(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Dr Loh hardly rest, i also wonder why he allow his life to be so hard. He sees patients mon thru sat then sun he does surgeries. On Mother's Day, he was also busy doing surgeries, about 8 surgeries, i knew cos i was then scheduled for doing cerclage that sun.

Hope, wah, a whole family of doctors!

heartbeats, those were my thoughts when I got the convertible instead. Baby will outgrow the carrier very soon, tho it does seem very convenient initially, esp for those carriers than can even be placed onto a stroller directly. Depends on ur needs and priorities. Wld love to hear what the other mummies/MTBs think too.

Tromso, i was sitting on a chair during the class.

MC, Wong Boh Boi also said that MTB with twins better not to do yoga (but not sure is it totally cannot do). Think better to be safe than sorry.

heartbeats, u did a cerclage? Is it cos u're worried abt ur boy's low placenta? Hope ur wound has healed by now. Are u on bedrest?

LC wrapped the cabbage for me twice today n both covered aerola n nipples. She didn't say that it will reduce milk supply but rather to help milk flow.

Luv, no i was scheduled for it but in the end i cancelled the cerclage. Cos it wasnt that short so i was just wanting to do for precaution only but upon consideration decided not to.

Babyjourney, Angel, i am attending WBB class only in sep since now on bedrest.

How you gals clean your tummy ah? I dont dare to rub but after not rubbing for so long, feel like alot of dead skin.

thanks bbjourney..so now i just rotate my neck and shoulders..at least not so stiff...can help me check with WBB if i can do cat position? scare backache when i get bigger.

Heartbeats, i am attending WBB class in Oct too. But my DH has started reading the 3 books from WBB..... He said the book make thing scary and real.....

O Hope, mine in sep. Its a habit for me, i will rub my skin on tummy, legs etc to rub off the dead skin but since preggy, dont dare to rub.

Mc, ok will ask WBB, hopefully i remember. :p

Heartbeats, WBB said dont rub tummy in circular motion as it will create a whirpool n may start contraction. So when applying cream or when we wash, best to use upward strokes. When u attend WBB class, pls tell her your condition n sit on a chair since you hv placenta previa. You also cannot do e exercise, but you can do the breathing, neck n hands exercise like me.

P.S. I was one of the 8 patients who did a surgery on Mother's Day. Hehehe...

Heartbeats,i am still using brusher to brush off my dead skin (hand n feet), and using brusher to rub my back n sponge daily as my regular shower ler....

Bbjourney,should be early Oct ba.... Which about my 30+weeks, i guess i might be too big to move around during that time LOL

Hope, can u request to join the Sept class? I think Oct abit late for you leh... Cos by Oct, you may not be able to do some of e exercises.

hi Pierced and Hazel,

thank you very much for sharing..my baby oso drinking enfalac....yeah checking the country of origin of milk is good.....seems like these days i m eyeing for bargains on diapers n milk powder...

tromso, not yet go back to work...u must rest more n sleep more now.....like what tanny say, is tiring ..but felt happie when u see your baby smiling at you

wishing all sisters here a smooth pregnancy journey....

Baby, it will defintely cut milk supply! Even Nadia my massage lady knows also n Pre warn. Have u wonder why cabbage can reduce engorgement? How does it work? Is only possible coz it reduces milk supply.

I used cabbage before in my first pregnancy when I lost my elder daughter. Breasts v pain. With cabbage milk flow reduces significantly n soon they dried up!

Hazel, any idea why cold cabbage? Any special element? I always hear abt using cold cabbage but never knew why. Won't a cold towel do the trick too? You mentioned dun cover the areola? Scared of infection?

Saw that some of u r reading wbb's books? Where can I get them? I'm starting her classes in sep..wondering if it's too early when I'm due in early Dec...

Also went to Taka fair and was overwhelmed with the many brands and types of strollers and car seats..went home empty handed in the end..Quinny's strollers look stylish but can't fold very well, Aprica has a very light one but dunno it's stable enough..*headache*

Going for my detailed scan aka stock-taking tmw...=P bit scared...hopefully everything goes well

I latch my gal from 9 to 945pm, now pumping remaining to empty breasts. Now almost 10pm after 10min pump now got 15ml. Her next feed is 12midnight. So little time to rest. My mom help out most of the time. I just wonder anyone mil and fil come n see u? My fil say not coming because of pantang. What kind of rubbish. Mil so far only come 1 day 2 hrs.

Biggly, if you did not sign up FBI programme, you can purchase WBB's books during her class. I dont think Sept is too early for you as there r 6 lessons...

biggly, a lot to absorb, but slowly take ur time to look thru the products and dun be afraid to ask the shop assistants to demonstrate or explain to you. It'd also help to have a good idea of what your criteria are b4 u shop.

For instance, is it important that the stroller can be folded with one hand / two hands? Who'll be using the stroller most of the time? If mummy using most of the time, choosing a lighter stroller that can fold with one hand wld be easier. If daddy will be ard most of the time when u use stroller, then can be sthg more heavyweight and stable.

Good luck for your detailed scan! Why u call it stock-taking? Hee...

Hehe..I went there blank-minded...think have to go again this weekend to see again...

I've a notti male colleague who used to call it stock-take coz he said he used to be playboy..so when he became dad..he was quite anxious if bb would turn out ok..that's when detailed scan comes in to check if all the organs and body parts r in place

Hahah... he worried abt karma ah ur colleague?

Oh, and of course have your budget in mind when u go down to the fair or the shops again. Have fun shopping! Can be very enjoyable buying things for bb.

Tanny, indeed, there is this pantang that guys cannot step into the room of confinement ladies during confinement, except the hubby of course. Both my PILs didn't visit my SIL during her confinements, only passed her food at her gate, she got very upset too
So I'm expecting the same treatment, I'm not too concerned. I may just add my FIL as friend in my fb so he can see baby pix

Tanny, you don't be too bothered by it too. If he comes to see you and encounters something unlucky, lagi worse...just let the old folks be, since pantang looks to be a lifelong obsession, no point trying to change opinions or justify it.

Tanny, the older generation will think that the mummy's confinement room is "dirty", cannot step inside. But guess they can always stay in the living room, heh... Take it as u have more time to rest, cos less time needed to "entertain" ur in-laws lor.

Oh, and they'll think the new mummy's clothes, esp undies and bottoms, are "dirty" too cos of the lochia that you're having. Cannot wash ur clothes together with the rest of the family's. This is the one pantang thing that really irritates me.

Hazel, bm won't completely dry up after cold cabbage treatment. My gf had very bad engorgement 2nd day after delivery and used it. Subsequently, she was still producing more bm than baby required...breastfeeding for more than 1 year already.

Baby Me but hv to be careful, maybe don't use it too often, check with LC to be sure.

tanny..my fil also pantang type...won't step into the hse till full month...so u r not the only one...

biggly...i went to mothercare tour and they will explain the pdt to u based on ur needs..i find it quite useful..of cos with the free goodie bag..haha

Heartbeats, I got a Britax convertible too, from birth to almost 4 yrs. front and rear facing, hand me down from #1. But it has served us well.
Can consider that too.

tromso, haha, yes! He forgets the routine checks, happened for my #1 case too. Only when I asked him then he did the test. So this time round, will remind him about the strep test too.

Ya, I tot cabbage is only when u want to relieve engorgement and cut milk supply. Baby, u must have a lot of milk.
For me previously, hot towels or massage is to help so maybe different cads so the LC advise differently.

Biggly, take your time to look around and ask around like what Luv advised. Depends I. What are your needs and preferences? No right or wrong. Also some strollers are much bigger and fill up the whole car boot. Also some mummies use the stroller on public transport. Will be easier with a light weight stroller that folds up easily. Not easy to manage.

Luv heee...he has, he signed up cos all his old classmates bugged him to do so some time back. We recently just taught him how to trade shares using iPhone apps
Technology is addictive

I wonder how last time / last generation people deal with this pantang thing. Don't the fil, mil and sons plus all dil stay in the same house? Then how, if cannot step into the house? Don't they stay in the same house? I thought such pantang is apply to external people but not immediate family.. like yr son n dil, same immediate family also pantang.. Not that I need them to come but they seem non concerned, din even offer to do marketing or come n oversee. I hv CS so its difficult to move or even get up of bed; been quite painful. Any extra help would be nice u see.

Thanks for all ur advice..shall start my shopping!

Luv: ya he worried abt karma and he also heng heng got 2 gals...he used to say it's his punishment..lol

Biggly, no prob! oh, n if u think u're the type of mummy who'd likely hang her shopping bags on the stroller handles, like moi
, better consider a more sturdy n stable stroller. Otherwise poor baby might just topple over with the goods. I've seen it happen in shopping malls when the mum's not paying attention to the tot, n the little one tried to stand up from his seat. The stroller toppled backwards, leaving him stuck within the gap of the stroller. Cldn't take it n had to go "rescue" the little boy. Didn't get a word of thanks from the mum, hmpf... ;p

Luvnhope, if really mst use cabbage, then avoid covering the aerola areas as it will greatly reduce the milk supply.

Tromso, I used cabbage only then to stop the BM coz I dun wan to take medicine. This time, I don't use any cabbage. Stopped expressing since belle was 3.5 mths old. Now she is 6 mths old, i squeeze the aerola still got milk oozes out though breasts r soft for v long already.

Biggly, I hv quinny Zapp n maxi cosi. Bought quinny coz find it v easy to manuvore. But is really heavy and to cumbersome to close and open. Hubby dislikes that. Yesterday, at taka sale, we bought another Aprica Koroon, only 3.6 kg after letting belle tried on it. Immediately, we used on the spot. V stable. No issue. Super easy to open and close also, one hand is all we need!! Now I dunno what to do with my quinny Zapp which is rarely used.... Maybe sell at eBay.

Biggly, me too. I also did not get any stroller. I already chosen one in mind before I went there. But when I tested it, it's not as good as I think. So checking out other brands. Since it was crowded and the sale assistants were busy and can't explain well, we just left without buying any.

I also bought a cheap jeep brand mash net carrier to hang on the stroller fr taka. Recommended by my friend who told me can still close the stroller with things inside the carrier.

Strollers r not meant to hang heavy things generally. Even a stable quinny Zapp can topple with too heavy stuff hang on it

Tanny, are you getting any helps fr your own parents? Yah pantang is a frightening thing, can alter behaviors greatly but it's def not personal. Your PIL would have called to check with your hubby, I'm sure they are concerned but felt hands are 'bounded'

Luv, ya! I have seen many hanging their shopping bags all on the stroller till on the verge of toppling over. I know it's convenient but it's very dangerous too, and not advisable to do so.
I had a combi miracle turn, but ended up I used a super old combi stroller handed down from my SIL. Haha, coz it's super light weight and fuss free.

Hazel, Aprica is very good and light, 3 kg plus is very light!

Those European strollers are good and sturdy, can last u a long time but sometimes hard to manuervre in Singapore and shopping centres. It's huge and sturdy to last them through the cobblestones and uneven ground in Europe.

I was also headache over all e choices of car seat n stroller at e take fair, was too crowded on a Sat so came back empty handed.
Although Quinny n Joolz r very sturdy, they r also heavy. I also not sure if we r gonna change our car to a bigger one so means limited boot space. However, the height of these strollers really suits me well as I'm quite tall n e last thing I want is to strain my back bending down to lift baby or to check on baby. But I would prefer strollers tt can b kept with just one touch or click standing up....guess will go down again one of e week night to really try out. Hv anyone heard of Capella strollers?

Hazel: I saw the Aprica one..very light...

thinking of getting either 2 light ones or 1 heavy and light one for the two bb...btw strollers and car seats are very expensive...

LC asked me to use cold cabbage only today. Now I'm pumping, some colostrum out. Not milk yet. LC said milk will only come tomorrow. At least I feel better now. But breast still hard as stone.