(2012/08) Aug 2012

think market rate is $1800 to $2000 for off peak. Dragon year consider peak so it is probably up to abt $2300. If during CNY, it can go up to $3k

Hoi yen> from previous posts, some mummies did comment it's ard 2-2.3k

xin_starzz: Don't worry. Based on CRL charts online, your bb's measurement sounds perfectly fine for 6 weeks and a few days. The gynae usually won't say anything if he/she thinks that things are moving along fine.

I totally understand your anxiety though. I'm the paranoid type. =P It's been more than 2 weeks since I first saw the very tiny embryo with the very faint flickering which I believe was the heartbeat and I can't help but wonder if things are still going along fine - I have a lot of stress in my life at the moment and hope it won't affect baby too much. Can't wait for my next visit next week so that my anxious heart will be still!

mahjong: My experience was different from yours. For my #1, I had contractions before my waterbag burst. Fortunately, the waterbag burst only after I arrived at the ward. I think everyone's experience may be slightly different. =)

KJChua: That having been said, it was also a few hours from the time the waterbag burst till actual delivery, so try not to worry too much!

yanlin: Glad to hear that baby is well. Average growth is still good news. Stay positive!

hoi yen:
The CL rate now is ranging from $2K to $2.3K based on some mummies' feedback. The two CLs I contacted recently both quoted $2.3K though..and both are already taken in Aug.

KJChua:
For my #1, I did not experience any contractions at all since 2am when my waterbag burst till my emergency c-sect (breech baby) at 8am in the morning.

BBL/jljz:
Hope your kids get well soon..

Yanlin:
Good to hear baby is ok. Rest well!

I suddenly have this giddy spell 10 minutes ago while staring at my computer.. gotto stop all work and rest for a while and it's gone now.. weird...I hope this won't happen when I'm walking on the street else I may faint.. *sweat ah*..

Hello Pokkadotta, hoi yen.

I am tired mostly in the morning, I feel dizzy, fainting spell and gastric pain in the morning and really feel like resting at home esp these 2days.

Sherry, u SAHM or FTWM?

Jenn, who is complainining? Ur Kids or The Teacher?

My Friend CL during CNY she get is $3.2K, super ex.

Ninger, ur baby last min breech when about to deliver or few weeks before?

I had giddy spell this morning too..and I got to push my daughter for a good 20mins journey to her infant care. I so scare I fainted and she alone. So I tell myself must presever. Now I still have that tinge of giddyness.......

Ur work place low period now huh? Sherry.

Suddenly today I got so many work to do...xian.....and been feeling so giddy, dizzy...headache...uncomfortable and keep burping like I think LCF or who say, like a toad, that croaks......and fart a few times also.

Mahjong> I guess u love mj? *Hee if so nxt time can organise a game with e mummies..

Sherry is a FTWM
known her from Jan 2010

Mahjong:
My #1 all along breech, refused to turn. Waterbag burst unexpectedly at week 35 so she is a premmie...that's y gotto c-sect else I prefer natural. Good thing is I manage to try natural successfully for #2. Hopefully #3 also natural.

mahjong: LOL! Croaking like toad.. That's me! in the morning!! everyday!! hahahaha... the burps are so loud and rough like croaking lor...

Today i also feel abit more nausea.. especially like NOW!!! mouth also always so bland and tasteless.. terrible feeling.. but the good news is.. 45 min to knock off time!!

happy weekend everyone!!

today is a busy day for me. got to cover 2 colleagues... anyway time flies faster while being busy.

colleagues went on leave to do hair, facial, mani & pedi and yet I can't do a single thing this CNY. Kind of sad for me...

so looking forward to next Tues. finally get to see my lil one after 3 weeks of waiting.time pass so slow ya...

Dear August Mummies,

Hihi! I am 9weeks 6days today. Been reading this thread silently since the first post but did not post. It is only after I see baby for the second time and today I see the head, body, hands and legs, as well as heard baby's heartbeat, that I decided to muster enough courage to join all of you here. It was an amazing experience seeing the baby's hands waving. Will never forget that. Next scan is oscar scan on 30th Jan.

I've updated my brief data on the spreadsheet, EDD 15th Aug, seeing Dr SF Loh who just set up a clinic at TMC, was from KKH, #1. I have been married for 6 years, had a miscarriage 3 years ago and gone through 3 surgeries for my endometriosis and adenomyosis the past 10 years. So it is a long journey and I am glad I've reached this stage. Am on medical leave till 31st Jan to rest during this first trimester so I'd have the time to chat with you gals

Enjoy your weekend ahead!!!

sandy Oscar scan is to detect down's syndrome. But if you're not under high risk group (age factor/family history) doc will normally do normal scan for you..but you're free to do the scan optionally lah..

Thanks for the info abt CL's, think got to engage 1 ASAP as so many dragon bb... My 1st was born near CNY 2years back, it cost me $2.8k

wow this thread is pretty active.am expecting my #3 on Aug 25th.

Gloomybear, your case is pretty much the same as mine. My nauseous feeling is terrible at night.

Hi hoiyen,

I don't have any appetite in the morning. Can't eat a lot on each meal. So I eat less but more meals, separate one bowl of young tau foo into lunch n tea break.
I lost appetite when see take away food. Only eat porridge n light flavor meal. But very hungry ESP after taken nap each day.

I have to pack my bag for hospital admission. I m worry that my employer will not be happy on my hospitalization leave. How? How frequent u all visit ur gynae? I visit him almost on weekly basis. Sometimes even breaking records by visiting him 3 times a week. Perhaps mine is high risk pregnancy

Yanlin, I feel the same, take away food so oily but bo bian have to eat cox too lazy n dunno wat to cook. Recently i bought 马玉山 products, whole grain drinks/ porridge. Taste not bad n healthy!
Wat happened to u? Wat kind of high risk pregnancy?

hi hoi yan,
Yes, my appetite is actually quite good. So, like you I am also always looking for food. But trying to control my diet, as I put on 18 kgs previously and never lost it all....

hi AG Gal,
Good suggestion, I will try to get the first appt next round. Hopefully, cuts down the waiting time.... :)

Yanlin> hope nothing serious.. Not the time to really bother whether ya employer will be happy or not, BB definitely more important. Guess most shld visit gynae once a month for now.. Moving towards second n third trim then abit more frequent

Re:appetite
Same here... Don't eat as much as before cause of MS but it seems better these two days.. However, heartburn took over and ended up.. I still dun dare to eat too much
Guess its good cause am still stuck with 10kg from last pregnancy.. Was joking with a friend that hopefully, I can gain 5-6 KG this time round and lose all the 15 after I popped.. Must be dreaming haha

Have a good weekend, mummies!!

Dear gals,
Thanks for the welcome!!!

Is it a MUST to get CL? I was wondering if I can manage with catered food, then my mum and mother in-law taking care of me when they are free (not 24/7) and hubby don't work for about 2 weeks after delivery and work less 3-4 weeks after delivery. I have no maid. You gals think like that can?

Dear Yanlin,
I agree with Sherry, nothing is more important than baby right now. I feel very strongly cos I had a miscarriage, been married 6 years and failed 1 IVF cycle. I BFP this time round through 2nd IVF cycle. Nothing can compare to this new life inside us...

My doctor feels i'm high risk and gave me 1 month MC to pass this crucial first trimester. I know I'm gonna burden others with my work and will affect appraisal, etc etc but nothing is more important than my baby now. Luckily for me, my superiors have been very supportive! Are yours supportive?

Hihi all! like same of you, i've very bad MS these few days, day and night. very nausea and motion sickness when i travel to/fro work. everything i eat now is bland/tasteless.

xin_starzz>> my last scan at 7wk (although i saw dr's scan indicating 6w5d) was 6.7mm for bb. Dr said size is normal, so i guess we're fine.

yanlin>> has your bleeding stop? did Dr Lim say what causes the bleeding? im also seeing Dr Lim on weekly basis, he wants see me every week until week 12.
dont think about work now, bb is more important now....

hi mothers... let me pimp abit here on an insurance plan meant for all of us.. (i'm an AXA insurance agent). but of cos, feel free to chk with your own AXA insurance agent regarding this plan if you're more comfortable with your agent. I just find this new plan good. It just won an award for insurance for mums to be.

Mother's Advantage:
Who can apply:
- Female, age 18 age nearest birthday - 45 age nearest birthday
- 18 wks - 32 wks of pregnancy, not conceive through any form of IVF.
- Singapore citizens and SPR

Mum's advantage consist of 2 plans.
Mum care/mum care plus + regular ILP plan

mum care/mum care plus covers death benefit for mothers, pregnancy complications, hospital care benefit for mother, congenital illnesses benefit for child, and hospital care benefit for child.

and the ILP is transferable to the child. can be used to plan for child's education savings

the mum care/ mum care plus is about $300-$600 per year (for 3 yrs/6yrs). ILP premium will depends on the sum assured you choose.

That's about the summary. For additional info, can PM me.
Won't spam this thread further on insurance

it's so true that all pregnancy is diff.

for my #1, i crave for spicy food. #2, no cravings at all and slight MS. both are girls.
For this #3, night sickness, plus i like all unhealthy food! yu tiao, wonton mee, ba kwa, fried hokkien mee, fried carrot cake, etc.

jia lat.... really worry i will put on 20kg for this pregnancy. previous 2 only put on 13-14 kg.

yanlin, jia you! don't worry abt wat others think. now most impt is your baby.
I kena bedrest for my #2 also... that was at week 27. suddenly bleeding... so got to bedrest in hospital for about 10days...gyane wanted me to bedrest all the way... but i miss my #1 too much. so insisted to go home. back at home, really got to just STAY STILL. lol.

CL:
i haven't hire CL for my 1st 2 pregnancy. have my mum to help me. but i realise i can't rest well.
during confinement for #2, #1 is always around to disturb.
so i think, with #3, there's #1 and #2 to disturb. jia lat.
I'm thinking to send both #1 and #2 to my mum's house. then cater confinement food . i think can rest better since baby slps alot. i can slp when baby slp.

Hi sashamama, i m also thinking of not getting a cl. Thinking of getting my mil to cook for me or get confinement tingkat. N prob my parents in law will b ard during daytime to provide extra pairs of hands. But they r so inexperienced n old already, i also dunno if they can help or not.
So i guess must prepare ourselves well if really gg to diy. Go for classes to know wat to do, ask around for tips, read up. N hope for the best. My friends were saying it's v tiring esp first time mum so still thinking if shd get some professional help or not.

Today visited gynae, bb is 28.7mm, so far so good, but even with my little spotting, my gynae says no spring cleaning and as much as Possible, avoid carrying my boy.. If my spotting increases he will want me to jab n take med and bed rest..

But luckily bb heartbeat is strong.

Jljz, I also ask my gynae abt your frequent spotting, your current gynae got give you med or jab to stabilize your pregnancy? He say any spotting is no good..

Yanlin, please take care.. Dun think too much..

Nowadays not many superiors are truly "supportive", really have to depend on luck..
For me, i try my best not to take mc during this period and arrange my gynae visit after office hours if possible.. Cos my boss on surface ok with it, but if I take long mc or leave, I confirm Kenna later..

Sashamama
I share the same gynae as u... I got bfp from my 1st ivf. he is concerned abt my 1st trimester too, n ask me to see him every 2week.

For cl, I'm thinking nt to get too. Prolly will get hubby n mom to assist abit... Better save the $ for baby items.

Dear gloomybear and urchin,
Thx for your inputs on CL. I will read up a lot a lot and try to manage with whatever I have. Hoping for more input from other mummies!!! Do you get CL? Do you think it is a must?

Re: MS
I am very lucky, no vomiting, can eat as per normal, in fact hungry often though full fast but can still finish a whole portion. Just ate curry fish head with hubby. hehe. Frequent urination, pulling cramps here and there, nausea but no vomiting, giddy and headache sometimes.

How I wish I can start prenatal massages soon!!!

Dear Jean,
Oh!!! You followed Dr loh to TMC too? He is still such a busy man!!! But I had a good consultation with him today, not rushed at all. I asked whatever I wanna ask
He is such a joker. I heard the heartbeat for the first time, very fast and loud and sounds like galloping. So I laughed and said, wa like got horse inside. He said No la, is dragon inside. Lol.

You also not gonna get CL? Will someone else be there for you 24/7? I'm thinking at night my hubby sure around. Day time when my mum not working she looks after me, when she working, my mother in law comes to help me. I'm staying with my mum, so should be quite feasible. Hehe...

Yea I followed Dr Loh but am stil concerned over him being too bz.. last wk my 1st appt with him at tmc I waited for 1h30mins :/ Did Dr Loh measured baby heartbeat per sec? Next wk I must remember to remind him:p I'm curious to know my bb heartbeat rate.

My hubby work quite flexible... So I guess most of the times he will be ard to assist me, like cook for me etc. just the baby part maybe need more practice... Will ask my mom come over to teach.

Anyway I dunno if I'm considered lucky or nt... I don't vomit too but always feel nausea throughout the day...esp. after meals. As a result, my appetite becomes not tat gd tis few weeks. Hope faster passed the 1st tri :/

Sashamamma~ My SIl just gave birth to 2nd and they just hired a helper for the chores but meal wise, her own mum prepares for her..just 2 of the days when she's not free, then my mum went to help.

From what you mentioned that you're living with your mum..it sounds it could be manageable, confinement tingket sounds good too but maybe the hsework your hb will hv to help more then...or maybe look for part time hse cleaner-(that'll lessen your burden as i suppose you want more time for bb)

when my turn next time, worse, no confinement tingket here but thankfully my mum already said she'll be coming to help..plus my in laws just next door hehe

So u r staying with ur mum then shd b better than me. Cos me with hubby only. But hubby n mum working, dun depend too much on them cos they're probably tired too. I know i can't depend too much on hubby cos he's tired also. N keep telling me he dunno anything one. Now ask him to help with housework also difficult. So i still need to wash the clothes. Spring cleaning cannot do since can't climb up. So asking ppl not to come to my house during cny. Haha.

Sashamma: it's not compulsory to get a CL but prob good in a way cause she can help take care of BB day and night. If u are breastfeeding, u might need to pump etc at night so if there is no one to help, u might not get ample rest..
Am going to stop production after number two so guess I wanna be good to ensure I do my confinement well cause (not sure if it's true), confinement is prob your only chance to recuperate your health.