(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Tromso, hahah.. thanks, but it's so mild I'm really not even sure if it is baby moving or not. Hopefully soon the movements will be obvious enough to pick up easily.
Looking forward to it!

Hi tromso, the full mth went well. The cupcake they send together with the buffet catering. Food wise nt bad. This is already consider her full mth and we wnt do on her actual day cos it ghost fest Liao. I also hv the high chair cum rocker bed but she only sleep awhile then fuss again. I think we will end up hving a sarong for her. But we try to see hw things goes along the way see if we can do within a sarong. But one thing for sure she will quiet dw abit with pacifier but once she doze off I will remove it slowly. I dnt wa her to suck for too long.

J03, some mummies say the mummies tea work, so no harm trying if you want to increase supply.

But the key thing is still to latch or pump regularly for a few weeks to increase supply, then after your volume is enough, can slowly drag pumping or reduce pumping minutes. If supply increase but don't pump/latch, the body will automatically adjust to reduce volume as it perceives you don't need so much milk.

Just the tea is not enough without the pumping/latching.

Jia you if you intend to give BF another try.

Tromso, ic, coz I ony need the results for that to update the letter.
I don't experience braxton hicks at all, so far nothing. Both preg also the same so until now I'm still wondering what braxton hicks are like.

Hazel, thanks! Will remember to remind them in case I haven't gotten the results yet.

Pierced, no worries, at labour ward, the nurse will ask a whole range of questions, including if you have taken strep B test, but still gd idea to get results asap, 1 less item on the mind

Faithfully glad your first month celeb went well
My baby station still works for now, we can't have bb on the mattress on the floor cos niece will disturb. We've just receive a portable bed as gift, maybe that's another option. Sarong sounds like a good option esp Vera prefers to stay awak at night, will be able to give you some rest. Have you tried patting her bottom and lulling her to sleep? Maybe some soft music in the background....

pierced...u felt the movement at wk 14...wow...i only felt it like 2 wks ago..ard wk 17..and my left baby not as active as the right baby...not sure if i shld be concern now...

Hi pierced
Here is the link of the milk tea i hv..
http://www.traditionalmedicinals.com/mothersmilk/products/
Is it same as wht u say? Oh.. So one tea bag only for one drink.. Thot can use again..;) so u combine this drink with freugeek ( how many pills u took each time as worry overdose of freegueek?) Does it help to increase ur supply?
Thk u for ur advise..;)

Hi Ron
Yes, i do agree with u.. Eat anything oso wun work if no pump or latch.. I hv learn alot on bf after so many things happen to me past 6 wks..;) thks for ur advise..;)

Hi tromso
Hee.. Maybe i not clear enough..I intend to stop stimulate my breast to hv more milk.. Will just continue to pump whatever i hv in day time to give my bbies..but intend to stop pump in middle of night so tt can hv enough rest at night.. Maya say also can work like this.. This milk tea is given by my cousinso thot of drinking it now n dun waste it.. Hope it may help the flow to be more.. Now maya just unblock my ducts n no longer stimulate it so much ler..

Hi tromso, my bb can sleep in noisy place & she can sleep deep in air con room. If I leave her alive quiet with dim light she will eh eh and fuss. I try patting her while singing to her or humming to her. It works sometime. We try alot of ways, we even bring her out for a ride and she fall asleep but when we put her dw to cot she wake up. My hub even bring her go dwstair for a walk she fall asleep but same thing happen when we put her dw to bed.

Faithfully, babies are used to almost constant motion and listening to the mummy's bodily functions (like pulsing blood, intestinal movement maybe) when they're in our wombs. That's why some background noise like Tromso suggested makes them feel more comfortable. They enjoy the motion of the car too and that's why can fall asleep but once in the cot it's motionless. That's prob why she wakes up. Try to make sure she's in deep sleep b4 putting her down?

Joanne, what's the diff betw stimulating the breasts and taking fenugreek/ tea? Hee...I'm so confused...

Faithfully, must be really tiring for you guys
I can't imagine doing all these. Hope you'll find the correct button to push soon. Is it for almost entire day or just a certain period? Sounds similar to Tanny's....

Mc, that's ok, 17 wks considered quite early too. Left baby not as active? Hmm maybe can monitor and see how. But still small.

Joanne, yup that's the same one I took. Nay one tea bag per drink. I drink it to stimulate bm bef feeding sometimes. I took like around 6 capsules a day for fenugreek. It does help me increase supply. But u be careful since u have mastitis though. I thought u wanted to stop the supply?

Faithfully, may e u can try the background noise etc before putting her to bed, or else patting her etc. coz if u have to bring her for walk around bef she can fall asleep or use car rides, it's not going to help long term. Don't think u can carry on this all the time. Just think if she grows bigger and heavier, how to carry and walk around to sleep. Will be very tiring on u.

Vera sleeping pattern change like few week ago.. And only fuss at nite on off. We even have a mobile machine that play womb sound. But we seldom use cos her cry can cover the sound. But today I realise she like the sound of vacuum cleaner she will suddenly stop moving and stare quietly...

Tromso, thanks for e link to the baby carrier n I'm glad I bought the right brand.
just got it fr my godsis's hubby n I bought the limited edition heehee, saved me $100 bucks. Will throw it to the hubby to figure it out haha.
Joanne, one of my fren took red bean soup n she said it really helped with increasing the breast milk.. She shared tt aft drinking it, she can literally feel her breast filled w milk. If u do hv problem, do consider going back to KKH n look for the lactation nurse, Cynthia. She is extremely good w blocked ducts n all....my fren also had huge problems as she had twins premmise...but Cynthia taught her n advised her a lot on bfeeding. Like u, she even had to go to O&G for her engorgements....but she managed to figure out how to massage her breast n nipples to loosen....now she's still pumping, 7 months later. jia you jia you.
I can't rem who asked abt the chilli padi n smiling orchid caterer.... I tried both before, personally I prefer chilli padi as they serve a mix of local n pernankan food with laksa n satay, depending on the package u take. smiling orchid's food r normal lah.

Juvi $100 cheaper, haaa...you sure are giving the Singapore retailer a run for their money
Got yours fr Europe?

Faithfully same here, I find the white noise machine too soft, can sooth bb when she's not too agitated. Louder option is musical mobile, so far can attract heather's attention when she's on a medium fuss mode. My shoo-ing method oso only works when she is fussing less but like u said, the sound distractions have to be louder than the cries/ eh-eh. Carrying is best solution but not sustainable long term. Good thing you found your magic pill - vacuum cleaner. I heard hair dryer works too

btw your baby station (rocker high chair) can rock front and back? useful? I've not use this function yet cos heather stops fussing moment we lie her down into the bb station.

Received a portable bb bed fr friend yesterday, looks quite useful, can elevate the upper body a bit, will trial later...

My gal likes to turn her head to one side and i always roll a towel/ diaper cloth and put it on this side to block it, so that she will sleep inthe other side. But not v useful. She still likes to turn her head to the wrong side. Besides Im scared she may turn her head and suffocate if she turn into the towel.

Juvi, wow, u got ur carrier already? I asking my fren who's an air steward to try getting it from Europe too, but have to wait for his flight there coz its much cheaper now with the euro down. Hopefully can get a better deal.

I was asking about the 2 caterers so chilli padi's food is more interesting with the mixture. Will List them down as one caterer to consider.

Tromso. Yup, carrying is not long term, coz quite a no of bbs who being carried, will tend to get used to it and cry non stop if they are put down. My mum was just commenting on her neighbour downstairs with 3 kids, and the 3rd one is used to carried whole day and sleep etc, so now she's 1 yr plus and tend to cry unnecessarily till the poor maid can't do anything else but to carry her.

Hi pierced
Slowly ba but will still try give whatever i hv.. Since my cousin gives me the tea, i dun want wasted plus i still hv ammum lacta milk so will still take them n pump deligently in day time..;) hope they can at least drink one bottle a day else too heaty for them to drink only fm.. Anyway, i wun further stimulate my breast for more milk..

Hi tromso
Think stimulate the breast will cause more milk flow than just take medicine ba..

Hi tromso n baby
Do u hv diarrhoe after taking maya black medicine? I feel very uncomfy inside as tummy has alot of uncomfy sound then follow by watery diarrhoe n gas.. A few times somemore n making me more weak.. I think not so healthy to hv diarrhoe, does it happen to u?
Also, i notice recently my panty liner got slight green discharge.. Looks scary again n wonder is it fr the virginal..;( anyone know what is it n do u hv it after finish confinement? Not sure is it due to the massage too?? ;(

Yes, got e carrier fr e Europe website. Initially got abit of difficulty cos PayPal can't accept my sg credit card so I email e merchant there n they send me another link to make e payment. Aft tt, they deliver e carrier to e address the next day, very fast.
every dollar counts loh haha!

Hi juvi
Thks so much for ur tips ( i just drink red bean yesterday as my mum feels i look pale) n contacts.. Actually i hv milk but dun know how to empty tt cause all this trouble.. Didnt do massage last time before pump as i feel milk keep drip when massage and very wasted n messy so always straight pump.. Now i scared ler n willing to massage first.. Hope it will help.. I feel I very useless one.. After recover, now feel like bf again.. Diaoz.. So wonder if go see cynthia, will she help me thru this diffcult phase. Any idea How much does it cost per visit? Actually i spend alot in order try to bf n just give up really feel not worth it...;(

Joanne, yes I have the diarrhea too. Maya said it's normal, it's the water retention which she tries to get rid n the wind inside. Felt uncomfortable at first, but now used to it already. Now not as bad as first few sessions. You can double check with her.
As for green discharged, I don't have it at all. You better check with her or go for check up.

Joanne, good to hear u feeling better. Can go see cynthia. Call up the clinic for appointment. I saw her initially too when my milk ducts were blocked. She will teach u how to massage etc. I remembered I paid like $50 for one visit. Not sure if the price has been revised. Her full name is Cynthia pang.

Jo3, green discharge may be a sign of infection down under. Better go see a doc n have a check.

Hee... like Tromso, I'm also a little confused by what u mean by "stimulating breasts"...

Yest during my detailed scan I was diagnose with Low-Lying Placenta... Dr just mention it is common and no sex.

But I read on the internet it is quite serious if the placenta don't move up, if I experience heavy bleeding, I may be hospitalized until delivery so that I don’t lose too much blood, risking my life and the life of my baby.

Any advise whether I should worry or it is just part of pregnancy??? Thanks.

throll, dun worry too much abt it, but just take it easy and don't exert yourself. You may not even bleed at all. That's just a possibility. If ur placenta is so low that it covers the cervix and doesn't move up b4 delivery, then most likely have to be a c-sect. Other than that, just enjoy ur pregnancy while being cautious (as we all shld!).

Hi tromso, my bb station rock front and bk, we try on her when she abt to sleep then it works. When we put her dw and Rick when she nt fully asleep she will eh eh. So I think it works abit only. Only the human rocking can works on her.

Hi tanny, Vera also like to sleep on one side too. No matter hw we turn her head the other side she will turn bk. we intend to buy the pillow that mould the whole head in so she can't move but hope it works.

Btw, do ur bb drink milk gulp loudly? Cos Vera sometime is like this. I wonder is there something wrong with her wind pipe or wa? Sometime she will puke milk out even after a bulp or when she bulp she will bulp out the milk too.

Faithfully, my baby drinks milk also very loud. It's like so hungry, drink so fast n gulp so loud. And also breath so fast n loud, every time I check her nose, nothing blocked. Dunno if it's normal or not. Will check with PD during my next check up.

My baby also will slp on one side, I just put a bolster on her back so she will not turn to the other side on her own. I will change her position every 2-3hrs. So sometime on left n sometime on right side. I read from a book that NB baby doesn't need a pillow yet. So I just fold a thin cloth as her pillow for time being.

Faithfully n BabyMe, newborns' nasal passages are still very narrow. That's why their breathing sound may seem very loud. As they grow older n nasal passages expand, shld get smoother. Of course, if it worries u, can always check with the doc.

Baby, belle still hv the blocked nose sound when breathing. Is normal as bb has narrow nasal passage. Also, she always vomit milk too! Is alot that kind.. But she still wan to drink.

Thanks for informing about LC Cynthia Pang, dunno if I should seek help with the short nipple rejection...

I've been thinking if I should give up giving heather 2 breasts, as she seems to drink enough fr the good breast (on pump, gd breast produces abt 100ml but bb drinks 70ml now), then will sleep for 2 hrs after that, just bm fr 1 breast. Do you mummies give 2 breasts abt 15 mins each?

My baby prefers sleeping on 1 side too, but we'll turn her head and succeed sometimes.

Faithfully, yah, all the various methods work when bb not so fussy, high fussy mode, nothing seems to work
Heather's staying awake more now, and resisting lying in cot, so I tried the same method again - show her the musical book (wow, the music is very loud but she likes it) and sing along, then she looked sleepy (this is a repeated behavior I've found, think its a lot of stimulations for bb hence gets tired), then I place her on my lap whilst seated on couch and sway my knees slowly gently left and right, looked at her closely and do the very slow long shooing...miraculously, she felt asleep within 10 mins and my mouth was dry liao...lol... but once I stop my knees swaying, she will open her eyes a bit so hv to persevere until I hear slight snoring. This method seems to work for now...

Tromso, r u intending to pump from the other side then? Try not to stop completely on one side cos not sure if that'll affect ur overall supply. Heather's appetite will grow n u might need both sides to provide BM. Good idea to check with LC.

Tromso n Fairhfully, my baby likes the music from my baby monitor. Whenever she makes a fuss, I'll on the music then she will keep quite n keep staring in the air n slowly will fall asleep. So far it's workable for her. I have never carry her to sleep at all. Hopefully will stay this way. Unless she is hungry, poo or sweat then she will make noise.

Throll, you may like to bedrest more, so lesser gravity pull on placanta, something like that I think... is this similar to placanta previa? I'm wondering if pelvic floor exercise will help, to strengthen the muscles hold...

Heather gets blocked nose too, as in mucus inside. My dad has been helping to clean it. She drinks milk loudly too, I read somewhere that it's alright.

Btw thanks for all the nappy rash tips ladies, Heather's rashes has improved
No more red bumps, just redness now....baby steps

Tromso, I'll give one side each feed. So will alternate in each feed to make sure that she gets the hind milk which more filling and fats. It's better not to time the feeding. Let them suck on one breast till they full or spit out the nipple. It u r afraid the other breast will engorge, then u can pump it out. Then alternate it on every feed.

Luv, Joanne, stimulating....is this massaging the breast? I've not been massaging as diligently as before, find that milk supply is lesser now...will hv to power up...

Luv, yes I will pump the other side, otherwise will engorge. I'll also pump the side with latch on, to empty in case not empty by baby.

Baby Me, Brielle is a good girl
I don't intend to shave heather's head, will cut a bit of hair, symbolic....

Baby, I've tried alternating, but she wouldn't take the other one
In tmc, LC also comments may have problem cos not only shorted nipple, it's fuller breasts too, hence quite hard to get into her mouth. She's scream and cry non stop...sigh...LC then said to me I may end up having to pump the breast and feed only fr other breast. I'll try alternating again nxt time.

Yep, I will let her finish her latch on then stop when she pushes nipple out but she sleeps on and off. My guage is that, if she can sleep a good 2-3 hrs drinking fr 1 breasts, she would have drank enough and reached the hindmilk. Is this correct?

Tromso, yeah, if she can sleep for 2-3h after a feed, she shld be full enuf. Coupled with the number of soiled diapers and weight gain, u can tell whether she has enuf milk.

Luvhope, I was already prepared to have natural delivery instead of C, really do hope the placenta will move up before birth.

Tromso, if low placenta needs more bedrest, not that possible now since I am working, guess have to rest more during the weekends... I hope I can find ways to move the placenta up. Will search to see if pelvic floor exercise will help.

Thanks gals.

throll, understand... most mummies would hope for natural delivery. But dun be too disappointed. What matters most is that baby and mummy are both safe and sound!

Hope ur placenta moves up b4 delivery!

Yes Tromso.. Stimulating means massage breast which what i refer to..;) so envy tt ur bb can latch on n drink enough.. Mine latch long but just never enough n immediately cry for milk after latch.. Sianz..
Btw, Where u get ur music book? Sound interesting.. Also, how ur dad clear ur gal block nose? My gal also hv as her nostril very small so we use tissue roll to small n pointed then put in to stick the mucus out after bath when still wet inside so easier..;)

Tromso : how long do u take to bf yr bb from one breast for a full fill?

My bf is quite a failure - my bb suck a while push out nipple if not fall asleep with my nipple in the mouth. Then half an hour wakey n wan milk again. Plus my CL likes to bottle feed with ebm when I'm not looking or asleep. Perhaps think my latching not effective cos baby gets hungry soon after my latching, though when pumping can supply more than demand. Sigh. I will try latching once CL leaves this Friday. I think she is old styled kind of CL. Issue is how to make bb suckle until truly full. If not every half an hr or an hr wake up wanting milk, I will be so tired..

Joanne, how I massage the breasts with no bm wastage...I'll put on the bp funnel and bottle, then turn on the pump, hold with 1 hand, then other hand massage, and alternate hands now and then, so bm not wasted. I'll usu massage the full 15 mins. But this is inefficient lah, can only, pump 1 breast each time. Since I've hooked up both funnels to pump now, I don't massage as much cos the connecting strips get in the way, I suspect that's 1 reason why supply fell too. Now, I'm back to old fashion hold and pump method, see if better results.

I can't massage before pump too cos the let down is a lot, by 3rd hour, will start to be dripping wet, earlier was holding heather and saw my tee shirt 1 big patch wet all the way down to waist, sian... wasn't wearing bra then cos airing them, other sweaty whole day afraid will breed bacteria.

Don't worry about milk supply Joanne, just try your best, with your ducts unblocked, freq latch on and pump plus the drinks, supply should increase.

Cleaning the nose, my dad did the same tissue trick heee...I think WBB taught same method right?

The book, ok I'll email u a pix of it, should be able to get fr baby stores. Has small flashing lights, nursery rhythms on each page and the singing will commence as you flip the hard pages. But if babies eyes big big, dun think can get them to sleep that easily, can temporarily stop their fussing I guess

Faithfully and Baby_me : My gal drinks loud and even got choking sounds! I tot she is choking with too milk! Must n go check why avente teat no 1 like that. Anyone using avente too?

Throll, low lying placenta is very common, Try to rest more and not to walk too much as well, my sil had it as well, but later on her placenta moved up so could deliver naturally.
Just that during preg got to be careful as might cause bleeding. If really serious cases, think your gynae might ask u to bed rest.

Tromso, glad heather's rashes is improving. Can't blame her for breaking out too esp with the crazily hot weather now. I'm certainly not looking forward to confinement.

Tromso. So even the freestyle pump gets in the way of the massaging. Hee...we need to be octopus with the pumping, massaging, latching etc.

Hi Tanny, my bb also bad habit, will start to sleep (light snoring some more) after abt 10-12 mins latch on, push out nipple. Then I'll burp her, she'll usu fuss and eh-eh cos not full enof, then I'll bf her again...she will suckle a few times then stop, I'll massage my breast so the bm will shoot into her mouth to encourage her (and/ or irritate her making noisy plastic bag sounds, my mouth blows wind at her neck, touch her legs, slightly unswaddle her, touch her chin, etc.), then she'll suckle again. Bad habit lah but it works. All in all can take me fr 15 mins to 30 mins, 1 breast.

I find that if I bf just 15 mins, she'll wake up after 1.5 hrs, if i persevere on until say 30mins, she can sleep up to 3 hrs. But I'll know she's full cos when I burp her after that, she's soft like jelly and when put her down in the cot, no fuss at all. If she's not soft like jelly, will usu wake up shortly after.

What I find is that when bb pushes nipple out, may not mean she's full. Mine will do that at the 10+ mins then on my second attempt, she will push out nipple on and off, and if I persevere on, she'll continue to drink, no throwing out of bm when I burp her so I suppose I didn't overfeed bah... You try to make her more awake and bf again, v hard to bf in their super sleepy state.

Also if she stops suckling, but nipple still inside mouth, can try to gently slowly pull out nipples, this may alert her to start suckle, works for mine especially those last few minutes. I've watched a video re this method, apparently it's due to their dunno-wat reflex, in that when u pull the pacifier out slowly, they'll start suckling it again. Works for bf too I guess

Pierced, luckily I hv Brest Friend, otherwise I can't imagine carrying her body, balancing the pillows, holding her head (now she can hold her head quite well, no need to support, phew...), pressing my breast against her mouth in case she pushes nipple out, massaging breast, all same time haaa...Can only hope it'll get better. My gf says they will be so efficient soon that can suckle for 5 mins and already full. Whoa...I'm looking forward to that day

How do you bf?

Indeed gd thing her rashes subsiding, the climate really doesn't help. I semi open her diaper to check for signs of poo and can feel the heat coming out
So we sorta don't swaddle her much now or just upper body... Doesnt help she poos and pees an lot too, we hv to wash all the sheets today again cos her shooting poo hit as far as the far end of the cot, haaa...my fault cos I did the change and didn't catch her que fast enough. Next time will chg her on the floor on a change mat....my poo poo girl...

Pierced, the freestyle pump has 3 straps, 1 attached to bra strap, 2 others attached to side and middle of bra. Hence can't really massage during pump. Can press a bit here and there which is what I normally do but can't fully knead. I feel like a cow being mechanically milk pumped wearing them haaa...So no hands free for me yet, just that it helps save precious 15+ mins...

Yup, starting bf they take a longer time to suckle, but once they are older, it gets faster and u become used to it.
In the beginning, I also did use the breast support pillow, and massage too at the same time, one bf session have so many props, hot drink, towel, pillow,
After that, don't need the pillow even, and I just sit on the sofa and feed her.

Hehe, ur gal is really cute with the shooting poo part, now I know why we need to prep few bed sheets. Luckily the weather is hot to dry those sheets fast!

Ah, now I see, coz I was also contemplating whether to get the pumping pal accessories that can attach the double pump for handsfree use, since I don't need to pump outside or at work. Just that it keeps our hands free and not so tired from holding. But guess with a double pmp itself, can be faster already.
I know what u mean about being a cow. Practically at home we are like only thinking of pumping, getting more milk, storing, feeding... Moo moo...