(2012/08) Aug 2012

I bought avent single electric breast pump at the Taka fair yesterday. This is good cos can convert to manual pump. Plus some other freebies given. Cost me $229.

Hi dawn,

Ya. But the sale tell me, I can try my luck on 16 March the smart baby expo event. As they might have the similar bundle there.

So interested mummy might give it a try.

Hi Sandy,

It seem like a good deal for the pump too. Too bad I am not buying cos my hubby Aunty is passing down hers to me.

BTW, I have yet to kw my bb gender cos next appt on 26 march with the scan. Sigh wat a long wait for me......

Hi mummies,I was at the fair today as well, didn't get much, just baby laundry detergent + baby accessories liquid detergent.

Does anyone know the model of the Avent sterilizer on promo at the fair? I remember seeing a Avent sterilizer at kiddy palace for 188 too, Robinson at 199.

Also, I am looking for a warmer + sterilizer cos I will probably need to heat up the milk often eg breast milk so wondering if anyone has a recommendations...

Hope you are enjoying your weekends mtbs!

Hi Ling,

I think the one at taka baby fair is SCF285/01 (3 in 1 steam sterilizer) the bundle include a warmer, 3 or 5 milk bottle (can't rem) etc... They have another model SCF287/01 which is 4 in 1 which include one integrated dishwasher basket good for travel use. The 4 in 1model bundle was previously at baby expo fair and mother care fair but all sold out.

Now only hope they have it at 16 March smart baby fair.

Not sure if kiddy palace one is the same bundle as taka one or not.

The 3 in 1 model w/o bundle cost $159 and 4 in 1 cost $199, as for the warmer cost $76 as stated in Philip Singapore website. But the warmer cost only abt $60 at taka baby fair. So Ling u can make a comparison. ;)

Dawn, my gynae gave me augmenting 1 g to take. Then infection gone as another swab was done.

Hazelnutty,
There are good consultants in NIH. I m seeing professor Biswas who is the maternal feral medicine dept head. He is a senior consultant n good in high risk pregnancies

Hazel,
I am still nt schedule for detailed scan. Gynea say see him before I go detail scan. I have to wait even longer cos next appointment is 7 April 12.

Sandy,

Is the detail scan the 3d scan that they are mentioning?

My gynae has yet to mention anything abt detail scan to me. So not sure if my next scanning is a detail scan or not. Ha ha... Just hope able to tell the gender then can start shopping. Hee hee....

Hazel Nutty: The detailed scan will be to check on baby's heart, liver, kidney.. etc. I think the 3D scan is optional. Some doc might give free to you.

Good Morning all MTBS.

Hi Kelly,

Thank you for the explanation. My gynae never mention any of the checking on the liver, kidney stuff. Think will be normal scanning to check on heart beat, the size of the baby if he/she is growing well etc.

Hazel nutty,
Why are u changing gynae?
Good thing seeing prof biswas was my amnio test postponed as I was having fever. Then I can goin for procedure without appointments and only with his instructions.
He is very reassuring, monitoring on bb's growth n advise u accordingly. So my bb was only150gm at week 18, I readitwassupposed to be 190 gm. Now I m taking protein powder to boost up bb's growth. Prof already got a detailed scan appointment for me after the amnio test.

I didn't sign up for the prenatal class.

Hazelnutty,
Prof only attend the clinic on Monday, Tuesday and Friday. And only half day. So his appointments are very packed, you have to book earlier.
NUH has got package when u r on week 22. You can go there and find out more.

Yalin,

I don't have a fix gynae at the moment, as I was on subsidise rate. However, both me & my hb feel that have a fix one better. As a few time, we have come across some young/ new gynae which dun have much knowledge on what have been asking.

Thank you very much for the advice. I will go find out ASAP.

Dear BBL, Yanlin, QQ, Dawn,
Thanks for your reassurances! Will try to stay positive.

Enjoy your weekend all!

Anyone else with adenomyosis with swollen uterus?

WTS: New Old Navy Bodysuits for 3 to 6 months baby boys at S$8 each. Images of the bodysuits are attached with the links to website.

The bodysuits are suitable for babies from 3 to 6 months, measuring 23" to 27" and weigh 12 to 17 pounds.

1) http://oldnavy.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=54061&vid=1&pid=897479&scid=897479062

2)http://oldnavy.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=54061&vid=1&pid=897479&scid=897479022

I just received the package from Old Navy and my 3 months old son cannot wear the bodysuits because he is too big. If you are interested, kindly contact me at 96568688 to deal. Collection at Kovan MRT Station.

Yan Lin ,
I also diagnose with strep b ... But recently went to see n urine culture show no more strep b but got other virus ... Sibei sian... Haiz .. Most positive ...
Anyway for breast pump .. Tink taka sale medela quite gd deal cos everywhere I go see is 999 but of cos I ask course but from us .. So is used 350 ...mthose interested may wanA see amazon or what ...

Apparently the car seat I buy at baby are fair is not as cheap as taka sale .. Taka is $60 cheaper .. So I prolly will buy baby cot and other essential there ...

Anyone can give advice on cot as I plan for mum take care day , then we bring home night .. So baby cot buy 2 or is ok to use playpen at mums place?

Hi hi nahnah,

My hb aunty said it price for car seat and stroller are better at taka so it worth buying there. As for cot, I can't advice much. I think playpen also can but might need some sleeping support stuff for the bb to sleep.

Sigh..... Has been sick ( coughing, flu & sorethroat)for 2 weeks and hasn't recover. GP medi don't work on me & I can't take antibiotic cos allergy. Wonder if I should change my next appt with the gynae earlier or not...

Sashamama,
Hugs! Things will be fine! Will keep on praying.

Yanlin, I have been referred to Prof Biswas for the detail scan att NUH. I pray that all things will turn out well for me too!

Hi nah nah,
I suggest you get sarong at your mum place. Day time hot, unless u going to on air con whole day. My mum use sarong in the day and night time bb sleep with us on the bed.

Hi sashamama
Dun worry so much, kp a relaxed mind! I've read of pregnant woman who gave birth successfully despite the adeno. Maybe ask dr Loh more of his success case since he shd hv more experience handling.

Kp a positive mindset as yr bb can sense it too!

Hi sashamama

Do stay positive. Will pray for u.

BTW, anyone can advise if we can take some starfruit or starfruit juice for my sorethroat? As I was told by some of my friends that starfruit contain some toxic therefore not advisable to eat or drink.

Hello mummies, been so busy with work last week, no time to come in here. Nahnah, I think playpen at ur mum place will be good cos if she gets busy, can still put baby in there for safety. Hazel, green apple is also good. I have been coughing for almost month.

detailed scan is not 3d scan ... 3d scan is additional price where they take scans pics for your baby in 3d format where u can see hsi face features but in black and white so you know how your baby looks like .. my gynae last time free me 1-2 3d scans dunno now still got anot for my #2 ..

re: detailed scan
i think its normally done at 20weeks
for TMC, it is already paid together with the OSCAR scan package

nahnah,
if u want baby to have same environment, then prob 2 cots is good? else 1 cot and 1 playpen is not a bad choice?

am intending to have 2 cots for myself...additional playpen at mum's place for day use

re: feet
i realise my feet is expanding again!
after my #1, my feet went up 1 size

think this time round its the same
all my shoes getting v tight and giving me blisters

hazel nutty, i've also been down with flu and cough for more than 3 wks.. at the beginning it was quite bad so gynae said i can take the antibiotics zithromax..

some mummies were commenting they check for the category medicines fall into.. where do you all go to check regarding safety of medication? both my gp and gynae say piriton is fine, but i think some mummies say piriton not safe.. i've been taking one a day.. >.<

sashamama, hope things get better soon... did the gyane say if this will go away with time? i noticed my baby will be hiding in a small corner when there's lots of space elsewhere in my tummy.. gynae says sometimes babies like to snuggle in tight places, like with the placenta in front and uterus wall behind.. so maybe small space inside is still ok..? dun worry too much.... think positively ya..

Morning Mommies,

Have you all started shopping for baby stuffs?

I realize i been quite tired these days. How are you feeling these days? then also feel the tummy abit straining like i am carrying a medicine ball around.

Jljz,
prof Biswas is the top gynae in fetal medicine. My ex gynae mentioned to me that he is the best in public hospital.

I going to see him later on as I noticed my bikini line seems painful after urinate.

My amnio test was done by prof biswas too. He is very calm and quick, most importantly, you won't feel so much pain, just only like ants bite.this needle is much more longer. When u have the detailed scan? Mine will be on 3/4/2012

Playpen: I decided to get one to place in the living room where the CCTV is installed while maid is alone at home. Then night time, bb will sleep in the cot. This is another way to help bb to recognize day n night too.

Shashamama,
Most importantly, ur baby is grow healthily. Must have faith on ur self that the adeno will gone. Keep having faith and keep praying. Miracles will happen for u. Do more research on this, ask ur doctor on ur next visit.

for cough and sorethroat, there are natural remedies, drink wild honey. It's must be wild honey (as in not processed honey), like yummy house or manukan. For manukan, get the ones with high active UMF content. To make it potent, just scoop a spoonful (DO NOT USE metal spoon), and suckle on it like a lolipop, do it once in the morning and at night. It works very well for me. It might be more expensive comparing to medicines but it's natural and in TCM terms, it falls into the mild category. Starfruit wise is pretty cooling (in TCM terms), i think can eat or drink but not too much.

Actually my mum say if no choice, bb can sleep on the bed that we sleep or even on a mattress on the floor (provided no pets walking around), cos when bb haven learn to turn around, they sleep in pretty much the same position.

Thank you very much for the advise. I will check with my gynae on 26 for the antibiotic that I can take. Cos the cough and sorethroat is kind of irriating.

Dear BBL,

Taka bb fair end at 25 March, one day before my next check up. Sigh can't go shopping before it end cos dunno the gender yet. If shop now all have to buy neutral colour.

yeah yummi house honey..
good for cough n sore throat..i was coughing non stop during CNY..had one big spoon n suck like a loliipop..recover..

i having pain on my joint..near the thigh..i think its due to the relaxing hormones..completely no strength to stand from squatting position..

Yeah, still able to do some shopping as my amnio result is out on 20/3. By then will know the gender, my hands started to get itching. Umm.. Or should I wait till the detailed scan?
By the way, will there be anymore fair in te next 3 months?thanks.

Hi all MTB,

This is my first pregnancy and coming to my 16 weeks now. Would like to ask which brand of breast pump is good and if we should start buying it so early as not sure if we have milk supply to bf after delivery?

morning mummies..

Yanlin> My fren told me this month end there is another baby fair at expo but what they sell i dunno yet.. i am waiting for brochures or more information about the baby fair.

BBL> it ends on 25th mar like star fantasy says.. a lot of things sold out liao.. so scary.. i went yesterday and most playpens are sold out. >__< but we grabbed the cheapest one.. we bought all the big ticket items there.. Avent baby monitor and play pen and rocker.. the bright star rockers seems nice can take up to 18kg which is supposingly 3 years old. it can act as a toddler chair.. then for the free gift we ended up topping up a carton of pigeon wipes.. wahahaha. Luckily there is free delivery..

I also went mustafa last weekend... suprisingly they have some nice baby clothings too and not very ex. wahahaha..

Week 17 now and hope to feel the karate kicks soon.. wonder how it feels.. anybody going for the Mount A tour? they just called me this morning to confirm my booking.

Hazel > I got medela.. Most of my frens says this brand is good.. I also not sure whether i will have milk or not but buy first.. I know there is this herb available from GNC (fenugreek) which will promote milk.. not sure if it helps.. 2nd time mummies should be able to help to advise more. =)

i use before fenugreek no use for me haha .. just relax and dont stress about milk supply just pump and pump and clear ur boobs the milk will come

There's another baby fair called the motherhood exhibition 2012 from 31 may to 3 jun at expo hall 6B.

Hazel, I was asking the same questions a while back. I also worried that I will not have supply to bf bb as the same situation with my mum and my sis. But other mommies who are not 1st time mums will tell you that if you try you will succeed. Same as what my friend told me, she has to try for 1 whole wk pumping (even got blood sometimes) to get the milk supply going. She said never give up. So now I'm seriously considering getting a automated pump instead of a manual one. For automated one, medela mid range to high range ones are good. Like all big ticket items, buy while there are discount it's more worth it.

get a better pump .. manual can be for backup purpose cause all electrical appliances can fail and at any time haha .. and then it will be a terrible and horrible fate imo