(2012/08) Aug 2012

When check up today and doctor suspect I might have diabetic. Need to do blood test tomorrow. Sigh...

Like double check, the brand for bb laundry is which one, the bb wipes for newborn is it pigeon brand better. For diaper which brand is better e.g pamper, mami poko etc.

Nikki, the lemongrass shower gel is from where? I just brought 1 lemongrass shower gel for confinement from origin jamu massage at $19 (700ml) comment not bad. But if got other choice or brand or ginger shower gel to recommend I dun mind try out.

AG: same same... also haven buy lots of things. just started to buy abit of bb stuff.

Hazel Nutty: suspect? from routine uine test?
For bb laundry, not sure which is good.. my friend recommend kodomo. but i bgt pigeon from carrefour coz saw the 600ml selling at $6.90. so i bgt a bottle to try. any other recommendation?

haven buy diapers. my friend recommend fitti/pet pet for days. merries or mamy poko for night. any recommendation?

Vivaval, ya it from the routine urine test. So need do blood test tomorrow to confirm.

Hope it a false alarm.

Anyone kw if preggy got diabetic , wat need to be done?

Hazel: if preggy diabetic depends how bad is it. If mild just watch diet, means cut down on high GI food like processed food (white bread, sugar etc). If bad then need insulin injection everyday. As for diapers, pet pet in the day is good enough, ntuc sells for 6sgd a pack forget exactly how many pcs. Night if u don't want to change that often can use goon (best i heard so far, given hubby colleagues reviews too) or else merries or mummy poko. Prices between the 3 are ard the same but goon is not as readily available as the other 2.

Gals who want a copy of my guidelines, first day get-to-know interview questions n schedule, can PM me? So that I can email u. 2 word docs. I did research online, referred to 3-4 schedules n guidelines while doing mine
I can also send you what i researched (others' guidelines n schedule) - 1 version has Malay translation!

Today I picked my maid. I really like her as she's pleasant, can speak pretty good English, really wanna work. Previously in Saudi Arabia for 6 years. She was made the leader of the training centre as she would ask the maids to not be so noisy n was able to manage 40-50 maids, giving instructions on cooking etc. very hands-on n automatic. When my mum taught her how to prepare milo, she auto took the notebook I gave her n write down. I only asked her to clean her own area today n after she finished, she asked if I'd like her to do anything else.

My 7-page guidelines didn't scare her at all. And most most importantly, she makes the effort to take care of my Sasha n stroke her while waiting for us to go out for dinner. So far she can get along with my mum too. So it's full marks for today, which is day 1. Lol. Will update again

congrats sashamama! my agent always tells me that he recommends maids who have worked in Middle East due to the harsh conditions. Yours worked for 6 years!

i am so happy for you!i have pinged you for your docs, i am still preparing mine.

i really really hope my helper will be good too.. especially when i am travelling soon after she comes, and my hubby prob dont know how to guide her much

vivaval: yea no prob, get the braun one. at least got brand =) hehe ill stick to the infared one i bought. hurhurhur.

ag: welcomes. i slp with it everynight. =x hub previously will attempt to 'steal' cos the curved part can rest our feet v comfy!

sashamama: hv pm-ed u! =) congrats for u! she's a transfer maid? or new? i v interested in ur 7page guidelines!hehehe

Morning Mommies!

Yesterday the little one kicked up a storm! The whole night! So strong the kicks. I kept tossing and turning - backache and can't sleep! Poor HB got affected by my tossing and turning :S

Now we are like 2 pandas!

Hi mummies ... so hot today ... feeling bigger and bigger everyday ...
Anyone start packing for hospital bag already ?
Does anyone know what to pack ? i went to the TMC website to see , the guideline is like sanitary pad , sanitary belts .. what are sanitary belts ?

My sister suddenly wan to put my name as her adopted kid guardian. Dun understand y she always try all mean and way to make me clean up her shit and rubbish.

I noticed few mothers here are quite familiar in shopping on taobao.com.

Can advice me how to purchase there? I've opened an account but I cannot make payment because all the credit card are China banks. I have friend in China that can bring it back for me, so no problem with shipping only problem with making payment.

THanks. Hope mummies here are able to guide me. THe item that i wanted to buy cannot be found in Sg or Malaysia, so really excited when I saw it in www.taobao.com

Starfantasy she tell me just in case anything happened to her, there still someone to take care of her adopted kid. So which mean the kid will the guardian responsibility. But I just dun understand her husband side sure got ppl who is qualify to be the guardian why need to be our family side. Also the kid bare her husband family surname isn't it they responsibility to take care of him.

Shashamama,
can i have a copy of your maid guideline and schedule?. My maid should be coming in two weeks time. I'm first time getting a maid.

Kitty: thanks! Been waiting for this info.

Hazel: cannot put her husband as the guardian meh? Cos only if something happens to her what, not the husband. Tell her like what u say, the kid follow the husband surname so better to get guardian frm his side.

Aixin: i did a guide abt making purchases using international credit card (currently taobao only limit mastercard, visa or jcb). Will post the link to the doc when i'm back home

Hazel, the lemongrass shower gel you bought is the same that I saw some time back in the bulk purchase.
Can't remember the price though.

Diapers: Been using Pet Pet for my gal and value for $$, is able to last through the night as well.
Mamypoko is also good, will buy when there's sales.

Aixin,
Can u PM me pls? I need to email you cos there're 3 word docs.

Dear gals,
Now too early to judge how my maid will be like in a few weeks or months' time. But the past 2 days been full-mark performance la. If she starts to slacken, I sure harsh but now seriously no fault at all Le.

Bring her buy hair brush let her choose, she chose the cheapest 40cents comb tho I showed her the 2dollar plus brush. Bring her buy a new fan cos the one at her area is a tower fan with weak wind, she was so firm about telling me no need tho I was so firm in wanting to buy too.

When she saw a woman hit a man's butt with a book, she instinctively shook her head. Later she shared that in Saudi Arabia, if there is no permit proving the boy n girl are a couple n they have physical contact, they will be punished. Cannot drink alcohol, smoke, wear revealing clothes etc. go car wash she didn't look out of the car at all cos there're 4 men washing. I think she's conservative. But may kena influenced here! Lol.

These 2 days were out quite a number of hours shopping. She seems to enjoy working at home instead. She confirm can find something to clean one. I ask her to rest but later will realize she's washing something. But well, only first 2 days. Just hope this lasts for 2 years!! Lol.

Oh yes, I went mothercare guided tour today. They missed out my appt n got someone else to show me around. Took 1 hour. Realized a lot of things to buy n not bought. The goodie bag has a mothercare brochure, 2 bibs, 1 toy for 6-mth old baby, 1 pkt of wet wipes n 1 $10 voucher (used if spend $50). Anyone gone for this before? Are these what u received?

Starfantasy I saw goon got a booth but not clear on the details. Thank you for the update think will buy some to stock up.

Nikki, I will try out the pet pet brand too to c how too. Think must let bb try out c which one she like. Ha ha....

Starfantasy, my sister said she need to submit the kid dependent pass then can give lawyer to convert to Singapore birth cert, so need to put guardian name in the form. Anyway my hb very against this as he scare if anything happened to both the kid parents( touch wood) we will be liable to his need and life.

BTW, anyone kw which brand of nappy cream is good. Cos my gynae just prescribe medela nappy cream for me. But I realize kiddy palace having sale and have bigger tube which is cheaper after discount.

Nikki, I have tried the shower gel today, the smell very nice. As for it claim can reduce 'wind' in our body I still not too sure cos only start today and use once only. I brought it at $19 without postal charge from the origins jamu massage. But it a product from Taiwan and got some info on the manufacturer at the back of the bottle. Not sure if can do a direct bulk purchase from the manufacturer instead.

I will update again next week on the result of the shower gel.

Hazel: If your sis inist then make sure she put you as the beneficiary for her assets if something were to happen to her. See what her reaction is. Hehehe. The goon diapers selling for $15 a pack, very worth it to stock up. I intend to buy as much as I can. For the nappy cream, desitin is the best for treatment and prevention from the various reviews I read so far, but some mummies commented that it's a little difficult to clean so would advise to put if the diaper is intend to be worn for long periods of time. Others have posted mustela and sebmed or even droplene for more frequent use although not as strong. Not sure about medela but since there is sale just buy a tube or 2. Desitin also having offer in kiddy palace. Don't buy too much now cos you never know if your bb is allergic to it.

Starfantasy, I will make sure that. Thank you for ur advise.

As for the medela cream think I have spell wrongly. It was nipple cream instead of nappy cream.

However, the desitin cream is it really so good? Cos last time doc only prescribe drapolene cream to my parents. So from young I only kw this cream for rash only. LOL

Starfantasy, how do u view the motherhood sale details. As I try zoom in the broucher online but the details is blur which I can't read or see clearly.

Come to allergic, I have very sensitive skin just hope bb not like me. Cos my skin will react to too strong cream and some of the plastic material and steel item. So hope bb won't if not then hard to wear diaper.

Just like that time I try the Palmer cocoa butter stretch mark cream on my hand within min my hand start to itch and I have to rush to toilet to wash it away immediately. So I am a troublesome case. Ha ha...
But then with this sensitive skin I can also prove if the product really for sensitive skin ppl or not and is it effective. LOL....

Hazel: nipple cream have to wait for other mummies advice. I myself haven look into that yet. XD the motherhood pic have to use computer to view. I tried using my hp at first also blurry when i zoom in. Drapolene is a very old brand and probably the only one to exist in the sg makets 10 plus yrs ago, i also remember my sis using that one for my niece n nephew. Now there r so much variety. If ur bb do have sensitive skin, do be careful abt the diaper brand also, so far goon or those jap brands are also more for sensitive skin.

Re: Packing of hospital bag
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AoGqfrz3HFCYdE9TVXpNVlZhUUdheGlQeUFlSWR2U0E#gid=0

Re: Nappy Rash Cream
I use Avent Barrier Cream during the first few months... if it's slight reddish, i'll apply California Baby Aloe Vera Cream... then if it's really red then will apply Destin cream in blue color tube.

the thing about using the blue Destin cream only when it's red so that we don't overly abuse using it and thus not having to upgrade to using the purple in situations that the nappy rash is really that bad! Purple tube has got stronger medicinal ingredients in it to subside the rash I think....

Hi Shashamama,
I've PMed you. Thanks for the help.

Hi Starfantasy,
Thanks also for the link you sent me. Wah... it is so pro. Nenver shopping online also got manual.

Hi Hazel,
The Desitin is really good. But must get the Desitin Creamy, the blue colour one. There is another purple colour one, supposed to be stronger but smell very fishy which i relaly dont like.

Hi Mommies, how much weight gain are you going through now. Today i weigh myself and found out i gain about 10 kg. Hmmm abit too fast. I think i eat quite a fair bit. I feel big. Actually i m ok except when i realize some of the clothes i wear in 2nd tri had started to become tight so i get abit depressed abit... Ok to be fair.. those are my per-pregnancy dresses (those i wore to work with a belt) LOL!

Aixin: welcome
the manual came about becausr a few of my friends were also asking how to go about doing it as they were taobao fantatics too. Previously they go thru agent or spree with me (if i happen to buy stuff also).

Happy: no worries, i gain more than you. The last i know is already 11kg and now i don want to step on the weighting scale le.. Self denial.. Haha. My pre preggy clothes near end of 1st trimester already tight. So u r very lucky to last till 3rd trimester le. XD regarding massage lady, haven book yet though hubby help to shortlist a few for me.. Recently too busy with work. I would go for the 7-10 days package. The prices i see normally range from 400 to 700 plus. The higher ends one are frm those shops.

any of u gg to Philip Carnival this wkend ?
want to buy baby monitor SCD505, can help me chk out how much
thanks in advance!!

Diapers:
day i use fitti and nite huggies.
mummies who intend to stock up remember don overstock on newborn size cos before u know it need to change to S size.

Hospital bag:
i got a list somewhere given by hospital.
but in general these r the following items to pack (subject to individual hospitals)

For mummies (3d2n stay)

- 2 button down PJs/ top
- underwear and nursing bra
- a set of clothes to change (don bring pre-preg cos u might not b able to fit in)
- nipple cream
- maternity pads (hospital provides if u can handle the loop thing)
- toiletries

For baby:
- recieving blanket (u can bring ur own or use hospital if provided)
- a set of clothes for bb (i bring 2 sets of different size which came in handy cos my #1 was bigger so canot fit newborn clothes)

also remember all admission docs and if u wear specs etc. another thing is if u need a comfort item to bring alot like a pillow/ cushion/ soft toy, do bring it. also any medications which u r required to take.

Nipple cream:
i used medela ones but did not really help.
use breast milk also din help either with my sore nipples.
so maybe its my skin or my damage is very bad liao due to my #1 on full BF during hospital stay.

Post natal massage:

yst on my way to bus stop a malay lady called out to me, tot she wanna ask for directions scally she pass me her name card, is a massage lady.
u can check out her FB: mimi jamal, she says 7days massage for mummy and bb is $550 also incl. showering bb and help with the bb's umbilical cord.

weight gain :
mine is v fast, feel so stress go chk up. put on 2kg per mth for few times already and gynae ask me to control my food intake..sigh...for my #1 i din have this problem...

I din put on much weight in tri 1.. Second trimester started to put on, been increasing 2.4kg each visit for the past 2 mths. So total gain from first visit till 28 weeks is 8.4kg. Bb was ard 1.1kg. But gynea wasn't worried cos i m a little underweight to start with. So she din ask me to control diet. But i myself is trying to keep the weight gain down. So trying to eat healthier food now n cut down on oily stuff.

Urchin: i envy u.. All i can hope is i can shed the extra weight after poping.

Jojo: take care, try to get the fever down asap cos not good for bb. Is it flu or food posioning?

Jen: 550 for 7 days seems a bit exp, esp she doesn't own a shop. I think bathing, taking care of the cord and massage ur confinement nanny can do it for u so no need these extra services.

On CL, just curious how much mummies pay? Cos i heard on the tv this yr rate much higher, even got ppl asking for 5k to take care of twins?!!!

Hazel, that day I saw NTUC selling PET PET Size S(32s)2 packs for $10.95.
Will check out if still available maybe buy 2 packs 1st.
Starfantasy mentioned GOON going for 50% off at Motherhood fair can try that as well.

There's a seller in the bulk spree selling the lemongrass shower gel, maybe you can try looking out cos I think she only organises her spree once in a while.

Another natural remedy to heal cracked nipples is to use the breast milk to apply the area.
Lasinoh is also another alternative.

Hazel: I just had my hubby check out with his colleague whose baby just reach a month old. His colleague uses pet pet diaper and averages around 6-7 a day. So you can do the math. As I only intend to use goon at night, I giving a average of 2 per night, so 1 month around 56-60 which is ard 1 pack. The goon newborn is for 3-6 KG, so if possible I'll get 2 packs of newborn then 2 packs of S size.

Any mummies here experience discharge from the nipples? Just now my breast was itchy and i rub it, accidentally simulated the nipples and notice a clear, slight yellowish discharge. Was amazed and look up on the internet to find out that was pre-milk. Guess have to buy nursing pads already. Wonder if I start pumping now, would I start producing milk? XD