(2012/10) Oct 2012

May: thanks. Have to pray tat everything will turn out fine.

Ccharis: as a 1st time parents, we do tink tat we won't b able to cope with any abnormality. But on the other side, it's simply cruel to juz end a precious life...a struggle within me indeed. My hubby saw me very unsettling today n assure tat it's nt a complete result n everything will b fine.

Naturally as parents we have to cope with all these anxieties. Too much of it also no gd- affect baby, mummy n loved ones. Juz pray tat every baby is a fighter till the end.

ccharis, for thalessemia, for my #1, he was diagnosed as minor carrier just cuz KKH did a lot of blood tests on him when he was sick at 5 months old. followed up with iron no use so took DNA test. actually hubby against him taking the test, he thinks must be thalessemia carrier thats why anemic. reason he is against the test is once these kind of results r out, insurance co may use them against u. hmm, not sure if hubby or i is the carrier. from my basic understanding of biology, its only 1 parent if the offspring is a carrier. anyone with biology background can comment on this?
i brought this up with my gynae last yr, his comment was my preg blood tests din show i was anemic so unlikely to be carrier myself.. so gene shd b from hubby..

BTIL, hope for the best for u. perhaps cuz OSCAR uses age to calculate risk as well, then being older means the risk increases out of one's control though the readings may say otherwise. thats what i understand..

blended walnut with milk and almond for my #1 to drink, he acted like it was poison so i ended up drinking it. I DID NOT PUKE THE MILK! Yay!

I attended Mrs Wong prenatal classes when I was preg with my #1...her classes were really very interesting! My hubby had fun too

ccharis,
Tell your hubby there is nothing to be paiseh about lor cos all hubbies there will be doing the same thing in the class...they won't have time to laugh at him anyway :p

Ms Lala,
The anxiety is not only for first time mummies, this is my #3 and I am still as anxious when it comes to scan for abnormalities..our babies are definitely fighters to be here with us now.. praying hard that everyone of us here will hold our healthy babies in our arms at the end of our pregnancies!

Hi all..Just to check,any of u experience blackouts?I almost fainted in the train this morning

Was wondering if its a common symptom..

Skinnybeenie,

From what I understand, if you are a thalessemia minor carrier, only 1 of your parent is a thalessemia minor carrier.. so in this case, should be either you or your hubby is a thalessemia carrier lor...but when your are preg with your #1, gynae should test u for thalessemia leh..if u don't have when u took your blood test, then must be your hubby liao...

I have not brought my children for thalessemia test which I feel should do it as soon as possible..I heard that KKH has a department that specially test for thalessemia and they keep a record...is it true?

Njon, the thing is i din do any blood test. now i;m reading more on the "biology" of the thalesemia and it turns out if both parents are or only one parent is, there is a 50% chance of child being carrier.
so cannot rule myself out as possibility.

Ya there is a national registry for thalesemia. I refused to let them put my son in because i dun want to use it against him next time when he is just a carrier and not sick.

why do u want to test for your kids? what i understand is if someone is a major, the symptoms would hav floated out before 1 and would have needed transfusions.

Just saw my doc - oscar test is 1 in 367, 'cut off' point is 1 in 300... doc just wanted to discuss with me ... Decision decision !!!

coco pops, blacking out is common in preg, i found in my exp that standing still makes me prone to that. walking ard helps. of course a bit hard to walk ard in a crowded train

Serenelm
It may be a good idea to get the maid in 3-4 months before you even deliver. Cos if you are getting in a maid who is flying directly from her hometown, sometimes may have delay due to documents and paperwork etc etc. Even if she manage to fly over on time, sometimes she may find the job not suitable or you may not like her. So try not to plan everything swee swee on time. You won't be able to react to unforeseen issues.
The maid will be informed of how many kids you have before agreeing to work with you, so shldnt be an issue. But of cos you may also bump into maids who agree to any thing and every thing but when they arrive, refuse to work. They will rather wait in the agency as transfer maid. Dat's Y better to give yourself sufficient time to prepare for all these.

Skinneybeenie
When a thala minor meets another minor, the chances of having major kid is 25%, minor kid is 50% and non-carrier is 25%
For a minor with non-carrier, its 50% minor kid, 50% non-carrier kid

Coco_pops, aiyo, that's very dangerous. Better take care, wear comfortable shoes and clothes, nothing too tight, make sure u not hungry when taking the train too.

Starry mummy, I can't wait to "check-out" of my 1st trimester too!

Btil, all the best! We'll pray for you.

All mummies, r your bumps showing already?

Coco: Yes, I experience blackouts almost everytime I get up from bed or floor. I'll then stand still n close my eyes for a moment n then I'll be alright. I've always had low blood pressure since I was a kid. Now blood pressure is usually on the low side of normal. So I'm kinda used to it.

Constance: Yes, my fren told me that too. We'll be checking out maid agencies this weekend to find out more info. Apprehensive, hope I dun end up wif a problematic maid.

Strawberry: Yes I'm starting to show now. Still looking for my belly belt, wonder where I placed it previously :p

skinneybeenie,
Luckily, my hubby don't have thalessemia so my boys can't be major. Test is to create awareness lah..at least know of their condition, next time find wife, don't find a thalessemia minor..hehe

Btil,
That's a close pass but the good news is it's a pass! I am sure everything will turn out well for you!

being a parent is hard. i remember worrying abt everything in pregnancy.

then when my #1 was born, he had runny nose and blocked nose which seemed to prevent him from nursing as well as he shd be.

then he got so sick when he was 5m after going to IFC then he vomitted every feed and was hospitalised.

and each time he had a fever >38.5 degC, cant sleep and wake up few times to check on him. sometimes one of us is totally KO from all the caring and worrying but the other somehow will know an take over.

when he turned 15 months with zero speech and no pointing, not much of waving bye bye, poor eye contact - worried to hell about autism. that month was miserable for us. my hubby cried too when we were faced with that possibility.

luckily everything turned out ok and he is now... a yakking monster.

the route for parenthood is really tough, tougher than anything i have known. before this, i seldom ever placed someone else's hunger or discomfort before mine.

serenelm
keep your fingers crossed!!!!
All depends on luck.
My first one was ok. Indo maid. Smart. Can even speak mandarin. We renewed her once, but 4 mths into her 2nd contract with us, her hb asked her to go back.
2nd maid, we nearly died.... In the end let her go after 1 week and we went maidless for 3 weeks while waiting for the next maid to come. Imagine it was this bad. I rather go without maid then face her while waiting for new maid.
We just renewed our 3rd maid contract last year. She has been with us for 2.5 years liao.

Skinneybeenie,
I can so feel with you. My #1 has asthma and everytime he has an attack..I would be sleepless whole night!!

Serenelm,
I agree with Constance that maid hunting all depends on luck. My current maid has been with me for 2.5 years too...EQ super high...she can manage my 2 super active monsters very well, can cook well too..My previous maid, on the other hand, gave me hell...bad attitude, black face, lazy..the bad list can go on...I endured her for 1 year ( no choice! my #2 was just a toddler then) untill I can tahan no more...I was maidless for 1 month

Skinneybeenie & Njon,

I can understand too. My son started coughing at 2-3 months and needed aero chamber with ventolin. Had to use the nebulizer when he was around 8 months old. Sigh... When he was having a cough, I could not sleep well as his breathing would be very heavy and we had to give him the nebuilizer periodically. During that period, I blamed myself for passing him the bad gene (I'm asthmatic).. But thank god, he has grown much stronger and we also met a good doctor.

<font color="0000ff">Lala</font> <font color="ff6000">The Mt Alvernia Childbirth Programme is a series of 6 lessons.
Prices as follows:
- For mothers delivering at Mount Alvernia Hospital
Weekday S$181.90*
Weekend S$203.30*

Participants not booked for delivery at Mount Alvernia Hospital
Weekday S$214.00*
Weekend S$235.40*

As for course syllabus, you can check this link for more information. http://www.mtalvernia-hospital.org/Childbirth-Education.asp

It's quite fun to go for Prenatal Class when you're expecting your first kid. Makes you feel more secure and know what to expect. But I dont remember doing much of the exercises I learnt leh. And when it comes to child-handling, you usually will just pick up from either your confinement lady or Mum/MIL, depending on who's doing your confinement. When the baby is finally in front of you, your mind goes blank lor. </font>}

<font color="0000ff">Coco_pops</font> <font color="ff6000">I read somewhere that dizziness is common in second trimester onwards cos it blood vessels to baby dilates while blood vessels carrying blood to mummy contracts, so mummy is prone to dizzy spell and probably fainting also bah? Lack of blood means lack of oxygen also. Be careful and try to get a seat ya?</font>

<font color="0000ff">Btil</font> <font color="ff6000">Close to cutoff but it's still within safe zone leh. Why your gynae make it sound so serious? He wants you to consider amnio?</font>

<font color="0000ff">strawberry,</font> <font color="ff6000">How many more days to go? Can count with your fingers already? My bump is showing! Esp when im in the shower. Haha! Aiyo, i dare not look in the mirror naked. But still manage to cover up by wearing flowy dresses to work. :p But once in second trimester, I dont care if ppl know already. Im gonna let it all hang and dig out my maternity dresses to wear.. and mayb wear my fitflops to work also haha./ More comfortable mah.</font>

Ccharis,
My gynea appt is at 415pm. Yeah i intend to reach there around 745am , ks me. But hopefully no traffic jam on the road that day lor.

Btw, i m staying in punggol. Pls update mine too. Thanks.

Maid topic
I intend to get a maid before i deliver too. Still have not decide to employ from where. I feel that all depends on luck if we can get a gd and reliable maid. Crossing my fingers.

I also need some pointers from mothers who having a helper at home now. Tks in advance.

I have some brand new BUMWEAR prefolds for sale.

5 Premium white prefolds
5 Newborn unbleached prefolds
2 Snappies
6876320.jpg

Willing to sell them in a bundle @ $35 (including postage).

And a preloved post natal binder selling for $25 (used less than 5 times, 85% condition) It is a free size 3-piece velcro binder.
6876321.jpg

If you are interested in any of the items above, please pm or email me at [email protected]

Starry mummy - yes my doc wanted to explain d possible tests in case I want to take

Any reputable doc in this area of advising oscar test results ?

I went raffles plc after seeing doc to pick up something , was v moody ... Then I relieved my stress n went into a shop n bgt 3 dresses!!! Nice flowey type , n A line so can wear when preg cos I m small sized ... Only $40 per dress!!!!

I still no idea what we will do ... D u/s was fine but blood test not gd so overall result is borderline ... Shd I take d risk of 2nd trimester test ???

Hi there, I'm new here. Please to meet everyone!

Nick : nyctora
BB#: 1st
Hospital : TMC
Gynae: Dr Eunice Chua
EDD: 14 Oct 12

Thanks to all the mummies who offered me advice on maids. Just now after dinner, I passed by Nation maid agency. Wow, they've alrdy increased their pkg prices after today's newspaper article. Even Phil maid fees oso gone up. Their fees are all so expensive compared to another agency which I enquired at few days ago. Now I'm worried if all or most agencies hv increased their charges

Btil
U wanna to go for another scan? I heard that Camden medical got better machines. That's what I heard lah. This is a diff decision. What does your hb think? Hope things turn out well and you can come to a decision. Take care!

Constance i wd like to hv vbac. But for my no 1 i cd not dilate more than 6cm for e longest time. Dunno whether cos i got stubborn cervix...and to end up with emer c section is so draining after trying so many hrs for natural birth. But every pregnancy is different. I think i can feel baby movts already or maybe i am imagining it. I am 14plus wks now only. Re oscar borderline results, can go for amino if u r still worried cos at least u will know for sure? Oscar results are merely calculation of risk so its also no guarantee

Boy, I've just spent the last hour browsing through the preceding 5 pages and I'm tired already! Knew I should have joined the forum earlier then no need to do catch-up reading now. T____T

Anyway, I'm about 12.5 weeks now, but still having the usual bouts of fatigue, nausea, occasional merlioning, funny aftertaste on tongue, bloatedness, loss of appetite.

But what actually bugs me the most is my hyper-sensitivity to scents and fragrances. E.g. I can't wear any of my perfumes anymore, neither can my husband (erh, his cologne, not that he uses my perfume). Baby powder = instant death. In fact, I feel like hurling whenever I catch a whiff of any fragrance or body odours from random people on the street as well. Ditto for strong food smells. It's gotten to the point that I've had to work from home on most days just to keep my nausea under control cos there are fragrances everywhere at my workplace. The fragrances which I used to love, have now become the absolute bane of my existence.

Anyone else experiencing the same thing? Short of going around in a mask, I'm really not sure what else I can do.

Candies: I think I can feel my baby's movements too. Initially I thot I was imagining it but my hubby could feel it too when he put his cheeks to my belly. We were still wondering how come so early can feel movements. Previous pregnancies I could only feel from week 16 onwards.

Btil: I read from previous threads there is a very skilled doc at Camden who can see more clearly than other U/S machines. Think his name is Dr ananda or something...

Funny u guys were talking abt maids. Last few days, I was thrown into a crisis when the maid who has been with my gal since she was 5 mths called me in tears while she was in indo for her 2 weeks' leave before coming back to extend with us. She implored me to help her and said her uncle took away her passport and refused to let her come back and she really misses my girl and ask me to see if the indo embassy can help. I was so busy going to relevant authorities for her I had not even read the forum lately. Sigh so drama, then her phone was off and then she messaged me with her fren's phone saing her uncle sold her phone away and took all her $ so she cant contact anyone anymore. Then I cudnt reach her after that. I m so heart pain for her. She is a very nice, quiet and obedient girl, very merticulous. Sigh, since I cant reach her there is nothing I can do now but wait loh.....
Luckily I have another maid at home so I m not left maidless but my daughter is having a tough time adapting to this maid cos this maid usually helps me with my cooking and other housework and dont take care of her. My daughter wun let her feed, bathe or carry... So now i take over my girl whenever I can....

Now then have time to breathe will catch up a little in the forum.

Nyctora: I m pretty sensitive to smell but not everything, just mainly garlic and onions and vinegar. It's pretty irritating but the thing i hate most abt this pregnancy is the metallic taste in my mouth. I really really detest it. Never had with #1. I m now 14 weeks and just as I thought since I didnt have the metallic taste for a week plus, I can say gdbye to it forever, it came back just 2 hours' ago... sigh

Btil: Ur results still "pass" what.... dun need to stress too much. Amino test have chances of MC right? So i heard some people say that since no matter what happens, they will still give birth to the child, so they did not go for the test. Anyway it may not b so bleak, urs in the safe zone mah.... but in the event u n hubby decide to do amino please please get a reliable doc. I have heard from someone's experience lah... of an unskilful doc who drew blood along with the fluid and caused internal bleeding in the womb. V scary siah.....then cos the fluid has blood, so cant use for the test, then if u draw again, there is increased risk again and then worse case scenario, the first wound made by the doc not healed then the second draw stil has blood so also cant use. Most of the time though, if docs are gd and the process is fast and painless like 2 minutes... Having said that, i have friends who had worse results than u, turn out baby also alright.... ultimately of cos the decision lies with u but do read up and research a little more before making a decision u comfy with, ok? Mummy and Baby jia you!

Thks ml, mElody ! N skinnybeannie for searching d link ! I also thinking of getting a 2nd opinion now which is non invasive

njon: Thanks for the encouragement. Hopefully its gd news afterall.

starry: thanks for the info. Dunno whether hubby wanna acc me or nt..keke

nyctora: Welcome to the Oct mummies club!

ccharis: Thanks for the advice. Oh....need to update location? I am staying in the woods....Woodlands :p

Btil: Stay strong...ur result is the safe zone...should be alright.
Seek 2nd opinion if in doubt.

Skinnybeanie - I read ur post abt d worries of a mother , I think I can imagine n understand mOre now. It's my first n alrdy sleepless fr a borderline oscar test ... I now appreciate my mum much more - I now can comprehend all d worries she had abt me even now !!! Muma r d greatest people on earth !

Hey There is robinsons babyfair today.
Medela swing breast pump pack is 289
Got some sale on britax infant carseat &amp; stroller set as well as britax (safe n sound) carseat.
Can drop by and see

Morning ladies!!!!

Yahoo!!! I passed my oscar test, ratio 1:3843. Too excited till I forgot to get a MC from the doctor yesterday, have to reduct my annual leave

Candies, My 2nd pregnancy was a successful VBAC. If you plan for a VBAC, make sure yr doctor is full support. Risk is there. Need to do a lot of research.

Skinneybeenie
I have used dr Ananda at camden before for my no 1's 5th mth detailed scan. His machines are really more advanced than those found in nuh. And his report much more detailed also. (Actually was forced to go there cos of the SARS crisis in the local hospitals). His fee was ard 30% higher than the local hosp then. Not sure abt now....

Btil
Mayb you can ask yourself whether you will accept the baby in whatever condition? If you can't, then mayb shld go for 2nd opinion or more detailed test (eg amnio).

We didn't do any 12th week test for no 1 at all. Then, we told ourselves we will give birth no matter what.
But for no 2 onwards, we guai guai did those tests. Besides it will not be fair to no 1 if he has to take care of his sibling for life.
Just my 2 cents worth of thots.

I think we dun want Bb to suffer in life w abnormalities ... I may go dr anand for 2nd opinion , n then amino depending ... Amino is 100%

<font color="0000ff">Btil:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Go for the 2nd opinion 1st before concluding anythg.. Since your result passed. Meanwhile stay strong and think +ve k..</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Hi All.. My hubby yest broke the news to my in laws.. Can't wait like tt.. Reach in law place n he tell them lao.. MIL ask me not to drink/eat orange, cannot use scissor on bed, etc.. Dan lastly say dun eat too much crab.. As she mention when she was hving my hubby.. She super crave for crabs.. Eat alot.. And when hubby was born he got skin problem till the age of 10. But I think is individually and eat moderate shd be ok..</font>

Btil, most likely all will be fine. hope for the best for u.

I had my veg bee hoon just now! not the best i like but at least got something! heheh...

actually during #1 time i put the most weight in 1st 5m. looks like it's heading that way with this one too. alr put on 2kg (!!) though i din really eat a lot, except for the single durian sitting.. :p

my #1's classmate's mum went to give birth today. i thought she looked like 7m only

i can still rmbr giving birth to #1. Hope everything will go well again and no need epidural

even the worries while in labor din stop. i asked hubby to check the heartrate every 5 mins until he was like IT'S OK DUN WORRY.

those who went thru labor b4.. did u feel any kicks during labor? cuz i did not at all thats why was worried.. very strange right?