(2012/08) Aug 2012

Kelly,
if yours is natural, keep on latching in hospital and the milk will kick in. if csect, best to bring along the pump. After latching the baby pump again to stimulate the brain that the body needs to produce more milk. when back at home, latch and then pump too! =)

it's all about supply and demand... the more you latch/pump, the more milk supply... don't get too stressed up (i cried on the 2nd day after birth cos my colostrum didn't kick in!!! and when i seeked LC's help, i cried too!)

got to be hardworking at night also! it's quite tiring if there is no CL around to help you jagar the baby... so best to have CL and your job is the focus on your moo moo career!

drink plenty of fluid like hot soup, longan red date tea etc... green papaya soup may help also... supplements like fenugreek and sacred tea (or there are other types of nursing tea..) may also help to increase the milk supply... there is also medication to help increase but my personal view is that it will be really the last resort if milk supply is very low.. =) and also got to eat well too!!! no lessening of food intake because you want to slim down okie? haha..

most importantly is support from parents, in laws and your husband! =) let them know that you wish to breastfeed... and tell them that you hope to get the full support from them. and that means no negative comments like "you got no milk lah.. your milk not nutritious enough lah.."

can also get a breastfeeding pillow and bring it along with you to your ward when you deliver.. or you can use the ward's pillows too (i myself got the pillow but nv utilize at all cos it was pressing on my wound..)

=) read up more on breastfeeding... especially about correct latching.. massaging of the breast... what to do when there is engorgement... and also the various positions that you can latch your baby!

hope you will have a pleasant breastfeeding first experience babe! =)

thanks for the welcome ladies..
for both #1 and #2 i have bad MS..
#1 maybe still consider young, can tahan w/o med but #2 really cannot, i have to take in morning to ensure i can last thru the work days but the anti nausea pills make me drowsy..

jljz: Thanks! I will save what you just typed so i wont forget what to do haha! I think my mom sure nag at me about it but i'm going to endure!

Cathy,

That does sound a bit insensitive. I guess it's just the tone that is being used that puts you off. Hope the new gynae works out for you! I am not with Dr WK Tan but with Dr M Tan in the same clinic. Have 2 colleagues who have had 3 kids with Dr WK Tan and no complaints.

Kelly,
There is a supplement called fenugreek that should help boost milk production. I did not try for the #1, but I think I will try this time round coz previously also not much milk. Like what BBL mentioned, drinking hot soups like papaya and fish soup or even hot beverages like milo should help too.

i am glad to know i am not the only one who is looking 3-4mths preg now.
#1 my tummy din show till after 5mths n i can fit in all my reg work wear, which could b due to me losing weight in 1st tri..
but #2 even tot no appetite also but the tummy like bursting.. gotta go get maternity wear to hide till 3mths

Yogi08: Ok i'll try to get the fenugreek supplement
and more soups!! hahah

Kelly,
hahaha.. no problem! =) will share more after we deliver! =P i'm sure there are many mommies here who can offer even better advices! let's all learn frm one another's experience yah! hehee...

Jijz: Yes! it's good to learn from one another haha

BTW, i just saw this article from asian parent regarding removing of stretch marks not sure if it works can try!

http://sg.******************/get-rid-of-stretch-marks-in-six-simple-steps/

kelly,
dont worry..its really just demand and supply
need drink lotsa hot fluids and eat well too

initially i was worried i had no milk and my milk come only on 4th day but i still managed to tbf my boy for 1 yr and just stop bf-ing him a few days back!
do read up on it and rem that initial days of breastfeeding is really tough but once u get the hang, its really easy and its the best for baby!

cathy,
i saw dr wong for #1...so far everything has been good and my hb likes her alot
we have at least 10 friends who have seen her going cont with her cos hard to find good female gyneas

mummyR, yeah.. even my SIL is with her. But just that the way she bring things across just makes me feel uncomfortable. She made me feel like i am not suppose to ask anything.. coz anything i asked will just be "shoot".. just dun feel comfortable with her..

cathy,
thats weird...shall see how it goes when i see her after CNY...appt all full!

now tummy seems to be showing, by CNY ppl ask, i also dunno what to say!

mummyR... i had an appt on 20th Jan.. will be cancelling it.. if u want my slot tell me, then i will call to cancel.. hehe just for u!

Cathy: I just bought my stretch mark cream from my gynae...cost me $50 plus.I thought it was "reasonable" because i saw another brand Mambino which cost 90 bucks...should have waited and not so "chong dong"

Evelyn Loh: the blood test you referring is it for checking down syndrome?

BBL: i hardly dream nowadays cos simply I am just too tire. Usually KO before 11.30pm..heee...

You all have any recommendation for good gynae in the east side?

Hello Jen.

Kelly, I dun even really have sore boobs. Last time #1 will have.

Xin_Starrz, thanks. I have 2 MCs previously before I got my #1. So I still little paranoid.
Ur gynae at JE is NUH Women's Clinic huh? Or?

Hello EnXin.

Cathy, oh no. Better change Gynae.

Kelly, Yes, dun give up on bf. I only succeed after baby is 1mth old, and was a little discourage in between. So if you really want to bf, keep trying.

Yogi, Fernugeek did not work for me. Waste the $$$.But Kelly you can try, maybe only din work for me.

hello mummies, so busy today, now then got time to login. I used Clarins tonic oil for my last peggie and no stretch marks too. I have some leftover from 3 yrs ago but dun dare to use liao. I just bought from a website at $60 incl delivery charge..cheaper than counter.

BBL, I also have scary dreams often like ghost etc that when I woke up, I will be scared but cant remember the details.I usually KO by 10+.
I also wake up every night once to pee, sometimes cant fall back to sleep. I also agree to have CL cos my last preggie, my job is just to concentrate moo moo,eat and sleep...so nice

AG,
i KO even earlier 9+ but wake up in the middle of the night to feed my son and to pee 2 -3 times..but can zz back..cos i am constantly tired..

Mahjong..
last time succeed througout already..but his molar teething cause him to wake up screaming so need to feed him lo..

Welcome all the new mummies

Regarding Utrogeston, im also taking that and hate it cos it makes my nausea worst so i cut down and eat twice a day sometimes only :p but i really feel miserable eating this pill.
Saw my gynae today cos of my cramping yest and she mentioned could be due to stomach flu lucky bb is well and my blood clot seem to have reduce to much smaller and faster this round. Hopefully can stop the utrogestrone after next visit.
AG - where did you buy the clarins oil from? Im keen to get too. Its very effective cos i use it for no 2 time as well.

mahjong..my boy super cranky at night due to the molar lo...can kill me sia..

QQ i have those filter water but its PH 7 leh..neutral leh...

I use the clarin oil for my #1 also but not effective enough, still have, they say is inherited de for the Stretch Marks.

Cathy,
I never talk Annum Milk in my last pregnancy and doubt will drink this round as well. I just eat normal balance diet. Even I have MS, I also eat and sleep to delay the vomit and let it vomit out if can't stand.

I saw stall that selling beancurb w/o 石膏粉.

It's not too late to change gynae at all! You must find someone you are confident and confortable with, this is very important!

BBL,
yeah, which kids don't have itchy hands?? :p Mine got itchy hand (playful and cheeky one to purposely make us laugh or angry). He understand whatever we tell, but sometimes he just want to be cheeky. Kids like that nowadays, normal. I think we will be worry if our child too quiet?

Eat faw placenta?? Emm... sashimi?? :p

Your #1 wake up for milk at night? Just pat him and ask him to sleep, see if he is okie?

celestine,
Everything will be fine. Enjoy your trip to Taiwan.

Beancurb, some is without the harden chemical called 石膏粉.

MummyR,
Yeah, we will grow faster than those who having their #1 now. As our based is already expanded before. I gain 18kgs when pregnant with #1. But i can wear back my jeans 10 days aft deliver my son. And I ate a lot during confinement, just liquid already more than 3.5 litre everyday for 40 days, plus 1kgs veggie everyday, rice etc. 5 meals per day during confinement. :p

Wendy,
Hi, welcome. My #1 is same as yours, deliver in Jan 2010.

AG,
you are not only the unlucky one. My #1 also sticky to me, super sticky!

Mahjong,
Yeah, i never know the gender till the moment I delivered my son. This round will not scan for gender as well

JLJZ,
Hi, how's are you? Spotting stop oledi?

Sharon,
itchy at where?

Sherry,
good genes, I read a lot of cases, if your mom doesn't hv the stretch marks, unlikely you will have as well, not sure how true.

Mindy,
Don't feel that you are fat now. Isn't it this is the time you shouln't worry about weight gain?

Stargazzing,
Sorry to hear what had happen to your sister. Let's hope your other sibling able to help her. Meanwhile, you have to take care and rest well.

C M,
sorry to hear that

KJchua,
Hi, welcome to the thread, hope you enjoy the journey!

Powerwee,
is kinda normal that some mother to be cannot sleep back after wake up. But try not to read or watch tv aft that, try to lie back and try to sleep back. Hope you can sleep well.

Evelyn,
Your MIL can cook well ? If not, tell your husband help you to seek for approval to outsource lor.

Kelly,
How to have enough milk supply? Normally for first time mother, milk supply will not come immediate after you deliver, however, you still have to latch your baby. My milk supply becoming more only from 4 days onwards. And I fully breastfeed my son, no mixed and I still have enough to give away. I can generate 2 litre and try to reduce it even my son turn 15 mths old. Must eat well, rest well, drink more water, soup. I didn't eat special food but I eat balance diet. And the milk still solid and yellowish even 15 mths after birth. And i drink papaya fish soup everyday, eat fish everday day.

vinwee,
nope... still have on n off spotting (red!) hahaa.. i'm taking it easy.. thanks for u asking =)hugsss

BBL,
no need to go for further jabs. as in why i'm still spotting, he doesn't know. it say doesn't matter leh.. hahaa..

Hi ladies, I'm new to this thread. I'm 10weeks now.. Edd is 03aug. Just went for 2nd scan, baby is already 4cm & heartbeat is 140.

Anyone not goin for the OSCAR scan? My gynae say it's not necessary for me to scan becoz of my age.

vinwee> hahaha i should thank my mum yeah! But hard to say for number two. I am still stuck with 10kg from my last pregnancy, really cant imagine slapping another 10-15 this time round.. I will probably look like a fat pig hahaha
Hey, my girl also Jan 2010.. did u join the Jan 10 thread?

Kelly> fenugreek seems to work for me.. but my helper say papaya leaf works the best..even after u wean off, breast will still stay very firm and perky hahaha. mine is like whobbly jelly.. damn er xin.. guess i will try to get some papaya leaf to 'feng xiong' and boost milk supply

jljz,
Hi, you might want to try to cook glutinous rice with lotus (莲藕)This recepi posted in the forum before, recommend by a TCM to stop spotting. just cook it like porridge and eat. a lot of lady in the thread try before and it help.

Hope your spotting will stop soon. hugz...

miracle_happens> if u are below 30, its pretty quite safe not to take the test cause the change of getting DS is pretty slim.. but guess sometimes good to be kaisu la..

sherry
hmmm cant be sure..cos for me its a big who ha...
when i have my no 1 i am 27 only..went for oscar test everything is normal..went for detail scan...its not normal..cos sonopher say i have Thick NT..which is bb neck is thick..mean high possibility of down syndrome..
so no choice i went for the painful amino acid test where they draw the water out for my tummy..its damn scary lo..lucky the test resukt is negative for it..

Sherry,
LOL... should gv your mom a big big hug and kiss.

I am from Feb 2010 thread. My son come earlier, 30 Jan

Try to breastfeed, i eat a lot and breastfeed, shed easily. How much you gain last time? I gain 18kgs.

Wow, your helper "jun bo" eat papaya leaf the breast will stay firm??? I have no problem with supply, can feed 3 babies. But I want to "feng xiong" LOL.....

Kitty,
Hi Hi, I try to reply one by one... I have terrible memory, my hubby says 小气, always remember every single thing.. :p