, hope Pampers help.

Hazel, what extra absorbent diapers do you use for nights?

Luv, I agree on the airing the butt part, but each time we chg diaper, she'll pee and poo, shoot very far somemore
So I think no one dares to leave her with no diapers. Maybe I'll trial later.

Tromso, can use clean damp cloths. I think some say use sterilised gauze to clean but I didn't get that to use.

Previously was using cotton balls to clean butt and private areas, besides using wet wipes, on diapers, I all along used pampers for that.
Pampers diapers are quite absorbent for night use. I also used to only use blue Desitin. Never had to buy purple one.
So far did not encounter any rashes for my gal too. Perhaps sometimes heather is more sensitive. Maybe u trial and error and see if it helps by changing to pampers,

Oh, can also try calendula cream, helps with diaper rashes and it's natural.
I know about the poo shooting very far part, haha! Plus messy too since if on bm. Maybe can try wearing cloth diapers too once in a while in the day if u have them?

Tromso, I use mamymoko diaper for the night. Daytime I use pampers... Now using nepia. So far so gd. Usually, we change at every feed. Ie 3-4hrs gap except the night. I also use damp cloth to clean the mouth.

tromso,
i've been using angelbaby bottom balm for my girl since she was born and she hardly has nappy rash. it is au naturel also and usually will apply it after bath so will apply twice a day. i got it from mom essential and some do sell it online. desitin i will only use it when there's rash.

my dentist fren and cousin both told me need to clean baby's mouth to prevent the build up of milk which when broken down is just glucose. even though now my girl is brushing her teeth, i still use the wash cloth to wipe after brushing as i think now she's still too young to cover all the areas while brushing.

i have a friend who bf her daughter and had the habit of latching at nite. by the time she's 18 months, she had to undergo GA to get all her teeth filled up cos the latching caused milk to get retained in the mouth plus no cleaning so all the teeth decay.

Tromso, I know, it's hard to leave them bottomless right? I tried to wait for 10 to 30 seconds more while changing b4 wrapping up the diaper if my gal had rashes. Hahah... it'll be even harder to change if it's a boy! Imagine the projectile of the urine from a boy, lol.

I also tried to use just water and cotton wool to clean the bottom while my gal was younger. Only used wet wipes when outside. When she was older then I dared to use more of the wet wipes even at home.

eskimo, eewww... that's scary!! 18months only!

Eskimo, yup my niece also had problem with tooth decay and had to undergo op to remove her teeth too, main reason was feeding fm at night and drinking from bottle to sleep without brushing.
We need to brush our kids teeth before Pri 1 as they can't manage it on their own yet. Some more my gal's toothpaste is even more expensive than our adult toothpaste. $7 plus a small tube!

Thanks Pierced, Eskimo, Hazel, Luv, ok I'll trial put your suggestions.

btw wet wipes not as good as cleaning butt with water and clothe is it?

pierced,
yup i'm brushing for my girl too. sometimes gotta fight with her for the toothbrush cos she wanna do it herself :p yeah, my girl's toothpaste cost abt $6 plus since i buy from spree. I'm using the earthbest toothpaste which can be swallowed.

btw, i think the diaper brand plays a part also. my girl has a 'golden' butt, cannot use brands like drypers or petpet, can't even use huggies. immediately will get nappy rash. only mamypoko and pampers suit her.

Tromso, can use wet wipes too. Just that early on wanted to avoid baby having contact with the chemicals in the wet wipes. Do u mean water and cotton wool or really water and cloth? If cloth, u're going to have to wash the cloth?? Cotton wool can throw away. Shld be more convenient.

tromso,
wet wipes sometimes can be drying for the skin. some mummies i know just bring the baby to the sink and wash the butt directly there... you can do this as long as baby's butt can still fit in the sink kekeke... some mummies do this to save on wet wipes too... cos i think the volume of wet wipes used in the first few months can be quite alarming.

eskimo, so cute ur gal. Can try using two toothbrushes together then u brush for her and she just "pretend brush"?

Hee.. my gal could use brands like PetPet but donno why she seemed to be allergic to Seal. Had to give away the remaining Seal diapers in the packet.

pierced, now that my gal is older, I just buy the Kodomo children's toothpaste. Still not that ex. Used to buy those fluoride-free toothpaste when she was younger, so ex!!!

luv,
hahaha her toothbrush not cheap too! kekeke she's only 2 yr plus so hard to reason with her sometimes, esp when she wanna exert her independence now so will just let her be until she's older and hopefully, more sensible

eskimo, yeah, raising a kid is not cheap these days! Heheh... 2 yrs plus is a very cute age. And your gal doesn't sound like she's in her terrible twos at all.

luv,
she is!!! sometimes, her demands are so unreasonable but we try to be firm with her. She knows her daddy and i won't stand her nonsense but grandma and grandpa will :/ had a hard time when she just turned 2 cos she was really 'terrible' then... suddenly, my hubby and i were wondering what had happened to our sweet little girl but now it's more manageable cos we know her pattern.

eskimo, heheh... she'll pass the terrible twos soon. Think at every age, they'll continue to surprise us. Sometimes I'm so amused by the way my gal talks as she grows older.

Tromso, I didn't use so much wet wipes initially like Luv, coz wipes can be drying and chemicals in them not so good, even some butts can be sensitive to the wipes. So I just used cotton wool plus water.

Eskimo, your gal same like mine, cannot use the cheaper brands, only can use pampers, goon and mamy Poko. Luckily I saved by using cloth in the day , if not even more expenses!
I used to use the non fluoride ones too, but switched to fluoride toothpaste coz her dentist says need to use that otherwise not much use.

Luv, i also wanted to use that but dentist recommended elygdium this French brand, to use for her teeth. The fluoride content for it is just nice for her age. So better to use that than spend more on teeth problems later. Haha!

I missed the younger stages! How I wish they don't grow up! So fast I see my gal already 4 plus.

pierced, oh, where do u buy elygdium from? How much does it cost?
Yeah, we shld cherish the days when they still need us and cling to us. By the time they hit their teens, we won't be needed much liao... *sob* ;p

pierced,
my girl still don't know how to spit so gotta wait for her to learn that before i can switch to fluoride toothpaste.

i know what you mean. i was looking through my girl's 1 year old photo during my HL and realised she's no longer babyish anymore!

Luv, I get it from either the Chinatown shop that sells cheap toiletries , about $6.50, otherwise it's robinsons when they have disc off. Cheaper than getting from the dentist at $7 plus.

Eskimo, yup, when she knows how to spit, then can use the fluoride ones.
now at least she has the habit of brushing teeth so easier to train next time.