(2012/08) Aug 2012

Hi Jojo, I am now confused - NT scan and OSCAR same? Nurse just said 10 days later if no call means good news. I drew a syringe of blood too - brochure says its antenatal screening for rubella, hepatitis, hiv etc. They prob use the same blood to analyse the down syndrome thingy.

I now have new obimin, calcium and fish oil to take, thank goodness I am a pill person, but I am worried they will make me nauseous (some of my frds get that), just when I thought the days of pregnancy pills are over!

Ningers you are with Heng Tun Luan too right? It was the malay nurse who told me 10 days, how do you know your result was out on friday?

JC,
If boy, u will see the "thing" but the Gynea will have to be extra careful to scan if it is the BB's finger or the ambical cord. My detailed scan for the #1 report out "High Chance Girl", my gynea help to scan also say girl. But one week before I due to deliver my Gynea scan again and say oh finally can see it is a BOY. LOL

jljz > think positive... if most of the bbs you know are boys, then the likelihood you will have a girl is greater :p it's all about probability! haha. i think it would be so nice to have a girl to dress up and play girly games with... the thought of having another son (mine is super active and demanding) is quite frightening to me.

Ling,

Actually Dr. Heng told me usually the result is out in one week's time. For my case, it could be due to bad result that's why Dr. Heng called me personally on Friday. I just did my CVS test yesterday. The quick result will be out tomorrow noon. Full report will only be out two weeks later. Don't worry too much. No news means good news.

Hi gals ,
joining you all for august babies...

EDD is 3rd august .. wonder if anyone managed to get the gender alrdy ?

hahaa... so praying hard whoever wishes for whatever gender, we'll get the gender we want (if we can..) hahaa... but most importantly everyone of us has a smooth pregnancy and a healthy baby/babies at the end of 40 weeks! =P jia you!!!

Sandy> Thanks for the video.. really interesting.. no wonder the stenographer was saying she dun wanna confirm the gender cause results can be misleading ahhaha

Boy or girl.. think healthy most importantly though i will love to have a boy cause number one i wanted a girl.. I guess will some how feel pressurized though i think sometimes PILs dun mean it when they made comments like asking my girl to keep her toys so can pass to didi etc.. feel like telling FIL, what if its a girl hahaha

Ling, I think NT and Oscar are slightly different.. not very sure also though..

ninger, CVS is different from amnio?

Welcome nahnah!

During my CVS test yesterday, the Dr. commented that mine could be a boy. Anyway, I will know the gender for sure anyway when my result is out tomorrow. Hopefully I get to keep this baby...I already have two lovely girls, really hope to have a boy for #3.

not yet .. i had my oscar on 30th jan.. but was flatly refuse by the technician to give any clue .. doc ultrasound also just say : too early to confirm .. so sad... cant start my spree yet .. heard that if boy 12-13 week can see liao .. so really wondering if mine is gal ..

oh ya oh ya .. for early august mummy .. dun worry about chinese 7th month .. cos i calculated ... then this year happen to have "lun yue" meaning double month .. meaning got 2x april .. so our baby should nt be 7th month ..
only edd after 17th august then is 7th month ...

Sherry,
me n u same same, #1 girl n the ENTIRE family is saying, didi didi didi.
story been both side mostly boys (1:6)but my parents n solely my parents ALL girls.
then now we sisters also ALL girls n the ENTIRE family is saying my mum is cursed/ jinx n so we as her daughters also cursed/ jinx.
so everyone is pinning that one of us sisters will have a boy to "break the curse"
my MIL has 2 sons n she understands tat gender is determine by the male but i believe all ILs would want to have a male offspring to "carry the surname" so am pinning my hopes also so my mum don need to b burden tat she jinx her daughters.

<font color="aa00aa">hi mummies! talking about bb sex now, i wonder will i know it tmr?</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Miko</font>
<font color="aa00aa">i've clear/yellowish discharge too. my dr said as long as there is no smell or you don't feel itch/pain, its ok. im on duphaston too.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">MummyR</font>
<font color="aa00aa">same here. most of my friends are having dragon boys!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">sandy</font>
<font color="aa00aa">my EDD is on the last week of Aug. i was planning for c-sec so that i can deliver before the 7th mth. dunno am i too pantang?</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Ling</font>
<font color="aa00aa">im going for my Oscar tmr. can't wait to see the full baby shape too. our EDD is 2 days apart.</font>

jen > that's such a shame. all children are blessings whether they are boys or girls! personally i would love to have a daughter! daughters are closer to the family in the long run.

Sherry:

My situation is a bit like urchin, FIL is the eldest son, hb is the eldest grandson. And being in such a traditional family, they keep saying "your son this, your son that, this is for my son, this is for my grandson etc"

So I deliberately told them, I think it is a girl. =x

Jen, aiyo, now so modern liao still got this kind of thinking.. Sometimes really weird when those pple who start all these nonsenses are women themselves.. And because of this carry the surname thing, the boys get overly spoilt by the grandparents and ended up bcome useless adult infuture then is worse..

nahnah, my no.1 only showed himself when we did our detailed scan at 20 weeks..

Loves,
You have a choice better dont C-Sect, risk is there. I will let God decide on when he wants my BB to arrive although my EDD is 1st day of 7th mth which i think high chance got my #1 born exactly on the EDD.

All mummies going for Oscar and I never go for a single test. Maybe next monday, they will draw my blood. LOL

han,
i also feel bless jus to have children regardless boy or girl most impt is healthy.
but i really hate n pains my heart to hear ppl say that abt my mum cos i don feel cursed or jinx(p/s: my mum passed away 20yrs ago)
i know everyone meant well as to them have boys then we as DILs can "lift" our heads high but but.. haix...

For those that went for blood test , did your bruise stay ? cos usually before pregnant the bruising from draw blood is just mayb 3 days .. this one stayed 2 weeks ...

Nahnah,

your nurse not skillful? Make u bruise for 2 week. Try put warm towel and rub slightly it will reduce abit.

I also love to have a gal this round since my #1 is a boy but I guess it doesnt really matter that much as long as my baby is healthy. my boy said my baby is didi and meimei...I hope to find out later cos chance of gal will be higher.
nahnah, how come will have bruise and stays so long...if the nurse is good, we shouldnt have any bruise.

i duno leh ... apparently the nurse is specially the doc ask to come in take blood .. her job scope is only take blood .. so cannt be skill no gd .. i tot is part of pregnancy problem .. so i ignore ..

Jen> i see.. my side most of them one boy one girl.. my hubby side mostly boys hahaha.. but hubby prefer girls hahaha.. but hopefully i can have a hao combi cause no way i am gg to have number three whahahah.. anyway, hb got a brother so too bad.. let the brother continue with the chuan zhong jie dai hahaha

hey Ningers, hope your detailed scan and CVS result come out good. let's not worry unnecessarily and enjoy the moment while we can (i sometimes wonder if it is enjoyment with all the hormones whacking up our system!)

do you mind me asking if you have a family history of down syndrome or any of the result that came out from your NT and blood test? i always thought the abnormalities these tests scan for are very much inhereditary.

AG,

my boy said the same thing. he wants didi and meimei. unfortunately i'm not having twins leh. i'm actually hoping for a girl. but my hb already insisted the one inside is a boy and even thought of a name for him. just hope he won't get too disappointed when bb turned out to be a girl. for me, importantly is the baby is healthy.

powerwee, ur hb and son same like mine. my hb said his sixth sense tells him that its a boy. that day during our NT scan, he said he saw the penis haha and the lady told us too early to tell. maybe our boy knows what mummy and daddy wants so he said that to make both of us happy. my boy is very good at 'por' people. he will tell me I am his number 1 in front of me and tell his daddy that he is his number 1 to his daddy. he will also tell my sisters that he loves them etc, sometimes cant stand him.

yup .. most importantly is baby healthy.. although kena alot of pressure to have a baby boy ... but still i only pray for health .. cos i tink we as mothers , that is the thing we would give up anything for ...

Dun worry so much abt the cvs ... there is alot of false result ... so no reason to worry your self .. must positive !!! the last time when i was 6 weeks .. first scan.. before scan hear so many story that baby no heart beat .. scare myself to death ... then during scan , really cannot detect heartbeat!!! Luckily at 8 weeks finally found the thump thump .. this time for oscar .. i die die tink positive .. keep tinking baby so jumpy sure very ok one .. so turn out to be gd result .. POSITIVE THINKING!!!!!!

My girl is so naughty, I dun even know if she will be a good JIe jie?????????

Sandy, ur boy that time hide his didi with umblical cord and such ar? U only know 1 week before delivery? So u bought girls clothes liao?

Dunno they say usually nearer edd the gender for girl will become boy or is it boy will become girl at later stage of scanning....I cant rem which one more possible.

Mahjong,
I never buy a single new BB clothings. All pass down from my SIL. Even my MIL buy also buy white becuase i tell her I also dont know. Dr never say 100% girl. Lucky never buy also cos he was born a jumbo at 3.75kg can only wear new born clothing for a mth nia then have to change to 3mth plus clothing liao. LOL
If go see the video link i share, both boy and girl look the same at first. The later stage the boy one will form. Girl one just slight changes.

AG, What is ur boy age again?

Sandy, my laptop cannot open the video...never mind.BUt I see Han's link, got a clearer picture.

mahjong, he just turn 3 last week. I baked cupcakes for his childcare celebration last week and I think I strained myself which is why this week I am so so tired and having stomach cramps. today and tmrw will work from home so hope it gets better.

han, so at our stage, all will look like boy. looks like 20 weeks will be more accurate then...hee. I should show him.

Is like that la ... tonight having dinner wif mil .. i am quite sure i get asked abt gender again .. haiz ... i keep tinking seriously if end up is gal .. then mil say things like : "if boy then will be better .." i sure upset one ... but still knowing that it might happen also beyond control ...
How come in times like this DIL still have to face this ...

my in laws are traditional family.. so can feel that they prefer boys lah.. but even so, I am glad they are not too extreme like the grandma in 995... that's too extreme, if I m treated like that I won't stay there anymore n won't even care abt her..
thou I must say my husband is more 'valued' than his sister.. but his sister also dun need to do housework etc.. just that when they need money they'll get money from her and when they feel rich, they'll try to give my husband money..
other than that they are still quite nice to both children, as in both get to eat the better food in the house, luckily I also get to eat.. n i also dun need to help with housework..

Any gender of baby is the gift given to us as a new life. I read somewhere that if we prefer male or female,the baby could feel it. In turn, there are also some impact on the foetus.

ever since I knew bout it, my mindset has changed. Any gender is fine to me as long as the bb is healthy and developing well. I will risk my life to exchange for the health of the little one. Perhaps it's all fated.

ya lor.. any one of you started shopping for little one liao ?
i am starting to look ard for stroller .. haha .. just cant wait to find out the gender ...

nah nah> i started when i was abt 3 mths for number one.. everyone i say was at least 5 mths and i was the only one shopping at Baby kingdom with a flat tum tum hahaha.. i bought all in orange so can be used for both boys and girls...

nahnah,
i havent start shopping yet...but buying alot more for my #1...hehee...cos confirm got #2 to continue using! just got a new stroller :p

i think as mothers to be, most of us only wish for healthy babies, regardless of genders.

it's others who give us pressure and make us frustrated.

i hate it when people keep saying "oh you need a boy!" when my #1 is a girl......why do people think that only a girl and a boy makes a complete family?

hellow nahnah
my edd is just 2 days after u.
you should not get too upset from ur MIL's remarks..the bb belongs to ur hb and yourself. If my MIL say this to me think i will just brush off by saying health is more impt than gender..

Sherry
saw that video from yahoo..yes the bb is very big and the mother also eat normally..

My family has no stress At all on the genders. My in laws mentioned any gender is fine, there goes the same to my parent. Most importantly is the bb's health.