(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

J03, how many weeks are you? Maybe wait for updates from sisters going to the fair tmr to assess if it's worth going? Do try to rest as much as possible yah. Thanks for your feedback on Palmers, sounds scary..I won't use this product. I am happy with Clarins so far.

Cockcock, I recalled you had rashes after using a particular stretch mark cream, which brand is that?

Joanne, have u spoken to dr loh to use dr ong as bb pd??

Hazel, today I went to my optician n was told to check my eye ball size and shortsightedness. She told me sometimes due to hormonal change it may change. Not sure if it's real but my degrees went up again. Argh!!!

Sashamama,

You may like to include body suits, socks (as baby may feel hot wearing booties). For baby mattress protector, consider getting a waterproof (at bottom layer), breathable and washable one. For blanket, get those with holes so that baby can breathe in case the blanket covers the face.

Can't think much now..sleepy..will look thro the list in your doc tmr and see if I have any further things to add. Thanks!

shashamama : orhh
bnut my fren paid $10 more than me, non wbb class but got to collect the swaddle cloth leh. she paid $284.20 with fbi card. so im pretty confused now.. and i paid fees in april.

doing my night shift again...

thanks ladies, the "pu" has been taken so i worry also no use liao... just have to trust that my parents did check with those chinese medicinal hall before preparing those stuff for me.. my mum was so affectionate this evening when i went home for dinner... when i left, she insisted on accompanying me to take taxi, saying that she want to go for walk.. but the real intention is to make sure her gal is safe loh...

sashamama is such a meticulous planner! wow, such long list of stuff! i admire you! today i went mothercare after work (the one at wcp near my parents' house, which i know catherine visited before.).. manage to ask some questions and clarify some doubts.. feel good
also saw the orange tone avent bottles which catherine mentioned.. btw, catherine, during pregnancy, our eye sight degree may change and not stable.. that's why that day when i went to make glasses, the lady suggested that i do after giving birth.. on top of short-sightedness, now i have "lao hua".. sigh...

angel, bbjourney is right, that time i used elancyl and had rashes... clarin suits me.. if anybody wants, i gladly give my elancyl to her (i only use for 2-3 days).. whole bottle throw away v wasteful..

joanne03, you have made it so far already i am so envious! u are at 30weeks+ already? has dr ordered any bed rest for you? pls rest well.. some thing can wait

heartbeats, yes let's JY together! giving you lots of hugs too! (thanks all other sisters for your well-wishes)

Catherine, my degrees hv stabilized Many years back. I changed belle's tests to M size today. She knows is new teats, kept rejecting it! Fusses, struggles alot n push out the tests.. 3 feeds already (including a midnight feed), she still like this! my goodness, so hard to force it down!

Hazel relax. Bb r sensitive. Elis IFC pd nurse had a gd chat with me seeing i look v tired and share with me what i need to do b4 I brought elis home. After talking to her I felt more relax. She told me dun follow Elis today. Ask me to go relax myself. I guess I have not gone out much in the hot sun since i gave birth and felt like puking once i reach home. Terrible!

Cock cock, yr parents stay at clementi west???? Ya my optician is Mother of 3. I din tell her I was preggy .... I see her every may each yr to ensure nothing change. But it did. Sigh.... Lao Hua may come to me soon. Yeah mum is the best.... Try talking to yr ah boy and ah gal and say mummy needs to work and sleep.

Catherine, I had to get a new pair of glasses last week cos I misplaced mine. The optician says preggers degree usu will worsen a bit due to water retention in the eyes (haaa...water retention everywhere!! no wonder the Chinese saying women made of H2O). I checked my eyes and everythg per normal.

Hope Elis will get settled into IFC soon and well.

Heee....I think our hubbies quite alike. My hubby is quite good with babies/ kids too (very patient I guess) but run errands/ wake up early, roll eyes...lol... What they can't do, we'll fill in the gaps loh, vice versa, that's why marriage work better when couples compliment each other

Thanks for enlightening on your fire-fire stove conflict. I'm earth-fire stove, so I guess it's gd thing I'm using induction cooker now
Possible to pm me your fs contact, I like the details he provides
Thanks so much!!

Hi Cook cook, talking about Bu, today's my first waking up so early 5am plus so I can start my cordyceps cooking (3hrs) and have it first thing in the morning. I started cordyceps n birdnests about week 15-16 and been keeping it up since. My hubby eats the residue cordyceps cos was told not to be wasteful lol...

Sashamama, I'm oso half hearted about attending the last prenatal workshop, these days concentration level low and can't sit still for too long. Let's see how bah...called up Parentcraft to 'feedback' about their messing up and was told I could attend the x date breastfeeding session, then I asked if confirmed its happening on x date (WBB says not to trust reception info, enquire fr her abt date directly). Recep says she's unsure, doh!! She says will sms deatils once confirm and I I urge her to pls SMS all the Sunday couples cos everyone missed it. She sounded unsure, sigh...I just continued to pester her and it her responsibility to find out and let everyone knows. Total chaos... anyways I'll be breathing dw their throat very soon if no SMS

Hi, for bottled bird nest, you all might wanna try from 老行家 as their bird nest is a concentrate bottle without any syrup. Just need to scoop a spoon full from bottle to take can liao.

Hazel, what is magic cream? Has sunblock in it too? Save to apply on young babies?

Heee...can protect the eyes fr UV by letting belle wear sunglasses too, a lot of kids do that there and seeing more of such here too. But not too sure abt babies...will probably resist big time!!

Pierced, you are right
It's quite funny for our system reacts to different climate conditions. My BIL used to have bad acne before living in Oz, then acne went away during his Oz stay
Our climate here is too humid, actually not good especially for females in tcm point of view.

Pierced, I'm also contemplating to get 2 cots, 1 at parents' place and 1 my own place, versus 1 playpen and 1 cot. Any reason why you choose first option? I realised the mattress for cot is longer than playpen's length (width ok), so if I choose 2nd option, will need 2 mattresses. Was hoping to get 1 latex mattress and bring back for my home usage when I'm ready to fly solo....

Shashamama : Think accepted u in fb alreadt. My fb skills v lousy actually. Anyway, did u recv notes from WBB? I attend her sun class and din recv any.. Gosh everything is really in a rush!

And so messy. I always thought last class is a doc talk at SCGS. Now become 2 class at SCGS? Dislike there as its sooo packed, wanna go toilet also troublesome cos only give a 10 min break. The brestfeeding class at SCGS was the worse - went through it like a train and the crowd was massive. Seems like 2 lesssons are goIng to be held at SCGS from now on.

I saw my frns receipt - its not included free, the receipt did breakdown the charges and my frn was charged $27 before gst n before FBI for the swaddle cloth pack.

Sorry, so many posts in a row fr me usu...lotsa discussions here recently

Butters, big congrats to you!! Hope your little darling settles in well and a relatively smooth babycare journey for you
Just wondering if I could ask how did you detech little baby movements? eg entire day little movements including during your nightly sleeping hours?

If my baby moves a lot during our nightly sleep hours but not as much in the daytime, is it a concern?

Hi Joanne, I'll be using sterilized cotton wool for baby's eyes, not alcoholic ones

btw you may like to speak to dr Loh about delivering at kkh potentially and suss out his response on this. Maybe can get him mentality prep for it too. Did he say anythg about your lower position twins tummy pain?

re Motherhood fair, I feel that if you feel well and can afford to walkabout for short periods, it's ok. But bearing in mind in 3rd trimester, more serious discomforts can irritate the uterus and may cause contractions, including simple conditions like diarrhea. So can exercise cautions and discretions. I'm going in the morning and hubby will be there to pick me up at lunch time, also to transport the heavy items if any. These days, I limit my 'outings' to max 3hrs if traveling alone via public transport.

Finally starting to get a glimpse of the homestretch for us
Do continue to talk to babies asking them to to stay healthy, stay within till full term, I'm sure they'll receive your instructions and love

Hi Tanny, I think you can get a copy of WBB notes fr parentcraft next time you visit dr Loh. But do inform them ahead in case they bailout again

Belly button, mine is half protruding out now, 30 weeks. But I think as long as there is still room for stretching, belly button may not pop out. So means your tummy very stretchy still

Sashamama, thanks so much for the confinement herbs list, now I have somethg to start with as my mum isn't too proficient on this. btw, will your confinement lady be cooking meals for you, that's why need so many herbs?

Hi Kiki gal, thanks for the birdnests info. Is Lao Hang Jia better than Eu Yen Sang's? Thanks.

Hi cock
Ya, 30+ wk now.. I know how u feel as i envy others who r 30+ wk last time too., dun worry, ur turn will be soon.. How many wk r u now? Doc Loh no asks me bed rest yet but he say soon.. He looks not so kancheong after we hv exceed the 30th wk mark.. Maybe next checkup, he will asks me rest ler..

Thks gals.. Think maybe i will go the exhibition but i sit outside n asks my hb go check it out.. ;p

Gals who r going today, pls update any gd lobang, any baby safe product? Thk u..

Hi angel
Can take bottle birdnest but i refrain as too sweet n nest too little..i hard boil myself for my son n hb too.. My son loves nest alot too..;)

Hi Tanny
Hv update teacher.. Thks for ur information..

Tromso, is avent magic cream! Is an all in 1 solution to bb's daily skin care needs. At home, apply to face n body to moisturer, remove dry patches n help heal rashes. On the move, protects against wind n cold to help keep bb soft and blemish free. Bb too young to go under the sun, their skin cannot take it. So, i rarely expose belle to direct sunlight.

Magic cream keeps the mossies away too. Once, I forgot to apply n she got bitten. Quickly I applied magic cream, swelling subsides v fast n only left a red mark. Heat rash applied already also went away v fast. Super cream but ex! Philips warehouse sales sold it $4-5 bucks cheaper.

Tromso, u should eat the remaining cordyceps. Pm u my fs lady contact after i ask her staff if she still do fs review this yr. my fs lady only do v little each yr. was told they need to rest cos 'they reveal too much'. I believe elis enjoyed her IFC. Last night she was smiling and talking. If she is fearful she should b v moody

Hi Tanny
Sterilized cotton wool? How it looks like? What brand? I use normal cotton wool for facial use n soak with water to clean..;)

Thanks May for ur update..;) rest well gal..

Tromso, I have not taken the concentrated bird nest from eu yen sang. But I think there is still rock sugar syrup in it. For Lao hang jia, the whole bottle is cooked bird nest and no syrup in it.

Sashamama, for the purchasing list, my add ons are:

- normal thermometer (for measurement at armpit)
- mummies milk powder/ supplements for post delivery
- I'm getting the blankets with holes too (cellular blanket), Mothercare has it; Robinsons used to have it, organic cotton about same price but been outta stock for a while now
- hand sanitizer
- wet wipes for adults (anti bacteria kind)
- cot bumper (if concern with suffocation, can get the netted ones $80+ at Robinsons, currently 20% off)
- mummy's body sculpting cream (remove cellulites after delivery heee...)

Just curious if we need teats cleaner? I think I've seem it somewhere....

J03, yes!! Including face.

Catherine, my mum changed back the old teats n she drank!! Terrible, 4 months old know Is new teats (old teats r harder fr the new ones fr the sterilization). Now, I hv to keep sterilsiing the new teats until she accepts them!

Dr Loh is the newspapers again! A paragraph, front page. The lady has ovary cancer. Dr Loh patient at KKH previously. All ovaries removed but eggs were removed prior to that n cancer treatment. After she recovered, eggs r ferilised n embyros transferred. Just delivered last fri. Must hv followed dr Loh to TMC n it said he helped to deliver. He commented that is v rare that patient with cancer can still get pregnant.

Hi Hazel, thanks for the magic cream tip

Hi Catherine, thanks for taking the trouble to ask your fs master. I'm thinking to do baby's name only
You are right, I guess that's why my fs master doesn't review much.

Hi Joanne, the sterilized cotton wool can be purchased at tmc pharmacy. it's just like standard cotton wools but has been sterilized. Dry, many in a pack, so best to vacuum seal it once open for use. btw looks like dr Loh is very happy with your progress
I recalled he had wanted to give you HL from mid 2nd trimester onwards. So you can be more rest assured now

Wah, Dr Loh is really famous recently, lotsa media exposure! I am one of his fans..hehe

Re bottled birdnest
Thanks J03 and Kiki_gal for the assurance. Bbjourney, my tcm dr just replied. She said bottled ones with just birdnest, or those with added collagen or 泡参 can be taken. Yeah!

Haaa...talking about collagen, I've also included it in my to-buy list
Meiji collagen powder now is approx buy 1 get 1 free, at pharmacies and departmental stores. Will need to Bu it all back during confinement. I asked dr Loh if it's ok to take, he just laughed...

Angel, Thanks for sharing. Great now i can take the bottle birdnest.

Dr Loh on the news again!!! The media loves him alot hor... can someone scan the news article and share with me? Thanks.

Hazel, I see, no prob was just wondering about Mt A as another option. Will ask him the next visit.

Tromso, i prefer cots coz of the depth and the mobility as in the adjustable heights to fit the diff growing stages of the bb. So my back don't break bending over the playpen etc.
plus i think cot is wider depending on the size? i will also choose those with wheels so I can move it around like in the day and then back to room at nite.

But some prefer playpen coz it's cheaper and also convenient to move. So maybe you can look and see which one is better to place at your mum's.

My baby also moves around a lot at night and not in the day. quite ok as long it moves. the other day she had a lazy day and didnt even move the whole day. was so worried but luckily at night I disturbed her and she moved.

I chose a cot that is collapsable, with wheels n can be move through the bed rooms. V convenient. I bought a play pen to be placed at mil's house for our wkly visit. Both hardly use. Cot is more for changkng diapers n to confine belle in a restricted Plc when I am biz.

Wow..AngelXuan and Sashamama..thanks a lot for the CL questions, herb list and the things to buy list.

I have just confirmed my CL over the phone yesterday.. charge super ex for twins but I will negotiate when I meet her in Jun or Jul when she comes to SG for a job. Good to have the list of questions.

I think birdnest do help on the skin.. my son's skin is smooth and fair..haha..so I felt it did hv some impact gua..

The Motherhood fair looks exciting. Will go on Sun..hope still hv stock for maternity clothes

Hazel, in the night, belle sleeps on the bed with you?
I initially thought of just using mattresses o the bed first at my place or my mum but only concern is my older gal might go climbing all over her or stepping on her.

Ladies, if you are buying raw bird nests in the dried pieces form, do query if there is 加功 (additional processing), cos many has starch etc. added to them so as to piece together, etc. For myself, I purchase the 'loose' bird nests, unpieced together form, from trusted supplier. Do exercise cautions.

Mc, birdnets does work wonder if bb can absorb. Belle has v good n fair skin. Unlike mummy n daddy! I took both brewed ones abt once a wk and bottled ones (fr eys as preservative free) a number of times at night before sleep.

Pierced, belle slept in her cot uring first mth. After that, she refused to sleep! We tried her cot n Yao LAN, refused to sleep at night or day! Keeps waking up n crying the moment we put her down after she slept. So, in the end I put her on our bed, in between us. At least I dun hv to keep getting up fr the bed to carry n pat her to sleep. Less taxing n tirIng for me. During day time, is either mattress on the floor, rocker, cot or my bed. Coz she sleeps only 30mins in the morning. Only PM then she sleeps longer.

Pierced, thanks for explaining. I'll take note.

For mobility, I'm planning to get the high chair cum rocker device, for Combi brand, it's called babybstation I think. It's essentially a huge high chair, can recline parallel to the ground, adjustable heights, rocks to and fro a bit, and fully padded. Has wheels and can lock wheels, safety seat belts. But for longer hours of sleep/ diaper chg, def the cot is preferred. I'm hoping when baby is awake, I can wheel the device to say kitchen and can do housework and oversee baby at the same time. Hope it works, fingers crossed!!

Yes Hazel, many says their kid choose not to sleep in the cot at all or after 1 yr old....so we are still thinking if its sufficient to just get a small cot, those 26-27 inch width (versus the normal 31inch width convertible cot).

Pierced, in terms of cot, I find that the price is normally about $350 range for 31 inch width (with or without freebies). At expo, the unknown brands will usually be cheaper but quality uncertain. Kiddy Palace and kakit bukit sells the same brands, the $350 sort Inc mattress, usually stated non-toxic paint, complies to this and that standards. But of course if you are looking at more expensive ones, there are many out there too, usually very solid heavy wood

Kiki gal..I think you have to book now especially not many CL wants to work during CNY period. I called the CL yst and the first question is b4 CNY can 收工?

Also, they will charge extra during CNY period, so be prepared.

Sashamama..I am interested in the foldable car seat.. Although the special price is limited to first 50 which I believe no chance liao, but can you help me to check it out? Its at booth F08, Mummy Kidz..

thanks ya..

Tromso, my bb cot is just $199 without the mattress n other stuff. Not convertible to bed at all. Once bb knows how to turn or sit up right, no chair or rocker is safe even with safety belts. Bbs these days r v strong, they can only turn the rocker/chair when they use force or struggle. So, always with supervision. U may wan to take note of that.

And most bbs wun sit or lie there for long period of time. At most 30mins With an adult talking to them. I put belle on the cot now, playing with cot mobile, soft toys n quickly go shower. Abt 15 mins, I come out n she will hv started to cry! When she was younger, 1-2mths plus after CL left, it was worse! Always wan to cry. Some say like them cry. They will stop when they r tired. But not belle Loh... She will cry n cry, utility no voice and all wet.. Body n face all red.. Stil crying.. How to let her cry.. N dun carry her? That time, I was so frustrated until I wan to kill her. Dun say housework, go toilet also must carry her in my arms!

Blurxuan, I don't know when can start.. but I think please wait at least till you cross first trimester.

Dear sisters going to Motherhood fair today, please keep us updated on any good deals ok? Many thanks! Have a fruitful trip! I wish I can go today too!