(2012/06) Jun 2012

Hospital bag no need to bring much lah. Just some clothes, easy for nursing, clothes when you are discharged (you will still be fat), disposable underwear, bra, impt toiletries, handphone and charger. The rest no need. You will be too tired to read your magazine or book, or listen to cd. Most of the things I had packed remained in the bag but I ran out of pants.

Hehs.. I only using my yoga sports bag as hospital bag. Dun pack too much things there r more things to bring back. U need the empty space for hospital gifts, frinds who visit u gifts, any company gifts, leftover diapers.
Grab some yellow disposable pads which can be used as pillow at home. Also grab some blue disposable pads that u can use to lay on bed in case lochia kenna ur own bed.
I took alot stuffs back. All paid for. So dun lugi.

Sel, no need baby bathe with hosp things. Usually hosp package already have enough diapers. Unless u dun want, otherwise baby nothing to bring. Maybe only 1 swaddle n baby gg home suit.

Kadice, I'm not too sure about the Metro... but I heard it's an older model. My Beauty Loft doesn't have the Metro anymore I think..

Re hospital bag, agree about not packing so much, but I need to bring essential stuff like 2 sets of clothes and undies for me and hubby who will be rooming with me, toiletries, make-up, a set of baby clothes and swaddle, hospital documents and marriage cert. My trolley bag is what we always bring along when we go back to JB for 3D2N stay during CNY, so should be good enough.

Fleur

37 wks is full term. I'm 34 wks liao. Trying to hold till 38 wks.

Yeah the pelvic strain is a PAIN. Wonder if i can even stand at full term haha

Nattan

Yeah i had a really busy n tiring weekend. Din help that no1 puked on sat night n i had to rinse out all his clothes, bedsheet, pillow cases etc. Sigh

Hosp bag

Haha i'm bringing a 24inch trolley bag. But only half filled lah. Coz i dun have the cabin sized one. Nvm can use the extra space to store those goodie bags n samples stuff. My motto is overpack than be sorry haha. I even brought biscuits n milo coz from experience, i get hungry in the wee hrs

NB diapers

I bought 6 pks x 24 pcs of pampers. Then ard 100pcs of S size. Not using nappies n from experience, newborns really poo v frequently!

Chris

Wah ur gal's clothes really a lot lol

I dunno how i bought? 6 short sleeved top, 3 long sleeved tops n 9 long pants with booties. N i have leftover another 6 long pants without booties n at least 12 shorts from no1. Duh...??? Very unbalanced hor?

THINGS FOR BABY

Just to share... The pamphlet from TMC states that we dun need to bring anything for baby. All the diapers, wet wipes, diaper cream, sterile cotton balls, vests, mittens, swaddle, tissue, cord spirit, toiletries are all provided. Only thing is u want bb to wear your clothes home. The last time i delivered, it was also like that. Everything provided

jul > u got lots of bottoms? I shld b lettin my gal wear rompers most of the time. Wil only wear long pants at nite bah.

Saw tat many r bringin toiletries. R u all goin to bath in hosp aftr delivery? Last time i didnt bath once i delivered. Only bath on the 12th day onwards.

Yeah i dunno y i have so many bottoms! Think i shd have bought more tops n less bottoms lor. Blur as usual lol

Bring first. After all gotta wash face n brush teeth n i prefer to use my own facial wash n toothbrush n paste. Think i could bathe on the 2nd day, unless i kena emergency csec n end up bedridden or something?

When is ur csec date?

Zzzzz.. super no mood to work

I brought my extra bottoms, undies & pad, & a waterproof protector to work tdy. Gonna leave it here till I pop, in case waterbag burst while in office haha. Also put a waterproof pad & this old towel that I intend to throw away in Hubs' car.

So KS hor?

Bathing
Depends on individual. I didn't bring toiletries. Using hospital's. Too much hassle to bring. Gleneagles provide toiletries bag so it includes everything i need. Disposable panties, shower gel n shampoo, toothbrush n paste, comb. Stay 2days niah. I dun wanna stress the unpacking upon reaching home like #1.

Baby clothes
Depends on hospital. Gleneagles don't provide clothes. Baby wearing hospital clothes till discharge, u muz change baby. I think this yr they provide swaddle. So up to u if u wanna bring ur own. I bringing, cause theirs' is new. Haven't wash.

Bring ur tummy binder if u have. So they won't charge u.
Electronics
Certificates
Going home clothes mom n baby

Chris: Its my first time so i thought just bring in case. I know we are not allowed to bathe after delivery.

Toiletries
I brought shampoo, shower gel (120ml) and also the Klorane Dry Powder for Body and Klorane Dry Shampoo. Is that KS or what?
Toothbrush, toothpaste, dental floss, listerine, facial cleanser, serum & mist

Baby Clothes to Hospital
I am only bringing a cap, mittens, short sleeve romper and the sleeping kind of long sleeve romper where the feet part is covered to the hospital for my baby.

Jul: I am in my 33rd week now so one week behind you then and 4.5 weeks more to full term (37th week). Now thinking about that makes me excited yet nervous! My hospital bag only around 50% packed. Cot coming in this weekend. I better hurry book my final waxing, pedicure & hair cut by the 36/37th week.

Weather super nice today ... nice cool wind the kind i like. Ytd morning super hot i was actually fanning myself in church (even with the air con on)

Petrina: U also delivering in GlenE? When's ur EDD?

Nursing bra: I realised i need 2 more nursing bras which i plan on buying from Spring Maternity. I saw that their sizes look more suitable for my tiny breasts so will grab 2 from there.
I have 4 sleeping seamless bras from Sorella, 1 tube nursing band and 1 emma jane nursing bra. Will just ty to survive on these for the time being.

fleur

Oh haha I think I'm more KS than you! Hubs said why this time round the luggage looks so full, despite 'upgrading' to a bigger bag. I told him better to be prepared than sorry. I'm very yimchim one. I need my own stuff :p

I'm going for my final waxing at week 37 too - hopefully dun pop before that! But I'll do my haircut at week 36 or even 35.5. Dun wanna schedule everything together, scully not in time

Oh yeah abt nursing bra hor. In the beginning, don't wear tube, underwire, bras that pinch etc. very prone to causing blocked ducts. Wait till boobs are seasoned then start wearing these things.

Morning mummies... such a lovely cool day today to sleep in :p Too bad have to come back to work...

Re toiletries, I also prefer to bring my own. Even if I don't bathe, I still need to wash my face and hubby also needs to bathe. I don't know what PEH provides so just bring my gym toiletry bag in case. As for baby stuff, I think it's nicer for him to wear home clothes back than clothes provided by the hospital. Anyway these things are light weight so not a problem to bring.

Jul: Thanks for the tips on the bras. Will take note on that. Tomorrow i will pop down Spring Maternity and grab my bras so that i can wash and pack them.

I brought my own maternity pads (10pcs kotex pack) coz during my class they said the nurse will use the loop pads on us but usually most of us don't know how to use it and many patients just switch to their own Maternity pads. I intend to do that too!

Eating McDonald's Brekkie now!

fleur

You're welcome

Actually the loop pads aren't difficult to use. Coz TMC gave those boy shorts, very tight but very stretchy undies made of netting material. I just stuff the pad in & the panties hold them in place. I also had to start using my own pads coz that pathetic 10 pc pack by the hosp was certainly not enough.

Wah! Not working tdy? I think I shall go down to the canteen & get something to eat too haha

nattan

So wasted that I'm not sleeping at home in such weather haha

Looking forward to my appt on Fri though. Hope I get gd news like baby still head down, placenta still cleared for vaginal delivery but not popping anytime soon

Re nursing bras, I don't know if I have enough or not.. I'll just get hubby to wash them when I need them :p

Jul, pray that your baby is in the head-down position. Try to do more exercises to make sure he turns around. My baby is still in a head-down but left-facing position. I still get a lot of kicks on my right and sometimes it feels like he's doing break-dancing or DDR inside! A lot of leg movements! Then sometimes I feel his hands stretching/digging towards my groin area.. very uncomfortable! :p I can't wait to see him again the following Sat, 19 May

Weather is nice and windy today. Light rain only. In any case, still be careful if you are on the roads and watch out for slippery floor.

Had a relatively laid back weekend – in laws came over to my place to “check check” and make sure we are ready. :p Then we went for an early Mother’s Day dinner. Took out my breast pumps and stuffs to check and see how it works. Hehe. I must plan for my hair cut and also do up a list of instructions for my MIL so that she can care for my dogs.

Petrina

Do you know if Glen’s single rooms come with hair dryers? I heard that the hospital gowns are those long gowns which are tied at the back by string? So best to bring our own clothes to wear?

I have yet to do my pre-registration – gynae keeps saying not yet. She wants to do the swab test for me first and get the results then provide me with all the information to do pre-registration. She said in case I need to get antibiotics for the drip and all, she can indicate ahead of time for the labour ward to know and prepare.

Jul

When are you planning to work until?

Nattan

I only have like 6 nursing bras – hopefully should be enough to rotate assuming that I will be perspiring a lot and need to change them often.

Even though we complain about all the kicks and discomfort, I am going to miss this feeling a lot! It’s such a unique bond that no words can explain.

I do not mind the kicks and movements actually – at least I know she’s ok and having “fun” inside. Haha..I just wish she wouldn’t headbutt my bladder or maybe use her arms to poke at my bladder. That feeling is so odd, it’s like I’m going to leak pee anytime!

Jul: What type of nursing bras are you referring to then? I havent bought a nursing bra yet. I only have 2 sleep nusing bras thats without wire, just a band below.

Ssmilezz:Yup the hospital provides a long blue gownn which is tied to the back. I would prefer to use my own sleeping clothes with buttons in front for the convenience of breast feeding.
Gleneagles provides huggies diapers,huggies baby wipes and cotton wool (thats what i saw when i went to visit my cousin). I didnt notice any hairdryer though cos i thought we cant shower after giving birth.

Yup the swab test is your culture test.

Ssmilezz, yeah I will also miss the kicking feeling when baby arrives. So far, I don't leak unless I cough very hard :p

I don't want to wear the hospital gown! :p Makes me feel like a patient. I prefer to wear my own clothes even during delivery. I heard you can do that.. just wear something that you don't mind soiling and throwing away, so maybe an old nightgown or big tee. After delivery, you can wear your own pyjamas with front opening for breastfeeding.

Morning ladies! Loving the weather today. Woke up at 9.00am and started working from home at 10.00am :p

I guess I've over-packed my hospital bag. Hahaha. I was planning to use a weekend getaway kind of luggage but I think I'll downsize it to something smaller.

Nursing bra, I've only have 2 so far. So awkward to have my MIL keep buying stuff for me! Lucky she's super nice lah. Haiyoh! I think I'll stick to 2 for now and will buy more when I get the green light to move arnd.

Waxing, I was planning to go for one before the c-sect but my vagina feels kind of swollen. The hormones I'm taking helps relax the muscles but I doubt that I can survive the waxing. I might just have to try my best and use veet on the bikini line and ask hubby help me trim. At least, it won't be a jungle down there.

Smilezz: U delivering at GlenE too? Yes the hospital gown is opening from behind which makes it cumbersome for breastfeeding. I am bringing 2 sets of PJs - one is a nursing t shirt and another is button front PJ shirt.

When will you all be taking your leave? 1 or 2 weeks before EDD or working until EDD?

Movements
Mine either press something near my V area so it hurts like a sharp nerve pain or she will kick my ribs especially my right ribs but recently also my left. I notice my lower tummy is flatter and she seems to be moving up pressing against my stomach area which makes it hard for me to breathe or eat more.

I can't wait to see how my bb girl looks like and for my body to get back to normal (normal hormones and normal shape) so i won't waddle or have dark patches due to hormonal changes.

Yet i know my life will change! HB and I cannot just laze around ... wake up and go out anytime and have our own time. It will be revolving around her!

I hope i don't get Post Natal blues man!

Your sleeping your position

For mothers who have not been feeling well. Maybe adjusting your sleeping position helps

Some doctors specifically recommend that pregnant women sleep on the left side. Because your liver is on the right side of your abdomen, lying on your left side helps keep the uterus off that large organ. Sleeping on the left side also improves circulation to the heart and allows for the best blood flow to the fetus, uterus, and kidneys. Ask what your doctor recommends — in most cases, lying on either side should do the trick and help take some pressure off your back.

Sleeping on your back: This can cause problems with backaches, breathing, digestive system, hemorrhoids, low blood pressure and decrease in circulation to your heart and your baby. This is a result of your abdomen resting on your intestines and major blood vessels (the aorta and vena cava).

nattan, smilezz

I also get the head butt on my bladder. The kicks will be at my ribs, towards the right side too. And his hands are aws tickling my groin & bladder area. Really weird feeling haha

But yeah, I'll miss this feeling when he's out. Esp since this shd be my last baby.

Oh there he goes again! 'Sweeping' my groin with his hands.

smilezz

I just got my pre-admission letter from TMC last Fri.

Gonna work till week 37 prob, which means 2nd last week of May. Unless gynae can gimme hosp leave to rest before that - fingesr crossed

I perspired a LOT! At home now, I can change 3 bras a day. Think it shd be the same during confinement too. I only had 4 bras during confinement, & I couln't change them so often coz MIL was doing the laundry. That really was super uncomfy - wet, clammy, sweat-stinking cloth sticking to my boobs. Ack! But maybe I'm just a big sweaty pig & other mummies don't experience this?

adeline

In my experience, it's best to get these types of nursing bras for the beginning :

1) thin & unpadded - u'll be super hot, & u could leak. u dun really want trapped heat, or trapped milk in the padding which is difficult to wash out

2) no underwire - unless u love engorgement & blocked ducts which are very very painful

3) gd support - it's actually not gd to be too stretchy coz it'll let your boobs bounce. They shd hold your boobs firmly in place without cutting into them. That includes the shoulder straps.

4) drop cup, not the coveerd type with the small hole for nipples poking out - seems to promote blocked ducts. besides in the beginning, we're quite clumsy at latching. Dun wanna struggle with all the cloth, end up stuffing cloth into baby's mouth or something!

Adeline

I didn’t really pack much for baby. Just got one set of freshly laundered clothes and a swaddle blanket packed into a ziplock bag for her.

I’m hoping to take a quick shower to freshen up if I am up to it and if there is no c section involved. Anyway, will play by ear. Hehe..

Nattan

I don’t have any button opening tops. I don’t like wearing them leh..I usually wear big oversized tees at home. Maybe I’ll just bring along la..and at least I can raise up the tee or take it off. Nothing to be shy about. Haha…

I know you can wear your own clothes for delivery. I think they even sell those gowns so that mummies can wear them and feel pretty during delivery. Frankly, I’ll just stick with the hospital standard issue la…sure dirty and messy. My friend said her slippers were all splattered with blood after the delivery.

Sel

Not too sure if we can use VEET. Cos I used to depend on VEET for hair removal but I stopped using since I got pregnant. Now just depending on plucking/threading/shaving. Don’t worry about how we look down there la…I’m sure the hospital staff are used to all kinds. Hehe…

Fleur

Yup, at Glen too. I havent’ decided when to take my leave but tentatively should be early Jun or end May? My EDD is 18 Jun. So I’ll check with my gynae during my week 37 visit end of May and see what she advises. If still ok, I’ll continue to work till early Jun unless I am starting to feel major discomfort when baby engages. If not, I really hope to remain mobile and keep myself busy. Else I’ll go nuts thinking about when I will pop.

It’s definitely going to be a drastic change of lifestyle. We spend a lot of time at home and if we do go out on weekends – it’s mostly for family related stuffs (back to inlaws or parents home) or just for groceries and maybe a meal. Rarely do we go out for more than 3-4 hours. We also don’t go out on weekdays at all. With a child in tow, I think we will end up even more hermit-like.

Ssmilezz, yeah, just bring clothes you can afford to throw away after delivery. Why did your friend wear slippers while delivering?? I don't think I'd wear footwear la.. haha... look so funny..

Actually I don't know where to find tops with button opening?? I'm also just going to bring some old tees (hubby's) to wear at the hospital. So long as comfy can already.

Jul: Thanks! When will we be able to wear wired bra though? I dont want my breasts to droop down i guess.

Fleur: Have you had your cervix checked to see for any signs of early labor?

@nattan cotton on! Or those Pajamias from pasar malams lo. Think I still have to wear nicely. Gotten put on some make up too. Think my husband friends will visit hahaha

Re baby clothes to pack in hospital bag
Better to pack 2 pc type vs romper style. The cord stump shd still be around, so easier to manage if you brought along 2 pc (top + bottom)

Nattan

No la, her slippers on the floor!! But blood splattered all over the place!! So even her slippers gana. Very gory like some scene out of a horror movie.

Guess so – a nice big oversize tee will feel nice. I’ll just bring what I wear to sleep at home la..get the biggest and most loose top I can find. To be frank, this is the first time I am staying in a hospital. So having a bit of anxiety and phobia. LOL

I know that they will shave for me but I just can't overcome the embarrassment of having a jungle down there. hahaha

Any idea is I can wear contact lenses for the c-sect if it's not full GA? I hate wearing glasses!

Fleur, hubby and I talked abt the change in lifestyle as well. Anyway, since we got married, we hardly see our frens. We usually spend our weekends together. Shopping and window shopping, chilling over coffee or just strolling by the beach or something. It's like our dating ritual never changed. Sometimes we bring my mother or MIL out shopping too. With the baby onboard, we're not expected a lot of difference in how we spend our weekends. But u're right abt everything revolving arnd the baby.

I'm quite worried abt getting post natal blues too. Especially since I know hubby is scared of carrying/attending to the baby because she is just so fragile. I just know I'll get upset if he doesn't help out and share the responsibilities with me.

I'm also worried that I might not be able to psyche myself to go back to work. I think hubby has been avoiding the subject bcos it's going to be very hard on our finances if I were to be a SAHM. The best scenario would be for me to find a job that allows me to work flexi hours or work from home full-time. I guess, I'll just have to deal with it when the time comes.

Woe is me! Started getting chills n aching bones at abt 10+. Tong till 12 to finish some urgent stuff. The q at GP's is sooo long! Sigh... Think i have a fever

Adeline:
Dr Chan didn't even do a swab /culture test for me. Is it a must and why he didn't do ah? Have you gone through your birth plan with him?
When will the cervix be checked for early signs of labour?

My breasts won't droop coz its still a mini Cup A size hehe but i will get nursing bras coz CL will be with me and if i do online shopping i may need to open door for post man so better have a proper bra on.

Smilezz: Me too!!! I have never slept in hospital before leh. In fact previously i can still tell my hubby no need to stay over night with me what can he do there and to save $$ but now i think it might be nice to have company if i feel out of sorts after giving birth.
What do u all think?

Sel

Haha u can do a BW but they will still shave ur tummy for the csec.

Adeline

Depends on ur boobs leh. I only wore underwired after bb turned 5 mths n only a few hrs at a time. Didn't really wear them for long hrs till i dropped almost all my pumps - i pumped exclusively. Once i was in a hurry n didn't wear my nursing bra properly. The band was pinning a bit of my bottom boob. I got a super painful lump that took more than an hr to clear by massage n pumping

JUL: Oh dear!!!! Fever and flu aint the nicest feeling now! I had the aching body, runny nose and flu last week. Please just take your MC and go back rest k. Poor girl!

SEL: I cannot imagine being a SAHM coz i dislike being cooped up. If i am on MC 2 days and by 2nd day i feel better i will even just make a short trip outside to makan on my own breathe fresh air and come back.

I may not like my colleagues because they love to gossip and are quite mean by deliberating alienating me because i don't join in their gossips nor pretend to show I am interested but at least the dressing up and going to work does keep my sanity.

my gynea has confirmed that he wun give 1-2 weeks MC prior to EDD. So that means I'll have to work till i pop since i rather spend my ML with my baby. Totally left out the part about leaving a set of bottoms and waterproof pad in office..thanks Jul for mentioning..need to get those ready.

jolene, how did your maternity shots go? I booked with PSiloveyou too cos their maternity+newborn package is really attractive and i can have a before birth & after birth collection.

i think what we should all do now is get as much rest as possible before the feeding frenzy begins when the little ones arrive. hehee..