(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Faithfully, freezer - 3 months. Chiller - 48 hrs. Actually 2-3 hrs later u express shld be ok already. Coz my food has liquor cooked in them. I also express 2-3 hrs later after food. Now, ebm per pump is not alot. I will put in chiller, combine the ebm fr a few pumps. Eg, each pump is 20 ml, if bb drinks 60ml feed (work out how much bb need for her weight), then 3 pumps I will hv 60 ml. . I will combine the 3 pumps of 20 ml in the chiller into 1 bottle of 60 ml n feed bb. The 3 pumps will defintely be within 48 hrs! Write down the time n day of pump. Combine earlier pumps first. In that way, u can give bb full ebm for 1 feed. Other times give full fm.

Say bb drinks 8x a day at 3 hourly, u shld be able to give at least 3 feeds with full ebm. The Remaining 5 feeds give fm. Bb's jaundice level shld not be greatly affected by ginger then.

Jialut! I called pem but they said nanny specialize in twins are not available Liao!!! Unless I get 2 normal nannies

Luv, hee, same thing, i had the sarong sling too for newborn last time but I found it too clumsy to use. managed to only use for a while, and then left aside. coz i didnt know how to tie and adjust.
Passed on to my friend but she had no problems using it.
Think depend on individual as my other gf also used the sarong sling for her 2 kids and can manage till they were quite big.

I personally still prefer the normal baby carrier like the manduca. I owned a Pikkolo carrier and I used it often to carry my gal. Easier and when travelling, not much need for stroller.

Hazel, the cooler mat looks interesting!

Luv, my gal is the special case. She can sit in the stroller for long while but just simply cannot sleep in it. When i used to bring her out, no matter how tireed, she only can dosed in it for max 15 mins and then wake up. She can never sleep outside not like some kids.
Really envy those parents. So end up, i always had to plan going out around her nap times and only do short trips so she can go home and take her naps.

Hazel, I also recall Singapore standard for storing ebm is 48 hrs in the fridge section.

I bought the seat cooler fr Robinsons, after discount about $40. Sigh...so much cheaper in gmarket. If its useful, I'll get 1 more cos planning to use for stroller, car seat, rocker.

In case anyone wishes to compare, here's what Robinsons and Kiddy Palace sell:

http://meenobabies.com/

Pierced, belle is like ur daughter too. I believe that maybe with a conducive environment she can sleep in stroller!

I just bought this from www.babyonline.com.sg
http://www.snoozeshade.com/snoozeshade-original
Is cheaper in uk but I computed with shipping cost, cheaper to buy in SG!

Tromso, I read the feedback for items I bought online! I even but swimming costume!! Fr Korea one.. Good quality!
Yes, if this cool mat is gd, I will buy another one for the car seat. Belle can still sweat at her back in the aircon car!

Luv, what we have observed for my niece is, she doesn't like to sit in her Combi Miracle turn stroller cos it's too warm, a lot of paddings etc. But when we use those cheap 1 piece canvas stroller, she is ok with it.

So hubby and I decided to get Quinny, oso 1 piece canvas sort plus the seat cooler to be extra kiasu. But for newborn, we bought the Quinny seat reducer so can support NB body structure.

Then instead of spending more $$ on Britax car seat (fanric has special cooling properties), we decided to get same sorta car seat, but cheaper brand, plus the seat cooler. Again, the seat cooler is to rule out baby's unwillingness to stay in carseat due to warmth. Let's see if it works

Hi ladies, my fren is ttc and wishes to get a good gynae to guide her through, like basic tests etc. Do you have any good recommendations fr kkh?

TIA!!

Hazel, so which shop you ended up getting the blackout sunshade from?

How about the swimming costume? You got a wetsuit is it?

Tromso. Wow so much cheaper in gmarket.

Hazel, let us know ur feedback for the coolermat. Can consider buying it for the stroller. Yup, hopefully, Belle will not be like my daughter, and she can end up sleeping in the stroller.

Tromso, Blackout sun shade fr www.babyonline.com.sg

Wet suit I bought online fr Hanna andersson. Bought it with clothes, caps, accessories together!

I also bought non chemical, orgainc, sunscreen for belle, can apply to face n body, wun sting her eyes.. Hehe

My bb keeps hiccuping so loud that can hear from kitchen. What to do? My CL says let it be...

Breast wedding is very challenging. My gal arches her head backwards.. And sometimes bite my nipples so hard. Means she has finished her feed? Just 15 min only.. I bring my breasts to her and she spit it out. So we lay her to cot and she keeps loOking around awake.. Strange.. Relly dunno what she wan..

faithfully,
actually since your baby is not on full bm, it's ok to still give her the ebm even if you have eaten ginger. i also think it's wasteful to throw away.

btw, can i check with you what's your total bill for your csection and 1 bedder at tmc?

JoT, try other agencies? When I called up to ask abt CLs for CNY period, they also said limited numbers, may be booked up very soon.

pierced, think i didn't buy a carrier previously cos I was afraid that baby wld develop bow legs after sitting in carriers too long. Do u think there's any truth to this saying?

Hazel, i looked at the pic of the sunshade u were referring to. Oh, my stroller already has a shade that can provide full coverage, so I didn't need one. That was one of the reasons I chose that stroller too. But now with sun shade, guess can choose a stroller which u like but unfortunately doesn't provide full shade! Let us know if the cooler mat really works?

Tromso, very well calculated purchases! Not surprising tho, knowing how organised n resourceful u are...

Tanny, it's common for babies to hiccup. Doesn't really bother them as much as it bothers us really. She'll stop after a while, no worries. Best not to try n give her water while she's hiccuping cos her swallowing may not be all that good now, and may end up choking on the water if she drinks while she's hiccuping. It's okay if baby just wants to lie down and look around. After all, it's a brand new world out here for them! They're curious abt the new things they're sensing and feeling!

Pierced, yes ordered online directly fr the merchant. Shipping cost was ok but takes quite long. Next time I may ship via vpost

Hi Eskimobaby, I pay total in cash after deduct from medisave a total of $3500 which included Hub stay 2 nites with breakfast only, Bb under light for a day (jaundice), 3 doc came to visit me ( doc professional fee - Gynae, diabetes doc & PD), Bb jab.

Faithfully, is your one bedder the standard or premium type?

Tanny, can share your total bill for emergency c-sect and 1bedder at tmc?

Hi has anyone rent the light box hm for bb jaundice? Nw u find Vera skin abit dry and see some dead skin on her body.. Some peeling. Is ur too dry for her? Normal? I cannot put cream on her cos cream will absorb heat make it even warmer on her body(That wa the manual say so). I see Liao abit hard pain.

Btw, do anyone of u cry for no reason. I wil cry for no reason and my tear just roll dw. I scared I might kena bb blue. Next week my hub going bk to work and he don't be around to look after the bb and I will hv 1 person less for help. Only my mum and me around cos my mum doing confinement for me. When I think of that I feel scared & I cry. I think I worry too much. I worry ab Vera jaundice whether wil go dw. Although she didn't admit to hospital due to her jaudice but seeing her under the light box at hm make me feel heart break. Even writing this MSG I am crying too. My tear just roll...

Faithfully, don't be too worried. With the phototherapy, Vera's jaundice should improve, not the other way round. Have faith, plenty of it, like your nick suggests

Stay positive and strong, this energy will certainly be transferred to Vera and she'll get better before you know it.

When is her next review?

Faithfully, thanks for sharing.
HugHug, dont cry... Vera will be fine soon... Talk to your hubby about how you r feeling and see if he can extend his leave. Coz i think now u need alot of support from your hubby and your parents.

Luv, so far I find it ok. I only read about those baby born type where the baby is hanging down by crotch which is not so advisable. As for mine, it's really convenient and so far no now legs.

Hazel, I see, thanks for the input. Will go check the website out and see to do more shopping.

Faithfully, it's quite normal. I also cried when my #1 was warded for jaundice. Guess maybe its a way to relieve the stress built up esp starting out as a new mother. The first few wks are very stressful.
Don't think so much about it ok, I'm sure Vera jaundice will recover soon.plus she's at home with u and ur mum.

Baby journey : my bill close to 10k before medieval deduction, include 1 day phototherapy at Nusery level 5 and PD charges (but I did not choose AAT). I stayed at premier and hubby stayed thru all nights. I was charged for a day charge as I admitted a day before delivery. But I stayed 3d2n for CS after delivery (not 4d3n) as dr loh says I can be discharged if i wan to.

Faithfully, is normal to be emotional post delivery. I was like u too. Is normal that bb's skin is dry n flaky coz of the photolight too. Belle was in NICU with needles n tubes everywhere, I survived that. U cld too, is just jaundice, otherwise she is well.

Yes, 5th floor is premier ward. I stayed there too,

Hi faithfully,

My boy discharged one day after he was born and we was given appt to check jaundice in polyclinic. His jaundice slowly rising up day by day. It peak at 7th days, almost hit the cut off point to admit to hospital for phototherapy.

Doctor just advised us to give him lots of fluid and some water in between feed despite the high level. He told us not to bake them under sun too afraid if we didnt manage well, end up baby get dehydated. Was told could be due to breast milk. There r 2 school of though. One continue to give breast milk as the benefit outweight the risk as long as we monitor the jaundice closely, it's not going to harm the baby. Some doctor said to cut down the breast milk and substitute with formula milk for some feed ie mix feeding. What I did is I have him half breastmilk and half formula. Freeze the breastmilk in freezer.

His jaundice go down very very slow and only go down to normal at 7th week. What I trying to say is don't get overly worry on the jaundice, it's not going to harm him, it's common among baby and we just need to have close monitoring. I bring him to polyclinic every 2 to 3 days to check on the level.

If its a concern, doctor will admit them. I think we may not need to do it at home, as we could have over done it.

I gave those frozen milk to my baby after his jaundice, and he was fine with it. Don't waste the milk, it's very precious

FaIthfully,
Thanks for sharing. It's nOrmal to feel emo esp during the first few weeks. I also kept crying the first few weeks. Crying helps to release stress but also important that you let your hubby knows how you feel.

I was having intense contractions at 7+am..started from 5mins interval, then become less than 5mins interval. At 8am, I was shivering & nurse transferred me from ward to observation room. I was in pain & crying after several painful contractions VE by nurse..no dilation at all somemore..
At 8:45am, I was given epidural wif the aid of laughing gas to calm myself down.
After epidural, dilation starts.at 10+am, dr Marianne came & did VE; I dilated 4cm, so she break waterbag for me. By 12pm, I dilate to 9cm. Went to delivery suite & wait for another 1cm. Mine is assisted delivery with vacuum coz umbilical cord around bb neck.

Miracle, rest well! What's most impt is u delivered bb safely. Watever pain is over! Bb smiles n laughter will be next! :p

Hi Hazel, I'm looking at the gmarket link you provided above. Did you get the Magic Shade? It's sunshade plus mosquito net, but not blackout right?

Faithfully, u've just undergone great hormonal changes and a life-changing event that demands much of ur time and energy. Naturally u'll feel emotional and even cry easily. I did too when I had problems with BFg in the first weeks. I also broke down one night while changing my baby's diapers in the wee hours and baby ended up peeing all over the clean diaper b4 I had a chance to wrap her up. Felt so tired, angry, frustrated, helpless then. Luckily my hubby heard my cry of exasperation and quickly got up from bed to take over. So getting sufficient support from people ard u is very important during this trying time.

Just try to stay aware of ur own emotions and speak to friends and family or even us. Don't bottle everything up. I was also very afraid I might get post-natal depression but thankfully the outlet I found from talking to my friend helped a lot!

pierced, thanks! Can share why u choose the Pikkolo carrier over the rest?

miracle, congratulations!! Sounds like a long journey but you've made it!! Enjoy the fruits of your labour now...
Thought Dr Loh was ur doc? He wasn't free and asked Dr M to take over?

BabyGalore, bruno, Joyfully, bbshower, chevy (hope I didn't miss out any newly BFP sisters)... Long time no see you here in this thread! How ya ladies doing?

Btw, Faithfully, on the topic of baby's peeling skin, it's normal for newborns' skin to peel, even if they aren't under phototherapy. My gal didn't undergo phototherapy but she peeled all the same.

See this taken from http://www.drugs.com/cg/your-newborn-s-appearance.html for more info:

At birth, your baby's skin may be covered with a waxy coating called vernix. As the vernix comes off and the skin dries, your baby's skin will peel. Babies who are born after their due date may have a large amount of skin peeling. This is normal. Peeling does not mean that your baby's skin is too dry. You do not need to put lotions or oils on your newborn's skin to stop the peeling or to treat rashes. Your baby's skin may be pink, yellowish, or tan. It may look blotchy or marbled when your baby is upset or cold.

Tromso, there is no blackout sunshade in gmarket. Wat they hv is transparent cum mosquito n rain cover. I already hv that, most strollers come with that.

I m going to store away my quinny zapp, will decide later if I wan to sell. Hv been using aprica koroon since Sunday we bought it. Hv not tries the blackout cover yet but shld fit fine.

My feedback on stroller:
- quinny zapp is stylo but is heavy to lift in n out of car boot. Hands r full ESP now with bb n diaper bag.
- Also need to remove the stuff in the storage bag at the bottom before we fold the stroller
- too cumbersome to fold it.
- only one reclining position

Aprica koroon is only 3.5kg. I cld hv bought koroon plus which has full sunshade but is a kg more heavy. I carries both, light is impt to us! Koroon has a mash bag at the base were I can put the rain cover n blackout sunshade - no need to remove when fold the stroller. One hand button to close & open. A breeze even when am alone with belle! I bought another mash bag (cheap!!) to hand on the handle to put belle's toy and some wipe. No need to remove when close /open stroller also. A few reclining position. Belle can lie flat to sleep or sit up! V happy with the stroller. Bell tried on it also before we buy on Sunday. She likes it too! So buy on the spot n used immediately!

Luv, dr Marianne help me to see me in the morning coz he is at novena centre. Dr Loh delivered for me & he just come to my ward to see me. I think he just finished his work at night clinic.

Wonder how is Sashamama.. No news from her yet

Faithfully, dun cry... I also cried when my gal was born. I clearly remember the night b4 she was warded I scold her say she is v fan.... She was warded for 2 nights I cried v badly too. Relax k...

Baby me : u seen LC lilian? Was it at TMC parent craft ? May I know how much for the consultation? How long is the session?

Tanny, yes I saw her at parent craft center. Actually need to make appt first. But when I went there, she is quite good can take me in for consultation. My consultation around 2hrs. I paid ard $90++.

Anything happened?

Tanny, thanks for your reply.

Miracle, congratulations on the birth of your prince. Rest well and enjoy your bundle of joy n motherhood.

So nice of Dr Loh to see you after his night clinic. Alice told me Dr Loh's appts for today are fully booked.