(2012/06) Jun 2012

Petrina, I envy you can go food fair.. haha.. Talking about Ai Yu.. Yesterday had a big cup of Honey Green Tea with Ai Yu jelly.. Hopefully will be my last bubble tea :$.

Called my mom and she already commented my weight gain 12 kg now. hahahaha..

smilezz, big baby doesn't mean easier to take care huehehe.. Big can mean more appetite as well! Then the baby will stick on you all the time since will demand milk all the time :p..

My small #1 (born 2.78 kg), sometimes if I don't force her to drink milk she won't drink. Huhu..

Aiyo nowadays really can't help to eat good food (lots of snacks) + drink sweet and cold drinks.. Afraid baby will be too big. But then, thinking later confinement everything also cannot eat now feels must eat now..

Last time once I eat ice cream during confinement at night, the next morning I'm shivering :$..

groovy: love suntec food fair. always have alot nice food to eat. very exp though cause portion is small. so i need to buy alot of different foods to complete 1 meal.

Smilez: my boy 3.375kg, drink alot! hehe every 2hrs latch then poop then zzz.

<font color="0077aa">re: encapsulation of placenta
looks like it's not popular here. hee hee. anyway, guess i will check with my gyane on wed before deciding if i want to go ahead. a bit stingy on the $300. ;p

fleurfleur, dun be discouraged by ur fren. it's definitely not true that breast size equate to milk production. i was one example. i was able to pump >300ml each session during my #1 time.</font>

Ssmilezz, now that I'm on bedrest and have to work from home I do try to cook my own meals most of the time. At least I know what I am eating, especially since I have GD. My MIL tries to cook before she leave for work but sometimes her cooking is not suitable/healthy enough for me. MIL also stock up our groceries weekly. I told her to make sure there's the basic wholemeal bread, milk, leafy veges, beancurd, fishball, some boneless frozen fish fillets in the fridge/freezer. Whatever shortages, she'll get on her way back from work.

Fleur, my ex-boss also American married to local and has been here for more than 10 years leh. I thought most bosses nowadays will ask u to rest at home bcos they fear that u'll spread ur flu virus.

Groovy, so true! I told hubby the only good thing abt having GD is it helps me force/train myself to eat healthy food so by the time I'm on confinement, maybe I'm used to it liao. Not so torturous anymore. As a reward, hubby promised to bring me to a huge sashimi buffet as soon as I can eat them. :p

Q: If u mummies plan to breastfeed, do u standby a can of milk powder in case u've got shortage? Is yes, how do u decide on the brand?

Q: How many packets of newborn diapers do u stock up?

(groovy2009): I agree with U ... ice cream etc now can eat better eat. When we deliver in June the weather super hot we want to eat also cannot eat!

SeL: maybe mine is one of the rare non compassionate American boss. Anyway bo bian since company busy zi dong then i have to care abt myself and take leave to rest. Staying at hm for 2 days i feel so cooped up and bored!

NB Diapers: I only stock up enough for 2 weeks approx. if need be then buy later coz once BB outgrow the diapers end up useless.

Formula Milk: I never standby. If really need anytime can go down and buy. I may choose either Similac or Organic Baby milk ... think called Nat something

Sel: i won't standby FM. i am all the baby has. IF i don't produce, baby will starve. this is my mentality since #1. and it won't change.

Fleur: my boss also. unless u can't walk, otherwise they expect to see u in ofc. cause fingers n brains r working. body is sitting. so they nvr believe that employees need to rest. sianz.. Chinese boss. Most US companies they very compassionate towards sick employees.

Petrina, same. Won't standby FM.
Once you give up to FM and find out HOW EASY IT IS! Sure you'll give up BF..

After I stop pumping becoz pregnancy, my #1 is on total FM. Very convenient. If want to go out, just need to bring milk powder, bottle, hot water. Can go out the whole day, without feeling your boobs going to burst like that.. haha..

My #1 doesn't want to latch anymore once I go back to office after my maternity leave. Therefore if go out so not convenient. Before must pump first, then divide into 2 bottle, EBM can stand outside for 4 hours so must give between that timing.
Anyway can go out only max 6 hours otherwise will feel boob pain..

I am going into my 33week as of tomorrow!! Yippie! 7 more weeks to full term.
So happy it's the weekend here again.
Going for some comedy laughter with friends at Rusell Peters Tour tomorrow night!!

Michi: Congrats! Great weight, i hope my baby girl is at that weight when i see the gynae at my 35week too. Easier for delivery as well.

Fleur: I would agree that it does not mean that breast size equates to milk production. It is all subjective and varies with each individual and it is mind over matter. If you tell and worry yourself so much then you are preparing yourself to not produce milk. I see it that way although i have no prior experiences. Dont worry,you will do great!

Anyways, i went to visit my couz at Gleneagles who just went through a c-sect. There were insufficient superior single rooms so they gave her the executive room but she would have to transfer later if a superior room is available.
Are you doing natural or c-sect?

Sel: I plan to breastfeed and i will not standby any can of milk powder at home. I think it will only give you the excuse as you uninentionally know that there is a can at home.

Newborn diapers i only have 30 pieces as of now as we will only be using it during the night and napkins during the day.

Actually, I didn’t know we cannot eat cold food during confinement? So not allowed to have any ice cream or bubble tea??! What’s the rationale?

Sel

I see. It’s easier to whip up something simple when you have food in the fridge. J Good that you are watching your diet. I think I was stricter with myself before I was preggie. Somehow, my diet became more unhealthy cos of my cravings and basically, there are certain days you just cannot stomach the food you used to love which is good for you.

I bought almost all of my diapers online during the sale. I bought 4 or 6 packets of Pampers 24pcs NB the last round. I think it should be sufficient for the first 3 weeks or so? Thereafter, all of my diapers are S size – mostly Huggies/Pampers/Goon. Don’t need to stock up too much NB as I think babies will outgrow them really fast.

Bigger Size Baby

Quite true la…with a bigger stomach, bigger babies will want more milk and have more poop/pee. But maybe the size will mean easier to handle? Not so fragile. :p

<font color="aa00aa">ssmilezz,
We need to keep our body "warm" during confinement, so cold or cool food is a "No No".

Re: No. of NB Diapers
I only bought 4 packets of Pampers 24pc NB as I also intend to use cloth diapers during the day.</font>

ssmilezz, once we give birth, we'll feel cold most of the time.
I wear socks, long pants, and jacket.
My baby room is 24 hours aircon for about 2 months, since I don't open windows (afraid if birds enter baby room). And I don't want to use fan (since my parents/ PIL said it's not good for me and the baby last time).

Right now thinking will still use aircon, but not 24 hours. Surely in the morning about 3 pm the weather is colder, so will turn off that time, and turn it on again about 10 AM.

Last time 24 hours, I sleep on aircon room, morning can shiver. A few times already. huhu..

fleur: i am waiting for the motherhood fair too, a lot of stuff havent bought yet,waiting for the fair to buy. usually much much cheaper?

petrina: suntec having food fair again? until when? should have gone there during lunchtime just now..love to go food fair. haha

groovy: u mean confinement period cannot eat a lot of stuff?! i thought after given birth everything can eat liao...like snacks, sashimi..oh no..

Groovy

I thought we will feel very hot during confinement with all the heaty food we are eating. I am not used to having aircon for 24 hours. My sinus will act up cos too dry. If the weather continues to be as hot and humid as this month, I think we will be sweating a lot next month. Hehe

Moi

Ah ok..then I guess no choice but to avoid.

Another few more hours to the weekend! Can’t wait…so sleepy.

Confinement
I used aircon 24/7. i nvr eat especially heaty stuffs cause bfing, alot of foods will be passed on to baby.
Wind foods, Jaundice creating foods.

Kadice: food fair dunno till when. only went today as it started today.
eating foods depend on what type of delivery you have. no cooling foods to prevent future problems. similar to during menses time we drink more hot drinks and avoid ice water etc..
u can eat almost everything other than cooling stuffs to keep your body internal warm.

Finally packed bb clothes. My goodness, she has at least 10 time more than wat my #1 had!

6995015.jpg

Jus lk at the pile. N jus the mittens n booties is alrdy almost a full ntuc plastic bag!

Erm, I can't imagine my electricity bills if I need to on A/C 24hr. As it is, my bills went up by 30% 2 months ago bcos I on A/C during the day time when it gets too hot for me.

Baby will be sleeping in a separate room. I'll also have problem with sinus when sleeping in A/C room but over this pregnancy, my body has been feeling so warm even in A/C room that it doesn't act up anymore.

Hmmm.. Think I need to look up for a list of food that affects jaundice. I've nvr really take note of cooling or heaty food when I had my mensus because I always thought that it's the chinese culture/beliefs. As for confinement, I thought I just need to avoid spicy food bcos it might affect my breast milk. Actually, quite clueless.

CL nowadays cn b really strange. As most probably I hv to do csec, which will b early delivery, the CL I booked may nt b able to mak it in time. So smone intro this CL w more than 10yrs experience to mi. I tok to her ovr the phone, asked if she has any requirement for sleeping, eating and etc. She sy she nd a rm to herself, can't slp w mi n/or hubby. Sy she will feel vry stress n can't slp.
N she must hv a bed.
Tld her I wan2 do bf n if she has experience w it. She started commenting tat it is vry tough n better nt to bf, thn I sy my #1 I also bf. Again she sy, "lik tat arh, thn nite time fd milk powder lor, else bb nt full enough will kp waiting to drink milk." I sy no, I wan2 bf n my #1 also lik tat. Again she suggested, " Thn u express n put in fridge, thn I cn just prepare for bb lor. If nt vry difficult for mi leh. Hv to kp getting up and blar blar blar..." Again, I insist no. Thn finally she sy thn ok lor. Bt in my heart i alrdy knw I wldn't engage her. Cos i m sure even nw sy ok, whn the time comes, if anything crops up, she will grab the opportunity n discourage mi. N it is the last thing I wan2 happen during confinement. Want this want tat nw, I can't imagine her being my CL.

Adeline:
I just entered into my 33 week today! EDD 22 June. When is yours?
I wouldn't mind a temporary upgrade to Executive room eh! But i think coz hers is C section (more $$ paid) that's why they upgrade her instead of downgrade to double room. But will they charge her exec room price or superior room price?
I am opting for natural birth and hoping for that! U?

Smilezz: After giving birth we lose a lot of blood and based on TCM's perspective the body internally is quite YIN or HAN which is why the food we eat during confinement is heaty to build up our health. That's why cold water cold drinks etc is a no no for that 1 month.

Kadice: I felt the Baby Care Fair held earlier this year had very good discounts. Like the NUK detergent &amp; refill i bought was cheaper than department sales. I am hoping the Motherhood one will be good considering it lasts longer for 4 days!

Chris: My BB clothes can fight with yours! After all the new stuff i bought plus adding the OK hand me downs it is one full chest of drawer of length 1M

sel > Ya, I didn't imagine I hv this many till I packed. Shock! n these r jus for her till 3 mths old. Thers other piles for 6 mth, 9 mth n 12 mths! :p Haha.

Chris: The CL really sounds terrible U pay her ... shouldn't U decide how U want your BB to be fed? If she nags at U or advise U not to do certain things which is beneficial for U and Baby then i think its fine but everything she says seem to be just for herself.
Does she think U are paying her to have a holiday?

Chris, my #1's clothes are more than that! Can u imagine what I have for #2 since I bought about another 1.5 dozens of clothes hahaha.

Aiyo hopefully u can find a good confinement lady. How come so demanding like that, even though they are actually paid a very premium price!

Btw, did you find a maid yet?

Fleur > Ya lor, pay her so much n think she is here for holi. Sy this difficult tat difficult.

Groovy > Haha, mayb it is a girl's thing to hv many clothes. My #1 is boy, so after buying a few, all lk the same n I stopped buying. :p Bt hw do u manage to let her wear so many clothes? I was roughly estimating n I think bb will tak at least 1.5 mths to wear each pc at least once, if she changes twice a day! i havn't got the maid leh. I hv shortlisted 1, bt the boss of the agency jus came bk fr overseas, so waiting for his confirmation lor. Btw, i hv a list of house rules, bt it is in English. Will it b convenient for u to hlp translate to Bahasa? It will b great hlp, otherwise the maid may sy she can't understd.

Chris

Wow! That really is a lot. Haha…how many months is that supposed to last your baby? No wonder you say not enough space to store your items!

I guess it’s better to be upfront and ask the CL what are their requirements, else when they are hired, it’s going to be hard to compromise. I am using the same CL my SIL used few months back. I hope we can co-exist somehow. Dunno how we are going to get used to a stranger at home but we’ll just need to figure out as we go along. My MIL keeps reminding me – at the end of the day, you are her employer so don’t feel bad/shy to tell her if you don’t like what she is doing.

So are u intending to “interview” a few other CLs?

Baby Monitors

Has anyone used them before? Or intending to get one?

Fleur:
EDD 25 June.
Nope they actually wanted to downgrade her to a single room from the superior room but single rooms were all fully occupied as well so she was upgraded.
Actually i noticed the executive floor is not fancy as it is not a maternity ward like level 5 &amp; 6 so basically you are sharing the floor with other patients who may be there due to other reasons. They will charge accordingly to what you book for.
I am opting for natural birth too!
So far hows your lil girls position?
Did Dr Chan did a vaginal check to check on your cervix opening yet?

Baby Monitor
We are looking into getting one as well, might be either Luvion or Motorola, i think. Still researching on it though.

CLs
My confinement lady just called me and she is on standby for me from 1st of June as in she made sure she doesn't overlap her jobs. How nice! I recommended her to my friend but she is already fully booked till Dec.

Motherhood Fair
Yup we will be going for that fair too, as its the only one before most of us pop!

Chris, for house cloth sure I get her to use all. I told u she has reflux, everytime drink milk will vomit sometimes. After vomit must change. Then also the 1 piece cloth diaper, if poo or pee sometimes the cloth kena as well. So it's really unending change for me. Everyday must wash cloth and iron. Got hubby relatives to do that. When she's gone I am jialat last time super tired hehe.
Only the going out cloth and rompers maybe only wear once or twice or not used at all huehehe.

I can translate in bahasa indonesia for you. Let me know once u sent to me. But just a precaution sometimes they don't really read written instruction. Need to mention, talk to them. Some are just too lazy to read or just like to skim through only not readIng properly

Checkup at 32 weeks
Baby is 2.3kg. Bb put on 0.5kg in 2 weeks since last visit. Gynae said he's very happy with the progress of baby. He estimated bb will be around 3.3kg at birth.

The bad thing is my vaginal swap test results came back and I have heavy growth of Lancefield Group B Streptococcus. But Gynae is quite positive. He said at least it's detected early and treatment can b given. I have to be on antibiotics tablets twice a day and he also gave instruction in the hospital letter to give me antibiotic drip during admission

Chris: steady lah u.. I tot i already have a lot.. And my clothes last all the way till 1yo.. Hehe
I think it's abt half ur pile, new plus hand me downs..

CL
It's extremely impt not to hire someone who goes against u.. Otherwise, u'll be super stress. A CL is someone who supports u physically n mentally. If she keep suggesting her way, u better think twice.

Smilez: baby slp with me. So nvr use monitor b4. But i saw a few brands selling in taka. They having sale in 2wks time. So u can consider getting from there or motherhood fair at month end.

Chris, you have a lot of baby clothes!!! I probably only have about a quarter of what you have, 2 big bags only. I think I'll slowly buy as and when baby outgrows them. I seem to have more 3-6 and 6-9 mth sizes though...

Re your confinement lady, I think you must make your stand clear and be firm about it. If not, don't engage her at all. It's not worth the additional stress of having another person telling you what to do when you're trying to take care of the baby and recuperating at the same time. Maybe this CL is very popular and got a lot of bookings so she feels she can ask you for extra stuff? If you don't feel comfortable with her, then just go with your gut feeling and don't engage her. You're probably better off with a domestic helper.

Sel, I don't intend to get formula on standby after Petrina recommended not having since it may tempt you to give up breastfeeding too soon during the first few days when the flow is not well established yet. If I really need, I can get hubby to go downstairs to buy :p

I bought about (6 x 24) NB size Pampers = 144 pcs which is probably enough for 24 days if baby poos/pees 6x a day, or 18 days if he poos/pees 8x a day. After that, I think can switch to S size already.. But hard to judge now cos every baby is different la.. so I rather have extras than not. After the poo/pee routine is more established, I may switch to cloth or fitted diapers (eg Moomookow or Bumwear).

Ssmilezz, baby will be sleeping in our room so no need for a monitor.

Smilezz, I have baby monitor, motorolla brand. So far quite good. The distance is nOt that far though because once I brought to my neighbor's house during his housewarming actually lose signal already.
Sound wise it's quite clear. Last time it's supposed to be able to do 2 way talking but now haven't tried again. it has some music as well for baby lullaby.

I saw some home phone, the 2 deck phone can also be a baby monitor. I have not tried yet though. Last time get a new 2 deck phone from singtel, in the guide says can do that but I never tried

Baby monitor, hubby plans to use an iphone app. It detects any kind of sound and will call my hp when it detects sound. He tested and it worked but I'm not sure how sensitive it is.

I don't think i have enough newborn clothes. I'm expecting some gifts from family and friends to top up the amt. Otherwise, i'll ask MIL to buy somemore lor. Actually, i don't dare to buy so many bcos my family has a history of big babies. Both hubby and I was also very chubby and plump when we're young.

Sel: Just have enough NB to last 2 weeks coz sometimes you won't know how fast they outgrow. If your family tend o be bigger than don't buy too many NB sizes. Give an average of 5 changes a day and estimate how often you can wash them

Afternoon ladies, my whole drawers is packed with full of newborn, 3mths and 6mths baby clothes...

heheeh tink newborn clothes, they will outgrown fast. hehe do you ladies experience a weight growth spurt from week 30 to 32 huh? seemd like i gain around 3to 4kg leh...the highest within 2 weeks. i read baby haf a growth spurt..wonder issit normal huh?
wat do you all tink huh?

petrina : for C-Sec with numbness from waist downwards, do you feel any sensation when gynae cut open huh? i am still scared of the whole process ...cos know that we can be there to witness the first moment of baby's arrival. maybe scared cos that time hrd my collegue said she saw smoke and hrd the equipments sounds etc..made me feel nervous when tink of the process. being walking more these two days too...

Harlow!

Hope everyone's having a great weekend

Finally did a batch of NB clothes tdy. Hubs wanted to wash other things again n i finally put my foot down n said i wanna wash bb clothes. Goodness if i wait for him to clear all laundry, the bb'll be one by then. Duh... But just my luck that there's no sun tdy

Descumed my steriliser too. N i'm done with my hosp bag except for all the laptop, camera n chargers which hubs is tasked to throw in at the last min. Next wk i'll send my pisa fir servicing. Still gotta wash n sun all the rocker, pram, brestfren etc. Neverending list of things to do!

I'm relaxing at the airport now while hubs n no1 terrorise tge toy shop assistants. Gosh! Feel v useless now. Can't walk much except from carpark to cafe. Even that makes my pelvis sore. Gotta tong at least 4 more wks to full term. Let's all jiayou!

Sunbelle: smoke? Hhs.. No lah. Usual sounds n some tugging, pulling sensation. No pain.

Baby borned have growth spurt. Babyi in tummy no growth spurt..

Jul: 4 more weeks to full term? You are at your 36th week? I just started my 33rd week so I have 8 long weeks more to full term but in terms of prep I assume 6-7 weeks so tat I can be ready.

Pelvic pain
Jul,I understand how you feel. I walk ard 30 mins can feel the strain on my pelvic. Thank goodness I have been on mc a lot the past 2 weeks which actually helped my pelvic pain to improve. But the downside means I'm not moving enough for natural birth! Hope I can dilate!

Hospital bag:
what type of bAgs are you all bringing?
Anyone bringing breast pump just in case?
My cabin bag is the slim kind and cannot be extended out. I'm only half packed and it's almost full. Definitely cannot fit my cord blood &amp; breast pump.

Baby clothes:
I have a lot of hand me downs which I managed to pick out the non stained ones. Around total 20pcs out of which 2 are brand new. The rest are approx 15 0-3M, 20 3-6M and 10 9M and 2 12M. I had to stop myself frm buying any 9-12 months clothes coz I alrdy bought a lot if 3-6 months.
Having baby girls ain't good coz I see myself online shopping more dying my ML.

Gathering: will there be another gathering second half of May?

The only thing I look forward to in May is Taka fair and motherhood fair. After that it's countdown to arrival of baby!

Hi mummies... just back from Avengers movie date with hubby
Good day of R&amp;R..

Sunbelle, I didn't have any growth spurt. My weight gain has always been quite consistent.

Jul, you seem quite busy huh.. I'm going to do my laundry tomorrow if there's sun.

Fleurfleur, have you tried doing the pelvic floor exercise?

I'm going to use a Muji trolley cabin bag for my hospital bag too. Actually I thought an overnight bag is enough but hubby said the trolley bag is easier to lug around with the wheels. I haven't started packing.. suppose to do it this weekend. Actually I don't intend to bring my breast pump cos hospital can provide.

i havent packed my hospital bag too. just no mood to get into it.

im trying to contact this seller from beauty loft but no reply from her. my friend gave me her number, anyone of you bought from her before? her website seems outdated too. want to get the latest pricelist. not sure if she is the cheapest seller around?

Kadice

I bought from the same seller too. And I think it is the cheapest price around. Either call or email her. She replies promptly unless she's out of town.

<font color="aa00aa">Realised that I can't walk a lot recently - will be breathless or feel giddy.

Re: Weight gai
In fact, mine slowed down, from about 1kg to 0.3kg per week.</font>