(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Sashamama thanks for compiling the list. For someone who is still in her 1st trimester , the things to buy looks very overwhelming. It sounds so exciting to check out the fair since i live a few bus stops away but unsure if it's too early to start buying the stuff. Hope there will be another one later in the year.

tromso, yup mostly 300 plus range, i most likely get it from Kiddy palace like previously. My gal was using the HDML brand, think it was local. Mine was even the basic foam mattress and not latex kind.
i don't need such good quality cots since my previous one my gal slept till about 2 yrs? Till she couldnt fit inside.
mainly we did put it to a lot of use but as for converting to toddler bed, it was useless as it was too small already.
just that now with 2 homes, thought of gettng 2 to shuttle to and fro with my mum. Previously we were still staying at my mum bef moving out so it was no prob with just 1 cot.
sigh...

tromso, u can also consider the korean playmat and 6 panel playyard for day use next time. I got that for my mum place previously and i will keep my gal in there. she loves it a lot and she will do everything, sleep, play. so when she as still a toddler, she will be contained inside there. haha~

Hi HI. thank you everyone for their well wishes.

Now trying to get her to take to my breasts cos in NICU they bottle fed her.. n she is rejecting my breasts.. my fren say jz starve her til she accepts... faintz

was someone passing the number of a lactation consultatant? May I have pls.... pm me or my email is [email protected]

thanks......

Thanks mc. Will note the extra charges ^^

Lynn, I'm also thinking if it's too early to shop during the first trimester. Still thinking if I shld go take a look or not.

Sashamama, where u r buying fr?! Magic cream $12 is v cheap! I bought $17+ at kiddy palace. Even Philips sales also selling at abt $13-14.

Magic cream - i use daily use, twice a day. Last 3 months plus
Bottom balm - since belle is 1 mth old, still using, she is 4 mths already.

Pierced, my parents who will be taking care of belle stay with my bro. The place no space for 6 or even 4 panel play yard! V sad Loh.. Buy n put at our place, abit wasted coz only 2 hrs at night max and wkends (we usu go out on wkends too).. Haiz..

Hazel, true true, mainly it's parents place that need the stuff more coz if placed at our places, seldom use since at night and wkends. Since no space, cannot use that coz a lot of space required.

Throll m gg to get dress or pants.. Coz pants cant wear le.. hehe.. Go c clarin cream for stretch marks de lo.. Buy early.. Bb stuff i wont buy so early.. Go c c e price n save money for nxt sales..

I'm at motherhood fair now. Haven't walk half the fair and I feel faint. Bought 1 pack goon newborn diapers and 2 packs s size at $15 per pack. Newborn 58pcs, s size 52 pcs. Hubby go put car, now we at BK eating. Or else I sure faint. Later go back n chiong again.

Anyone knows fisher & price or bright stars playpen better? Both $199, usual price $339, pictures on the brochure. I wanna buy. Limited to 50pcs.

Sashamama, the tube expires one yr later. Or check if any expiry date printed. So, u decide how many u wan to stock up. I guess, such fairs always have? Is it fr avent counter?

Do u see pigeon wipes?

As for brand of Playpen, as long as is sturdy n comes with Changing station is gd enough. Also, if u wan to move it ard, check if can go thru the bed room doors.

I finished school Liao, most likely gg down bb fair too.
Avent magIc cream and bottom balm cheap? So can buy.

Blur Xuan, I did use palmers bef for #1 but I had rashes so u might wana sample fIrst and see if it suits u coz I heard a few friends of mine having the same prob too.

Pierced, I may be going too if belle is not too sleepy after her vaccination later.. She s still sleeping now... Since 1030am!!! First time, sleep so long in the morning! Her usual pattern is 30mins in my arms only... Hopefully, she will not be cranky later in the pm...

What's magic cream for? I buy whatever u all says its good.. I know nuts abt those bb creams.. So far on my list is destin napoy rash cream (blue)?

Desitin blue n purple selling 2oz is $10.90, was $12, can buy? Buy how many?

Johnson's wipes 12 packs at $49.90, so 1 packet costs $4.15. Worth buying?

Wah spent the last hour calling all my CL contacts given by my frens....sweat trickling when almost all r booked till the last one, whom my gf personally vouched her service n pro breast feeding agreed. N the price she quoted was much less than I expected. Anyway, am gonna meet her this weekend when she comes to sg.
Kiki, u better start looking now......

Destin I think ok. Giant at Imm I say also selling at $10.90 or $10.50. Yesterday watsons sells 2 tubes at $21.90

Bottom balm is from Philips avente?

Juvi, mine shld be in mid jan. tomorrow seeing doc, will ask him my EDD. Think if really can't find CL then most probably will ask my mum to help me bah

Yes, pureen booth. Pigeon booth.

Where to get woodwards gripe water? What booth?

Quite a lot of people but strollers can still move abt. Today first day n opened at 11am. Tmr confirm more people. Weekend sure die.

What to buy from pureen?

Tanny,
Bottom balm from avent. August mummy telling me desitin at kiddy palace got 20% members discount So $9.60. I hv membership card, so I o there buy instead.

Manduca baby carrier. Photo on FB. Should buy?

$150, usual price $249.90. Old model. Only two colors. Heard from another mum, super worth it. 

Hi Butter

I have the same problem. Is your baby big enough for breast feeding as they may not be ready to latch since they are in nicu .The nurses from nicu will advise u accordingly. Do observe their feeding time. Eg they wake up every 3 hours, u can wake your bb up to try latching at 2.5hrs. The baby in nicu is trained to be fed at a fix interval. Pls do not starve ur baby for breast feeding, they will get fussy and reject it. Try to feed them before their actual feed.

Alternatively, u can try feeding some milk from bottle first, then slowly let your bb latches

Hopes this helps

Dear ladies, it is hard to get parents to help for confinement. Eg do u dare to ask your parents to wash the bottles.. Etc.. I don't really "ren xin" to ask my mom to do this and that . In the end, i have to do everything myself, resulting not enough rest and low milk supply. LC informs to rest more to increase mill supply. Not to forget the need to deal with my irritating mother in law. I just stopped her from shaking my bb and she is not happy.
Pls try to get a confinement lady. Maybe can consider confinement lady from parent craft ( thomson) , or those confinement agency

Tanny, for magic cream, see above my posting. V gd to use! First mth bb always hv rashes on face n neck area. Either apply BM or magic cream

Thk u sasha..;) think is at woodward booth, a small booth... So many gd lobang.. Heard pamper oso cheap but i buy liao.. 3pkt nb for only $10.. Is s size cheap as is 2pkt for $30??

Hi hazel
How fast u finish a tube of bottom balm?

Hazel, thanks for your advice, I understand baby will start to fidget a lot very soon, hence risk of falling outta bed, cot, etc. I was hoping with the baby station, I can wheel baby to anywhere I'll be at and do housework plus monitor at close range at the same time, better than leaving in the bedroom. 30 mins staying power is enough to put clothes into the wash or clean kitchen/ shower, etc

I have a strong feeling baby will not want to sit in it after 9 mths to 1 yr old when they will be starting to learn walking, happened to my niece. So will have to find other tactics then.

Pierced, I'll be getting my sis's playmat. Actually I can't use at my parents' place too, dad finds it an eye sore in the living room errr....I'll use it at my place, will be vacating the guest room for baby's use. I'll consider play yard at later stage cos I heard many kids don't like to be confined. Both my nephews refused to stay inside the playpen by 1 yr old
good suggestion, I'll def consider when the time draws closer

Sigh I didn't see Pampers cos had to rush back by 1.30pm otherwise hubby will be late for work. I'm trying Nepia, SIL says when her boys had bad nappy rash, this really helps. Anyone else using Nepia?

These are my finds:

- The soft cotton nursing bras are $16 each
- Maternity cotton shorts (with belly band) $12 for 1, $20 for 2
- Shears cot were going for $100-$200+ (I saw Metro selling Shears cot too), but these cot's at expo looks quite shabby
Most quite shaky and thin wood, plus no Shears brand print on it, I'm not sure if the vendor is genuine. I kept asking for proof it's genuine Shears and vendor doesn't look comfortable answering my questions
- newborn socks (those in boxes) 4 pairs $10
- Quinny Zapp Xtra 2012 further price drop, $680 inclusive of front bar and seat reducer, plus misc. Maxi Cosi cabriofix $225 I think.
- Eu Yen Sang concentrated birds nests (no sugar, less sugar, rock sugar) 2 bottles at $118, I think originally $160
- Pigeon milk bottle wash pump bottle $11+ instead of $14+
- have free Motherhood magazine, just have to fill in details
- Skip Hop baby bags some are at 50% off, quite good bargains I thought

That's all I can think of for now. Happy hunting ladies

I bought 4 tubes of Avant bottom balm at Philips warehouse sale last weekend. 1 for parents place, 1 for my place, 1 for diaper bag, 1 extra. Expiry July 14. My sis says it's high usage as niece applies every day.

I only bought 1 tube Desitin, according to my sis, niece hardly needed it.

I'm planning to get Sebamed baby body cream, many of my friends are using it I find, some says better than California Baby. In fact, my niece is 1+ now and has not used any body moisturise to date, skin is not dry.

May I ask if socks are good for babies? Wll it restrict blood flow etc., since they look tighter fit then booties....thanks!

Dear Tromso,
Pampers a few sizes sold out by 2 plus pm! I bought goon, didnt check out pampers at the start.

Ok gals, here are what i bought today, will go again tmr with friend who delivered in Jan to see what else i need. hehe...

1. Goon Diapers Newborn (0-5kg) 58pcs $15
2. Goon Diapers S Size (4-8kg) 52 pcs $15 (2 packets)
3. Manduca Baby Carrier $150 (UP $249.90) Old model
4. Avent Magic Cream $12 (UP $17.20) Expiry date 2014, bought 2 tubes
5. Avent Bottom Balm $14 (UP $18 plus i think) Expiry date 2014, bought 2 tubes
--- Avent i bought exceeded $50 so got free gifts a iPhone casing & 1 iPad casing, lol.
6. Pigeon Wipes (4 x 6 x 82pcs) $78, so 1 82pcs pack costs $3.25, comes with a free liquid detergent worth $5plus. I also bought 200pcs small cotton buds at $3.60, cos exceed $80 get free gifts of a packet of hand wipes and a segmented bottle (in car, i unsure what it was, lol)
7. Fisher Price Rainforest Playpen $199 (UP $339) limited to 50 pcs. By now, probably only 5 left, but can pre order if u want!

Also, there was free goodie bag at entrance booth for pregnant mothers.
Contents: 1 petpet diapers, 1 350g packet of Nan milk powder, 1 healthy pregancy pre & post-natal guide, PEM confinement brochure. lol.

Joanne, ntuc is selling Pampers NB at $8.45 a pack. Expo 3 packs for $10 is dirt cheap!! I wonder if it's latest range. Cos at Drypers store, the price is also cheaper but fewer pcs per pack compared to NTUC, I thot should be standard number per size pack, vendor says cos he is selling latest Drypers range...hmmm....

Ntuc selling Pampers S at $19 a pack, so expo 2 packs for $30 is a great bargain too

Sashamama, so no point me going back to buy Pampers? When you visit tomorrow, can trouble you to update if Pampers has brought new supplies. Looks too cheap to be believable heeee.....

Yep, I'm also not buying too many NB diapers, in case baby is bigger. My friend says her baby started wearing S after first month.

Tromso,
Ya I'd update if there're stock. A bit regret never chiong Pampers booth first, lol. But I really dunno how many diapers to buy.

And I may try the Bumwear cloth diapers in the day. Anyone trying?

Btw, my sister says supermarket Hong Mao's pricing is as good as expo usually (maybe not as gd as Pampers this time round) or just very slightly more ex. I'm gonna check it out this weekend, if true, don't have to chiong such sale anymore, tiring...

Thanks Sashamama for helping suss out Pampers tmr!!

Btw you bought Goon too, using Goon for nighttime?

I'm planning use Mamy Poko for nighttime, Pampers daytime. Then switch to Drypers daytime (cheaper).

Just FYI, I've checked out Robinsons yesterday for the 1-3 June sale. Nursery only 20% off, no 20%+10% this time round.

For comestics counter, will be entitled to a $20 voucher with every $200 purchase of the same brand.

Fashion: Oasis brand currently on 30-50% off selected range, quite many racks.

Le Sportsac baby bags 20-40% off (not sure hv addn 10% for 1-3 June)

Thks tromso n sasha for updates..
Actually hor, is the pigeon wipes consider cheap? I think not much different fr outside hor?

hi Meryl,

Thankss for the advice. tried it jz now but she still reject. tink hv to wait til my milk flow more established.. cos tink she jz doesnt wanna suck so hard.

The pampers will restock daily. In fact when I pass by ard 3 plus, they said new stock arriving at 5 pm so they will constantly replenish the stock but u just hv to tahan the long q Loh. I see some literally bring trolley to buy the pampers!
I think for me it's really too early to buy cos now also no place to keep them so will buy them next time round

At least now I know for the next time I can zero in onto the things I need n just Cheong. Today just c c look look.