(2012/08) Aug 2012

Dear MummyR,

I currently taking the "Guan Yan", and I have try the "Jin Shi Yan" before it just have a better smell but in term of texture both the same. I was told that both servce the same purpose. But the "Guan Yan" a bit cheaper.
They have a promotion on Feb so I brought like 6 bottles since I still have 4 bottles at home & it a better deal than the member birthday discount.Think the promo ended. But my hb is a member with them, not sure if can get 10% discount since no promo. Let me kw if you interested, I can check with them.

sashamama,
don worry, bb will grow well inside u despite all odds. have faith in urself n bb

yanlin,
rest well and take care.

Jljz,
don worry too much, u will b in gd and safe hands like yanlin.

urchin/ ayukie,
maybe u can try using rice cooker to double boil the bird nest? ceramic container and place inside rice cooker same as in pot.

hazel,
hi hi~

BTW, I was advised not to take too much bird nest as the bb might be hypo active later on. So advisable to take like twice or once a week can already.

urchin, same here! my hubby n i was thinking abt getting that set too! and its only $500+... somemore got 2 years warranty. ya, agree, the sales girl did a very good job. I waiting till nearer the delivery date to buy as they cant postpone the warranty date.

birdnest
i saw someone say she ate bird nest everyday, pls dont. eat too much will cause asthma in bb. i only eat once or twice month. dont dare to eat so much.

Joanne: I think it's alright to get her now since you are already paying for levy. Actually coaching a maid can take a long time because you both first have to get used to each other. Then most likely there will be a lot of times where communication is not enough (either she doesn't understand what you are saying or exactly what you want cos diff ppl have different expectations) so most of the time you have to demo to her personally. Also it's better for her to get used to the workload then slowly increase (when bb born). I'm still learning to get used to my maid when she came to work for me (now mainly taking care of my mum) in Dec last yr. If you worried that she'll have nothing much to do, encourage her to learn things. I'm currently sending her for english classes and let her do her own reading. I believe by treating maid like a human and not like a slave although there are still some precautions to take. ^_^

Regarding birdnest, yes I do hear from zoe tay (@ the first mums and dad congress that her doc ask her not to take too early because worried about the fine hairs that were not picked out from the nest will get into bb lungs). Which is valid since no matter how careful, the birdnest cannot be 100% clean. Besides, birdnest main nutrient is protein which can be obtain through other food. If one want to go for the fair skin for bb, can subsitute with pure or organic soya milk (unsweeten for those who are afraid of gaining too much weight) every day. It's a cheaper alternative for those who are tight on their budget. =)

re: bird nest
i took after 1st tri....about once every week and my son is very fair
rem i attended mdm wong's class...she also mentioned that those mummies who eat bird nest have fair babies but no medical proof

Hai..
super emotional over the weekend..
flare at hubby on sat n sun..till to the extend i lost control..broke down crying n screaming yest..

Sorry to interrupt. I'm Sep 2011 mum and have some items to let go.

1. Traditional Medicinals Organic Mother's Milk Tea. 4 boxes (4 x 16 satchets) for $30 inclusive of normal mail postage.

2. Motherlove More Milk Special Blend 120 capsules for $55 inclusive normal mail postage.

3. Earth Mama Angel baby stretch mark oil (120ml) for $23.

4. My Brest Friend to let go at $60. Condition is 9.5/10 as I hardly use it.

I took items 1&2 to kick start my breastfeeding and have good supply which is why I stop taking and have excess to want to let go. I used item 3 since 2nd trimester and til date, no stretch marks at all.

Please PM me or email me at [email protected]

6784883.jpg
6784884.jpg
6784885.jpg
6784886.jpg

ya ya, now I told hubby that everything I feel is double, if happy will be doubly happy, if angry will be doubly angry. So only tell hubby to ren for this period. BBL, I'm sure your hubby will understand.

KJChua > thanks for your advice.. My appointment is in End April. Thats the earliest slot for me for Saturdays. I will be taking bus or cab there.. we don't drive. hehe. my husband was thinking what happens if i suddenly need to give birth and cant get a cab.. he is panicking like now.. faint.

BBL,
aiyo, must control control. angry till tummy pain is not gd. kuku hormones at work again.
chill n relax ok..

JC,
as time nears, remember to "activate" siblings, relatives who drives and is nearby.
but but don worry lah, from the time ur contraction kicks in or ur water bag burst, u shd have a few hrs to get to hospital.
worst case there is the non emergency ambulance

Starfantansy/ Jen
ya lo..hormone at work..

Jc
Not to worry wont be that fast one..u have plently of time..u can even shower n make yrself pretty b4 going too..hahaha
i shower b4 i go..cos thats the last shower till god knows when..

joanne - i bought the 320+ insurance for her haha .. transfer fee is 88bucks though but insurance can be pro-rated 75% or 70% if within i think 2 mths so still ok bah ... anyway if you need to change u have to change lor so inevitable .. u early change also need change u change later also need change so no diff lah

i will cfm shower before i go so if i were u i will call cab then shower than go .. the last time my water bag broke i had to run from my in law place back home to pack my hosp bag then shower than go hosp haha .. by time i reach my pants dripping liaoz even with tose night pads on

the shower part freaks me out.. gonna make sure i wash my hair for the last time before confinement starts..

Ya thats what i told my husband.. dun panic.. for the non emergency ambulance, can we tell them which hospital we wanna go? cos the emergency ones only go to the nearest government hospital.

kitty lim: haha.. she really did well n not pushy.. i was planning to get the $300+ set cos prob gg to stay at home so get the single pump, anyway if needed can buy the upgrade set to upgrade next time thou buy tgt is cheaper.. saw it at Kiddy palace n its nett price.. mayb see if there's any fair nearer due date n see have anymore offer or not

JC by rt non emergency we can choose where we want to go.. i was thinking emergency ambulance also can but u reminded me tat the emergency ambulance only go to the nearest govt hospital, i forgot this part of the show..

actually if u can afford the price get dual better because when u bf one side the other side will leak also and also if u intend pump 20 mins each total will be 40 mins liaoz then quite sian also haha imo lah

Re: Hormones
I got abit upset when my boss say take out one of my portfolio to other ppl cos she thinks i am unable to cope due to ML etc.
When I told one of my colleague, she says that is not the true reason. It is because my boss dont trust me. When I heard that i am very sad. Hiaz.

JC,
Hope if really last min fall into labour my HB will remember what to dial for non Emergency ambluance. LOL Anyway, my house just 2 bus stop away from Mt A so still not so bad. Worst senario is my HB bring me to the gynea also just few block away and ask gynea to drive me to hospital. PS: HB and Gynea are neighbour in term of their shop and clinic location

Akukie: first time mum so dunno yet.. actually planning to latch if possible so not even sure if the pump will be useful so get a single one first lor.. anyway, their double is to use the upgrade set tgt with the single so if really need double can just go out n get the upgrade set, but if get upgrade set already then dun use a bit wasted.. haha.. so I thot I'll just start with the most basic..

hee.. just remember to dial 1777.. put in handphone save is better.. i also will remind my husband to save gynea's number just in case its not those usual timing.

Sandy: if have home phone paste a piece of paper there with the non emergency tel no., on handphone save the number on favourite list or speeddial or whatever then ur hubby can remember the number to call.. but since u r so near to the hospital I think dun need to fret.. save the taxi numbers better, and I think better to have all the numbers from all the taxi companies or download the taxi apps..

I just sold my Mini Elec Medela Breastpump as i've got many friends saying Freestyle is better. And the BP for freestyle if SGD500 only! It's a US imported set thou. I want to try breastfeeding till as long as i can haha..

I'll try to let baby latch maybe for at least a month then start to pump out. I also read a book having to start baby with routines/schedule so wont have to keep waking at night for feeds haha. Hopefully baby can co-operate.

joanne> Regarding the paying the maid loan, if you pay by credit card, it can be done in installments which is like your usual maid monthly salary. So no need to fork out such big amount at the start.

sandy> don't take it to heart. currently we are more sensitive so we are more affected by these kind of stuff. Tell yourself that you rather put more effort into your bb!

I think i the more "le tian pia", haven think of getting vehicle to the hospital during labour..hahaha. But I also try my very best to bath and wash hair before going hospital cos next few days cannot bath then 1 wk cannot wash hair..*faintz

Just back home from work. A tired day, having pain at lower left abdomen since lunch. Dunno wat wrong.

For bf, my friend told me even if latch on there will still be some left, so need to pump out the excess. So getting a standby pump is advisable.

I also plan to have a shower & hair wash before go for labour. If not can't tahan. Ha ha....

I also hasn't plan for what to take when go for labour. Just hope bb choose the rite timing when my hb, father or sister are around.

I also very emo this week, work till fret up two managers got nag by me last Friday and today.

Sandy
I am not sure when its the final completion date cos they go by phases but the current renovation will end early next year, by then we already given birth lo . . Hee..

JC
If really emergency, I will call ambulance and so happen that my nearest hospital is the one I gg to deliver.
The car park at mount A is usually full during weekends but it's ok during week days. For those planning to deliver there, my advise is to check out that area cos there is 1 entrance currently closed for reno

Kelly
I also bought freestyle after hearing many good feedback from forum mummies

Hazel Nutty: Pack hospital bag early! i got friends pack at 31weeks so when baby is ready, grab and go. Ya i also worried later baby choose when nobody at home then so helpless!

KJChua: I think it'll be a good investment for us!

Regarding pumps, i have a freestyle n an avent manual.. The freestyle worked really well for me and i used it daily in office after ML till #1 was 18 mths.. Pumped twice in office, 10 mins each time.. Really convenient.. But compared to manual pump, more things to wash.. So when at hm i use the avent manual.. Not really tiring on hands once supply is built up..coz the flow very fast during let down.. I latched for 3-4 wks before introducing the bottle, so that bb wont reject latching and prefer bottle. Latching 3 hrly and pumping after latching really helped build up supply.. I was able to latch #1 fully or give him ebm whilst i was at work.. Only gave him fm at 18 mths.. Then i gave the extra fbm away, almost 600 bags over the 1.5 years.. Must perservere n be hardworking.. But Its all worth it, the bonding with baby is something nothing else can buy.. And knowing that mother's milk is best for baby is more than enough motivation for me to cont bfing.. Just rmb to latch bb as soon as possible after delivery, and continue to latch 15'min each side every 3 hrly even whilst in hospital..

Kelly, I really have not much idea what to pack, but c from NUH website need basic things like toothbrush, towel, 1 set of baby clothes, 1 set of clothes for myself when going home. Other then this, can advise wat else I need to bring?

Just got back from NUH n dinner. Went to holland village to satisfy my cravings. Bought avocado ice cream too.
Remember we were mentioning pain in the bikini line after urinate? My gynae ask me to do a urine elements test, he scare got infection. So result will be out 2 days later. Hoping for the best

Depends on the severity I supposed. My gynae asked me to drink more water leh. He asked me to see him when got my urine test result. Will update u all on this as I know we have a few MTB having same symptoms

Jojo: Do we let the nurses know that we want baby on total breastfeeding so they will allow us to keep baby in the room? Or will they still bring baby back to the nursery? The book i read also says to feed baby 3hrly and must empty the breast fully each time before going on the next breast.

star fantasy, where to get yummi house honey? I have been coughing for 6 weeks liao and still haven't recover. Any remedy for me.
Joanne, I think it's ok to bring the maid in now cos she can help u do spring cleaning and she needs to get use to ur style. It takes a while to train a maid. but set her expectations cos she may get lazy before ur baby arrives. But I do find the agency funny cos they want to help u feed the maid for these few months. Usually we have to pay for our maid to stay at the agency. I just find something may be wrong either with the agency or that maid.

AG> u seen a doctor? Prob try TCM?
Guess avoid cold cut fruits and refrain from fish n chicken for the time being for Phelgmy cough.. I usually cook pear with chuan bei or lily bulb with nan Xing bei Xing... Good for cough..but u may wanna just reconfirm with ya tcm

5. SmartKids 2012 (Largest Educational Kids’ Fair)
Dates: 16 to 18 Mar 2012
Time: 11a.m. to 9p.m.
Venue: Singapore Expo Hall 5
Organiser: Expomal Singapore Pte Ltd

6. TheKidzAcademy 2012
Dates: 16 to 18 Mar 2012
Venue: Suntec Singapore Hall 401 & 402
Organiser: Sphere Exhibits

7. Baby Baby Exhibition 2012
Dates: 4 to 6 May 2012
Venue: Suntec Singapore Hall 401
Organiser: Sphere Exhibits

8. Motherhood Fair
Dates: 31 May to 3 Jun 2012
Time: Information not available
Venue: Singapore Expo Hall 5B
Organiser: Information not available

9. Parents World Fair
Dates: 31 Aug to 2 Sep 2012
Time:  (Fri & Sat) 11a.m. to 9p.m., (Sun) 11a.m. to 8p.m.
Venue: Singapore Expo Hall 5A
Organiser:  Information not available

I manage to find out some info on the coming fair.

Joanne, better to bring in the maid earlier as she need to familiarize with ur house stuff and chore 1st. And also u need time to find out her ability cos by then u will not be free to observe and make arrangement for the daily duty she need to do other than taking care of the bb.

Sherry, I tot only can't take chicken, fish also can't?
I was advise not to take orange too.

Hi mummy,

I'm fm nov 2011 forum. Is anyone Looking for baby car seat "maxy-cosi cabriofix". Its only $200 + free infant chair in blue cover and extra pink cover. Message me if anyone interest.

Very brand new and only used less than 5 times.