(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Thanks for the 'cleaning butt with water' tip, ok will get a roll of cotton wool and cut into large pieces, then dip into water and wipe, instead of wet wipes. Actually a gf has also taught me this before I delivered but I thought since my niece can withstand wet wipes as NB, mine could too. I guess all babies are diff. I read in magazine, also says water and cotton wool. Ok then, no shortcut for us.

We've also decided to half swaddle her, swaddle the body and leave legs and butt unswaddle, so more airy.

I've tried the calendula lotion on her face, the tiny red bumps have gone down
At first I thought they are hormones fr mummy at birth, that's what PD said about the patchy redness, until sis informed me they look like very mild rashes
I really need to spend more time examining my girl, instead of hidding in my room pumping and getting away fr the heat. I'm glad my post natal massage has come to an end, mission impossible to stay sane with the burning wrap...lol...

Tanny, Heather's new pattern is sleeping in the living room, super noisy but she sleeps very well. Once we put her into her cot, she'll fuss within 15 mins. Maybe you can try living room too...??

Tromso, dun feel bad abt not spotting the rashes earlier. After all, confinement is a chance for u to recuperate and regain ur strength. It's understandable that u didn't have as many chances to spot the rashes early.
I also left it much to the CL previously. Then find out later that she didn't take care of baby as well as I tot she shld in some areas. Also felt a bit guilty then, but realised what was more important was to look forward and improve the situation. We're all learning in this journey of motherhood.

Luvnhope, dun me like me.. End up my back kept aching in the first few mths. I didn't sleep much during the day during confinement. If I did nap in the afternoon, it meant belle was with me in my room. Usually, in the pm, I will sleep with her. Every morning, I will ask the CL how much milk belle took n what time she woke up for milk, how long it took to feed her in the night, etc. belle drank v slowly back then.. N can take up to an hr if not more.. If I run check, wat if the nanny wanted to sleep n dun make sure she finished her milk? When I went toilet in the night a few times, I will pop over n see belle.

Thru out the day, I will walk in n out, I know how long belle took for each feed, I know what time was her last feed, how CL Cleans her butt, every morning, I will stand there n watch CL shower her... Etc... So tough for me to hv her, she is g precious to me...

Hazel, I'm just like you. I never leave my gal alone with CL, I will keep looking at what they are doing. My gal is sleeping with me n CL. At nights when she feeds her, I will wake up too n watch, never go back to sleep unless my baby is sleeping. Even when she changes her pampers at night, I will wake up too. I just feel better when I see her fall asleep already.
In the afternoon, I will nap only when my gal sleeping. She cries I will quickly wake up. My CL has recorded her feeding time, what time on fm, what time on BM, qty, what time she poop, since first day she started to take care my baby. Every time I will ask her if my baby finish her milk, if she poop a lot, if it's watery or not when I missed watching them. I think I'm just worry too much.

Hazel, u've been thru much to have Belle. Understandably precious!

I also find that after going thru so many jabs and 2ww, and waiting for so long, I'm more aware that this pregnancy is so precious. Even my gynae also remarked that I'm so much more gan cheong this round than in my 1st preg, and she can see that this baby is so precious to me.

Tromso...gd that yr gal can sleeps in a nosiy environment...better than can only sleep when no noise...haha

Eskimobaby...once they reach school age more headache with school work..but since you are a teacher, maybe not a problem at all.. ;-)

Luv, they have it specially for kids too, not on the website? I know they have adults one and my mum is using the sensitive toothpaste coz its very good.

This is some info on why use that brand toothpaste, btw, My #1 goes to this dentist too.
http://ruthwongwrites.blogspot.sg/2011/10/what-you-should-know-about-fluoride-and.html

This is the toothpaste for kids, I use the 7-12 one coz it contai s enough fluoride, not the younger age one.
Just a little dot will do.
http://www.actorpharma.co.za/products/FootCare/Elgydium-Children’s-Toothpastes/default.aspx

Tromso, Ur gal have rashes on face too, perhaps coz we under confinement and the food is heaty as mummy takes heaty food. Megan had tiny red bumps on her face too during my confinement, and it cleared up soon after.
My mum said prob coz we eat a lot of heaty food, that goes into the bm, but bb is not as good in taking heaty food compared to the mother who can.. But it's ok, after a while, it will be fine. I also use some calendula cream on her face, otherwise, I will put jasmine flowers to rub.

Don't blame yourself for not noticing the rashes earlier. Or using wet wipes on her. Different bbs have different skin conditions so we can only trial and error from the start.

Thanks for the links, pierced! Yeah, the website i found didn't have children's version. Will take a look at the sites u recommended.

Help!!! My bb cry and fuss at bite even after her feed. We check her diapers all clear. Everyday at this timing around 10 pm onwards she will be like this. She is fine during the day. She can drink and sleep in the day but when nite comes she fuss and cry. We pay her she won't even sleep. Is there something wrong with her?

Thanks for the encouragement Luv and Pierced, it's indeed quite tiring, body still adjusting...many times I'm happy enough to see bb looking well and good and when mum
asks if I'll like to learn this and that I'll let her know next time perhaps cos I'm hoping to rest a bit more before taking over the duties, and I know I can trust her. Days go by in rather sleepy mode, I even taken my antibiotics dosage incorrectly (for infection below) so hv to take somemore in the end. Quite brain dead at times...hope bodyclock can get used to the new routine soon.

Pierced, fortunately the rashes on her face is very mild. She only sleeps in air con at night, so I guess the exterior heat oso doesn't help. Didnt realise my heaty food can pass on to her too, luckily I'm not taking ginger.

Hazel, Baby Me, salute!! But I guess if I have a confinement lady, I may ignore my fatigue too can monitor closely, safety first

Faithfully ; I have the same problem except mine is during morning - from 6am to noon she wants to be awake dun wan to sleep despite whatever u do. Understand baby has a awake period as they sleep about 16 hrs a day only. I guess that's her awake period.

Does yr CL feed baby in the dark at night? Mine on a very small yellow light and does that - change diaper n feed in the dimness. Or on the room light and feed in the brightness?

Yr babies attached to ur parents never mind. Mine attached to CL - lagi worse bu no choice as I had to rest a lot after my op and cant be involved as much as I want to.

tromso, yup 1st month very tiring and u still have to adjust to bb plus your body is recovering. leave most of the things to your mum first since you can always pick up later on when you are better.
I left most things to my mum too, in fact she will nag me if I don't rest, like watch tv, or ssurf net while feeding bb, or during bb sleep time. she only wants me to sleep and rest while bb sleeping etc. So i dont blame bb for being closer to mum during this time. after that, i slowly took over and learn instead. In a way, lucky since mum is there to help out while some of my gfs had to handle things all alone during confinement.

Now i totally understand why we need complete rest during confinement. After that, no more excuse to do nothing already. hehe....

Hi baby
I know what u meant n i does the same thing too to keep try take care bbies myself during confinement.. So didnt rest my n my cl oso complain to my mum tt i oways wakeup when bbies cry n seldom bedrest when i shd.. My mum still say "u worry no chance to take care bbies ma? Ur path to take care bbies r still very long so she say, i shd rest well this first mth to nurse back my health stronger then can take care bbies well in future..i dun listen n only realise it last few days before my CL leaving n quickly try to sleep more but think too late n consider didnt recuperate well.. I regret as my hb spent so much $ on her hoping i can rest well so tt to take care bbies well fr 2nd mth onwards but now am feeling so much weaker n tired after taking care bbies myself for only 2wks plus, somemore easily fever n they say my face look pale as not bu enough.. Hence, pls try rest well as u will hv ample chance to take care ur bb fr 2nd mth onwards.. No need worry tt bb close to CL as she will be here only 1mth, bb will forget abt her very soon.. For me, i more worry my bbies close to maid so i try not to let maid take care bbies but think diffcult when i am working so will spend more time with them at night..;) take care..

With confinement lady, have plus and minus, same goes for parents' help I guess. I'll try to help out if I can (cos still hv niece here) but been feeling more and more tired during the day too. So now I'm also trying to not observe bb care too much else I'll get lotsa info download fr mum which I feel my sleepy brain couldn't handle.

Afraid will up their expectations and leave bb with me alone for longer periods (like other night, both my parents went out and I was left alone with heather) whilst I feel like resting more now cos even standing and washing bottles etc can make my back ache. I'm happy to start learning the ropes after 1 mth and for now, just spend a bit of time cuddling heather and play with her during her waking hours. My bm has also dropped a bit, think hv to recharge with more rest, still trying to work out a good after midnight pump routine, with insufficient zzz at night, it's not easy to catch up during the day with all the hustle and bustles.

We'll all hang in there and will hopefully see the daylight soon...

Ladies, can I check with you, for nappy liners, are these waterproof? Or purpose just to hold poo but liquids will seep through?

Heather has the habit of pooing and peeing when her diaper is removed (that day shoot so far, an entire stack of clean bb linens placed in the cot corner were soiled, mum got very upset haaa...dunno if she's a girl or boy). So I'm thinking to get something to act as barrier betw her naked butt and bedsheet for poo purpose, as poo stains are very hard to wash out. TIA!!

Joanne, it's really tough for you to take care twins on your own. Take some rest whenever you can, although it's only 10mnts or so.
For me no chance to regret anymore, I really didn't rest for the past week, not because afraid baby will be closed to CL, but just worry if CL accidentally hurt baby or what n didn't inform me. I just don't want this type of thing to happen.
My CL last day is this Friday, that marked end of my confinement. One worry gone, another come. Life is like that. Just face it.

Hi tromso, wa I do when u change her diaper is I use a changing mat underneath her butt and the bed sheet. When she poo I make sure she finish her poo using the diaper... Me and my mum will make the eh eh sound to make her poo. I will use wet wipe to cover the poo to prevent her butt touching the poo. Then I will faster remove it and use the new diaper to cover it faster apply cream and wrap her up. I only kena twice her pee in bed sheet. Use the diaper as a barrier in case she sudden wa to pee.

Tromso, u can use those changing mats to protect ur bedsheet when u change Heather. Along the way, I've also improvised and learnt to place the new diaper underneath the soiled one, fold the soiled diaper so that she doesn't come into contact with the dirty inside of the diaper and quickly clean her up. Once she's clean, can remove the soiled diaper from under her and the new diaper is just under her ready to be wrapped.

Hi baby me, my confinement end this weekend. Then
I will move bk to my own Hse then I will hv to take care of bb myself alone. I am also worry that bb cry I can handle her cos I still can't walk like last time... I still feel uncomfy at my tummy area if I walk too fast.. Then I will feel bk ache if I stay too long. I try to sleep when she sleep in the noon..but I also think I didn't rest much cos I will wake up to see bb gt breathing or nt... That is hw worry I am. I try to be strong for bb but sometime when I think of going bk to my own Hse I feel scared. I leave my bb to my mum to handle but I think I too rely on her that when I move bk I worry I can't handle bb alone... I need an extra hand to see me thru when my hub come bk from work. It the learning process and I am looking forward to see her grow bigger so we can understand her needs and character.

Faithfully, perhaps u can ask ur mum to come over to ur place to help out in the first week that u're back? Then u slowly transition to taking care of baby alone? A sudden change is much more challenging definitely.

Tromso, nappy liner is not waterproof, only to hold poo. If you want, better to buy Tollyjoy than Pigeon brand. Cheaper n wide enough to fold into two to make it thicker.

Faithfully, I'm slowly taking over baby this week. I take care everything by myself n told CL to just watch n correct me if do wrongly. So far so good, but really very tiring. This morning I bathed her, I forget to put her bath gel in the water...haiya. She said slowly learn n try to remember everything. Last Sun my hubby bathed her n forget to wash her hair haha. We are all learning, mistakes/forgetness are unavoidable.

Hi luvnhope, my mum did mentioned that she will go to my Hse when she free to take care of bb... Bathing bb is fine for me but sometime when bb cry u will feel gancheong and u feel frustrated too. I try to control & be calm. But sometime I dnt kw I worry ab bb crying or wa... I dnt seem to feel safe or secure sometime. I will think of this & that and worry for no reason. Sometime I still cry for no reason. But I keep telling myself bb too small she dnt kw hw to talk so she cry. I nt only worry I can't handle her well I also worry wa us get crying means. It tiring mentally & physically. But I trying my best to rest when I can and be strong for bb.

Hi tromso
Yes, like wht all say.. Use a changing mat will do.. My bed already full of milk spill, pee and poo smell.. Thats what will happen when hv bbies..;)

Hi baby n faithfully
Dun worry, u can cope urself de.. Did u install yaolan at ur place already?it is like a pair of extra hand.. I keep urge my hb to install n he finally drill hole n done.. So much easier now..;) at least when i am alone, i can put one bb in yaolan n carry the other one on hand..;)i know is not easy but dun forget, we r strong woman than the rest..;) jiayou..

Anyone try the lactation milk tea before? It says can increase milk supply...my cousin give me one box, it says drink 3 to 5 times per day but is it keep use the same teabag n just pour hot water over n drink to 3 to 5 times or always has to change the teabag at least 3-5 times a day?? Any one who drink before can advise? Not sure whether this tea is useful or not.. Btw, maya say we can skip Middle night feeding or pump if too tired..

Thanks Faithfully and Luv, I've thought of changing mat but will still need to wash. Luv, we are currently using your method, mess will not hit the bedsheet but it's after shower time, she only has towel underneath her, 90% will pee on towel, 50% will poo on towel, before we could dry her up properly and put on diapers. Maybe I'll get the disposable changing mat and cut into smaller sizes.

Baby Me, tollyjoy and pigeon nappy liners are good? ok will suss them out too.

She poos all the time, after 1 diaper chg (we seriously thot she's done poo-ing), 5-10 mins later will hear another loud gas release, yet another poo, gosh...will try your ehhh ehhh method Faithfully, thanks. No wonder diaper rash, I think my mum usu ignores the second small poo until accumulates to nxt feed, sigh...I'm keenly monitoring today to troubleshoot.

Baby Me, Faithfully, yah...everything has so many steps and details. Mum was demonstrating bathing bb earlier today, this to place here, that to place there, do this first, that second etc. and it's all fine for me. Then we were all done with bathing and dressing up. Guess what? Mum later confessed that she has forgotten to clean her ears...lol... I think I'll need to joint down the steps.

Faithfully, it's understandable to feel apprehensive. But remember that u have learnt how to handle baby and you'll only get better wth practice. Nobody was a perfect caregiver to a baby right from the start. We all have to learn and improve along the way.

Tromso, better to clear any poo asap cos it can't be absorbed into the diaper, unlike urine. Higher chance of irritating baby's skin.

tromso, i only used changing mat to change underneath, but your gal is very cute, poo and pee often during the change. haha...
nappy liners usually will not absorb liquid, but if you are not using cloth diapers, then not necessary to buy it.

I use cloth diapers so i usually prefer the pigeon ones, though more ex. i find the rest of the brand liners not as good.

better to clean her up fast esp using diapers since poo and pee can be irritating to the skin, since she has rashes too. I used cloth so everytime pee and poo, we change immed.

Joanne, is it the traditional mother's milk tea? there are a few brands around. I used to take it combined with fenugreek capsules for bf. 3-5 times means, each time u use one teabag. not reuse the bag.
but actually this milk tea is also the same as taking fenugreek as inside the main ingredient is also fenugreek.
I just combine and take to boost supply, and the hot tea makes the milk flow better.

Luv, actually my way or my mum's way washing cloth diapers very easy, haha! I just soak all in a big pail of water with pigeon powder and at the end of the day, wash it all in the washing machine. Only if there's poo, then we rinse off the poo first before dumping it in the pail.
Well, at least my gal didn't have any rashes at all, plus I think she likes it airy coz she was a Michelin baby and maybe give her thighs a breather. Haha

Pierced, my mum will wash the towels immed after she pooed on it (after bath) but still will have to scrub/ rub very hard to remove the yellow stains. Don't think she'll want clothe diaper, esp niece quite handful now (in fact needing much more attention than baby), I guess that's why she's not taking immed notice of heather's diaper condition. The nappy liner I'm considering to put underneath her butt (above towel) after bath, so we'll get enough time to dry her up then put on diaper; she often poo n pees within that 1 min or less timeframe, so the nappy liner is not meant for clothe nappy, for damage control heh.... Disposable is gd, saves time... let's see if this works

Joanne, I thought you are planning to give up bf?

pierced, when did u first start to feel ur #2's movements? Wonder if I'll feel my little one's movements earlier and how much earlier this time round. Been feeling little flutters occasionally but still not sure if it's gas or just my imagination. LOL.

Tromso, did your mum try pigeon powder detergent? I find it helps removes poo stains easily, but must soak for a while.
Ya, cloth diapers are a handful, esp if she has to take care of your niece as well. Don't add on to her workload. Hee... Anyway, use disposables are also ok, have to depend on situation. If my gal is younger and close in age, might be a lot more work to handle too with cloth .
Plus some bbs are really sensitive and might keep crying if use cloth from some mummies experience.

Luv, around 14 weeks? Was much earlier this round.
previous preg I was not sensitive to the movement at all, only felt like way way later, till dr Loh joked I not sensitive at all. Haha!
Don't think it's your imagination, the little flutters should be the movements

pierced, ooh, i'm coming to 14 weeks soon.
Hahah... I'm still not 100% convinced it's baby's movements until I feel a big kick or sthg. ;p

Tromso. How soon did u get your strep B results? Did u call the clinic up to find out? Was wondering since I only see Dr Loh following week and I worry I might pop before that.

Luv congrats
Feeling bb's movements is great, hopefully it'll become more obvious as the days go by. Diff fr your first bb movements?

Thanks Pierced, will look out for the pigeon powder detergent if nappy liner plan fails

Hi Faithfully, how was your first month celeb? Doing 1 more session this weekend? Did you order the bb first mth buffet with cupcakes, cupcakes came ok? Hope Vera will settle down at night soon. Heather is also starting that phase now, but more of afternoon/ evening time hassles. We took out the baby station (the sort that's rocker cum high chair) and place in the living room, gently rocks her, she seems to like it and fell asleep after fussing for a while. Have you tried using stroller? Seems to work for some.

Pierced, I got my test result during consultation with Dr Loh, 2 weeks after. But I'm sure you can call up and ask or if you delivery before your nxt visit, Dr Loh should be there to inform you of test results and if need any meds, etc. When I was in labour ward, I overheard another gynae advising patient the Strep B results.

Are you experiencing any Braxton Hicks now? Cramps?

Pierced, the result takes 1 wk. I only knew abt the result on labour ward when I told them I did the test n they checked. Immediately I was put on antibiotic.