(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

True Juvi, better to buy closer to 3rd trimester, I think they upgrade their diapers every now and then, so for same price, may get better quality in the future, why not? Thanks for informing about the replenishment. My SIL buys $500 worth each time, so we need to fight with kiasu folks like these

Joanne, I'm not sure about Pigeon. I'm more inclined towards Mamy Poko baby wipes cos it feels less sticky amongst the better brands. It's retailing at $3.10 normally.

Meryl hows bb?? I felt bad too.... My mum was doing my confinement when Elis cry v badly she wakes up to help then after that din sleep back. She steralise all her bottles by 6am. Boil my longan and water to shower by 6.30am. Each feed she would accumulate and wash in the afternoon and at night. I did quarrel with my hubby... Told him It's my mum she is not obligated to wash my bottles, clothes for Elis, him and mine. So both of us take turn to wash. Clothes I juz accumulate both mine and hubby to throw in machine. Mum handle Elis' clothes. Juz give them a bit of Ang Pow to say thx. I gave $4.2k to them.

Sasha, I will not buy wipes from motherhood fair. I would go Robinson ... Same price buy >$30 less $5 and got 5% discount. U count yrself where is more worth it. Dun fight with me hor...

I was there at 5 plus, pampers stock nv come in! Anyhow, I bought a carton of pigeon for $78. Spend $80 got free gifts.

Catherine, belle took lots of Vacinnation just now. After that, drank milk n slept.. Now after expo our dinner, still sleeping.. She put on another 250g this wk, 50% percentile. How long is elis?

Catherine & Chris, belle did 6 in 1 jabs, rotavirus oral vaccine and dose 1 of pneumococcal vaccine jab. Both thighs gana poke! Total damage including $65 pd fees was $300 over! Terribly ex ok!

Came back to expo to buy Pampers, saw a couple bought 20 plastic bags, 40 packs of diapers in total, I counted, about $600 worth, hats off!! Pampers staff says it's once a year sale. The evening replenishment all sold out now. I bought 9 packs NB (estimated 1 mth use) and 6 packs S (estimated 3 mths use). I have to stop hubby fr buying more lol.,,

In a nutshell, NB 62% savings, S 31% savings, M/ XL 40% savings, Pants L/XL 26% savings.

Hazel,

i understand what you have went through cos when clariss was 4 weeks old just after CL left she also cried and cried till whole body n face red and till her voice cracked and all sweaty and wet. How not to carry her. She had colic then, after her colic gone she still cried but not as often and when she reached close to 3mths her "crying" subsides and now she cries only for milk. yup every bb goes through a phrase..Initially i was so fed up with her crying tat i ever shouted at her a few times, but i managed to control my temper by not shaking her. Heng ah!! keep remembering wat wong boh boi says about shaking baby syndrome and that stops me. phew!!!

Hi Catherine

Baby has gained weight to 2.5kg .

Yah..agree , my mom won't accept the Ang Bao, so I bought my parents other stuff instead. Now I do everything myself and order a caterer for lunch. Eg natal essential for remaining week of confinement so that my parents can go back to work.
My hubby helps in the night shift .

Now my worry is who to take care of bb when I am back to work.. My mil wants to take care, but she is so irritating and she will brag that bb sticks to her more, she knows bb more and so on. The thing is she only see baby 3 times and she keeps comparing the bb with her own children. She insisted that bb looks like my hubby and don't look like me.. Super super irritating . She shakes the bb so hard when bb cries. I stopped her, she is not happy and complain to my hubby asking what is wrong . She says she knows how to take care of my bb, more experience than my mom.. But she only talks, no action, she watches me do all the stuff. I told my hub that if she doesn't learn on how to take care, she no need to take care of my bb.

So sorry to use this platform to complain abt my mil.. But she is so so so so so irritating... Imaging cooking prawns twice during the first week of my confinement when I had stitching wounds

I bought 1 pack of NB and 1 pack of S pampers. Going like dirt cheap so everyone stocked up like mad!
Finally got the Vanille Baby cot x 2. quality not too bad compared to the rest and at least can raise to diaper changing height.

Diapers:
Those who buy Goon, i found that Goon is slightly smaller cut than pampers. If your bb is like what my gal was last time those michelin type, I still found pampers and goon ok, i don't like drypers coz my gal couldnt take drypers and cuts into her thigh.

Only later I move on to Mamy poko which is also quite good.
I heard my friends raving about Nepia too (most of them will buy Nepia instead) but I have never tried it bef so cant comment much.

Meryl. my goodness, ur Mil shakes ur bb somemore. more of talk than action...
I will never let my mil take care too, bef i confirm gender for bb, she keep hinting if boy, she dun mind taking care. I was like ... even my gal i dont trust her with taking care that's why got my mum instead. After looking at my niece whom is 5 mths younger than my gal, im so glad i made the right choice.

tronso,sashamama

yup dun buy too many new born, i only bought 1 pkt of mammy poko and sometimes when frens or company sent you hampers inside got diapers too. So we bought only mammy poko cos super absorbent and good quality. My baby started wearing size small when she was 4wks old.

Hazel,

last mth clariss did the 2 jabs too when she was 3mths old, yup very ex ah !!! Remember to monitor her temperature in the next 48hrs after the jab. If u feel tat her forehead is warm then use thermometer to measure her temperature. Coz clariss had fever 24hrs after the jab.

Meryl

Cool down cool down.. Relax... i also beitahan my in-laws during my confinement cos they keep complaining about my CL even up till today. And always compared my bb with my sil's bb like wow she knows how to smile and mine doesn't etc... Lol lor they difference by 2mths, how to compare a newborn to a 3mths old bb !! mad rite? hhahahaaaa now they praise my clariss smiles very sweet hahaaa

Chris, belle dd 6 in 1 Vacinne n rotavirus oral vaccine.when she was 2 mths old. Ok leh. My dad said within 24 hrs no fever means wun hv Leow.

Hazel,

oh her weight was 6.5kg+ on 19/5/12 and 62cm when she had her jab, then this Monday morning we brought her to pd cos she got flu (funny she has flu last sat and mil told us to feed her chinese medicine from eu yan sang. And by the time we brought her see PD on Monday she recovered and didn't take PD's medicine. Alamak wasted my $51.00 ah), her weight was 6.746kg on Monday. Same, PD say during her jab tat her weight was 50% percentile. But what does tat mean??? Hbs commented that she might be close to 7kg cos her thighs and hands are getting more fleshy hahaaaa.
I headache keep buying socks for her and she can't wear liao, like i just bought mothercare socks 6-12mths last week and this week already can't wear liao, fil n mil asks why i buy so small i told them i buy 6-12mths le. Her feet now fleshy till the ankle area got one line when we took off her socks ah!! Faint.
7105186.gif

Hazel,

u just watch over Belle, PD says to just monitor 48hrs if no fever then clear. Clinic assistant told me some bbs have fever a few hrs after the jab. Some don't even have any fever.

Chris, why Clariss can't wear? Funny leh.. I keep reading your post this n that she can't wear. Belle weight 6.35kg & 62.9 cm today. Clariss is 1 wk Older than belle. That means Clariss n belle r v smiliar in size n weight. Belle can still wear her 3 mths rompers though not as roomy. But still can wear.. All her 3 mths dresses also can still wear leh...

50 percentile means comparing to other bbs of her age, she is average. Ie 50%. That means she is not too small sized or too big sized.

Meryl, put in IFC like me! My house downstairs opening leh they r completing the Reno. Since yr work place so near mine... Can consider?? My dear gal u can't b doing all by yrself leh!! Yr engine will b overworked. Dun care what mil says. Silly ... Bb closer to her, know how to take care.... Ya right! Honestly U should get someone to help u since yr boy is so small.

Chris, 7 hrs hv passed! This time round her feeds like not affected. Last 2 feeds she finished, in fact she cried for milk before the scheduled time.

Btw, some of belle's socks r still abit big n loose for her.. Will drop out when she struggles!

Hazel,

The bodysuits tat my fren got from baby fox for 6mths old she can't wear liao, especially the neck area and sil commented that mothercare's socks are too small cos her bb 3mths old that time also overgrown till alot can't wear. What brands did you buy for belle, maybe the cutting are roomier? The bodysuits i got from baby fox, mothercare got to buy 6-12mths. My in-laws keep commenting that i don't know the size of my gals feet although i bought socks that are 6-12mths old and is tight around her ankle area..faint.. I told them i buy following the label mah..They said can't trust the size tag lor. faintz
7105346.gif

Hazel and Chris, oops Elis is taller then. She is 62cm and 5.95kg last mth ie 3 mths old. Pd say she is of an average size. Chris u dun scare me leh I bought socks for 6 mths for elis today.

Hazel, my IFC pd nurse and principal asst say once bb take jab they take 3 days to fight. These 3 days anything can happen

Hazel,

really what brand socks did u buy for belle? hbs and my in-laws keep nagging at me that i keep buying sizes that are too small for her..faintz..

Clariss's appetite also very good and not affected after her jabs. But my sil commented that her baby's appetite was affected for the past 2 weeks after the jab then slowly it went back up.

Chris, belle's pd even commented that she has double chin!!

Catherine, I told pd we started belle on cereals. She said usu start at 5 mths coz the concern is allergy n constipation. Recalled u shared that Elis does not poo everyday when totally on milk diet. If so, u may wan to take note since belle's pd said cereals can cause Constipation.

Catherine,

my socks i just washed lor, haven't even worn all the socks already jus fitting only lor. Now i start to think maybe mothercare's socks sizes are smaller cutting lor, I bought many pkts from them and now all can't wear liao lor...heartpain. its especially tight near the ankle area le.

Dear Tromso,
I unsure abt diapers, considering to get bumwear for daytime. anyone has comments abt it? http://www.bumwear.com/ Wa, glad you stocked enough Pampers, hope there will be when i go again tmr!!!

Dear Joanne,
The pigeon wipes not say a lot cheaper but got freebies. Like a $5.30 liquid cleaner which is 100% edible to wash baby stuff. And then cos I bought another 200pcs cotton swabs (small size), i exceeded $80 and got a container that can store 4 portions of milk powder/ food items and also a packet of wipes for mouth. Hehe...

Dear Catherine,
I buy liao!!! lol. I don't have Robinson's card...

Dear pierced,
I also gonna buy the vanille cot! Supposedly buy from babytown. Yet to compare the differences!!!

Dear chris,
Thx! I only have 58pcs newborn from goon, 2 x 52pcs S size from goon, really dunno how many to buy from pampers if they hv stock tmr.

Re: Breastfeeding pillow
Is it necesssary huh?

Catherine, I dum agree with tat. 48 hrs from jab not 72 hrs. Belle's PD n clariss' pd both said so. Even my parents said so as my niece n nephew went thru it. Nurse n assistant are not drs. Anyhow, my dad said if fever dun come by 24 hrs, shld be ok. Keep fingers crossed!

Hazel,

PD says we can only start clariss on white rice cereal after 4.5mths and also muz let her try abit to see if she can swallow, then porridge is when she reaches 6mths. My mil keep pestering us to start her on semi-solids and said that my sil started her gal on porridge when she was just 5mths+ and starting eating all sorts of cereal, mashed potato puree etc when her baby was only 4mths old. I told her politely that tat's her preference but i rather do it slowly and follow my gal's pace and wat PD has advised lor, furthermore clariss can't even swallow her saliva and keep choking and coughing lor. Hbs was very pissed off and told me next time if his mum ever compare again just tell her we not like my sil always wanna train her bb to be super bb.
7105386.gif

Easier said than done lor, i told him u so clever than u go and tell your mum lah.

Chris, I know why now.. U bought in SG!! Asian sizes! Belle's clothes (incl socks) R mainly bought online... USA website... Rompers - ralf Lauren, pumpkin patch, carter, etc.. American sizes! Belle has some uk sizes too, given by relatives as gifts. She has clothes bought everywhere.. Even from india! Her SG clothes r gifts given during her first mth.. Yes, cutting abit small.. There put 6 mths, look small.. So I let her where when she was 3 mths.. So ok Loh..

Chris, yes, most impt is must be able to swallow. I let belle try a bit of cereals when she hit 4 mths n yes, she can swallow.. Then I check if there r signs of allergy and most impt her bowel movements. All not affected! Yesterday I gave her abit of smash pear, that one she is not ready.. So got to wait till 6 months..

Hazel,

PD says can let her try apples cos they are the safest fruits and less likely to cause allergies. Just that i forgotten to ask PD whether to give her direct or steam it. Mil says muz steam it cos they are young like my sil's bb eating steam apples. hmmmmm????

Chris, I will teach the maid how to do the steaming n blending then pass the purée to my mum to mix it in the porridge to cook for belle when she is 6 mths. That freed my mum fr the time needed to prepare the purée n the washing. I need to get container too to store n freeze. Each serving of purée is v small ad bb eats v little.

Tromso, really only once a year? Ok I will ask my SIL who is stationed at palmers to buy for me tomorrow. ( Kiasu syndrome showing) will also follow ur estimation too haha!

Hazel, my mum told me to grate the apple and feed her when she is about 5 mths old. I saw the IFC nanny feeding a bb yesterday the same way I wanted to do. Pd only ask me to give her prune juice and apple juice next mth. I will give her 1 feed cereal per day in aug.. IFC bought the same brand as us. But I will feed her during lunch time not nanny. Well pd nurse and principal assistant r full of exp. They see so many kids and have kids themselves. I will hear what they say. They taught me a lot these 2 days. Pd also say 1-2 days monitoring ... Even till today Elis can miss 1 feed everyday. It's 6 days after her jab.

Chris, I will count her socks if not enough i will buy from u. Now her socks must split between IFC and home. Is yrs the anti slip type?

Hi Sashamama, Pierced, which vanilla cot are you referring to? Which brand and how much?

Tromso, Pierced, how many pieces are in the pampers NB and S size pack?

Mummies, roughly how many times do you change your baby's diapers a day during the first month and subsequent 2-3 months?

Catherine, I grate the Pear for belle to try that day, she dunno how to eat though cereals was fine. The texture of Grated pear/apple is still different compared to cereals. So for belle, only cereals now.

More than 12 hrs hv passed!! Another 8 to go!!

Hi gals n tromso
Actually one night change around 2pcs of new born pamper right?? So i remember last time my son only use one pkt of nb pamper n outgrown liao.. So i am thinking tt we shd buy more s size than nb since s size can start fr 3-8kg.. So far i only buy 3 pkts of nb for my twins..;p wonder is it enough?? Thinking to buy more s size instead..;) i only use pamper brands for bbies first few mths.. Later will go to mummy poko ler...

Hi chris n hazel n catherine
Ur bb change how many diaper a night fr birth till now?

Hi sasha
I dun like bumwear as i feel if use bumwear then use cloth diaper better since nappy liner can straight throw away after dirty.. Whereas bumwear is so ex and need to wash the cloth which come straight in contact with bb poo.. I remember wbb oso say tt bumwear thingy no use de.. Use cloth nappy or pampers r better...

Angelxuan, first mth, can change pampers as often as almost at every 3 hourly feed coz bb will keep pooing. After that, I change belle at every alternate Feed unless she poo. In the middle of the night I fun change. Dun over stock on diapers. Bb grows v fast at abt 1 kg a mth. The sizes of diapers r based on weight n there r overlaps for the adjacent sizes. Eg, NB is up to 5 kg, S is fr 3 to 8kg. So if bb is 4 kg, it is better to use S, more roomy, if not when bb poo, it will spills out, v v messy.

J03, I changed belle to mamapoko (as thick n can last longer) at 8pm. I dun change her till next morning shower at 9/10am unless she poo. During the day, I use pampers.

Hazel, belle was given rota vaccine when she was 2 mths ? Mine oni to be given when she turns 3mths. Hmm... Could it be a diff standard bet seeing a pd n a GP, I wonder. (coz I bring my gal to GP for e jabs)

Phew...my gal finally recovered fr her fever aft her jab day be4. But nw is her appetite. She ONI drank 1 feed of milk e whole day yesterday. Refused to drink when fed her ydae. This morning, she finally willing to drink but nt much. Wonder izit becoz aft fever, bb normali dun haf appetite ?

Re: Pampers. S sizes 30bucks for 2packs is so cheap. But wonder izit worthwhile for mi to purposely travel dwn fr cck to expo... E tot of taking public transport dwn really turn mi off. Take cab dwn to buy pampers like super Bo hua oso. If ask DH drive dwn trw to buy, sure kpkb coz he never like to travel far to e east...Tink I drive myself dwn if he willing to take e challenge to look aft gal alone...haha..

Shasamama- for e manduca bb carrier, wat r e colors ? $150 really dirt cheap leh. Besides manduca, any other brands ? N for stroller, r they any cheaper one ie. ranges bet $100 to 200 odd? Oredi haf quinny zap at hm but tot of a cheaper one for my mum's place. Too siong to buy 2 quinny :p

Wow... Regarding hw many diapers changed per day, I tink it depend on individual bbs bah.... C like belle, seem like she dun haf to change tat often. But for my gal, haha... 1 day can change up to 8 times or so. Somestimes when her diapers bit wet, nt full yet, she will fuss n wanna change a new dry one.

So e usage really depend

Bbliss, did the GP update n indicate on the vaccine schedule at the back of the health booklet? The schedule of some vaccine is dependent on the dr/parent's choice. Like this round, belle did first dose of pneumococcal vaccine jab. Her Pd told me can do later when she is older or now also can. She said do earlier means the bb has protection against the virus sooner. So I said give it to her though mayb a bit siong for her body to fight so many virus now at the same time. So yesterday she has 2 sprarere jabs on her thighs n the rotavirus oral vaccine. She will hv the 2nd dose of pneumococcal when she is 6 mths old and another 6 in 1 jab.

Dun just buy S size. I m going to check the expiry n buy M, L n XL at one go! Will go down again to expo to get since yesterday out of stock when I was there.

I overstock on S size already coz they will not be roomy enough after next mth.. Nvmind pass them to my hub's cousin whose wife delivering inner June.

U mentioned u heard my name mentioned at dr Loh's clinic. On wat huh?

On $150 manduca carrier, the colors r limited n not nice (my views). I saw a sign there that say check with the seller for even cheaper ones if dun mind design flaws (dunno wat that mean though)

Oh... heard alice mentioning yr name when she dunnoe key in wat detail into e pc saying dunnoe wat report...she was toking to sandra at tat tIme

My gal nw 2 mths still using S size. Pampers can keep for hw long? Hmm... Shld buy M to stock ?

Wbrand of carrier r u using ? M completating bet manduca n ergo n beco....

sashamama, hee, i view and think the vanille cot still the nicest among all the ones at the fair. Price difference between babytown not too sure but think shouldn't be that great.
I got one basic and the $369 one which comes with i think a free mattress and bedding.

Angelxuan, the cot is displayed at Spring Maternity at the fair. Think online you can find it at babytown too.
pampers NB 24 pcs
S size 48

but dun buy too many NB like what the rest said coz S size overlaps it's from 3 kg onwards so no point as the bb will wear S size very soon. plus in hospital normally they give you a pack of NB too

Joanne, like what u said I dun really like bumwear for the reason it's quite costly too and the inserts are also have to wash. plus i think if the bb poo i think u have to change the outer covering too rite?

My first gal i changed diapers frequently during NB times coz of the jaundice and hospitalisation. Imagine i even drew up a chart charting how many times she pee/poo in a day, no of feeds... coz it was really stressful as I didnt want her level to go up and i have to go polyclinic, test, if too high, go back kk and admit!