(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Tromso, yes I had my detailed scan today.

Confirmed my baby is a boy.

Tromso, I need to buy a Plc closer to tao nan! Now is within 2km... I m doing shhk soon n meet the necessary no of volunteer hrs.. My gf said 6 yrs of membership more chance to ask for shhk's help if dun get ballot into tao nan.... Dunno true or not..

Nafa's syllables r on its website. V detailed. Basically it covers academic, music (1hr 2x a wk), art (2D & 3D drawings, 1 hr 2x a wk) and dance (ballet, 1hr 1x a wk). So save me the hassle of sending belle for separate classes. Oh.. NAFA will only confirm a plcs in dec 2014 for 2015 march Pre nursery in take. No need deposit for now..

Angel congrats
If wish to know the results earlier, can call up dr Loh's clinic and request notification over the phone. Usially takes abt 3 days for report to be finalized and delivered to dr Loh

Juvi, Oscar scan is week 12, maybe too early to detect gender hor.... But approaching the detail scan, dr Tan should be able to make a good guess/ judgment call fr the scan session. You rmbr to tell baby to open legs during scan
Haa...you can't wait to know the gender
Your family has more nephews or nieces?

Luv, no la not so smart to b in those school. Me from Methodist school. My hubby also know nothing about enrichment class. I have to DIY, find and enrol. Thinking of gg to Gymboree soon and enrol my gal there. Her Chinese enrichment class also settled. What else r there?? I do agree pre school must b v gd. At least I found mine

Haaa...Hazel I was just saying to hubby over dinner, that, soon you'll be aiming for Tao Nan and now I saw your post about Tao Nan lol... My SIL starting the volunteer work soon after failed attempt to get into the clan (Teochew I think). Volunteering is given priority over distance fr home right, so no need to move house, not correct?

The curriculum at NAFA is very gd indeed
I read that first child enrollment is at age 4, then subsequent siblings can enrol at age 3.

Hazel, what if Pats' is willing to confirm a spot prior to NAFA's notification, what will you do huh...??

Luv, I'm also considering childcare if I decide to go back to work. The AM or PM session sort may not work for me. But if I'm gonna be sahm, then will prefer to teach myself. Like yourself, quite a few of my working mummy friends have not sent their kids to academic enrichment and kids are surprisingly still able to cope well in kindergarten. Of course these mummies spend time teaching at home. If this is workable, I feel will be very gd bonding with the kids

Luv, may I know which childcare your child is attending now? I'm so confused by all the diff preschools, sigh...

Catherine, my DH also not the one to do research, haha... Everything i research on my own. He help to pay can liao ;P I send my girl for swimming, music and ballet classes. In school, we sign her up for extra gym class and speech and drama class. Depends on what u wish to expose your girl to?

Tromso, if u read the posts or blogs of some working mummies, it's inspiring how they teach their kids to become proficient bilingual readers b4 Pri 1. I'm not very consistent but try to spend time reading with my gal too. She's attending Columbia Academy in the west.

Maybe u can think of a few criteria that are important to you (e.g. the location, the quality of teachers, the food, the quality of curriculum, etc) then slowly shortlist the centres based on your criteria. Most importantly must do a site visit and see whether u're comfortable with the place and the staff there.
Took me a few months b4 i settled on one too!

Catherine, yr preschool for elis is IFC ? Which r those gd preschool ard ?

Those GUG, icanread, lcentral etc r enrichment classes n not preschool rite ?

Hazel, ya GUG is growing up gifted. Nafa seem so attractive but too bad, is really really too far fr my place.. Sigh... Apparently all gd Schs seems to be in e east.

Thanks for the tips Luv
Yep, I'll need to have a clearer pix of where we'll be staying and if I'll be working before I can take the next step. The future is so uncertain... think I'll take it a step at a time now and see where things take me

Indeed, I feel very inspired by some of my mummy friends too, it's really not easy to self-teach, after seeing/ hearing all the frustrations fr many. I've always wanted to spend the initial years staying home and teaching myself, hope will be able to achieve that

Catherine, it's gd to know that you've done all the legwork previously and just letting everything fall into place now
Indeed its good feeling to be able to plan early and avoid last minute panics
Keep it up!!

Btw, Cath, I can read oso can register Liao ah ? Y everytime I call be it GUG or I can read, they kinda tell no no nid register. Wait till e mth of age den call them again. For I can read, their entry age is ard 2.5 yrs old rite ?

Hw u register for I can read again ?

Argh... Feel so frustrated. Call long ago n if they allow mi to register, maybe my gal can oso be top few in e waiting list le... Double standard leh....

Hi Bbliss, not to despair, many kids still do very well in school and outside curriculum despite not having gone through the branded preschool system
Most important is still parents involvement in a child's life and I'm sure we'll all be great mummies

Bbliss, nan Hua is gd, chij bukit timah, mgs, rgs all these r gd too. Elis IFC has kindergarten so all in one for her. I like pat school at mt Sinai and another at phoneix park. Yup gug is enrichment class. I can read got nursery but v ex.

Luv, me is I research I pay. I want my gal to learn on things I missed out when I was young then I can learn from her heehee.... More or less I settle her enrichment class. If she dun like then no choice pull her out

Catherine, i'm also learning how to play the piano together with my gal by attending class with her, hahah... Wah, you're very on leh, sign up for so many things when Elis is just a few months old.

Tromso, i'm also hoping to be able to at least become a PTWM when my girl goes to primary school so that i have more time to guide her. Akan datang!

Tromso, why ur sil didn't manage to get in shhk? If meet the min no of volunteer hours in shhk, they will give a memo to register for p1 at phrase 2B. If not, without sibling in that sch, will be phase 2C at most. Popular sch such as Tao nan, phase 2b and within 1km already need to ballot, 2C v slim chance. In phrase 2B, within 2km no chance even to ballot!

Yes, was told enrol at age 4, in NAFA higher chance.. But since belle is at queue no 4, maybe got chance to go in at 3 yrs old. Coz, 1 class has 10 vacancies. Let's 5-6 have siblings so go in first... Still got 4 seats left mah... Or I m dreaming? :p

Pat sch house confirm first then go pat sch house first which start at term 1, January. NAFA starts at term 2, march! Just waste money in sch uniform loh... :p

Luv, my nephew n niece both can read mandarin & Chinese story books b4 entering p1. Those that has many paragraphs per page n small wordings. My sil is a working mum. They only attended nursery, k1, k2, abacus, swimming, badminton (nephew) and ballet (niece), piano (niece). No other classes.

Oh ya.. They also know multiplications before p1! My working sil taught them. She is also a high flyer at work who earns lots of money.....

Luv, I used to Take care of my cousin so I know what kind of lesson she had.. B4 elis was born i go for those names which v common like Morris Allen, Yamaha... Now i learn thru u ladies there r many more and I google .... My princess is a dragon she needs to fight with many ppl and if I dun give head start she will lose out. Oh ya I m gg to send her for holiday cooking class at city sq or tanjong pagar... I like that class

Bbliss how did u talk to those ppl? U must sound super interested and super keen... Praise them and crack some bull shit story.. Gug I did that and was worried they din put my name in. During one visit to dr ong I went over to confirm my name inside.I think I m no 10. For I can read I went there myself and again lor bull shit ask like what age can my gal learn ... U tell them u r reading story book they v happy...That's how I m inside... Never ask yr hubby to talk. I do all the talking... Hubby sit there play with my gal.

Oh Cath, muz bring gal alg when go registration mah ? I intend to make trips dwn myself trw to register w/o my gal.

Btw, side track abit. EBM if take out fr fridge (nt freezer) (coz accumulated same day supply), n din drink, can we put bk fridge again for nex feed ?

Thx.

Well... Maybe I din really sound eager over e ph bah. Haha... Den these 2 days when I go dwn, I will personally shw them hw interested I m !!!
got $$ to earn still like tat...Haha...

Dear angelxuan,
Congrats on ur prince!

Re: Pri sch
I did quite a bit of research on this. My first choices are SHHK schools. I'm a sec sch Chinese teacher. It is v impt to get ur child into a learning environment conducive to the learning of Chinese. And it is v v impt to get ur child into higher Chinese class in Pri sch. This increases their chances greatly to do higher Chinese in sec sch (almost automatic). This is crucial as your child can get an impt 2 bonus points off L1R5 when applying for JC n can choose not to study Chinese in JC so long as you pass with a C6 at o level. Higher Chinese students take the express Chinese o level at sec 3, and if they're good, they're usually getting A1s. So this Chinese o level A1 can be used in their L1R5 computation.

I read kiasuparents in detail abt the Pri sch registration. Me n hubby also looking to buy a place near a SHHK school. N also wanna get into SHHK to increase our chances. But we realize despite being in SHHK plus recommendation memo (they're very selective who to give dependent on number of years volunteering) AND being within 1km from the school, it is still not 100% guaranteed a place. Now already so hard to get in. Imagine in these 7 years, the number of younger siblings of the current students would hv increased, thus reducing the number of vacancies, PLUS more alumni coming of age n having kids n being guaranteed places for their children. Very sad.

If I'm desperate, I need to switch to teach Pri sch n go to the school I want my child to be in, lol. But not possible la. Already 认命 that worse case scenario is my alma mater Tampines Pri sch 1 minute away from my mum's place, lol.

Those interested to start reading on primary 1 stuff, do read these in detail!!! If this s ur first time reading these, you'd take some time to absorb, especially the charts. Good to register for an account to be able to see balloting results history of all the primary schools in Singapore.

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/choosing-primary-school-singapore

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/kiasuparents-guide-primary-school-education

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/understanding-singapore-primary-school-registration-processes

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/singapore-primary-1-registration-school-balloting-history

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/enhancing-your-chances-getting-your-child-your-school-choice

Forum thread on all abt church/clan/associations
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=243
(this is where my super high hopes of joining SHHK plus buying a place within 1km are sorta dashed, although this combi is the most hopeful to get a place. Sobs. )

Hazel, Tao Nan is hokkien clan affiliated is it, not teochew? They are teochews, perhaps that's why not qualify. But if volunteer at school, should quality for Phase 2B I guess. SIL did mention something about buying a place within 1 km of Tao Nan... Gosh, I'm glad my current place is within 1km of a not too bad school but will still need volunteering I've checked, sigh...

Actually for the fees paid at NAFA preschool, including those top notch non academic enrichments plus potentially no need for further academic enrichments, does come across quite attractive
Hope you'll get a spot for age 3 Hazel, then will surely guarantees a spot for your No.2

Hazel, may I know where do you source for your sign language materials?

I tried teaching my niece when she was a baby but I failed terribly

Luv, I'm also aiming for PTWM in the future...I feel work validation is quite important too, besides family commitments
Hope in the near future there will be more such opportunites in Singapore.

Ladies packing your hospital bags.... I just recall may need to bring along a baby head support and rolled up towels for the carseat, especially if baby is small-ish size and can get shuffled about in it. Just FYI only.

Been having upper chest or ribs pains since yesterday. The bones underneath my shoulder blades are getting sore too...probably due to the uterus pushing the organs against the rib cage and upper back right??

Baby oso suddenly super active last night and today, kicks and punches are very vigorous...not a sign of impending labour I hope

Bbliss...u call them and say your child is 8 mths now and wishes to start class this month (since they say to only enrol when child reaches the 8th mth)....then if they say no more spot, ask them why, thot they mention can only enrol on exact month?? heeee... Then quest them if there is a wait list indeed...

This sorta system sounds quite not transparent

Sashamama, thanks for the spill above. Can anyone volunteer for SHHK or only hokkiens can?

I've previously viewed the kiasu parents primary 1 balloting results but don't need an account, it's the table that details all primary sch and if need balloting within 1 km, 2km etc right?

For my primary sch of preference, there is high chance of getting in within 1km without volunteering last year. But with the dragon year babies, I'm sure will have to volunteer.

What 1 of my teacher gf did is (pri sch teacher), she has stopped work now, looking after her 2 yr old boy full time and planning to self coach until about 5-6 yrs old, then gf will try to get a placement in a gd primary school, then get her boy in. Quite good strategy I feel

For the rest of us, it's a all about luck I guess
Let's start accumulating good deeds ASAP!!! If no luck, maybe gd karma will help *wink*...,

Tromso, 1 parent needs to be a Hokkien! And only hokkien members can volunteer! Volunteering in shhk does not auto put u in phase 2B! U still need a recommendation letter! N like war Sashamama shared, shhk is v selective on who to give this letter! They will see how much volunteer work u hv done n who u knows, etc!

So, non dragon year already so tough! Dragon year worse right?

That's why I m signing up as shhk member 6 yrs in advance! Long serving maybe easier to beg for a recommendation letter?! Then have to go get a Plc within 1km.. Then got chance to go under the balloting in phase 2b! Haiz....

A... Wat is shhk huh ?

Tromso, ha... Kinda of gd idea tat u have suggested. Maybe try out saying is 8 mths Liao n c wat their reply.

Btw, I m juz curious. Hazel, Cath, Who will b bringing yr princess to e preschool n enrichment classes during weekdays when u r actually working ? Hw u ladies afford e time to bring them to sch which r not near ur hm?

Bbliss, no I wun send to wk day enrichment classes. Wkends if there are. Pre nursery, pay for Pre sch bus. Even NAFA which is 20 mins walk away. Too hot to walk as is pm session.

Bbliss learning vision, Mmi and kinder land I think are childcare. Learning vision always increase price yearly. My aunty works in kinder land b4 dun seems gd. My gal will attend class on weekends. If really need to attend class on weekday nights my parents will help if I cant leave on the dot. I was juz joking with my hubby over the weekend to hire a driver for $800 per mth to ferry us all over on weekends then we can rest. He said no one will take the job except him. No la juz happen I was at city sq shopping with elis then she is there I happen to bump into this nice lady who took down all my particulars. Once bm is taken out never refreeze again

Sasha, I hope my gal can speak and write gd Chinese cos I m half Pail water. For Chinese hubby will teach I can't. I can't even read an article without jumping words.

Luv, Tromso, Sashamama, thanks!

Tromso, I received the report on the same day as I saw Dr Loh after the scan to review the results.

Angel, that's great
I must have been them mixed up, it's the Oscar report that takes a couple of days not detailed scan report. To be honest, I can't even rmbr the meds I took during ivf and just after BFP...scatterbrain me... Rest well, you are half way to the finishing line now

Yeateday I got home n heard belle crying v loudy.. She is with my parents the unit above ours! My dad brought her over.. ER tears were rolling down her cheeks and eyes all wet! I carried her n she stopped crying! Passed back to my dad coz I needed to keep away the ironed clothes, shower n hv dinner. She was ok n her eyes kept following me... When I disappeared to shower, she started to cry again!! Big headache... My mum quite upset she can't stop her fr crying.. Belle will start to cry once it is 6pm!

Now I knock off pretty on time coz project yet to start.. Once started, cannot get home so early.. Dunnl how..

jus giv my 2cents on p1 reg...i did PV at nan chiau and luckily my hse is within 1km and i got in without ballot..my son fren whose parents join shhk but stayed more than one km didn't managed to get in.

i heard that ai tong now required 60hrs of pv..zzzz...

but shhk school really focus on Chinese which i like. they actually start higher Chinese as early as p3 although marks not counted in exam... also, personally, i felt they r rich and can managed to put in resources..my boy learn using ipod, samsung mobile since p2.

well at least i dun hv to worry p1 again for my twins.haha

mc, children with siblings who are ex-students of the primary school have priority right?

The P1 registration is indeed a huge load of stress on the parents. Luckily i can just send my gal to my alma mater like Catherine. But dun have affiliation all the way to JC. So my gal had better work hard and do well in PSLE to secure a place in a reasonably good sec school!

Hazel, wow, ur SIL is steady ah! What resources does she use to teach her kids, do u know?

Tromso, yeah, ideal to have the best of both worlds, ain't it? Is ur baby still kicking strongly today?

LuvNhope, since 3 yrs old, the toddler has to learn a word a day! The word is dictated by her. During the day my parents will nag the kid to learn coz of not my bro will punish when he is home at night. All these r memory work. Same for multiplication. The kids go for abacus fr 4 yrs old. No other academic enrichment classes. Now, during the day, I delegate reading of story book and play to belle to my niece m nephew! Hahaha

Hazel, really takes determination from both parents and kids to see results. We gotta persevere!
Somehow i'm not so convinced by abacus leh, worried that the kids will get confused in the end because it's very different from what they learn in school. But i guess abacus is good for training speed calculation.
Lucky you, can delegate to your nephew and niece, hahah!

Luv, thanks for asking. Still kicking quite forcefully last night, sigh...didn't sleep well. Very active today too, so weird. Will try to catch up on naps today. Maybe uterus space getting tight now... I shouldn't be concerned about anythg right...??

Great sharing on P1 reg here
Thanks ladies!!

Btw my older sis was borned in Dragon year, but didn't manage to get into gd primary school unfortunately, very competitive then too. So me n younger sis followed suit. Other day I asked my mum why she didn't manage to get older sis into gd school, she gave me that 'as if I can help it, you think I didn't try' look haaa...Dragon babies sure give mummies across diff generations lotsa agonies too

Hahah... Tromso, the way you describe ur mum's look is so funny.

If the kicks are not unusually aggressive, and u don't feel anything out of the normal, then shld be fine. Dun worry.
Of course, checking with doc when worried wld be best.

Thanks Luv, I'll just rest more for now, no contractions is my aim, fingers crossed. I read with contractions, bb movements will be intensified, that's why I'm also monitoring closely now, so far no uterus tightening, relief...

A friend reviewed over lunch other day that his nephew is currently studying in Ai Tong. The mummy is HOD of Chinese, yet nephew performs poorly in Chinese. On top of this, nephew didn't pass a few other subjects and broke down and cry when my friend said to him that won't be bringing him to movies cos he didn't fair well in school
The nephew was sobbing hard and repeatedly said he has done his best. Upon hearing this, it made my heart cry too...

Let's hope that be it good school or normal ones, we can continue to parent them well and they'll grow up to be strong, resilient and happy little angels

Tromso, glad to hear everything's good.
How many more weeks to full term?

I also hope that while i nudge my kids to excellence in what they do, i dun take the joy out of learning or destroy their esteem in the process. *fingers crossed*

Wah.. So many conversation abt enrichment class n primary school..;)

True enough tt we hv to be kiasu abit since our bbies born in the year of dragon.. Havent really source for any enrichment school yet since my bbies will be taken care of by my mum so no need go for infant or childcare.. Think my hb got to be driver on wkend to ferry 3 kids to different class.. They will be at hm on wkday till the age to attend school at 3yrs old..

Willgo for more motor skill class in the first one year.. Follow by some art, storytelling class, then yamaha, swimming, abacus, ballet class, n phonics class at 4yrs old.. Will not asks them to do any studying on books before they go to k1 since they hv at least 20yrs of study journey..

As for P1, thank god tt my son is already in those higher chinese n very chinese oriented school so his sibling can follow.. Though he will be gratuated by then but i understand still got priority for sibling study there before.. Actually my son goes to a normal Pri school in P1 since we cant enrol to the gd school due to the school is near my mum place but not mine so is treated as within 2km though actually is within 1km n i hv no time to do PV too.. But we never giveup so at p2, where the requirement no longer so strict plus some may leave due to move hse so there is still a gd chance to go in..plus my son score well (top first 3 in class) in P1 so with the gd result especially gd chinese result n we tok to the principal, he gives him a chance to enrol so he can take higher chinese n oso due to some really left the school at P2.. Though we hv to waste some $$ on his P1 school uniform n some exercise book but we feel all is worth it..;) so dun give up so easily..;)

Congrat Angel on ur prince..

Hi Tromso
Is ur checkup biweekly already? My bbies some days kick alot n some days quieter too.. Make me so worry when they r quieter.. I rather they keep kick me strong..;)
Btw, i understand we dun hv to sterilize the parts for breast pump for our first use.. Only sterilize after first use.. Is tt true?

HOPE, u mentioned ur tummy becomes tighter over the day right? I realise my tummy also becomes more bloated over the day. Next morning back to normal again. I think it's really because of the meals we have over the day that adds to the bloating.