(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Yea, they checked cervical length, its 3.2 and detail scan went well. I just realised actually today's is my 2nd detailed scan, there was an earlier one done at week 17/18 but no reports were given to me so i didnt know. Only today one finally got report given with info on the head, abdomen, etc ..

heartbeats, take care! Rest at home if necessary! Not sure abt the groin pain. Best to check with doc if you're concerned okie?

Haha baby journey, u good memory yay!

Heartbeats, congratulate on ur long feng tai :D God blesses u with the best combi!

hopefully ur placenta will shift upwards as the weeks go by. Mine also low. Jiayou

To all the sisters who are due soon for delivery, all the best!

So exciting to see so many of u delivering soon.

Heartbeats I get shooting pains in the pelvic area occasionally in the past. Yours is pelvic or groin?

If pelvic, then can be caused by baby's pressure on pelvic, best to rest more in this case. I've been doing pelvic floor exercises very consistently since and the shooting pains don't come that often anymore, maybe once in 2 weeks or lesser, although I was told the 2 are not related. However, I feel better now that i know my pelvic muscles are strengthened.

I was also told the pelvic nerve is linked to our lower back vertebrae, so any 'mistreatment' there may cause the nerve in the pelvic to twitch aka shooting pains. You may like to also try maintaining a good posture, see if this will help lessen the pains.

According to dr Loh, there is no remedy heh...but according to my prenatal yoga instructor, the pelvic floor exercise and good posture will help. I trust her more cos she seems to be able to explain the human anatomy quite well each time and these methods have helped greatly
So just FYI.

Alright, hope you'll feel better in no time.

Luv, i ate fillet o'fish during my 1st trim. I think as long as no use raw egg shd be ok. I just had prawn crackers, yummm....

wow so many late July edd ladies. Mine was originally brought forward to 2 Aug...hope we don't end up delivering on same day and competing for those super very precious single bed rooms...lol...

Nice to hear fr you Baby Penguin (I knew there are 2 Baby nicks but can't recall who...heh...).

Eveline, long time no hear from you too
All preps done?

Luv, i got eat tartar sauce, same, from filet fish burger but not often. I ate like once in 2 weeks. Think not often should be fine.

Thanks Cool. But boy or gal not important, most important is baby health. Yea, so exciting to see so many queueing to deliver soon!

Ok thanks Tromso, mine is groin but it dont last long. Guess i will monitor somemore, dont know is it my position also. Sometimes at night i woke up abruptly due to pain at tail bone too. I have been sleeping on my back, scared to lie on my sides, scared if sleep on sides, placentas may detach due to gravity! Think i too paranoid hor?

Hi Bbliss, I went to checked out GUG earlier today outta curiosity. Yes indeed, you can be put on waitlist for the 8 mths program. For my case, I was told there is no official waitlist but can put my name in the system now to reserve a spot (I didn't even request for it actually)....errr...and my baby is not born yet!!! So I guess for your case, sure can be in the waitlist

I was told in general, can get into the 8mths class quite easily without wait listing but the 1.5 yrs class may have some competitions.

Just curious are you planning for the weekdays (twice weekly) or weekend class? United Sq or Mountbatten? I quite like the Mountbatten one cos has outdoor play area, was told it used to be a school there.

Heartbeats, you can check with dr next time why groin pain...

It's actually better to sleep on the sides, especially left. In this position, baby will get more nutrients and blood circulations. Have not heard of placenta detaching if sleeping on the sides leh...scratch head...you read it somewhere?

Actually as the baby grows heavier, for myself, if I were to sleep on the left, will sometimes feel a pull on the upper right uterus muscles (not sure if describing correctly) and same goes for sleeping on my right. So I just change sides now and then.

Then now it's ribs pain for me, uterus squeezing the organs in all directions and pushing the ribs outwards. Agony...pain here, pain there...haaa.... but luckily only happens at night, and hubby will help massage a bit.

My edd is 26/7. But doc say might be early like 1-2week depend hw big my bb is. I wa to opt for c-sec. I ask my coll they all discourage me. But I just worry I cannot dilated and stress my bb and me during the labour. I also dnt wa to ware time & money to go thru the natural way although is prefer la...

Tromso, i guess i paranoid. Lie on my left i scared i aggravate my boy's low placenta and pull it down causing bleeding. Lie on my right, i scared my gal placenta detached due to gravity. I even asked the doctor today will my placenta drop out. Guess i am too stressed and paranoid. This pregnancy hasnt been easy for me. I was even warded twice due to placenta with spotting issues. Sigh~

I feel uncomfy all the way up to the ribs (after meals) too! My insides very squashed i guess.

Faithfully, i also no confidence in natural delivery. I scared i cant push and cause bb distress also. I also toying with ceasarian, just cut and 5 mins take bb out. And my mum keep saying ceasarian also good, will keep vagina tight for hb to use. Faint ah~ her logic

Tromoso:
Hi, I hv been a silent reader for quite a while, reading all u ladies updates hv been reassuring n Gd . Am shld be 80% prepared, still feeling scared as the days get nearer , but then again, there's joy of finally seeing my little gal
Yrs is a gal too, rt ?

Hi Eveline, mine is girl. Yours too? It's a real relief (and of course joy too) that we can finally hold our little ones in our arms soon

Heartbeats, it's understandable how past incidences can cast shadows on our lives but do look forward positively too, so that the little one can feel the joy within. Don't think too much about what's to come, focus on being happy... Watch comedy, laugh at your own jokes, listen to nice music.... Once you are able to relax, many things may just fall in place smoothly

I read that our babies within have pre-birth memories. Hence if there is a gd amount of anxieties and stress pre birth, they may feel unsettled post birth, eg cries a lot, sense of insecurity, gets night terrors, fears, etc. So let's try to keep our mood light and happy, will be easier baby jobs for us in the future too

Night little ones and night ladies...

Eveline, bb penquin, faithfully... Yr bb will b Leo... A leader In future
but b careful cos they can b stubborn haha my bday is around yr edd heehee.... Finally this yr my princess can cut the cake with me.... I m crossing finger she does not fall ill that day cos we r bringing her for jab the day b4.

Faithfully, I also did not have confidence in natural birth but I did it. Since i returned to work new colleagues question u gave birth?? Juz have to b persistent and concentrate in pushing out. Women r micacles...

Tromso, haha u v ks.... I know about the q... That's y I insist Elis get into the class in oct to 'secure' my place.

Hi everyone, it's my first post in this thread! Wishing all the MTBs a smooth pregnancy and delivery ahead!

A big *wave* to Sashamama, heartbeats, cool, coolcool, luv, Angelxuan, Babyjourney and Juvi.
hope you are all getting well with your pregnancies.

Heartbeats, congrats! God has answered your prayer. HE gave you a bonus, long feng tai.
wow, i also want!

Please don't worry k? Rem you've shared with me how your
aunt prayed for twins, and specifically on the looks as well. You can also exercise your authority to pray for your placenta to move upwards, followed by thanksgiving like what Rev Martyr and his wife did. Have faith, ask and it shall be done! Amen! Hope to hear your testimony soon.
take care, my dear sister! Jiayou!

Catherine, am not kiasu de...I didn't join the waitlist as not sure if will start playgroup that young. I may suss out a few other options meanwhile. Wow the kindergarten is pricey, few times more than the average heee...but I guess the good track records speaks for itself
Elis will sure grow up to be a bright girl with mummy's well planned out path

Baby, the couple of you BFP same time then, end Nov, I recall I was quite worried then cos already so many successes in a short stretch, heee... Good thing dr Loh's magic continued...

Heartbeats, i still got 21 weeks to countdown.... and i was jokingly to BBjourney that i will start my packing when she is sending to delivery suite LOL

BBjourney, when you said you are bed resting at home until EDD, how many hours do you required to "really" bed-resting?

Hope, Dr Loh did not really say how many hours i need to bed-rest but he wans me to rest, be stress free and off my feet as much as possible. I only walk/stand when i need to go to the washroom/bathe/cook. I sit for 30mins after meals and to do some work. The rest of the time i am lying on bed or sofa. I think i m lying down for abt 18hours per day.

Thanks Bbjourney and heartbeats! Will get my fillet o'fish later, hee hee...

Hi hi Joyfully! *wave wave*
Have a stress-free 2ww.

heartbeats, Tromso is right. It's best to lie on your left side, not on your back. In fact, even during delivery (while waiting for full dilation), the nurse reminded me to lie on my side when I turned to lie on my back.

I couldn't get used to it initially in my first preg cos I was used to sleeping either on my right or on my back, had to consciously make the effort to sleep on my left. It will feel natural after some time.

Give urself a bit of time to become comfortable with the idea of sleeping on your left, and share your concerns with your doc abt ur sleeping position affecting babies okay? Let the doc reassure you.

If you read the explanation below on why sleeping on your left is crucial, then maybe you'll feel more assured that it's more beneficial than harmful to your babies.

Taken from an article online:
Here’s why your pregnancy sleeping position matters: As your abdomen grows throughout pregnancy, the additional weight needs somewhere to go when you’re lying down. Early on in your pregnancy it might not make much of a difference – and you’re often so tired you don’t even pay attention to your sleeping position anyway. But as your body grows throughout your pregnancy, back-sleeping causes the full weight of your uterus to press on your spine, intestines, and major blood vessels. This additional pressure could cause digestive problems, hemorrhoids, shortness of breath, and lack of blood flow to the baby. That’s why lying on your back may cause you to grow dizzy and faint or experience lower back pain.

Experts advise sleeping on your side, specifically your left side, to increase the blood flow to the placenta and your baby. If you’ve been accustomed to sleeping on your back or on your stomach, it’s good to start training yourself early in your pregnancy to get used to side-sleeping. Before you know it, you’ll be at a point when there’s no other comfortable position except on your side.

That’s not to say, however, that side-sleeping has to be an uncomfortable experience. Most women who have been through a pregnancy will tell you that the key is pillows, pillows, pillows. You can start with a slim pillow between your legs to keep your knees slightly apart and your hips aligned. Many moms also feel more comfortable when they have a slim pillow tucked underneath their abdomen to give it some support. Additionally, you may need a pillow tucked in behind your back to give you extra support from behind. If you’re used to back-sleeping, you can lean back into your back-pillow and create a compromise position between side-sleeping and back-sleeping.

Hi MTBs and mummies, do you mind sharing if you plan to let you babies take the first Hep B jab upon birth at hospital or start later together with the 6-in-1 package?

Any reason why you are choosing/ have chosen a particular option? Thanks!!

Thanks Luv for the sleeping position tips!!
i am a side sleeping person, but i always ended up sleeping pushing my tummy (half side of my tummy); i did place slim pillow in between my legs but it always ended up in some where else when i deep in my sleep

any tip?

HOPE, maybe other sisters have better suggestions, but just some ideas that came to my mind...
Perhaps you wanna try a thicker pillow so that your legs can be about the width of your hips apart (most comfortable position IMHO) while resting on sthg. It's prob harder to lose a thicker pillow too, heheh...
The article above suggests placing a slim pillow below your tummy when u lie on your side. I haven't tried that out b4 but maybe u can see whether it helps prevent you sleeping against ur tummy?

Baby_me:
Oh another of closed dates.. Jia You for all of us.. See who gets to deliver 1st.. Are u having a gal too or twins ?

What abt Babypenguin ? Having gal or boy ?

Catherine :

Happy birthday in advance... Whether Leo or not I don't really bother.. Mst important is to inculcate Gd values n character for our children ..

Tromso, I place belle for jan wk end classes at GUG.. When she is abt 12 mths old. But will go for trial first.. Coz I wan to compare to Julia grabiel as I heard fr a few mummies JG teachers r nicer n the class less rush.. So will go for trial classes then decide which one.

Also if bbs too young, they can't appreciate much coz the classes the bbs are usually older at close to 18 mths.. A no of mummies friends also told me this.

Hi Hazel, i sent my gal for 1 term of JG bilingual playgroup class b4. If u can, try to place Belle in a weekday class instead of a weekend class, cos during weekends the class is very big!!! A little too big in my opinion. But the teachers at JG are really good at what they do. Very animated and lively, which attracts the kids' attention. Not sure abt GUG since i haven't tried it out b4.

Thanks Tromso for the encouragement!

Thanks Luv for the left sleeping guide! I do feel better reading it! Before i preggy, i actually was a left sleeper too, always have been. Just that now become scaredycat, haha. But just now i try to sleep on left for awhile. I also have pillows all over esp in between my thighs to keep my right thigh from squashing my tummy, haha

Joyfully *waves* so nice to see you here! How many more days to BT? I hope you will 'stay here' for good! Yeah God is good. There have been some ups and downs in this pregnancy but i am still thankful for everything.

Hazel, oh, i din know GUG teachers were mostly from JG!

Yeah, that's the thing if both parents working and nobody to help. Your parents or in-laws? But i guess you'd want to use the class as a bonding session with ur girl too, so better go personally. A few years back, the JG branch at Forum seemed more crowded than the one at Evans Road. Not sure if the Evans Road branch still exists cos I dun see it on the website now. Strange. If the Evan Rd branch still exists, then u cld try ur luck there. They have an outdoor and water play area too.

Juvi, congrats on your gd oscar test results and your prince...

I can't wait for mine next Thurs, I am so hoping mine will be a girl.

Angelxuan, congrats on your prince.

Congrats to all those popping soon... smooth deliveries

Hazel n Luv, indeed, spoke to a gf abt GUG previously, also said speed there is too fast and more academically driven. Also been advised weekday classes are better.

And yes too, most prefers JG heee...I spoke to a few mummies at prenatal yoga Forum. They have attended other JG branches and felt the Forum one is by far the best they have experienced. Since quite easy to get to fr my place, I may consider this. But def not doing it until about 18 mths.

The JG at ecp good too? Maybe will have more local mummies, perhaps better contacts heee...

Yesterday, I saw the mummies and daddies accompanying their kids during classes, so fun, the parents were all enjoying themselves too. I came home telling my hubby about it enthusiastically and he said he too wishes to sit in
Nothing beats seeing kids enjoying themselves

Tromso, good that your hubby is so enthu abt joining his kid for class. My DH started out all right, but now he is much less enthu liao, hahah..

Tromso, I went dwn personally on tue n placed my gal on GUG weekend class. Her class will start Jan next yr. I wanna put her in wkday class but e lady was telling mi, e guardian acc my gal to class gotta noe n can communicate simple eng. as my mum couldn't really speak eng so Bo bian, put as wkend class so tat I can acc my gal instead.

Wil let her try out GUG n if gd, I may juz wan to contd her nursery n kindergarten at there too. But nevertheless, m still searching n reviewing on other nurseries but I guess can't review for too long too coz e popular ones really gotta queue AEAP.

N have oso gotta her for Schicida Jan Class nex yr. Next m gg to register her for gymademics, Gymboree or jumper gym. Heard tat my gym is quite gd but too far fr my place liao.

Music lesson wise, I tink I will juz go for Yamaha or christoperic since they r nearer my place.

Chinese wise, either I teach myself or send to Berries or 伯乐。so still ok.

Nw wat I starting to headache abt is e pri sch. My area dun have any 'branded' schools. Basically r those normal neighborhood schools. So guess there really no choice but to see which neIghbourhood Schools r e better ones.

Gotta chk out their psle ranking n hw they perform over e years. Does anyone here noe where can we chk out these info ? Can't find fr moe website leh...

Get to noe abt Shhk but too bad, m not a hokkien. Wonder if there any STHK n which r the schools under STHK.

Kindly advice if anyone noe such info

Forum n east coast (at big splash) JG share same pool of teachers. So their time table changes fr time to time . I will go for the east coast one as is near our Plc. I will complete the reservation form and pay the admin fees this wk end so that belle can go for the bilingual classes when she is 18 mths old.