(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Hi gals, can I check with you all where do u buy the baby Doppler? Thanks,

hazel, i m not transferring to Dr Tan but Dr Han. haha the last name alomost identical and their initials osso same - HH

tzac - ahh okay I see. Yeah I will probably see how after detailed scan in 2 weeks' time! *cross fingers and toes* all will be fine.

Hey, anyone knows if delivery charges in KK, is the gynae fee separate? And how much we can withdraw from medisave?

Basically I enquired with my pte gynae and the reply I got was:
gleneagle normal del(1 bed) with epidural = approx $2750 / LSCS = $3900
mount alv normal del (1 bed) with epidural = approx $2313 / LSCS = $3156

these are all approx and the hospitals will charge an administrative fee to collect money for doctors / credit card commission and can range from ($100+ to $250)

medisave claim for normal delivery is approx $2101 and for LSCS is $3950. this is the same for all hospitals so it will offset your final bill.

Cuz ytd on medisave website when I read, it mentioned can only deduct $1400 - $1800? So I don't know where the claim amt came from.

I saw on KK website their room rate is $438.70 / night for single bedder? That's cheap! plus medisave can deduct $450/day. Delivery is $750 vs. pte hospitals. Does KK do hospital tours?

hi all...have been hit by terrible food poisoning...keep going to the toilet and vomitting...went kWh 24hrs and got med...my poor baby is starved as i cannot eat anything except fluids...

Yikes. Vann take care! what did you eat to cause it? Gosh. I hope you recover really soon.

p/s: to my earlier post on kkh rates, pls ignore. I've just been informed pte suite rates are similar to pte hospitals. I think the one I stated is for normal kk hospital rates.

Hi msmiele, I only wished I could ve stayed longer. Was late for training. But I guess it's ok cux I said I need to walk SLOWLLYYY.. Wahaha...

Wah.. This morning need to change working clothes thrice cux all of d clothes nvr pass hubby's QC! He say all too tight, girl girl cannot breathe?!?? Nearly late for work..
But looking forward to tmrw, it's my co D&D! Yohoo!! Hope girl girl bring me luck n let me win some shopping vouchers to buy her pram!!

Hi Vann, take care n rest well!!

Hopeful, same la. the maternity clothes shop lady told me even if I feel the clothes is not tight, the bb will feel it. So now I bear in mind. Must always put my gal ahead of me.

Also hor my boss and hb dun let me go d&d. They say the loud music will affect bb. My co ppl will drink like mad so they said I better avoid such ppl too. Enjoy yrs and hope u win 1st prize.

Vann, pls take care.. Yr darling will b fine. This is life. Sometimes we face shocking situation like Lao sai, bb dun move much, we dun feel gd. For me no matter how I tell myself not to work late and think of my bb, I never manage to do it. Sigh... Looking at another angle, there r times we would b happy too like the moment we know we r preggy, bb in our hands etc. Let's stay happy and jia you. Rest more while we can b4 our bb r born

Morning sisters,
I just got response from KKH on maternity package (for those interested).
For those who want to continue seeing doc in TPS, you need to take up the premiere package, if you take classic then you will need to see doc in specialist clinic instead where I think you can only hear hb. Also, premier package your gynae of choice will be with you thruout whereas classic package a team of doc will service u first till delivery then your appointed gynae will take charge. Uhm, got the price list for est. package for premier, normal delivery range from $4,180 - $5,017 of which patients on maternity medisave package can deduct $2100.

Then gynae (depends on title/ranking) is separate charge.

And think u need to book it with them 1.5 mths prior to delivery to settle all paperwork.

Hehe, that's what I got so far :p And what I understand as per the email thread lah....

Catherine - I was comparing Mt. A and TMC, the package prices seem quite similar leh!

Happy Friday sisters! Another week has passed, we are nearing our EDD!!!

vann, u take care :)

kimmy, yeah! its friday and i cant wait for the day to end. is it normal to still feel so tired in 2nd trimester? i m thinking its becos of my age, that's y been feeling so so tired....

tzac - yeah..u do feel a little more energetic than your 1st tri, but still tired of course now that you're carrying a heavier (tummy) weight etc. :p

hopeful - hope you win 1st prize @ D&D. hehehe.

Anyone gg expo baby fair next Fri?!

Hi ladies, I just went to my 16w3d scan earlier today, my twins are around 10.7cm now, so happy to see them! One of my twins is a boy, but the other one still shy away, cannot see yet;)

Msmiele, kimmy, hopeful, indeed it was lovely to meet u gals. Look forward to our next gathering with other sisters!

Kimmy, i'd like to join u for the parenthood fair next fri if you're going in the mOrning/afternoon. Think my hand will be itchy want to buy things, but i will try to just look around since my mum insists that i shud only buy stuffs after 7 months. That's the only ' pantang' thing that my mum believes in, so i try to stick to her wish lor. Eventhough i don't think i'll manage to walk too much after 7mths to buy stuffs, as my tummy even now is already so big! I guess i just make a list to buy and ask hubby to run errands. Gynae told me again today that from wk28-32 i have to bedrest and take injections to prevent early labour! He also warned me again that i will have more discomfort of carrying heavy tummy, to be prepared for severe backache and ankle swelling. Not to mention the stretchmarks. Oh well... Anything for my darlings..

Anyway, happy weekend to all sistas!! Rest and eat well for your precious one(s)..

Hi Catherine n Kimmy, hahaha.. Won $50 Taka voucher only!! Can buy 2 pacifiers??

Hi Kimmy, I shd b going cux I wan to know more abt cord blood.. But I shd b going on sat evening..

Ashley - yeah, we can go in the morning to just look/see, compare prices, and kaypoh around
Like Hopeful, I'm also thinking if the other one is a girl - it'd be a phoenix baby!!!

Hopeful - nevermind, your voucher can contribute towards taka's bb fair in Dec!!! Yeah, cord blood seems not bad. Heh, I might sign up with them.

I'm first time mum-to-be. Will be going for 2nd scan consultation next tuesday.
Heard tat Dr SF Loh and Dr M. Hendricks are leaving KKH soon. I dun know which gynae to choose, Dr Tan H.Hao, Matthew Lau or Sadhana...pls advise.

Many thks !

Spring_tulip - welcome. There are plenty of first time moms-to-be here including me. Enjoy this new journey you have embarked. I'm sorry I'm not familiar with the doctors you have mentioned above as I'm with Prof Ng at Gleneagles but I'm certain there are others who will be able to advise you.

Hopeful - $50 is actually not bad.....better than nothing. At least you will get your pacifiers for free, I'd have to buy mine ;)

Ashley & Kimmy - I don't mind going with to the fair with both of you on Fri (I'm sure my husband will be glad to miss this one out). If we meet in the morning, we'd have to eat lunch there. Heard that food at expo can be a bit of a hassle. What about after lunch (about 1.30-2pm)? What are your thoughts?

Ashley - wouldn't it be fantastic if your other twin is a girl? I'll be seeing Prof in 2 weeks time. We'll see if baby peanut will show off some private parts :D

Ashley - nice! So nice to see bb again after so long, right? Hahaha.. Hope your next scan can see gender of the other twin. So exciti ng!!!

Vann - u feeling better? Take care, ya!

Catherine - it's ok, even if have to work late, do try to take it gently and just let go some steam. Unfortunately story of the modern mum - work but not much real support as mothers from society nor company. Take it "a bit" slower than usual

Kimmy - the new TMC floors r quite nice, got hotel resort feel. Hahaha. I've been to visit SIL @ Gleneagles premier standard. Comparing both, I find the TMC rooms much bigger, maybe coz old building. Our tour had 7 adults and 2 kids and room didn't feel that crammed, I remember when I visited my SIL & bro at GEH, 4 adult visitors and the room felt v crammed. The Standard 1-bedders are same as the premier 1-bedder in terms of size but not renovated. Unrenovated wards look like typical hospital feel - clean & clinical. But still ok. We didn't tour the 2 & 4 bedders coz it was all occupied, but I was planning to take the 1-bedder standard anyway.

TMC 1 & 2 bedder hospital charges (delivery, room, nursery etc, before GST, exclude doctors fees):
> normal w epi - 2 days: $2548 (1bedder standard) $1798 (2b) $3300 (1 bedder premier) - claim medisave $1400 hospital + $700 doctor
> LSCS w GA - 3 days: $3578 (1b STD) $2614 (2b) $4500 (1b premier) - claim medisvae $2500 hospital + $1450 Doc
> LSCS w epi - same but $100 cheaper, medisave same.
All 1b baby can room in & companion charge $75 per day including meals. If I deliver in GEH, my entire bill would be covered by company insurance but not TMC, sigh.

Am feeling v thankful today coz I asked my mum if she mind helping out in 1st month if I din get confinement lady & just order confinement tingkat and she basically said I was just waiting for you to ask coz of coz we will be there. A mother's love never ends! Even when daughter is so old Liao hahaha..

Hopeful - haha, keep voucher and buy cute bb rompers!

Tzac - Ya, I also told myself boy/girl doesn't matter as long healthy alto I know this is your #2. but doc also told me wait for detailed scan to confirm, don't go and buy all the stuff now!

Sistas, am 16+weeks and think can feel bb! Yesterday can feel like a bit movement, when I put my palm it stops, then I rub the area bit and think bb responded! Hahaha.. Also started bloating from gas so now have to eat 1/2 of everything & eat 6 or 7 times a day, sigh.. If not by end of say tummy looks like watermelon.

Kimmy/ashley/hopeful - I will prob go to the BabyFair just to look see, not buying anything yet. dH says maybe he will come along which basically means I will wait until last minute then he will say too busy u go yourself better

Ronniemini - I got the Luvion one from Mottherworks $138 so I think it's more ex than getting the angelsounds (online). It's ok easy to use but I find the hb counter is not accurate so I won't recommend unless u just want to buy one quickly & won't mind using a stopwatch. Sound & easy of use no problem but if I had to buy again, I prob won't get this coz of the price
(but it did "recoup" it's value v fast from saving me from running to gynae for scans in between scheduled scans tho! Hehehe). I think I will also use it less often from now one given that I (think!) can feel bb so less paranoid.

Ron, so the renovated rooms in tmc r the 1-bedder premier? The different b/w standard & premier is premier has a pc right? Is the room free wifi enabled? If so, standard will do. The companion charge of $75 is when companion wants to have meals right? If not, no need right? Thank you!

Hi ladies my little gal is ok!!! Big relief!!! I temp book tmc till I do hospital visit. Nurse scare I no where to sleep haha this Afternoon I saw a mum juz delivered and nurse push her into the lift with her bb. So heart warming I nearly cry!!

Hopeful ... The $50 can buy bb hot water flask too!

Msmiele, u want pacifier? I got a lot! Bought milk bottle give. Buy sterilizer also give. I dun intend to let my gal use it.

Pla let me know how gd the parent fair is. If it's worth gg I will take mrt there myself on sat

Hazel - that's what other mommies told me, usually in dec for a week the taka fair :p duno if their intel is zhun a not!

Msmiele - sure! Do join us for the fair. Hehe. Re. timing bot sure about ashley's schedule but we can also do a late breakfast then go too

Ron - thanks for the info! Wah was considering between geh (heard service is v gd) and tmc. Your roomy description and hotel feel makes me wanna sign up with tmc except that next yr is dragon yr. My gd told me last time she went in the morning and got the last room left, the rest had to wait. Alamak! Hopefully tmc will have enough rooms to accommodate. Hehe. The price for tmc seems ok thanks to medisave! And think we will also get $4k baby bonus payout right?

Catherine - Yay! Hope work stress is getting lesser for u too!

Hazel - all rooms except 4bedders (pay $10) have free wifi. Premier std 1bedder no PC, only the deluxe 1bedder upwards. Ya, I'll prob stick to standard and hubby likes that most rooms have desk so he can try to work in betwn. Companion charge - hmm, not sure if stay but dun take meals still must pay. I'll call up to ask next week, coz now tat u mentioned, doubt dh wants to pay $75 to eat hospital food! Hahaha.

Sistas - oh, just saw on FB baby hyperstore on sale this weekend. Tempting!!

Catherine - tat's great princess is ok. Ya, the nurse also told me just book first in case no rooms later, unless I am planning to book the Thomson Suite woh! Hahaha.

All this talk abt hospital made me go read my east shore package in detail again.. Just realized that c-sect will cost abt $2k more in total bill... Hmmm.. I think I need to convince myself that I won't ve issues wif natural birth...

Ron, I told my gynae nurse after hospital tour we get fish soup to drink. She was surprised. She din hear anyone getting the soup. Thomson suite ... Hmmm.... Hope my little princess let me strike 4d .... Lol

Ya bb hyper store got midnight sales. I m still thinking how to trick my hb to go there heehee.....

Catherine - glad to hear that all went well with your latest scan. I was just joking about the pacifiers;) Thank you for offering yours. That is very nice of you. My EDD is still far away. I still haven't decided on a lot of things including pacifiers since there are plenty of pro and cons on them.

Hi Ron

Thanks for the tmc info. Is there any charges to book early?

Hi Sisters, when should we look for confinement lady? I lie Ron's idea of ordering confinement tingkat.

Kimmy - yes . On yesterday papers pg a30. Bb playpen and cot, car seat all on offer. Today and tomorrow the sales is till midnight

Ron, wats the diff b/w premier versus standard room then? Well, I can't book anything until dr loh has moved over... If not, I stay at KKH lah :p

Meryl - no booking fee that I know of (but I didn't really ask coz I had no choice for hosp so mine was booked by nurse since 1st tri).

Hazel - premier 1b is renovated, standard 1b unrenovated but same size.

Ronniemini - I think Vann shared a website earlier last week, maybe can check the recent archives.

Have a great Sunday sistas. So glad tomorrow is PH!

Hello hello, happy Sunday!
Wah... Premier is $1k more for renovation?! *faints*

Ron - u book your room as in gave your edd? But will have +/- one right? So they also won't know if the time u come in is when it's full?

Hazel - kk mentioned need to sign forms for admission 1.5 mths prior to edd? Means u gg to sign in mid dec? Or can wait right?

Kimmy - mine was done by clinic and the form does state edd. It should be +/-, I guess... I never ask much coz at that time I was more worried for bb to make it through each week. They better have a room for me when bb is due!

Kimmy, a sister pregnant with 2nd bb shared at another forum said no advantage to sign up prior to delivery at KKH. I dunno. 1.5 mths before edd for me is in Jan. Dr loh already with TMC. I will still hv KKH file open so is not an issue at all.

Ladies, I juz came back from isetan sale at parkway parade again n this time I bought a philips avent promo set costing $199 (usual price $330) that consist of a complete set of philips avent single electric pump w bottle, additional bottle for 1 mth bb, 2 soothers (0-6mths), and 2 avent milk storage containers. Read somewhere else that taka discount offers similar promo set. The isetan japan sale last til tomorrow. Anyway, there's another similar philips pump but w different additional items and it cost $229plus I think. Juz to share this info for reference if u getting at future bb fair. Anyway, warranty starts from date of purchase n muz keep the receipt.

I'm 29 weeks now, cervical length stablized but still on nifepidine to prevent contractions. Now start preparing stuff every weekend coz there's endless things to buy!

Although I think the promo kit is cheaper perhaps coz it is an earlier technology since it is called philips avent single electric breast pump instead of the single electronic breast pump as advertised on philips website. But I will make do w it. I also got a pigeon food warmer at $59 instead of usual price $75. To me these r great deals

Happy public holiday to all working mommies!

Ron - hahaha yea they better have rooms! Hehehe. Wow not bad, your co pays for GE! They cost like $300+ more than tmc

Hazel - aiyo then like that I also see no point in booking ahead. Just hope bb knows how to come out at a time when
there will hopefully be some rooms. U haven't decided where yet?

Hopeful - me gg to check it out later just to see what's there :D

Kimmy, I wan to follow dr loh to TMC. But any pt during pregnancy anything can happen. If u read other forum links u will know what I mean. N like wat u say, we dunnl when bb will arrive. After 37 wks is fine. If before that or any complications, is better to deliver in KKH. Other than coat factor, KKH will give the best support too. So, that Is why I say keeps our KKH file active. Emergency anytime we can go KKH m will not be turned away. We din hv to tell KKH dr may deliver at pte hospitals. Just like now u seeing dr loh n pte hospital, u dun tell dr loh too. I hv a few friends who did that. Coz dr loh's appointment gap is too long. For me, I dun hv to now coz dr loh sees me v often at 2-3 gaps only. He is more accomodating toy request coz of my past experiences n he know I will keep worrying n that is bad for bb too,

Hi ladies, I m not sure if I did the right thing to sign up the parent craft class.... Yesterday watch a video on childbirth. Now in my mind it's the horrible sight and screams of womAn giving birth. B4 the video I told myself if can I want to go thru natural birth. But now I have 2nd thoughts. The thought of my stomach cutting up for c section also scare me! Though I hd appendicitis op b4, I dun think the childbirth pain is bearable. I still have 12-15 weeks to go... Seriously I m v v v v v scare now. I wonder if I have the energy to push. My hb and mum say dun think and worry. I dun know whether my little princess will b too big that I can't push or how she wants to come out. Really asking myself y I sign up for the class and watch that video? Argh.....

Catherine, I watched the same video as u yesterday! Anyhow, all mums went thru this. So, dun worry, we r no exceptions, ;)

Hazel - ya I get where u come frm. Good idea, since we don't have to tell kkh if we delivering at pte hospitals so we can keep that option open. But when we see dr Loh at tmc need to request for files to be transferred or durin our visit can we just aak for additional copy? Also at kkh will u switch to see another dr so that u can request for that gynae in case of emergency?

Catherine - oh no... yea I rem my frd told me
Before that's the only thing she really disliked about the class is seeing that video. Hence during delivery she was more tensed than her frds who disnt attend class or saw the video and said she cldnt get it out of her mind *big gulp*
dun worry like what hazel say, we all go thru and just think that what u will go thru will be happier and easier ;) I know it's hard, I will also prolly freak out when I watch it. Eeeeps.

Kimmy, KKH I will see Dr tan. Alternate b/w dr Loh n him. Files wise I dun think need any transfer. A few wks before delivery, dr loh will do the necessary Blood test is elective c section. If natural delivery, he will do swap test. Unless mummies hv underlying conditions. If not, every scan he will know how well bb is doing,

Hazel - i.c. Oh if don't have to transfer files (i.e.: detailed scan) then can save on hassle.

Meanwhile sisters, since this afternoon, i feel my whole tummy like heavy & bloated. Then I went to poo twice and tot I cleared constipation but still feeling like that. Then below belly a bit of an ache here and there occassionally. Hope everything's normal. Am entering 19 weeks this week and yet to feel bb movements yet. Everything ok right? :x Ron you felt yours already at 16 weeks? I really hope all that's causing this heavy bloat is crap inside and nothing worrying.

Hazel,
Hmm regarding keeping our files open in KK, u mean its better that we see KK gynae and our private gynae at the same time ah? Coz i intend to follow Dr Loh to TMC, but that will be in Jan 12. So from now til Jan, i continue seeing him, then when Dr Loh leaves, I inform KK i wana change my gynae to maybe Dr HH Tan? But at the same time, i will see Dr Lohat TMC...correct? I asked Dr Loh before if he will be making copies of the files of the patients following him.. He said no need, he has gd memory wor! Haha..

Sunflower, yes u r right. Can just tell dr loh honestly that for a start wan to keep kkh file active. U can see each gynae every 4 wks. That means every 2 wks u get to see dr, alternate b/w dr loh n dr tan. No need to take anything over to TMC for our case. Every visit to see KKH dr is check BP, urine & weight. Not critical information. Eg if got high BP or urine tests always fail we will know also wat. How much weight we gain we Also know right? Scan fotos we also hv. If all fine, these photo no need to refer to also. I hv copies of key reports, ie oscars n 5 mths detailed scan reports. Ask fr dr loh he will get his nurse to print a copy for us.

Kimmy, asked dr loh for a copy of the detailed scan report which u will be doing v soon. That report will come in useful & tracks the key milestones of bb. If u r getting a CL thru agency, tt report can be used by the agent as proof of our prenancy n edd for applying CL permit.

Kimmy- am also feeling pulling feel almost everyday but ydae seems rather crampy. Really hope everything is ok like wat u have asked.

Ron- hw is e feeling like when u said u feel bb movement?

Any sisters here have trouble getting up fr sofa seat or bed? I have been experiencing such difficulties as my lower bk, juz abv e anus, feels very aching. Is tis normal?

Btw Kimmy, I mayb gg to e fair this fri but in e evening. If u gg in morning or afternoon, can update wat good over there? Coz if nothing much den may nt wan to travel dwn as dun wan to trouble DH to drive dwn fr west to east. Haha.

Ya, Kimmy, I'm thinking of going down late afternoon w my hubby. Can update about the diaper bag brands n whether they sell affordable open buttons gown pajamas if u happen to see them at the fair? I'm contemplating between a fisherprice backpack diaper bag or mother care messenger diaper bag after reading a blog from Maybe baby about Kate spade diaper bag being a tad heavy. Wanted to get a Kate Spade at first, but what the blogger says makes sense to me. Thanks